Stats: 3,153,374 members, 7,819,358 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 02:51 PM

Malton's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Malton's Profile / Malton's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 84 pages)

Politics / Re: Reps Move To Revive Yuan/ Naira Swap Deal by malton: 12:55pm On Dec 21, 2023
Watcharena:
Mr prof abi na ordinary graduate, most or our imports comes from china ,so why do we need us dollars to buy things from china

Should they even be focusing on imports in the first place? Why not chanel that energy into boosting local productivity for exports. This way, you also get to reduce unemployment, poverty, mental health issues, crime, and social unrest in one swoop.
Politics / Re: Reps Move To Revive Yuan/ Naira Swap Deal by malton: 12:47pm On Dec 21, 2023
Slaves looking for yet another master.

Instead of prioritizing productivity and exports for economic growth, these mentally lazy twerps are thinking of adding yet another burden.
Politics / Re: Lagos Government ‘Paid ₦2.3M To Mechanic To Supply DPO Pamphlets' - FIJ by malton: 3:51pm On Nov 23, 2023
The truth is that democracy has failed Nigerians. It's surprising that much of our important infrastructure was built during the military era, not during democratic rule.

This set of government is only out to eat and eat.

Government siphoning money in the name of phony contracts isn't new. It's just that this particular one got found out. It's sad and honestly disturbing. And you can understand why there's hopelessness in the land, with many now seeing japa as the only way out.

Sanwo-Olu hasn't had a good start to his second tenure so far. He's been going from one controversy to another. And I honestly don't think he cares at this point. Once they get that second term, they don't seem to be concerned about public opinion anymore. This behavior is not unique to Sanwo-Olu alone; it is seen in many other governors as well.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Travel / Re: Seeking Honest Advice: Considering Relocating Abroad - Need Your Thoughts by malton: 1:34pm On Jul 27, 2023
Alejo2000:
Hello fellow Nairalanders,

I find myself at a crucial crossroad in life and would greatly appreciate your valuable insights and diverse perspectives. I have worked diligently in a private organization for 15 years, managing to save up to N20 million. Additionally, I own a 3-bedroom apartment. and a few plots of land in three different states in Nigeria.

Current Situation:
Recently, I was disengaged from my job, and this has prompted me to contemplate a major life decision. I am 45 years old, and my wife is 42 years old. Together, we have three children, two of whom are in secondary school.

Contemplating Relocation:

Given the circumstances, I have been seriously considering the possibility of relocating to another country with my family via study route. Two countries have caught my attention: the UK and Canada. I believe that I still have around 15 years of active career working life by the Grace of God, and I am open to exploring new opportunities abroad for the betterment of my family's future.

Reasoning:
The motivation behind this move is to provide my children with a better education and quality of life while also embracing new experiences. However, I am fully aware that this is not without risks, as it would involve utilizing my lifetime savings and making a fresh start in a foreign land.

Seeking Your Advice
:
I humbly seek your honest advice and opinions on this matter. Here are some key points to consider:

Family considerations: How will relocating impact my children's education and overall well-being?

Age and career transition: Is starting anew in a foreign country feasible, considering my age and accounting background as my profession?

Financial stability: Should I be concerned about using my savings for this move? What steps can I take to ensure financial security in a new country?

Visa and immigration: What are the challenges and best practices in obtaining permanent residency in the UK or Canada?

Job opportunities: How promising is the job market for accountants in these countries? Are there viable prospects for career growth?

Investment options: Alternatively, what investment opportunities in Nigeria can provide a stable income stream for my family?

Conclusion:
I am deeply grateful for any advice, personal experiences, or suggestions you can provide. Your valuable insights will play a significant role in shaping this crucial decision for my family's future.

Thank you all for taking the time to read and respond to my post. Your support means a lot to me and will help me make an informed choice.

Warm regards,

I have a friend who is in the same situation as you: has #20m to spare but currently unemployed. He's also considering relocation and asked my opinion on whether to start a business or japa a few weeks ago.

