Uche87's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Uche87's Profile › Uche87's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 13 pages)
There is no gain without pain in life. We must sacrifice something for whatever gain we make. Remember the concerted efforts made by the late pop legend, Michael Jackson, just to be able to shop in a mall in disguise. Inasmuch as relocating to the UK is a life-defining move and experience, it entails leaving behind some vital aspects of your life for better economic opportunities and a higher standard of living. These aspects will always be missed. Let's recount the interesting aspects of the Nigerian life below: (1) Food: You can easily get Nigerian delicacies in some cities in the UK, but that local flavour is always missing. I feel it needs the hands of the rugged women within the crude environment to get it right. For example, which Amala in the world can replace the famous Amala Skye in Ibadan? (2) Social life: The social life in the UK is either poor or strange to Africans. People in London are stepping it up with events but other cities are still lagging behind. Even when you organise social gatherings and send out invites, most people ignore them and pick shifts instead. This is unlike Lagos where people easily 'turn up'. Remember what singer Banky W said about social life in Lagos, "Ain't no party like the Lagos party" (3) Women: Nigerian women are easily accessible as long as you have the money. You can easily see what Lagos socialite and other celebrities are doing with the dream women of people. Even when you are broke and you are organised as a man, you might still have your way. In contrast, the relationship market is different in the UK. It is a very conservative setting that abhors strangers. Ephemeral factors like skin colour, accent, ethnic background and visa status play key roles in who dates you. (4) Work-life balance: If you believe the hustle in Lagos is real, then you haven't seen the one in the UK. With the cost of living rising, I have seen people working 24 hours to make extra bucks. I once met a 48-year-old man who confided in me that he had been working 24 hours for 3 straight days. Most immigrants who set unrealistic targets for themselves end up living to work. (5) Friendliness: Nigerians are culturally friendly, especially if you are someone of high repute. Even when you are a nobody and you dress well, people easily get attracted to you. These people try to socialise with you. The UK will unconsciously teach you the differences of the terms; colleagues, friends and acquaintances. Most people only relate with themselves either on a professional or strictly needs basis. (6) Church: Sunday mornings are lovely in Nigeria. People wear elegant dresses and head to church. The praise and worship session lightens your mood. It is always a moment of expression of joy. But in the UK, the roads are mostly deserted on Sunday mornings. This is because most people are nursing hangovers from the escapades on Saturday. In fact, you will doubt if the Britons actually introduced Christianity to Nigeria via Henry Townsend in 1842. (7) Friends/Naija vibes: It is easier to get people together in Nigeria than in the UK. In Nigeria, most people do 9-5 jobs and the weekends are sacred. Over here in the UK, every day seems the same. When you are free, your friend or neighbour is fully engaged. When you are on a day shift, he might be on a night shift. With Nigerians back home 'billing' the ones in the diaspora more than Ikeja Electric, people work throughout the week to send something home. ( Weather: Nigeria has one of the best atmospheric conditions in the world. The weather is moderate and with technological devices, you can create your own comfort. In the UK, the weather is so cold and unpredictable. Most times, your sense of fashion goes out of the window. You just want to avoid being sickened by the cold, by wearing big jackets. These jackets make you look like Ninja Turtles. The weather remains more unstable than the mood of a woman seeing her period. (9) Family Support: When you start having kids in the UK, you will value family support. It is mostly unavailable. Even when your family is here, most of them will be engaged because time is too valuable. In Nigeria, your parents, grandparents, aunties, uncles and other family members will always be available to support you. All you have to do is to grease their palms, no matter how faint the oil is. At all at all na imm bad pass. (10) Christmas and other festivities: The Christmas Day vibe in Nigeria is second to none. People cook the best meals and share them in the neighbourhood. Visitors show up at your place for memorable times. In the UK, it is a bank holiday and some workplaces that can't afford to close, lure people to work with double pay. A greedy Nigerian will take the money and postpone the celebration for the following year. At the end of the year, all your memories might hover around depressing moments at work if care isn't taken. Osahon George Osayimwen is a Journalist and a Psychologist. He writes from the UK.
I lived for over a year in the Shomolu area of Lagos State before I left Nigeria in 2021. I chose Shomolu due to its closeness to Ikeja, where I was working at that time. Shomolu - the acclaimed printing hub of Lagos State was a fertile ground for the recruitment of miscreants and thugs for any purpose. You don't need to find them, they will locate you on their own. Some of the area boys were in the habit of begging me for small amounts of money, regularly ranging from N200 - N1000. One day, one of them asked me if someone had offended me and I would want vengeance. I said no. He was like "If anybody ever crosses your path, tell me and I will deal with the person". Since I'm an easygoing person, I never found any use for these young men. From the day the offer was made, I realized how easy it would be to raise a deadly gang in Shomolu. Imagine if I was a politician with unlimited access to millions of Naira, these men would unleash fire and brimstone if I so wished. Months later, there were a few political campaign events on my street, and I noticed these uneducated youths policed the events after their palms were greased. Thuggery/hooliganism is a lucrative business in Lagos State. It is more of a survival strategy that residents can easily switch in and out of in the event of seeming danger. It is so rife that even the middle class of Lagos brags about being "mad". Madness gives them some sort of street credibility and societal acceptance. Since the massive success of the NURTW chairman of the Lagos chapter Musiliu Akinsanya aka MC Oluomo in Lagos, several street urchins have gotten the motivation to build their profiles and grow in influence to attract very lucrative "political jobs". Since elections in Nigeria are about the politician who cheats the most using hardened on-field political thugs and probably inducing the electoral commission - INEC to steal the mandates of worthy candidates. So the thugs and the politicians are one big family that forms a part of what is called the 'political structures' of Lagos. A similar account of this story was told in the blockbuster movie - Gangs of Lagos. These gangsters have different factions that are controlled by the strongest men in that locality. The most influential groups win the juicy 'political contracts' during the general elections, and their leaders gain celebrity status overnight through notoriety. The leaders of these groups are merchants of violence used for dirty jobs like violence, aggression, intimidation of political opponents, kidnap, and eventual assassination if the need arises. This model of political structure which encompasses the political actors, security operatives, religious leaders, thugs, and other technocrats, is also being copied by music artistes. They frolic with cultists to garner confidence and a sense of security on the streets, in a bid to dominate their contemporaries. The backing of these cultists helps you to step on toes without any consequences. I want to believe that it was on this ground that singer Azeez Fashola aka Naira Marley collaborated with the celebrity thug, Samson Erinfolami Balogun aka Sam Larry. Naira Marley was beginning to make money but lacked power. Due to his personality, questionable past, and style of music, he needed that power and influence to replicate his feat in Peckham, UK. Sam Larry is rumoured to have a large network of street thugs that could cause unrest without asking questions. Sam Larry is undoubtedly a man of "influence" and his future in his chosen career is very bright. For a stark illiterate who could barely express himself in the English language, he is quite successful. Despite having no entertainment skills, he loved fame and wanted his fair share of the limelight. He has over 600,000 followers on Instagram. He has pictures with the President of Nigeria, Bola Tinubu, the Oba Elegushi - Saheed Ademola, the governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, and other dignitaries we only see on TV. He reportedly claimed he works with the Oba Elegushi which the latter expectedly denied in a circulated press statement. Sam Larry came in handy when the former signee of the Marlian family - Promise Ilerioluwa Aloba, popularly known as Mohbad decided to walk away from the record label. Sam Larry would declare him persona non-grata on the street. His faceless boys would physically attack him on sight. Mohbad in the last interview before his death also claimed to have been blackballed by Naira Marley and his entertainment contacts to hamper his musical career. On several occasions, Sam Larry could be seen threatening the life of the hapless Mohbad. He stormed the set of a music video and tried to use a whip on Mohbad, if not for the timely intervention of a music colleague, Zlatan. Even when Mohbad tried to seek refuge under the banner of the police, it was an effort in futility. This is expected of a failing state like Nigeria, where there are strong men and very weak institutions. So weak that it was alleged that Naira Marley, an alleged drug peddler and consumer used the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, NDLEA, to arrest Mohbad. He was purportedly tortured and he started experiencing memory loss after his encounter with the law enforcement agents. Today, Naira Marley who cherishes marijuana is the face of the NDLEA. We play too much in Nigeria. I don't want to believe it was Sam Larry's intention to eliminate Mohbad. If so, he could have done it without putting his face out there. I feel it was about making life unbearable for him and ensuring he crawls back to Naira Marley. Naira Marley needed to prove a point to Mohbad that he is the king of the streets like the lyrics of his songs portray him to be. Sam Larry also needed to prove to his close ally - Naira Marley that he is up to the task. As pressure mounted, all the underhand tactics of Naira Marley and his team appeared to have taken a toll on his health. While Mohbad's death is unfortunate, I believe justice will never be served. As at the time of writing this piece, there is no cast-iron evidence linking Naira Marley's team to his eventual demise. The circumstances are based on conjectures that one might need an Excel spreadsheet to track. The Nigeria Police appears to be waiting for the trends to die a natural death. The founder of the online news platform - Sahara Reporters in the person or Omoyele Sowore, believes Mohbad's enemies, the police and the politicians belong to the same WhatsApp group. Governor Sanwo-olu who jumps on any trending issue like the Hilda Baci's Cook-A-Thon exercise has equally looked away. Sam Larry appears to be a sacred cow. He is like the son of the soil who can't be sacrificed to appease the soil, even if heaven falls. This is why some sort of vigilantism is being adopted here. The court of public opinion has taken over the case. The worst they can do is ruin the reputation of the Marlian family. Naira Marley doesn't appear to care or he is pretending not to. Sam Larry seems worried. This negative public perception of him is bad for his career as a thug. If he is blacklisted by the general public, no politician or public figure would want to identify with him in the future. He is a man who is obsessed with the camera, lights, and action coupled with social media validation. How would he survive? Nigeria isn't new to unresolved murder cases. From Dele Giwa to Bola Ige and Funsho Williams, the list is long. Mohbad's demise is synonymous with the death of singer Davido's uncle - Isiaka Adeleke in Osun State (April 2017). Mohbad and Adeleke trusted quack nurses who administered injections to them. The coroner in Osun pinned the death of Adeleke, a very popular politician tipped to be the next governor, on the nurse. The nurse obviously had dodgy credentials. But the Adeleke family wasn't having it. They felt his death was politically motivated. Mohbad's father is looking in the direction of the unnamed nurse. Although social media users believe his suspicion is an act of cowardice. Mohbad was hurriedly buried like a Muslim in an undersized coffin they had to bend his neck to fit into. The absence of an autopsy makes the issue more complicated than necessary. The drama around the death of Adeleke was very messy. A couple of names were thrown around by conspiracy theories until the consumers of the news felt they had had enough. Adeleke's brother - Ademola Adeleke aka the 'Dancing Senator' capitalized on his brother's popularity to step up his political career. He undeservedly danced his way into the Nigerian senate, and later the governor's office. He attained greatness despite his lack of charisma, leadership qualities, and credentials. The world will move on from the Mohbad gist. His toured protector, Zlatan is already trying to milk the moment by dropping a seeming tribute to Mohbad. He would be hoping it helps re-invigorate his career which appears to be low on protein. Thuggery in Lagos will not end, as justice will never be served. The Mohbad episode is just a microcosm of the larger Nigerian society where the principle of 'might is right' is prevalent. In 2017, the African giant, Burna Boy allegedly contracted armed robbers to go after his colleague Mr 2Kay. Mr 2Kay was baptized with fire. Burna Boy was briefly arrested and released. Nothing was ever heard about the case to date. There is nothing new under the sun. Osahon George Osayimwen is a Journalist and a Developmental Psychologist. He writes from the UK. CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi NLfpmod
Finding a meaningful relationship in the United Kingdom is daunting. Most relationships here are highly sexual and short. This could be attributed to several reasons this piece doesn't intend to delve into. Due to the cold weather and the lonely nature of this country, even the most decent people gradually inculcate the habit of dating for the fun of it. As soon as the first squabble happens, pride kicks it, and both parties use the exit doors. But people still find love. I did!Osahon George Osayimwen is a UK-based journalist. He has an incurable addiction to writing.
There is a saying that "people tend to see life from where they stand". From a religious standpoint, the founder of the Mountain of Fire and Miracles, Dr D.K Olukoya's claim that the devil has taken over women doing the Brazilian Butt Lift, BBL might be justified. On the 4th of September, 2023, Olukoya said: “Many churchgoers, unfortunately, have become so worthless that the devil does not waste time on them again, he has already captured them,” he said. “When you are a woman and you go for surgery to expand your breasts and bum, you are already gone. “You are telling God that the one he put there is not okay so you want to put your own. The devil will not waste time on such people" he concluded. Personally, I'm not against women going under the knife to cover their physical insecurities. People need to be allowed to do what they have to do to be happy. In the 21st century, the pressure is high on every adult to succeed in many spheres of life. If the pressure isn't well managed, this could cause mental health complications like depression, anxiety disorder, drug abuse leading to drug-induced psychosis, and others. The psychology of BBL women There is a need for people to feel comfortable and confident about the way they look. People are wired differently and they tackle issues in their own unique way they deem appropriate. While some women gather confidence in their fat bank accounts, material possessions, personal achievements, and intellectual prowess, others gather confidence in physical attributes like their beauty, glowing skin, curvy shape, round & firm breasts, massive bum, round hips, flat tummy, small waist, sexy eyes, pink lips, white teeth, and others. The challenge for people of this latter class is that these attributes fade over time. The toll of motherhood also changes the 'factory settings' of some women for life. By the time some women are in their thirties or forties, their bodies begin to experience significant changes that physical exercises and food intake control might not fix. The tummy becomes protruded and bigger, and at times you could be mistaken for being pregnant. The bosoms take a permanent resting position like they are overseeing the mid-section. The bum becomes flappy, stretch marks take over some strategic areas, acne dominates the face leaving spots behind, and wrinkles also creep in. If the person in question was getting a hundred likes on a picture on Instagram, the number might drop to fifteen likes. Direct Messaging, DM also takes a fall. If you are a public figure who has a social media presence, your fanbase would gradually reduce with supporters becoming haters. They will start to sneak some vile comments into the comment section. These social media comments are subsequently corrosive. I remember when OAP Toke Makinwa used to upload some elegant pictures on social media and some commenters would complain that her bum was flat. This must have coerced into going for liposuction to enlarge her derriere. The same critics would tell her today that her doctor did a bad job and one side is bigger than the other. This is so ridiculous! The transient nature of life From a psychological point of view, negative social media comments could be very herculean to manage, if your strength as a human being is mainly hinged on your body. What people of this short-sighted view have failed to realize is the transient nature of life. Nobody reigns forever. Every medication/drug no matter how potent has an expiry date. The vintage car - Peugeot 5054/5055 was once for the elites, today it is a symbol of abject poverty and it is apparently off the road. Where are the BlackBerry phones some women sacrificed their dignity for? What about the famous Yahoo Messenger? I can go on and on to explain the transient nature of life. Additionally, there is no way you can please everyone with how you look, and this is why we have individual tastes called 'spec' according to English slang. Only ice cream makes everybody happy. But on the other hand, a section of adults would tell you ice cream is too sugary, and might affect their performance in the 'other room'. Is the BBL Wrong? The above question is very tricky. It depends on who you ask. If you ask the doctors, they will give you a million reasons why it is right, and so will their customers. If you ask the religious leaders, they will not only tell you it is wrong, but they will also go as far as making a case that the end of the world is near. The National Health Service, NHS in England, sees liposuction demands by people as easily expendable, except it's a genuine reconstruction procedure that is proven to have caused severe psychological effects. In my opinion, the best way to decide this is by looking at the 'INTENTION' or driving force behind liposuction. The majority of the women see it as an 'investment'. It is actually an investment because it runs into millions of Naira both at home and abroad. In fact, the cheaper the cost of the surgical procedure, the closer you are to your grave. It is risky too. These women are not undertaking the life-threatening experience for the fun of it. It is bluntly to attract the big men, although this is easily deniable. There is a common rumour that hovers around women doing liposuction and it is 'transactional sex'. They are either accused of snatching other people's men or warming the beds of the sugar daddies. These people accused of sleeping around also don't help matters. They desperately market themselves both to the rich and poor; whosoever cares to do business with them. They post raunchy pictures of themselves online, wearing the most revealing outfits that could soil the thoughts of any man. They try to make every conversation about their bodies. They share the biggest testimonies of property acquisitions online, and attribute them to 'God'. They go on endless international holiday trips, lodge in fancy hotels, and display exotic foreign meals they might even struggle to eat behind the scenes. Their flamboyant lifestyles are always in disagreement with their earnings. Their publicized accomplishments make the genuinely hardworking people look lazy. Conclusion Truthfully, these members of the BBL family are selling 'something' on a clandestine note, and they don't normally disclose it. Some bold ladies like Funmilola Talabi aka 'Funmi Sugar' - a social media influencer have been able to publicly admit she is an 'escort'. She even goes as far as discussing her rates online. Many more are still hiding but by their fruits, we shall know them. Now let me ask some questions. Is prostitution not morally wrong? Is it a honourable job? Do you genuinely believe God is happy with the women? Honest answers to these questions could draw us closer to the truth. Osahon George Osayimwen is a Journalist and a Developmental Psychologist. He writes from the United Kingdom.
