DOptical: Only fools would even say Austrian league which has Red bull Salzburg etc is a poor league. Same Austrian league which churned out the likes of Szoboszlai, Halaand, Dayot, Mane etc?
Of course no one is saying the Austri league is a top league like the EPL, La Liga, Bundesliga, Serie A but it's a good league nonetheless. In a good league or even less, I repeat, the defensive astuteness and technicality of a player remain the same irrespective of the league. It's only poor scouts who can't scout well. Take a look at Neymar who left the Brazilian league at the age of 21. He continued to be the same technical player in the top league.
Secondly, it's like it went over your brain since you keep forgetting that Tijani who just got there had injury which disrupted his season at 18. He's doing quite fine at his young age and yes 21 years is a young age. In addition, he recently dominated Inter midfield while playing as a holding midfielder. Same inter who had just recently won the league. Point is he's a midfield talent who's defensively astute, agile and technical.
All in all, anyone crying against a talent to be seen in the national team is a stupid fool!
Comparison creates the standards.
The Nigerian premier league is a top quality league when compared to for example the Niger league.
Playing in the EPL is not the same as the French league, that is fact. And you think the degree of difficulty and technicality required to Excel in the EPL is the same as the Austrian Bundesliga hmm🥺🥺
Top players start excelling in their teenage years and by 21 a good number are top level professionals even world class.
How old was Rooney, Ronaldo, Rahim, Rashford, etc when they broke through. So 21 is definitely old enough.
Jude Bellingham was 16 when he broke through in the Championship and Dortmund paid £25 million for him.
You are too emotional and overcome with favouritism, Tijani has been in the low level Austrian Bundesliga for 4 year's that's enough time to make your mark. He did not just get there.
Injuries do not last for 4 years even an ACL can be overcome in 6 months sometimes less.
chrisooblog: Obviously you don't know about the player because if you did you would know Tijani had a terrible ACL injury and is just trying to get good form from a run of games.
Oh and he's on loan from RB Salzburg an Austrian team reputable for giving bright new talent like Mane, Haaland, and Minamino their big breakthroughs.
But you wouldn't know that since he wasn't born in the boroughs you say you frequently 'scout'
Why the hostility contentious tone, we deh quarrel ❓
A player has been in Austria for 4 year's and how long does it takes to recover from an ACL rupture including surgery ❓
You did not state when he got injured 🤔
So what was he doing before he got injured and what has he been doing after the injury over 4 seasons.
David Alaba played 5 games not even a quarter of a season before Bayern bought him.
RB Salzburg are renound for giving quality players opportunity to play at very young ages, agreed. So why is Tijani not playing for RB Salzburg❓
DOptical: Austrian league isn't an obscure league. That was where David Alaba played in. Another fact is defensive astuteness & technicality is the same everywhere. Either you get it or you don't. Another fact is he's just got there and he's doing quite fine as a holding midfielder despite his young age.
It's considered intelligent to examine the facts and not just pursue an argument based on blinded favouritism and sentiment.
The Austrian league is rated 14 in Europe just behind Denmark it's obscure in comparison to the top leagues in Europe that's a plain fact.
21 is no longer too young in Football ⚽ and he has been there for 4 years that's too long to make a claim for exceptional ability.
I'm sorry the degree of technicality skill application and difficulty is not the same in every league. Your proposition in bold is with respect nonsensical.
David Alaba played 5 games in the Austrian Bundesliga before he was immediately bought by Bayern Munich. You have given credence to my opinion by default.
Tijani has been in the Austrian Bundesliga for 4 seasons that's too long to be discovered if he is any good as you claim.
DOptical: He just got there as a matter of fact. He got there 3 years ago at the age of 17/18. Was injured in the first season which disrupted his season. Point is he's a good technical defensive midfielder at a young age. He's rated as one of the top midfield youngsters with top ball recoveries in Europe.
If a player is highly rated other teams go in for him and he doesn't remain in an obscure league.
I'm sorry 3 years is not, he just got here , it's long enough to claim high level position .
So the rating is academic if it doesn't translate to upward ⬆️ progression into better club and league
Look at Arsenal goals are coming from all over the team. There is a intricate positional interchange in the Arsenal team requiring players to be technically astute.
VO Needs a pyramid structure with him the point man the quintessential number 9.
DOptical: I hope the boy is brought into the super eagles before other countries steal am, like Saka, Alaba etc.
Nigeria team lacks a holding midfielder and the boy is rated as one of the top midfield youngsters with the top ball recoveries. He's also quite technical.
He is 21 and playing in the Austrian Bundesliga and has been for 4 seasons.
If he is so well rated according to you what is he doing playing in the Australia league rated 13 in Europe.
