Stats: 3,152,224 members, 7,815,281 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 10:11 AM

Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. - Travel (117) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. (683090 Views)

The Adventures Of A Village Scholar In Germany / Getting A Green Card By Adjustment Of Status: My Yankee Experience / Naija to Yankee Thoughts And Experiences (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (114) (115) (116) (117) (118) (119) (120) ... (220) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by OluDare01(m): 1:56pm On Oct 28, 2017
What's your take on Nigerian girls here that are either citizens or PR? Have you had any experience with them?
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Hushee(m): 10:17pm On Oct 28, 2017
FrankNetter:

I dey go work today, I go confirm via carefully crafted interviews. Not with my amu biko grin

Aiit bro, that one sef go do but interview no fit be like the real practical experience.
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Originalsly: 8:04pm On Oct 29, 2017
FrankNetter:
He said he sold his car and got this for $2,000. I was like "who buys a skateboard for that amount?"

Only when he powered it on and I saw it move did I realize what it was. Apparently, it's a rechargeable motorized skateboard. Smart thinking.

Uh, video of it is on my instagram story. Hurry if you wanna take a glimpse of it.
Hmmm..... I thought you had to be crazy to be riding a bike in NYC....a normal bike... but now?....it's the electric bikes and these skateboard people taking over. ..... and those things are fast....damn fast...and quiet!....while driving have to look for them before turning ! Never knew the skateboards were remote controlled! ...those people crazy...damn crazy!

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by hanassholesolo: 8:12pm On Oct 29, 2017
FrankNetter:

The next day when I came in, I guess Mr J had done some research about Nigeria, so he was brimming with knowledge and questions. I had barely walked in when he started bombarding me with questions about my home country Nigeria. Most of his questions were centered around what he had read on the internet. He didn't see "a lot of good stuff" he said. I mentally rolled my eyes, "here we go again", I thought,

****brb

This Paragraph really got to me. There is no thread on Nairaland that has kept me glued to my screen like this one. There is no thread on Nairaland that has interested me in such a way that when i sleep, i still wake up and come back to that same thread. There is no thread that has made me Happy, Sad, Frustrated, at the same time like this thread. Thank God for your self awareness and your ability to describe the little things you noticed. It made all the difference in the world. This thread made me question my entire existence. So i may die without having experienced what Modern civilization feels like? wow, it's too much.

34 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Toppytek(m): 9:44pm On Oct 29, 2017
hanassholesolo:

This Paragraph really got to me. There is no thread on Nairaland that has kept me glued to my screen like this one. There is no thread on Nairaland that has interested me in such a way that when i sleep, i still wake up and come back to that same thread. There is no thread that has made me Happy, Sad, Frustrated, at the same time like this thread. Thank God for your self awareness and your ability to describe the little things you noticed. It made all the difference in the world. This thread made me question my entire existence. So i may die without having experienced what Modern civilization feels like? wow, it's too much.

just like the first time I drove a Toyota Corolla.. d tin make sense for my hand.. I con be like.. how Mercedes go con be for Lagos ibadan expressway?.. lol

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by cedar3: 11:53pm On Oct 29, 2017
hanassholesolo:

dats what am talking about bro, dat one will live in d 21st century without "tasting" it. it's just too much for me.

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Makaveli1166(m): 12:17am On Oct 30, 2017
just finished reading from 0-116..frank you doing a great job here with all the adventures and visible emotions attached to every update/experience.you such a lucky nigga bruh mayb cos of your simpicity,tho i havn't got to knw you in person, but with my point of view you an easy going person. I hope and sure iam gona leave this hell hole very soon. But i just wana finish(school via RSUST)wat i started "i knw it wasnt an easy call to make via you leaving(school)but i think itz worth it when the oppurtunity presents itz self;i would have done the same too<no doubt>i rep PH CITY> God bless America and deliver.% Nigeria.

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by beezyblaze(m): 1:29pm On Oct 30, 2017
Is it just for fun bro.... Or is there any possibility of being noticed by scouts
FrankNetter:

Sometimes, it's not free bro. Some meetups charge as much as $15 sometimes. I normally look out for the ones that charge like $2 or $5.

First picture: app I use to search for soccer matches

Second and third pictures: screenshots of soccer meetups scheduled for tomorrow being Saturday

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by guiddoti: 9:34pm On Oct 30, 2017
Makaveli1166:
just finished reading from 0-116..frank you doing a great job here with all the adventures and visible emotions attached to every update/experience.you such a lucky nigga bruh mayb cos of your simpicity,tho i havn't got to knw you in person, but with my point of view you an easy going person. I hope and sure iam gona leave this hell hole very soon. But i just wana finish(school via RSUST)wat i started "i knw it wasnt an easy call to make via you leaving(school)but i think itz worth it when the oppurtunity presents itz self;i would have done the same too<no doubt>i rep PH CITY> God bless America and deliver.% Nigeria.
I hope you feel refresh.

Take medal!
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by hanassholesolo: 9:34pm On Oct 31, 2017
Franknetter, abeg give us some Halloween gist.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by sharpwriter(m): 8:09pm On Nov 02, 2017
omoboy110:
Finally 0-115 took me three days,read every damn comment and post.Enjoyed it though am not coming to yankee
Why are yu nt coming to Yankee?
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by nastyd(m): 1:23am On Nov 04, 2017
0 - 116 in about 6days.
Its been an eye opener for me really.
Thanks Franknetter for your detailed experience thus far, and as well a big shoutout to the other guy ( forgotten d moniker, Sincere Apologies) that post pics on a regular.
God bless our hustles brethren

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 2:07pm On Nov 04, 2017
OluDare01:
What's your take on Nigerian girls here that are either citizens or PR? Have you had any experience with them?

