HenryQuest's Posts
Nairaland Forum › HenryQuest's Profile › HenryQuest's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 (of 13 pages)
It is no longer news that the some European leagues will kick start this weekend. Notable amongst such football league is the English premier league. In Nigeria, at least 8 out of every 10 men are strong followers of the European leagues and as such, they always look forward to every season. Saturdays and Sundays would no longer be boring to many men out there. Many Nigerian girls are not happy that the various European leagues are about to start. Here are some of the possible reasons: 1) Divided attention from le boo: Most Nigerian football fans are so passionate about the team they support that they could hardly let anybody or anything come between them and their teams games or matches. Bae can wait till after the game joor! And we all know what girls enjoy the most--ATTENTION! 2) Unavailablility of the guy especially on weekends: Yes, the boo will always be pre occupied by football games. You don't expect boo who is a Chelsea fan to leave Man U vs Chelsea for a date with you. Unless he's not a true fan! 3)Boo discusses mainly football with friends: From henceforth I want you to observe something- most guys will be discussing football games even when la bae is around. La bae wouldn't like it of course because she probably can't contribute anything to the discussion. She starts seeing you as boring! Chai! 4)The guy starts betting with the money he promised bae: I don't need to emphasise on how much Nigerian girls love money. From henceforth, most guys would be using the money they should have spent on boo to bet football games. Wahala dey! 5) The Guy comes home sad if his team looses: Imagine that you spent a lot of money and time to prepare a special "ofe owerri" delicacy for your man only for him to come home so angry and sad because Chelsea beat his team Man U 3-0 with Falcao getting a hatrick? That can actually hurt! If he eats the food, I can bet he won't be smiling while doing so! 6) Girls will start finding it difficult to watch ZeeWorld, Telemundo and African Magic because the guys will be watching Supersports channels: Too bad dearie. The Lord will comfort you. 7) He won't pick your calls whenever a match is on: Try calling your bf or husband when his team Arsenal are playing and see if he would have time for your call. If I hear! He transfers aggression to you when his team loses: If your husband or bf is a Chelsea fan, don't dare go so close or provoke him when his team just lost a game. He can keee you!!Oya add yours!!! |
It's widely believed in Africa that dead family members come back to their families or extended families as new born babies. This belief is widely spread by most African philosophers. There's hardly a community in Africa that doesn't believe in reincarnation. Though the popularity of this belief is fast winding down due to the emergence of modern day religion, there are still a lot of adherents of this belief. On a personal note, I was told that I'm a 'reincarnate' of my late uncle who died while fighting during the Nigerian civil war. I try not to believe it but the signs are very clear and would anybody in my shoes to ponder over it. The said uncle of mine was killed by a gunshot, and I have serious phobia for guns and even the sound of gunshots. You need to see how scared I can become whenever I hear a gunshot fired kilometres away from wherever I am. He didn't eat soup while on earth, and I don't eat soup. There are many others. Note: it's believed that only those that lived good lives on earth can reincarnate. Share your opinion and/or related stories with us. Thanks. |
In issues like this, serious caution should be applied. Probing only Jonathans administration would obviously be seen as a calculated attempt to witch hunt Jonathan and PDP. If there must be a probe, then the previous administrations should all be probed. Besides, I feel there are more pressing issues to attend to than this. Probing politicians in Nigeria have not solved the problem of looting. More proactive approach should be adopted if we are to fight corruption. All we need is a total attitudinal change. |
All Progressives Congress (APC) has expressed strong support for President Muhammadu Buhari’s decision to probe the immediate past Federal Government under former Pesident Goodluck Jonathan, saying the emerging revelations of alleged mind-boggling corruption, made such a probe imperative. The party, in a statement issued in Abuja yesterday, by its National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, said: ‘’Some people have insinuated that the Buhari administration should ignore the massive looting of our patrimony and move on. We say no responsible government can afford to do that, because it will amount to endorsing corruption and impunity.’’ It alleged that in the oil sector alone, billions of dollars had been skimmed off by pathologically corrupt public officials, wondering how the government of the day could meet its obligations to the citizens if it refused to recover the huge funds taken away by thieving officials. ‘’It is an irony that those who are suggesting that the Buhari administration should turn a blind eye to the incomprehensible looting, are the same ones accusing the government of not doing anything. It is even a cruel irony that the same party that presided over what is fast emerging as the worst governance in the history of our country, is the same one that is daily bad-mouthing an administration that is cleaning up its mess,’’ the APC said. The party said even if all the acts of corruption that were perpetrated during the tenure of the last administration were limited to what was now in the public domain, it was still absolutely exigent for the Buhari administration to do all it could to bring the perpetrators to book and recover the looted N3.8 trillion from the Federation Account or the mind-blowing stealing of 250,000 barrels of crude oil per day? Is it the fact that the NNPC itself does not know how many bank accounts it had or into which ones the payments for Nigerian crude are made? Could anyone have imagined that a government minister would steal the unprecedentedly-huge amount of $6 billion dollars of public funds as being alleged? ‘’How does any sane person rationalise the fact that one billion dollars was unilaterally and illegally withdrawn from the Excess Crude Account just because, as the immediate past Minister of Finance has disclosed, the president ordered the withdrawal? What about the billions of naira waivers recklessly approved to dubious importers by the Jonathan administration? ‘’Is it not clear now that the stealing and the profligacy – more than anything else, including the fall in oil price – helped to drastically reduce the monthly allocation from the Federation Account from about N800 billion to about N400 billion, thus pauperizing the states and the local governments, and by extension, the citizenry? ” Against the background of the alleged revelations, the APC wondered: “What message will any government be sending to its citizens and indeed, the global community by looking the other way, when it could still recover some of the looted funds for the benefit of the people? “This is why we are supporting the Buhari administration’s probe decision, and calling on all Nigerians to support ongoing efforts to get to the root of the matter.’’ The APC said it had become clear that the Jonathan administration allegedly, “delayed giving the then incoming Buhari government the handover note to avoid being asked critical questions pertaining to the unprecedented looting under its watch.” Source: http://sunnewsonline.com/new/apc-backs-buharis-probe-of-jonathan-administration%e2%80%a8/ |
Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has disclosed that the much-awaited report on the 2015 general elections would be made public next month, noting that the comprehensive report is almost ready. National Commissioner of INEC, Ambassador Lawrence Nwuruku, who made the disclosure in Abuja yesterday at a workshop on post-election lessons, also revealed that the commission would certainly use the controversial card reader machine in the Bayelsa and Kogi states governorship elections, assuring that the commission was almost ready for the poll. Asked what was responsible for the delay in the release of the 2015 general election report, Nwuruku replied: “I want to assure you that the report will be ready soon. We have prepared them but we are just dotting the Ts and Is of the report. It has not been easy preparing it but we will soon release it at least within the next one month from now.” Giving an update on the Bayelsa and Kogi elections especially on the use of card readers and updating of the voters register, he said: “We have learnt a lot of lesson from using card readers during the last election and I don’t think we will have any problem again using them for the Bayelsa and Kogi elections. It will certainly be used for the elections. Source: http://sunnewsonline.com/new/inec-to-release-2015-election-report-august/ |
The governor of Osun, Ogbeni Rauf Areg besola on Friday said the strength of the branding of the state under his administration has been such that no matter how hard traducers try, it will re main investor-friendly and capable of attracting the best of minds for positive engage ments because of its peace and tranquility. This was the summation of the Chief of Staff to the Gov ernor, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola, while speaking to newsmen shortly after declaring open the 42nd edition of the Annual General Meeting of the Ad vertising Agencies of Nigeria which commenced in Osogbo, the state capital on Friday. Oyetola who asked that the anthem of the state be played before the august visitors, said it was not for nothing that Osun embarked on a re-branding of the state realising the impor tance of what opportunities await a state on the strength of how it advertises itself to the world. According to him, “You have come to Osun and you can see for yourselves whether the impression of a