MAYOWAAK's Posts
Nairaland Forum › MAYOWAAK's Profile › MAYOWAAK's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 (of 81 pages)
In head-to-head stats, Nigeria and Cameroon have met in 22 previous matches. The Super Eagles have claimed 11 wins compared to four for the Indomitable Lions, while seven games have been drawn. However, vis-à-vis AFCON, both teams have slugged it out on 6 occasions with Cameroon triumphing 3 times, recording losses in 2 matches and drawing 1. The 3 victories garnered by the Indomitable Lions are all in the final matches of 1984, 1988 and 2000 editions of AFCON. Their defeat in the hands of the Super Eagles were in the 3rd place match and quarter final of AFCON 1992 and 2004 respectively. The lone encounter that ended in a draw was in the group stage of the 1988 AFCON. |
AGREEMENT BEFORE SEX Due to the current and incessant allegations and counter allegations made by women, which include Rape, Harassment, Blackmail etc. will it be acceptable to introduce an agreement to be signed before "action". AGREEMENT BEFORE SEX I, ___________________, the undersigned female partner (herein referred to as the 'Screwee'), am about to enjoy sexual intercourse with _________________ (hereafter referred to as the 'Screwer'), certify the following: 1. THAT I am above the lawful age of consent. 2. THAT I am not under the influence of liquor or any narcotic. 3. THAT the afore mentioned Screwer did not use any force, threats, coercion or promises to influence me. 4. THAT I, the Screwee, am in no fear of him whatsoever. 5. THAT I do not expect or wish to marry him. 6. THAT I do not know if he is married or not and neither do I care. 7. THAT I am neither asleep nor drunk. 8. THAT I am entering this relationship with him; because I love it and want it as much as he does. 9. THAT in the event that I receive full satisfaction, which I expect, I declare in advance the capacity and willingness for further participation at regular intervals. 10. THAT I will not act as a witness against him nor will I file charges against him in the event that, (a) I contract an STD (b) I become pregnant (c) I feel that he is violating any legislation - moral, legal or otherwise. SIGNED BEFORE JUMPING INTO BED ON THIS ___ DAY OF _____ (MONTH) ________ (YEAR) AT ______ (AM/PM) _______________________ (Signature of Screwee) ------------------------------------- (Signature of Screwer) |
He who alleges must prove. That’s the law. Rape is a criminal offense and there are clear procedures in law to follow even before publicity stunts. Let’s see how this matter will unfold. I personally feel they did not get their strategy right. You don’t accuse someone on social media before the matter goes to the police and then to the court of law. They should have taken action on this years ago and in the present circumstances, they should have still taken the legal steps and allow investigations concluded and taken to Court before their social media publications and that is if their lawyers would even allow them to prejudice a matter in court. I feel this thing will hit them harder than the accused. Social media is not the Court of law. They forget that this country has laws. The same way they have the freedom of speech to accuse him, the man has the freedom too to sue them heavily for billions especially where (if) they did not follow the due process of law. When the drama start, they will realize that social media will not be there to pay the claims. That’s why a man must chose his battles carefully. You don’t just stand out to fight. You plan, you weight the gains and losses and you put your arms in order first! |
