Stats: 3,194,630 members, 7,955,309 topics. Date: Saturday, 21 September 2024 at 10:11 PM

Abok1's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Abok1's Profile / Abok1's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Politics / Re: Construction Of Abuja-Kaduna Fast Railway Enters Final Phase by Abok1(m): 1:43am On Jul 05, 2013
sarutobie:
It should have sunk into your head by now that nobody is taking you serious..try another tactics...meanwhile keep breathing the fresh air!

Let me guess, you feel high levels of ecstasy by replying a question with shallow statements like the one you made above. You must think my sole aim for pointing out the folly of the HSR is for self commendation and approval?

You just don't get it, I have merely stated the obvious, prove me wrong with facts and figures. This is not a dick measurement competition

Its quite funny when I read comments like yours about being taken serious. Another intelligent comment from someone to be taken serious I guess, what an irony

Politics / Re: Construction Of Abuja-Kaduna Fast Railway Enters Final Phase by Abok1(m): 1:10am On Jul 05, 2013
chaloner:
Please if u are not happy better go and sleep or as well enjoy ur fight in dream dnt u ever come here to make dis silly noise again....... How many so priority work do ur past government did? Its high time some pple like this start receiving slap from each member of nairaland cos wat u re trying to tell us is dat our president can't see. Be careful.

I nearly overlooked your comment, but could not resist the urge to address your ignorance.

I was having a 'civilised' discussion with a person who fully understood my points, but rather than you contribute meaningfully to the topic, you resort to abusing my person without knowing you from Adam. I fully respect your right to asinine comments, but in the interest of respect for the challenged, I will let this pass. Next time when your level of reasoning cannot decipher the points being analysed, simply ignore the statements, rather than resorting to embarrassing yourself in a public forum. I wonder from under which rock you crawled out from. Is this how you slap everyone around you? This shows your level of sanity.

You are the one that needs to go to bed because it's evening where I am.
Now you can crawl back.

Politics / Re: Construction Of Abuja-Kaduna Fast Railway Enters Final Phase by Abok1(m): 12:48am On Jul 05, 2013

Here's a short piece for you to critically access the viability of the proposed venture

Let's assume we are trying to finance a metro line in a large, developing but fictitious capital city and we have prepared estimates for the number of passengers expected to use the system and the cost of building the system. Suppose we have a line which is mostly elevated on concrete structures and runs for 15 kms across the city. It might cost US$ 50 million a kilometre including trains and all equipment necessary to run the line - power, signalling control, communications, fare collection, a maintenance depot, stations and operating offices. It could add up to US$ 750 million. Let's assume we have borrowed the money to pay for it and we have got to pay interest at 10% per annum. That's US$ 75 million a year in interest to pay - at least for the first few years.

To cover the interest payments we need to sell tickets - lots of them. Well, we have a large, populated city in a rapidly developing country and our consultants have done detailed traffic surveys. They tell us we can expect an average of 150,000 passenger trips a day. This is equivalent to a medium-sized metro or light rail system and would show a peak hour flow in the peak direction of about 18,000 - 20,000 passengers.

Because this is public transit and we want to attract passengers and we want to keep them from polluting the city with their cars, we keep the fares as low as possible so we expect an average income of US$ 0.50 per trip. This is actually low for the US and Europe but about right for a developing city. It gives us an income of just over US$ 27 million a year. Well folks, this doesn't even cover our interest payments. And we haven't paid for our power yet, nor employees to run the system, nor allowed for maintenance costs, nor a sinking fund for renewals. And we haven't figured out how to pay back the $750 million we borrowed in the first place, which the bank wants back in 10 years - equivalent to $75 million a year.

Here is our simplified annual income and expenditure sheet:

Item Income/Year Expenditure/Year
Fares $27 million
Operations $25 million
Maintenance $20 million
Renewals $15 million
Interest $75 million
Repayments $75 million

Item Income/Year Expenditure/Year
Total $27 million $200 million

So, in our example, our costs are nearly seven times our income and our income estimates are already very optimistic. Here, we are seeing income as 12.8% of expenditure. In most modern rail transit projects the real income/expenditure ratio is between 5% and 20%. Don't forget also that there won't be any income for the three to four years (or whatever) it takes to build the system.

