eGuerrilla: Are you by any chance referring to the few, see no-evil government apologists who give the afrocentric movement a bad name on these boards? If you must know, what often passes for afrocentricism on Nairaland are expressions of micro-nationalism and ethnocentrism which are counter-intuitive and do little to advance the cause of Nigeria nay Africa.
I notice that there are not too many Afrocentric posters on here. The Afrocentrics ave to battle the Eurocentrics an try to get them to become more conscious about the world we live in. This is just like reality because many Global Africans (people of African descent) are very Eurocentric.
pleep: In Nigeria the private sector is dead. We wait for the government to bring electricity, we wait for the government to bring roads, clean water, steel factories, refineries etc.
The Federal government is expected to provide everything needed to bring development to the county, is this right? A system like this is the polar opposite of the way development occured in places like Europe of America, where entreprenuers made the business and industries of the nation... based on the wishes of the market and the laws of supply and demand.
Why is Africa different, why does the free-market not work here?
Africa needs an enabling environemnt infrastrucutre and good policies that will help the entreprenuers create businesses and jobs.
pleep: This is part one of my war on Afrocentrism, an ideology i was once a part of before i realized what a deluded crock of crap it was. Afrocentrism is the number one cause of black suffering in the world today because it doesn't tell us who our real enemies are.
Our enemy is ourselves... and your false victim-hoods and scapegoats distract us from solving this problem.
This is an open invitation to every Afrocentric on this forum, to debate this irrefutable point:
black people are the number 1 cause of our low standing in the world today
- number one cause africas high Aids and STD rates - number one cause of violence in our communities - number one cause of poverty and economic underdevelopment - number one cause of out of wedlock births and abortion - and the number once cause of these problems in other countries
Not colonialism, not slavery and not Jim crow... If you cannot disprove this assertion stop trying to defend black people from their indefensible behaviors
I am very afrocentric myself and I have to agree with you. but i put the blame on the west AND Afficans. The west plays their part in neocolonialism but we do ery bad things to orselves let me explan.
We have a deep inferiority complex and self hatred. We worhip Europeans and Arabs. It is funny how when they had the Royal Baby Africans were celebrating. It is funny how that baby;s ancestors brought hell to ours and we are celebrating. Woud we be clebrating if the Aashanti empire had a baby that was going to be 3rd in line? Probalbly not. We worship our enemies.
It is funny how I always see Nigerians and other Africans on the continent and the Diaspora always wear the Amrian flag and British flag. Thse coiuntries are enemies to us yet we still wear the flags. They have rought hell to us for 5 centrueis and are still here with neocolonialism and funding genocides and controlling politicians in Afrca yet we worship them. Arabs brought us hell too.
We name our children after our enemeies. We will make an excuse saying it is in the Koran or Bible. We go by these names instead of our African names.
Did you know after America dropped an A bomb on Japan, Japanese stopped buying American products? Europeans have been bringing hell to us for 500 ears an we ONLY buy European products. We have stockhom syndrome and self hatred. No matter how bad oreigners treat us we respect and love them.
A couple weeks ago Italians threw bananas at the first African politician of Italy. We respond buy importing millions of Italian suits. We have many tailors who cn make those or African designs but we just love our Italans who treat us very badly.
We will atually defend our oppressor and make an excuse I was speaking to Nigerians about th war in Libya 2 ears ago. I said how Britain and merica bleeped them up and caused a black gnocide. Instead of standing up for them they defended Britain.
Our mindset is SOOOOO messed up. With a mental revolution there will automatically be an economic one.
mrmofasa: In 2009, Mugabe said only death could take him away from the presidency. Coupled with the fact that the other Morgan T. guy has been in a power-sharing agreement with Mugabe since that time, would Mugabe want to be No. 2 to Morgan? Hell, NO!
So Mugabe did what he had to do. . . RIG!
Trust me, i've been hearing rumours and reports.
PS: what did you think the AU (Obasanjo) observe?
Obasanjo oes it alot. I don't think it was rigged. Don't let western media fool you. Morgan T is a pupet to the west.
NaijaPikinGidi: That does not answer the question! No military in the world has not imported or procured weapons and hardware from another country! Do a quick Google search on weapons and hardware production in Nigeria and educate yourself better!
If there was a war right now and America invaded Nigeria and we had to make our own weapons by black sub saharan Africans we would b screwed. We made our own during Biafra but not anymore.
Henry120: Very ignorant people like you, just sit down and type nonsense all the time. Why don't you ask questions, so that you silly brain can at least learn, before you go about spewing trash.
1)South africa has an advanced defence manufacturing sector. Number 16 in the world. Egypt is in number 2 Algeria follows Sudan in 4 Nigeria in 5 Ethiopia in 6 Morocco and tunisia complete the list.