Nigerian Marriages always appear solid and formidable until the union gets a visa. The moment it passes through the UK Point of Entry, it starts to develop cracks until it takes more falls than the Naira under the current Tinubu administration. In this piece, I will be taking a dive into the common reasons why Nigerian marriages struggle on UK soil. (1). Personal Vendetta: Marriage as an institution in Nigeria is modeled around patriarchy - a system of male dominance. In this case, the man is the king while the woman is the queen. As you know, the king dominates the queen, and nothing he does is wrong in most cases (especially for the wealthy men). The woman could be forced to endure physical, verbal, psychological, financial abuse, and lots more. She stands to get mocked if her marriage crashes. This creates age-long bitterness and a cold war in the union. Women have a long memory and they hardly forgive. The moment the marriage transits to a society that gives women an upper hand against men, they come for their pound of flesh like Shylock. This destroys the foundation and subsequently brings it to an end. (2). Level Playing field: Marriage in Nigeria is a bit lopsided in terms of the professional profiles of the couples. In some cases, the husband might be a doctor while the wife might be selling beauty products or other petty items that cannot sustain her financially. The man steps in, and this gives him an undue edge in the marriage. In the UK where a hard-working bartender can match a nurse financially, and there is a level playing ground, power changes hands. The man who might be an alpha male loses that edge. This kind of equality - an unfamiliar territory for the man, if not well-managed might be the collapse of the marriage. (3). Cultural Issues: In the UK, the difference between a man and a woman might be that one menstruates and the other doesn't. In fact, people switch genders according to their moods. In simple terms, there is no duty/responsibility that is totally exclusive to a man or woman. Over here, men go to the market, clean, wash, cook, babysit, run errands, and also fund the home. Local champions who are used to being served like emperors by their wives might struggle to cope with the new environment and could feel short-changed. (4). Busy Schedules: It is no longer news that the cost of living in the UK is as high as a COVID-19 patient's temperature. In my previous articles, I have overemphasized how people inevitably work for long hours in order to cope with rising living expenses and financial demands from their families back home. This might affect bonding between young couples and reduce intimacy. Most times, when one party is ready for a "mid-section parley", the other might be unavailable due to conflicting shift patterns, not being in the mood due to mental or physical stress. This gradually takes a negative toll on the marriage. (5). Women Are Powerful Abroad: In the West, there are checks to prevent the domination of women by men. This has made women so powerful. In the event of a conflict, the odds are always against the men. The Spanish FA chief, Luis Rubiales learned the hard way for controversially kissing midfielder, Jennifer Hermoso at the recently concluded 2023 Women's World Cup. Also in February 2021, Yoshiro Mori - head of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games Organising Committee, was coerced into resigning after saying 'women talk too much in meetings'. Former Manchester United player, Mason Greenwood apparently ruined his career due to struggles with his partner. In marriage, some women mischievously abuse their powers. A colleague lost his marriage of 5 years after his wife reportedly abused him physically multiple times. A behaviour that was never evident in Nigeria according to him. (6). Cheating: A randy man who is obsessed with beautiful women would easily make mistakes in the UK. The UK exposes you to numerous women of different shapes, forms, and beauty. If you think you have seen it all, you need to see the Jamaican, Somalian, Pakistani, Iranian, curvy Kenyans, and some pretty Indian women. It is not just how they look alone but what they are wearing. Some of them might fancy you and might be willing to hand you the cookie on a platter of gold. There are also several single mothers who have nothing to lose. They are ready to 'share it' graciously like the Federal Government palliatives across their community. One person's husband might be hooked to the detriment of his marriage. (7). Finances: Another area of challenge in a UK home is money. In an informal survey I personally conducted, I realized it is the most common problem around. It is extremely difficult for a man to singlehandedly foot the household bills in the UK. Paying for everything is easily obtainable in Nigeria where the cost of living is lower. A woman who is used to the Nigerian system might be hoarding cash, and under-declaring her finances. This is done to force the man to fill the vacuum. This creates discontentment, and over time, frustration starts to hit the man. He might be tempted to seek solace outside the marriage to boost his mental health. Osahon George Osayimwen is a Journalist and a Developmental Psychologist. He writes from the South Yorkshire region of England.
This piece isn't aimed at discouraging anyone from relocating to the United Kingdom. The country has the 6th largest economy in the world and it offers massive economic opportunities for both the young and old. It is also beautiful and gives maximum exposure to people. But things are changing and they are changing rapidly. You need to be mentally prepared before you get ambushed by harsh reality. Keep the following factors in mind when trying to take the plunge. (1) Limited job opportunities: As a fresh immigrant, it takes the grace of God to crack the white-collar job circle. Even if you get white-collar jobs, most of them don't offer visa sponsorships. So, they can't guarantee you any desired visa extensions. To someone who wants to stay back in the UK after studying, what's the point? For the blue-collar sector which apparently admits every willing or unwilling human being available, the jobs are disappearing. You must have heard viral stories of people on healthcare visas not getting shifts. As if this isn't enough, job opportunities are drying up in the less desired warehouses where hard labour is rife. The warehouses constituted the last hope of the common man those days. If you are hoping to gather money to pay your school fees from hustling in the UK, you might need to have a rethink. (2) 20hrs Work Limitation: In recent times, there have been strong rumours of student visas being canceled by the Home Office, after the holders failed to stick to the 20-hour work restriction in a week. It is one of the most traumatic experiences an immigrant can face abroad. Imagine you are getting an email that your visa has been cancelled, while you are just settling in, with a huge debt hanging over your head. You might strongly consider detonating a Kim Jong Un-like bomb in your village to annihilate any witch/wizard that might be linked to your predicament. (3) Housing Crisis: The housing crisis in the UK is so severe that people now take their house-hunting activities to the NSPPD altar at 7 a.m. It is not just about the exorbitant prices alone, it is about the stiff competition you will face from other applicants. It is as competitive as applying for civil service jobs in Nigeria and India. These so-called accommodations come in the form of "poultry" due to the relatively small sizes. They also come with massive paperwork that could be cumbersome for a new immigrant to satisfy. This isn't the challenge an immigrant wants to face due to its overwhelming nature. (4) High Cost Of Living: Living costs constitute a global issue and it is highly multi-factorial in nature. Major cities in the UK like London, Manchester, Sheffield, Bristol, Birmingham, etc., have been hit by mass migration, thereby straining available public facilities. People with permanent jobs are feeling the heat not to talk of the casual workers living from one unassured shift to the other. For a man converting naira to pounds to cater for daily expenditure in the UK, the thoughts of running away, or committing suicide might be crossing his mind, at least 4 times in a day. (5) Low Chances Of Staying Back: The chances of international students staying back in the UK after schooling are getting slimmer than the popular Nollywood actress, Lepa Shandy by the day. Before you know it, your 2-year post-study period would have elapsed and you might have to return home. Before now, healthcare visas have come to the rescue. Today, the opportunities have been abused and the forces of demand and supply have also affected sponsorship opportunities in the healthcare line. If you think you can easily marry a citizen to stay back, you might have to buy some anti-depressants, as a backup plan. In conclusion, the best way to easily scale through these hurdles, and weather the storm might be by owning one of President Tinubu's controversial bullion vans. Osahon George Osayimwen is a Journalist and a Developmental Psychologist
There is an epidemic of chronic moral decadence in Nigeria, but everybody is looking away. Despite appearing to be one of the most religious countries in the world, the epic fall in moral standards has refused to abate. Nigerian youths are obsessed with cutting corners to make humongous amounts of money, for the sole purpose of squandering them like drug lords in blockbuster movies. Any opportunity that dangles the fat carrot would always get the attention of the desperate ones. It would be unfair to say it is only Nigeria that parade's rotten figures. It is a global issue; abnormalities are fast becoming the new norm in the 21st century. The only concern I have is that Nigeria is proudly marketing these questionable figures to the outside world. The theatre of obscenities - the Big Brother Naija reality show is airing again, and the dark sides of Nigerian society are being shown on TV screens in high definition to the world. This is happening as other African countries like Kenya and Rwanda are painstakingly building their images as the tech hubs of the continent to attract Foreign Direct Investment, FDI. When the organizers of the BBNaija show are shopping for contestants, they are not sincerely interested in the egg-heads. They are searching for good-looking, flashy but empty, and jobless Nigerian youths. These are people with cooked-up resumes about non-existent businesses and phantom entertainment records. The organizers are searching for beautiful women of easy virtue, products of self-obsessed cosmetic surgeries, seeking a media platform to market themselves before moneybags, as objects of high-class pleasure. The program showcases fiery ill-mannered ladies with short tempers. These ladies have the propensity to stir up intense drama to entertain the viewing public. The show is interested in loose women who are some to build romantic/sex relationships with fellow housemates in a matter of seconds of physical encounters. What about the men? They are sexually vulnerable and emotionally unstable. They put on a fake persona and it is called a 'game plan', aimed at boosting their chances of success in the reality show. Even when professionals in the class of an IT expert and a doctor graced the show at different seasons, they fell by the roadside. This is because the show is designed for individuals who could bring thick smoke, fire, and stink out the entire place. The more chaos or scandals recorded achieved by the housemates, the higher their ratings and viewers' participation in the form of paid votes. There have been instances of the faceless lead figure - Big Brother purposely causing a fracas in the show to pitch housemates against each other under the guise of what is called a 'secret task'. The controversial reality show is as insensitive as watching a mentally challenged person dance unclad in the market with relish, just because they are not a family member. With due respect, the show is the den of uncultured women who either tease me with their bodies under the prying lenses of the CCTV or outrightly sleep with them due to a lack of self-control and sense of dignity. Of course, this can not apply to all the participants of the show as there are a few decent ones. On a majority level, it features pseudo-revolutionary females who hide under the guise of feminism, to gratuitously challenge and undermine men. This is the camp of women with surgically-enhanced bodies who would later litter the internet with adult content. This is done with the hope of attracting men with ill-gotten wealth to hand them a fairy-tale lifestyle. This writer is trying so hard to mince words to avoid name-calling and committing slander/libel. The products of this show end up being social media influencers with no substance. They easily amass vulnerable followers and subsequently lead them astray, due to the propagation of negative values. It should be noted that this piece isn't an attempt to assassinate the characters or question the integrity of the participants and organizers. It is just the bitter truth that needs to be told. The show has produced some amazing individuals who are doing well and keeping it decent with their private lives. Kudos to the good few. The latest edition of the show known as the BBNaija All-Star edition is coming at a critical point in the political landscape of Nigeria. There are credible claims that a popular presidential candidate - Peter Obi's mandate was stolen in the last general elections. He is seeking redress in court. The government of the day appears to be squeezing blood out of the bodies of the already emaciated citizens, for the purpose of fueling the wrecked vehicle called Nigeria. The poor masses are pushed to the wall. There are conversations about whether the country needs a revolution or evolution to move forward. And then, a distraction like this reality show sets in. Could this be a mere coincidence? A colleague of mine at work told me he suspects the reality show was sponsored by the Federal Government to distract the people from the current economic hardship in the country. I blatantly disagree with such conspiracy theories, but you can't blame him. The amount of public attention the show attracts is also baffling to me. It beggars belief. What stops the owners of the show - the Banijay Group of Enterprises from hosting a show that celebrates the brightest talents in Nigeria like CNN African Voices, Marketplace Africa, and others? This could boost Foreign Direct Investment as investors would want to tap into the talent pool of vast human resources in the long run. The level of moral decadence in Nigeria is at an all-time high and it needs no further exposure or enabling ground for growth. On social media today, the only private part of a female's body that can't be shared online is her INTESTINES. Young ladies now openly sell their bodies on social media like butchers in the marketplace. Internet fraudsters also achieve celebrity status after being arrested, paraded, and prosecuted by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC. Our music - Afrobeat is now very filthy. It promotes all the vices you can ever think of in a highly melodic way. The music artistes with meaningful content suffer in vain to find an audience, yet we are a highly religious country. What an irony! This is not the Nigeria of our dreams. Nigeria is failing on all fronts. The truth needs to be told no matter whose ox is gored. Osahon George Osayimwen writes from the United Kingdom CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi NLfpmod
Let me start this piece with a common saying on social media. If you are in the habit of complaining people are stingy, it might be an indication that you are begging too much. Well, much has been said about people in the United Kingdom being tight-fisted. To a large extent, I am of the opinion that this is true and could be attributed to some of the reasons explained below: (1) Culture: The United Kingdom just like most Western countries has embraced individualism. The system of every man for himself. In Africa, it is collectivism which simply means 'Let's do it as a family, let's grow together' You will hardly see the core Britons help each other financially. They will rather rely on credit facilities from banks, credit cards, and benefits to survive tough financial times. This is unlike Nigeria where 'billing' is almost cultural in the 21st century due to age-long systemic poverty. (2) Littany of lies: Some Nigerians are in the business of cooking up comprehensive and water-tight lies to extort money from their family members abroad. Personally, I have friends who have abandoned their WhatsApp accounts to avoid hearing countless touching stories from friends and acquaintances in Nigeria. To cope with the virus of lies, people in the UK have adopted a firewall to block all intrusions. (3) Hustle is hard: Life in the UK is historically difficult, and in recent times, things have gotten tougher for the 6th largest economy in the world due to the growing population, Brexit, COVID-19, and other issues. People work round the clock, under extreme weather conditions, to earn money and the cost of living is too high. As of 2020/2021, employees were chasing people for jobs. Two years later, the reserve is the case, even in the blue-collar jobs industry. So every penny counts. You don't want to make money only to play a Father Christmas to someone whose financial challenges might not be genuine. (4) Taxes: This topic doesn't require much explanation as this is a paramount issue in the UK. Any sort of comfort you enjoy in the country is taxed. It runs a service-based economy. I have seen people earn about £3,000 gross salary in a month and get a net pay of £2,300. Income tax, National Insurance, and pension deductions took about £750 which is more than the salary of a successful person in Nigeria. Rent, council tax, loan repayment, vehicle insurance, and others would further beat your take-home pay until it struggles to take you home in the end. (5) Personality traits Some people are naturally stingy. In fact, they even struggle to spend their own money on themselves. It appears they might be of the belief that the funds could be taken with them to the great beyond. I have a friend who has no record of helping anybody in the history of his life and he has no plan to turn a new leaf. People like these come to the UK and become hardened in the area of stinginess. (6) People are broke: If poverty in the world is being measured by raw cash and not access to food, the UK might be one of the poorest countries in Europe. Most people have to overwork, to the detriment of their health to make extra bucks. This is why some locals see the paper chase as a rat race and they prefer to stay unemployed and focus on benefits from the government. Furthermore, the housing crisis in the UK is real. As a family man, 70% of your monthly earnings easily go into accommodation costs. This makes life mentally stressful and frustrating. Anyone looking from the outside is easily deceived by the glossy pictures, nice clothes, and lovely locations they see on social media. This set of people constitutes the 'God When Squad' - a popular faction in the Nigerian social media space. Osahon George Osayimwen writes from Sheffield, United Kingdom.