High Speed Line Financing Example
In considering costs and revenue, we can look also at a high speed line. In this example, the project is a 350 km line which is expected to cost US$ 17.5 billion to build and equip. Daily trips are expected to be 250,000, so each trip must generate $19.75 just to cover interest payments. An additional $75 a trip will be required to cover operating, energy and maintenance costs. So far no profit has been included. An airline ticket to cover the same distance is approximately the same price but the trip takes one third of the time. The government would have to finance a large chunk of the construction costs (the expectation is 50%) and they would have to guarantee the repayments to lenders. The hope is that property development in the areas around the stations along the route will generate finance and income to help fund the project. Property can be very profitable but it is also a very high risk investment and it should be regarded as a long term investment. Only a few new railways have generated much additional income through property development.

The Way Forward - Backwards?
The last 15 years have shown that the privatisation of the railways in the UK has not proved to be the success that politicians hoped it would be. It has proved expensive, increasing real costs by 50% pro rata over those of the nationalised railway.

Sources: International Railway Journal, Railway Gazette International, Modern Railways, Railway Age, Mass Transit, Asia Rail Conference 1999.

The piece above is self explanatory

Politics / Re: Construction Of Abuja-Kaduna Fast Railway Enters Final Phase by Abok1(m): 12:38am On Jul 05, 2013
Rossikk:

Ever heard of Public-Private Partnership?

I am getting bored with your rhetorics and geriatrics, I have stated the multiple reasons why this exercise is wasteful and unnecessary, you haven't countered any of the points raised. On the issue of PPP, no sane Private investor would invest the necessary capital into HSR without guarantees, this are not mere assurances on the part of the government. We are talking about regional guarantees that assures the operator that even if they don't make profits in the home countries, they can venture to other places depending on the forces of demand. Not only that, they need indicators showing precedence which in the case of Nigeria is absent. How do you expect a Venture capital to invest into a country that could not manage a mere locomotive engine powered rail lines? How do you convince them to invest when you can not generate enough power to service up to 20% of the populace without interruption for a long term?

Without mincing words, we are misplacing our priorities.

Politics / Re: Construction Of Abuja-Kaduna Fast Railway Enters Final Phase by Abok1(m): 12:25am On Jul 05, 2013
Rossikk:

Mr Socrates. I'm sure they never thought about that, unlike you, the guru.

Why don't you wait for the project completion. Then you'll see where the power would be ''conjured'' from?

Now I know you guys are jokers, you should have stated in the title that the train project is just starting, then we will take you serious, not lie in our faces about being in the final phase.

How about the practicability of the exercise? I bet you think constructing an high speed rail line is a joke. It is permissible if you guys are ignorant and rather than try helplessly to mask your naivety, you should come out plainly and admit your folly.

How does it benefit an average Nigerian if you embark on an ego boosting project that is simply senseless to say the least? How does investing billions of dollars into Highspeed rail improve the standard of living of an average Nigerian. How does it improve the standard of education?

An average locomotive train which is not HSR costs between €1.29million ("Inspiro" EMUs) to €4.7million (Vossloh Espania), thats expensive in itself, talkless of an old variant HSR engine of the likes of 300X Shinkansen (1996 or 1997) which costs around $40 million each. How many of those would be needed to effectively service the whole country? or you guys are thinking of buying just one HSR train engine to serve the whole federation.

Lets state the obvious when we see it. GEJ is trying, but investing in HSR is simply stupidity and for you praise singers to applaud such move shows your level of reasoning. GEJ should not finish the whole federal reserve or push Nigeria into years of indebtedness all because of senseless projects. There are millions of projects that could be effectively tackled which would be more beneficial to the masses

Politics / Re: Construction Of Abuja-Kaduna Fast Railway Enters Final Phase by Abok1(m): 11:48pm On Jul 04, 2013

The level of shamelessness as exhibited from Sincere9gerian is just unfathomable.

