Stats: 3,160,929 members, 7,845,001 topics. Date: Thursday, 30 May 2024 at 11:08 AM

NB1912's Posts

Nairaland Forum / NB1912's Profile / NB1912's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 4:36am On Oct 01, 2021
WestGodspower:

Boss, I'm into I.T, web development to be precise. What will be the best route for me to take to get a working visa and relocate to Australia. I went to their website and saw something about it amongst skilled occupations but a lot of the grammar that they are using, i dont understand. Please advise me, thank you.
Check this Thread for Australia PR discussion. You might get response to your question. https://www.nairaland.com/4478747/diy-guide-australian-permanent-resident/297
Travel / Re: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by NB1912: 6:31am On Jun 15, 2020
mamatwiny:
Nsw 491 to open on Monday! It will close on 23 and result will be out by 30th
Hurry if your occupation is still available.

They are only open to stream 1 occupation which requires you to be living and working in regional NSW for the past 12 months.
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 4:48am On Jun 01, 2020
Looks like the government is planning on opening borders in September, but it would be dependent on the country deemed safe for travel. May God bless Nigeria.

https://7news.com.au/news/tourism/timetable-for-post-coronavirus-tourism-restart-released-and-first-flight-date-set-c-1062328
Travel / Re: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by NB1912: 3:48am On Jun 01, 2020
tunlex01:
65 is not a myth, few people have gotten ITA for 491 with 65 points and more. The image you posted is only for 189 and family sponsored 491 which is different from the state/regional 491.

190 and 491 have different criteria per state and per occupation.

Lislekelsey:

Sir/ma. That was before. Since the year started that has not happened. Show me one single person who has gone in with your 65 and started their processing after nov 19th. One person pls

And you very much misquoted me. I'm not talking about before your regional sponsorship. Regional sponsorship alone adds 15points. Most ppl enter 90-95 immediately. So.....

Then most ppl here are talking from the past. Before everything was revised. No one here has mentioned starting processing after the revision of visas and meeting their cutoff. The ppl I know were not taken. Its why I've been following this thread. Looking for extra ways to get additional points just to meet up apart from schooling.

I do agree with tunlex01, however I understand the message Lislekelsey is trying to pass across. Yes after the November changes it's been difficult to secure 189, 190 and 491. Now the pandemic just made it worst. Yes the requirement is to have 65 points but the competition for places has increased, hence the increase in points required. Again, it's dependent on your occupation. Some require higher points and while others with 65 points (mostly trade occupations) you are good.

The message here is for people to aim higher than 65 points in order to increase their chances. The process cost a lot of money and it's one which requires proper planning and adequate information prior to proceeding, else you will be left disappointed.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 5:05am On May 29, 2020
See my response highlighted below
Kess2020:
NB1912 , Naijabad and other seniors in the house please regarding Visa application

1. Is there possibility for October term 2020 be issued visa since there are still some restrictions?
Ans: There is a possibility, but I can't advise further. We will have to wait for announcement from the government.

2.what's the duration for Australia students visa?
Ans: It's usually the length of your study period. In most cases, the visa end date will be determined by the OSHC end date.

3.Pls I will be writting PTE Academic next month is it advisable to cancel the exam and write Ielts my first trial didn't really ace it 5.5broadband.
Ans: PTE is widely accepted for study and migration purpose. If you feel you have a better chance with PTE then there is no need to cancel. I find PTE to be easier.

Am using the Englisg test for visa issuance not for admission already got my offer letter.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 2:14am On May 28, 2020
valveraaaa:
This is nice,but will it favour july intake?
Unfortunately I can't advise. Will have to wait and see.
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 4:10am On May 27, 2020
Ufodeking:
Good day everyone, is there any information about when flight travelling will commence in Australia (basically for international student)?
Below is an article that might give you some insight. I think it will depend on how each country is able to contain the virus, i.e low infection rates, high testing rates and an ability to deal with outbreaks.

https://go8.edu.au/in-the-media-universities-propose-secure-corridor-rules-for-international-students
Travel / Re: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by NB1912: 2:01am On May 04, 2020
tunlex01: Babalola has responded to you. You don't stand a chance due to your degrees but your spouse does.

mamatwiny:

Please reconfirm this . He has CCNP and ACS accepts it but deducts from years of experience
If he uses his CCNP he will need 5 years of work experience if nominating Network engineer or 6 years if nominating Programmer. Please note that networking and programming are two different occupation. As he has got only 3years of networking experience and 4 years of programming experience, he is not eligible.