COPIED FROM THE WALL OF A COZA MEMBER: I just watched @busoladakolo video I know the world gets emotional the moment a woman mentions that she was raped but if you will take a minute to think objectively; the oldest way a woman can try to destroy a man is to accuse him of rape. Any man is guilty of this offence in the eyes of the public until otherwise and if she has a little social status like the wife of a struggling musician like @timidakolo it makes it look credible. Why is she doing this? Timi and wife are a pawn in a conspiracy and also because it will help him sell some records which he desperately needs to sell, they will also trend for a while, she has already opened unbroken.ng an online platform to cash in on the drama just like @esewalter and then its over! I am a proud COZA member and @biodunfatoyinbo is my father and he has been a blessing to millions of people all over the world. This time there will be no silence and since you want war, you will have it. If @biodunfatoyinbo has been a blessing to you, its time to speak up, don't keep quiet! @timidakolo and @busoladakolo are not saints, she was a choir member and Timi was a choir leader in church when she got pregnant with her first baby, Timi denied that they weren't having an affair and then she got pregnant the second time and that was when the church forced them to get married. This chorister was sleeping with her choir master and was a baby mama with two kids before they got married. These are morally bankrupt people and all that talk in the video will not hold water under cross examination. Another thing that bothers me is why all the people troubling the body of christ @daddyfreeze @timidakolo @busoladakolo @chudeity all attend a particular church Timi and Busola have a LOT of skeletons and they both live in glass houses and they are busy throwing stones. Its time to shatter this house of cards these people have built, its time to deal with cyber bullying and vague social media allegations and this couple will be the scape goats. |
ROMARIO BAGGIO RAKOTOARISOA - The name of a Malagasy player in the ongoing 2019 AFCON. Someone from Madagascar is a Malagasy. |
POOR ATTEMPT AT REVISING HISTORY: Four Nigerians have been acknowledged at different times to have moved the motion for Nigeria's independence in the following order: 1.Anthony Enahoro moved his motion in 1953 for independence in 1956. 2.Samuel Ladoke Akintola moved his motion in 1957 for independence in 1959. 3.Remi Fani Kayode moved his motion in 1958 for independence on 2nd April 1960. 4.Abubakar Tafawa Balewa moved his motion in 1959 for independence on 1st October 1960. From the above chronology,the only motion that was successful was the one initiated by Balewa and not the one made by his father. |
The UEL was established in the 1971/72 season and in nine (9) previous editions, clubsides from the same country have squared up in the final. 1. 1972: Tottenham Hotspur and Wolverhampton Wanderers 2. 1980: Eintracht Frankfurt and Borussia Mönchengladbach 3. 1990: Juventus and Fiorentina 4. 1991: Inter Milan and Roma 5. 1995: Parma and Juventus 6. 1998: Inter Milan and Lazio 7. 2007: Sevilla and Espanyol 8. 2011: Porto and Braga 9. 2012: Athletico Madrid and Athletic Bilbao PS: Champions are the first clubs to be mentioned for each year. |
wink2015:Stamp Duty are levies on Receipted Transactions. Receipted Transactions are any deposits (cash or electronic)above N1,000 made to an account other than a savings account.However,there is an exemption; deposit made by self to self is exempted. The levy (stamp duty) is a flat charge of N50 on any deposit N1,000. |
FIFA have announced the scrapping of the 48 team participation in Qatar World cup 2022 and will revert to the usual 32 team participation. |
Summary. The Ministry of Sports collected the sum of $150, 000 erroneously sent to the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) by IAAF, the world body. Letters back and forth for almost two years and money not refunded. IAAF wants to ban Nigeria if money is not returned in 2 weeks. The Minister of Sports is aware of this shame. Who swallowed this money in the first place?