Lets call a spade a spade, Asari Dokubo is a major disaster waiting to happen. The magnitude of the disaster is what the world is unsure of. Mr Dokubo's recent behaviours and public conduct have all shades of terrorism written all over them. Dokubo and his rag-tag foot soldiers bear the hallmarks of the Boko Haram sect at the incubation phase. The only missing piece is for an agreement to go wrong between Dokubo and his clandestine backers in government, and we will have a full-blown terrorist group flexing muscles. From the look of things, Dokubo's boys might grow faster than the Boko Haram terrorist group due to their access to arms and ammunition. The menace of Dokubo is what happens when a nation refuses to learn from history, experience and mistakes. In the words of the renowned German sociologist, Max Weber, "a government is an institution that holds a monopoly on the legitimate use of violence" A state that shares the use of force with private citizens is sliding towards anarchy and failure. Dokubo, a former militant blowing up oil pipelines, found his voice since his infamous meeting with President Bola Tinubu in June, 2023. Immediately Tinubu handed him the microphone, his first victim was the Nigerian Army. He accused them of working in concert with criminal syndicates to steal oil in the Niger Delta region. The accusations were made without any proof. From there, he went after his usual sparring partner - Nnamdi Kanu, who is cooling his heels in one of the holding cells of the Department of State Security, DSS. He also lambasted the Igbos and has been threatening to crush the imaginary enemies of Tinubu. Even the governor of Rivers State, Siminalayi Fubara, has been warned to tread carefully before he 'collects woto woto' (severely dealt with). Fredrick Nwajagu, the Eze Igbo of Ajao Estate in Lagos State, didn't do as much as Dokubo before he was arrested by the police & the DSS, and subsequently charged to court. He made some unguarded statements during the general elections and today is behind bars as he continues to stand trial for 'terrorism'. Dokubo appears untouchable, he seems above the law. For the security operatives to be turning a blind eye to his illegal militia, their dangerous weapons being brandished in public places and subsequent threats, it means he might be doing the bidding of Tinubu whom he is loyal to. Dokubo is an emblem of the grossly dysfunctional state of Nigeria. He symbolises the dearth of and stinking rot in our democracy. He is a working machinery designed to effectively subvert the will of the people, using force and other underhand tactics. Can a figure like Dokubo fit into the moderately sane political climate in Britain, United States of America and other top tier western countries? This is a real life outplay of the controversial 'Gangs of Lagos' movie in which politicians recruited thugs in the slums of Lagos State to secure election victories through aggression, violence and bloodshed. From the look of things, it appears Tinubu needs a South-south version of the popular MC Oluomo of Lagos State in the Niger Delta region. Forces like Dokubo are popularly regarded as a part of the 'political structure' in Nigeria. They help win elections by strong-arming political opponents, and their followers to give way. You don't have to be a genius to understand why Tinubu is grooming Dokubo. Dokubo is a part of Tinubu's future power consolidation plan. He did it in Lagos and it has worked for 16 years. It is time to replicate it at the federal level. Since elections in Africa are hardly free and fair, agents of violence come in handy and are judiciously deployed by desperate political actors. Like mercenaries, they align with any power bloc as long as the price is right. Tinubu has the mastery of phoney politics in Nigeria. He graciously blesses everybody that does political business with him. They amass humongous wealth, job opportunities, government contracts and vast properties in choice locations across the country. Through this, your loyalty is secured through the politics of patronage and prebendalism. With all due respect, Dokubo stands for nothing and falls for everything. He has no ideology but pretends to have one. He doesn't care about the people like he parades himself. He is strictly focused on the pursuit of his egocentric interests. Let me take you down memory lane. Dokubo used to be a supporter of the main opposition party - People's Democratic Party, PDP. Then the PDP was the ruling party. Asari boldly castigated the All Progressives Congress, APC. He bluntly expressed his disdain for the then APC presidential candidate, Muhammadu Buhari in 2015. In specific terms, Dokubo in the build-up of the 2015 presidential elections threatened that there would be bloodshed on the streets if Goodluck Jonathan of the PDP lost the election. There were rumours that Dokubo and other militants were on standby waiting for a call for a contingency plan when Jonathan lost the election. But the former president was quick to concede defeat which was against the run of play. Revelations by the Reformed Niger Delta Avengers, a breakaway faction of the Niger Delta Avengers, corroborated the rumour of a sinister plan to sabotage oil production in Nigeria. The same Dokubo would later claim to have been employed by Buhari in his second term to tackle some security challenges in Nigeria. Today, Dokubo is in bed with Tinubu. He probably would have been with Peter Obi of the Labour Party if the latter had emerged victorious in the presidential elections. I make bold to say that Dokubo only supports Tinubu for blatant personal aggrandizement. He made the confirmation with his own mouth. He claimed Tinubu supported his family financially when he was in jail. According to his personal account, Tinubu paid the school fees of his children, provided them a house, a vehicle and gifted him a sizable amount of money during his trying times. For this reason, he has pledged his allegiance to Tinubu. He has been emboldened to go as far as breaking the law to crush the enemies of the president. Dokubo needs some political education and I hope he would be humble enough to lend his ears. Political participation teaches us that the electorate should vote for a leader who can cater for the general interests of citizens and not private interests. It is about a leader who can guarantee good governance and the provision of essential public goods, for the betterment of the majority. This is in accordance with the social contract theories, on the basis of which the government was formed. So if Dokubo and the Nollywood actress, Eniola Badmus, voted for Tinubu on the basis of personal favours, it isn't ideal. The bar of leadership in Nigeria is at an all-time low. Nigeria went from a PhD holder to a man who almost presented his 'NEPA Bill' as his school certificate. Tinubu took over with his entire true identity and life history in doubt. Tinubu's ascension to power has inspired Dokubo to develop a presidential ambition. In one of his latest rants that went viral on social media, he claimed he would one day become the number one citizen of Nigeria. He explained that if Tinubu could do it after his 'Emi Lo kan' (it's my turn) statement, he could also become president. Imagine a former Niger Delta militant being the president of Nigeria. Well, if Tinubu who has been linked with drug trafficking in the US could do it, Dokubo might also stand a good chance. That is the reality of life in Nigeria. Dokubo has become so brazen that he traveled to Abuja with his team to stage a counter-protest during the 2nd of August Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, protest on the removal of fuel subsidy. It was a show of shame to say the least. Dokubo's presidential ambition is a potent threat to the Nigerian state. As Nigerians shockingly miss Buhari despite his monumental failures, may that day not come when Dokubo will be in power, and we will miss Tinubu. Nigeria needs a viable serum for this cycle of Stockholm Syndrome. Osahon George Osayimwen writes from the United Kingdom. CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi NLfpmod
Life in the United Kingdom is far different from what most Nigerian men are used to in their home countries. The points here might appear so simple but they count in the preparedness of a man in bracing up for the challenging task ahead. They constitute the essential ingredients that put the final touches to the taste of a good soup. Come with me and let's dive into these points: (1) No creditworthiness: If you are not creditworthy, you might struggle in the UK, because the credit score is taken seriously here. You will struggle to secure loans and mortgages. Even offline, your friends and colleagues might be hesitant to assist you financially during difficult times. (2) Cheating: In Nigeria, cheating married men are like celebrities, especially when they have financial muscle. Even when their wives know, they endure the problem. In the UK, cheating on your wife might render you homeless and even pave a visa route for her and the children through your downfall. If you are a serial cheat, it might be better for you to remain in Nigeria where you are a king without a crown. (3) Pride: Some Nigerians are excessively proud. They never do household chores and they brag about it. It is too expensive to secure domestic workers here and the terms of engagement are too strict. You might have to keep your hands dirty at home to keep your marriage going. Some jobs also come with insults and talking instructions from underage or far younger colleagues. If you can't handle it, you might be forced to sleep rough and go hungry due to being broke. (4) Obsession with white-collar jobs: In the UK, it is easier for you to easily get blue-collar jobs and make good money from there as an immigrant pending when you are fully integrated into the system. You might be forced to come down from your high horse to work in factories, restaurants, warehouses, care homes, and hospitals; playing menial roles. If all you know is wearing suits and ties in cozy office environments and signing documents, the UK might not be for you. (5) Laziness: Making money in the UK is quite tough. If the money sent to Nigeria could talk, some people will not touch it. The majority of immigrants do transitional jobs of an average of 12hrs per day and 6 days a week to make ends meet. The cost of living is too high at this point. A lazy man who is used to enjoying free cash from petty crimes in Nigeria will certainly not fit in here. (6) Can't manage loneliness: This affects single people more. Over here, people would only check up on you if they need you. Everything is highly transactional! This gets to everyone at some point. You have to manage it well before you get in bed with the nearest 'mad' person. (7) Tolerance/Endurance: Immigrants who work in health and social care must possess this attribute. The money might be good but there is a reason why the labour turnover in this sector is very high and visa sponsorships are given for people to remain there. This is because of the unconventional nature of the jobs. If you can't tolerate or endure the smoke, you might end up begging the Tinubu victims in Nigeria for money right from the UK. ( Hate cooking:If you don't have cooking skills in the UK, you will suffer oh! You will end up eating foreign foods that you might find tasteless. You will spend a lot on patronizing Nigerian food vendors who sometimes cook burnt offerings for the gods. You will eat junk food till you become pregnant without a forthcoming baby after 9 months. (9) Lacking good communication skills: Being able to communicate in good and simple English is very essential in the UK. It is very imperative when attending a job interview. It is the easiest way to sell yourself even when the certificate might be lacking. It shows your level of intelligence and how adaptable you can be. If you are poor in this area, your progress might be hampered in the UK. (10) Cold: If you are the type that screams 'weather for two' anytime rain falls in Nigeria, the UK might not be for you. If you can become sexually restless under a weather condition of 25 degrees Celsius in Nigeria, imagine what you would do when it falls to 0 in the UK. And this isn't a place to be randy. It is very expensive and dangerous to do so. Read the stories of the former Manchester City defender, Benjamin Mendy or Adam Johnson and learn. Feel free to debate the few points I have made so that we can all learn. Osahon George Osayimwen writes from the United Kingdom.
When the Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Presidency happened on 29 May 2023, I was worried about how high the Lagos NURTW celebrity boy, Musiliu Akinsanya aka MC Oluomo would fly. Let me emphatically state that I am not his hater nor a fan, nor am I an enemy of progress. I imagined his eagerness to relocate to the seat of power, Abuja from his base in Lagos State. His son, King West, had already bragged on social media that 'they' now own Lagos State and Nigeria together.
Often when single young people move to the United Kingdom, they are always caught between starting new relationships abroad or sticking to their old relationships in their home countries. This short article is aimed at guiding you to make the best decision on the basis of reality and not mere emotions and sentiments. I will try as much as possible to make this piece less controversial. The aim isn't to break relationships and destroy the efforts of couples in their relationships. Dating a good Nigerian woman in the UK is amazing. They bring happiness and increase your zeal to succeed by giving you strong backing. Below are some of the reasons why dating a Nigerian woman in the UK is highly recommended. (1) Nigerian women are appreciative: Let's face it, there is no abundance of 'original' male suitors in the UK. Some coloured women even go for several months without anybody stopping them on the street to say hello. This adds value to men (law of demand and supply). So when single women ever meet their male counterparts, they value you like the pound note. (2) Financial independence: The UK creates an enabling ground and a level-playing field for everybody to succeed. As long as you are ready to work, you will make good money. UK-based Nigerian women have their own money and take pleasure in buying their own things unlike their counterparts back home, who are at the mercy of Tinubu and his APC friends. (3) Beauty and fashion: UK-based Nigerian women are not only beautiful, but they are so classy. They could be fashionable due to the extra cash and the affordability of clothes in the UK. I believe they have more 'packaging' than Amazon lol (4) Better opportunities: Nigerian women are doing really well in the UK. They are like the last piece of the puzzle you need to make your life complete. I have seen some men doing blue-collar jobs marry doctors and company management officials in the UK. This opens a door of opportunities and stability. (5) Adaptability: If you are in the UK, you are better off dating a Nigerian woman who lives in the country. This is because they have adapted to the system and have a strong knowledge of how it works. This is always as smooth as when Robin Van Persie moved from Arsenal to Old Trafford. He hit the ground running. (6) Happy Ending: UK women have very strong 'grips'. Legends in the house would understand. This is because of the scarcity of men and the busy nature of the country. You can't boldly say the same about Lagos-based women who are mostly 'sexually stressed' due to too multiple relationships running concurrently and marketing activities. (7) Mental stability: Due to the performing nature of the UK economy (compared to Nigeria), the women are generally happy to an extent because their needs are easily met via simple financial plans. Tinubu, back home has triggered an epidemic of mood swings amongst women with highly counterproductive public policies. ( Fiscal compatibility:Nigerian women in the UK are largely transparent with their finances. They also contribute to the payment of bills. They know for sure that their spouses might develop hunchbacks carrying those responsibilities alone. This attribute isn't easy to come by in Nigeria where the women regularly say 'Your money is our money and my money is my money' to their men. (9) Better exposure: Traveling itself is a form of education. As you pass through places, they also pass through you. Nigerian women in the UK have mixed with different races by virtue of being in the country. This has also broadened their perspective on life and made them better people. (10) Cooking: Nigerian women are generally fantastic cooks. They don't just have the skill, but they also have the financial resources to explore new measures of making both local and foreign dishes. Inadequate financial resources impede the abilities of their local counterparts. Osahon George Osayimwen writes from the United Kingdom.
Virtually every week, a Nigerian abroad comes out on social media to lament the scarcity of partners for meaningful romantic relationships. In recent times, we have had a more frequent outcry from women. Not just average women but beautiful and classy ones. What do you think is the problem? Are the men going extinct? Let's dive into this topic from a UK experience. Have you ever felt lonely despite being in a very crowded space? It is a weird feeling. Everybody wants to help and at the same time, nobody wants to help. This is what dating in the United Kingdom seems like. Here are some reasons why it might be challenging finding a partner abroad: (1) Culture shock: The United Kingdom is a multicultural society. You get to meet Indians, Africans, Chinese, Pakistanis, Europeans, and generally people from different works of life. Their belief systems, behaviours, and different approach to issues are different. People naturally avoid what they find strange and this could affect romantic relationships. (2) Ethnic Division In most cities in the UK, people don't mix especially outside work. The people have doctorate degrees in 'minding their businesses'. The Chinese roll with the Chinese, Indians to Indians and Nigerians roll with their own. People just feel more comfortable with their own. (3) Too fast, too busy: Life in the UK is just too busy and fast especially if you are a fresh immigrant. You might have to deal with the rigours of work and school as they run concurrently. These two engagements might make a whole year look like 6 months. Oftentimes, romantic relationships take a secondary position. Some people would pick shifts over romantic dates because that is what pays the bills. (4) Historical concerns: Before the tier 4 visas became popular, most Africans saw the locals as keys to their stay in the country. Relationships have always been a means to an end in the UK. A selfish end so to speak. The nefarious activities of internet fraudsters have always complicated interracial relationships. For this reason, most tier 4 visa holders or citizens are wary of new entrants. A lady who holds a British passport or Tier 2 visa might doubt the love interest of a suitor holding a tourist or student visa. There is widespread distrust in the country and nobody wants to be used as a ladder to step up. Consequently, some potential good men slip under the radar. (5) Stereotype: Nigerians don't have the best reputation in the UK. This is related to the previous point made. This has led to hasty generalisation and unwarranted assumptions. On dating sites/apps, some people will not talk to you because you are a Nigerian. This might be due to an adverse experience or an ordeal told by a friend, or family member about their experience with a Nigerian. (6) Ego: The UK has so many successful women. Most of them become big-headed as career success and financial breakthroughs come. They tend to desire men in or above their social/economic class. But African men in their supposed class fear women like them because of issues around control. Men don't want to travel on a ship with two captains. Before you know it, one woman is still single at 40 despite her beauty and achievements. (7) Small population of Nigerians: Despite the Japa Syndrome, Nigerians are in the minority in the UK. Out of a population of over 67 million people, Nigerians account for just 0.5% which is 271,390 in England and Wales. Most Nigerians come to the UK married. These two factors limit the available options on who to date. Even if you want to consider someone outside your ethnic background, they might not be interested in you. ( RacismDue to the sensitivity of this topic, I will not dwell too much on it. It has been criminalized, but it is still what it is. Coloured people are not really in demand except for people who just want to briefly explore. Call that jungle fever! (9) Lack of intentional efforts: In the UK, you have to consciously work towards getting married. Attend social gatherings, meet people, shoot your shots, join dating apps, join churches, approach people for relationship referrals, and never give up when you hear a 'no'. You might just be lucky the next time you try. (10) Marriage isn't a big deal: People in the UK are not so big on marriage compared to their counterparts in Africa. I have a colleague who has been engaged for years; nothing is happening and nobody is under pressure. In Nigeria, people will ask questions like "Are you Froddo in the 'Lord of the Rings'?" Generally, people just live together as partners for years and have kids together without being married. An African might frown at this on cultural and religious grounds. (10a) Accent: Relationships start with active and good communication. In the UK, some accents are just too complicated to understand. This makes verbal communication stressful. Most people become easily uninterested in those that don't speak like them. (10b) Indiscriminate sex: Due to loneliness and cold weather, most people just want to have fun with no strings attached. They want to experience that crazy feeling of intimacy for the moment. Since society doesn't attach importance to 'body counts', people jump on as many beds as possible. This is paramount amongst single parents. Single mothers just want to drink alcohol on Friday nights and have sex without entanglements. They tend to enjoy their sexual freedom and conclude that serious relationships might take that away. If care isn't taken, a woman might wake up to realize that she has had more sexual partners than a full-time prostitute at the end of the year. Sex is easy, love is hard. These are some of the reasons I have been able to come up with. I'm pretty sure they could be extended. Conclusion It is possible to find love in the UK, although it is tricky. The key is being very intentional about the love search. From my personal research and experience, I believe the most effective way is through referrals. When you meet nice people, tell them to introduce you to their like-minded single friends or family members. Make your intentions clear. This is equivalent to getting references for a job application. Additionally, expand your social circles, and join African churches with huge members. Some pastors take it upon themselves to matchmake people and it works. Dating apps might not be the most ideal place to seek a meaningful relationship, but we never say never. Osahon George Osayimwen writes from England.