How would someone shamelessly call track laying the final phase of an High speed train construction project?

Except you don't know what an High speed rail is called which can be understood, don't you dare come to a public fora like Nairaland to lie into our faces.

Firstly, where are the overhead switches for powering the high-speed rail? Until you get to this phase, you cannot say with clear conscience that you are in a final phase of construction.

Secondly, if the overhead current transmitters are constructed, where would the FG conjure up the required power generation to sustain the constant need for the individual railway footprints?

I think you should desist from saying things that you know little about, because its becoming insulting to say the least

Sports / Re: Nigeria Vs Spain - Confederations Cup: (0 - 3) On 23rd June 2013 by Abok1(m): 9:57am On Jun 25, 2013
Adanyebe: What did ideye brown gaain from missing all our chances?

Jersey from Torres
Celebrities / Re: Celebrity Section Complaints/Suggestions Thread by Abok1(m): 12:28pm On Jun 13, 2013
Full video of tonto dikeh's fall at iyanya's concert in London

https://www.nairaland.com/1323308/full-video-tonto-dikehs-fall
Celebrities / . by Abok1(m): 12:20pm On Jun 13, 2013

Politics / Re: Mixed Reactions On Enugu's Kia Police Cars by Abok1(m): 10:54pm On Jun 06, 2013

I laugh in Hindi.

This is swag, not kia

Anyways, its a good start

Politics / Re: Presidential Mid-term Report Clashes With Fashola's Interactive Session by Abok1(m): 10:53am On May 29, 2013

I don't know why the lapdogs are worried about fashola's broadcast. How does the clashing of dates change the fact that Fashola is doing better than GEJ, except the GEJ guys are afraid of the fact that the people would gladly tune in the the Governor that has affected their lives positively, not a President that removed subsidy thereby causing more hardship to the people, lied about reinvesting the money saved into buying busses, with nothing to show for it, a president that sent the Army after the people that protested the subsidy removal, a president that pardons thieves and crooks, while at the same time causes hardship for Lagosians working on the island anytime he visits Lagos. It is democracy, people should be allowed alternatives and not be forced to watch a boring broadcast from GEJ

Nairaland / General / Re: To The "Carl Allen" Personality. If You Have Something To Say To Me, Am All Ears by Abok1(m): 10:26am On May 29, 2013
@Pipsland78 you are a disgrace to humanity for posting what you posted about gboliwe. So, after posting it, what have you achieved? How has that made you richer or more successful in life? You just couldn't pass your message across without being petty. If you are a man, you are a coward, and if you are a woman, you are disgrace to the feminine gender. You seriously need to apologise and take off the post because is just soo wrong. May God forgive you, because I as human wouldn't think of doing same after what you've just posted.

Travel / Re: Nigerians In Diaspora: What Do You Miss Most About Home? by Abok1(m): 7:24pm On May 24, 2013
adaobi123:

lol I dont even have one tongue

hahhaha congestion charge !! ken livingstone at his best grin grin grin grin

You could get it for me nah.....lol
unless you don't travel out of London often

The rail card cuts the costs by up to 35% at times....(kai I miss those days of Leeds monthly trips cry cry)
Travel / Re: Nigerians In Diaspora: What Do You Miss Most About Home? by Abok1(m): 7:18pm On May 24, 2013
adaobi123:

yeah I know expensive london ! undecided

loool you're getting old grin grin

You could give me your own rail card as friends nah wink.......lol

The new houses around Stratford looks tempting, might be coming back to London depending on plans....my only concern is the congestion charges when driving and the unpredictability of jubilee line.... undecided

Travel / Re: Nigerians In Diaspora: What Do You Miss Most About Home? by Abok1(m): 7:11pm On May 24, 2013
adaobi123:

Kai and you live in the midlands ? you try o !

The house prices in central london is crazy I tell ya... I miss those days of student rail cards cry cry

But its very comfy on the trains apart from Fridays.

