Stats: 3,331,251 members, 8,449,418 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 July 2026 at 06:19 PM

Samgreguc's Posts

Nairaland ForumSamgreguc's ProfileSamgreguc's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 (of 66 pages)

HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 7:57pm On Jul 16, 2014
jpphilips: If they are not physicians, why are they aspiring to eat the physicians pie?
If they are not physicians, why will they want the physicians title?
If they can only dispense drugs, by all means stick to your B.pharm and D.pharm respectively and trust me, NMA wont complain.
OR
Do you want Nigerian tax payers to pay you a consultant's fee just for dispensing drugs? haba! what else is theft?
av adviced u to go make a research on the world consult before inorder to show me where the meaning states that it is Physicia-only but, u seem adamat to dat.
After your research, we can talk.
Clinical Pharmacy is more than despensing but, we dont seem wanting to adopt it and thats one reason why we are where we are.
Until, we cherish our Pharmacist as supposed and allow them play their role, we will never get good health care.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 7:28pm On Jul 16, 2014
jpphilips: Point of correction, I am not one of you, I just went through the demands of the NMA and realized a few that are legitimate from a patient's perspective, reason I opened the thread, that does not in anyway undermine the other demands of NMA, I just considered them inconsequential for the sake of the thread.
Haven said that, I was expecting that asking for consultancy would have been the last on the list of events, IMHO, it is putting the cart before the horse.

Now, if JOHESU members really want to advance their careers, I don't see why the title "consultant" should stop them, if it takes 33courses and 6yrs (an example) for a doctor to earn that title, I don't expect anything less from the other allied medicals else, it will be very unfair to the doctors at the same time, nature like we know will follow the path of least resistance.

Answer me honestly, have you seen the curriculum drafted by JOHESU before fighting for the "consultant" title? I was expecting that if this is about career advancement, JOHESU president or whatever they have, should be able to sit with the NMA chairman probably with the minister of health to discuss the blue print and the curriculum before talking about titles, for sake of confusion, they may be given a different title but retain the benefits.

There must be order in our health care delivery, I emphasized so much on the "owning the patient" part because I know that is where the bulk of the responsibility lies, now JOHESU has absolutely nothing in the works to assume that responsibility, is it fair to the Doctors who may likely find himself taking the fall on a case where a consultant nurse has messed up since the consultant nurse is absolved from having the final say on a patient?

See through the bricks, this is about money and position nothing more, I don't have any problems with both, all I desire is where every penny is earned, If a nurse wants to advance her learning and she goes so far where she cannot own a patient, what is the Nigerian tax payers paying her for? or don't you want us to get value for our money?

Let us look at the University for example though not quintessential to the subject of discourse, Professorship is conferred on all depts, but before you get one, there is a guideline, there is a path, once you meet those requirements, you can easily become one, that is why a professor of yoruba studies can stand shoulder to shoulder with prof. of chemical Engineering even though they set out on different career path.

Let me ask you honestly, have you seen the guidelines JOHESU wants to use to become consultants? at least we know how doctors get there, how do they wish to be there? do you want a situation where a radiographer goes to India to learn how to switch off an X ray machine and comes back to claim consultant and we start paying? it doesn't make sense, it will be anarchy in the end, most medical students in sophomore classes knowing there is a way out, will pull out and switch to allied medical courses, give Nigeria just 10yrs and we wont have a single doctor again, It has happened before and we don't want it to repeat again, we have learnt from our Saudi experience.