Amedino99: this is a tweet from NFF themselves about the issue. And besides English clubs barely use 16 year olds enough for them to be considered first team players e.g nwaneri has barely played for arsenal ever since his debut. I'm not sure that there is any 16 year old in England that has made up to 3 appearances this season and I'm talking of the epl and championship. Based on your screenshot it's already evident that it's an international tournament for countries abi you see any club for fixtures ??
You did not address the issue but pursued your own agenda.
1. Gibraltar is essentially British territory,why do you need a Spanish visa to go there ❓ 2. The term development is used in what context. 3. Look at the countries playing in the tournament Lithuania, Faroe Islands, Iceland, Gibraltar, 4. This is a not for professional youth players competition it seems. 5. What's Nigeria doing there playing against teams with very limited top level football in their home countries.
So examine and appraise and see there are several questions raised.
TheSuperNerd: Meanwhile... we still have Rabiu Ali at 43 balling.
I guess Hazard too faked his age then.
Rabui is 33 and has been able to rise beyond youthful expectations and has really spent most of his time in the backwaters league of Europe in obscurity.
chrisooblog: You right we've had poor coaches whether Nigerian or foreign.
For me the first criteria whenever the discussion of choosing a coach comes up is competence followed by if he's Nigerian. I will never under any misguided patriotism advocate for an obviously unqualified local coach to handle the SE if the foreign one is a better option.
Agreed 👍🏿 without question ❓ Proven capacity and competence over nationality.
Kog45: I thought you based in UK and Mikel spent years in UK,so you should be in better position to know his real age by just walking to him and asked ‘Mikel how old are you?…. Mikel left top football at 30 and do little journey man in China,back to England with Middlesbrough and left Stoke city at 34 with 39 appearances in a season,moving to Kuwait and quit the game at 34 years old…..
Segun Odegbami quit the game at 32
Adokiye Aimesemeaka quit before 30,so some players feel fulfilled at certain age.
Felix Owolabi the Odegbami and Adokiye mate played the game till 40 years of age,in fact won CAF cup in 1992 with shooting stars.
I left very good Federal civil service job at 35 voluntarily after spent 12 years and I still have colleagues doing the same job till date.
We have different aspirations and visions about life,so better to respect individuals decisions than questioning or asking what is not necessarily
You have completely avoided the core discourse which is his departure from top flight football at 29.
I made a comparison of several players still over 30 and even 35 playing at top level. That's the question ⁉️
The bold is infantile, the issue is departute from top flight football ⚽ at 29. When we consider his position midfield, there is even greater longevity in midfield as players age.
Andrea Pirlo played for Juventus and the Italian national team when he was 36. He is not alone Milner is 38 left Liverpool last season and is now at Brighton.
Giving an example of an injury prone Hazard who retired at 32, is debasing the discussion. In addition the Odegbami era where players drank and smoke and led very unhealthy lifestyle is a poor comparison. In addition sports medicine has improved tremendously giving players far greater longevity in the game.
That's a very limited local newspaper report it's far from exhaustive.
It's the UEFA Development tournament not sure if it's the national U16 full squads.
A few questions not answered the tournament is taking place in Gibraltar, which is British territory why would you need a Spanish visa to go to Gibraltar.
Finally, what's the concept of development here in relation to U16 football ⚽. It doesn't seem to refer to the full national U16 teams of individual countries. With regards to England there will be a few boys who have already played first team football. I would not call such players development players.
Amedino99: it was the uefa u16 tournament. You are mistaking it for another tournament. It's only countries that participate in this tourney not clubs.
Any details because to deny a countries national youth team visas is a serious diplomatic incident.
Marjoribanks: The NFF has a functioning under 15/16 team since Amaju era. The team is made up of the best young talent across the country. They were recently denied visa by Spain for a UEFA under 16 tournament. Read the news to know whatz up, not everything be fraud. Rest!
Kog45: Kelechi Iheanacho should leave Leicester City
Why 💭
He is going to see his contract expire although he is surplus to requirements at Leicester city , nobody is going to pay an impotent strike £80k a week to do nothing.
It's BETTER his contract expires then he can go to Turkey 🦃 to retire.
Amedino99: it was a week long competition and it was for our u15. If they went for the tournament they would have been back and it would have been good preparation for the WAFU B and besides Manu's work does not extend to the u15 as they have a separate coach named Patrick bassey. So it's either the NFF or the Spanish embassy are lying.
Do your know what particular tournament in Spain ❓
I know a South African team was scheduled to play and was in the tournament programme but didn't turn up because visa were denied.