Travel / Re: Nigerians In Diaspora: What Do You Miss Most About Home? by Abok1(m): 7:07pm On May 24, 2013
adaobi123:

grin grin but still thats a lot of money a week just to get food though.

abeg I need to hit canning town !!! Im coming for ya grin cheesy wink

I work around the Pimlico area and I usually buy the monthly tickets...the only extra cost is on the DLR from Stratford or Jubilee

Travel / Re: Nigerians In Diaspora: What Do You Miss Most About Home? by Abok1(m): 6:59pm On May 24, 2013
adaobi123:

you serious ? you get momey o ! lipsrsealed shocked

Nah... just an addiction.

Besides, Virgin trains never stop work nah...

Travel / Re: Nigerians In Diaspora: What Do You Miss Most About Home? by Abok1(m): 6:55pm On May 24, 2013
adaobi123: if theres suya in the usa, there must be suya here angry Suya I go find you

check the Nigerian restaurant in Canning town, they usually do suya, asun, snails. wink

I make a two hour journey from the midlands just for their "ewa aganyin" every other week

Travel / Re: Nigerians In Diaspora: What Do You Miss Most About Home? by Abok1(m): 6:12pm On May 24, 2013

1. Third mainland bridge traffic
2. Gala and lacasera
3. Correct nigerian yam, not the small ones you get at the african shops
4. Shawarma....Naija style cry cry cry

Politics / Re: Infrastructure Bank To Fund N400bn Lagos Rail Project by Abok1(m): 9:01pm On May 02, 2013

While insincere Nigerian is becoming a laughing stock and his Otueke fisherman paymaster is looking for which plane to ground, Fashola is busy building infrastructures for Lagos state.

I fully understand the frustrations of the laptop crew, there is no way to discredit this stubborn man called Fashola.

Corruption....uniting Nigeria since 1914...

Politics / Re: Probe Me Not My Aides - Obasanjo Challenged Jonathan by Abok1(m): 4:22pm On Apr 29, 2013
Billyonaire: If GEJ decides to probe him, I am 100% sure there will be reason for OBJ to go back to prison. But I trust GEJ to dismiss an old man's folly and wrestle all the ills that OBJ stockpiled.

Dilapidated Airports, renovated and more constructed.
The Power Sector Epilepsy with billions finding its way into the accounts on OBJ's surrogates both home and abroad.
Even the Otta Farm he is living is a property of the Feds via the Defunct River Basin Authority.

OBJ was just a thug in Government, pursuing Mike Adenuga out of the country and also Pocketing his 250m Naira and chasing his opponents up and down. OBJ went ahead to impose a sick Yaradua (RIP) on Nigerians because he knew he will be too sick to out-perform him in office, so he, OBJ can shine for ever. Now that GEJ has out-perfome in just 2yrs, OBJ has gone crazy acting like a child dancing to the drum beats of the masquerade.

OBJ needs classroom lessons from IBB, Gowon, Abdulsalam etc on how to shut-the-hell up!

GEJ has done in 2yrs, what OBJ could not do in 8yrs, this is indisputable. That talkative of a woman needs to be probed, and she has to go to prison for abuse of the tenets of Freedom of Speech. Freedom has limitation and repercussion, its NOT Liberty. If she is clean, she should not be afraid of ICPC, and OBJ should not freak-out, cos the ICPC is indirectly against him, She has to answer to Nigerians and for OBJ.

I love OBJ, but I hate is bullish & f00lish loquaciousness.

You and your cronies are just too daft to understand the high level of foolishness that comes out of your stinking mouths. This high level of irresponsibility is unprecedented in the history of Nigeria, I can't help but wonder if you actually get paid for doing such a shoddy job at defending your principal.

The OBJ you accused of corruption has challenged you and your cronies to probe him if you can, but like the cowards that you are, you dare not. What a waste of space you lots are.