Emory University, Atlanta, United States of America is owned by The Methodist Church. |
coolie1:Those of you that ignorantly say Messi cannot survive the EPL: Goals against the Premiership top 6, this season: �� Messi - 6 ������� Firmino - 5 ������� Kane - 4 ������� Mane - 3 ������� Aubameyang - 3 ������� Sterling - 3 ������� Lacazette - 3 ������� Vardy - 3 ������� Salah - 2 ������� Hazard - 1 ������� Lukaku - 0 A certain player has 26 goals against English oppositions just like he has 27 against Real madrid and some people say he can’t perform in the EPL, please is it Burnley and Leicester that wants to tame him? |
EPL fans should enjoy the moments, after this Finals the Laliga teams will resume their dominance... LALIGA TEAMS versus PREMIERSHIP TEAMS Nigerians and their Emotions of the Moment. To them, Spanish football is dead. Please check these: 2010: Inter Milan played Bayern Munich. Inter won. 2011: Barca played Manchester United. Barca won. 2012: Chelsea played Bayern Munich. Chelsea won. 2013: Bayern played Dortmund in an all German final. Bayern won. 2014: Real Madrid played Atletico in an all Spanish final. Madrid won. 2015: Barca played Juventus in final. Barca won. 2016: Real Madrid played Atletico again in an all Spanish final. Madrid won. 2017: Real Madrid played Juventus in final. Madrid won. 2018: Real Madrid played Liverpool in the final, Madrid won. In NINE seasons, Spanish teams won SIX times, English won ONCE. Germans won ONCE and Italians won ONCE. Now, since 2008 when we had an all English final (Chelsea and United), we have not had it since then until now. That is ELEVEN years. Whereas we have had an all Spanish final TWICE in THREE seasons and at least THREE Spanish teams in the final a combined SEVEN times in NINE years. In Europa League, a Spanish team, Sevilla, won it THREE times in a row. Only two English teams have won it since 2001: Chelsea (2013) and United (2017). Yet, to my fellow Nigerians, football "has left Spain and come to England." English teams have not shown the kind of consistency Spanish teams have shown, yet we have already concluded just because of one season wonder, soccer has left Spain. All because Liverpool and Spurs are making an all English final for the first time in 11 years. Come on... |
TO ALL MY FRIENDS LEAVING NIGERIA AND THOSE STAYING BEHIND... More than ever before, I have seen and heard about so many people leaving the country, Nigeria. • It’s as if a memo was sent across the land advising people to “up and go” and doubt it not, people are doing just that. • While training a corporate organization some weeks ago, I heard the story of a High Networth Individual who made the decision to exit. His colleagues were shocked. He earns very well. He has an enviable package and he was living “the life” but alas, he had his eyes on other things. • I know someone who used to be a VERY STRONG ADVOCATE of Nigeria, its potential, rich resources and possibilities who has now relocated to another country. • I have friends who had great dreams of occupying key positions in the Nigerian government who have long travelled out and others who are making solid plans to do just that. • Don’t be surprised if some of your most loyal friends call you via WhatsApp sometime soon to let you know that they now live in Australia, South Africa, UK, USA or the new favourite, CANADA. They’ll be living out Adele’s “Hello from the other side”� • Before, it was the people who were struggling to survive who were rushing out. Now, even those who are well to do are securing papers and citizenships like teenagers buying JAMB forms. After all, some South American Islands have enticing offers that are accessible to those who have the funds for it. • You might even be plotting your own exit while reading this� Who knows? Migration from any social system is normal but MASS migration is often an indication of DANGER. People migrate when there’s real or perceived danger. • Many people feel the Nigerian System is DANGEROUS to their lives and destinies. That’s why both the rich and the poor are desperately seeking a way outta hear. • This is more than a quest for money, recognition, fame or position. This is about SAFETY&SECURITY. There are many reasons why people leave places- relationships, businesses, ministries and ventures. But it’s usually one or more of these 3 reasons: - When there’s insecurity and the threat of danger. - When they no longer see their future in it. - When they see a greater promise of better returns in or from another place. • No matter how patriotic you are, I don’t think you can deny the fact that you’ve observed at least one of these reasons at some point in your experience or contemplation. So, what are the implications of these? Too many to mention in this post. Should you “jet out” too? It really depends on you and what you perceive your Maker has called you to do. I don’t hold the keys to your destiny and I might not be in the best position to make recommendations. However I have a few thoughts that could help: IF YOU’RE LEAVING NIGERIA, 1. Do it from a place of personal conviction and not just peer or social pressure. What’s good for one may be disastrous for another. 