As advised by tunlex01 he has no chance, his wife is in a better position.
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 2:30am On Apr 24, 2020
Matoade:
Can someone pls explain the 5.0 in 7.0 grade point to me pls. @babajigga @AyaE
I guess you are referring to the equivalent of Nigerian GPA to Australian 5.0 GPA. There are two methods;

1. Your GPA ÷ 5 X (7)

2. Your GPA X 1.4

Cheers!
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 6:50am On Apr 21, 2020
cflows:
how do i migratet o australia ?
Buy a Ticket, board a plane and fly grin
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 7:28am On Apr 03, 2020
NB1912:

1. Go to your university, your department to be specific, and request for your Course syllabus. They would definitely have it.

2. Get a letter from your university stating that your degree was undertaken in English.
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 7:28am On Apr 03, 2020
adeyemi91:
Hello, congrats on your admission.
Pls someone should enlighten me on this mostly 1 and 2. I actually didn't write TOEFL but I selected an option that I did my studies in English language. Now, I don't know what I should use as proof.
1. Go to your university, your department to be specific, and request for your Course syllabus. They would definitely have it.

2. Get a letter from your university stating that your degree was undertaken in English.

Travel / Re: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by NB1912: 1:05am On Mar 20, 2020
Knight1:

Sigh.
IS there anything one can do about this migration now? or this is the end of the road? embarassed
If you are working as an ICT Project Manager and your duties doesn't involve Technical work but just strictly Management, then you can apply under Vetassess for Project Administrator 511112. Based on your degree (Electrical and Computer Engineering), they will deduct only 1 year experience. Please note that the assessment for Project Admin is tough as you need to produce lots of documents to support your claim.

Please take note of the highlighted as it will determine if you will get a positive or Negative assessment. Cheers!

Travel / Re: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by NB1912: 5:20am On Mar 19, 2020
NB1912:

First I need to clarify the above statement. In order to apply for ICT customer support officer with TRA you need to have an I.T degree in addition to minimum 3 years experience else the outcome will be negative. Regarding your question I want to believe you are referring to ICT Customer Support officer. To clarify, the 75 points that I mentioned is inclusive of state points for 491. For 190 offshore, you need 95 points (Inclusive of state points) for SA to sponsor you. Other 491 options are QLD (80 points; including 5 years experience) and NSW (5 years experience). You will need to check their requirement.

mamatwiny:

Please I need us to reconfirm this info for ICT customer support officer. For SA, It is not among those for high points. The 75points stated there is for state nomination, we need 75 points in addition to article 3.5 and the 3.5 states 8 years work experience with superior English, so without 3.5, we should apply for 491.
I also went ahead to confirm that it is ICT degree that is needed and not IT. ICT is much more than IT cos it involves communication tech. It is a broader scope.

My dear, whether you have I.T, ICT or Computer Science, all three degrees have similarities and they are classified as I.T. So for ICT Customer support officer assessment anyone of the three would fly period.

Regarding SA Sponsorship for 190, are you sure you read the requirements carefully? I doubt you did. It's stated clearly that the occupation is available for Provisional 491 visa only -190 nomination offered to applicants under specific circumstances only (see 3.5). Under section 3.5 it states that you need to be a high point applicant in addition to 8 years experience and superior English. Did you check the requirements for high points? I bet you didn't. Please see images below from SA website for confirmation.

@highlighted if high points is not available for an occupation it will be stated clearly.

Let me know if you need more clarity. Cheers!

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 4:16am On Mar 19, 2020
Important information for Queensland bound students

Some Universities in Queensland have now shutdown due to the ongoing Covid-19 crisis and are now delivering all lectures online. Please check with your University to ensure that you are not impacted. My advise to anyone impacted will be to defer to next semester. Cheers
Travel / Re: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by NB1912: 6:26am On Mar 16, 2020
lordkratos:

Mate, your comments are so helpful and succinct. I need to make an informed decision, can I PM you?
Feel free to post here. I am happy to respond or other members can respond as well.
Travel / Re: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by NB1912: 6:09am On Mar 16, 2020
NB1912:
Looking at the above you have 8 years of IT support experience. The issue is if you go for ICT Support Engineer 263212 assessed by ACS, your degree is not I.T related, hence you will have to go via the ACS RPL route which will deduct 6 years of your experience. You are then left with only 2 years.