In case you have been seeing netizens use the term 'Idan' and you don't understand it, just follow the Mmesoma Ejike and her Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) result saga. The 19-year-old is the real Idan. She possesses the in-born drive and street credibility to succeed in Nigeria. She was made in Nigeria, groomed in Nigeria, and is prepared for Nigeria. In specific terms, she is a true product of the country. As Nigeria has made a reputation out of rewarding bad behaviour handsomely and entertaining questionable success stories; people like Mmesoma will be like trees planted by the riverside. After scoring 249, she wasn't satisfied with the outcome just like the average Nigerian politician. She decided to cheat her way out. She found an app on the Google Play store and used it to inflate her score to 362. That's a typical INEC signature move. It should be noted that the original highest scorer named Nkechiyere Umeh had 360. If Mmesoma had settled for 300, she could have slipped under the radar. But she wanted to be the best not by hard work but by crook. She printed the result and took it to her parents to celebrate as every child would do. The deceit needed to start from home - the grassroots and she did just that. From there, the news would have spread organically to her neighbours, friends, schoolmates, marketplaces, and the rest. Her parents who appear to be from the lower economic class must have happily concluded it was a confirmation that they would be reaping the fruits of their labour in abundance in the coming years. This is the prayer of average Nigerian parents. Her feat would later attract a N3 million scholarship from the business mogul, Chukwuma Innoson - the CEO of Nigeria's vehicle manufacturing company, Innoson Motors. The photo-ops with Innoson's team were released to the media with a flowery press statement. Only if the entrepreneur knew he was being conned. Mmesoma spared nobody in the deceit including herself. Success and overnight stardom were so sweet that it was difficult for her to wake up from her slumber and face reality. Isn't this similar to the mindset of politicians who openly rig elections, shed blood and confidently share testimonies on the pulpit of big churches? Then JAMB came to burst her bubble. Mmesoma wasn't ready to give up easily, so she prepared for a fight. She was ready to drag JAMB around the court of public opinion when most Nigerians easily secure victories by playing the victim. She made a highly emotional video explaining she was being victimized and frustrated. She was smart enough to play the mental health card by claiming she was 'traumatized'. This card works! She was very articulate, civil, and calm as she concisely made her defense. Just like most Nigerians/politicians embellish their resumes during electioneering campaigns, Mmesoma did the exact same thing. She claimed she had always come 'first' all through her educational journey. This was all she needed to say and the attendees of the court of public opinion were swayed. Since our institutions are largely flawed and shamefully ineffectual, coupled with the problem of tribalism, people accused JAMB of trying to destroy her career. JAMB banned her for three years and this move attracted more public sympathy for the underdog. Mmesoma valiantly went to Channels TV - a TV station with arguably the biggest coverage in Nigeria to defend her falsified result. Even when the Department of State Security, DSS, invited her for questioning, she dealt with the investigators expertly. She was unstoppable. As JAMB released the series of evidence of her digital imprints to expose her, the teenager matched them evenly with more evidence. Mmesoma exemplifies the age-long rot in Nigerian society. The only problem here is that she learns too fast. There is a relationship between leadership and followership in human society. Leaders are pace-setters. Their actions and inactions influence their followers who consciously and unconsciously imitate them. This is why in saner climes, leaders are highly accountable and scrutinized for their actions. An erring leader is easily made to pay the biggest fine for the simplest misdeeds. Their scandals are also well publicized to shame them and also serve as a deterrent to would-be offenders. I have said for years that criminals who are supposed to be behind bars are always celebrated in Nigeria. They are paraded before the younger ones as figures to emulate. Intelligent and honest people with the best credentials are relegated to the background while the Picaros, illiterates, drug lords, fraudsters, and other non-state actors wielding force, manipulate their way into public offices. Today, the story around former President Muhammadu Buhari's secondary school leaving certificate appears incomplete. It looks like a case that was politically settled. His successor, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu appears to have forged EVERYTHING including his identity. The Governor of Osun State, Ademola Adeleke was also embroiled in a school certificate forgery scandal. The former Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun also forged her NYSC certificate, what about the Anambra Senator Stella Oduah? In short, the list of Nigerian public office holders involved in certificate forgery cases might be longer than the Second Niger Bridge. Politicians are also able to cheat the electoral process by rigging elections. To this day, the Rivers State presidential election results of this year have defied mathematical calculations. We have political thugs, motor park touts, militants, armed robbers, bandits, kidnappers, money launderers, drug addicts, and other miscreants working for politicians. In the past, these outlaws would work for politicians behind the scenes. Things have changed today. You now find them at the front seats of political campaigns, and also playing lead roles in democratic administration. A perfect example is the NURTW poster boy in Lagos who offers 'secret liaison' certificates to the Yoruba actresses. It was in the same fashion that the late Ibadan strongman, late Chief Lamidi Adedibu rose to prominence. He became the kingmaker in Oyo State for years. Mmesoma stirred controversy between the Yorubas and the Igbos. The JAMB Registrar, Professor Ishaq Oloyede, is Yoruba and she is Igbo. People from the Southeast felt their child was being robbed, just like Tinubu allegedly robbed Peter Obi of his mandate. It also became an economic class battle between the rich and the poor. Another narrative started that the Nigerian system is cheating her because she is the daughter of a nobody. The controversy soon became intense that the 'highly-paid-but-less-busy' House of Representatives waded in. They set up a panel of inquiry on the issue while calling on all involved parties to stand down. Mmesoma remained unfazed despite the massive public interest in the matter. Isn't her action synonymous with the fighting spirit of politicians who hire several Senior Advocates of Nigeria, SANs to defend frivolous election cases in court? They jump from one court to the other in the pursuit of a mandate that was never stolen. The Anambra State government had to intervene by setting up a panel of investigation to grill the rookie. And she finally admitted she doctored her JAMB result. End of story! Young Mmesoma reminds me of the legendary Argentine footballer, Lionel Messi when he made his debut in the 2005 World Youth Championship. Messi and Mmesoma both grabbed the headlines in style. One in sports, the other in education by con artistry. The truth of the matter is that Mmesoma is a bonafide product of Nigeria. Fruit doesn't fall far from the three. She will go far within the geographical setting of Nigeria. With a score of 249, there are elements of brilliance in her like a former Minister Festus Keyamo reiterated on social media. She almost robbed the original highest scorer, Nkechinyere Umeh, of her glory. She has displayed a rare talent that has taken most undeserving Nigerians to the top. With her street credibility, eloquence, and charming innocence, she stands a good chance of manipulating more people, structures, and institutions in Nigeria in the near future. She will likely learn to be smarter next time. Success in Nigeria isn't all by hard work but 'smart work'. People cheat and call it 'grace'. I feel for the poor girl. She isn't the problem, she is only a symptom of a cancerous ailment that has eaten deep into the body of the Nigerian society. She is the proverbial horse at the back which is looking up to the horse in front during a race. Unfortunately for her, the horse in front is vividly a bad example. The one in front is just a typical Nigerian politician with a pen that is more lethal than a gun. Osahon George Osayimwen is a UK-based Nigerian journalist Source: https://www.tori.ng/news/241533/mmesoma-jamb-result-the-truth-of-the-matter.html CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi NLfpmod
Tinubu Presidency: An Unfolding Expensive Joke The last presidential election was the most uninspiring one for me since I gained political consciousness. Election periods in democratic dispensations signify moments of renewed hope and change. Of the three popular candidates, only Peter Obi of the Labour Party signified hope for Nigeria. Due to the factor of political structure, it was apparent that the former governor of Anambra state might just be physically exercising himself in the presidential race, literally speaking. There were not many significant differences between Atiku and Tinubu except for their membership of opposing political parties namely the APC and PDP. It was more of the scenario of the same rats in different holes. They both have similar sources of income, reputations, trailing allegations of corruption, hunger for power, and others. As Nigerians geared up for a 'change', I sensed it would be more of former President Muhammadu Buhari's version of political 'change'. The moment Tinubu suspected his presidential ambition was on shaky legs, he grabbed the nearest microphone to scream at the top of his voice that it was his turn to be president (Emi Lokan). It was like Nigeria runs a monarchy and not a democracy. The 'Emi Lokan' statement which became a slogan heightened my anxiety. Tinubu wanted to be handpicked to be President. The statement exposes the existing cesspool of corruption that general elections in Nigeria have been enmeshed in. I have no issues with highly ambitious people, but from a psychological perspective, I fear the desperate ones. Apart from their questionable intentions, they have a flagrant disregard for due process. They are usually open to the option of cheating the system to have their way. Since Tinubu became president, the poor have technically been urged to become poorer for a greater Nigeria. Just yesterday, the League of Youth Voters for Tinubu and Shettima called the president's attention to the unbearable cost of living for ordinary Nigerians. It appears Tinubu is crudely checking ideas on Google and hoping one of them would work. I see a man who is more concerned about providing content for his media team to effectively launder his image, than pursuing good governance. The reality of life in Nigeria is so abysmal that even if you give someone your head as assistance, he might return in no time to ask for your legs. Nigerians in the diaspora are bleeding to death to cater to the ones back home. Tinubu's economic decisions look good on paper but lack possibilities for implementation. Tinubu's administration with all due respect is looking as funny as how he staggered on his way to the podium during the APC presidential primaries. It was almost as if Tinubu retired to the event after a long day at the bar. When Tinubu said he wanted to follow in the footsteps of his predecessor, Buhari, I perceived it as a 'threat'. But it appears he meant it. From the day of his inauguration on the 29th of May, 2023; he reportedly went off script by announcing the removal of the highly contentious fuel subsidy. Nobody is against the removal of fuel subsidies, but it should be systematically done with structures and palliatives put in place to cushion the effects of the accompanying economic shocks. Appropriate pressure and advocacy groups like the Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, and other civil societies should be duly consulted. Tinubu towed the same line and manner that he criticized the former president Goodluck Ebele Jonathan for over 10 years ago. Let's run through some of the missteps of the Tinubu administration so far: (1) Poverty crisis According to the World Bank, 4 million Nigerians slipped into poverty in the first half of 2023. The Bretton Woods institution has also warned that 7.1 million others could follow suit this year alone if the fuel subsidy removal is not well managed. With no reasonable palliatives in sight coupled with Tinubu's obsession with taxation, the figure might double. (2) Rising inflation and cost of living Inflation is another cancer eating deep into the heart of the Tinubu administration. Due to the global energy crisis triggered by the Russia-Ukraine war, inflation has become pronounced across the world. Tinubu also aggravated the situation locally by the removal of fuel subsidies. This has pushed the price of fuel to about N600 and N700 per litre. The floating of Naira has also taken its toll on the already slim pockets of the poor masses. The naira has deeply dropped in value as against the dollar and other competing currencies. In specific terms, the devaluation of the naira has caused a 70% inflationary pressure on the Nigerian economy. For a country that imports everything and only produces 'newborn babies' en masse, it would struggle to manage the inflation rate. Food prices will also go up with the recent plan of VAT collection from market traders and the informal sector. Naira currently exchanges for N774 per dollar, inflation rate is at a staggering 24% and could hit 30% at the end of the year according to economic projections. What adds salt to the injury of Nigeria is the unemployment rate which is approaching 41% from 2022’s 37.7% according to KPMG. Tinubu's economic policies are beginning to look like an effective and research-certified weight loss programme. The removal of fuel subsidy would later affect the electricity tariff which was projected to increase by a staggering 40% earlier this month. This is happening amidst an age-long unsteady supply of electricity. Indirectly, the consumers are paying expensively for darkness! In the UK, energy costs were subsidized with households getting a £400 discount spread over a 6-month period. This also includes a spending cap as part of a government protection initiative. This is a system that truly cares. (3) Tinubu's student loan policy In a desperate bid to win the hearts of the people and give his media team contents to fly with, Tinubu announced the policy of student loans. How does he intend to finance it with the debt of Nigeria standing at N46.25 trillion? How will the beneficiaries pay back in a country where most citizens seek spiritual help to tackle unemployment challenges? In the Western world alone, those student loans easily become bad debts. The Supreme Court recently blocked US President Joe Biden's plan to grant debt forgiveness of $430 billion to 43 million American students. If students in the US despite their viable economy can't repay their debts, is it in Nigeria where the cash crunch has turned people into refugees abroad that beneficiaries would fulfill their loan obligations? (4) Godwin Emefiele's arrest Anybody who believes the former CBN governor, Godwin Emefiele, was arrested due to his alleged corrupt practices can believe his mother is a man. He has been accused of mismanaging Nigeria's finances but a member of his management team - Folashodun Shonubi, is heading the apex bank in an acting capacity. Isn't that contradictory or did Emefiele take all the decisions unilaterally? If fighting corruption meant something to Tinubu, the INEC chairman Mahmood Yakubu should be in an underground cell for organizing an election that was recently discredited by the EU observers. (5) The RMAFC controversy As Nigerians grappled with making painful sacrifices for a better country, news emerged that the Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC) was planning to increase the salaries of Tinubu and other public officers by 114%. The move was later denied but Nigerians with discerning minds know that the ruling elites were testing the waters. The public outrage appeared to have prompted the governmental body to retrace its steps. (6) N400 billion subsidy savings The operators within the downstream oil and gas sector claimed the federal government has saved N400 billion in one month from subsidy removal. The body reinforced the initial view of Mele Kyari, the Group Chief Executive Officer of Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Limited, NNPCL, that the country spends N400 billion monthly on fuel subsidies. This money has become an object of political brickbat with the Socio-Economic Rights Accountability Project (SERAP) demanding that Tinubu publishes the spending details of the N400 billion. Tinubu appears to have ignored this as anticipated. (7) Tinubu's team Let's take a look at Tinubu's team so far. The ministerial list wasn't out at the time of writing this piece. I will like to point out that the faces we are seeing around him are the regular politicians capable of changing political parties like they change their underwear. As for his Chief of Staff, Femi Gbajabiamila, can we point to any initiative of his as the House Speaker which could directly affect the lives of Nigerians like Obamacare? We also have Nuhu Ribadu and Godswill Akpabio who have varying degrees of controversies trailing them. Tinubu also set the bar low when he granted an audience to a former Niger Delta militant, Asari Dokubo - his lousy supporter on social media. What positive change can a character like that bring? Nigerians have been brainwashed to believe they need to endure harsh and excruciatingly painful economic shocks for a better Nigeria. They have been begged to exercise patience. We have heard these before. Buhari also said the same. Nigeria is a country that benefits the rich at the expense of the poor. As I have emphasized in the past, the same reason why some people are stupendously rich is the reason why others are so impoverished. Removing fuel subsidy is a low-hanging fruit for Tinubu. As long as it doesn't affect the elites, he is safe. If Tinubu cares so much about Nigeria, he would target reducing the gargantuan cost of governance. Government offices are over-duplicated. The offices are flooded with rent-seeking aides with no portfolios. According to the Guardian, N8.5 trillion of Nigeria's N21.82 trillion for the year 2023 would be spent paying salaries and allowances of public officers and other expenses. As maintaining the Presidency gulps N14.2 billion out of this year's budget, the National Assembly - the committee of bloated old men draws a whooping sum of N228.1 billion from the budget. Nigeria will spend N62.47 billion on the 10 presidential fleets this year alone. Nigeria is estimated to have lost over $582 billion to corruption in 61yrs according to the Youth Initiative for Advocacy, Growth and Advancement - YIAGA Africa (2021). The Chartered Institute of Forensic and Investigative Professionals of Nigeria (CIFIPN) in 2022 said 70 to 75% of Nigeria’s national budget is lost to corrupt practices at all levels of governance in the country. Measures to tackle these challenges of corruption and the high cost of governance will attract the ire of Tinubu's upper-class friends. This isn't a battle Tinubu fancies. The better option of a high reward and low risks is the masses. They can be easily subdued using political, religious, tribal, and security tactics. I understand many Nigerians want to be optimistic about the Tinubu administration, especially when the financial wherewithal isn't there to 'japa' (relocate abroad). The facts don't lie! The story of the Tinubu administration doesn't add up. Tinubu will not be too different from Buhari in terms of leadership. I fear the job which runs for 24hrs might take its toll on his health and another Buhari episode of constant medical tourism might play out again. In the absence of Tinubu, power-grabbers will selfishly compete for control of political powers. The poor masses will always be the victims of their actions. The major gain from the Tinubu administration might be the consolidation of political power to pave the way for the Southerners. More people of the Yoruba tribe will be represented in power. As Buhari leaned towards the north, Tinubu would bend towards his people, but it might not be as chronic as his predecessor. Nigeria would take the Lagos pattern in terms of governance. On the pages of newspapers, Nigeria would appear to have recorded giant strides, but in reality, it is all the same story. I grew up in Ibadan, I heard so many impressive stories about Lagos. The media machinery of Lagos marketed the city to many outsiders, causing them to relocate for better economic opportunities. After a year in Lagos, the euphoria perished almost forever. It was all Nollywood - make-believe! Tinubu knows the importance of the media. He has a mastery of controlling public perception. He has also invested in the media by reportedly owning a prominent TV station and a national newspaper company. Several Twitter influencers and celebrities are allegedly under his payroll. They are taxed with the main duty of amplifying Tinubu's achievements. Life is self-regulatory; lies come with short-term gains but never last. The truth has a long lifespan. Tinubu's media agents can claim he is an embodiment of the late Obafemi Awolowo and Chief MKO Abiola, but those that experience Nigeria directly would in no time see traces of a possible lower or slightly higher version of Buhari. I pray I will be proved wrong in the end. Osahon George Osayimwen writes from Sheffield, United Kingdom CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