Your case is just as pathetic as your name signifies, it would have been better if you didn't respond to this post, which would have made you look a lot more intelligent than you actually are. Like a dull-head, you chose to respond without understanding the irony of the statement made by OBJ.

Who doesn't know that OBJ was corrupt? but he has just challenged your principal to probe him if has has the guts and grit to do so.OBJ has succeeded in making you look stupid geez!!

GEJ has not shown any desirable quality of a leader yet he wants to continue as president in 2015.

Is it by force to rule Nigeria?

Politics / Re: Alison-Madueke Named In N59tr Shady Oil-Deal by Abok1(m): 2:01pm On Apr 26, 2013
Orikinla: So what then do we make of this news that Diezani Alison-Madueke and Mamphele Ramphele Among Leading Influential African Women
http://www.nigeriansreport.com/2013/04/diezani-alison-madueke-and-mamphele.html

The definition of influence is not limited to being good or bad. That being said, naturally she would be influential because she heads the most important ministry in the economy of Nigeria and the performance or non-performance of her ministry determines the economic outlook of the country in general.

Politics / Re: Alison-Madueke Named In N59tr Shady Oil-Deal by Abok1(m): 1:52pm On Apr 26, 2013

While we await the outcome of the enquiry by the senate, I won't be surprised when and if the issue is swept under the carpet as soon as the necessary parties have been taken care of.

The allocation of oil blocs especially as in the case of Nigeria is a very sensitive matter that should be treated with integrity. I dont see anything wrong in making it a duty to follow due process or involve the indigenous population in the approval process, at the end of which the people themselves would vote on the preferred bidder.

How on earth can we justify the underdevelopment of the oil producing regions in Nigeria? I think the major problem in this country is the people themselves, from an average citizen to the people's representatives Community heads, Youth representatives, local government chairmen, senators, state governors, commissioners ....

Politics / Re: Corruption level In Nigeria Exaggerated - Jonathan by Abok1(m): 11:30am On Apr 23, 2013

It seems like anytime our dear President opens his mouth, he makes docile comments. It would have made more sense if he kept quiet, like the saying goes silence is golden.

Each time he makes pathetic comments which makes him look less intelligent than earlier perceived to be, wondering what his PR guys are being paid to do.

Politics / Re: Corruption Is Massive Under Jonathan – US by Abok1(m): 7:33am On Apr 23, 2013
Sincere 9gerian: .... the new Chief Justice of the Federation is taking steps to curb the impunity in the Judiciary. Recently, 3 Justices were sacked. About 14 Justices or so are currently being investigated by the National Judicial Council.........hose who abused the system are currently undergoing prosecution.

If its taking more than a year after the subsidy brouhaha to indict the thieves, in your fantasies the corrupt individuals would be brought to justice?

If the FG wants us to take it serious, it should prosecute ALL corrupt officials, starting from Alams, Bankole, Gbenga Daniel. But of course, you and I know nothing would be done to these thieves.

usmsam: @SincereNigerian, Rossike, Billyonaire and co
So all of you can sit in front of your computer all day lying blatantly and then pray to God later with no shame. I weep for you all.

Devils in human form!

Politics / Re: Corruption Is Massive Under Jonathan – US by Abok1(m): 7:09am On Apr 23, 2013
dayokanu: Anyone that expected anything better from Retardeen given his antecedents is not being realistic

First Jonathan was installed by the corrupt politicians to protect their interest.

He has never excelled in any position before.

From his time as Bayelsa Deputy when he was Alams deputy stealing them dry or his reign as Governor where his wife was stealing the state dry

He has blatantly refused to declare his assets when his Boss Yar Adua did

Welcome to the Fresh air we voted since he had no shoes

Sometimes I wonder why people would expect a different turn of events from this present administration. A government that could not account for the over 4 Trillion naira that was embezzled during the subsidy scam, while maintaining a relaxed approach like we are talking about 20 naira. We are talking about 4 friggin trilion Naira !!!! of the nation's wealth finding its way into the pockets of some few. While we are still at it, I am yet to see anyone benefit from the proposed busses, but rather than sort out these issues, our dear President has his focus on 2015.