2. Ensure you’re not only riding on passion and frustration. If those are your primary or only drivers, you and your potential will become caged by the relative comfort you’ll have when you get to another country. 3. Seek God’s face to ensure you’re in line with His will. He knows the past, present and future and can tell you exactly what to do, where, when and how. Be sensitive to His instructions. He may give you instructions that aren’t in line with your preferences. 4. Exit Nigeria and enter that country of your dreams legally so that you don’t become trapped in it and you can be free to travel to other places at any time you wish. 5. Be very strategic and intentional with your preparation process. Consult those who have gone ahead and let them give you the details of their own transition experiences so that you don’t get shocked by the realities you May have to handle. 6. Keep your ties and some investments in Nigeria. Things can still turn for the better and it can happen much faster than we even project. Don’t cut your friends and family in Nigeria off. You may need them more than you think and they may need you too. 7. Get wise and trusted advisers and mentors you can reach out to for advice, prayers, perspective and encouragement from time to time. IF YOU DECIDE TO STAY IN NIGERIA 1. Face this reality: Based on historical facts, trends, raw data, the attitudes of the general populace, the drama surrounding the outcomes of the last election, and the pervasive bureaucratic impediments, there MIGHT not be any LANDSLIDE/WIDESPREAD transformation for another 12 years. This is not pessimism. Do notice my use of MIGHT. I can’t go into the detailed analysis of my proposition but if you’re a student of social transformation, you’ll understand what I mean. 2. Know what YOU’RE doing. You can’t afford to “float”, “fantasize” or drift around with false hope. What are you doing? What are you working on? What are building? Who are you investing in? Why? What sectors are you considering? What’s your end game? 3. Seek God’s face to endure you’re not suffering in the name of solidarity. Are you called to Nigeria or to a space in it? If so, what are the details of that assignment? How long is it? Lifelong or seasonal? 4. Build Microsystems and leverage Macrosystems. You can’t leave your life to the mercies of an ecosystem that’s struggling to support itself. Some aspects of the Nigerian system are functional but most are dysfunctional. How can you create microsystems with the goal of expanding them to benefit others? 5. Invest in people. Pour into people. Build teams. Volunteer for value-adding programs and projects. Nigeria is made up of people. You don’t change nations. You influence people who then change their nation together. 6. Fix your finances. Remember that you’re your own “local government” and you need money to do all the things you need to do. Invest in learning how to make your money work in Nigeria. Know the right skills to acquire. Don’t waste time gathering certificates that have nothing to do with the course of your life. One major skill you need is NETWORKING. 7. Pray, fast and get closer to God. You’re living in a system that can rubbish the best of people. Without God’s backing, your best plans may still be endangered. With these in mind, I hope I’ve offered some helpful insights whichever way you choose, to stay or to leave. Let me know your thoughts and be sure to SHARE this. SOURCE: FROM THE FACEBOOK PAGE OF DAMILOLA OLUWATOYINBO |
MAY - DAY IN NIGERIA: Friday, 1st May 1981 was for the first time declared a national holiday in Nigeria. It was banned twice in 1988 and 1990 and Labour leaders detained on each occasion during General Ibrahim Babangida's regime. The demand for May - Day holiday dates back to the colonial era. Even after independence, indigenous government which succeeded the colonialists would not concede to the demand for a May - Day holiday. Characteristic of those days, Labour leaders defied the laws and called out workers in peaceful demonstrations. In 1980 during the 2nd Republic presided over by Alhaji Shehu Shagari, the following states; Kaduna, Kano, Oyo, Bendel, Gongola, Ogun, Ondo, Borno and Lagos which were governed by Governors in other political parties different from the ruling party at the centre decided to test their federating democratic rights in defiance of the Federal Government stance declared and observed May Day in their States. Out of fear that his Government may lose the May Day battle to the opposition political parties controlled states, and lose the support and sympathy of workers, President Shehu Shagari in 1981 approved the observance of WORKERS DAY in Nigeria. |