When I say Africa I mean Black Sub Saharan Africans. Tell me which company in Nigeria Ethiopia and Sudan make the weapons . What weapons do they make?
NaijaPikinGidi: Which Military in the whole wide world does not import weapons? There is no correlation!
America, China and Russia make their own. Which ones are made in Nigeria or Africa? Which aircrafs, ships, missiles, weapons, rocket launchers are made in Africa by Africans?
thoth: Nigeria is a strategic African nation just like Iran, you can not just go bombing a nation like Nigeria, there are heavy consequences to that which the USA will not want to face. Iraq and Libya does not posses the strategic attributes that defines nations like Iran,Nigeria and Egypt.
Under what pretense would they bomb Nigeria ? If the whole nation had a consensus on building up our defense systems they will not intervene rather they would initiate same policies that they used during the Abacha regime. Nigeria is strategically a super power and many Nigerians don't know this, it is only left for Nigeria to rise up to its responsibilities and claim it.
There is more to this analysis and i know you have questions but there are certain discussions that the internet is not meant for.
Take a map, bearing in mind the Nigerian population, then start asking yourself this question.. if XX do this to Nigeria what can Nigeria do ? ...if YY did this to Nigeria what can Nigeria do ? it is a very simple exercise but will open your mind to a lot of realities.
You should have in mind that i had my calculations with the assumption that we had a focused leader and a united nation with a nationalistic mindset.
Nigeria is nt a super power, we import almost everything. Do we even make our own military equipment? It is probably equipped by America. I am very Pan Africanist and love Africa and Nigeria but we have to be real. If America invaded us what would we do about it? If America stops importing weapons who would make them for us? If I am wrong please correct me.
thoth: The skills are there , the machinery are there, the men are there, the will is unfortunately not there. what you should understand that is that as you pointed out that if Africa uses its resources for empowerment... you will see those skills drawn from other continents down to ours, you will see our great intellectuals being proud of their own and coming home, you will even see those broke ass European nations that has no resources or anything of their own willing to sell us technology. in fact if Africa unites we can threaten any nation we want, we can decided that Germany would not have any African resources(oil,steel,etc) for one month and Germany would go on its knees. we can do it to any European country or even the west. and when we negotiate contracts we pull the technology transfer into it and believe me if you look hard enough you will that those nations really have no option, not even one.
People should keep in mind while reading the above that oil is not the only thing africa has, we have many minerals that is more important than oil.
Europe and America wold just give u a bombing campaign like they did Libya and Iraq. It isn't that easy. The leader would just be overthrown and killed and installed by a puppet who serves them.
plaindealer: What is work place culture? Is this something you made up or you are just trying to be funny?
Is this a some kind of revelation or you mean people are more productive in traditional wears?
What's this got to do with anything abi it doesn't get cold in Nigeria too? Again, it's hotter in Japan than in Nigeria this very second.
What's this got to do with workplace wear in Nigeria or you mean what your oga demand you wear at work determines what sells in other countries?
It is funny how Africans are so pen to people's cultures who have oppressed htem so badly for over 500 year.s. Be it Arabs or Europeans we love importing their culture, religion, clothes, etc.
WOrkplace culture is the way you act in the work place. Like a Chinese person has dignity and if you disgrae their dignity then they will not want to do business with you.Chinese people are straight to the point in business and Americans are more take time to do business, get to know each other.
You can be producive in African clothes in theoffice. I am not saying doing hard labor wear African clothes, I am sayngg in the office you can do it.
plaindealer: Unfortunately for you and your ignorant rant, today's weather forecast in Japan is 89F, 82F in china and 82F in Nigeria with almost the same level of humidity so what's your silly point about weather got to do with anything?
Today, it's hotter in Japan than in Nigeria..
What they wear in Japan and in china has nothing to do with weather and the same native wears you are clamoring for in Nigeria are even more problematic weather wise because a 3 piece babariga covers the whole of your and to make matters worse, you deny your head and pores needed oxygen with whatever cap or hat you cover it with under almost 100 degrees heat plus oppressive humidity. Leave weather alone and stick to your baseless culture argument because you are not making any sense.
What's next? They don't have culture in Ghana? They don't have culture in SA?
You obviously have personal complex and paranoia about your culture since culture has nothing to do with the workplace and you are not hired to display your culture, you are hired to work and be productive..
Have you ever heard of workplace culture? I study economics and business and I know globally people act different and it shows in the way they do business.
Also Japan and china are cold in December but not nigeria. Rosikk is practicing cultural nationalism because Europeans practice it too.
Also wearing African clothes creates employment in africa wearing western clothes promotes employment in Asia and Europe.
