Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,151,522 members, 7,812,630 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 04:28 PM

Hidden Truths About Catfish Business!!! - Agriculture (367) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Agriculture / Hidden Truths About Catfish Business!!! (1492350 Views)

Hidden Truths About Catfish Hatchery Business !!! / Hidden Truths About Plantain Farming Business / Catfish Farmers Lets Talk About Catfish Smoking (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (364) (365) (366) (367) (368) (369) (370) ... (523) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Hidden Truths About Catfish Business!!! by Ttalk: 1:48pm On Mar 01, 2017
micgray100:

BROS... THANKS FOR YOUR CALL AND ADVICE ON THE MY 3MM VITAL FEED AVAILABILITY PROBLEM... REALLY APPRECIATED..

ON THIS ISSUE OF CEMENT... I AM CONFUSED AGAIN O..

I AM AN ENGINEER BY PROFESSION. A REGISTERED ENGINEER WITH NSE AND COREN..

I READ ON THIS THREAD WHERE SOMEONE SAID ALL CONCRETE / BLOCK PONDS MUST BE FERTILIZE BEFORE STOCKING WITH FINGERLINS..

MY THOUGHT WAS THAT THE FERTILIZATION MEANT WAS TO REDUCE THE CEMENT CONTENT IN ANY CONCRETE / BLOCK POND...

NOW USING SAME CEMENT TO FERTILIZE AGAIN IS MAKING ME CONFUSED..

MR EXCELFARM... THIS IS NEW I MUST SAY... COS I HAVE NEVER HEARD OGA ROBONSKI MENTION ANYWHERE IN THIS TREAD THAT ORDINARY PORTLAND CEMENT CAN BE USE TO FERTILIZE ANY FORM OF POND...

Sir, treatment of pond and fertilization of pond are two different things but closely related while the former is meant to treat the pond of diseases, the later introduces micro organism that the fish feed on.

This bring about another controversial issue about FERTILISATION and my question is how do you separate harmful micro organism from the beneficial ones?
Yes you could achieve a head start compare to who does not fertilise his pond but you risk a higher outbreak of disease because what it takes is just a trigger caused by stress and there would be an outbreak of disease.