Another option will be to explore ICT Customer Support Officer 313112 assessed by TRA. You might be eligible for SA 190 and 491. Also it is less competitive and you only require 75 points (including state points) as specified by SA.

mamatwiny:

Please confirm the 75 pts is inclusive of the state points. I am currently doing assessment with TRA and they replied in their acknowledgement mail that processing time is 120 days. My target is 190 visa nomination with SA and I plan to write pte b4 the assessment comes out. I have been putting pressure on my brain on how to get band 8 in pte to be eligible for 190 cos I have the minimum years they require . if the 75 is state pt , then I can just target band 7 with ielts and also have hubby get band 6 . This is good news to me.

First I need to clarify the above statement. In order to apply for ICT customer support officer with TRA you need to have an I.T degree in addition to minimum 3 years experience else the outcome will be negative. Regarding your question I want to believe you are referring to ICT Customer Support officer. To clarify, the 75 points that I mentioned is inclusive of state points for 491. For 190 offshore, you need 95 points (Inclusive of state points) for SA to sponsor you. Other 491 options are QLD (80 points; including 5 years experience) and NSW (5 years experience). You will need to check their requirement.
Travel / Re: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by NB1912: 4:48am On Mar 13, 2020
ok4:
Good evening guys,

Please I need direction on how to go about the Australian Permanent Resident Visa, the ACS payment and which one should I take first, IELTS is still pending... I wanted to start that of Canada when a friend advised me to try Australia as he did not want me to be stranded along the way due to the calculated points (age 36 plus, no Masters).
I read Chemical Engineering - first degree
Started work around 2010 a Customer Service Representative-9 months
IT Support- 11 months
Project Management- 1 year 4 months
IT Support- 7yrs plus (till date)
I am an ITIL, OCA and CCNA certified....
Preparing for my IELTS
I know from my work experience I should be eligible for (263212 ICT Support Engineer)-Skilled Nominated (subclass 190).
Planning to go with my family- (Wife has a diploma with close age)

Thanking you in anticipation,

OK4.
Looking at the above you have 8 years of IT support experience. The issue is if you go for ICT Support Engineer 263212 assessed by ACS, your degree is not I.T related, hence you will have to go via the ACS RPL route which will deduct 6 years of your experience. You are then left with only 2 years.

Another option will be to explore ICT Customer Support Officer 313112 assessed by TRA. You might be eligible for SA 190 and 491. Also it is less competitive and you only require 75 points (including state points) as specified by SA.

Travel / Re: DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 by NB1912: 4:25am On Mar 13, 2020
opad:
Hi Pals,

Any chance for an 491 for any state without job offer.
Offshore
Occupation is Food Technologist.
EOI lodged @80 points for 491
65 for 190

Check NSW 190 or 491. For NSW 491 you need to have at least five years of experience.
Maybe NT too but you might need to show strong employability prospect in the state. If you can get up to 95 points (including state points) then you might also consider SA.
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 10:58pm On Mar 12, 2020
NB1912:
There are schools that give admission without English test. Regarding your study gap, what were you doing sinc 2014?

chidex28:
Nothing really...just some side hustle here and der. How about the 2.2?
chidex28:
Though last year and a year before. I got denied by canada
Adding 2 Canada visa denials along with 6 years of being idle after graduation, how do you convince the CO that you are a genuine student? If you had work experience in those 6 years then you might be able to write a convincing SOP to meet the GTE requirement.

Please note that I am not saying you don't have a chance, it's just going to be extra work convincing the CO that you meet the GTE requirement. Nothing is impossible unless you don't try.
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 8:08am On Mar 12, 2020
chidex28:
Hello house, Please which Australian University accepts 2.2 for masters? Preferably without IELTS and what are my chances of getting a study visa if given admission considering my academic gap because my degree was in 2014.
There are schools that give admission without English test. Regarding your study gap, what were you doing sinc 2014?
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 11:58pm On Mar 09, 2020
tunlex01:

Valid points you have raised. At least, his occupations still have about 4-5 likelihood of nomination which most occupations don't even have at the moment.
VIC still sponsors 190 offshore, only its 491 that requires job offer.
NSW has two streams for 491 nomination (onshore and offshore) and the requirements are clearly spelt out.
If he has a superior English score, then he should have an edge and be able to apply to NSW, TAS, ACT and NT.
He can also go for Civil Engineering Draftsperson (CED) ---that occupation is less competitive than CE.