If JOHESU wish to become consultants by all means they should give Nigerians a workable guideline that will enable them to have the same capacity as the Doctors in terms of patient's care, anything short of that is wasting tax payers money.
are u this like this?
Are they Physicians?
Maybe the Physician wil also produce the drugs?
Whether we like it or not Physicians can't do all what others can do and vice versa so, what's the basis for that phrase(same capacity)?
Please, be truthful okey?
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 7:15pm On Jul 16, 2014
Tbamo: I am a doctor and I think you've gone below the belt!
Let's not descend to the level of johesu guys and insult people.
Her problem is she can't assimilate points at the level we are put through daily so come down to her level but Pls don't insult her it's not hee fault. And it would make us seem proud!
yea, u dont need to desend cos, u aint above the level of a Pharmacist.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 6:41pm On Jul 16, 2014
dakotchic: Ignorance exposed again! Who told you an ear swab is done for otitis media with effusion? Or that it is treated with antibiotics? I reiterate, if we all understood the meaning of these terms we are fighting for then there won't be any fight ab initio by either party
and the meaning is . . . . . . . ?
Okey, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , it means, "for only Physicians."
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 5:57am On Jul 16, 2014
lexib: Doctors never use terms like, "always", "never", etc. U most put in a certain level of suspicion... "Most likely" implies it is it until proven otherwise.
dnt try using words to make the MLScientist useless cos, u myt b making the Pathologist useless also grin
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 5:02am On Jul 16, 2014
Iwegbadu: Do doctors know its fake isnt it pharmacist job to make original yall busy embezzling money
lol. . . The Pharmacist play a very very vital role indeed.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 5:01am On Jul 16, 2014
phantom: grin grin.........lab scientist........ itching in a patient with jaundice is most likely post hepatic. I don't need your bilurubin levels to distinguish...grin...its not magic.its just my training.
if I don't see the bilirubin levels expected in post hepatic jaundice, then I will query your result.
dont make comments when you shouldn't.
u said most likely meaning there is an atom of doubt. grin
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 5:18pm On Jul 15, 2014
[quote author=sainty2k3][/quote]The first definition defines the consultant Pharmacist and others.
If Consultant Pharmacist had being in existence earlier just like the Consultant Physician then, the dictionary will have said something of such.
Besides, did you see the word expert there(the full definition)? The Pharmacists are drug experts so, dont dat also qualifies him too?
The reason why the dictionary refuse putting the Physician in their full definition is because the Consultant Physician doesn't fully define Consultant but, rather it defines a Consultant in a particular field of Medicine
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 4:12pm On Jul 15, 2014
jpphilips: Aids the pharmacist pocket you mean? grin grin
Please dont be a kid. We all know its a three way thing or are u opposing it because it will also aid the Pharmacist pocket?
The patients gain,
The pharmacist gain and Nigeria receives the glory. U c d 3 way?
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 4:09pm On Jul 15, 2014
sainty2k3: Well that depends on what u mean by 'what belong to Caesar' I term that better recognition and pay for this people who passed through residency training,not title.
But I know their very problem will start from their other pharmacist who didn't go through the training. #Well, just saying
And thanks for bringing up ur point so far without insult
what am saying is that whoever worth the title should get it.
I can remember some lecturers penalizing students for calling them Mr instead of Dr(Ph. D) and I can remember some not reacting.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 4:00pm On Jul 15, 2014
phantom: please don't be funny.I used malaria as an example of a situation where the lab work SUGGESTS ANOTHER DIAGNOSIS.stop grasping at straws.
look you don't impress me with your little clinical knowledge. what is obstructive jaundice? pre or post hepatic?
my point is my clinical diagnosis is CONFIRMED by the labs.if the lab work suggests another diagnosis, I query it. simple!
but if you think I have no idea what is wrong with my patient until I do the labs,YOU ARE DEAD WRONG! that is the beauty of medical training. our greatest gift is our training and our brains.
bros ehh, talk true say u no go need the lab result to know whether na pre or post.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 3:57pm On Jul 15, 2014
sainty2k3: That shouldn't be, those are things that can be fought for, and its legitimate . its not all about title
I agree with you but, why not give to Ceasar what belongs to Ceasar?
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 3:52pm On Jul 15, 2014
jpphilips: NMA demand's

Concentrate on the bold part,
av u researched on the world consult? Or are u going by that bolded without logical reasoning as a learned man?
Make your own research on the world consult and make your deductions and then ask yourselve if it will help our health care delivery.
I think you fear is job description which, of course can be resolved.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 3:42pm On Jul 15, 2014
jpphilips: Mistake? kindly tell us his options in such a scenario
If u can't decipher that statement then, something is wrong.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 3:37pm On Jul 15, 2014
sainty2k3: Sorry bros , but pks stop confusing people, a postgraduate training, that's residency in pharmacy makes u a fellow of the highly esteemed college and not necessarily the title consultant ,if u have any link to prove that is what makes a consultant pharmacist pls lemme know.

Now, what makes a consultant pharmacist . check the link below pls
www.cpe.pharmacy.ufl.edu/courses/consultant/

U can check out the screen munch but , the summary is that the west Africa college of pharmacistn doesn't confer such title on her fellows, the curriculum for a consultant pharmacist is in the link above with is also in that screen munch below

And their role is not within the hospital settings as u can see in the link above and
And also that of America society of consultant pharmacists--

https://www.ascp.com/articles/what-consultant-pharmacist

'A simple answer is that a consultant pharmacist is a pharmacist who is paid to provide expert advice on the use of medications by individuals or within institutions, or on the provision of pharmacy services to institutions.'

