Stats: 3,154,754 members, 7,824,162 topics. Date: Saturday, 11 May 2024 at 01:37 AM

How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup - Food (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup (35950 Views)

See What Ghanaian Egusi Soup Looks Like, Nigerians Comment. (screenshots) / How To Prepare Egusi Soup - - The Ultimate Guide / How I Made Low Budget Kpomo And Beef With Okaro Soup Laced With Bitter Leaf (2) (3) (4)

Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by JoeCutie(m): 6:21pm On Jun 20, 2015
Kizmarty:

na my mouth you wun hear say lion kill hunter yesterday? cheesy
Wait! That man? shocked
So that Lion finally kill am? shocked

Chai! Bad market. embarassed cheesy
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by kuzee(m): 6:28pm On Jun 20, 2015
Sleekyshuga:

undecided undecided undecided undecided undecided

36 - 12 = Child Abuse tongue
abeg dat aside
that one na ur own
how far the shuga, is da latest episodee not outt yet
have bin hustling to get that movie o
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Teacup: 6:37pm On Jun 20, 2015
deflover:
Goat head =N= 700

Egusi (1/2 derica) =N= 200

palm oil =N= 100

pepper =N= 200

tomatoes =N= 100

gino tomatoe paste (2 sachets) @ =N=40 each =N= 80

seasoning (maggi star) =N= 20

bitter leaf from my back yard ....lol =N= 0

1/2 litres of water =N= 0

Total =N= 1400:00

no onions and crayfish. na wah oh
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Nobody: 6:50pm On Jun 20, 2015
kelechi50:
Op for Gods sake @36 ur still proud of being a manchelor ur no more a bachelor think with ur head before its too late.
Kelechi, ibiakwa? grin cheesy cheesy grin
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Nobody: 7:15pm On Jun 20, 2015
JoeCutie:
Wait! That man? shocked
So that Lion finally kill am? shocked

Chai! Bad market. embarassed cheesy

Naxoo, and I hear say he heart still dey beat ooo cheesy
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Nobody: 7:19pm On Jun 20, 2015
onatisi:
Never knew goatheads are these cheap ,it is time I start stockpiling them in my freezergrin , but this bitterleaf stuff is very tricky to cook if one isn't well versed in it ,I once tried it and I hated it,the stew was just too bitter
u cook stew with bitter leaf
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Nobody: 7:22pm On Jun 20, 2015
MzJackBaueress:
200naira pepper? You must be a yoruba man

MzJackBaueress:
200naira pepper? You must be a yoruba man

Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by JoeCutie(m): 7:39pm On Jun 20, 2015
Kizmarty:

Naxoo, and I hear say he heart still dey beat ooo cheesy
And you dey here dey yarn opata? Goan rescue him joor.
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Danhumprey: 7:46pm On Jun 20, 2015
ITbomb:
Tomato paste in egusi soup?
Hmm that is a new one

I should come around
The kain purge wey you go purge,you go regret trying that recipe.grin
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Jummyjagz(f): 8:16pm On Jun 20, 2015
And its low cost? shocked if its now high cost nko
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Pamelayoung: 8:45pm On Jun 20, 2015
Ayama!
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Sleekyshuga(f): 8:47pm On Jun 20, 2015
kuzee:

abeg dat aside
that one na ur own
how far the shuga, is da latest episodee not outt yet
have bin hustling to get that movie o
Lol grin grin

Nah.. I doubt. None for now..
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by dmola(m): 8:47pm On Jun 20, 2015
Chubhie:
Leave her alone.
Wetn b ur own! Are u her spk prsn?
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by dmola(m): 8:48pm On Jun 20, 2015
Chubhie:
Leave her alone.
Wetn b ur own! Are u her spk prsn for nairaland?
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Nobody: 9:51pm On Jun 20, 2015
JoeCutie:
And you dey here dey yarn opata? Goan rescue him joor.

You nor understand, the lion swallowed his heart..still,it won't stop beating cheesy
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by JoeCutie(m): 9:56pm On Jun 20, 2015
Kizmarty:

You nor understand, the lion swallowed his heart..still,it won't stop beating cheesy
Oh, that's okay then. smiley
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by kuzee(m): 10:14pm On Jun 20, 2015
Sleekyshuga:

Lol grin grin

Nah.. I doubt. None for now..
how i go take contact yuh nah ,if them release one..dose shuga people de spoil business..
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by mustafo: 10:36pm On Jun 20, 2015
@Oga Deflover,

The amount of oil wey dey inside this your bucket of soup abi pot of soup, person fit swim in it O. Sebi you dey immuned from heart attach, eh?
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by cjplainstrip: 10:45pm On Jun 20, 2015
Good Article on Bitter leaf soup. you really lectured us all especially those of us who know next to nothing regarding preparation of it.more grease to your elbows.
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by ugoezeik(m): 11:17pm On Jun 20, 2015
pls wats dis am seeing, us it meat? but wait ooooo, pepper 200, r u ok?
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by Lexusgs430: 12:08am On Jun 21, 2015
Soup still remain? I wan carry my Family come for a feast!!!!
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by deflover(m): 4:41am On Jun 21, 2015
mimicious:

Sweetheart did u just say 1400 for low budget, secondly what's with the pepper 200

dreamy eyes yes i said so na......the phrase low budget is relative to one's definition love............so what i call low budget may or may not be what you will call low budget.....besides in nija thats a low budget soup unless poverty don give the person body hug grin grin grin grin grin
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by deflover(m): 4:51am On Jun 21, 2015
donephi:
Tomato paste in egwusi soup?
Soaking egwusi ah, its a new one.
What's the idea behind not washing the bitter leaf n y is it so little?
After making that thing u call soup, how does it taste?
Na wah ohhh!
After eating this, u do not need to go to the toilet but to the bush

oga it taste wonderful.....i am a good cook trust me all my mates love it when i enter the kitchen......i can do wonders even with as little as =N=500

sucking egusi has been there since forever.....i guess as kids you were never in the kitchen wink wink wink

Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by deflover(m): 4:57am On Jun 21, 2015
sunnydayasaba:

I know alot of Yoruba that uses tomato and tomato paste to cook egusi because to them it taste better, But the truth is it taste too Sweet. Another disadvantage is that if not warm or properly refrigerated, its spoils very quick and easily. That's why most people prefer using better leaf than normal vegetable like Ugwu leaf to cook egusi soup.

Op, but to soak egusi...Hmmm, that most be ur own making, because I initial thought u where planing to mode some to boil little by little and then add the rest to it...But hmmmmm that never happen.

Enjoy ur food sha, But dnt invite someone to join u on that, cus na running stomach for d person

oga i have been cooking since i was 9yrs old......never have i had a bad audience tasting my food angry angry angry angry

besides i am urohobo not yoruba
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by deflover(m): 4:59am On Jun 21, 2015
Sleekyshuga:

grin cheesy grin cheesy grin cheesy grin
Make una easy na on this young man..

@ OP,

You try cheesy cheesy but I don't understand the tomatoes inside equsi-bitterleaf-stew soup grin

well the idea to make something much more sweeter is to use tomatoes.....they usually bring a super sweetness to a dish
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by deflover(m): 5:02am On Jun 21, 2015
Enoquin:
Goathead in akwaibom is from 700 upwards depending on the size and season that's because we don't play with goathead here.

Tomatoes in egusi, I have heard of that way of cooking egusi but I want to know if it is something that evolved into a practice by awon eko.

Funny enough, I am cooking bitterleaf soup today but with goat leg...mine is washed very well. If I cook with out washing vigourously; my brothers won't eat.
Your soup looks good, I no see crayfish for your list abi na because of tomatoes you skip am?
I know say pepper no dey market but 200 naira pepper is too much.

madam crayfish ke.....i tell you say i dey do maggi kitchen competition ni.....i say low budget abi make i call am lower budget b4 you go understand.......nija women can form good cook ehhh but give am money she go say e no do grin grin grin grin grin

Besides whats it with the mine is washed well tingy......nija babes ehhhhh you for no wash am na...you for put am with the blood inside pot tongue tongue tongue tongue

besides pepper 200 naira was way too small....e be like say u no dey enter market to knw wetin time dey talk angry angry angry angry
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by deflover(m): 5:11am On Jun 21, 2015
arbass:
@op please what did you to the water you cooked the isiewu with? Did you later add it to the soup? I really do not know how to cook, so coming across this thread of yours is so educating to me.

yes i poured it in...that was the idea when i boiled it with the sliced bitter leaf... wink wink wink wink wink

dont worry i will be bringing out weekly meals from now on so people like you can learn a few tricks ......but be ready to go all out to eat different dishes oh...cos i cook across board wink wink wink wink wink
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by deflover(m): 5:14am On Jun 21, 2015
mimicious:

U ask him undecided

so would you marry me.....i can do all the dishes and never will you lift a finger wink wink wink wink wink
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by deflover(m): 5:19am On Jun 21, 2015
Sleekyshuga:

undecided undecided undecided undecided undecided

36 - 12 = Child Abuse tongue

relax love.....no child abuse here....the older the wine the finer it tastes wink wink wink wink grin grin grin grin grin
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by kuuljay(m): 6:51am On Jun 21, 2015
op this is not better leaves soup neither is it egusi soup and neither is it stew.this is pure concoction.let me explain,preparing bitter leaf without washing and squeezing out the bitter taste is dicey I tried it during my university days out of ignorance and the result was monumentally catastrophic cos I just sliced a heavy bunch and used it to cook.secondly, who adds tomatoes paste to egusi soup? why not kuku complete am with curry and thyme grin grin and for enugu here goat head na from 1k and above my brother.anyway nice one.you try grin grin grin
Re: How I Made Low Budget Goat Head Bitter Leaf Egusi Soup by FOREXMARTS: 8:34am On Jun 21, 2015
Errrrmmmmmmm, nice. Where is Herzie?

Nigerian Jollof Rice Tops Poll On As Roma's Official Twitter Handle / How To Prepare Garden Egg Sauce (Pictures) / 4 Foods Nigerian Students Can Relate To

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44