First you mentioned Civil Engineering Draftsperson as being less competitive. Yes it used to be less competitive, but not anymore. As PR got tougher, people started assessing for both Civil Engineering and Civil Engineering Draftsperson to boost their chances, hence it made it difficult for both occupation.

Yea VIC still sponsor offshore applicant for 190 but with a Civil Engineering occupation where there are so many applicants currently working in VIC and still waiting for sponsorship, hence his chances are very slim. VIC is notorious when it comes to rejection. Most sponsorships given to offshore applicants are mainly in health occupation or uncommon fields like Biotechnology etc. For occupations like Engineering and I.T, even if you receive a pre-invite from VIC, without a job offer, the chances of rejection is very high.

Yes I know NSW has two streams that's why I recommended NSW 491 as his best option if he is able to get maximum points in English. He is also able to go for 190 as a draftsperson but will require a very high point like 85 or 90 (based on recent trends).

You mentioned other states like TAS, ACT and NT.

TAS: He needs a job offer for both 190 and 491.

ACT: Have you ever had a look at the ACT Metrix to see how many points are awarded to those living or working in the state? Why do you think people are moving to ACT from other states? Invites are awarded purely based on highest points in ACT matrix and if you are offshore your chances are very slim.

NT: This is one of the hardest state to secure sponsorship if you are not currently living or working in the state. They only sponsor offshore applicants for 491. He will need to provide good employability statement with advert of his job and evidence of responses from recruiters regarding his employability prospect in the state. Have you searched on job adds like [b]SEEK [/b]for civil engineering jobs in NT? You might get like 3 to 4 job adds in a month, so how will he prove his employability prospect in the state?

My analysis are based on reality and what's happening in recent times. It's best to conduct a proper research before proceeding with anything. Cheers!

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 12:58am On Mar 09, 2020
Insanity:
Hello house,

I am new in this Aussie forum and I wish to get some information before I start.
I am a Civil Engineer graduate with 6 years experience, I want to apply for Masters in any of the AL1 schools, i have checked the PR route but my points is 60, I didn't make the cutoff for 189. I graduated with 2.1 for my undergrad. and I will be writing my Pearson in a few weeks time because I have only IELTS general test at the moment which I think won't be accepted.

My questions are;
1. How much do I need in my account for the visa application?
2. Do I need Statement of account to apply to AL1 schools?
3. Can I use UKEAS for my application, as they are free? How good are they in the admission application? Any personal review from anyone that has used them before?
4. I have 14million in my account and I will be sponsoring myself, is this amount enough for the admission and visa application checks?
5. Any engineering masters program in the AL1 schools for November 2020 entry? I think I'm late for July admissions.

Please, help me out with any other information I don't have.

Thanks a lot for your assistance

tunlex01:

With 6 years experience, you are better off applying to 190 or 491 than student visa. Also note that 189 is not the only skilled visa #myopinion

Mate, 190 has become as difficult as 189 in recent times especially for those applying from overseas. Most states now require applicants to either be working and residing in the state or have a job offer before you can get sponsored. The government is trying to force new migrants to regional area (491). Looking at his occupatuon civil engineering (Anzco 233211), he is only eligible for VIC for 190 and VIC hardly sponsor applicants without a job offer. So in a nutshell, you need to be living and working in Australia to have a chance.

As for 491 he might be eligible. As of now, the only states he can apply to are NSW, NT and ACT as other states require a job offer. Note that sponsorship for NSW is competitive as priority will be given to applicants already working in the state. NT hardly sponsor those living overseas unless you can show exceptional reasons how you would contribute to their economy. I my opinion, NSW will be his best bet, but as there are lots of civil engineers already working in the state and unable to secure 190 invite, they will all rush to 491 which makes it even more competitive. To stand a chance, he needs a very high point and getting 8 each in all bands in either IELTS or PTE will be the deciding factor.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by NB1912: 1:30am On Mar 06, 2020
NB1912: :
Go to Australia and stop wasting time on Canada. You will thank me latter.

Studyabroad111:

You’re very right but Australia tuition is way more expensive
Yes I agree the tuition is more expensive, but in terms of opportunities, Australia is better for the future. Would you rather pay less tuition for Canada and live an average life or Pay more tuition for Australia and live a better life?

By the time people understand this, I hope it won't be too late.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by NB1912: 1:24am On Mar 06, 2020
ignis:

Are there more opportunities in Australia than Canada ?
Do some research and you will find out facts yourself.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by NB1912: 1:21am On Mar 06, 2020
NB1912: : Go to Australia and stop wasting time on Canada. You will thank me latter.

NwanyiOkpa:

But why?

Do a little research and ask people who have lived in both Australia and Canada and you will find out why. Although Australian schools are more expensive, opportunities are higher when compared to Canada. People who have lived in Australia and migrated to Canada due to issues with PR, they are finding ways to come back to Australia.

You will never understand until you live in both countries.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by NB1912: 6:03am On Mar 04, 2020
NwanyiOkpa:
Good evening,

I applied to Memorial Uni, Mechanical Engineering and i discovered that i needed to secure a supervisor for the masters program. I have mailed potential faculties but no response yet.

Please, which other school can i apply to get a guaranteed admission?
Go to Australia and stop wasting time on Canada. You will thank me latter.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 3:55am On Feb 21, 2020
braindamage:
Evening good people.
Brethrens waiting for Visa, how we dey ?
How do you maintain being sane ?

People who had to wait this long, and longer, abeg how una take hold una self ?
I have been experiencing Visa waiting imposed headache and dizziness since Sunday.
My mates dey do Orientation, School resumes on Monday.

Advices needed.
Thanks.
If you haven't received your visa after the second week, you will need to differ your admission to the next intake. You will have to request the school to provide a new COE and then update your CO with the new COE.

In the meantime, get everything you need ready just in case your visa drops this week.

Cheers!
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 3:27am On Feb 21, 2020
Jenny1000:
hi every1, hope you all are doing good today? Please I need your advice because am so confuse right now, I have been researching non stop since last year Dec. I graduated with a 3rd class in microbiology and I want to further or get a masters degree in Australia but I don’t just want to go waste money over there I want to study a pathway course to permanent Residence in Australia. Please will kindly need your advice Thanks
With a 3rd class it will be difficult to get a direct masters, but it's possible. You might need to back it up with work experience to receive a direct masters. If you don't have work experience, your best bet would be to get either a packaged graduate certificate + Masters course or a packaged Masters qualifying course + Master.

With regards to degree that would lead to PR, there are numerous occupations on the PR list, however, you need to be aware that the PR process is now more competitive and it's not a guarantee. Gone are the days when if you studied here you are almost guaranteed a PR, but things have changed. There are lots of Nigerian students who have studied here for 2 years and are still unable to secure PR. A lot of them had to relocate to Tasmania, South Australia and Darwin to study another 2 years course in order to receive state sponsorship for PR (Not a guarantee). If you want to choose a state to study, i would recommend you go to regional area, however, be aware that it's difficult finding jobs in regional areas compared to cities in case your plan is to raise part of your tuition fees. Regarding course of study, I would recommend Social work as it's a bit less competitive and it's available on almost all states occupation list. There are also other occupations but you might need to do a bit of research.

Lastly, ensure you do some thorough research prior to proceeding as you will be better prepared for the battle ahead. I wish you all the very best.

Cheers!

6 Likes 2 Shares

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 12:53am On Feb 18, 2020
Dereformer:

Rough estimate:

2 semesters school fees is equal to #9,000,000.00
3 months upkeep @ 120 AUD/week @ 250 # 360,000.00
6 months rent @ 400 AUD/week @250 #2,400,000.00
2 Children school fees for 3 months @350 per child per week #2,100,000.00
A small car estimated at 2500AUD #625,000.00
Visa fee for all 4 family members estimated at #1,600,000.00
Air ticket for all 4 estimated at #2,000,000.00
Logistics #1,000,000.00
Total #19,085,000.00

God forbid, I can't kill myself. The best i can raise out of this amount is only #14,000,000.00

If you are not willing to take the risk, then start a business back home.
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 5:15am On Feb 13, 2020
Shigellah:
Just curious. Are there Airlines that accept paymens in Bitcoins?

Really? So that you can defraud them abi? cheesy
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by NB1912: 5:13am On Feb 13, 2020
Id11111:

Im tellin u bro..the waiting is killing. I don't understand this immi officers anymore

What waiting is killing? Canada visa takes almost 6 months and your are here ranting up and down. OGA take a chill pill and soak some Garri grin

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 104