'Consultant Pharmacists are now practicing in a wide variety of other settings, including subacute care and assisted living facilities, psychiatric hospitals, hospice programs, and in home and community-based care -- wherever seniors reside. Consultant Pharmacists are defined by their common commitment to enhance the quality of care for all older persons through the appropriate use of medication and promotion of healthy aging'

Prior to this a moment the fellows of west Africa college of pharmacist are not after adding that title consultant cos of obvious reason, they know what the term consultant in hospital settings mean.
Postgraduate training broaden ur knowledge and improve patient care even within hospital settings. Must u claim a title that doesn't belong to you to do ur work
yea, and after going that far and passing the residency, becomes a fellow, u will still recieve same pay package as the normal B.pharm when its obvious ur input is rich and aids the patients alot.
Truth be told, our hospitals believe they are okey with the B.pharm.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 3:26pm On Jul 15, 2014
jpphilips: I really didn't want to over flog this issue, let us be clear, the Doctors did not stop you from advancing your studies, I have read their press release over and over, they only asked you to drop the title "consultant" because you don't own the patient, it is clear!

Now, about my friend, neither the D.pharm nor the Patient was wrong, suppository for internal hemorrhoid is not a bad management but the doctor had the only cure!!

the D.pharm has tested the potency, professionalism and his understanding of drugs and landed on suppositories (ANUSOL) to be precise, but the surgeon's knife brought the desired result.

Unless you want to tell me that the advancement you desire will cover surgery and other courses, then you don't need consultancy to achieve that.
what do u think the word consult mean? To own?
Please, venture into research and the history of that word and when you are done endeavour to appologise to that word for calling it(consult) another thing.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 3:06pm On Jul 15, 2014
phantom: a fresh medical graduate can t and dare not give suppositories for 3rd degree hemorrhoids.
I spoke on an average base bro because, I doubt what the he said about the Pharmacist.
Though, dont forget no one is above mistake. . . So, dont vouch dat much.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 2:54pm On Jul 15, 2014
Iwegbadu: Sad truth. They should go back to baking fake plls called drugs and packing shit buahahahaha
yea, that same fake plls the Physician prescribes.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 2:42pm On Jul 15, 2014
jpphilips: Even as an Engineer, you cant tell me that crap you spewed up there, before a doctor specializes in Uriology, or gynecology like you alleged, kindly tell us the courses he has to pass to become a consultant at the same time, Juxtapose it with what a Pharmacist has to pass to become a consultant, the last time I checked, a Uniben trained D pharm. was giving a friend of mine with 3rd degree hemorrhoid suppository for 2.5yrs.

Thanks to the consultant who did the magic that relieved him.

If we allow the Pharmacists to rise to consultancy level, will they be able to own the patient? will their consultancy class include surgery? if the answer is "NO" then of what use are they to the patients and the Govt who is expected to pay them a huge amount of money?

How long will it take before a consultant Nurse (who cannot own a patient by the way) will start demanding for a harmonized salary with the consultant doctor?

It is unnecessary bureaucracy and I am with NMA on this one.
if the bolded is true and u still dont see any reason for specialization then u aint telling urself d truth. You know why I said so? Now, this is it, the Pharm. D guy is just a graduate who hasn't specialize in any of the pharm field. He read alot in pharmacy school(frm farm to industrial to hospital) and you expect him to b a magician? Can a fresh MBBS graduate perform better on their field like the Pharm. D fresh grad.?
We need to specialize. . . So, that consultation can be done.
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 2:37pm On Jul 15, 2014
jpphilips: You want to be a consultant but you don't want to own the patient, grin grin bros I disagree completely with you, we don't need more bureaucracies in our health sector.
the guy is simply saying that accuracy in his job description is what matters not fighting to do the work of a Physician and by so doing don't u think the patient will be affected positively?
HealthRe: Nma Strike: The Patients's Perspective by Samgreguc(m): 2:04pm On Jul 15, 2014
sakaguchi: The issue of a consultant has being overflogged isn't it? What will a consultant nurse do? What the hell is a consultant pharmacist? The doctors who are consultants specialise in a particular field of medicine and specialize holistically in it. Consultant urologist, consultant cardiologist, consultant nephrologist is more like it.
The difference between a consultant pharmacist and a pharmacist is clearly non-existent.
Pharmaceutical Science is a broad discipline and therefore, the need for sub-specialization.
Pharmacy deals with drugs and drugs related so, if for anyreason there are many specialty in medicine where drugs are used almost always then, I feel there should also be in Pharmacy(even though it might not be as much as it is in medicine).
Now, the word consult means to go to somebody for advice or information. Since the Pharmacist are the drug experts don't we think we need their consultancy on anything partaining drugs when necessary or do we think the B.pharm/Pharm. D will provide enough advice? We should always remember that the more specific one go, the more knowledgeable one becomes in that area.