For a man who brags about being one of the most influential and successful music artistes not only in Nigeria but Africa, to be so rich that the cheapest commodity - a condom eludes him easily, there is fire on the mountain. If nobody sees nothing wrong with it, mental health practitioners do! A couple of weeks ago, David Adeleke, 30, popularly known as Davido took delivery of a 2023 Maybach S680 Virgil Abloh that costs almost N400 million. According to media reports, only 150 of the luxury car model exists in the world and the globally-recognized moneybags are gradually purchasing them to up their status or using them to appreciate special people in their lives. Alicia Keys' husband, Swizz Beatz got one for her to celebrate her birthday and as expected in showbiz, a reality show was almost made out of its unveiling. As the Muslims celebrated Sallah, it was strange that the regular pictures of ram/cow meat and other razzmatazz attached to the Islamic festive day became a secondary issue on social media. Uncle David was back in the news and it wasn't about his musical prowess or personal achievements. It was more of a scathing scandal that could make his wealthy father walk around with his cap in his hands. He was alleged to have impregnated a fifth woman from far away, USA. The woman named Anita Brown who paraded a highly questionable past of being an adult actress with an OnlyFans account was firing on all cylinders as she dropped incontrovertible evidence to show she knows Davido more than his family members. As the drama ensued shamefully to the entertainment of bored Nigerians, who have a penchant for highly sensational and meaningless contents, another lady in France also surfaced. The French lady also claimed to be pregnant for Uncle David. Just like her American counterpart, she came out with her 'receipts' to prove that Davido transacted successful sexual businesses with her. In the heat of the moment, some netizens also dug out a video of a Kenyan public personality, Pendo Stacy, who teased that she also slept with Davido. She brazenly showed us what is expected to be his boxers as evidence. This was ridiculous displayed on live TV. It is hard to prove. Only his wife, Chioma can confirm if the boxers belong to Davido. What an unplanned explosive sitcom! Even when David in the Bible fell and went out of favour with God by killing Uriah and sleeping with Bathsheba after seeing her naked, the shame wasn't this bad. People from the Yoruba tribe of Nigeria would say a mentally ill person is a pleasure to watch when he/she isn't related to you. While Davido's escapades might be a viable source of mortification to his family members and close friends, fans might see it as the biggest reality show in the absence of the Big Brother Naija. Everybody related to Davido including his greatest praise singer and Lai Mohammed-like person, Tunde Ednut lost his voice on social media. The smoke was too much for him to bear. He couldn't just breathe. So on a more serious note, let's dig into the crux of the matter. Davido's case might be related to mental illness. This might sound very atypical and I promise to break it down as brief as possible in layman terms, in order not to bore my readers and make it too long. I will like to share a story of a kid that used to run after trains. It was very strange! Each time they did, on-lookers would physically restrain them and when quizzed about their actions, they would become emotional and deluded with no reasonable defense of their actions. After a while, things would return to normal and the same cycle would repeat itself. After being taken to a Psychiatric Intensive Care Unit, PICU. The Responsible Clinician (RC), diagnosed them of Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). According to the RC, if the odd event had happened just once spontaneously, it could be expensively ignored. But for it to be continuous, there was more to the story. It should be noted that the kid always saw no oddity in their actions. In psychology, we believe a behaviour is just the tip of the iceberg. This gives credence to the postulations of Austrian neurologist - Sigmund Freud‘s Iceberg Model of Consciousness. Freud contested that our conscious behaviour is only the visible 10% of our psyche. Human actions are representations of complex cognitive processes that are unseen. There is always a bigger picture and this is why patients are debriefed after incidents to dig deep into the factors that triggered their challenging behaviours. This helps us to understand the problem better and draw a care-plan in accordance to the principle of personalized or person-centred care. There are similarities between Davido and this unnamed kid. They keep doing the same odd things over and over again, they don't believe their actions are wrong and they have no reasonable defense for their actions. It is a vicious cycle! From my understanding of psychology and experience in the mental health field, Davido might be dealing with trauma. Trauma affects us in ways we can never imagine. It creeps into our lives and we live with it consciously and unconsciously. We have memories of bad experiences we wish we could erase from our brains but they never go away. These memories could be in the simplest form of a bad romantic relationships, a road accident, academic failure, loss of a loved one, bankruptcy, or any similar unpleasant experience. The sufferer starts to deal with triggers - which are pointers to or a sense of resemblance of a past event. This makes us very uncomfortable and unsettled. If not well-managed over a long period of time, it could lead to a full-blown medical condition that might require hospitalization. Basically, we have three main types of trauma which are namely Acute, Chronic, or Complex trauma. From an anecdotal assessment on the basis of secondary sources of data, he might be battling with acute trauma which is related mostly to a single but significant event in one's life that shapes behaviour. This event appears to be the death of Davido's mother, Veronica. She died when the singer was 11 years old. In several interviews, Davido had spoken about his undying love for his mom and how her death as a result of cardiac arrest hit him so hard. There is always a special connection between a child and his mother especially at the formative stage of his life. The demise of a mother could leave a vacuum that could never be filled in a lifetime. This is the sad reality of life. Such permanent disappearance of a special one could spark a kind of hunger that can't be quenched. For example, a man battling with a failed romantic relationship, as a knee-jerk reaction, might find succor in excessive intake of alcohol. Others might be seeking 'rebound relationships' to deal with the pains, some might engage in self-harm or suicidal attempts to manage the pains. How do my views relate to Davido? There is this inexplicable vulnerability he has around women from a study of his scandals. In 2015, he accused Sophia Momodu, his first babymama of taking advantage of him and getting him to impregnate her. Sophia, a smart Lagos girl who wanted to force her way into the upper-class was and is still milking Davido heavily with no notable means of livelihood. "I met Sophia when I was barely 21 years old. She was many years older than me and was able to manipulate and exploit my youth, naivety and generosity" Davido lamented in a scathing public statement during one of his episodes with Sophia. Other cases of babymamas who came out of one-night-stands would later put Davido in the unwanted league of legendary singer Innocent '2Face' Idibia, who fathered 7 children with 4 different women. After Davido realized Sophia Momodu was more of a hireling/contractor in his life, he appeared to have been triggered again. He felt like a homeless kid under a heavy downpour. Figuratively speaking, with his drenched clothes and intense cold, he ran under Chioma's canopy. For about a year, Davido built his life around Chioma. He reportedly bought her a Porsche of N45 million in 2018 to mark her 23rd birthday and also dedicated a well-promoted hit song titled 'Assurance' to her. As a psychologist that reads meanings to everything, the term 'assurance' is deep. It carries so much weight. I am sure Davido didn't choose it by accident. In mental health, there is what we call 'reassurance'. When a patient is in crisis or during post-crisis periods and they feel they can fight no more, giving them words of encouragement is what we call 'reassurance'. Davido was like a sick child seeing hope of survival in the beautiful eyes of Chioma. A critical examination of Anita Brown's testimony bears element of a trauma-induced action. As Davido lost his 3-year-old son, Ifeanyi, it was a bit difficult for him to 'mourn' as a celebrity, so he would rather 'moan'. Hopefully, my reader knows the difference between both words. He jumped in bed again with Anita Brown whom he reportedly bid farewell to in one of his hit songs, Assurance. He was in search of respite, the comforting arms of a woman became his coping mechanism as usual. He appears to have fashioned out his own idea of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, CBT. As Chioma mourned, Davido was in America, moaning and mourning pleasurably under the hot Anita using different angles. The bottom line here is that Davido needs help. He needs to come to terms with the fact that he has a problem. From there, he could seek professional medical support. This is the only way the cycle of babymamas could stop before he accidentally sets up at least three football teams before the age of 40. It hurts that Nigeria pays no attention to mental health. Mentally ill people are either stigmatized or their challenge is linked to spirituality. Davido might also feel too big to seek help. The President of the Association of Psychiatrists in Nigeria (APN), Taiwo Obindo, in September, 2022 stated that more than 60 million Nigerians are suffering from mental illnesses. In 2023, the number could have doubled due to the removal of fuel subsidy by the President Bola Tinubu administration. How many viable psychiatric hospitals do we have in Nigeria? That is an issue for another day. Osahon George Osayimwen is a UK-based Nigerian journalist and developmental Psychologist Source: https://www.tori.ng/news/240295/davido-might-be-mentally-ill-a-psychologists-view.html CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
A young woman from Asia lighted up her wedding ceremony with her stellar dance steps in Nigeria recently. The woman, Erica Joyce Laxamana, from the Philippines performed an impromptu choreography with her groom and the bridal train during their wedding ceremony. Even the groom named Olatunji Oladipo Ajayi, from Ighara, Edo State was outworked and outclassed by a foreigner on the dance floor. The choreography was coordinated by MC extraordinaire, Segun Meroyi aka MC Tom. The video has gone viral on social media ad young folks are loving every bit of it. Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mTHhddT3n38
Global Goals: How sustainable is our approach? When the international community transitioned from the Millennium Development Goals (MDG), the world was agog and received the news with joy, excitement, and anticipation for what is to come. There were multiple reasons for the excitement. My excitement was mainly due to the critically important leadership role that young people (ages 18 to 35 according to the 2009 Nigerian Youth Policy) will play in this transition, and ultimately in achieving the new set of goals. For starters, the planning and development of the MDGs was one of the few areas in which youth were included and had important roles at the implementation stage. This in turn has set the tone for more widespread youth involvement. Many programmers and watchers agreed that since the MDGs had given the needed foundation, the sustainable development goals were going to be easily achieved and this made it easy for many young people to sign up. However, 6 years after, are there signs that we will get the desired results? Are we working with a sustainable approach? As it stands, just like in the case of the MDGs, there are different realities for different groups/countries and they are all working towards achieving the same goals. How then do we expect to have the same results at the end of 2030? Let’s take poverty eradication for instance. In Low- and Middle-Income Countries (LMIC), the chances of lifting people out of poverty gets smaller with the pandemic striking and forcing economies to either shrink or totally lockdown. Whereas, many other bigger countries were able to leverage on production of various needed/essential materials during the lockdown to keep their economies afloat. The underlying inequalities which might make LMIC slide further down were existing during the setting of the goals, but it doesn’t look like anyone paid serious attention to them. In 2016, UNESCO confirmed that ‘Inequality not only erodes our collective efforts to achieve economic growth, reduce poverty and increase social mobility, it also increases political tension and all too often fuels conflict and instability.’ As the world celebrated the International Youth Day, I was drawn into how much young people have committed into the SDGs and it kept me awake, as I wondered, ‘aren’t they fighting in a bubble?’ The long top to bottom approach of government in Nigeria and other sub-Saharan African means that government at various levels design programmes and projects without consulting active players in various sectors and expect the industry players to come up with plans that fit into their own agenda. On the altar of politics, people-driven plans have been brutally sacrificed. In my opinion, as I am concerned with the rate of our success in relation to the level of work done by young people, it is important for policymakers to leave their high horses and engage more with the people on the field and take real-time data from them. While we have general data from Global bodies on different areas, it is now essential that we incorporate our real reflection, as documented by the (young) people working on the field to enable us work concertedly and with a focus on issues that matter per time. It is not all about what is not working. In the last 6 years, our hopes have grown and light shone on various paths. The spotlight on gender-based violence has given men and women the chance to seek help; we have witnessed improved attention on mental health and innovative farming systems. Young people have innovatively delivered health care services to underserved population and are also bridging the gap in tech. All these milestones have been despite stifling political environments and unfriendly policies. In celebrating young people, I acknowledge the resilience and innovation they have brought to the table. The sustainable development goals are bold, audacious, and ambitious. Though not legally binding on anyone (as there are no sanctions for those who do not meet up), it has given countries and especially young Nigerians, a sense of work and they have given it all their attention. What they must not do is get carried away by the needless media attention that takes energy away from delivering tangible results for their people and not the applause of onlookers. As a collective agenda, young people have since broken the barriers that were built from generations before them, and they have provided a common front for agitating for issues that affect them all. By the year 2030 (and in the years leading to it) Nigeria will continue to reap from the good work of young people across board but this is the time for generational collaboration to ensure that energy and wisdom are combined for the greater good. Joy Amafah, a Public Health and Policy Advocate, writes from Abuja. CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
There is this absurd saying and myth in the Nigerian setting that when a woman says “NO” she means yes and vice versa. This myth/saying is one of the root causes of increase sexual abuse, assault and molestation in Nigerian society. Need I say the cheap absurd excuse of provocative dressing as the reason why male species (can’t call them men) sexually take advantage of girls and women. It is very true that out of every 10 Nigerian female, 8 have been sexually assaulted, harassed, abused or molested at a point in their lives by family members, neighbours, family friends, boyfriends and strangers. Male children are also being abused as well and kept hush but the truth of the matter is the female gender is more of the victim than the male gender. The Nigerian government is yet to understand the magnitude of this epidemic and the effect on female and male children. Some of these victims never recover from the ordeal and ended up being damaged adults who go on to damage the people around them as a result. We need to step up as a society and nation to create awareness and education for parents, and both the male and female child that a “NO” is a “NO”. Even in a relationship and may I say marriage. I was not taught anything to be aware of human hulks that may want to sexually assault or molest me and how to protect myself from them and never given the tips on how to handle them as a child or young adult. As a result, I had a number of experiences that I did not tell my mother or anyone for different reasons one of which is the fear that no one will believe me and no evidence. THIS HAS TO STOP because THERE IS NO PLACE ANY LONGER IN THE SOCIETY FOR SEXUAL PREDATORS. Parents have to do their bit with education and awareness of both genders. Raise your male children especially to respect women and not touch any woman or girl that is not their wife inappropriately. Teach your sons to have self control. It does not kill. Irrespective of how a woman is dressed, it is not an excuse for sexual assault or harassment. Same with the female gender too teach them not to touch anyone inappropriately. These so called male species travel round the world and see naked women on the streets especially in summer, why don’t they go after them and sexually assault them? Oh! they see and remove their eyes, why? Because they know if they dare as touch a female inappropriately, they will end up behind bars with other serious consequences. So what makes that different when they are in Nigeria? Because they know they will get away with it, they know the law makers are themselves guilty of the same, they know the government has refused to legalise stiffer sentences on sexually related offences. This is because their hands are not clean either and because there is no serious consideration for the female gender within the various government institutions neither does those institutions have much respect for the female gender. (We know that some federal legislators from a certain part of the country are trying to legalize underaged marriage, as young as 13 years old) The sad truth is that the African society is not fair to the female gender. The female gender has got to be blamed for everything whilst the men get away with everything. No wonder most of the male species feel they are “a prize” to be won. Parents, teachers, adults, police, government, medical professionals, legislators, boyfriends, girlfriends, husbands, wives, society and the African culture have all failed many innocent girls, boys and women. Enough of victim shaming, the ones that should be shamed are the evil perpetrators of sexual abuse, harassment, assault and molestation. This paradigm must change, the narrative must change, enough of these senseless myths and baseless beliefs. Everyone in the society including parents, children, adults, schools, government, police, legislators, medical professionals and bodies, Pastors, Imams, Ministers must work together. The government need to wake up and step up, tougher punishment for all types of sexual assault, harassment, abuse and molestation against minors and adults. We need to have sex offenders register in Nigeria to protect potential future victims, disclosure of the identity of sexual offenders to get access to certain things in the country to protect children and women. Guys, when a lady says “NO” it is a “NO” ok. Ladies if you say “NO TO SEX ” to your boyfriend, and he proceeds to force himself on you, IT IS RAPE. Report him to the police and get medical confirmation and swop for evidence immediately. Male species zip up ok!!! Self Control is not a crime, it is actually a virtue. Parents wake up from your slumber and sleep, be approachable, believe your children and let them know they should come to you without fear to report any concerns with same or different gender touching them inappropriately and that you will investigate and take appropriate actions. Teach your children not to allow anyone including siblings touch them inappropriately; and parts of the body that should not be touched by anyone else. Fathers do not sexually abuse, harass, molest, assault your female child ( I have heard about fathers having sexual relationship with their daughter(s) even in Nigeria it happens a lot. Protect your children like hawks and stop leaving them alone especially females with uncles, friends, aunties etc. Raise your male children to be leaders and not control freaks. Nigerian Police, sexual assault, abuse, harassment and molestation is one of the worst things that can happen to a human being and the damage goes beyond the physical. It damages the soul, body and mind. Show empathy, take all sexually related crimes serious and follow through. Make the process easy for the victim. Nigerian Government we need well equipped facilities to help with the rehabilitation of victims both minors and adults. Legislators need to take sexually related offences and crimes more seriously and ensure it is enforceable with tougher sentences. Protect the victims and make the process less traumatic for them. They need healing. Pastors, Ministers, Imams, etc. You need to do more to protect children and adults from these evil doers, you need to hand over these sexual predators to the police when it comes to your attention irrespective of what position they occupy in your ministry. Stop covering up for them and attributing their evils to the devil. Every adult should know there are consequences for their actions and take responsibilities for them. Medical professionals, when a victim approaches your hospital/clinic for sexually related assault, please take a swop for evidence and report to the police. In developed countries, hospitals work hand in hand with the police, social services, schools etc. Schools, there is the appetite for you to do more, Safeguarding for children should be taught to all adults that work with children and training should be refreshed every year. Know the signs to look out for in a child that may be experiencing sexual abuse. The signs are always there. In this case of the 14 year old involved in the crime, the school noticed certain things like withdrawal but because they have not been adequately trained in safeguarding the children, they did not know how to report their concerns to the appropriate social services and keep it confidential. The teachers that come in contact with these children should know how to spot the signs and log their concerns from the information obtained from the victims and report appropriately to the social services. Teacher are the ones that are in contact with these children most after the parents. So a lot of responsibilities fall on them in spotting these sexual crimes and reporting them. African culture and society, the world is changing and a lot is changing and has to change. It is not a crime to be female and all females both old or young should be respected and treated with dignity. Teach men to respect women in the way they treat, talk and relate with women, stop shaming and blaming the victims, no gender is more superior than the other. Stop treating the male gender like gods. Mutual respect is what we should be about in how we relate with one another irrespective of gender. STOP blaming the devil for evil acts, make perpetrators pay for their crimes. Show victims love, empathy and compassion. Victims, you are victors because you lived to tell your stories. Some never got the opportunity to tell their own stories. Do not be intimidated. Own your truth and tell it with confidence. There is nothing to be ashamed of. Report every sexual crime immediately, make use of technology like your phones, CCTV etc, avoid being alone where possible with any suspected candidate, use your sixth sense to sniff out potential perpetrators and take caution. Finally, a lot of parents are ignorant to these sexual crimes and how they can occur. Trust no one with your minors especially because they are vulnerable and may not be able to express their encounters. The onus is for every parents, male and female individuals to get themselves educated. Technology has made it easy to obtain appropriate Information from the internet and undergo courses and training online. You also need to keep up to date with the latest schemes and tactics that are used to perpetuate these sexual crimes including online grooming. Parents, if you were sleeping before, you need to wake up and stay woke. Times have changed and you have your work cut out for you. This is not just for the mothers alone, it’s the responsibility of both the fathers and the mothers. You need to work together as a team on this if you have the best interest of your children at heart and you want to protect and safeguard them from evil doers. If all the highlighted above do their bits well, we will cleanse the Nigerian society of this menace and have a safer society and environment for our children. Whilst it is impossible to totally eradicated sexual assaults, harassment. abuse and molestation, from the society, we can reduce them to the significantly by learning from past mistakes and failures, to tighten the justice system and process to prevent future cases, and, or detect them quickly and take appropriate actions. BY Tutu Leo Olagbaye Source: https://matazarising.com/2021/05/02/the-baba-ijeshas-sexual-abuse-molestation-saga-its-not-a-crime-to-be-female/ CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
