Stats: 3,156,718 members, 7,831,263 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 04:20 PM

Research Findings On The Question "When Should One Play Hard To Get"? - Romance - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Romance / Research Findings On The Question "When Should One Play Hard To Get"? (868 Views)

Ladies, Why Do You Ask This Question When He's Abt To Enter THE PLACE? / See The Question I Asked That Made Her Angry... / Exposed: “Why Girls Play Hard To Get & How To Make Them Not Do It Around You" (2) (3) (4)

Research Findings On The Question "When Should One Play Hard To Get"? by Yooguyz: 8:22pm On Jul 02, 2014
Researchers Dai, Dong, and Jia (2014) investigated the question,
"When does playing hard to get increase romantic attraction?"
They theorized that such an aloof strategy may have unique effects
on different emotions.
Specifically, they suggested that
playing hard to get might
increase feelings of "wanting" in others (a desire to pursue the
aloof person) but at the same time decrease "liking" (positive
feelings about the person).
The team hypothesized that playing hard to get might only work under certain circumstances—specifically, that such a strategy would only work
when partners were already committed and emotionally invested in the relationship. In
other words, if the person was not already interested to some
degree, playing hard to get would not motivate them to chase.
To test these hypotheses, Dai and associates (2014) performed two
experiments: Male students from a Hong Kong University were
asked to read a hypothetical date
story, or meet a real woman in a speed date situation. Women
they read about in the story, or met on the date, either behaved in a positive, interested manner ("easy to get"wink, or were passive and aloof (hard to get). In
addition, for the speed-date experiment, male participants either had some initial interest
and had chosen the woman (commitment) or was randomly
assigned the date (no
commitment). Results from these experiments
offered some insights about how playing hard to get works.
Specifically:
Re: Research Findings On The Question "When Should One Play Hard To Get"? by farano(f): 8:25pm On Jul 02, 2014
Abi na
Re: Research Findings On The Question "When Should One Play Hard To Get"? by Yooguyz: 8:39pm On Jul 02, 2014
1. Easy-to-get and hard-to-get strategies had opposite effects on emotions.

Individuals who acted engaged and interested on the date (easy
to get) were seen as more
positive and likeable. Individuals who were detached and non-
engaging (hard to get), however, sparked more interest and desire. Thus, the strategy that made the person more likeable
was not the same as the strategy that got them picked for a date
or relationship.

2. Playing hard to get only works when someone is already (at
least a little) interested.

Participants who were already committed to the interaction (those who had chosen the date)
found the hard-to-get date more desirable. In contrast, participants who were not committed (paired at random)
found the easy-to-get date more desirable. Playing hard to get
magnified the desire and interest that was already present—but it
was not able to create it from nothing.

What It Means for You

As the research indicates, playing hard to get is a useful strategy… under the right conditions. Put simply, playing hard to get works when your potential partner is
already interested and when they think you are "likeable" and nice,
but are not yet passionate about
you. In that situation, being a little bit of a challenge can increase their perception of your
value as a lover and motivate them to chase you more. When
people are denied what they want (even a little), they tend to want it all the more!
If the partner is not committed or invested in you, however, playing hard to get can backfire.
In those instances, you are simply asking them to work harder for something they don't
(yet) want. Therefore, it is better to be more agreeable, pleasant,
and straightforward—increasing liking. That may give you time to build their commitment and
interest in other ways, such as:

>Improving your physical and psychological attractiveness;
>Starting conversations with assertiveness and confidence;
>Using accidental and social touching;
>Rewarding your partner's positive and attractive behaviors;
>Making sure they invest in you.

Playing hard to get is an effective strategy for some dating and
relationship situations. If a partner is already interested and likes you, posing a challenge can
turn up their desire. If they are uncertain and not a little invested, however, it might be
best to be more direct and engaging. That will allow you time to build their interest and
commitment in other ways first.
(Then you can play a little harder-to-get down the road.)

www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-attraction-doctor/201403/when-should-you-play-hard-get
Re: Research Findings On The Question "When Should One Play Hard To Get"? by Sheenor: 9:09pm On Jul 02, 2014
playing hard to get doesnt really make sence to me.......is like been toying with someones feeling......why not be open and make your intention clear

Re: Research Findings On The Question "When Should One Play Hard To Get"? by Yooguyz: 9:38pm On Jul 02, 2014
Sheenor: playing hard to get doesnt really make sence to me.......is like been toying with someones feeling......why not be open and make your intention clear

different people have different reasons for dating. If you are dating in search of a partner then playing hard to get is not ideal for you. Except you are dating for fun.
Re: Research Findings On The Question "When Should One Play Hard To Get"? by Yooguyz: 4:08pm On Jul 03, 2014

Popular Nigerian Celebrities Recount How They Lost Their Virginity / So U Want To Keep And Attract Women, Girls, Babes And Ladies / The Most Epic Wedding Proposals In Nigeria

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 15