Our hospital needs to create an opportuinity where the Pharmacist educate and advice the others(including the Physicians) on drugs "poco-a-poco."
Please! I think government should call JOHESU, NMA to a round table. NMA need to shelf that ego that it can't sit together with JOHESU as it as become apparent that they are relevant stake holders.
NMA is a disappointment in such case. I wonder why they wouldn't agree for a roundtable.

Government should make that sit of CMD less attractive. For instance, let anybody who is a CMD will have no improve package whatsoever. If you are a doctor before being appointed CMD , your pay package will remain the same. Then anybody whatsoever can vie for CMD as I seriously think that post of CMD is not the sole right of doctors.
our CMDs plays an administrative role and not a clinical one. Unless anyone reads a course on administration, anyone is not qualified. I suggest the name should be change because that word medical is a deception there.

They should all strife for improve pay package and the doctors must earn higher than the nurses and pharmacists as this is how it is universally. Pharmacists earn lots of money outside the hospital. Inside the hospital, their remuneration must be lower than doctors own.
I agree to this.
. . . .
. .
U made a good statement indeed.
HealthRe: JOHESU Press Release on the NMA STRIKE by Samgreguc(m): 11:42pm On Jul 14, 2014
pestrolus2002: Some ppl never hv their facts. DRs is the head of health team. If any of these johesu is sick they chase drs around. THEY are all there but can't function. Who goes to hospital to see a nurse or a pharmacist? Most of these people call johesu failed to make it to medical school.. and decide d to go for paramedics. There s no age cut off in medical school, whosesoever wish to enjoy benifits drs enjoy s should go and apply for medicine. Stop beefing unnecessarily. Knw your boundry and job prescriptions. Say no to consultant matron ...pharmacist ..lab technologist and johesu in general. Up NMA/NANARD! !!! Akin binu ori ka fi fila de idi.
There are three major health profession. Go and figure out pls.
Secondly, Pharmacy is not Paramedical bt Pharmaceutical so, becareful with ur choice of words.
The Pharmacist produces the drugs the Physicians prescribe pharmaceutically.. . ..does that tell u something?
EducationRe: 2015/2016 Uniport Admission Thread by Samgreguc(m): 10:48am On Jul 14, 2014
otokx: Anybody aspiring to Uniport in the 2014/2015 should have like 300k. The last guys paid 130k and most of them still rented accomodation outside of about 100k. You guys may pay nothing less than 150k if not up to 170k depending on your course. Professional courses attract more fees.
I feel the fee hike started from us and that the recent hike on other levels is only but a continuation of what was started.
U r ryt that as we go d fee gets high becos my snr colleague gave me d gist.
EducationRe: 2015/2016 Uniport Admission Thread by Samgreguc(m): 7:35am On Jul 14, 2014
mcshol: it wud be uniquely increased
I dnt tink so
HealthRe: Johesu’s Claims Against Doctors In Nigeria; A Case Of Historic Amnesia by Samgreguc(m): 9:59am On Jul 11, 2014
phantom: yes nothing to prescribe when the INDUSTRIAL pharmacists fail to produce NOT hospital based dispensing pharmacist. after seeing my patient and writing a prescription,she just crosses the road in front of the hospital to a pharmacy and gets her drugs.
yea, she crosses the road to meet a sister to that one who is supposed to be in the hospital. And should there b any "unclear" prescription she crosses the road back to the hospital again. Guess, it sounds easy.
HealthRe: Johesu’s Claims Against Doctors In Nigeria; A Case Of Historic Amnesia by Samgreguc(m): 8:56am On Jul 11, 2014
sisinaijayeye0: This johesu thing is stupid mind you, it's not that doctors should be the head of the health team although it is glaring he should, but that everyone in totality is important and absence of one is as important as the head himself. The team should be united not sabotaging eachother. I am nt surprised. Nigeria is a cannibalistic country. With a lot of people with no self esteem and pride. Rubish pharmacist, nurses and cleaners. This are the people who should have gone to do education. Riffraff oshi
shockedshockedshockedshocked
HealthRe: NMA Vs JOHESU Vs FG Vs Patients........ Why The Hatred For Doctors??? by Samgreguc(m): 4:44am On Jul 11, 2014
Welcome to NL.
I came across the role of a CMD and I discovered that its not exclusively for the Physicians.
I therefore suggest that name be changed, the ACT ammended and made open to all.
HealthRe: Nma Strike Rejoinder From Nurses Point Of View by Samgreguc(m): 4:36am On Jul 11, 2014
I love this speech.
HealthRe: JOHESU Press Release on the NMA STRIKE by Samgreguc(m): 4:11am On Jul 11, 2014
dumodust: Dora was a professor of pharmacy in UNN and head of NAFDAC, i'm not aware that she was a consultant pharmacist, it is supposed to be an appointment and not acquired. 'Medical' pharmacology is not pharmacy so no basis for comparison... pharmacy certainly has other courses that involve how to produce drugs, dispense etc etc that will certainly take longer than your time interval. And pharmacology in my med school was not done in six months, dont know were you get your info from because i didnt say so, can obviously see you are not in this country or familiar with programme here. The courses ran concurrently for 1-2yrs with your clinical posting etc... and any point in time, your are reading more than one or 2 courses and doing some postings... no high horse here, just relaying information.... the same way u talk about U.S, i dont have detailed info about there premed system anyway.
wonder why u think there's a high horse huh
wetin u read self?
Pharmacology isn't Pharmacy but, one of the sons of Pharmacy.
HealthRe: Johesu’s Claims Against Doctors In Nigeria; A Case Of Historic Amnesia by Samgreguc(m): 3:41am On Jul 11, 2014
Chykechin: Written by a Doctor(not me) and I quote:

All hospitals are empty all over the country.
Nurses couldn't do their nursing care because Doctors have not admitted, Pharmacists couldn't dispense drugs cos Doctors haven't prescribed,
Lab scientists could not process any sample cos Doctors haven't ordered, Account section couldn't function (No IGR) because Doctors are not working, Record dept are yawning of no work cos Doctors are on strike,
the periop nurses could not sterilize instruments cos no operation lists from Doctors,
Cleaners couldn't mop cos Doctors are not there to perform procedures, the securities have less work to do cos the hospitals are deserted and so on and on.............. This has glaringly shown how important a doctor is in a hospital setting.
Without these supporting staff a doctor can still function but without a doctor they are jobless and that was why when they are on strike they locked up the wards, hide equipments and connived with the securities to repel patients from the hospital entrance!!! *end quote*

I think this should clear our doubts on who should be the leader of the health team. Let they that have wisdom do the needful. I rest my case
there is difference btw the health team and medical team. Do u knw?
Secondly, bear in mind that the Physicians wunt have anythg to prescribe when the Pharmacist fails to produce.
HealthRe: Johesu’s Claims Against Doctors In Nigeria; A Case Of Historic Amnesia by Samgreguc(m): 12:13pm On Jul 10, 2014
simplynola: Pharmacy, nursing and other medical sciences are still branches in medicine and i think doctors study all these and can do the work of both pharmacist and nurses and even laboratory scientists but just that it will be too tedious for doctors combining all. The pharmacists never fought for their rights for a long period giving doctors more edge. They were laid back. 5 yrs in school just to be a dispenser or marketer or sales person. What the chemists can do. Only few are production pharmacists with drug composition experience. I think it was just once a pharmacist became the minister of health in Nigeria, it has been doctors all the way.. they never spoke out aggresively all the while, so why now. All these hatred and back stabbing in our medical line is not good for the nation. its taking our healthcare system backward. Anyways i see no reason why doctors shouldn't be the head. 7 years na wash? Oga na master!
The Physician spends 6yrs in school nt 7.
The Physician can't do the work of the PHARMACIST but, have knowledge of PHARMACOLOGY(NOT PHARMACY) as concerning the hospital.
U are indeed right by saying that Pharmacist have being quiet for long even to d extent that the current DG is a Physician whereas, the law stipulates that the DG must have a good knowledge of PHARMACY(nt pharmacology), DRUGS and FOOD.
EducationRe: Which Medical Course Is Closest(seconded) To Medicine And Surgery? by Samgreguc(m): 6:57am On Jul 10, 2014
Homguy: I really fought the temptation to call you a Slow Poke. I won't insult you.
lol . . . . . Keep fighting it.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 (of 66 pages)