Since the beginning of this year, Chief Sunday Adeyemo aka Sunday Igboho has gained national prominence, after taking a hardline approach to the age-long Fulani Herdsmen crisis, in the South-western part of Nigeria. This crude approach to the melee, coupled with his history as a warlord has turned him to the messiah of the people. Igboho has been providing premium contents for the media platforms, with the unfiltered interviews that are granted in abundance. Everybody seems to have access to him, and he has a way of making statements that might shock electricity itself. This is good for business! But at the end of the day, what will his efforts amount to? I am sorry to say that it will all be in futility at the end of the day. Very soon, the media platforms giving him audience will make a report about him, and there will be disappointing responses from their audience. From that point, the reporters know it is time to move on and look for something else to milk. This is the hard reality in the media. Igboho may have good intentions, especially if we are to close our eyes to his political history. I don't blame those doubting him. Politics in Nigeria is more of 'the more you look, the less you see'. The players of the game are desperately out for the fulfilment of their self-interests. Igboho has been making giant strides, and he has able to spark certain conversations even some governors are scared of raising, to avoid getting the big stick from the Federal Government. But this problem will never go away overnight. In Nigeria, when an issue is enmeshed in politics, it could be hard to find a solution. Sometimes, a way-out never comes. Look that the issue of Boko Haram terrorism, for example, it has been with us for over a decade. Arrests and prosecutions are being made here and there, and we don't know their sponsors. The story of the advent of Boko Haram depends on who you ask. Both members of the major parties, APC and PDP have different accounts that favour them, and the political brickbat never ends. The Boko Haram insurgency has grown into a massive business enterprise, with the service chiefs alleged to be players in the market. Every year, huge amounts of money are allocated to the prosecution of the war, and a large chunk ends up in private pockets. The junior soldiers pay the supreme price with their lives at the war fronts. The spokesman of a South African private military company, once boasted that the security operatives in Nigeria, can end the prolonged war, but politics has derailed the battle. The same political interference has affected the herders-farmers clashes. Buhari has his narrative, which he has been telling the international community, not minding if they believe him or not. He believes the fall-out of Libyan crisis involving the ouster and death of Muammar Gaddafi led to the proliferation of small and light arms in Nigeria, which are now being wielded by some criminal elements. According to him, a conventional herdsman only holds a stick and cutlass for cutting foliage, to feed his cattle. Probably due to his Fulani root, he only sees the herders as the oppressed and the farmers in their host communities as oppressors who are not interested in a unified Nigeria. The host communities also have a political angle to the quagmire. They believe there is an insidious Fulani agenda aimed at conquering their territories surreptitiously. All manners of crimes ranging from murder, robbery, destruction of properties, rape, physical assault and any evil you can ever think of, have been linked to the herdsmen. The failure of the president to declare them terrorists like he termed IPOB, has been misconstrued as support for their actions. As people continue to lose their properties and lives in the South-west to the marauding herders, the ruling elites in Yorubaland have been loudly quiet, and this isn't unusual. We have been here before. When Igboho appeared to be pushing too hard, the Southwest governors gave the angry people a political gift, by banning open grazing and telling the herders to register with the state. Since the announcement was made, open grazing has continued like nothing ever happen. Nothing has changed. The governors are avoiding the issue for political reasons. There is an understanding that the South-western part of Nigeria might produce the next president in 2023 by an unwritten agreement. Frontline Yoruba politicians like the governor of Ekiti State, Kayode Fayemi and Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu are reportedly jostling for the number one position. They need to be in the good books of the north to achieve that dream. If you speak against the Fulani Herdsmen, you will lose any present or future goodwill of the north which has the political numbers. Some of these governors are also boys of Tinubu. Any action taken by them could jeopardize his political chances in 2023. All these accounts for why there is no real strong political figure backing Igboho. They all act like he doesn't exist, and he seems to be getting frustrated. He has now resorted to calling them out. Igboho can't do much on his own. Already, some northerners believe Igboho is part of the grand plan of some faceless politicians to maliciously win power in the next presidential election, using tribalism and disunity. Only God knows the real truth! In the town of Ayete, Ibarapaland, another renegade identified as Iskilu Wakili, a Fulani, has reportedly set up no-cross zones and he also fancies an open confrontation with Igboho. Igboho is aware of Wakili's existence and he is ready for a showdown as long as Governor Seyi Makinde sanctions it. These are clear features of a failed state, where the government can't maintain the monopoly of the use of force. The long term solution to the challenge is ranching, but it appears the discussions on it have died. The herders need to be educated against their archaic method of grazing and migration, with strict penalties attached to defaulters not ready to resist change. The present administration is not interested in this route, but shortcuts. Indeed, there are no shortcuts. Any shortcut will also suspend the problem temporarily and never solve it. On how the Igboho saga will end, the carrot and stick approach might be adopted. It is either Igboho is bought by the Federal Government with an irresistible offer to make him stay silent, and sheath his swords, or he is labelled a criminal and arrested. I strongly suspect that with the turn of events, ethnic crises might erupt as intolerance is already brewing up. The Federal Government will pretend to arrest the chaos by going after the arrowheads, and Igboho falls. Nothing is impossible in Nigeria. If you think the heavens will fall if Igboho is arrested, remember the 20th of October, 2020. Nigerian soldiers opened fire on defenceless EndSARS protesters at the Lekki tollgate in Lagos State. Many were injured, others died and many still missing. The mystery behind the bloody event is yet to be unravelled to date. By Osayimwen Osahon George Source: https://villagetowncrier..com/2021/02/how-sunday-igboho-chapter-will-be.html CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
When I was growing up as a Christian, I was regularly told that my body is the temple of the Lord and it should be honoured. "Flee from sexual immorality. Every other sin a man can commit is outside his body, but he who sins sexually sins against his own body. 19 Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own" 1 Corinthians 6:18-19. This verse from the Holy Bible appears to have lost relevance in the minds of Nigerians youths who have sacrificed their dignity on the altar of 'easy money'. In the teenage ministry, the above saying resonated more about the girls who must have been virgins then. Flaunting of cleavage, tummy, bum and hips were alien to the accepted fashion trends then. The ladies easily appeared like the Deeper Life Church faithful, and the beautiful ones were still spotted and admired. This was before the advent of heavy make-ups that are as thick and compact as the foundation of a building. Those who flaunted their bodies were hastily regarded as prostitutes and people making those judgements were hardly wrong. Today, it is hard to differentiate a normal woman from a prostitute who is out for business, and I say this with all sense of respect. These women don't only expose sensitive parts of their bodies as they move about their daily activities, they also nurse the desire to give pleasure to willing men, in exchange for money or favour, in diverse means. Social media pages are set up as marketing channels to reach prospective customers. These young women have become influencers with a huge following, by simply posting naked photos and videos on social media. They desperately want to prove to the outside world that they are doing well. Behind the scenes, in their DMs lie series of sexual transactions from big men, who are ready to offer them highly lucrative deals for the most despicable sexual experiences. But that is an issue for another day. On Wednesday, the 27th of January, 2021, the mind-boggling SilhouetteChallenge caught fire in Nigeria, and it was raging on Twitter. It involved young ladies dancing naked under the cloak of silhouette visuals using Snapchat and TikTok’s latest filters. Their unclothedness is covered by the veil of darkness and dim lights while their jiggling breasts, round hips and bouncing bums are viewed in the form of shadows. The challenge comes with the use of American-Canadian singer Paul Anka’s hit single “Put Your Head on My Shoulder”, which is used as background music due to its slow chord progression. Nigerian ladies who were already in the business of desperately seeking attention and 'marketing' opportunities were handed a free hand to express their level of moral decadence and crass display of indecency. In a viral video, a lady's hand was almost cut off by a ceiling fan as she tried to join the silly challenge. Another was beating blue-black by her father, who caught her recording herself without clothes. The funny backstories have been endless. Most of the ladies that shamelessly participated were already familiar faces, with a long history of posting obscene contents on Instagram over the years. They have become brand ambassadors of phoney sex enhancement drugs which have been over-advertized on Instagram. They also appear in highly sexual comedy skits. They twerk, appear publicly in scandalous outfits and share ridiculous sex tips for social media visibility. The unholy and ungodly trend afforded them the blatant opportunity to reach out to a bigger audience and expand their client base. It was done under the guise of youthful exuberance, harmless fun and social media trend, but there was more to it. A randy man with a few coins in his pockets will be interested in surveying the 'products'. Social media is like a showroom. He understands the deep intentions of the ladies and he makes different enquiries that could be tantamount to a 'market survey. The bottom line and result of the #SilhouetteChallenge is prostitution. We know this but we tend to shy away from the truth as long as our relatives are not involved. There is a saying that it is easy to watch a mentally-challenged person dance but it is harder to have one as a child. Pastor E. A Adeboye, the general overseer of the Redeemed Christian Church of God must have been let down by the trend that he was forced to condemn it vehemently. As a cleric, he must think for once that the church might not be doing enough, despite dominating every nook and cranny of Nigeria. Nigerians are not holy, they are only very religious. There is a clear difference! The good thing is that the #SilhouetteChallenge has been replaced by the #ScriptureChallenge, and the bad girls have been forced out with their disgraceful contents and antics. The #SilhouetteChallenge days will be fondly remembered for the golden opportunity it gave the women of easy virtue to brazenly showcase their wares to the outside world. They were suddenly in our faces, and those that couldn't stand the heat of the kitchen were forced to leave. By Osayimwen Osahon George Source: https://villagetowncrier..com/2021/01/silhouettechallenge-day-naked.html
Speaking with faith and positive thinking, Kogi State is a blessed state. It gained prominence on social media in 2016 when the winner of the governorship election, Abubakar Audu died on the 22nd of November, 2015 while voting was ongoing. He was winning the keenly contested election. The story was sensational and it shook the Nigerian media space. The politics that followed soon ushered in the present governor, Yahaya Bello who was labelled a beacon of hope for the Nigerian youths due to his age. While his PR team did a fantastic job in polishing his image, Governor Bello soon got Kogi trending again for the wrong reason. He embarked on a supposed war against ghost workers and the exercise cost bonafide workers their salaries for several months. In no time, news of civil servants committing suicide out of indebtedness started grabbing the headlines. Kogi became one joke of a state. The former lawmaker representing the Kogi West senatorial district, Dino Melaye, failed to give the confluence state a reputable representation. His clownish nature coupled with his squabbles with the governor soon created an image of the popular sitcom, the 'Fuji House of Commotion'. From kidnapping to robbery to road accidents and poverty, good news hardly emanates from Kogi. It almost appears that only the governor and his associates are enjoying the dividends of democracy in the state. In the year 2020, Coronavirus came. Governor Bello wasn't ready to entertain the foreign virus. He decided to borrow a leaf from the playbook of the supreme leader of North Korea, Kim Jong-un. The strategy is simple, just hide any information about the virus. North Korea is the only country that hasn't recorded a single case of the virus, even though its borders have been under a siege by the deadly disease. Remember a joke surfaced about the coronavirus during its early days and it was attributed to an African leader. He leader bragged his country hadn't recorded any infection simply because the country didn't have any capacity to test. Governor Bello took that joke seriously and he implemented it in his coronavirus containment strategy. His eyeservice isolation centre rumoured to cost some millions of naira was destroyed by minor rainfall. The before and after photos of the structure soon became a viable object of humour that helped people in battling depression via social media. Governor Bello was only sending a message to the outside world about his stand on the infectious disease. With time, the very covert message started becoming clearer. Coronavirus spread across the country including Cross River where the figure was allegedly manipulated by high-wire politics. Surprisingly, Kogi was spared and people wondered how because other neighbouring states were touched. How was Kogi doing it? Are Kogites naturally immune to the virus? An investigative journalist Fisayo Soyombo soon raised an alarm about political interference in testing. Sick people with symptoms were reportedly suppressed by government forces. The NCDC was alarmed and it dispatched a team from Abuja to investigate the rumours on coronavirus invasion of Kogi. Governor Bello later derailed the investigation by asking the team on assignment to quarantine for two weeks. It looks like a precautionary measure by the governor, but it was implemented with ulterior motives. The team got infuriated and abandoned the move to return to Abuja. Governor Bello achieved his goal, he moved! Kogi later recorded 5 cases which the governor battled to erase. An Imam was treated in Abuja after reportedly contracting the disease in the state. The issue is still being disputed in Kogi till this day. Governor Bello once made a Trump-like public statement about the contagion by calling the lockdown a 'game'. "We need to stop this game, people are suffering," he said in part. “COVID-19 is not a new disease in our clime. We have our way of treating it and that is what we should be exploiting, rather than subjecting our people to hardship, hunger and starvation through lockdown,” he also added. This message made him look like a saint in a city of sinners and swindlers. Since the disease started its rampage across the 36 states in Nigeria and the FCT, Kogi's number of infections have miraculously stopped at 5, even in the face of the vicious second wave which has made a mockery of countries like Taiwan, Germany, South Korea, Sweden and others, who initially tamed it. How did Kogi do it? Cynics who believe Nigeria's variant of the disease is COVID-'419', constantly refer Kogi when the NCDC releases new figures on infections every day. They use Kogi to convince themselves that their stance is valid. It is really difficult to argue with them and win. Public trust in government has depleted globally. For example, just 20% of U.S. adults say they trust the government in Washington to “do the right thing” just about always or most of the time according to PEW research. Public trust should be at a record low in Nigeria. Since the pandemic gulps so many public funds in terms of palliatives and medical supplies, it has become easier to believe it is a scam considering the massive amounts mentioned on the pages of the newspapers. N10 billion was allocated to combat the disease in Lagos; another N5 billion was given to Kano. Kaduna claims to have spent N400,000 each on a COVID-19 patient and Edo, N1 billion as a whole as at April 2020. An average Nigerian believes these figures have been inflated and you can't blame them. The government in Nigeria has an appalling track record that is nauseating to the devil himself. Why is coronavirus easy to hide? The question is simple. 80% of cases in Africa are asymptomatic according to Africa CDC. The fact that our median age is 19 put us at an advantage since the young easily recover from the disease. Africa is blessed and the death rate has been low. Even if people fall sick in Kogi, it will be attributed to common ailments like malaria and typhoid fever. When people die, nobody will act like death is strange. After all, people die every day. Since tests are not conducted, nobody knows anything. Most politicians can't control the virus, so they control any information about it and this strategy works. China pioneered and operationalized this containment strategy. This is the 'vaccine' Governor Bello discovered before pharmaceutical companies like Pfizer and Moderna did in the United States of America. Coronavirus is everywhere you go in Nigeria, but it is easy to feel everywhere is safe until testing happens. Let me end this article with a true life story in Lagos. An entrepreneur who has a staff strength of 88 wanted to reopen his company for the year after the Yuletide. His employees who claimed to be healthy were in high spirits to begin the year on a good note. Due to the surge in COVID-19 cases in the city, he decided to run tests. Out of 88 staffers, 20 tested positive. The company suspended it's reopening. By Osayimwen Osahon George Source: https://www.tori.ng/news/161571/how-kogi-state-discovered-the-covid19-vaccine-befo.html CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
hahahahhaha this is funny sha. U nor go make heaven. |