So, I've thought long and hard about this.

If I may, I'll suggest you get another job, even if you think it's below your market value. Reason being that it will keep you from depleting your savings too fast. That shouldn't be too hard given your experience, especially if you reside in Lagos, Abuja, or Port Harcourt.

Whilst there may be gain in japaing, you can't say for sure how things will turn out. And the last thing you'd want as a family man is to have the costs eat away at your savings and leave you even more vulnerable than you currently are.

In your shoes, I would stay back here in Nigeria, get a job that pays well enough to allow me save some, and train my kids along a path that will make Japaing easier for them.

About business, I wouldn't risk it. Many businesses are suffering currently, so I'd rather wait it out and see how things turn out. There isn't much gain in running a business in a society with low purchasing power. Of course, some will still thrive, but what's the guarantee you would under the same circumstances?

Politics / Re: Removing Me As President Over Failure To Score 25% In Abuja May Trigger Anarchy by malton: 8:10pm On Jul 16, 2023
Why is this bros using the Buhari approach?

Leaders should not use such strong words, no matter the context.
Education / Re: The Letter From Senior Staff Of ABU, Zaria That Is Trending Online by malton: 6:07pm On Jul 28, 2019
nams77:

My friend keep kwayet! I know medical doctors, engineer do make blunders since the use of English language is not there strong forte. In fact, every one makes mistake once in while, but a blunder like the one above is calamitous, frightening, horrendous....this is simply unacceptable bros. I just don't know what to say.
Pls stop supporting failure.
Don't bother to quote me as i won't respond.

The standard on Nairaland has fallen too low.

Imagine the kind of semi-educated folks having a field day here.

Education / Re: The Letter From Senior Staff Of ABU, Zaria That Is Trending Online by malton: 5:59pm On Jul 28, 2019
ijoba22:
do you know what you lack? exposure

As in.

Imagine a quasi-educated fellow calling others poorly educated. grin

Education / Re: The Letter From Senior Staff Of ABU, Zaria That Is Trending Online by malton: 5:56pm On Jul 28, 2019
Obainoneandonly:
It's a northern thing.....what do you expect from a university that the cutoff mark is 50......even a shoe shine gets admitted.......they are in d same level as our secondary schools down south here

In which of the ABUs is cutoff mark 50?

You don't sound particularly brilliant yourself. That you're a 'graduate' is symptomatic of the wider failings of Universities across the East.

How about that?

Dumbo calling Jumbo dumb!

Travel / Re: Calabar Residents Block Gutters With Refuse (Photos) by malton: 6:17pm On Jun 21, 2019
Davash222:
Nothing will ever work in this country as long as we have a dullard as a president.

Negative Nellies like you constitute far worse problems to this country than Buhari.
Politics / Re: FG To Proscribe Al-majiri, Others by malton: 3:01pm On Jun 21, 2019
wifeesnatcher:

help your dumbness first before thinking you can help anyone. the abokki needs your mumu teaching. educate them and stop exhibiting your foolishness to my side ok

cheesy cheesy wink

Unfortunately, you're the dumbest person I've come across in a long ass while.

All my goons are street smart, well educated, and fluent in spoken and written English.

By my responses to you, I was only trying to help the needy.

You no sabi write.

Sense, you no get.

Your ability to reason is zero.

Tolerance level: negative.

People like you are a drawback to the world.

You should be the last person to even attempt to bash anyone or the north for that matter!

Politics / Re: FG To Proscribe Al-majiri, Others by malton: 2:45pm On Jun 21, 2019
wifeesnatcher:

shut up man. are you talking to a kid?

let every States build their IGR thru whatever means they can and let federal govt focus on the capital projects that will drive the country to her destination

what has the unitary system brought to the people of Nigerians? western region got free education and the first TV station during regionalism

you're a kid, so stop telling me to go and read, you need to be school

Okay.

Good luck living with your ignorance. It's evident that you can't be helped! grin
Politics / Re: Femi Fani-Kayode: Why Festus Adebayo Should Do Thanksgiving In Church by malton: 2:43pm On Jun 21, 2019
wifeesnatcher:

you're living large on ignorant. 2 terms Governors, senate and Senate SP. if any of your relative reach that height, they won't smell poverty again

I said he's lost it all. As in, I get am before no be property.

Your comment further validates my claim.

Politics / Re: FG To Proscribe Al-majiri, Others by malton: 2:25pm On Jun 21, 2019
wifeesnatcher:

until the system is restructure, we are going no WHR. all southern leaders OK restructure but North leaders said no

1999 constitution will lead us to nowhere

Where will restructuring take you that a unitary system can't?

Please do yourself a favor; don't just listen to and follow what the crowd says. Read up and think for yourself.
Politics / Re: Femi Fani-Kayode: Why Festus Adebayo Should Do Thanksgiving In Church by malton: 2:22pm On Jun 21, 2019
wifeesnatcher:

landed him to a SP number 3 sit that he might not have been opportune to get in his lifetime, he got the balls

Actually, it caused him to lose it all.

Now he has none of it, and a battered reputation to booth.

Politics / Re: Femi Fani-Kayode: Why Festus Adebayo Should Do Thanksgiving In Church by malton: 2:06pm On Jun 21, 2019
wifeesnatcher:
lawan no get balls like Saraki. his much loyalty might affect constitutional policy on the executive side

And where did Saraki's balls land him?

Politics / Re: Femi Fani-Kayode: Why Festus Adebayo Should Do Thanksgiving In Church by malton: 2:04pm On Jun 21, 2019
emmasege:
Now, we all know what manner of Senate Presidency and NASS leadership Lawan will give in the next four years.

I can't think of any other Senate President that's so chicken-hearted and would have succumbed so swiftly to the executive and party's interference since we returned to democracy in 1999.

Lawal is apparently a big disappointment to the Parliament which is the soul of democracy wherever it's being practised.

Nigerians would definitely wish that Bukola Saraki had continued as SP, just like they wish GEJ had continued as president instead of Buhari.

Lol. Stop clowning.

The majority of Nigerians who wished Jonathan continued as president are the very same people whose votes weren't enough to keep him there beyond 2015.

If anything, Lawan has shown, by this action, that he's a reasonable leader who listens to the people who worked tirelessly to get him there.

Politics / Re: FG To Proscribe Al-majiri, Others by malton: 1:36pm On Jun 21, 2019
wifeesnatcher:

I'm not talking of abokki governors who are all bokoharam, banditry, kidnapping and Fulani herdsmen apologists

let southern have their own govt and see all eyes on them unlike you people that had been held hostage under religion and political supremacy

cheesy grin grin

I understand what you're saying, but what makes you think your government can deliver the performance you people need if given more freedom than they enjoy now?

Look, their wicked, corrupt, and repressive nature is the same regardless of the system. Or you think someone like Okowa has enough good in him to deliver the dividends of democracy?

Granted, boko haram, militancy, banditry, etc., are a stumbling block to nation growth, but let's not pretend like Nigeria was on some upward trajectory before crime became rife.

The collective irresponsibility of our leaders is why we're here.
Politics / Re: FG To Proscribe Al-majiri, Others by malton: 12:12pm On Jun 21, 2019
wifeesnatcher:
can we have southern and northern govt separately? and see how southern Nigeria will climb the development height so fast

everything about North is negative

Are you talking about the same southern governors who can't little as build roads? grin cheesy
Politics / Re: Beware Of Another Civil War – Ohanaeze Ndigbo Warns Nigerians by malton: 9:41pm On Jun 15, 2019
legitnow:

He stated the fact there in plain English.

2019 is not 1960s.

Buhari has a reputation as a brutal dictator, and Biafra file is open at the UN/ICC.

NO US support with Trump and we have Israel watching from the sky like an Eagle.

Without Igbo political elite, getting in the way, all hell will all but certainly break lose.

Note Igbo political elite played a major role to tame Kanu.

These Igbo political elite, are the people Buhari want to marginalise, thinking he is marginalising Igbos that are already fixated on Biafra, big mistake.

Lol. How old are you? I asked because you sounded like a five year old kid there.

Education / Re: FG Approves Abolition Of HND/BSC Dichotomy by malton: 6:23am On May 15, 2019
OboOlora:
The only reason I support this is because of the polytechnics that are way better than some universities eg Yabatech Vs ABU.

So in your own wisdom, Yabatech is better than ABU? What manner of disrespect is this?!

Politics / Re: Southwest Has Betrayed Us, In 2023, We Will Deal With Them- Gandujes' Aide by malton: 3:02pm On Feb 25, 2019
The apple doesn't fall far from the tree.

Salihu Yakassai is an uncouth, lazy, reprobate louth who can only cut it in a society where reprehensible acts are considered normal.

Politics / Re: Plateau Lists Fulani As A Major Ethnic Tribe In The State; Youths Protest by malton: 2:59pm On Feb 25, 2019
Nowenuse:

Hello Malton, remember me? I sent you a Pm, please reply.

Hi Nowenuse, sorry for the delayed response. I've seen your PM but couldn't respond earlier due to work.

I've responded to your message.
Politics / Re: Soldiers In Gun Battle With Boko Haram In Maiduguri by malton: 8:51pm On Apr 26, 2018
Got confirmation that they have been repelled successfully.

Politics / Re: Why Makarfi Is The Most Credible Alternative For Nigeria by malton: 8:14am On Apr 22, 2018
Baba, go chop your money in peace.

No come here dey try deceive people to mortgage their futures.
Travel / Re: Kano Longest Underpass Ready For Use (video, Pictures) by malton: 7:43pm On Apr 18, 2018
IamaNigerianGuy:

These arguments have the distinct flavor of excuses.
Better start fighting the battle now. It is either you impose your will on the pre-historic religious clerics or they impose their will on you.
Your region is not much different from Afghanistan, the Pakistani tribal areas and NIger/Chad so it behooves you to wake up and stop the downward spiral.
Our fathers subsidized you but the coming generation has had enough and won't do so.

Yo, what's up with you?

Are you always this disrespectful to people?

Watch the condescension, man.

The Fu*k do you mean by "subsidising you people"?!

You seem too have an overinflated sense of self worth. I hope you're not suffering from a narcissistic personality disorder?

From one stupid talk to another.

If you ain't got nothing valuable to say, just shut the fu#k up!

Who your father feed?

Such a nonsensical talk!

Travel / Re: Kano Longest Underpass Ready For Use (video, Pictures) by malton: 3:24pm On Apr 18, 2018
IamaNigerianGuy:

1.2 billion will take ALL the almajiris off the streets of Kano metropolis. The fact that you even can compare humans to a road shows how warped your thinking is. No reasonable person can ever place infrastructure before human beings.

I just checked your profile - try to live up to your own credo.

Is it that difficult for you to get your points across without resorting to insults?

You really underestimate how much it'd cost the government to get the almajiris off the streets.

I don't have the numbers, so don't know what the said amount can do.

But do you honesty believe that money will be enough to sustain them long-term?

Have you even thought about the the battles it'd take to get those guys off the streets?

The imams, religious angle and all? What you're doing is asking the government to engage in a toilsome, long-drawn-out battle that could end up costing them more than they bargained for.

Something could be and should be done about it, but not with #1.2b and definitely not at the expense of capital projects.

Imagine losing people to bad roads because you are saving money to get almajiris off the streets.

Beats me how you came to the conclusion that by that statement, I value infrastructural development over the human one.

Almajiris have been there since long. That never stopped Kano from developing.

Besides, taking them off the streets has never been a money issue. Were it so, 1.2b sure won't be enough.