Well I am not surprised, because he cannot claim innocence while he was still the deputy governor. He cannot claim not to know about Alams' stealing.

Rather than facing the issues he would rather grant presidential pardons to criminals and amnesty to terrorists so that the corruption money would continue flowing without obstacles.

My question is this, what has he done with this present term? How has he transformed the fortunes of this nation if he has failed in his duty to guard the national wealth. For crying out loud, 2015 is still two years away.

Jonathan should be ashamed of himself.

Politics / Re: Oshiomhole Revokes Igbinedion, Others’ 101,548 Hectares Of Land by Abok1(m): 4:36pm On Apr 17, 2013

This show of respect to the masses ahead of some individuals who believe they are lords over others, is highly commendable, considering the calibre of people involved.
This to me is the true meaning of democracy which should be government for the people, not for some group of selfish individuals, who are already comfortable and making millions in profit, and rather than being satisfied with what they have, they would rather collect the little from the poor masses.

A classic example of the rich feeding fat and getting richer at the expense of the poor.

Politics / Re: Jonathan Sets-Up Amnesty Committee For Boko-Haram by Abok1(m): 4:28pm On Apr 17, 2013

I m trying so hard not to conclude that the president doesn't have a good advisory team. The sensible thing to do would have been establishing contacts withy the Boko haram guys, then identifying their leaders. Then the next phase should be knowing what their demands are then negotiating with them before making it public.

Not the way he's going about it, because it is appalling that the presidency would act without proper coordination and calculated attempts. The Boko boys have stated that they are not interested in amnesty, I'm wondering what we are still doing setting up committee after committee for no relevant reason.

Islam for Muslims / Re: Boko-Haram Is Not An Islamic Organisation – Babangida Aliyu by Abok1(m): 12:44pm On Apr 17, 2013

But what should we call them? An humanitarian organisation? Or non-governmental agency

Politics / Re: PDP Chieftains Offered Me N3bn To Impeach Okorocha – Imo Speaker by Abok1(m): 12:26pm On Apr 17, 2013

And for refusing the money, this guy should be knighted and given a sainthood . Total hogwash, I bet these guys think we are fools? A Nigerian politician refusing 3billion?
He would impeach the governor's a$$ for 20% of that. I'm sure he was offered money, but he probably refused it for the money offered being too small. This man deserves to be arrested and prosecuted, or if he's lying he should be sued for defamation of character.
Computers / Re: Nigeria Invests $1B For The Construction ICT Incubation Centres by Abok1(m): 12:19pm On Apr 17, 2013
otokx: This money would have made more impact if invested in power or roads. Why do we engage in self deception? Why do we compare ourselves with India that has a technically sound & competent educational/medical system? What is wrong with our leaders?

You beat me to it. While this is a good concept, it would have been better if the government focuses more on solving the basic things. It's like building on a weak foundation, the building is bound to collapse. Rather than releasing funds to agencies, thereby creating an avenue for some set of people to embezzle money, the focus should be on the infrastructures and attracting investments. To me a calculated drive to woo the major players in the technology like apple, Samsung, google and so on, will naturally develop the country's ICT sector. Why can't we have a Foxconn in nigeria? A place where apple can assemble its products at least we have the population for these production. Why can't we copy the Philippine or Indian model where a lot of companies outsource their operations, say customer call centres.

As usual, a noble idea without proper feasibility study.
Politics / Re: 99.9% Of Nigerians Are Honest - Okonjo-Iweala: True? by Abok1(m): 12:09pm On Apr 17, 2013

Now that she know that 99.9% of Nigerians are hard working and the only thing lacking is good governance, what has she done to rectify the anomaly? I am tired of hearing bull crap from these politicians who would go to any length to whip up sentiments without addressing the main issue which sadly is these same people, the politicians. Have they no shame? Going about, sounding philosophical and all, aiming to score cheap points by acting like they've figured out what the actual problem is.

It's shameful no matter how you look at it.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 105