There is a widespread belief that the number one citizen of Nigeria - President Muhammadu Buhari is dead and secretly replaced with a body-double. The leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra, Nnamdi Kanu, started this claim in 2017 when President Muhammadu Buhari was sick and in and out of a foreign hospital in London. Kanu told whoever cared to listen that Buhari was dead and replaced with a body-double named 'Jubril Al Sudani' from Sudan. He backed his ridiculous claim up with new and old pictures of Buhari while he was healthy and then recovering from an unknown ailment. His claims slowly gathered momentum and mounted pressure on the Presidency, which laboured to disclaim his weighty allegation. Three years on, many still believe the 'real' Buhari is dead and gone. Presently in 2020, the belief is still strong and rife. Below are some reasons why many believe that Buhari is dead: (1) The Nnamdi Kanu factor: The separatist leader started it and he is continuing undeterred. Even though his claims about Buhari's death are backed with baseless proofs, Kanu is not relenting. He is insisting and using social media to freely propagate his claims. His army of supporters also helps in widening the reach of his malicious contents. As long as the source of the water isn't blocked, flooding will always be a challenge. (2) Poor performance: The commonest saying on the streets of Nigeria is this; 'Buhari has failed' There is no important aspect of the country that can be boldly given a pass-mark if one is to sound apolitical for once. Corruption is still striving, insecurity is at a new low, and the economy itself has more struggles than an average Nigerian. Factors like these have made Buhari and his APC-led administration unpopular. The general hatred for him has made the minds of the people vulnerable to all manners of beliefs. Recall that after Buhari's alleged insensitive presidential address on the EndSARS crisis, Nigerians expressed annoyance and the belief of his death was reinforced in the minds of people. (3) Buhari's reluctance to address Nigerians in times of crises When Buhari travelled out of Nigeria in 2018, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo was all over the place. He flew from Abuja to the Southeast and the Niger Delta to attend events and assuaged the pains of people affected by disasters. He was so excellent at it that his popularity started growing at the expense of principal, Buhari. Buhari on the other hand has a different approach to leadership. He is constantly slow to react and always absent from scenes of disasters. Buhari is always forced to address Nigerians by massive public pressure. Of recent, he turned down an invitation to address the National Assembly on the security situation in the country, after initially agreeing to show up. For casuals following politics, they easily believe Buhari and his handlers are hiding something. And what can that be? His body-double I guess; Jubril. Additionally, since most of Buhari's speeches are pre-recorded, many believe his image is only been super-imposed on the released videos. (4) Aisha Buhari's relocation There are strong rumours that Aisha Buhari has relocated to Dubai, the United Arab Emirates, due to a lack of 'safety' at the Aso Rock Villa in Abuja. If the place isn't safe despite being heavily fortified, then where is safe again in Nigeria? Conspiracy theorists have latched onto this rumour. They wonder why she would allegedly leave for Dubai for three months and leave her husband behind. They believe the vocal woman is already tired of keeping up with 'Jubril' and not her real husband, Buhari. Aisha Buhari and her most popular daughter, Zahra also failed to congratulate Buhari on his 78th birthday recently. Rumour-mongers believe this might be related to the 'real' Buhari's death. (5) Buhari's stature and age factor Buhari is 78 now. He isn't as physically strong as he used to be. His speeches are also slowing down. His skin might not be as fleshy and radiant as it used to be. Everything about him might be edging towards retirement from life, after almost eight decades which is nothing strange. So, those merging old and new photos of him need to do better. It is easy to make baseless claims based on these photos as well as picture angles. What is the truth? Buhari is alive and kicking, and that is the bitter truth the haters of Buhari are struggling to accept. Someone who has vast experience in genetics, Professor Ajayi Boroffice once wrote that it isn't scientifically possible to clone someone that will now learn the entire mannerisms and behaviours of the same person within a short time. Based on this, one can boldly conclude that Buhari is alive. What do you make of this? Are you convinced that Buhari is alive? If no, state your reasons in the comment section and let us continue the conversation. By Osayimwen Osahon George CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi Source: https://www.more.buzz/s/blPptJOJ6B
Where is Lalasticlala pls? |
If the Lekki toll gate EndSARS protest scene was a trap on the night of the 20th of October, then the government walked right into it. The social media age has made all of us smartphone users journalists. The social media pages are our media outlets, and our friends/followers constitute our audience. We disseminate information to them, and they pass them on to other people connected to them. Every day, we document events we want people to see with our devices and share with the outside world. If the Lekki toll gate had 1,000 protesters, on the night of the shooting, the government had almost a thousand journalists to contend with. The only thing that differs is the level of professionalism. Social media has given us power which we mostly use without any sense of responsibility. This is what citizen journalism is all about. In the 21st century, in a metropolitan city like Lagos that accounts for the highest number of internet users in Nigeria (17 million), and also the heart of the Nigerian media; a questionable military operation can't take place without strong pieces of evidence flying around. The media will continue to box the government into a corner. The world knows the answer, but the answer is more of what a cheating Mathematics student arrived at by checking the back of the textbook. Now, the teacher demands he shows the workings of the answer. This is what the investigative process to unravel the riddle of the alleged killing at the Lekki toll gate looks like. The world has been here before. It reminds me of the killing of the Saudi Arabian dissident, Jamal Khashoggi at the Saudi consulate in Turkey in October 2018. On paper, the Saudi hit squad had covered all tracks that could link them to the murder. It was supposed to be a case of a missing person that was never found. His fiancee, Hatice Cengiz, was well-stationed outside the consulate to raise an alarm if he never came out. He was killed, his body reportedly cut into pieces and then dissolved with an acid solution to erase any evidence. The deed was done and sealed and all the mercenaries returned to base like nothing ever happened. But the Turkish government knew from day one because it was reportedly spying on the embassy. After waiting for the Saudis to provide answers as to Khashoggi's whereabouts, the Turkish government soon started releasing leaks into the media space to mount pressure on the Saudi Kingdom, till they claimed full responsibility, and used some persons as scapegoats to assuage global outrage. Almost two years after, the Nigerian government has found itself in that burdensome position, which the Saudis are yet to fully get out of. I don't want to believe the Lekki Shooting incident was premeditated. The South-western region has a history of relative peace, the people detest blood and violence to a large extent. With the alleged manipulation of the CCTV footages and the strange blackout at the toll gate when the melee ensued, some persons appeared to have made provisions for leeways should the operation get out of hand. I strongly feel it was supposed to be a 'show of force' and not a 'clearance operation' as the protesters are not Boko Haram terrorists or bandits. The deployment of seven military trucks was aimed at breaking the protest and dampening the morale of the protesters. Recall that the Lekki toll gate had become the power transformer that supplied energy to other protesters around Nigeria. The protesters were well-organized and coordinated in such a way that the best Nigerian leader could even be appointed at the scene to make decisive changes in the country. The fact that the international media covered their activities also energized them. The world was watching; all the protesters were like change agents who wanted to be a part of the history of the 'New Nigeria'. Lagos started boiling in the afternoon of the 20th of October. Hoodlums hijacked the protests and security formations were attacked with some policemen and protesters brutally losing their lives. The state government declared a 24-hour curfew for 4pm of the same day, but later extended to 9pm. The protesters dared the government by continuing with their activities at the toll gate, which was reportedly losing millions of naira per day due to their occupation. When a picture of the protesters congregating at the protest ground went viral in the evening of that fateful day, I knew the battle line had been drawn. Other celebrities supporting the EndSARS movement also sensed danger and stayed away. The military stepped in and it was a totally wrong move. This is not only about their ability to deal with civil disobedience. It was about the mood of the time. Fear had left most of the protesters. It was as if they forgot the harmful nature of live ammunition. For example, last week at the Ikeja Along area of Lagos State, commercial motorcyclists were seen chasing away Lagos Task Force officials who were heavily armed. Some people are not scared to die anymore because bad governance and economic hardship are already killing them every moment of their lives. The bullets will only make a certain death faster. Everybody is ready to bell the cat unlike what was obtainable in the past. The commonest video of the Lekki Shooting by the army was when a group of soldiers shot into the air sporadically but the protesters stood their grounds like warriors chanting 'EndSARS!' I will draw some conclusions from that singular scene. This is what I think happened. The soldiers must have expected them to disperse and scamper for safety like the average civilians will do in the event of the tension of gunshots. Then I think the soldiers became a bit desperate and overzealous by lowering their arms at 'irregular intervals' while shooting to make a statement. At least the sight of blood and casualties will break the spirit of protesters and instil fear in them. I don't want to believe the soldiers permanently aimed at them and shot throughout the operation. If they did, it would have been a repeat of the Shiite Massacre in Kaduna in 2015, where about 348 people died of bullets, bought with taxpayers' money. The unconventional style of the operation was why the incident remains a mystery and has propped up conflicting accounts. Remember the soldiers were up against citizen journalists. The protesters simply brought out their digital devices connected to the internet and started reporting the shooting. In the heat of the operation, the fatalities could have been exaggerated intentionally or otherwise. The protesters had their receipts. They made away with bullet shells and uploaded graphic images on social media. Their waiting audience took the baton from there and spread it around like wildfire. An already bad situation was made worse. Those who called the shots must have instantly wished they never did. They are presently on survival mode. International bodies/personalities like Amnesty International, Hillary Clinton, CNN and other credible right groups started reacting. The next step was to manage the damage and debunk the claims of the protesters who already had a headstart advantage. The damage control strategies of the government were not only confusing, but they were inefficient. The army at first wanted to distance itself from such seeming rogue operation. It claimed its operatives were never at the tollgate even in the face of overwhelming evidence. Then it claimed it only went there with blank bullets and refreshments. Then the latest claim is that the soldiers had a combination of blank and live ammunition after a compelling investigation by CNN. Lagos State is guilty of the same lack of strategy. During the shooting, Gboyega Akosile, a spokesman for the governor, Babajide Sanwoolu went on Twitter to feign ignorance. "There have been reports of shooting at the Lekki Toll Plaza," he said. "The State Government has ordered an investigation into the incident," he later added. His boss was later discovered to have invited the army. With my little knowledge of crisis management, it is very easy to know the guilty party. In the event of a controversy, the oppressor is always late to the party. This bores down to confusion about the viable strategy to adopt. It took the Nigerian government several hours to come out with a workable or tenable narrative about the Lekki Shooting. This naturally happens when you are guilty. There is always some sort of scepticism about the step to take to avoid a counter-attack. The usual approach is to allow the victim to go first and then you counter the narratives. It is as dangerous as taking a stroll on a minefield. By the time the government gained momentum in the race, the protesters were already close to the finishing line. The only missing puzzle is the actual casualty rate. 'How many people died at the Lekki tollgate?' is the rhetorical question on the lips of people. The fact that the coroner in Lagos State has given an open invitation to families of dead victims to come to make identifications at the mortuary, lends credence to the alleged massacre. I am trying carefully to avoid the usage of the term, 'massacre'. As the Lagos judicial panel presses on, the show of shame will continue. If there will ever be a victory, it will be a pyrrhic one. The Nigerian government is fast losing trust which is the basis of which the Social Contract came about. People submitted their individual powers to the Leviathans who make up the government so that they could exercise them on their behalf. I doubt if justice will ever be served. Many mysteries are yet to be unravelled in the Nigerian state. Who killed Funsho Williams and Bola Ige? What about the billion van scandal of 2019? The answers depend on who you ask. We hope the Lekki Shooting will not end that way. The only leeway the government has is to take to scapegoating. Label the move a rogue operation and present sacrificial lambs to face the full wrath of the law. This will at least buy the government some respect internationally. It is a hard route Saudi Arabia was forced to take, although in a very opaque manner. It is very easy for those who have no connections with the victims of the shooting to tell Nigerians to move on. One of the victims named Meshack Esanibi, has been carrying bullets in his body for a month now. He is worried as he is immersed in distress and pains. Victor Sunday Ibanga, and Wisdom Okon - two handsome and promising young boys have remained missing since the Lekki Shooting incident. Other families are praying to at least, see the corpses of their loved ones to find closure. We love small wins, and always sacrifice the big wins for the small ones, due to the ease of doing that. If the perpetrators are not brought to book, the event will repeat itself in future, and this time around, you might be the subject of the matter. While the drama unfolds, one can only imagine the pains and agony of the victims and their loved ones. As the popular actor, Ajirebi Kayode Olasehinde self-styled 'Pa James' of the Papa Ajasco sitcom always said back in the days, 'it was a bad day satan drank water'. A direct translation of the Yoruba saying, 'Ọjọ́ burúkú èṣu gbomi mu'. This time around, I feel 'the day the devil visited Lagos State' is more appropriate as a description for the 20th of October, 2020. As a Christian, I pray the victims and their families find peace and healing. We can only hope for the best. Osayimwen Osahon George a media practitioner and the Director of Communications at the HOL Foundation. Source: http://www.villagetowncrier.com/2020/11/20-10-20-day-devil-visited-lagos-state.html CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
In the last 5 years that I have been analyzing public affairs online, I have never seen a government struggle so hard to manage a crisis, like the Lekki Shooting incident of the 20th of October. The Nigerian government has been using a big lie to cover another very ridiculous one since the ill-fated occurrence happened. It is as if the government has forgotten to apply its brakes on its adventure of falsehood, as several concerned agencies brace up to lie their ways out of the scandal. Nigerians are no fools; they know the truth, and they knew from day one. The leaders know the people are aware of those responsible for the shooting, but they don't seem to care. What they are doing is a mockery of the intelligence of the general public. The morning after the incident, nobody claimed responsibility for the shooting. The Nigerian Army was quiet. The media filled the vacuum of communication by reeling out different death rates. When the military couldn't take it anymore, they started posting screenshots of news reports and tagging them 'fake news'. The governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu's desperately needed a story to tell the public as the de facto 'Chief Security Officer' of the state. He revealed that forces beyond his control were behind the attack on unarmed peaceful protesters. This statement indirectly pointed accusing fingers at his political godfather, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and President Muhammadu Buhari who is the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. Sanwo-Olu later cracked on CNN where he hinted that Nigerian soldiers were behind the attack. It appeared the leadership of the army felt it had had enough from the governor. It came out to admit that the Nigerian troops undertook the operation, but they were invited by the governor. The same military that denied being at the Lekki tollgate now claims the soldiers only fired blank ammunition into the air, as warning shots to disperse the protesters. Despite video and pictorial evidence, the military claimed the victim role and labelled the protesters as the oppressors. In the words of the army, nobody was shot, and there was no massacre. According to a statement by a top army official, Lt Col Bello, the protesters, infiltrated by hoodlums, got violent and attacked the soldiers who were so patient and nice that they even offered their aggressors water and drinks. I guess this is the picture of the Nigeria of our dreams. While the issue of soldiers being at the scene of the crime was confirmed, the Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami who appeared not to be updated about the state of the quagmire, insinuated that hoodlums in military fatigues carried out the attack. The government can't even gather its officials to lie in unison. Nigerians hoped the CCTV footage by the Lekki Concession Company, LCC was going to provide a rare insight into what transpired that night at the tollgate. But the LCC soon claimed their cameras stopped recording at 8 pm when the tollgate was heating up. The company can't wait to move on with business, it has demanded to take control of the tollgate, so that business can continue as usual. The shooting as well as the fatality rates have become mysteries. And they are mysteries because the government wants it to be so. The goal is to drag their feet over the matter till those asking questions grow old, develop grey hair, and lose interest in the bloody incident. Even you think the testimonies of Obianuju Catherine Udeh aka DJ Switch are inconsistent, then you have to also admit that the government has broken the scale of inconsistency with its varying accounts. It is disturbing that the alleged corpses of the murdered protesters have refused to surface. We have also failed to record credible cases of family members searching for their missing loved ones. The commonest cases are that of the injured, dealing with severe injuries in hospitals. The back and forth has thrown us all in limbo. But on the scale of inconsistency in accounts, the ranking of the government might touch the heavens if that is done. DJ Switch who has been allegedly granted asylum in Canada explained on different occasions that her life is in danger. She revealed the death threats she got from different quarters were overwhelming and she had to be moving from one home to another in search of safety. DJ Switch's role on the night of the alleged carnage was iconic. It is a further testament to the power of women in society. In Africa, it is generally believed that women are weak. But like the famous writer, Chimamanda Adichie once said, some women are stronger than their male counterparts. DJ Switch proved that. It is no news that countries managed by women e.g New Zealand, Taiwan, Germany, Denmark, Finland, Hong Kong (city) and others faired better in the battle against coronavirus than the men. The stories behind the Lekki Shooting wouldn't have been this clear without DJ Switch who expertly played the roles of the medical doctor, political leader, journalist, disk jockey and an activist on the same night, in a simultaneous fashion. As soon as the protesters came under attack, she went live on her Instagram page and televised the event using her smartphone. She was seen reporting the event as bullets rented the atmosphere. She could be heard directing the protesters who queued behind her, and they adhered to her instructions. She was also seen attending to a man with bullet wounds. A bullet was removed from the body of a young man who was rumoured to have passed away after the gory experience. Despite the danger, she was also the voice of the protesters that night. She overcame her fears and addressed the military commander who led the soldiers. She gave regular updates about their status to the outside world who couldn't be at the scene. She also rushed several victims to the hospital for professional medical attention. That night, she became the face of the protest movement at the Lekki tollgate, where celebrities who publicised the protesters on Twitter, were largely absent. According to her account, a man took a bullet for her during the ordeal. She said a man jumped on her while asking others to cover her up. She wondered what was happening, but she soon got to know they were forming a shield around her when a shooter targeted her. DJ Switch sustained injuries that night, both physically and mentally. She left the scene of the attack with bullet shells which she displayed during an Instagram live session. Her life changed but not positively. From the disk jockey who was the life of parties, she became a target by high-handed state and non-state actors who didn't want her to tell her story to her waiting audience. They wanted to silence her. A country of a huge landmass of 923,768 km², with six geopolitical zones, that houses over 200 million people became too small and hot for her, that she had to run out. It is a shame that the government which is supposed to be protecting an asset like her has been alleged to be her persecutor. It is not clear if she is actually in Canada considering a recent statement by the Canadian high commission in Nigeria. If true, then it can be said that Canada came to her rescue the same way it has even bailing Nigerian millennials from the throes of poverty in the country. Some Nigerians tried to sponsor a petition to bring her back to Nigeria to face trial. But that is laughable, isn't it? Canada always comes through for the oppressed. The rumoured support she might be getting reminds me of how Canada bailed out the then 18-year-old Saudi Arabian girl, Rahaf Mohammed al-Qunun, who was running away from her family. The country also hosts several Saudi Arabian dissidents. DJ Switch will be safe. Her mental health will also be taken care of. The strong woman will always miss home but her safety matters. One day, she will return to the land of the rising sun to tell her story. This time around, we hope more people will listen. DJ Switch should cry no more. The story of Lekki Shooting which has become part of Nigeria's history will be incomplete without her role. Again, it is sad that she is receiving death threats. Who are the people that want her dead and what is their ultimate goal? Only time will answer both questions. By Osayimwen Osahon George Source: http://www.villagetowncrier.com/2020/11/lekki-shooting-who-wants-dj-switch-dead.html