Before 2004, players had been cautioned for removing their shirts. I can still recall vividly a France 98 FIFA World Cup qualifier between Nigeria and Kenya on Saturday June 7 1997 at the National Stadium Surulere Lagos. The march ended 3 nil in favour of Nigeria. Wilson Oruma was issued a yellow card for removing his shirt in the course of celebrating a goal he scored. |
Who is a prostitute? 7 facts that will blow your mind. 1. She's not a spirit or an alien from the pit of hell. She's someone's daughter, sister, mother, niece, aunt, perhaps (single) mother, and friend. Don't be surprised if she's even someone's fiance or wife. She's even someone's church member or mosque member and someone's student. Or someone's best friend. You've sat beside her in the bus or queued up behind her at the ATM before and you never knew. 2. She is a school dropout, a school cert holder, or even a graduate. Some of her colleagues are lucky and/or rugged enough to get something doing. Or they have families that cater to their needs. Our prostitute isn't that lucky and she doesn't want to beg neither does she want to steal. But she wants to survive and survive she must perhaps till she gets an easier, more societally acceptable job to do. 3. She's someone who doesn't fight or cause any trouble. Her customer peacefully bargains with her just like a car owner bargains with an auto mechanic. If the price is agreed, service is rendered, and everybody is happy. She smiles to the bank (or her daily contribution) while the customer is happy. He's so happy he might even come around again some other time. 4. Talking about smiling to the bank. Depending on her location vis-a-vis the calibre of her clientele and how many "short time", "marathon", or "overnight" sessions her strength can achieve per day, she can make between 7 - 15K per day. She can even afford a few days off per month. You will be surprised that most of her friends waking up everyday and wearing suit and tie to work in air-conditioned offices don't earn up to that. 5. And still talking about the money. Whether by daily contribution and/or bank deposits, she's a mad saver. She doesn't spend extravagantly. She's paying some basic bills - her rent for her room in the brothel (aka "guest house" , her wardrobe which is mostly cheap bend-down-select advertising clothing, and her basic survival. The rest is spent on her children's school fees, her brother's tuition in the university, her parent's welfare in the village, or saved up to start a conventional business or further her own education after now. She doesn't have time for frivolous spending neither will she be able to afford the expensive things of life. Did I remember to say she might even pay her tithes, offerings, first fruits, etc too?6. She's at risk of occupational hazards, mostly sexually transmitted disease and physical violence. However she's free from the former since she always has packs of condoms by her bed. She might not even buy them since she sometimes gets them free from different health agencies that come around for outreaches. She can be free from the latter too if she is generally security-conscious. Even doctors, lawyers, lecturers, pastors, and engineers are all at risk of occupational hazards. That's the whole idea of hazard-reduction, hazard allowance, and the various forms of insurance. And in Nigeria, you don't need to be a prostitute to be kidnapped, brutalized, or downright killed in cold blood. Or die in a road traffic accident. Talking about occupational hazards, you can point to some of them who are victims of human slavery - one madam taking advantage of several poor girls who service her clients while she maltreats them. Well human slavery is everywhere. There are lawyers working as slaves in law firms. Casual workers fill up Nigerian banks and domestic helps are constantly abused by their employers. 