Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by beryour(m): 9:23pm On Oct 27, 2021 |
Unfortunately, I did not see it. I have sent a PM to you instead. jtech17: Sent you a PM too... |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by beryour(m): 11:13pm On Oct 26, 2021 |
There is a general delay and lots of people are having to wait without an alternative. You can only wait also, they will begin to clear off the long wait soon. solalal36: Hello, please I need urgent advice. I went to the post office to collect my BRP and I was told they haven't received it. The thing is I want to apply for NI number but there is no available alternative for me.
NB: There seems to be a delay in the production of BRP |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by beryour(m): 11:11pm On Oct 26, 2021 |
Engineering is still lucrative in the UK, but this depends on what level of 'Lucrativity' you want  Also there are still lots of jobs, got 2 easily before leaving. So you might find it easy also. Send a PM, I will reply with an email to send the CV to. Remix10: I would like to remain, is engineering not lucrative enough? Where will I send it bro? |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by beryour(m): 10:51pm On Oct 25, 2021 |
I could assist in the review and maybe some few tips also. Would you want to remain in Engineering or preparing for a switch? Remix10: Good morning my fellow nairalanders, I am an Engineer by profession with over 5 years in the Oil & Gas, Food/Chemical/ manufacturing industry, would like to apply for Jobs, please can anyone help me in reviewing my CV and help me tailor it to UK standard? make I no for carry last, Ejoor. Thanks, as I await your favourable responses. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by beryour(m): 4:27pm On Oct 22, 2021 |
You know its actually a waste engaging him, people have fun in diverse ways and this one particularly choose stupidity. May the light of love shine his path! humblemoi: I truly cannot believe someone who claims to be accomplished thinks this way. What a wow! To be frank, I am very disgusted. No regard for human life is all I can read. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by beryour(m): 4:07pm On Oct 22, 2021 |
Some people just come on here to prove daft points....rather than learning or sharing
Anyways, good luck to you. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by beryour(m): 3:49pm On Oct 22, 2021 |
Good and expensive hospitals yet your Buhari and Tinubu choose London hospitals to get medical care? You seem very good in personal deceit, keep it up! Uzomarrr123: Good access to health care.
Come on bro…let’s be realistic, there are very good and expensive hospitals in Nigeria
Infact , there are hospitals in Nigeria, you will find your white British doctors
Not access to health care
It should be “not access to funds to afford those hospitals”
People die from from cancer too in the almighty UK and US |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by beryour(m): 9:42pm On Oct 19, 2021 |
You will need to visit the schools and submit your interest, then also contact the council to obtain forms where you will be given options to select choices of schools and given one of them. Not a difficult process at all. dexdex: Hello everyone,
I will be heading to Wolverhampton with 2kids, 9 and 6 years old, please can anyone put me through on how I can enrol them to school by January? Do i have to pay fees for both of them?
Thanks in advance. |
Career › Re: Medical Doctors' Forum: Let Us Know You! by beryour(m): 12:58pm On Sep 28, 2021 |
Hello Docs,
Please does anyone know an easy process of getting the certificate of good standing from MDCN?
Thanks in advance |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 8:00pm On Feb 17, 2021 |
What is the duration of your course? Someone can say anything they like!  Bmuhd4smile: Please house, anyone running MBA programme in the UK currently?
Someone said I will get 2yrs and 6months visa for the program. 1year for class and 1year for work. Then I will be given another 2years for work again. Abeg how true is this o |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 11:12pm On Nov 18, 2020 |
At least dog father wont beat them for staying quiet Instead of coming out to spit vomit. Lexusgs430: The problem they have comes in 2 forms......... GOD FATHERS....... |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 11:10pm On Nov 18, 2020 |
They prolly got into govt the same time. The difference is one decides to have a sense. It's clearly not by age in Nigeria. Bourne007: Biden's last role before elected was VP 4 years ago.
Buhari's last role before elected was cattle rearer 30+ years ago  |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 10:54pm On Nov 18, 2020 |
Nor be by age sha....Biden na same age and lots of people still expects he would be very 'digital' Youths like Desmond and co, and middle age like Sanwo-olu...are they any different? Lexusgs430: Are you shocked or surprised........ Some of us here, mentioned it would hit 600 by December......
Buhari and my Mother, are age mates..... My Mother in her present age, cannot be the president of Nigeria.......
