Stats: 3,328,219 members, 8,434,658 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 June 2026 at 05:04 AM

Vivianc's Posts

Nairaland ForumVivianc's ProfileVivianc's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 (of 95 pages)

RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 10:16pm On Sep 18, 2013
Chillisauce: But Igbo men stingy Sha. Aka gums! grin
You don dey find trouble o. grin grin grin
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 10:03pm On Sep 18, 2013
ogugua88: A generalization isn't a basic understanding. "Naija girls sleep around anyhow" is a common generalization on this forum. Would you call that a basic understanding?

Someone is calling you and your brothers stingy and you are agreeing lol. Sure, there are exceptions. It doesn't mean that generalization should be swallowed or accepted though. I don't believe in generalizations. There's no such thing as a valid generalization. There's only lack of enlightenment or knowledge.
grin grin so because you live in the US, that makes you more knowledgeable and enlightened that we in Nigeria. grin Taa gbafuo gi there. Ihukwa alika na inyi muscle.

So miss i too know, tell me, how exactly is statistics used in researches? I bet when they want to study Uniben students, they study all of them one by one huh? grin So since its impossible because of let's say due to large population or its operational cost, when they study a sample of the population, their findings should be discarded cos "there's only lack of knowledge and enlightenment."

There is nothing like valid generalization, huh? grin grin but there is something like valid findings? Yes! Provided the findings are based on un-biasness, non-error, etc. It is valid. If these valid findings can be relied on in making decisions, it is reliable.

I called typical igbo guys stingy, egocentric and difficult, hell yes they are. With exceptions to those that didn't spend their entire lives in igboland, say maybe those in the diaspora.

Go to Main Market, osha and Ariaria, Aba, get a sample from these areas and a sample from Igbo guys who have stayed outside Igboland and study them, simples. The findings will never be the same because of some environmental factors.
People of all tribes have their unique flaws. But how dare me point the ones i know out, right? Yorubas and Hausas have their own flaws too but i don,t know. I haven't studied them. I know a couple of yoruba and Hausa people but they don't constitute enough sample size for me.

Nne, you really need to get off your highhorse, cos contrary to what you feel about yourselve, you don't know it all. Sometimes, you don't even come close.
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 8:35pm On Sep 18, 2013
ikekings: Eeerrmmm... Who said igbo guys are stingy? We ain't stingy ooo... If there's one tin igbo guys are good at... That's spending money!!! Bia vivian kpachara anya gi ooo!!!
grin grin taa gbafuo! You sef wey broke pass me dey talk. grin

How you dey jare?
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 8:18pm On Sep 18, 2013
ichidodo: Her generalizations are brutally honest and apt to say the least,you might know some exceptions but that is neither here nor there.It best to have a basic understandin or as you say 'generalization than none at all. If you can't pound fofo on the mortar, you pound it on ground than not to pound at all because one is afraid of a 'rude awakening'
My dear biko hapu okwu. One of my friends doesn't like me again cos she says i'm too blunt and that's it.

Do you know the part of Imo i'm from people know us as ndi ike grin as in any na esute atugba ofuma (I hope you decode?) A nairalander; Crown Prince would attend to that.

So I introduced myself to some people 2days ago, told them where i'm from and they were like " hey! Ndi ojoor! Ndi be unu na eme ihe siri nke!" I laughed with them and told them "Yes, ayi na anyi ajo aru, karia Pericoma sef but not everybody." Is their generalization valid? Hell yes! But there are exceptions and i know this generalization is based on some kinda informal research. But there are exceptions.

Mehn, I don tire abeg. Make I live people in their unrealistic worlds abeg.
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 7:56pm On Sep 18, 2013
Lol! People are really funny, you know we choose the aspect of life and statistic that go down well with us. Isn't it funny?

I used "most" by the way. "I think most Igbo guys................"

I think statistics is a useless course. If we can't really on its method then it is useless. I don't see statistics studying the whole population before making deductions, it only studies an integral part or sample of any given population be it animal or things to make deductions which are often times very correct.

That people are known for some traits doesn't mean there ain't no exception.

Generalization is a human phenomenon. We use it all the time, be it in our studies and researches and whatnot. The question is how valid is it?

For instance, the saying that "igbo girls like money." is a generalization based on some informal research. Is it valid? Yes! We can deny it all we want but its the fact. But are there exceptions? Yes! There are!

For instance, Anambra men are less stingy than Imo men. Attend their weddings and find out. We call them money miss road grin grin but they are also more arrogant and egocentric. Are there exceptions? Hell yes!

These 2 environment; Igbos and Ijaws are my relevant environment. I study and observe them and my findings might be different from another person's findings, but that doesn't make any of them invalid.