7. Based on the foregoing, the term "prostitute" has become outdated and inappropriate for this group of independent women who are hardworking, prudent, and peaceful self-employed traders. They're better referred to as "commercial sex workers". Post is long already but in one paragaph, let me chip in our dear Yahoo boys. A Yahoo boy is also someone's son, brother, etc. But there are 3 main differences. One, the sex worker has a CUSTOMER who willingly pays for her service and in the end, he's happy for what he has spent his money for. On the other hand, the Yahoo boy has a VICTIM who unwillingly parts with his money and is hurt thereafter. The sex worker's customer may want to see her again later while the Yahoo boy's victim wants to get him arrested. Two, the sex worker is satisfying a need. Whether the society is honest enough to acknowledge the existence of this need or not, the truth is the need is there. She's helping a critical sector of the economy. She's spreading happiness around. On the other hand, the Yahoo boy is giving Nigeria a bad name internationally, scaring potential investors from coming to the country. He's spreading sadness and agony around. Three, what do they want in life? The sex worker wants basic survival while the Yahoo boy wants to use the most expensive gadgets, quaff the most expensive champagnes, and ride the flashiest cars. The next time you talk about a sex worker, show some respect. It is my sincere hope that you've learnt something today. |
kevweflex:Next time, use tooth pick to count the digits before pressing SEND. |
So no be only RADIATOR FOR CAR dey overheat? |
Ibcrown:A certain Robert Skov who plays for FC Copenhagen with 23 goals is the highest goalscorer in the Danish League. Paul Onuachu has 14 goals to his credit and is Number 5 on the scorers chart. |
#evolvewithnatalie It's not fair to tell a graduate who spent 4-10 years in school to go and fry Ankara on the road because that's what could bring money. I got the number of a cabbie yesterday to pick me up today and i was struck by the kind of English he was speaking. Not just "good English" but the unmistakable educated kind. It made me sad. I don't care if he's making more money than a Shell worker, I'm certain this is not the life he planned for himself.. While we keep hounding unemployed graduates with the "get something doing" tag - as if they like being idle- let's not forget to blame the useless system that has put us in this mess we have today. It is the job of the Government to provide jobs. Even though not directly, at least create the right atmosphere for industries / the private sector to blossom. We have refused to point out fingers to the architects of our woes, rather we have put the burden on the victims to bear. "A Doctor turns Successful Baker" story sounds inspiring but it is not always. That doctor went to school to be part of those who save lives. Perhaps she had a good research laboratory, she may discover the cure for aids or cancer. But now she's reduced to making cakes and living for the hustle and Instagram likes. That's enough to cause frustration and depression because your deepest desire -of transforming lives and contributing to humanity- is not met. Money CANNOT meet all needs. Let's say the cab guy i met studied Law, is practicing but has a love for driving and needs to earn extra income. He registers on Uber and becomes an Uber driver! He drives for a living while preserving his dignity at the same time. The man who carried me obviously has no money to afford the kind f car that will pass an uber or taxify standard. And i doubt any financial institution will help him acquire that. I will never fry Ankara on the road, i don't care how much money it brings. It's not pride, it's reality. Let's stop praising poverty and making our graduates look unwilling to work. If i would end up frying Ankara, why the hell should i waste more than 5 years with strikes, carry overs and vindictive lecturers studying Engineering? Did i tell you i don't know what to do with my life ? Why should i even go to secondary school.when i could just start as a child? Why did my dad spend millions training his kids if its only for them to live a life worse than his? The system has failed us! Our useless Leaders have failed the Nigerian youth, there is no white washing it! Our educational system is whack yet having basic jobs to persevere our dignity is not too much to ask! When APC came they said they would bring change. Later they told us to bring the change ourselves and some of you not wits actually clapped! Shut the fvck up will you? You have all the power in your hands to decree a thing and it will be established. You have the power to use our collective resources to transform this Nation and you ask me who is barely able to feed to change Nigeria? Imagine the nerve! Anyway this issue is bigger than APC, it is a leadership problem with its root cause in visionlessness. What did the Bible say again about lack of vision again? The people perish abi? Ok. That's where we have put the Nigerian youths, or rushing under the tyres of the truck that grinds them yet we are asking them to move the same truck out of their way. Let's call a spade a spade, it is not we the Nigerian graduates that have failed but the god-forsaken Government. Smh. COPIED FROM THE FACEBOOK PAGE OF NATALIE EWAEN USEN. |