Uh, the ones that are friends with my sisters seem quite cool from afar but I haven't really gone close. With time, I'll unravel that part though.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 2:08pm On Nov 04, 2017
Makaveli1166:

One love bro

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Chicksy(f): 3:55pm On Nov 04, 2017
Myself and 5 of my siblings case is complete. And our interview have been scheduled, NOVEMBER 15,Same time for everyone of us..My question is concerning the interview.. Are we going to be interviewed together?.Will they call us individually?... What to expect....(child of a Us citizen below 21)..The letter says petitioner won't be allowed.. So we will be going ourselves and we really don't know how to prepare and what to expect...
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Makaveli1166(m): 7:10pm On Nov 04, 2017
[Just pray hard nigga
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 8:13pm On Nov 04, 2017
Chicksy:
Myself and 5 of my siblings case is complete. And our interview have been scheduled, NOVEMBER 15,Same time for everyone of us..My question is concerning the interview.. Are we going to be interviewed together?.Will they call us individually?... What to expect....(child of a Us citizen below 21)..The letter says petitioner won't be allowed.. So we will be going ourselves and we really don't know how to prepare and what to expect...

You guys would be interviewed together (all the siblings). In my case, we delegated the answering of questions to the eldest sibling (our Ada) and myself, so as not make the interview seem rowdy, the plan was if a question was thrown at us and there's a notable pause, someone else could then answer the question.

You guys should go with your family pictures. Make sure you try to relax, get some sleep and pray. You'd be fine smiley

Relax!!

25 Likes 1 Share

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by 2Banty: 5:53am On Nov 05, 2017
Hello @FrankNetter and other US based Bigerians. Pls I wanna ask, how do u guys send electronics and other stuff back to Nigeria at a cheap rate. I recently got to the US and want to send a tab home but Fedex and Dhl are cutthroat.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by PDPGuy: 6:28am On Nov 05, 2017
2Banty:
Hello @FrankNetter and other US based Bigerians. Pls I wanna ask, how do u guys send electronics and other stuff back to Nigeria at a cheap rate. I recently got to the US and want to send a tab home but Fedex and Dhl are cutthroat.

You can try UPS, but they will first deliver it to NIPOST, which will then deliver it to you.
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 6:51am On Nov 05, 2017
PDPGuy:

You can try UPS, but they will first deliver it to NIPOST, which will then deliver it to you.

UPS? or USPS?
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by 2Banty: 6:51am On Nov 05, 2017
PDPGuy:

Thanks boss. But pls do u have any ideas on the cost of shipping a phone or tab using UPS?
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by PDPGuy: 6:56am On Nov 05, 2017
2Banty:

Thanks boss. But pls do u have any ideas on the cost of shipping a phone or tab using UPS?
I have no idea. I only shipped an article of clothing some years ago. It cost around $60 then. Not sure about now.
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Chicksy(f): 6:08pm On Nov 05, 2017
well understood.. Thank you so much
FrankNetter:

You guys would be interviewed together (all the siblings). In my case, we delegated the answering of questions to the eldest sibling (our Ada) and myself, so as not make the interview seem rowdy, the plan was if a question was thrown at us and there's a notable pause, someone else could then answer the question.

You guys should go with your family pictures. Make sure you try to relax, get some sleep and pray. You'd be fine smiley

Relax!!
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 11:36pm On Nov 05, 2017
sharpwriter:

Why are yu nt coming to Yankee?
Incessant and unbridled mass shootings. Oh, there is another one. Texas turn! Gay people everywhere too!
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by 1Rebel: 3:40am On Nov 06, 2017
elfmann:

Incessant and unbridled mass shootings. Oh, there is another one. Texas turn! Gay people everywhere too!

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by sesan24: 11:04am On Nov 07, 2017
this 9ja don tire pesin. NO Light, water, good roads; everything zero. even internet connection nawa
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by hanassholesolo: 6:37am On Nov 08, 2017
This picture reminded me of some people here.

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by barondmoni: 8:13am On Nov 08, 2017
Oga franknetter and other U.S base guyz, please i want verify something from you guys ....am planning to relocate to U.S Manchester precisely cos my uncle lives there,but my aunty who stays in Oklahoma is the one who wants to apply the visa for me there....I want to know if is possible to apply for visa in Oklahoma and land in Manchester ?what are the requirements?which visa will i ask her to apply 4? so has to stay long work and probably enroll to university soon......tnx guys
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by barondmoni: 8:14am On Nov 08, 2017
God bless this Trend
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by chokey419(m): 7:40pm On Nov 08, 2017
barondmoni:
Oga franknetter and other U.S base guyz, please i want verify something from you guys ....am planning to relocate to U.S Manchester precisely cos my uncle lives there,but my aunty who stays in Oklahoma is the one who wants to apply the visa for me there....I want to know if is possible to apply for visa in Oklahoma and land in Manchester ?what are the requirements?which visa will i ask her to apply 4? so has to stay long work and probably enroll to university soon......tnx guys
Manchester in the US. What state is that?

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by damoceile: 10:33pm On Nov 08, 2017
See o I been just dey Naija physically but my mental, spiritual being is in the diaspora Canada to be precise, God wey your eyes dey abeg, this hell hole of a country don tire man pikin biko cry

(1) (2) (3) ... (114) (115) (116) (117) (118) (119) (120) ... (220) (Reply)

Giving Birth In Canada / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 19 / General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 45