Kog45: Why putting the two young brightest coaches in under 17 as assistants,why not one in under 20.Well good luck to them as they kick start their national team coaching careers
I know a lot of coaches with UEFA A and Pro badges that doesn't make them automatically excellent coaches.
It's usually the experiential competence expressed in leading professional football clubs.
robosky02: Super Eagles coach: Reasons why NFF settled for ex-Barcelona man Emmanuel Amunike revealed
The former Nigeria international will reportedly be announced as the next head coach of the national team in the coming days
1980 Africa Cup of Nations winner Segun Odegbami has provided reasons why the Nigeria Football Federation has seemingly decided on appointing Emmanuel Amunike as the head coach of the Super Eagles, Soccernet.ng reports.
After screening dozens of applications from foreign and indigenous coaches over the past few weeks, the NFF has reportedly selected Amunike as the successor to Jose Peseiro.
Odegbami believes the NFF preferred another European coach to take over the national team to further the alleged financial racketeering in the exercise.
However, the Shooting Stars icon is convinced that the scarcity of funds in the coffers of the NFF forced the football body to settle for a Nigerian coach – a cheaper alternative.
“One thing is clear, except amongst some academic hard-line critics of Nigerian coaches, there appears to be little appetite for another half-baked foreign coach in Nigeria,” Odegbami wrote in his column in the Vanguard.
“The rackets attached to the hiring of foreign coaches may not find accommodation in a beleaguered government trying to reduce corruption in the system.
“The NFF does not have the funds, and the federal government will not accommodate the humongous fees of foreign coaches in the present dispensation.
“So, it will be a Nigerian as next manager of the Super Eagles.”
It has been seven weeks since Jose Peseiro exited his role as the Super Eagles head coach, leaving the position vacant.
If the NFF knew it only had the resources to hire a local coach, why has it taken such a long time to identify the right candidate among the many former internationals who applied for the job?
Odegbami concedes that while most Nigerians in the media space wanted Emmanuel Amunike, other powerful interests were pulling the strings behind the screens.
The two-time AFCON top goal scorer, however, warns Amunike to be ready to convince skeptics of his readiness for the job when his appointment becomes official.
“There is a lot of politicking ongoing,” Odegbami continued.
“Nigerian coaches appear not to tick all the boxes of requirements, not eliciting the confidence of several officials of the NFF with vested interest in particular aspirants.
“As things stand, however, a decision has to be taken now.
“Most fingers point in the direction of a former international player.
“He appears to be the preferred choice of most Nigerians in the media, particularly the social media.
“I will not be surprised if Emmanuel Amuneke gets the final nod to lead the team. It will become a huge task to dispel the serious reservations about his choice by those familiar with his antecedents when he was in one of the junior teams.”
Amunike left mixed antecedents when handling the Nigerian underaged teams.
The former Barcelona winger led the Golden Eaglets to loft the FIFA U-17 World Cup while nurturing talented kids like Victor Osimhen and Samuel Chukwueze.
However, he was in charge of the Flying Eagles when the team failed to qualify for the U20 AFCON in 2017.
I don't necessarily agree with your terminology half baked coaches.
Please tell me two Nigerian coaches who are fully baked without using youth football coaching as unit of measurement please 🥺
Joebie: I clearly said if one is not Yoruba or Hausa-Fulani, you believe that person has an agenda. What you have just said here buttress my point.
This man thinks I have a tribal interest, so he is making a point that he has supported Igbo players, just because he knows I’m neither Yoruba or Hausa-Fulani.
No be for this thread I said my best national team is the 2013 Golden Eaglets. Who coached that team? No be this thread I praised Sadiq to high heavens a couple years ago or so? No be for this thread I said Nwakali does not deserve to be in SE a while back? So wetin make me become hypocrite when I never “hype” the likes of Etebo, Ejaria etc?
Etebo was one of our best players in the 2018 world cup.
Oviemuno Ejaria was an outstanding player with a mercurial mentality that has near ended his career at a mere 26 year's of age.
humility33: Even when it comes to local coach I will pick Manu Garba to coach the super eagles over Amunike He successfully managed under 17 and under 20 and even an NPFL side
The other one had a failed career in Zambian and Egyptian league and under 20
We are not telling ourselves truth in this country
The under 20 job too I don't know how Ladan Bosso merit that job
TheSuperNerd: I hope so. Akinsanmiro Ebenezer played a league game for them and made the bench 4-5 times.
You want to use youth football ⚽ coaching as a unit of measurement for excellence and selection for senior national team coach.
TheGoodJoe: Are you minding those arguing what they don't understand me? Players drank and smoked crazily nights before games. Some held late night parties and turned out for big games the next morning. Something that is unthinkable today.
I think it's youthful exuberance and lack of knowledge.
Indomine generation.
I remember Nigerian footballers in the past were drinking odeku before game.
TheSuperNerd: Seriously?? How have you missed a prestigious youth tournament in Itay held since 1949 which no African side has ever won until this year. One of the World renowned youth tourneys taking place every year.
Anyway, here is a teaser. Just browse the rest.
There are literally over a thousand youth football tournaments Each year in Europe 🌍 some of them are over a 100 years old.
Longevity in itself doesn't make a youth football tournament prestigious and quality.
I asked a simple non contentious question ❓ Maybe you can answer it.
Some are using this tournament as a unit of measurement for excellence in football ⚽ coaching. To give credence to the coach who won the tournament as the next U17 national team coach.
I reiterate what is the quality of this tournament, quality of teams. ❓
TheGoodJoe: I did not say they were unfit. I said the players today are far more fit than them. Canavaro we're running with their generation people at their generation intensity. Not today's own. It is a common fact that tactics, training and fitness today is far more than in the past.
Finito.
Players in those days smoked and got drunk regularly none of them would have survived in this era with that lifestyle today .
TheSuperNerd: Lies?? Did you read this followup post above? Smh.
Your tiny d**k always stands awkwardly whenever Nwakali does good so you rush here to say the usual gobbledygooks.
Also read below...
Abeg, open your eyes and read before spilling more nonsense.
I don't normally engage infantile spoiled brats with hyperactive egos.
But for the sake of comedic entertainment, l will.
However, a word of warning ⚠️ homosexuality is a criminal offence in Nigeria and your fixation with the male member exposes your debased perverted preference for this insult to God & humanity lifestyle.
Now let the comedy begin 😉
First of all Nwakali is not doing good and hasn't been doing good for over 7 years.
His team has a permanent residence at the bottom of the Portuguese league where MEDIOCRITY rests. They have conceded more goals and scored the least number goals than any other team in the league.
After that fortuitous win, they were catapulted to second to bottom from bottom of the league oh Wow 😳.
You called it a fine strike, what a strike your crown 👑 remains, TheSuperDelusional One 👆🏿.
That kick was poor and without direction , it was going to the goalkeepers right side beyond the post, nowhere near the goal. However , a very fortuitous deflection caused the ball to go the opposite direction to the left of the keeper and into the net.
How many goals has he Nwakali the midfield maestro answer to all problems in the SE scored this season, for Chavez ❓
He is such a wonderful fine striker of the ball , he should have scored at least 5 maybe 🤔. Let's add his last season in the Segunda Division how many goals ❓
Thankfully videos don't lie 🤥 so it's all there to see , but you see 🙈 or choose not to see. Your ego has made you blind. Trying to turn white 🤍 to black 🖤.
codemaniacs: I am arguing against your logic not Thiago Alcantara's statement.
Thiago is a tiki taka trained player so his statement is filled with bias and favoritism for tiki taka so he can never ever speak against tiki taka..
You are the one comparing players from the 90s early 2000s to De Bruyne generation..
You are not a tiki taka trained player or Spanish citizen or resident so your love and obsession for tiki taka and comparing genuine talents with the below par De Bruyne generation is an aberration.
You don't have to be Spanish to appreciate good football ⚽ your completely OP.
codemaniacs: They are not faster and definitely not more effective..
It is the protection and cheating ( referees no longer give fouls for diving ) today's strikers get from referees that spoiling the game thanks to EPL and racist officiating..
A player runs with the ball and gets tackled and pushed to the ground and the referee and V.A.R don't see it as foul..
Sorry to burst your bubble 💬 you are talking emotive biased and prejudiced balderdash and codswallop.
Don't know where you got racism in officiating from 🧐🧐
Football ⚽ is still a physical game 💪🏿 sorry 😔 to remind you
TheSuperNerd: Real kudos. That man is one of the brightest coaching talents we have in the country at Cadet and Junior football level. He is tactically sound. Coach of the Beyond Limits FA in the NNL and TCC. Also coached them to the Viareggio cup [/b]win. First African side to win that[b] prestigious youth tournament in Italy and gave us good starlets like Onyebuchi Obasi already stepping up in Norway with Vålerenga and is fast grooming a lad that in my opinion will become one of the best Number 9s we might see emerge out of Nigeria soon in Arierhi Kparobo.
What is the Viareggio Cup❓ What makes it so prestigious ❓❓ What's the level of competition, professional clubs involved, etc ❓❓❓
Can you please educate me because I have only heard about it here, that's not to say it's not high quality.
So we can see why it's being used a excellence unit of measurement for a coach to be appointed for the national U17 team.