Young PIUS ADEBOLA ADESANMI in the picture below. An old picture of Prof Pius Adesanmi found by my sister. Remembering Pius Adebola Adesanmi (February 27, 1972- March 10, 2019) "Yes, that is Pius Adebola Adesanmi (as he was then known to us) carrying my youngest brother Poyepo at our old home in Victoria Island, Lagos in the early eighties. To his left is my brother Biyi. ( I remember my mom being upset that the photographer had taken the picture without her other son, my brother Tunde, who is exactly 10 days older than Pius!) SOURCE: FACEBOOK PAGE OF OLABOLUDELE SIMOYAN
Following General Sani Abacha’s death on June 8, 1998, General Abdulsalami Abubakar assumed power. A month later on July 13, 1998, apparently having seen evidence of monumental looting of the treasury by his late predecessor, then Head of State instituted the Special Investigation Panel to establish “cases of swindled public funds and recover same back to the federal government coffers”. Within a matter of days, the panel had secured records from the apex back which revealed that between November 1993 when he took over and June 1998 when he died, Abacha had taken from the CBN funds totaling $2,263,520,497(Two Billion......) in cash withdrawals, travelers cheques and telegraphic transfers, in the name of “security vote”. However, the job of the panel was made easy by the fact that one of the Abacha family associates, Alhaji Abubakar Bagudu (currently Governor of Kebbi State) was ready to cooperate by returning some of the loot. On May 26, 1999, just three days before handing over power, General Abubakar promulgated Decree 53 of 1999 on forfeiture of assets by certain persons which listed the monies returned by the Abacha's family. Abacha’s contempt for accountability commenced less than two weeks after he took power from Chief Ernest Shonekan. In a memo reference NSA/A/320/S/46 dated 30th November 1993, the then National Security Adviser, Alhaji Ismaila Gwarzo, requested for $100 million to combat “an economy that was deflected and distorted through the black market.” In the same memo, Gwarzo also undertook to pay back the naira equivalent into government coffers. Having apparently been briefed by Abacha, the then Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor, Dr Paul Ogwuma released the money in the following sums: $95 Million and 3.2 million Pounds Sterling, all in cash. However, the import of that first transaction was that Abacha had realized just how easy it was to directly take money out of the CBN and that became a perfect scam for him. All that was then needed was a letter from Gwarzo seeking approval for any sum of money in the guise of “security” and the CBN would release such demand in cash. So primitive was the whole arrangement that the principal job of some security officials was to be bagging and re-bagging millions of Dollars and Pound Sterling. The following are a few of the documented transactions: On February 13 and 15, 1995 Gwarzo collected US$200,000 and US$600,000 respectively (totaling $800,000) from the CBN. This was sequel to Abacha’s approval of his letter dated 15th February, 1995 in which he requested for US dollars $4 million and GB£ 2million “to take care of some developments in a number of areas…” The $800,000 was part payment for the approved sum of US $4 million while the balance was paid in Travellers’ Cheques. On 29th December 1995, Gwarzo collected from the CBN the sum of US $5 million based on Abacha’s approval of his letter to deal with “situation at hand”! The reasons given in many of the letters seeking approval to take money out of the CBN beggar belief but having “started small”, Abacha apparently became more emboldened with time. On 23rd August, 1996, Gwarzo collected US $30 million from the CBN following Abacha’s approval of his letter dated 20th August 1996, requesting for the said money to “assist our immediate neighbours and others within this sub-region”. On 18th December, 1996, Gwarzo collected US $ 66.5 million and GB £20 million following Abacha’s approval of his letter to meet “some requests from Heads of State of some Francophone countries, and to cultivate African solidarity.” A month later on 30th September, 1996, Gwarzo collected US $50 million and GB £20 million from the CBN sequel to his letter dated 24th September 1996, requesting for the money to “prop some African and other Third World countries” to assist in Nigeria’s “democratization and economic recovery”. On 28th April, 1997, Gwarzo collected US $60 million GB £30 million sequel to Abacha’s approval of his letter dated 22nd April 1997, in which he requested for the said sums for “public relations to international communities and organizations”. On 9th July, 1997, Gwarzo collected US $ 5 million from the CBN following Abacha’s approval of his letter dated 23rd May, 1997 to meet all “demands and commitments as directed”. A month later on 8th December, 1997, Gwarzo collected US $120 million