But then again, we can choose to play blind and look the other way or be unrealistic. It doesn't change a fact.
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 7:12pm On Sep 18, 2013
ichidodo: Not carryin brief for her but yes most of us are stingy one way or another and we got enormous egos.But the beauty of the matter is understanding and loyalty; She knows what she is up against and yet sticks to what/who she knows best.Now what kind of man wouldn't give his left balls for this kind of woman?
Lol........ my dear, I'd rather stick to onye mu na ya ga na apia okpo every morning before ya eweputa ego (grin grin na joke o) than one who will cheat on me korokoro. grin grin

Honestly, even in their imperfections, igbo guys rock, for me o!
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 6:50pm On Sep 18, 2013
ogugua88: There was no misunderstanding. Keep using generalizations. You've met all Ijaws to conclude they don't respect marriage as well as women. You've met all Igbos to conclude that all Igbo men are stingy and difficult yet they respect their wives. Whatever floats your boat.
My dear, i'm very much in tune with reality and I don't say what I don't know. Yes, I have met most Ijaw guys cos i live in Ijaw land and I observe the environment I live in. I'm also Igbo, so need I say how many igbo guys I have met? grin grin

I just stated a fact! To me stating a fact is not bashing. Ijaws and Igbos are the 2 Nigerian tribes I love, that won't stop me from stating a fact!

For instance, business people here in Bayelsa enjoy doing business with the Ijaws more than the Igbos cos Ijaws are generous while ndi igbo gbara sense na mkpo grin. That's a fact! grin

Ijaws don't just have respect not only for their women, but for anything called women! They are lucky people who easily make money and they believe women are commodities that money can buy, it doesn't matter who she is. That's why an 80yrs Ijaw man would go after a 20yrs old lady, not because he loves her but because he wants her and all it would take is money. It could also be a 15yrs old boy chasing a 40yrs old lady, pick for yourself!

On the matter of not respecting their marriages, I meant infidelity. Most men cheat but whie most igbo men cheat discretely, Ijaw men don't. 90% of Ijaw men enjoy the comfort of a hotel room more than their homes, it doesn't matter how comfortable their homes are.

I could go on......................

And by the way, i don't need to meet all of them to know this. Statistically, I only need a sample of the population.

Right now, I have both an Ijaw man and Igbo man on my case and I tell them why I can't do any of them.
The Ijaw guy is promising heaven and earth just to make me say yes. The Igbo guy don walka already, after all the marriage is more important to me. He is a man and no woman can tell him what to do. grin grin
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 6:09pm On Sep 18, 2013
ogugua88: Of course you don't bash other tribes. You just say they, like Ijaws for example, suck at marriage and don't respect their women. I doubt any Ijaw would be offended. I'm assuming you were once married to an Ijaw, which is how you came to this nongeneralization. As you were. smiley
Yes, they have no respect for marriage institution, and for women by my own standard, but they are also good at other aspects that igbo guys at not good at. That's a fact! You can't have it all.

Bashing tribes or not is not the reason i replied you, your gross misunderstanding is. So let's move on already:
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 5:06pm On Sep 18, 2013
Lilimax: Nwada jiri nwayoo! grin grin
grin grin Nne hapu okwu biko. I don't know if its just me o o, I find igbo guys difficult. Well, our culture empowers them to be so. There was even a time I decided i'm done with them but I ran back again grin grin they are not perfect but they are simply the best. So igbahe ha nti bu my only only option na grin grin at least oga eme ka isi jutu ha oyi small na. grin grin grin The ones that didn't spend all their lives in igboland is better, if you go jam the one wey grow up for Osha or Aba and has stayed there the rest of his life? O neediri igbaha nti na biko.
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 4:52pm On Sep 18, 2013
ogugua88: "I think Igbo guys are stingy, egocentric, difficult, etc., but they respect marriage, so I must marry an Igbo."

Can I laugh?

There's nothing wrong with being proud of your tribe. Someone will just have to explain to me why one must bash another tribe to prove his/hers supreme. If your tribe is that awesome, you should be able to boast about the good of your tribe without bringing down another.
Laugh all you want my dear, that's your area of specialty.
I wouldn't even suggest you read and understand what my statement means, ofcourse that's beyond you. In as much as the post doesn't go down well with you, trying to understand it is useless to you, hence we must follow your I-know-it-all mindset.

Just so we are clear, i'm igbo and I said earlier on that I will never marry outside Igbo tribe. My last post gave the reason; Igbo guys are not perfect, I agree and I have my opinion about them but there's an attribute in them I want, so no matter how they are I'm sticking to them.

I guess this is so difficult for you to understand, huh?

Then again, that's my opinion. So why don't you give yours and move on, its that simple.