Travel / Re: Kano Longest Underpass Ready For Use (video, Pictures) by malton: 2:25pm On Apr 18, 2018
IamaNigerianGuy:
Kano is building a 1.2 billion underpass and yet they have almajiris everywhere. Do these guys reason at all ?
This is wicked and inhumane.

So they should wait until there's no almajiri left before they embark on project and infrastructural development?

How far will 1.2 billion naira go in putting the almajiris off the streets?

Travel / Re: Kano Longest Underpass Ready For Use (video, Pictures) by malton: 2:22pm On Apr 18, 2018
Mogidi:
Niger Delta oil money

Still a child after all these years, I see.

15 Likes 2 Shares

Crime / Re: Fulani Herdsmen Sack Chembe, Benue. Kill Village Head by malton: 9:00pm On Apr 17, 2018
Onechancearmy:
I don't feel sorry for Benue and Taraba people. They're paying the price for their past blind stupidity and loyalty to their FULANUS overlords.

You have your reasons.

However, you need to understand that for each Benue person killed, the terror advances Southwards.

You may not appreciate them, but those people are your shield.

Politics / Re: Dangi Flyover Construction In Kano: 4 Billion Naira Ongoing Project (Photos) by malton: 3:46pm On Apr 16, 2018
Dreadedmaze:
[s][/s]

Onye nzuzu spotted.
I've been to Kano. If they like let them build 700 bridges with 1 million Naira each, Enugu still fine pass am. Shiooor... Apart from Lagos which is 70% outsiders investment. Tell me one very fine developed western state. This is public. Use your head. Not everything is meant for inter tribal quarel or comparison.

Lol.

Enugu fine pass which Kano?

I lived in Sunrise Estate in Emene and rep 042.

New Haven, Independence Layout, etc., I know very well.

Cool, fine place.

But finer than Kano? That's a lie.

Was surprised how you managed to say that with a straight face.

Politics / Re: Shehu Sani Reveals Governors Allegedly Responsible For Herdsmen Killings by malton: 4:32pm On Apr 12, 2018
CharleyBright:
The Northern elites are always the bane of Nigeria's problem.
It was Northern Governors that started and funded Boko Haram, it is same Northern governors that are sponsoring killer Fulani herdsmen.
What does the North contribute to the growth of Nigeria other than destruction and drawing the Country backwards?
May it not be well with Lugard for joining Northern Nigeria with Southern Nigeria.

True. The entire northern elites have been a scourge that is devastating our country.

However, the governors sponsor neither boko haram nor Fulani herdsmen.

The issue of boko haram was started by the Kanuris. The Borno/Yobe elites sponsored it, while the Emirs/District Heads/locals accepted it in their backyards because it had a religious colouration.

I was in Maiduguri one week ago. The stories I heard were heart wrenching.

The Fulani herdsmen is a different issue altogether. It's all business, to the elites at least. Almost every northern elite has someone tending their flocks.

How these herds feed, they barely even know. All they care about is number. Easy to see where their interest lies.

This problem cuts across even the middle belt. That's why they have failed to deal decisively with the herdsmen menace.

What we may never know, however, is whether or not these killings are being perpetrated by their own guys. Sponsor though, they do not.

Politics / Re: 2019: Buhari Will Kill Nigeria If Allowed Second Term - Fayose Says by malton: 10:10pm On Apr 09, 2018
History will not look too fondly upon Buhari. He's beyond terrible.

In fact, dismissing him as an ineffective and incompetent leader is being far too kind.

His leadership is the worst disaster to have plagued us in recent years.

However, I have a problem with people asking him not to run.

If liberty means anything to you at all, then you should not attempt to limit his freedom to run for office.

Him being incompetent means defeating him should be easy.

If so, I do not understand why all these people are against him running. Unless if there's something they are afraid of.

Maybe they are afraid that they cannot match his "popularity," or that he may go hard on them if he wins second term.

What I know for a fact is that they are doing it for their own selfish interest, and not in defence of the masses as they claim.

16 Likes

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 84 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 81