Rossikk: What a lousy, illiterate write-up by a colonised mental slave with no sense of dignity or independence.
The audacity this pig has to equate African attire with 'uncivilization' and western attire with 'civilization' alone is enough to confine him to a mental hospital for the severely reta.rded. Worse is his smug assurance that he can actually equate his self-hatred to some sort of 'enlightenment', positing that our traditional attire were created ''hundreds of years ago''. Well the western suit WAS invented 'hundreds of years ago' too, and, like African wear, has only been modified as the years progressed. Why can't this goat advocate a more 'work-friendly' transitional process for African wear if that's his thing, if not for his colonised self hatred? Just as this goat is happy to import his language, his religion, his eating habits, his car, he also wants to jettison his indigenous wear for imported clothes alone. How long before pigs like this begin to advocate for mass skin bleaching of all Africans to ensure we ''meet up'' with the light skinned colour of ''civilization''? It seems all we've got left to remind us of who we are is the skin colour. Don't bet against self-hating orang outangs and swine like this writer campaigning to shed that too.
Finally, the writer's claim that ''The wearing of cap is not indigenous to any ethnic group in Nigeria'' shows his GROSS HISTORICAL ILLITERACY, and that he is an absolute DUNCE where it concerns Nigerian/African history. A walking white dunce in black skin. An embarrassment to every living African, and a caricature representation of the bamboozled slave steeped in ignorance and self-loathing. The sooner his loathsome ilk die away from our independent society the better for us all.
thoth: The lie spitting media portrays it as if Tsvangari has any significant following in Zimbabwe, in reality he was widely hated as a western and imperialists puppet, his past actions especially the aids riddled vaccines that was brought in through him has tainted him for life and has shown what he was even before his real motives show up.
The countries who has propped up the MDC and has been pumping money into them to carry out their subversive policies has met their match in Mugabe, Zimbabweans are politically aware unlike the sleeping dumb Nigerians whom thinks politics is like a game and it is only about intrigues,scandals,looting and making headlines, Zimbabweans understand that politics is about THEM, their LIVES, THEIR FUTURE and their NATION. Maybe it is due to their apartheid past under the whites, or the iconic leader has stayed long enough to enlighten the masses, bring them closer to his battles and united them for the national cause, many of what they went through the Nigerians did not go through such and when they do they sweep it under the carpet and such historical guidelines are quickly forgotten while they carry along the divisive lies that disunites them.
People should never believe this media for once, they only misinform and create un-existing threats, they twist realities of what is on the ground to garner the support of people who are not there to witness the truth.
Very true never allow your enemy to tell you who your enemy is. Also can you give a source to the aids scandal for tangarsi?
bebe2: who like make e use head hit molue, slavery can no longer be used as an excuse to cover up corruption, looting stealing and other evil vices. It's the leaders fault.
It reminds me of how African americans wnt to blame for all their misfortune, no ne slavey put cigar, weed and cocaine for ur and o, U did dat to ur self. Economic migrants will come and make a comfortable life for them selve while the AA will be thre blaming everyone but themselves for their problems.
Am in Nigeria o, enjoying my self, the roasted corn and pea dey sweet me too much .
bebe2: Wats wit all the big big grammar, pple don't insult Nigeria becos the hate it or it's pple it's becos they are frustrated.
The have seen the light and they wonder why their own country is still in darkness.
They see how the govt here care so much for for it's pple and wonder, why does mine not care in the same way.
Afam keeps crying uk is poor is this a way to divert attention from the poverty in Nigeria?
The uk is poor but I can definitely tell u no one in this country slept hungry last night, unless they just didn't want to eat, they are so poor all children get an average of £10 a week, they are so poor every disabled person including kids get a minimum of 250£ a month and higher depending on how serious they are, they are so poor if there was an accident on the road now and an ambulance can't reach there, they will deploy a helicopter with paramedics to go get the patient, yes they are very poor so poor that any hospital u go to u get treated for free no matter the illness.
So poor they give aid to the Nigeria and other African countries yearly,
Afam needs to get a life, this slavery story don Tay, dat I live and work here don't mean am a slave u r insulting the memory of thousand of slaves who suffered untold horrors and died in slavery. I can come and go as I please as I will be doing next week, visiting Naija frm poor uk except i will come in wit loads of money and leave wit nothing. Afam's big mouth just lost him 2 tm Lewin shirts
I am getting sick of self hating Africoons with negrophobi and blancophilia. Who is installing these leaders? Do you know about neoclonialism? Who has trops all over Africa? Who is setting up AFICOM?? They are still raping our resources. Look at Libya!! You have to understand the REASONSand CAUSES!!