She is got no major medical health challenge, apart from been regular medications, for her HBP (which is very controlled)......
She's does not use dentures or hearing aids, still walks unaided etc etc
She is still full of life, but cannot be an analogue president, in a digital age.........  |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 6:11pm On Nov 17, 2020 |
I think you will be putting yourself in a very difficult situation. While she does full time, you can also work 20hours during term time to support yourselves. But it better to have at least a year tuition fee and also some balances for maintenance as there is no guarantee of a job immediately you get in or even a month after. I am not sure of any establishment or finance house that gives loan to an international student (and you are not entitled to public funds) You might need to go back to the drawing board. Thanksss: Good afternoon fam please I'm seriously in need of everyone's help and advice, going for Masters in Birmingham dis January wit wifey. Our plan is that I will be going to school while spouse will be doing full time job to help pay the Second 50% tuition fee.
We've already paid 2000 out of 6400 first part payment and we have the 2400 that we can easily pay but the problem now is that we were thinking we going to get loan of 2000 to add up wit the 2400 we have to pay by January, but all the finance house are not willing to give us the loan...
Please I Don't know if there's anywhere or anyone that gives loans to international students which I will repay with whatever interest charged. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 1:53pm On Nov 13, 2020 |
Check this ya purpose wella oh... You are not allowed to work with a visiting visa, except you want to break laws that might affect you for sm number of years. Do not follow the crowd! Wonuola111: I'm applying for the UK visiting Visa
My purpose of traveling is to work when I get there |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 7:10pm On Nov 11, 2020 |
Adding to previous response, 1. Prospects of getting jobs in the UK are unknown at this time, especially with Covid and Brexit. Though nothing is impossible. 2. Having NEBOSH with your safety experience will prolly be useful but you will def need to do some additional courses in any of the choices made. You will be fine. JBoy9: Good day all,
I'm a HSE Officer with NEBUSH certification in Nigeria. I wish to come to the UK for masters in Facility Management, Project Management or Supply Chain.
1. Pls what's the prospect of getting a job and sponsored visa for a certified safety officer in the UK
2. Pls elders, which of the of the courses stated above has a better job prospects in the UK (Na community dey sponsor me so I need to hit the ground running not to also forget to mention say I dey come with my wife and children)
Pls I need your opinion and advices
Cc Lagosismyhome Aphrodite 007 Justwise Omopapa Lexusgs430 RalphJean dustydee |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 7:00pm On Nov 11, 2020 |
Largely depends on the time you have spent here and records. You could start up with Aqua or Capital one then build from there. cchimaa: Hello everyone,
I want to get a credit card in the UK to start building my credit score. Can the experienced people here kindly recommend.
Thank you |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 2:02pm On Nov 11, 2020 |
lol...nobody fit beat you oh, we won't let that. I knew you talked about it some time ago so didn't wanna take us back again. Was trying to get info on the best route for a friend's spouse back in Nigeria (a teacher in Nigeria with PGD in education but a first degree in sciences) She has also been teaching for about 5/6 years. Tankio Aphrodite007: @beryour hi!
Can you post what you would like to ask me here so I can respond openly. If everyone spoke in secret, other people wouldn’t learn from our experience. Besides my privacy matters a lot to me (before some people will come and beat me up in my house )
Accept my apologies for declining the private message.  |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 4:38pm On Nov 01, 2020 |
This is the koko of the matter... Whatever choice you make as regards banking is your personal kinikan, we all cant go same direction and doesnt mean the other direction is wrong. Make una dey calming down ooo  DisGuy: Traditional banks and challenger banks are not our family business except you're shareholders ofcourse...so no need taking anything personal on their behalf
We bail them out; we still get shafted!! |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 2:01pm On Oct 29, 2020 |
Unfortunately, there are no 'cheap' universities. But some affordable ones from your choice will be Stafford uni, BCU, Uni of wolve, etc. TemmyDavies: Hello guys, I am in need of suggestions regarding cheap university options around Manchester,Coventry,Birmingham or Bristol, trying to process study in the UK fkr my younger sister who is currently in Nigeria but i need to know available options from people who has been in the UK, currently in the uk and thise processing, open to all opinions |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 9:30am On Sep 12, 2020 |
From someone who is 'family-driven' I would say you should consider moving to the UK with her. You already have strengths in 2 careers and you can develop anyone one of each or even a new one. I also switched from engineering into I.T even though still at inception. Going to Canada as a student still leave you being dependant for a while and away from your loved one...anything fit happen. Seeing that you already doing good with startups and bit of IT, you can only develop more on that if you want. br33zee: Hi guys, i'm just joining the thread and i suppose some members here live in the UK. Please im in a dilenma right now. I need advice:
I'm getting married to my fiance soon and of course interested to leave with her. She's a nurse....processing her papers to migrate to the UK.
I, on the other hand, mechanical engineer but since graduation, I've been in the tech space...dealing with digital marketing projects, wordpress (website) and graphic design projects. Eventually, developed two startups. One is a digital marketing startup. The other is a partnership. Also, I'm currently rounding up my online masters with University of South Wales btw
My issue is...if i move with my fiance after marriage, what am i chances in the UK (She's a nurse)
Additionally, I have an option to move to Canada as well but its for schooling....meaning I'd be dependent for a while. I personally have made researches and Nigerians rate Canada more than the UK when it comes to the opportunities for immigrants. I want to know if this is really significant to consider in this my situation because my fiance is not entirely keen on moving to canada cos their nursing registration process is more rigorous as she might also have to do some courses before working!
Unless i move to canada and she moves to Uk and we maybe link up later. I dont know how thats meant to work! Please help clarify life and career opportunities in the UK for someone with my track record. That might help me make a decision. Thanks guys |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 6:21pm On Jul 29, 2020 |
Rate is quite high but these guys have extremely poor rating on trust pilot and other review sites, not sure they are that reliable. HiddenID: Hello everyone,
The latest one is https://secure.mukuru.com/
Rate currently at 573.
I haven't used this one personally but lots of my friends have used it recently. I don't even have anything to send to Naija again as I've sent everything I've got through MoneyFex. No saving again sef 
I hope I'm not becoming obsessed with this sending money thing sha. Nonsense and ingredients 
Anyways, just sharing for those who has a reason to send money home. Cheers |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 1:41pm On Jul 22, 2020 |
You are 100% correct on that, they are also FSCS covered, so funds up to £85k is safe! wonlasewonimi: Na lie. I do more transactions on my Starling than all my other bank accounts. My business account is even with Starling.
The checks they do to set you up is more sensible than traditional banks ; they do close fraudulent accounts too. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 12:44pm On Jul 21, 2020 |
Bring the pounds, lemme test for you  LagosismyHome: I just wanted to test money flex and sent 300 pounds to my naija account. Two cards declined the payment to go through.
Has anyone used this site before |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 12:37pm On Jul 21, 2020 |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 12:03pm On Jul 21, 2020 |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 10:54am On Jul 21, 2020 |
Is your certification from Amazon AWS based? If yes, then you have a great opportunity. If not, that will be the exams/certifications you could look into....alternative is Azure. I do not understand incurred wastage with agents as you do NOT have to pay anyone to get a job. Good luck! IGBOELI: [b]Good morning Everyone!
Please i actually need your kind response to this few questions I've got.
I currently reside in Nigeria. Am an Engineer who has had above 5yrs working experience in the telecom industry with a few certifications from Amazon.
I desire to join the UK workforce. What exams or other recommendations can someone share with me that will give me a clear cut edge and help reduce wastage incurred with Agents and all.
Do I need to join any UK professional body (for Engineers)?
Will appreciate your responses. |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 7:12pm On Jul 20, 2020 |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 6:47pm On Jul 20, 2020 |
Guess you were lucky there, lol So would you rather buy normal or auction? also what other good sites do you know? Lexusgs430: You bid on what you see....... They are very trustworthy, but every auction is a gamble.......
The auction house would take pictures and state their initial assessment...
I would give you a personal example. I bought a used LHD drive jaguar from Japan at under £150.00 (vehicle was described as not driveable, not starting, key not turning)......
I took a gamble, bought the vehicle. It was shipped to Tilbury. On arrival, after paying all dues, I went to Tilbury with my toolkit and a brand new battery.........
Collected keys, as described vehicle not turning, I put new battery in and the beast woke up to life......
The jaguar served me in Nigeria for over 11 years, till I sold it........  |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 6:33pm On Jul 20, 2020 |
How trustworthy are these guys though cc @Lexusgs430 umarwy: No sir,
I want to to buy salvage cars from IAAI |
Travel › Re: Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant by beryour(m): 10:41am On Jul 20, 2020 |