and GB £50 million sequel to Abacha’s approval of his letter dated 26th November 1997. And on 19th January, 1998, Gwarzo collected from the CBN the sums of US $100 million and GB£ 50 million to “counter insinuations that (Lt. General Oladipo) Diya’s coup was not real, and the government framed them to remove and replace the coupists with stooges.” The interesting thing about this particular transaction was that while re-bagging the money, “four cartons containing a total of about US$ 8 million were set aside” in Gwarzo’s own residence, while the balance of US $57 million and GB£ 30 million were delivered to the late Head of State through Mohammed Abacha. On 25th October, 1997, Gwarzo collected US$ 80 million and GB £40 million “to sponsor military intervention in Sierra Leone, and garner support for same in the West African Sub-region.” On 30th April, 1998, a few weeks before Abacha died, Gwarzo collected US $ 80 million, GB £50 million and N250 million based on his letter dated 29th April 1998 for the conduct of an enlightenment campaign on the “virtues” of an “Abacha Presidency”. On 5th July, 1996, Gwarzo collected from the CBN the sum of US $8.1 million and GB £ 5.2 million based on his request dated 14th June 1996, to support five presidential aspirants in the Niger Republic general elections. On 21st February, 1997, Gwarzo collected from the CBN the sums of US $60 million and £20 million for “pro-Nigeria propangada” abroad. On 1st April, 1998, Gwarzo collected from the CBN the sums of US $65 million and GB £30 million for “Public Relations at home and abroad, to counter the European Union campaign against the transition programme.” On the 8th of May, 1996 Gwarzo collected US $3 million and US $9 million respectively from the CBN. Out of this sum, he reportedly sent US $ 7 million (on behalf of Abacha) to then President Matthew Kerekou of Benin Republic as “assistance to the country to pay outstanding workers’ salary” while US $2 million was for Kerekou himself. On 13th November, 1996, Gwarzo collected US $5 million and GB £3 million from the CBN based on his letter dated 7th November, 1996 “to take care of foreign dignitaries who will attend the burial ceremonies of the first President of Nigeria, Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe.” On 10th September, 1997, Gwarzo collected US$ 60 million and GB£ 30million from the CBN “to finance a campaign for a seat on the Security Council of the United Nations Organisation.” On 9th December, 1996, Gwarzo collected US $5 million from the CBN sequel to Abacha’s approval of his letter dated 21st November, 1996 in which he requested the said sum “to finance the purchase of ten Toyota Land Cruisers, and ten Peugeot 505 saloons for the Republic of Mali”. |
On this day in 1986, Major General Mamman Vatsa, the then Minister of the Federal Capital Territory and a few others were convicted and sentenced to death for the offence of conspiracy to commit treason by a Military Tribunal headed by Major General Charles Ndiomu. Others who were found guilty alongside Vatsa were as follows: Lt Col Musa Bitiyong Lt Col C A Oche Lt Col A Iyorshe Sqn Ldr Martin O Luther Major I Bamidele Wg Cdr Ben Ekele Wg Cdr A C Sakaba Lt Col M Effiong Cdr A Ogwiji Sqn Ldr A Ahura Major D E West Major T G Akwashiki.
ollah2:In the example you cited, ADC does not immediately precede APC as this case with PCP and PDP. APC is immediately preceded by APA and APDA is the party after APC. The likehood of mistake here is lower vis a vis PDP. |
There is a party with the abbreviation; "PCP" which immediately precedes PDP on the result sheet. I am very sure a good number of voters must have made the mistake of thumb printing for the party instead of PDP. In Abia State, the party came 4th behind PDP, APC and APGA with a total vote of 1,489. In Taraba, it scored 3,231. It has consistently been in the Top 5. |
Germane to hapenings at the Collation Centre.
Till 10Am. Mahmood Yakubu has adjourned announcement of results. |
Omoyele Sowore, the intrepid founder of the muck raking online news outlet; Sahara Reporters and former President of the Students Union Government (SUG) of University of Lagos scored a total of 4,419 votes in his home State of Ondo. PDP emerged triumphant with 275,901 votes while arch rivals; APC garnered 241,769. |
, her wardrobe which is mostly cheap bend-down-select advertising clothing, and her basic survival. The rest is spent on her children's school fees, her brother's tuition in the university, her parent's welfare in the village, or saved up to start a conventional business or further her own education after now. She doesn't have time for frivolous spending neither will she be able to afford the expensive things of life. Did I remember to say she might even pay her tithes, offerings, first fruits, etc too?