Nigeria’s fast rising and prolific multi-dimensional artiste, Uche Okechukwu Onyekwere popularly known as Uchay Grey has explained why he prefers David Adeleke (Davido) to Ayodeji Balogun (Wizkid) as his favourite artiste. Uchay Grey, in a chat with PMParrot, reacted to the trending issue on social media as regards who is the best between the two artistes, he said though it is difficult to choose between the two best artistes, however, disclosed that he prefers Davido because of the similarities in his (Uchay Grey) style of music and his voice with that of the Ede-born musician. “I will go with Davido for many reasons probably because I do R&B I will say. For me, Davido’s voice and mine are similar, I think I will go with him rather than Wizkid. But Wizkid is a fantastic artiste anyway, it is like you are comparing two best people, so, it is difficult to choose,” he said Uche, a graduate of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, while speaking on the rationale behind his latest single, Boogie Down, explained that it is a party song for the people to shake off stress and anxiety occasioned by COVID-19 pandemic and #ENDSARS protests. ALSO READ: I See No Reason Why Those Being Molested By Securitymen Because Of ‘Stay-At-Home’ Order Cannot Seek Legal Redress – Ebun-Olu Adegboruwa,SAN “It is pertinent for Nigerians to shake off from the present situations in the country, from COVID-19 pandemic to #ENDSARS protests. My intention is to get the people off the stress, shake off all challenges and boogie it down. It is a party song that will make people to shake body, dance and wine to let go their anxiety and stress.” The R&B, Hip-Hop, Reggae and Afro-Pop sensation solicited for a level playing ground for the upcoming artistes to come into limelight in terms of promotion. “Nigeria’s entertainment industry is doing well except for the upcoming artistes, who have to be the ones to carry themselves to places where people can see them. It is not easy when you have to be the one who will drag yourself to do everything. “There should be a level playing ground for everybody, promotion should not always be monetized because it has been made a monetary thing and this gives limited platforms where upcoming artistes can strive. It is always difficult for them, they need to just find one tiny hole to get through and be on that list,” Uchay Grey noted. He equally admonished other upcoming artistes to formulate a passion-driven plan before they venture into music, saying that it is passion first before money. “First of all, you can’t go into music without having passion for it. It has to be something you have passion for, something you love just like other professions like doctor, lawyer, you must love what you do. Though, one must have financial gain for what one is doing but the love must come first.” While expressing his readiness to collaborate with any artiste that fits into his style, Uchay Grey said that he would soon hit the town with new singles back-to-back to make his old and potential fans to enjoy good music. Packaged by Kunle Gazali Source: https://pmparrotng.com/2020/11/12/why-i-prefer-davido-to-wizkid-afro-pop-crooner-uchay-grey/ CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
Being the Director of Communications at Helping Ordinary Lives, HOL Foundation is challenging. Every day of your life, you feel the gas left in your tank would dry up and then your race will end before the finish line. Every day is a battle to put at least short smiles on the faces of people, who hope for reason to express genuine happiness. The biggest or funniest jokes by the best clown or comedians in town can't move them as their pains are bigger than them all. It is easy to read about the spate of poverty in Nigeria and Africa on the pages of newspapers or journals. It is harder to get a full picture of poverty and stand to look at it in reality. You not only fight to hold your tears, you also fight for the strength to stand on your feet. 89 million Nigerians are living in extreme poverty in Nigeria despite the yardstick for the measurement of poverty is being below spending $2 (N684) on food per day. The figures are simple to look past as a headline, but it is a different ball game when you see the people living in extreme poverty physically as well as listening to their stories. I wish the people could be granted free passage into heaven on judgement because the planet earth has been hell for them. I will never forget the 27th of June, 2020. It was the day I saw the image of poverty and believe me, poverty is ugly and scary. My Managing Director had contacted me to prepare for a regular field exercise which entailed sharing of relief materials amongst residents of vulnerable communities. It was a hard decision to make considering the menace of the coronavirus pandemic, which had ruined businesses and plundered the financial resources of many. For the first time, I felt it was over for the foundation. I saw myself joining the vulnerable people we swore to bring succour and hope to. The director wasn't going to let Covid-19 deter him from a cause he has dedicated his life to. He gathered funds here and there and even went as far as borrowing, to purchase food materials for the vulnerable people, whose conditions have been made worse by the infectious and deadly disease. We arrived at one of the shanties at the Agbado Ijaiye area of Lagos State to share relief materials. We had arranged portions of rice, beans, noodles, vegetable oil and others in sizeable quantities for a targeted section of the population living there. They were happy to see us. Most of them lamented the failure of the government to share its highly publicized Covid-19 palliatives amongst them. They argued that they need them the most in Nigeria. We pacified them with soothing words and in no time, the smiles on their faces almost overpowered the rays of the sun. It was a beautiful sight. Our relief materials were not enough as news spread around town that we were around and the number of people on the ground kept doubling. We soon took our leave and promised to return at a future date. We felt fulfilled to a large extent as we journeyed back to our various homes. Then the rain began to fall; as Africans, we regarded this as showers of blessings. We assumed that Providence was happy with our efforts and was trying to part us on the backs. The business of the day seemed done and dusted but that wasn't all, something that would mark the beginning of another landmark story was developing. As we negotiated excruciatingly with the potholes around the Agbado-Ijaiye axis, we spotted a middle-aged man who was physically-challenged. He was only moving around with a makeshift wooden wheeler. It was quite small and low. It is commonly used by crippled beggars. He sat on it and used a pair of bathroom slippers worn on his hands to move it around. Everywhere was flooded. The vehicle we came in was already crying for help as the bad roads had the best of it. This man was navigating around the potholes by the roadside energetically. Some of the potholes at times looked as if they were going to take his life. The director was moved as he stared at him from the car. He ordered that the car should be parked and he approached the man. For once, I felt he had wanted to heal him like Jesus Christ as he alighted from the vehicle and gazed at him. When he got close, he bent and said 'Please gentleman, what is your name?' He struggled to respond as he could barely speak the English language. From his intonation, it was clear that he was Hausa. One of the workers who understood the language perfectly interjected and communicated with him. It was then that he gave his name as Ayuba. The middle-aged man whose looks tell the gory stories and wicked challenges of life revealed he begs for a living. The boss ransacked the vehicle for some palliatives. Luckily, we found some. He also handed some cash gifts to him. He explained he is a married father of 4. His wife is crippled too. We all abandoned our trip temporarily and followed Ayuba to his home. Ayuba's life was a true image of poverty. His first child was about 10 years old. All of them have never seen the four walls of a school. They were not only malnourished with their bodies covered by tattered clothes, they also had no future to bank on. Tears flowed down on the cheeks of everybody as Ayuba narrated what it takes to put the cheapest meal on the family table every day. If the tears weren't controlled, the imminent flood around his house could have been fastened by the collection of tears from our eyes. One could only peep through Ayuba's house with fear. It was dark and looked like a dungeon from which the next pandemic could emerge. The door was so low and small that a fat animal might be discouraged from entering. "I want my children to go to school. I want a better future for them. I don't want them to end up like me. Life is hard, life is just too hard" he said with the tears been seamlessly unleashed. "I can't afford a wheelchair. It is so difficult for my wife and i to move around during the rainy season. I can't count the number of times I have fallen into deep gutters. Going out is a risk. I feel I could die anytime but the well-being of my family means a lot to me. I just have to go out and make something no matter how little" he added. The boss looked up and signalled to everybody that it was time to leave. Ayuba looked at the relief materials again and thanked us. He wished we could stay longer and eat with his family but we respectfully declined. For the first time in a very long time, the boss was quiet all through the trip home. We all knew he was touched by the story of Ayuba. We were all moved too. When I got to the junction of my street, the car parked and I came down with my bag containing my personal effects. The boss looked at me and said, Ayuba is our new project now. He is part of our family. His children are our responsibility and we have to make the sun shine on that home. I nodded my head in acceptance. Waved him goodbye and left for my home. I was troubled all night and restless due to the day's experience. HOL Foundation has struggled to solve the structural challenges of Ayuba but we are very hopeful and will never forget him. The boss ordered the logistics team to dispatch some relief materials to his home recently. Life seems the same for Ayuba but we are very sure things will soon take a U-turn in his life as we continue to gather the needed resources to make the promised change. *** George Osayimwen is the Director of Communications at HOL Foundation Source: https://www.tori.ng/news/158431/my-facetoface-encounter-with-poverty-and-his-four.html
Hey guys, my name is Uche. I live and work in Lagos. I have got good news for people hoping to make extra bucks without any hassles. A friend whom I will not like to mention has hinted me about a simple way of making money by fiddling with the keypads of your smartphone. Yes, It is that straightforward and I mean my words. MORE App is offering Nigerians a chance to make cool cash easily using their mobile application. So what is MORE? MORE is Africa's favorite microblogging and social media platform, and it is rapidly growing specifically in Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya. My friend who works with the firm hinted me privately that the company will be starting a referral program aimed at marketing the app. Users will be given the chance to invite people to the app and earn unlimited money from that easy activity. This is not a joke, although it sounds unreal. My friend has a history of credibility. The steps he explained to me in confidence are as follows: Step 1: Install the MORE app Step 2: Register your account Step 3: Login to the App Step 4: Verify Referral Code Step 5: Get Reward He said specifically that the more you invite people, the more you earn. Guys make we nor dull am oh. I don talk my own. Visit the playstore to download the MORE App and get your unique Referral Code NOW!!! Note: The more people install and register on the app using your unique referral code, the more you earn every day and your referrals get to earn unlimited cash just like you. You can follow MORE on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter @MoreBuzzAfrica. Also, here is an explainer video; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uwf9x7atHbw CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
In Africa, leaders hardly care about good governance. Politicians play politics before the election, during the election and after the election. The vicious circle continues all year round. The people they are supposed to serve become their victims. The ruling elites are the oppressors while the ruled become the oppressed. The struggles for good governance are regularly hijacked by the elites who share crumbs among the agitators and indoctrinate their frontliners into the upper-class, and then the movement dies. How long do they think this will continue? The tables are bound to turn one day. The youths have been underrated for so long. They have been teased about being interested in frivolities like the popular Big Brother Naija reality show, without showing interest in developmental issues. The youths are only engaged in politics for electoral reasons. Most of the ignorant ones are armed with guns and they end up wasting their precious lives for politicians who keep their children safe in developed countries. The fact that Nigeria is a religious nation also makes it easier for politicians to loot the treasury dry without fear. Religion preaches tolerance, endurance, patience and supernatural solutions to life challenges. Politicians inflict tremendous hardship on the people and then urge the poor masses to turn to God for blessings. As a matter of principle, I have stopped praying for Nigeria. You can't put developmental funds in your pocket and expect infrastructural facilities to show up miraculously. God is not a magician. Just when the leaders thought it was business as usual, the EnSARS wave of protests targeted at the abolition of the rogue unit of the Nigeria Police Force named the Special Anti-Robbery Squad, SARS. The crisis should have never happened if the past leaders paid attention to the rot in the police force. But there is a deficiency of integrity in Nigeria. The ruling elites have become inspirational figures for corrupt police officers, internet fraudsters, unscrupulous businessmen and other budding thieves. You really can't give what you don't have. The anger of the youths was triggered following incidents of police brutality and extrajudicial killing in Port Harcourt and Delta State. President Muhammadu Buhari-led administration failed to take strategic steps that would appease the anger of the youths. What happened to visiting the family of the 20-year old music artist, Daniel Chibuike, aka Sleek, who was killed? What about the immediate arrest, dismissal and public shaming of the officers involved? The Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Adamu could have also been queried or suspended to give people the impression that the government cared about the protection of human lives, which is the primary aim of government, according to the Social Contract. The government's calculation pointed at the usual inactivity. It was simple; 'let us allow the issues to trend on social media and in the online media till they die natural deaths'. This never happened. A few youths got tired of the conventional social media talks and they stormed the street to protest. From a small number of protesters, the numbers increased across Lagos State and started spreading across the geopolitical zones. The protests were very organic and highly organised. The leadership structure was decentralized and this constituted a blessing as well as a curse. A blessing in the sense that the government's tactic of usually arresting and detaining the arrowhead under the guise of being a threat to national security, was rendered useless. Every protester was like a leader. The wave of protests attracted more young intellectuals who knew their onions. As the days went by, the protests grew stronger. People stood their grounds against the oppressive antics of the police and other security agencies. The government reacted later by disbanding SARS and then promising further reforms. But it was late! The protesters wanted to fight on, they started demanding for good governance. The organization of the protests was topnotch. Banners were printed with brilliant inscriptions, they had a security team, medical team, logistics team, media team and they explored crowdfunding to gather money. Nigerians abroad felt the needed change was near. They closed their eyes to the present economic hardship caused by the coronavirus in Europe, America and Asia and kept funding the campaign. The international media perceived another Arab Spring could be brewing again in the most populous black nation in the world. International coverage reinvigorated the high spirits of the protesters and the infectious feeling kept spreading faster than coronavirus. Public trust in government has always been perpetually low in Nigeria. There were signs of hope when Buhari took over in 2015, but he later convinced Nigerians that he was just like the previous leaders, with no workable blueprint to take Nigeria to the next level. The government panicked and started employing dirty tactics to derail the largely peaceful protests. This is like a case of a father waging a war against his children, any pain he inflicts on them automatically reflects on his own body. At first, some fifth columnists were employed to discredit the protests in the media. That never worked. Twitter became a driving force of the protests. Even though the mainstream media didn't initially give full coverage of events, they soon realized they were producing contents that lacked patronage. People wanted to discuss EndSARS and monitor the progress of the protests led by youths named the 'Soro Soke' (speaking up) generation. Some Pro-SARS protesters soon emerged but their spirit reflected the low remuneration behind their actions. They couldn't match the energy of the teeming youths against SARS. They soon left with their tails between their legs. The government allegedly started hiring hoodlums to attack peaceful protesters. Cars were destroyed and bodily injuries were recorded at different locations. The protesters raised an alarm that they were under attack, but they were accused of crying foul. In this digital age, everybody is a journalist and social media is the general publishing house. Youths soon uploaded videos of alleged government officials conveying thugs to protest grounds to attack protesters. A video of hoodlums being conveyed in a police vehicle was the last straw that broke the camel's back. The government wanted the protests to become chaotic to prepare a ground for the use of maximum force to quell the movement. While this was going on, the apex bank of Nigeria, CBN, started freezing the bank accounts of the conveners of the protests. This is a bank that has struggled to successfully track the cashflows of the Boko Haram terrorist group in over a decade. The youth soon started transacting in cryptocurrencies to evade any restriction from the government. Then the worst happened, on the 20th of October, soldiers opened fire on peaceful protesters who were only armed with Nigerian flags and the national anthem. The number of people that died has become a mystery till this day. The government has denied sanctioning the operation even in the face of overwhelming evidence. A 20-year-old journalist, Pelumi Onifade, was reportedly shot on the leg by the police, in the line of duty, despite wearing the press vest. Efforts by his colleague to identify him as a journalist also led to his arrest. Pelumi's corpse was later found in the morgue after a rigorous search by his family. How did that happen? This mirrors the brute force unleashed on peaceful protesters and members of the general public by security operatives during the crises. Lagos State only cares about the public infrastructures that were destroyed, the human lives don't matter. This is Africa! As Nigerians grappled with the scars and pains occasioned by the crises, Buhari addressed the nation. He acted like a wicked school teacher, who doesn't mind beating his pupils into silence after making them cry aloud. The vacuum of leadership in Nigeria has always been wide, but in recent times, it has expanded immensely and is competing with the size of an ocean. The latest development is that some of the EndSARS movement leaders have been barred from travelling out of Nigeria. One Modupe Odele who helped in freeing arrested EndSARS protesters, using her expertise as a lawyer, was prevented from leaving for the Maldives to celebrate her birthday. The Nigeria Immigration Service has struggled to issue a decent denial or explanation behind the ban on the poor woman. Other figures are said to be suffering the same fate too. The government didn't stop there, it further mulled the regulation of Nigeria's social media space. The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, even suggested the possibility of an IT structure that could help shut down social media in the time of crisis. Like seriously? In a democratic dispensation? You want to take away the freedom of expression from people whose futures you have already taken away? Why don't you just kill them and bury them in mass graves? From the surface level, the government appears to have won the fight with the protests ending abruptly. People are picking their lives up again and taking up the next challenge. Using military force appears to have worked. But the government remains the greatest loser. The underhand tactics used by the government have further eroded the microscopic trust the people have in the government. What is the essence of a Social Contract without trust? If Nigeria was a data-gathering country that regularly publishes the approval ratings of leaders, that of Buhari would have been at an all-time low. But the leaders in Africa don't care. Their followers see them as 'legal thieves' and they love the tag. They never fail to throw some crumbs at the hungry followers when the need arises. The country has gotten so terrible that it is the dream of everybody to leave the country for better lives abroad. One would notice that the news of Buhari's rumoured death and replacement by the fictitious body-double,'Jubril Al Sudani' surfaced again after the presidential address. Even the best minds bought the story as they couldn't connect with the present leader. They felt he wasn't feeling their pulse anymore. Buhari acts like he doesn't care. He went as far as warning the international community, by telling them to 'get their facts right' before interfering in local issues. This is a typical African leader who believes he doesn't need the electorate anymore, as he is not seeking re-election. The baggage of the EndSARS crises will be carried by those with presidential ambition within the All Progressives Congress. Already, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu is getting the short end of the sick. An attempt by the former Lagos golden boy, Babatunde Fashola to interfere in the crisis made him a subject of mockery on social media with the infamous 'Camcorder Saga'. The government's victory was stolen and remains largely pyrrhic. A father that stole from his children doesn't need to celebrate. He is a bad egg and remains a shame to the league of fathers and the society at large. In hindsight, even in victory, the government remains the biggest loser. But since the government doesn't exist to pursue the general will of the people but selfish interests, nobody cares. We move! Written by Osayimwen Osahon George Source: http://www.villagetowncrier.com/2020/11/endsars-shameless-father-that-stole.html CC CC Lalasticlala Seun Ishilove Mynd44 Dominique MissyB3 Fynestboi
Weather: