Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 1:33am On Jul 03, 2016 |
amanda0: Hey dear, Congrats on your little one. Am using same hospital next month pls how soon do you get the letter from the hospital stating you have performed financial obligations I have paid my fees at the hospital and for epidural and doctor too.How did you see the services at the hospital particularly the nursing care and recovery room. I have heard they are stingy at the hospital too with freebies too bad. Pls is there a couch for someone to stay in the room cause I have my mother with but not sure where she can stay . Apart from the free stuff how do you see the services accommodation, food and nursing care. Thank you. sorry just seeing this, i spent 2 nights in the hospital and i got the letter a day after i got home, services was okay,but i wasnt not impressed with the nursing care, they basically left me alone,if my mum wasnt there i wont av found it funny, they r extremely stingy,my mum slept on a couch-bed,avoid all they r okay aleast my son and i r doing good |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 4:07am On Jun 30, 2016 |
amanda0: Hey dear, Congrats on your little one. Am using same hospital next month pls how soon do you get the letter from the hospital stating you have performed financial obligations I have paid my fees at the hospital and for epidural and doctor too.How did you see the services at the hospital particularly the nursing care and recovery room. I have heard they are stingy at the hospital too with freebies too bad. Pls is there a couch for someone to stay in the room cause I have my mother with but not sure where she can stay . Apart from the free stuff how do you see the services accommodation, food and nursing care. Thank you. sorry for the late response, regarding the nursing care,in my own opinon/experience i felt they could av done better,they basically left me alone,if my mum wasnt with me i wont av found it funny. i got the letter a day after i got back from d hospital, there was a couch-bed in my room, sting is an understatement,but still they r okay |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 1:49am On Jun 18, 2016 |
Hello everyone,trust you are all doing good,Thank God I had my baby boy via C-Section on Monday at HNMC,I used Dr Morgan,intially I was pissed about aving a repeat c section but I am glad a did cos my baby weighed 4.4kg,I don't think I could AV survived pushing him out of me. Everything went well,they were not able to give me epidural cos for some reason it wasn't staying so I was put to sleep. So far everything went well I am good and my baby is healthy no complications,I AV paid my bills paid,3k dr fees and 3500 hospital bills and 750 epidural,I was discharged and I got a letter from d hospital stating I AV performed my financial obligations,however I am still expecting the pediatrician's bill,when I called I was told my son's info wasn't yet in their billing system and I should check next week. But I must say HNMC wasn't nice when it came to giving free things,I was give six 40mls similac,and 10 diapers and a pack of baby wipe. And they wore a top for my baby through out our 2 night stay,the top was old and worn out,I wished I had brought my own stuff from the start. Anyway boy is doing good Alhamdulilah |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 11:48pm On May 27, 2016 |
hello everyone
please i need information about how to go about getting birth certificate and American passport for my baby in houston |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 12:30am On May 18, 2016 |
abbeykun: Congrats on your smooth entry. Please how many weeks + days did you travel on Qatar? Were you able to make use of the stopover hotel at your stopover in Doha? How was the flight experience generally?
Wishing you safe trip to your last stop and a safe delivery.
Thanks. I was 34week and 3days,at Doha there was suppose to be a 2hr30min stop over but it wasn't up to an hour,when we got to Doha,located the correct gate when I got there,they had started checking people,there wasn't any delay through out the trip,the flight was ok,enough leg room,the flight attendance were very friendly,gave me extra pack of food when asked for more(but their food is not sweet),the flight generally was okay but very long |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 3:43am On May 17, 2016 |
Hello everyone
I just got into Houston today via JKF today,i used Qatar, i want to thank everyone for taking the time to share their experiences,it has really really helped me alot,i got to know about this forum after my visa was denied in January,and all I had to do was read and discovered my mistakes(no proper documentation ie doctors and hospital correspondent,appointment letter, ), i reapplied and my visa was granted in march and shared my interview transcript, and here is my POE story
CBP: but ur 4 fingers on the scan ME : did as he said
CBP: are you here on vaction ME: i am here to have me baby
CBP: (he looked at my mum)is she ur mum me:yes
CBP: how much do you have on u me: we av a combination $10,030, 150 pounds and some naira
CBP: collected our passport and scanned her fingers then stamped our passport till Nov
no documentation was checked,the guy was not even interested,i even thought probably the main check was after was still coming,after getting our boxes I asked another guy that works at JFK that is that the CBP,he said yes,i was shocked cos i was very ready for them,i was expecting alot of questions,i even made sure i eat well on the plane in case i get kidnapped for 7hrs lol,we went to agri,our 2 tubers of yam were seized.I Thank God for everything,i booked wheel chair and i didnt use it i dont know where the strength came from,and last week i was able to miraculously get 4k PTA from access bank after different level of approval.anyway i just want to share my story,i am very tired the flight was just too long,i av to sleep,gd nite to every1 |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 4:34pm On May 12, 2016 |
TheLeakyTribe: It is my turn to share my testimony.
My LO was born yesterday 11th May 2016. Some of you would recall how my Dollars were stolen by my help before my trip. I was well prepared to follow it up and post everywhere about it but after my first doctors appointment here, the stolen money was irrelevant to me.
The doctor did a scan and said she found spots on my LO's heart that were indicative of either a hole in the heart or downs syndrome. I began to pray and believe God even though I was very shaken by the news.
Long story short, she arrived yesterday and is completely fine. She followed me straight from the OR to the postpartum recovery room. Join me praise the Lord. I'm one happy mumma. Thank God,congrats I am extremely happy for you |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 12:53pm On May 10, 2016 |
mismarshal: A friend was sent back at the POE last week despite having zero balance from MIHS for those reasons. wow why was she turned back?this is very scary |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 10:53am On May 03, 2016 |
Momo13: Thanks for responding. I booked myself on the Internet! Every other information is correct except the ds 160#. I logged in now but can't seem to find the page that has ds 160 number.. You know the part where you add people attending appointment with you. I'm so agitated right now! If I change it sef won't I need to reschedule to get another appointment confirmation? Pls help me oh This also happened to me,I had the wrong dis 160 number on my appointment page,I called the customer care and explained everything they advised me to fill another form and send the new ds 160 form number to the customer care email and they were the ones that updated my appointment page with the new number but u AV to give them at least 72hours |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 6:58pm On Apr 30, 2016 |
passionantchica: Please oooooooo, anyone have any idea where I can buy good compression socks in Lagos? Ordered from Amazon through my Aunt, but the socks refused to follow her to Naija o. My legs and ankles swell up to the size of baby pigs in a sack, don't know if I'd cope without the compression. got mine at health plus for about 8k |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 3:36pm On Apr 26, 2016 |
PlOOT: Hi all, my friend's visa that was cancelled at Chicago has been reissued today. She reapplied and it was granted. thats good news congrats to ur friend,and she should probably use another POE,and she should be take it easy everything will be fine by God's grace |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 8:44pm On Apr 24, 2016 |
NaijaMama: I have noticed that local flights don't take off from JFK in New York. Flights can either be gotten from Laguadia or Newark. If that's the case, how do I shuttle arriving in JFK and catching a flight to Houston?
I am also trying to use wakanow to book one way from Lagos to JFK and one way return from Houston to Lagos. Do you envisage any challenges with at the Point of Entry when I present tickets from 2 different airlines and 2 different locations? i think that might be more expensive, i am also going to houston through JFK,from jfki'll take a bus shuttle(about 14 dollars) to laguadia to take a flight to houston. http://www.nycairporter.com/Schedule/BusStopsLocator.aspx |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 7:10pm On Apr 20, 2016 |
Abefeokin: Lmao! Hahaha but @bigfido why are u like dis?well now I tink I have the strength to type small. I gave birth to my twin girls 3days ago @JPS tru CS but I've been too tired and emotionally down to come give my story and eerm thanks to Apple19 and MiddyO for the info on JPS cos I had paid texas Harris though they refunded my money. BS coming later. Bigfido made my day and hello Lady Guinevere. congratulations |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 3:36pm On Apr 18, 2016 |
chloe7: Osat82 I you won't be doing a lot of moving around e.g like me I plan my waka whenever i'm abroad I no dey commot every day, on like doctors appointment and shopping etc you can do uber or any other cheaper option you have because these oyibo people when they fine it's as if they are putting knife on your neck, if you are not so familiar with the driving rules of your destination then do uber or any other cheaper option you just might have. Cheers ok thank u,i will just respect myself and use uber or get familiar with the bus route, i can't dash anyone $1 of my money |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 2:15pm On Apr 18, 2016 |
chloe7: of course they are, lool okay thanks,even if ur tommy is reaching the steering,i thot there was a traffic law that doesn't allow it,but ok since u r talking from experience |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 1:21pm On Apr 18, 2016 |
sugah: A rented car that comes with a driver = Cab/Taxi.
A warning to those renting cars, please make sure you familiarize yourself with the US driving rules. Stop signs, right of way rule at a 4way junction etc. Americans do not do defensive driving so if you try to drive the naija way you would hit someone. Running a red light or stop sign can cost you up to 250dollars. thanks,but are pregnant women allowed to drive in the US? |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 11:30am On Apr 18, 2016 |
mrsbw: Looool. Uber oh uber. Finally had to rent a car too. There's a similar app to uber (Turo) that is for renting cars
Houston ppl, transportation cost is a major expense line item in your budget oh  please this car you rented, did you rent it to drive it by yourself?or it came with a driver? |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 6:58pm On Apr 12, 2016 |
pls has anyone been able to get PTA this week? |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 5:47am On Apr 10, 2016 |
Jojoba256: Hi everyone,
Ive been following this thread for quite long now and already in the US, currently in houston. But my brother is getting job and accomodation in cleveland, ohio.
Ive been searching throughout the thread but havent found any proper information about self pay hospitals in cleveland. I contacted the financial department of fairview hospital but they said that only the delivery will cost from 17000 to 25000; which is way too much.
Please let me know if anyone has info about economic birthing in cleveland, ohio so I can make further plans. Im already 25 weeks pregnant !!
Any help will be highly appreciated  http://www.ketteringhealth.org/locations/hospitals.cfm |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 12:16pm On Apr 08, 2016 |
LadyGuinivere: No I believe not. You got your visa for birthing. You have a valid visa and can travel anytime within its validity. A 2 week change in your timeline does not neccesstiate an email. Just go with all your doctor's reports. Safe trip
Me I'm begining to think we doth email th embassy a lil bit too much and setting un neccessary preccedents. Thanks alot |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 11:50am On Apr 08, 2016 |
hello everyone
pls i av a question,at my visa interview i stated that will be travelling last week in May and i will be 36wk,but i av been advised by my doctor and friends to travel earlier at 34 wks,and i av moved my doctor's appointment forward(and i was sent an updated appointment letter),hope this wont raise a red flag?do i av send an email to d embassy? |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 2:52pm On Apr 06, 2016 |
AsiwajuAfo001: Do you have an account with sterling bank, come to ikoyi branch you will get your PTA same day is it the sterling bank at falomo round about? |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by osat82(f): 1:03pm On Apr 06, 2016 |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by osat82(f): 1:44pm On Mar 31, 2016 |
@Bisoye82 congratulations
everyone pls is it true that the rate for PTA at standard chartered is btwn 220 to 250? |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by osat82(f): 3:45am On Mar 29, 2016 |
Peaceful2016: I posted this earlier but I just realised that it was deleted... I'm not sure why, but i'd just share it again cos it might help someone. I had my baby via VD in HNMC Houston in January. Hospital cost 2000 CS is 3500 Doctors cost 1700 CS 1850 Lab was 154 but I paid $72 got 50% discount Pediatrician 1133 but paid $794 got 30% discount I didn't use Epidural but it's $650 for VD and $750 for CS
Also United allowed us carry two 23kg bags for the baby. I insisted since that's what's stated on the website (I saved the page on my phone, but they didn't ask to see it) and told them that I had called customer service to confirm Nice i'm also using HNMC,did you ask for the discount or they just gave it to u? |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by osat82(f): 1:09pm On Mar 25, 2016 |
happytbaby: Let me answer Comfortina.
I think she really asked an honest question, I do not detect any sarcasm in her post. Life is a matter of perspectives.
Now to put things in perspective, let me start by saying my Maternal grandmother had 6 girls. One of them died from childbirth complications, the baby also died. One is 60 with no child and had two still births and one infant death, that makes 3 pregnancies. Another one is in her mid forties, she had twins which died after the hospital she registered in said they couldn't do CS. She herself is a twin. Her twin sister had two still births before a live one. 5days after the lifebirth, we realised she was incontinent. We took her to a specialist who had to perform another surgery to repair her bladder which had mistakenly been cut during the CS. It was my brother and I (teenagers) that were taking care of the new born while my Mum stayed with her in the hospital. She suffered mehn! Till date, she hasn't been able to carry another pregnancy to term.
