Stats: 3,153,114 members, 7,818,322 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 12:40 PM

Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) - Car Talk (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) (21359 Views)

Law School Staff In Accident In Edo State. (See Photos) / Female AAU Student Crushed To Death In Edo State (see Photo) / Planned Massive Extortion By Traffic Enforcement Agencies In The United States (2) (3) (4)

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by SicilyNaija: 1:03pm On Nov 06, 2014
EvilSeeed:

[b]Points I noted..

1. O.P parked illegally and got his car towed..

2. O.P paid a Bribe and demanded a reciept for the bribe as if it was a constitutional right.. grin

3. O.P willing participated in the crime of Bribery.

O.P's complaints addressed..

1. O.P thinks the fact that they towed his car and left the other 'police' tagged vehicle equals 'selective Justice'.. What he does not realise is that No illegality was perpertuated.. The officials resevre the right to tow any veihicle at their discretion according to available logistics. Meaning; They had only one towing Van, so they towed only 1 vehicle which just happens to belong to the OP.

2. The Deflated tyres are a part of the standard operations procedure.

3. If you were not shown the fine chart, why then did you pay?! You reserve the right to contest every fine in Court, but O.P rather paid a bribe.

FINALLY:: OP is part of the rot in our society.. You commited an offence, got your car impounded, was told the official fine that he would have paid to a bank and helped the internal revenue of the state and yet opted to pay a bribe.. Then turns around to call on Oshomole to play the victim.. angry

Shey if I slap you now people go say EDSTMA officials are heartless. angry[/b]

you are worse than animal

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by BigBossMan(m): 1:04pm On Nov 06, 2014
The activities of oshiomhole police is highly embarrassing and utterly disgraceful.
Those guys are a bunch of criminals.
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by suzyluv(f): 1:06pm On Nov 06, 2014
Those guys are demons itself because they can even stop you on the high way and seize чя keys and say "you are driving on the wrong high way or why is чя car painted full black" with their red and red uniform
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by EvilSeeed: 1:09pm On Nov 06, 2014
SicilyNaija:

you are worse than animal

Is that so?! grin

O well!! Thats your opinion and I can live with that... But my Post stands.. The OP is culpable for paying a bribe and should be in jail. Same for those who accepted the bribe.

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Nobody: 1:14pm On Nov 06, 2014
colossus2:
The 1st time the so called EDSTMA stopped me, I was driving by the roundabout at ring-road. There was traffic, instead of these men to help in freeing traffic, they were looking for who to fault.
Traffic eased a bit and I moved, next thing was these men entered my car and say I should drive to their office.
I asked what my offence was and they said "diversion of lane".
I was like for roundabout again when hold-up dey and I no even divert lane.
Them begin call price dey bill me oh Shuo.
I just drive dey go, the man begin hold my steering oh. I tell am say I no dey stay this state.
The plan when I bin get to say road free na to drive go my destination make dem beat them.
Last last the person wen accompany me just give them 1k make dem dey go.

Before they fault you, them go 1st spy if your plate number no be Edo state.

always lock ur door and roll ur windows up

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by EvilSeeed: 1:17pm On Nov 06, 2014
solomonslones:

The governor didn't talk about fines, maybe there are fines

but the question is what is the official amount?

1. The Official amount for your offence was 25,000 Naira.. Thats the amoiunt you opted not to pay but to settle for bribery.

solomonslones:

Why should I pay for the towing van?

2. Is the Towing running on solar energy?! Now that you used bribe to settle, how will the money for fueling the Van come from?

solomonslones:

Why should I pay to inflate my tires?

3. Its not by force to inflate your tyres.. You can drive them like that or use your mouth to blow air into it..

solomonslones:

For 2 days I wasn't myself, felt so bad & angry.

4. You are lucky.. You should be in jail.

solomonslones:

If you are from Benin you will know the influx of cars in Benin around the Yuletide season. if this is not checked, then it will be a field day for EDSTMA

5. The Only thing that should be checked are people like you who break the law and then offer bribes to evade punishment. You should be ashamed of yourself for paying anybody a bribe.. BUT you are so Nigerian that you even demanded a receipt for a Bribe..

#Seun.. Stop puting such fuckatious threads on the frontpage.. This is a classic example of everything that is wrong with Nigeria.. Not a single person on the whole fhucking thread has reprimanded the OP for paying a bribe.

OP should be in Jail right now.[/b]

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Sonsugar: 1:31pm On Nov 06, 2014
you made some salient points that is worth noting and some things i said were of no need.if i may ask if on that same road you know that it is dangerous to drive through it when it is lonely will you?why dare the devil when you know you can't fight back. for the charges for towing it is suppose to be 3k not 5k unless they have increased it tow fare.for that list you were looking for they usually give it but you are surprise they didn't so it means you were either ripped off or they collected some money off you for free.the truth is some persons will always be dubious no matter what you preach and when they are caught they claim it is the devil.their employment was to better their life and make the society more better but they have become menace to the society.let the people continue to challenge them and expose them with what ever kind of social medial, cameras and what have you.Very sure their superior is not in support of them but they just need proof that their officers are guilty before they can accuse them because many motorist are liars and road violators. Next time try not to put your hand in the mouth of a dog or else it will bite you.

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by paulavon: 1:45pm On Nov 06, 2014
The EDSMA AKA oshiomhole police has become a terror to vehicle users in Benin city. I have been a victim twice. The first incident was when i first moved to Benin,i parked in front of Ogida market to buy some food stuffs,before i came back my car was gone,i felt like my eyes was deceiving me,i knew i parked my car there and i locked it very well. I later asked some people around and they told me it was oshiomhole police that towed it,i had to go to their office and i saw it there. They gave me a bill of 23k,for illegal parking and unauthorized parking 10k each and 3k for towing. I had to beg and beg,last last i paid 10k before i left.
The second incident was still case of unauthorized parking,there was no notice of no parking there,i saw other cars parked on the right side and there was no more space so i had to park on the left and i never knew they don't park there,before i came out the boys where standing by my car. I pleaded with them but they refused,they told me to settle them with 3k but i gave them 2k i had with me but they refused,they called the towing van to tow my car.
When i got to their office i had to pay 10k. I had to get money from ATM. I have really suffered in their hands. I hate them with passion,i insult them whenever they come closed to me.I almost killed one when he was standing in front of my car. police are far better than them.

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by hijaynation(m): 1:47pm On Nov 06, 2014
otokx:

How many industries are in Akwa Ibom? The population is small and cars are so few so extorting the public will not be profitable.
look at this one how many companies are in edo state or is hotel a companie mtcheew poor state
otokx:

How many industries are in Akwa Ibom? The population is small and cars are so few so extorting the public will not be profitable.
look at this one how many companies are in edo state or is hotel a companie mtcheew poor state
otokx:

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Mutuwa(m): 1:49pm On Nov 06, 2014
deebee13:
I rest my case with kano state karota guys! Those guys are worse dan d devil himself. So bad, dat some people prefer to take public transportation, dan drive their own car! Too much injustice in Nigeria!

Sorry to inquire plz..but how bad are they plz?and could u plz share ur experience or dt of any friend/relative? smiley
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by EvilSeeed: 1:54pm On Nov 06, 2014
paulavon:
The EDSMA AKA oshiomhole police has become a terror to vehicle users in Benin city. I have been a victim twice. The first incident was when i first moved to Benin,i parked in front of Ogida market to buy some food stuffs,before i came back my car was gone,i felt like my eyes was deceiving me,i knew i parked my car there and i locked it very well. I later asked some people around and they told me it was oshiomhole police that towed it,i had to go to their office and i saw it there. They gave me a bill of 23k,for illegal parking and unauthorized parking 10k each and 3k for towing. I had to beg and beg,last last i paid 10k before i left.
The second incident was still case of unauthorized parking,there was no notice of no parking there,i saw other cars parked on the right side and there was no more space so i had to park on the left and i never knew they don't park there,before i came out the boys where standing by my car. I pleaded with them but they refused,they told me to settle them with 3k but i gave them 2k i had with me but they refused,they called the towing van to tow my car.
When i got to their office i had to pay 10k. I had to get money from ATM. I have really suffered in their hands. I hate them with passion,i insult them whenever they come closed to me.I almost killed one when he was standing in front of my car. police are far better than them.

SO you paid bribe twice.. angry

And you are not ashamed to say it.. angry

And tomorrow you will point fingers at our politicians and call them corrupt.. angry
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by tranxo(m): 1:55pm On Nov 06, 2014
Nothing seems to be working again these days. But there's no justification for bribery @OP
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Bluffly: 2:00pm On Nov 06, 2014
solomonslones:
last week I parked my vehicle in a place that had no "no parking" sign & There was another vehicle parked in my front with a police license plate

I barely spent 20mins in the office I went to, when I came out my vehicle had been towed.

Luckily for me their office was not so far off, got there and explained to the man who seem to be incharge, he claimed that, that was a no parking zone, I asked him how he expected me to know without the no parking sign, his response was "everyone knows"

he directed me to another woman to attend to me, she charged me N25,000, stating that 20,000 was for my offense & 5,000 was for the tow truck.

Long story short ended up paying N10,000. When I asked for receipt they handed the money back to me & asked that I go pay the 25,000, then I'll have a receipt. I paid the N10,000 & drove off

Points to note

1. Selective justice:why didn't they tow the vehicle in my front(note it wasn't a utility van or a patrol van)

2. They deflated my tires despite the fact they had a well fortified gate(the Vulcanizer initially charged me N400 for 2tires, ended up paying N200) why should I pay for this?

3.Everyone knows what the official fines are for FRSC but EDSTMA does not show you any official list of fines to be paid( so how do I know I'm not being ripped off)

There were so many cars there with lots of shouting, threats & pleas majority of the offenders there were wrong parking & violation of traffic light, none paid less than N5000

I read in a vanguard article where the Governor said that violators of tragic light should be detained for at least 2hrs, I don't know if there are any fines attached to it but when you get to their office, you must pay

If truly the pen is mightier than the sword, I hereby plead with all to help me pass the message to the appropriate authorities that:

1. The public should be informed on the extent of the powers of EDSTMA(I have tried searching the bill enabling them, I haven't found any)

2. The public should be informed of the official fines to be paid so that when arrested, you will not be ripped off

3.A platform should be created for the public to report erring officials of EDSTMA

I no know wether na my broda or my sister make I call you. You see when you carry agberos put for job na the thing wey person go dey see be that. No be only Benin o, na everywhere, Lagos, Ibadan, Abuja(dem done stop am small). Na so them do me for Ibadan too for 2010, I park say make I ask for description, I no come down o. Before I say jack where is this place them done full my car say why I park for the worng place and me I no say I park wella and no gelemo of No parking sign dey there o. We drag am o soteesotee I come go ATM commot money give them 10,000 thooooousand too from 50,000 o. Hmm. You see the thing wey dey there be say, everybody dey do him own as the ogas at the top too they do there own. The society, economic, financial and security system is vulnerable to hawks and they are ready to make use of every giving opportunity to take what does not accrue to them.
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by EvilSeeed: 2:02pm On Nov 06, 2014
tranxo:
Nothing seem to be working again these days.

Says who?

A lady I know of was wrongfully harrassed by LASTMA officials in Lagos.. She simple alight from the Vehicle, brought out her Camera and started firing off Photographs. The LASTMA officials didnt understand what she was doing.. Then at some point, they literally overpowered her and forcibly removed her keys from her and drove off with her inside to their office..

Long Story short.. She sued them to Court and won about 15Million Naira in Punitive damages..

Meaning:: Evil only thirves when good men fail to act right.. The day we all decide to stop giving bribes is the day these officials would stop recieving bribes.. But the moment people are still willing to pay, then these guys would keep pushing their luck.

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by jamael(m): 2:03pm On Nov 06, 2014
[quote ]
Typical...Sometimes I wonder whether God can help Nigeria... [/quote]
yes he will
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by kibi(f): 2:10pm On Nov 06, 2014
colossus2:
The 1st time the so called EDSTMA stopped me, I was driving by the roundabout at ring-road. There was traffic, instead of these men to help in freeing traffic, they were looking for who to fault.
Traffic eased a bit and I moved, next thing was these men entered my car and say I should drive to their office.
I asked what my offence was and they said "diversion of lane".
I was like for roundabout again when hold-up dey and I no even divert lane.
Them begin call price dey bill me oh Shuo.
I just drive dey go, the man begin hold my steering oh. I tell am say I no dey stay this state.
The plan when I bin get to say road free na to drive go my destination make dem beat them.
Last last the person wen accompany me just give them 1k make dem dey go.

Before they fault you, them go 1st spy if your plate number no be Edo state.
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Madibs: 2:14pm On Nov 06, 2014
My Experience with them was a bitter sweet one, I was Driving from warri to Benin then I got to Adesuwa Junction where the traffic light was directing pipo... I was in the right lane completely and then the Foolish Boy on red uniform ask me to wine down that he wants to tell me something and that was my mistake..... I did and the other guy just quickly shook hand open the back door and they entered...The point is, if them carry my car reach their office no body go believe say I no violate traffic rules oh....Wetin I go do na?....I start to beg the small boys oh....finally they collect 12k from my hand...I drove off....parked the car at Kadda plaza den i come see some Army Officers for oneside...the 12k dey boil for my body.... I just waka straight to the officers tell dem Wetin happen....Omo as we reach where the red boys dey, dem begin shake oh....the officers just call the guy wey hold the money....see SLAP....the guy drop all the money oh....Finally I collect my money back oh...A Sweet Experience indeed!!!!

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Nobody: 2:15pm On Nov 06, 2014
EvilSeeed:

[b]Points I noted..

1. O.P parked illegally and got his car towed..

There was no "no parking" sign so I don't know how that constitutes illegality

2. O.P paid a Bribe and demanded a reciept for the bribe as if it was a constitutional right.. grin

3. O.P willing participated in the crime of Bribery.

O.P's complaints addressed..

1. O.P thinks the fact that they towed his car and left the other 'police' tagged vehicle equals 'selective Justice'.. What he does not realise is that No illegality was perpertuated.. The officials resevre the right to tow any veihicle at their discretion according to available logistics. Meaning; They had only one towing Van, so they towed only 1 vehicle which just happens to belong to the OP.

There where several tow trucks driving round that axis, say the truth:they didn't want police wahala

2. The Deflated tyres are a part of the standard operations procedure.

3. If you were not shown the fine chart, why then did you pay?! You reserve the right to contest every fine in Court, but O.P rather paid a bribe.

FINALLY:: OP is part of the rot in our society.. You commited an offence, got your car impounded, was told the official fine that he would have paid to a bank and helped the internal revenue of the state and yet opted to pay a bribe.. Then turns around to call on Oshomole to play the victim.. angry

Shey if I slap you now people go say EDSTMA officials are heartless. angry[/b]

Who nor dey house naim they beat police!!

Ok Thank you sir, I'm guilty as charged & I'm not playing the victim card neither am I looking for sympathy.

now I want to join the fight against bribery & corruption. Kindly make available the official amount to be paid

also create a platform for people to report erring officials

Thank you
PS:I'm sure you are a staff there

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by thurpee(m): 2:22pm On Nov 06, 2014
Those guys are ubiquitous. They ought to maintain traffic laws and order, instead they hang around to extort people.. Used to see some around Upper forestry Road Junction, By Lagos Road.. Their activities need to be checked
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by sadewun: 2:31pm On Nov 06, 2014
Edo state under OSHOMOLE is poluted by criminals. Na so them dey use touts to collect money along uromi to ubiaja road. At least 5k to pass there with your car.
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Nobody: 2:31pm On Nov 06, 2014
EvilSeeed:

1. The Official amount for your offence was 25,000 Naira.. Thats the amoiunt you opted not to pay but to settle for bribery.

2. Is the Towing running on solar energy?! Now that you used bribe to settle, how will the money for fueling the Van come from?

3. Its not by force to inflate your tyres.. You can drive them like that or use your mouth to blow air into it..

4. You are lucky.. You should be in jail.

5. The Only thing that should be checked are people like you who break the law and then offer bribes to evade punishment. You should be ashamed of yourself for paying anybody a bribe.. BUT you are so Nigerian that you even demanded a receipt for a Bribe..

#Seun.. Stop puting such fuckatious threads on the frontpage.. This is a classic example of everything that is wrong with Nigeria.. Not a single person on the whole fhucking thread has reprimanded the OP for paying a bribe.

OP should be in Jail right now.[/b]
no sir, you are the typical example of everything that is wrong with nigeria. is that the reason why you guys did not put any sign post so as to extort money from innocent citizens. you are quoting law that the op paid a bribe.

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by EvilSeeed: 2:37pm On Nov 06, 2014
solomonslones:

There was no "no parking" sign so I don't know how that constitutes illegality

There where several tow trucks driving round that axis, say the truth:they didn't want police wahala

Who nor dey house naim they beat police!!

Ok Thank you sir, I'm guilty as charged & I'm not playing the victim card neither am I looking for sympathy.

now I want to join the fight against bribery & corruption. Kindly make available the official amount to be paid

also create a platform for people to report erring officials

Thank you
PS:I'm sure you are a staff there

That is why I said Seun should take down this fuckery of a thread..

1. There was no sign.. So why did you pay?! Why didnt you sue them for entrapment?!

2. Why should I make available the official amount for your fine for you, DID I BREAK THE LAW?! angry

3. You said there was no sign, that was your opportunity to challenge the fine seeing as you had a case.. But I am sure you were guilty thats why you quickly paid the bribe.

There is no platform for complaints that would be created... If you feel you have been unjustly apprehended and fined, challenge your fine in the court of Law. angry

#You are sure I am an EDSTMA official abi?! Same way you were sure when you parked illegally. angry

#To Slap you dey hungry me die.. angry

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Nobody: 2:39pm On Nov 06, 2014
paulavon:

Lets assume this is the official amount, I wasn't even told about unauthorized & illegal parking, I was just told 20k for the offense.

Isn't that too high for such an offense? whooping 23k, in a state that Is filled with civil servants receiving 18k as minimum wage?

Was the agency setup to generate revenue?

Is this rate commensurate with global prices?

how then do you check extortion, officials are setting folks up, turning a blind eye to ur actions only to pounce on you, knowing fully well that you wouldn't want to pay the "high official amount" (which is yet to be ascertained)

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by EvilSeeed: 2:40pm On Nov 06, 2014
Nashoji:
no sir, you are the typical example of everything that is wrong with nigeria. is that the reason why you guys did not put any sign post so as to extort money from innocent citizens. you are quoting law that the op paid a bribe.

See this Native Fowl.. angry

So lets assume that indeed there was no sign where the OP parked, why then did he pay the gaddamn fine?! angry

Are you infinitely stuupid or what?! angry

Why didnt he contest the fine and charge in court like an innocent man?! angry

Do you know that he is still culpable for the crime of bribing a public official even if his fine is overturned?!

Education... Thats what most Nigerians truly need..
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Nobody: 2:42pm On Nov 06, 2014
EvilSeeed:

That is why I said Seun should take down this fuckery of a thread..

1. There was no sign.. So why did you pay?! Why didnt you sue them for entrapment?!

2. Why should I make available the official amount for your fine for you, DID I BREAK THE LAW?! angry

3. You said there was no sign, that was your opportunity to challenge the fine seeing as you had a case.. But I am sure you were guilty thats why you quickly paid the bribe.

There is no platform for complaints that would be created... If you feel you have been unjustly apprehended and fined, challenge your fine in the court of Law. angry

#You are sure I am an EDSTMA official abi?! Same way you were sure when you parked illegally. angry

#To Slap you dey hungry me die.. angry

You want to slap me, go ahead take your best shot

It appears you did not get the essence of the whole post.

It appears as your moniker is so are you, so I will ignore you before you contaminate me with evil

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by EvilSeeed: 2:44pm On Nov 06, 2014
solomonslones:

You want to slap me, go ahead take your best shot

It appears you did not get the essence of the whole post.

It appears as your moniker is so are you, so I will ignore you before you contaminate me with evil

I got the essence of the whole post.. In summary, what you want are;

1. Road signs on the roads..

2. A list of offences and fines..

3. Reciept for bribes paid..

Tell me if I missed anything?! angry

The fact remains you paid a bribe for a crime you felt you didnt commit.. Still does not make it any less of a bribe.

Speaking of Monikers, for someone named Solomon (after the mythical wisest man), you are outstandingly stuupid.. angry

Dont bother replying me cos you cant win.. If you feel you have been wronged, take to Police and go arrest somebody. Oshomole aint got time to be on the internet reading such drivel. angry

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by franklampard082(m): 2:48pm On Nov 06, 2014
Those bastards got me the first time and I vowed they will never get me again. AC or no AC I always pin down my doors once I approach them.
When I was still a jjc in Benin, I didn’t notice a certain traffic light cuz I was looking for a particular place so was oblivious to the traffic light up there. I only saw it when it was too late and there was no need braking cuz of my speed. The road was clear and I didn't notice anything. This was long before the banned motorcycles. These boys pushed me on 2 motorcycles and a towing van. I thought it was the Benin version of GTA till they caught up with me at another traffic light that was already blocked. I parted with 6k on the spot. They left me with only 1k. I wisened up but not b4 any incident that involved my sis and I.
On this particular day we got stuck just b4 at a red light but we were on the wrong lane cuz she was not giving me the right direction to where I was to drop her. Before I could say Adams Oshiomole, 3 men were already in the back seat. After all my gragra, they still towed the vehicle to their office and gave us one receipt to go and pay 23k at a bank. I had to start negotiating sharply cuz that sum of money was not going to leave my pocket like that. I had to collect their oga's number to call him when I will be coming with the 8k We finally agreed on. That was when I started looking for my phone. Unknown to me, my sis had already taken it from the car and switched it off and she had to hurriedly leave for her appointment.
See me raking na. I told them that they must provide my phone b4 I report the case to a higher authority. Abeg just dey fly up and down. B4 she left, my sis told me she was with the phone. To cut the long story short, they took my time but did not take my money. After that, it was strictly closed doors. So Far, I've outsmarted them. That's the way forward here
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Nobody: 2:49pm On Nov 06, 2014
As for those saying "why did I pay bribe , why didn't I sue"

The system here is messed up, it's not everyone that has the time & resources to hire a lawyer & go through all the rigors of the court process

we hear of cases that have been in court since 2012,2013

So the man whose case is in court since then, will most probably have his car in the impound lot, pay the legal fees etc how many people can afford this

If you are traveling & driving thru Benin, this happens, will you have the time to go to their office & engaging in a legal battle

the system should be improved that's all I'm after

Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by EvilSeeed: 2:54pm On Nov 06, 2014
solomonslones:
As for those saying "why did I pay bribe , why didn't I sue"

The system here is messed up, it's not everyone that has the time & resources to hire a lawyer & go through all the rigors of the court process

we hear of cases that have been in court since 2012,2013

So the man whose case is in court since then, will most probably have his car in the impound lot, pay the legal fees etc how many people can afford this

If you are traveling & driving thru Benin, this happens, will you have the time to go to their office & engaging in a legal battle

the system should be improved that's all I'm after

Guy drex!!

Shey na the same Benin wey we all don grove tire?! angry

You never carry case go court but you don judge the matter say e go reach fifty years.. angry Why not first try. Since you are too lazy to sue, we are too lazy to care. angry

Typical Nigerians and their foolish response.. If that woman in Lagos had adopted your style, she no for see 15million naira settlement and Lastma for still dey rascal like before.
Re: Oppression & Extortion By Edo State Traffic Management Agency (EDSTMA) by Nobody: 2:59pm On Nov 06, 2014
EvilSeeed:

[b]I got the essence of the whole post.. In summary, what you want are;

1. Road signs on the roads..

2. A list of offences and fines..

3. Reciept for bribes paid..

4.platform for erring officials to be reported

Corrected

When a mason tells you of how he connived with your brother to swindle you of cement, your immediate concern should be how to put your brother in check before dealing with the mason

they are supposed to uphold the law & not victimize or oppress citizens, they are to reject bribes when offered & have them arrested

they are not to set traps for citizens to fall into

if after this you say otherwise, kindly unfollow this thread

2017 Bugatti Sets World Record, 0 - 249MPH And Back To 0 In 41Seconds(Photos) / How Toyota Engines Are Re-built In Ladipo / Avoid These 5 Things That Can Damage Your Car – Innoson Motors

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 104