Stats: 3,159,526 members, 7,840,233 topics. Date: Saturday, 25 May 2024 at 07:01 PM

Bily's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Bily's Profile / Bily's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 25 pages)

Business / Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by bily(m): 2:45am On Jan 07, 2019
chucsmoore:

I disagree with u on this. U can’t allow something like this to happen to u over and over again.

You have a point... I'm just saying, if someone gets out of your car in a bid you run and not pay, just like the poster's case, how many times will you park your car and start chasing after them?

The best you can do is enable child lock and central lock, but after a while, you'll get tired of opening doors for riders.

So the best thing is for the ride sharing company to guarantee should rider default in payment cos there's really a limit to what you can do.

Business / Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by bily(m): 11:55pm On Jan 06, 2019
chucsmoore:
Sorry u have to forget the money. It’s gone. I don’t think Taxify would refund u. Just learn your lesson and make sure it doesn’t happen again. I have experienced this before when I left a rider to come down from d car and use d ATM, before I realized what was happening the guy don jaapaa, I no see am again and his number switched off. Since then I dey dey carefulll with riders

To be honest, no matter how careful you are, this is something you really have no control over.

This is where Uber trumps taxify. When I was driving, this was the single factor that made me do more of Uber as your money is guaranteed even if rider defaults

Business / Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by bily(m): 7:28pm On Jan 06, 2019
GAZZUZZ:
you were all wondering why a man will sell his car and be looking for rental, it is because he is chasing after people's wife's up and Dan Uncle you need to repent and focus on what is important in life, not chasing gazzuzz.

Come meet me in the workshop monday I will pray for you and give your life a new meaning, I might even get you a good car on Rental if you promise to leave single mums alone.

Nearbystranger aka darmilolah

@ bold now a crime? I thought you said its the wife's and single moms that lack proper home training if they can't shut him up grin
So free the guy, let's put the blame on the women tongue
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by bily(m): 12:06am On Jan 02, 2019
Esughusughu:
One question: why do people not disclose their salary?

Because its not uncommon for people in the same job description in the same company to be earning different pay. Like the popular saying goes 'what you don't know, can't hurt you'

Imagine if you have been with a company for over a year, and during the course of mentoring new intakes in the same position, you discover they are earning $20/hr and you are being paid $17/hr. As a human being, even though deep down you know they may have better qualifications, you will still feel bad cos you have the on the job experience, which is why you are mentoring them to begin with.

I know a company that uses a form of calculation to determine your pay structure based on where you schooled and your previous work experiences. so every hire for the same position end up earning different salary based on the result of the calculation.

15 Likes 2 Shares

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by bily(m): 3:30pm On Dec 31, 2018
AZeD1:

Technically it's their country. It's why they have voting rights and PR's don't. It also why you can be deported they can't.

Would you allow me come to your house and be claiming the same rights as your brother?

And that exactly is the point.
We allow them to come to our space and claim rights and it's OK. But we must not have an opinion in their space, it's a sin according to us.

And we are the ones castigating ourselves for having an opinion in their space. This is the inferiority complex congo2 is talking about.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by bily(m): 3:00pm On Dec 31, 2018
Boss13:

Sincerely - if the system allows western people to speak freely, they would prefer to get rid of gay people. The main reason the liberal government was voted out in Ontario province was the change in sex education in schools where news books on homosexuality are considered to be okay. This intensified parents anger. However, if you ask people in Ontario, they would covertly say they were satisfied with the liberal policies without giving you specific details.

Very apt submission
If you google the west coast Christian accord and their crusade against sogi 123 educational curriculum being introduced in schools, you will see that it's mostly being championed by white Canadians Christians... Yet I don't see anyone telling them to shut up and leave Canada if they are not OK with it.
But if Na black man voice an alternate opinion to these topics, we will be crucifying them here grin

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by bily(m): 4:42am On Dec 31, 2018
toboy:

Thank you so much for this input. It is important that people understand that their personal biases and ignorance, or "choices" about certain issue is not an excuse because they do have real-life consequence on other human beings. I really like .....

Everyone will always have a bias about one thing or the other in this life.
Disapproving of an act does not necessarily mean you disapprove of the person. Why are we trying so hard to make them one and the same
The best example of tolerance is what you see in the workplace environment.
You don't even necessarily have to like someone to work with them in achieving set goals, you just need to respect them as humans and what they are bringing to the table.

Anyways, to each its own, there are things you just laugh about and move on. Like I said, there's hypocrisy everywhere if you look closely. Just live and let live.

14 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by bily(m): 4:53pm On Dec 30, 2018
EfemenaXY:

And your point is?
Happy Sunday

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by bily(m): 4:28pm On Dec 30, 2018
EfemenaXY:

The key thing here is choice between consenting adults. How does practicing bestiality reflect CHOICE between CONSENTING ADULTS?

The rest of your post mirrors my argument.

Like he said, it's loading....
I have seen videos of people getting married to their pets and it was celebrated. Nobody made an argument on consent on the part of the pet grin

When you tell a 5 year old girl in school that it's okay to be a boy and she can decide to be whatever sex she wants to be, did you consider her a consenting adult at that age? Talk about mutual respect and yet forcing your own believes on people.

The truth is everyone is guilty of hypocrisy in order to get one agenda or the other across.

So I do agree thecongo2 that people should not be labeled prehistoric for deciding to stick to a particular set of believes as long as its within the legal construct of where they are residing.
Do you label a white man prehistoric if they choose to live and work in Nigeria because their personal believe is not in line with Nigerian laws? Or do you tell them to pack and go back to their country Which is exactly what people are doing here cheesy

13 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by bily(m): 3:50pm On Dec 30, 2018
EfemenaXY:

Right. So what do you advocate? Stone them to death? Bully and hound them till they commit suicide?

Does a person’s sexuality hinder them from carrying out their duties / performing their jobs?

It’s all about respecting people’s personal choices. How can compare a person’s sexuality to bestiality? As long as no one is harmed then it’s no one’s business.

Re: your comment on whites refusing to integrate, etc...who says LGBT is a “white man’s thing”?

Sexuality is not defined by race. A lot of non-whites are LGBT inclined but are afraid to come out in the open about their true selves for fear of societal backlash and reprimandation. So they keep quiet and live in misery.

Don’t you understand? Imagine a homosexual forced to marry and live a heterosexual life. Do you think the spouse of such a person will be happy in that union? And what about the kids??

How hard is it to understand?

And how hard is it to understand congo2?

He is simply saying you can respect people's choices without you accepting it as your own truth.

Also I would like you to educate me on sexuality that you keep mentioning?
And how do you really differentiate it from bestiality.

What if someone says he was born to be attracted to animals? Or in future it becomes OK and legal to get married to your pets and have sex with them,what then will be your stance on bestiality?

I do accept people choices, I don't really care what you decide toi do with your life or who/what you decide to sleep with, I can still with work and makes friends with you, but that doesn't mean I must accept your choices as my moral truth or compass.. These are exclusive events and should not be married together

40 Likes 1 Share

Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 2:54am On Dec 29, 2018
adefemi007:

if you say xiaomi feels awkward to pronounce, what should umidigi users say?
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 3:41am On Dec 26, 2018
ityP:

U can disable the notch if u wish... So I don't see why the complaints

Disabling the notch is just visual gimmick. It doesn't miraculously show all your notifications.

You will still need to swipe down on the notification panel to view full notification like battery% etc
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 12:21pm On Dec 18, 2018
Maxcoded:
You know it's funny; during my third year at the Uni, one of our lecturers that teaches us Microprocessor came to lecture us one faithful day. As he entered, he made a call and when he finished, he was like; "this my phone too dey hang, does anyone know what might caused this? I'm tired" .... And I was like how will a lecturer that teaches microprocessor not know how all these stuffs works plus the fact that it's what you people lecture us on. You might wanna say he is just trying to test our knowledge in the field and I put it to you that it's a lie; he doesn't know jack sh*t about it, just pure theories. There was a particular time he messaged me on WhatsApp asking what might be wrong with his system having some blue stripes while the screen is OK. Told him it might be due to the processor having too much load on it in regards to its initial capacity that I also experienced something of such with my PC a while back. He had to take it to a PC technician before he could fix it and am sure the guy will Gallantly charge him well for something that can be easily fixed in his closet.

Till now, I still cant figure the usefulness of the entire 4yrs I have used in the university studying Mechatronics Engineering.

Now the point with my long epistle is that How on earth will a lecturer that teaches microprocessor not know basic and practical knowledge about how processors works? Its such a shame you know...

I know this is off topic a little, but it's that issue of Krin and Snapdragon argument this morning that made me remember the incident.

You don't need to wonder about Henry's case. He has told us many times that he is not always right when it comes you his Tech assertions.
So just take whatever he says with a pinch of salt

Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 10:10pm On Nov 24, 2018
henry007:

Night mode with Google Pixel 3 Camera on the Pocophone - https://www.instagram.com/p/BqV7P3qjrjh/

Your followers on instagram no understand say na GCam you use on the same phone grin
They thought you used pixel 3 phone

Be like say GCam bug don bite you too grin
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 5:53pm On Nov 23, 2018
PaulThor:

It's been unlocked. Them don flash many roms on it. The phone's issue never improved. I'm beginning to believe it could be a hardware issue but no one agrees with that.
Once I get a solution I will make it known here..

also interested to know if you get a solution, same thing happened to my redmi note 3 after updating rom.

seems more like something that affected hardware
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 4:04pm On Nov 23, 2018
lovelani:
But wait o, why must you install Gcam, does it mean the follow come camera app isn't cool for taking pictures ? Just curious. Samsung and other phone users are not talking Gcam before taking good pictures.

There is no must anywhere. It's a choice.
You can enjoy the follow come camera app without need for gcam.
Stock camera takes good pictures.

Go to xea, you'll see people installing gcam on Samsung too.
Tech people full here, so that's why you hear stuffs like gcam.
Wetin concern normal users with gcam
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 4:00pm On Nov 23, 2018
AlvaroMorata:

This Gcam porting of a thing is popular amongst people using midrange xiaomi phones that are not satisfied with the stock camera app output. Gcam enhances that.

Not entirely true. Lets just say it's popular among tech heads cos some people do install gcam on flagship devices from top brands.
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 1:25pm On Nov 23, 2018
obainoaj:
Hello all please I need assistance
My mi max 2 shows no service or remove phone from airplane mood when I try to make a call.
Phone is not on airplane mood it recognize the sim and signal strength but will refuse to let me turn on mobile radio power. I have tried the following
1. Click on turn radio power and tried different sims
2. Factory reset
3. Flash the same rom from the inbuilt software updater
Any one with previous experience should assist me thank you

Had a similar experience with redmi note 3 after updating to miui 10 beta a few months ago.
Tried many things like flashing radio files, reverting back to previous rom versions, using imei writer even flashing Android pie stock rom.. All to no avail.
I Just dumped the phone for my daughter to be playing games and watching cartoons. It served me well for 3 years, I think.

Someone else had a similar issue on this thread, not sure if or how he resolved it.

I'm sorry, it's those rare kind of issues that one method could work for some or not work at all for others.

Just hope you will be among the lucky ones.

Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 3:46am On Nov 23, 2018
dhensity:

Nope I have ordered phones in Europe from aliexpress , I have ordered loads of things and I have never been charged custom fee. The stuff gets posted to my house and if it can't enter the letter box the post a letter in that I should come collect my parcel at the post office, hassle free. I wonder who cursed Nigeria.Nigeria is cursed

Your country . Our country, Nigeria is messed up. Every one tryna steal from other people

Though I agree with you about Nigeria being messed up, I think the custom charges/rules differ from one country to another and the method of shipping used.

I have seen many adverts by sellers on aliexpress stating no custom fee to Europe. Yet people in USA and Canada gets charged.
I recently saw a comment for pocofone on aliexpress where someone from Canada said he paid over 30$ for custom duties.
My point is custom charges is not a Nigeria only thing.

11 Likes 1 Share

Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 12:56pm On Nov 22, 2018
queenfav:
The anger i feel now eh, would sell off the once i pick up. Cos every excitement to see the phone has fizzled out!

Why are you angry at something that's supposed to be the norm.

For that fact that we have not been paying custom duties does not make it the right way.

I get that it hurts, but it is what it is.
It's like someone getting angry for paying taxes! It's the norm even though a lot of us running businesses don't pay tax. A time will come when we will have to start paying. We don't need to get angry about it, we just accept the good days are gone
Celebrities / Re: Tito Segun-Banjo Is Missing (Photo) by bily(m): 1:54pm On Nov 20, 2018
kingthreat:

Proof please. I want to believe this

I am in direct contact with the family.
Sorry I do not have further proof for you
Celebrities / Re: Tito Segun-Banjo Is Missing (Photo) by bily(m): 1:41pm On Nov 20, 2018
Awesomefred32:
17?

Please is she a footballer?

What type of lie is this now

cheesycheesy

It's not a lie. I know her and the family personally. She's actually 17 years old.
The mum is such a nice woman.

I pray she returns home safe and healthy

Update.... Just heard she's been found. Thanks God all is well

Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 1:48pm On Nov 16, 2018
Scharck:

Thanks. [s]But if you don't mind.....can you post your skin color??[/s] MIBand 2 was a hassle to use on black skin. I wanted to know if they'd corrected that issue on this one.

I do mind tongue
the issue does not exist on the amazfit bip
Business / Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by bily(m): 1:01pm On Nov 15, 2018
Carshopper:

my guy my guy ... how the hussle ..uber dey make sense for ur side? grin tongue

Chief, I dey bam o!
Uber makes sense everywhere o.

How una side?

Business / Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by bily(m): 11:21pm On Nov 14, 2018
ifyeez:
Which part did Gazzuzz insult his wife, I never saw that, I think I need to flip back a little, done no insult seen undecided undecided undecided kiss

So you mean his statement was not an insult

He basically said the guys wife is not well brought up which is very wrong in every sense

Have we seen worse insults on Nairaland? Of course yes. Some of us are concerned because of the person such insult is coming from. We expected much better

Same way I would have been surprised if Carshopper had made that kind of statement

11 Likes 1 Share

Business / Re: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by bily(m): 11:47pm On Nov 13, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

hard truths, but someone has to tell him.

People are different which means the way they handle issues are different.
You can't expect everyone to think and act like you would do as opinion differs.
The reaction you are advocating from he wife may actually be considered uncouth by a very well polished lady.
Someone else may not talk too much, once they caution you and you don't stop, they know what next to do, they'll simply just report to uber.
You also have to look at the other side of things.. Not everyone you see is mentally stable. What if village people are worrying the guy and your wife that you claimed will shut him up tried and he continued? So what next? Will you also put the blame on your wife for someone's mental/village problem? If truly the guy has been getting complains from other riders on uber, your wife may not have been able to cut him off like you said
I'm my opinion, you were too quick to judge and your response left a bitter taste in my mouth as I expected you would know better.

17 Likes

TV/Movies / Re: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by bily(m): 5:43am On Nov 12, 2018
Why is no one talking about startup. I enjoyed season 3 as usual
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 4:24pm On Nov 11, 2018
Scharck:

Keyword(s) being "dark/black skin".

I am a black man, a Nigerian. I have a dark skin
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 11:37pm On Nov 09, 2018
henry007:

I'm not sure you've been following my drift.

There are degrees to bias and every reviewer is biased when it comes to smartphone reviews.

I said the reviews on here are fanboy/fangirl/tout reviews and that's 100% fact. They're overly comical and a tad insulting to the average smartphone user's intelligence

You are 100% correct.

Just exactly the same way some comments/statements in this thread by someone who calls himself a tech reviewer are overly comical and a tad insulting to the average smartphone user's intelligence not to talk of those with degree in sciences/engineering grin

Saying load on a battery having an effect on the charging rate is a myth readily comes to mind grin cool shocked

22 Likes 2 Shares

Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 4:12pm On Nov 08, 2018
Scharck:
[/quote author=macbeyland post=72776787]

Please have you used the amazfit bip/MiBand 3 before? Does it work fine (Heart Rate Detection) on dark/black skin?

Heart rate works fine on Amazfit bip. It's a nice watch
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 1:03pm On Nov 06, 2018
alosbaba007:

My brother OyO is ur case if u use nipost, I had a terrible experience dis year till nw d letter never reach Canada since May. Tracking information shows d same thing, I av gone back to nipost to complain na d same excuse all d time. I had to generate a new letter last month nd sent Tru DHL.

This is not a problem with nipost, but a problem with Canada.
Same thing happened to me when I sent a letter to Canada, thought it was nipost until I goggled it.
Trust me, your letter got to Canada, they just refused to process it

USA is fine
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by bily(m): 1:12am On Nov 01, 2018
henry007:

I've basically led you back to my first point. I don't like to argue things that cannot be proven online tho i have 2 4000mAh phones from the same brand right here for the testing.

Some stuffs are just too basic to be searching for proof online.

It's like searching for a proof that if you throw an object up on earth without any external obstruction, it will fall back to the ground.

Almost same principle applies to rechargeable lamps, inverters when charging batteries etc

A load on the battery will always reduce the charging rate especially if there is no pass through system incorporated.

Anyways, it's good you want to test it. But you should have done the test first before calling it a myth.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 25 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 79