famine-gripped state painted by our po litical opponents are reflected in the faces of the accommo dating people you see around. “The economic challenge of Nigeria must be seen for what it is: a general crisis for which a state or a governor cannot be picked as the scapegoat. But unfortunately, that has re mained the agenda of those who feel it is possible to de stroy the efforts that had in re cent years, advertised our state as a pride of the Black race.” Delivering Governor Areg besola’s speech earlier, Oyetola said that with construction of roads and other infrastructure put in place by the govern ment during the first term, the state has been able to attract global attention with globally recognised awards for its noble initiatives such as Opon Imo, Osun Youth Empowerment Scheme (OYES) among oth ers. He charged the Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN) to press for greater legal access and control over products, especially po litical adverts in order to bring greater sanity to the industry. Aregbesola noted that the association must try as much as possible to control and filter what goes out, thereby ensur ing an effective check against advertisements that are not ethical. He recalled the hate cam paign against President Mu hammadu Buhari during the last presidential campaign as one which in all ramifications and rating crossed the ethical barrier of advertising world over. Aregbesola advised the as sociation to do everything at its disposal to ensure that products and political adverts are sub jected to thorough scrutiny. Source: http://sunnewsonline.com/new/no-politician-can-destroy-osun-under-me-aregbesola/ |
I'm from Mbaise, I don't want to scare you guys so I'll rather keep shut! |
dealslip:Oh, you have said it all. Jonathan or Buhari, Igbo, Hausa or Yoruba, Christian, Muslim, Traditionalist or Atheist, abeg make una no allow unaselves to be used as instrument to cause wahala. If casala burst, d people una de fight for go fly comot o! |
horpe132:name pls |
Kush empire? Hian! Men for that area go de kush well well!! Nwanne I chagokwa anya? I se go kwa ife? |
Kat ier00:everly shaa but I de fear o. Those over there no de accept defeat o! |
Katier00:just get your things ready incase of incasity! |
The 2015 general election is around the corner. The political atmosphere is already heating up. A lot of Nigerians have their fears over the election. Mine is as follows: ...That many qualified voters may not be able to vote due to the inability of INEC to make PVC's available early enough. ...That there might be bombing in the north as already indicated by the dreaded BOKO Haram terrorists ( we say holy ghost fire!) ...That there might be unrest in some parts of the country as a result the tension created by our politicians and several other stakeholders. Feel free to add yours. Let's start now to device safety measures. I love my life, and I know you love your too. Nobody's political ambition is worth the life of a single Nigerian. God bless Nigeria. |
So Burkina Faso and Senegal are more prosperous than Nigeria? What's their criteira for judgement? Despite the numerous challenges facing our country, we are still prosperous peole. We survive anywhere and at anytime in any condition. |
Maamin:I'm telling you o! |
Sir Elton John To Marry Boyfriend David Furnish in Intimate Ceremony .. According to Daily Mirror, the music megastar, 67, and his partner, 52, have invited 50 friends and family to their home to witness them tie the knot on December 21. Guests are thought to include David and Victoria Beckham, Elizabeth Hurley and the Osbournes. http://212breakingnews..com/2014/12/gy-marriage-sir-elton-john-to-marry.html
I really need answers to this question because I have had series of argument with friends over it. I am of the opinion that the school one attends, especially at the nursery, primary and secondary school levels contribute only but 30 percent in a childs intellectual development. Many children that attend schools that pay high fees cannot be said to be better than those that attend public and low paying schools. I see it that the supposed schools for the big men offer more of exposure. I know many people that attended public schools in my village but are performing excellently in the university while there are many others that attened the supposed "big man children" schools and are total olodo! Is it about the school? Or the child? Or the parents? Or the environment. Let's hear from you. |
I'll add Economics and Medical Rhabilitation to the list. |
jayjagz: Is this inferiority complex or what? Can't see anything specialA lion cannot suffer from that. Hate on. |
This is just why you need a good legal defence team. All the court need is a clear evidence. That's all. The best Judge remains the conscience. |
Interesting....ndi nna papa! |