Btw, i'm not in the business of bashing tribes, no matter how provoked i am. Never have and never will!
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 4:06pm On Sep 18, 2013
ngozievergreen: @ Topic, i no fit shout.
I cant marry outside igboland.
No other tribe in Nigeria keeps sanctity and sanity in marriage other than igbos, and my marital life is very impt to me.
Exactly my reason too. I think most Igbo guys are full of crap, egocentric, stingy, and extremely difficult but they respect this institution called marriage. Now I can't think of any other tribe that can do that.

For instance, the Ijaw tribe; their men are the most generous and undramatic, and they are less difficult. An Ijaw man would spend millions to marry you, would give you what money can buy but they have no oita of respect for marriage, and for women. If you wanna marry them you have to prepare your mind to accept open infidelity. This is not a generalization, its a fact.

So I better stick to my igbo bobos, it would only require for me to go to the market and buy a very long and strong key cos their ears need unlocking and that I will do. grin grin grin Aga m agbahe ha nti very soon.
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 12:30pm On Sep 18, 2013
ichidodo: Imagine if they all married igbo girls, who will be left for us? What will be left us?? Our continuity as a tribe and culture will fade away. No, i think this 'fad' should be strongly dissuaded.
I won't let them take me away. I will marry you, just pm me the financial statement already. And i hope you are cute? I'm allergic to worwor guys o grin grin
FamilyRe: And My Baby Arrived. by vivianc(f): 10:49am On Sep 18, 2013
congratulations!
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 10:34am On Sep 18, 2013
what the hell happened here? This thread was fun, when did it become so serious?
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 11:05pm On Sep 15, 2013
ichidodo: Any Imo indigene representing? Pm if you are a lady.
Representing Imo here.............. But before I pm you..................... what's your net worth? pm me your audited financial statement cos i don't want any window dressing.
FamilyRe: My Corp Member Niece Gave Her Brand new Car As Seed Of Faith In Her Church by vivianc(f): 4:36pm On Sep 15, 2013
demelza: LMFAO!
Are you sure you arent making this up?
You mean the Pastor left the pulpit and searched the bags of everyone?
Thank God for your escape!
I'm serious. Whatever "daddy" does is led by the spirit. People were just laughing and I marvelled at how gullible they were. The pastor was a guest speaker who was simply trying to raise money.

Here in BY, there is one that tells his members to come and touch the shoes he is wearing with a seed. Annoited shoes grin and they do it with all pleasure.

I used to be gullible alongside my parents when i was younger. I still remember drinking annoited sand's water. Sand that we got from the ground of the church. Now that I think of it, who knows the kind of sickness that annoited sand deposited in my body? Or where the shoes that matched on that sand had been to? Ewwwwwwwwww!!!!

My eyes are wide open now o and i'm free indeed!
FamilyRe: My Corp Member Niece Gave Her Brand new Car As Seed Of Faith In Her Church by vivianc(f): 1:46pm On Sep 15, 2013
LWKMD! grin grin Naija pastors eh?

I remember when I almost dashed out my 50k at a church program i attended years back (when I still dey go church). The pastor kept on blabbing about how God told him he would bless 50 souls in the gathering, we were all jumping up to claim the blessing. He said something magnificient would happen in the lives of these people, that God is showing him a glorious picture but for these 50 people to tap into this blessing we would sow a seed of 50k each. Oh boy no be small thing, i begin sweat seriously and I had 50k in my handbag. He smooth-talked more and less than 20 people came out. I was still battling with my spirit on whether to come out or not when he now said "if you have 40k you can also tap into the blessing." That was when i knew God didn't tell him anything cos I know God's word is Yea and Amen and I didn't bother. He kept on going from 40k....20k.....10.......5k......2k......oya 1k, the next thing he started searchng people's bags. I just opened my bag, removed my money and tucked it away in my small make up kit. grin grin

No be me pastors go take shine abeg.
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 11:02am On Sep 15, 2013
Idowuogbo: Wow! U dey vex o!

@op
Maybe... wink
Babe! Sup? Long time......... I miss you die! Thought you went on maternity leave? grin grin
RomanceRe: Can You Marry Outside Your Tribe? by vivianc(f): 10:10am On Sep 15, 2013
No. I'm Igbo and I do strictly Igbos. Infact, there are parts of Igbo I don't do sef.
FamilyRe: Married Women Should Stop Allowing Their Husbands Go Out Unkempt by vivianc(f): 7:14pm On Sep 13, 2013
BootY.....whatever, I think you should stop defending yourself. What you did was humane and whatever your motive was as accused, you and your God know. But the more you defend yourself, the more you give much away and the more everything would be nitpicked.
FamilyRe: Married Women Should Stop Allowing Their Husbands Go Out Unkempt by vivianc(f): 7:05pm On Sep 13, 2013
Nashville: Not trying to pick on you and as I told you earlier, your signature is one of my favourite songs. However, to help you in future professional life, do not repeat what you just wrote here. It is highly unprofessional and rude, it might cost you a job in future. You can get away doing that for some random guy or in a small one man business, but please dont try that in an established organisation.

I cannot imagine a top executive comes to visit me and while waiting my PA offers him clippers or scissors to cut his nails. She will leave the job that minute. You should all learn to separate personal and professional life. You are not supposed to discriminate on the basis of looks, religion or se*xual orientation. We all have our personal likes and dislikes but it is not in your place to give a visiting business partner clippers to cut his nails just because it "irritates" you. This is just one for the future, no effense meant.
You are right! But i'm also not stupid. Before you talk to people about their personal lives in the office, there must have been a relationship on personal level, and by this I didn't mean an affair.

Whether you agree with me or not, there are clients, bosses who with time become friends and relate with you on personal level. If i'm relating with you on strictly professional or official level, what's my business with how you smell or look?

In these cases, the relationship was a mixed one which is not a crime. So why make it one? Or are all professional or official relatinships strictly official?

And yes, my ex boss also cared about my personal well being on personal level, so does that mean I was having an affair with him?

Haba! You people like blowing things out of proportion, abeg.

And you don't have to always butter me up with "your signature..............." cos i can handle constructive criticism.
FamilyRe: Married Women Should Stop Allowing Their Husbands Go Out Unkempt by vivianc(f): 2:04pm On Sep 13, 2013
I was once in this position few years back. A man who was married btw walked into my office and i offered him a seat. We got talking business and he placed his hands on my desk and very untidy claws in the name of nails were starring at me. TBH, i was irritated and distracted, when we were done with business, i told him to hang on, opened my drawer, got a scissors and got ride of them. He was just looking at me, speechless.

Maybe he didn't get that kinda attention at home, i didn't care. It didn't even occur to me and I didn't even do that for him, i did it for me cos i don't want him to irritate me when next he comes to my desk.

I would have done what the op did and honestly I don't whether its right or wrong, I just can't have a dirty person around me. If s/he is someone I can avoid i'd do that, but if s/ he is someone i can't avoid s/he would have to get cleaned by force, even if it means dragging s/he to the salon.

The op is right on women should take care of their husbands. He is a grown man, yes! But he is your grown man.

I say couple should take care of each other! We are not babies but we are each other's babies.
Nairaland GeneralRe: Did You Play Catapult With Rubber Band When You Were Young? by vivianc(f): 1:30pm On Sep 13, 2013
xynerise: Hulk Hogan was my favourite wrestler those days. I slacked many of my cloths trying to imitate his popular ring entrance style grin

Talk true, your pant get hole for under? cool
Lmao grin I really did mess that name up. Well, i spelt it the way it sounds.

Well, in order to re-capture my childhood days, i'm gonna get my Hulk Hogan pant again, today. grin grin.
Nairaland GeneralRe: Did You Play Catapult With Rubber Band When You Were Young? by vivianc(f): 9:50am On Sep 13, 2013
xynerise: I remember the wooden gun. We used a black rubber to ''bandage'' the gun. I exhausted my mum's matches cos the match head represents gun powder grin
Those were the good days, i tell ya. I usually forgot I was female and my dad had to ring it into my ears all the time.

Did you fly Kite? How about wrestling? I still remember my yellow honk Kogan's (sorry if i mess that spelling up) pant. My fav.

The good old days!
Nairaland GeneralRe: Did You Play Catapult With Rubber Band When You Were Young? by vivianc(f): 12:13am On Sep 13, 2013
Yes i did, we had alot of ways with rubber those days but we didn't use it for "actor and boss." We constructed guns with wood. We would create a hole inside it, pour cabad, and cover it with an iron-like tip. Once you hit that iron tip on a stone, the gun would shoot. Then we would draw mustache on our faces with a charcoal, tie our shirts on our heads and be running inside the bush shooting each other. grin grin

What did i not do sef? grin grin

I miss my childhood jare.
FamilyRe: What Item In Ur Kitchen,have Faithfully Served U 4 Years? by vivianc(f): 4:16pm On Sep 12, 2013
My cooking pots: bought them 8 yrs ago and they are still very new. Scrub them front and back but i'm really tired of scrubbing. Would get a set of non-stick pots by January.

My blender has also lasted for 7yrs and its still in his follow come carton. Yea, i put it right back there after usage.

My cooking spoon is also 8yrs old.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 (of 95 pages)