Please can anybody help me count the number of dead children in my family and tell me the probability of such a high mortality rate if all 6 of my grandmother's girls lived in America?
About taxes, it's the children's choice, if they choose to settle in America they will pay their tax there. On double taxation, if you pay 20 percent here and 30 percent is your tax band in the US, it does not mean that you will pay 50 percent of your income as tax, there is a way it's calculated depending on the tax regime of the countries concerned. I will not be able to go into a lengthy explanation of that.
On the education, am wondering if you attended any of these federal universities you are talking about? My brother is attending a university abroad and when I help him look at his assignments I see that the difference between education here and there is like the distance between heaven and earth. Seriously, you get what you pay for.
Is it the sexual harassment you want to talk about or the countles strikes? Missing results or gross inefficiency?
Point of correction, grants are not paid back, it's student loans that have to be repaid and education in US is much cheaper for a citizen than an international student.Our problem is systemic.
My next question to you Comfortina: with all due respect, have you been to America? Because as you are asking for the benefits of being the citizen of a country where the system works.....Even to shop is easy, I wonder how many times I need to pick something from the market after work and my first headache would be 'where will I park?' Then 'how will I lug my little one in the market?' You can tell me there are malls but none of them is on my way. To go to common Yaba for bedspread or curtain sef na headache because of all the guys that will pull your arms asking you to patronize them.
Please, if we can afford it we shall give our kids the opportunity of having a choice of where they want to live. If I had one I am not sure I will be here. Just that I cannot live in obodo oyinbo as an illegal immigrant. However, first and foremost for me is the healthcare, I cannot come and allow one useless hospital give the people chasing my life negative home support with poor resources and negligent nurses that insult patients. u took the words right out of my mouth,i also had aunt that died minutes after giving birth,still today the hospital is not able to tell us the family what went wrong regarding getting foods stuff or other items is just too easy,anything u think of buying is available to u,at different grades,u dnt need to go to sapel to buy something u can get a couple of streets away from u or order n av it delivered to u the education is the best part,i did my masters in uk its one of the best educational experience of my life,just entering the library only will inspire u,or is the friendly open do policy of the lecturers, or the technology in place to make learning easy if not that my hubby and family were in Nigeria, i WONT come back |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by osat82(f): 10:29pm On Mar 23, 2016 |
bolof2010: hello all, please has anyone tried to pay for BA flight ticket usingg naira master card since BA Charges in USD. I need to know if GTB used official rate before i do anything. BA online tickets seems really okay they dont use the official rate |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by osat82(f): 9:59pm On Mar 23, 2016 |
hello everyone
pls can anyone help me with the following questions
1. is it advisable to travel at 34wks on a 23hr flight to US?
2. my visa application was denied at my first application(was planning to go to Ohio),it was approved when I applied the 2nd time however the VO was surprised i plan to go to houston and not ohio(i told her i got a cheaper option,and the doctor was able to give me all the required documentation),and she said i av to make sure i go to houston and if i'm at a different POE i could be turned back. So now i plan to go through JFK and take a local flight to houston,but I want to spend a night in new york to rest from the 23hr flight. Is this advisable?
3. I have narrowed my accommodation search to intown suite a couple of minutes from the hospital and doctor's office,the reviews on intown suite's website are very good not a single bad comment,but on other accommodation booking sites the reviews are not so good, So please has anyone ever stayed in any of the intown suite in houston?wat was the experience like? |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by osat82(f): 10:08am On Mar 22, 2016 |
Bisoye82: That's no longer possible on BA naija website.you can only book on hold with customer service which I believe is handled by Indians. thereafter you go and pay at the bank. i just got off the phone with BA customer care,and apparently the prices online are at a discounted rate,d the price she gave me for the same days was over 1million |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by osat82(f): 9:59am On Mar 22, 2016 |
Travel › Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by osat82(f): 8:33am On Mar 22, 2016 |
@Iwanawana,TheLeakyTribe,Bisoye82
its not just taking me straight to pay by card, i called their customer care yday and they were giving me a higher quote,but i will call them again or go to their office.thank u |