Over the years, many nairalanders have debated about the best University in Nigeria. I have kept quiet all the while because a LION does not struggle for space in the forest. It's true that one is forced to hype his/her University but some Universities like mine do not need to be hyped for you to know that we've got it. It is noteworthy that a lot of people have natural hatred for my University. The hatred are born out of jealousy. SIMPLE! I'm talking about the UNIVERSITY OF NIGERIA, NSUKKA. UNN has produced great men and women although I can't start mentioning them because the are just too numerous to mention. Hoohaa! UNN introduced the SCHOOL OF GENERAL STUDIES (GS) in Nigeria. UNN introduced ENTREPRENEURAL (CEDR) studies in Nigeria. UNN introduced so many courses including Mass Communication (Jackson school of journalism), Law to metion but a few. Renowned Astrophysicist Sam Okoye founded the Space Research Center in 1972. The SRC remains one of the few institutions in Africa that researches and offers courses in astronomy at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. The medical school, in Enugu, has most of it activities in the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital (UNTH), where doctors and other health workers are trained with high standards and have proven over the years that they can effect a significant positive change in Africa and the entire worlds' healthcare system. Doctors and nurses trained in the institution have contributed to the advancement of medicine. The first open heart surgical operation in Nigeria and sub-Saharan Africa was undertaken in 1974 at the University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital (UNTH) Enugu. The team was led by visiting Professor Yacoub from the UK and others in the team included Professors F.A. Udekwu and Anyanwu. The College of Medicine has since evolved into the center for cardiothoracic surgery and tropical cardiology excellence for the West Africa region with the siting of the National Cardiothoracic Center at UNTH Enugu. A lot of medical research is also being carried out in the college. UNN has the largest library (Nnamdi Azikiwe Library) in sub saharan Africa. There's hardly a course that UNN does not offer! UNN remains the most popular University in Africa. The environment is so so conducive for learning. It might interest you to know that UNN gave birth to UNICAL in 1977. We set the pace, others try to emulate. We are Lions and Lionesses! UNIVERSITU OF NIGERIA, NSUKKA, restoring the dignity of man. |
I agree that there are lots of courses that are highly underrated in our Universities, e.g Zoology and Archaeology in UNN. In a similar vein, there are many other courses that are highly overrated! Thousands of prospective students apply for such courses and you'll be like "what's so special in this course sef?" |
The Super Eagles of Nigeria over the years has produced players that can compete with the rest of the world. Following Nigeria's first official football match in 1949, the country had since then produced world class players. Here is my list of all-time best Super Eagles team, and their sub: Coach: Clarence Westerhof (Bonfre Joe) Goalkeeper: Vincent Enyeama (Peter Rufai) Left Back: Taribo West (Celestine Babayaro) Right Back. Austine Eguavon (Kadiri Ikhana) Central Defender1: Christian Chukwu (Uche Okechukwu) Central Defender2: Stephen Keshi (Joseph Yobo) Defensive Midfielder: Sunday Oliseh (John Obi Mikel) Central Midfielder: Austin Jay Jay (Sylvanus Okpala) Left Wing Forward: Emmanuel Amuneke (Garba Lawal) Right Wing Forward: Finidi George (Tijani Babangida) Central Striker: Rashidi Yekini (Victor Ikpeba) Attacker : Segun Odegbami (Nwankwo Kanu) I believe that with this kind of squad, it'll be very difficult to beat the Nigerian team. You can list out yours. |
Mine was in Jss3 at Onward International School, I wrote a love letter for my friend I was so good at it then. On my way to give to the girl, our Intro tech uncle caught me and rang the emergency school bell for everyone to witness what he'll do to me. He called out the girl in question to flog me...walahai that girl wicked! She just de hit me like say she been de carry akpor 4 me. |
I never knew the President could bring out his time to watch Nigerian team. I used to think he takes decision about the team based on report that football administrators submit to him. Here are some picture of him watching Nigeria vs Bosnia game at the villa in Abuja.
nsk 1st son: d penalty z not enof,if buhari gets into power,he wil grant him amnesty,it should hv bin death by hangingI support d imprisonement. He has to suffer before he dies. |
Federal High Court yesterday convicted Kabiru Umar (aka Kabriru Sokoto) to life imprisonment after finding him guilty for masterminding the 2011 Christmas Day bombing of St Theresa Catholic Church, Madalla, Niger State, which claimed many lives. The court also found him guilty in connection with plots to bomb the Police Headquarters, Sokoto and some other strategic public institutions in the state. Justice Ademola Adeniyi, in his judgment, sentenced him to life imprisonment on the first count and 10 years in relation to the second count of the two-count charge on which the Federal Government arraigned him before the court on April 19 this year. The 38-year-old father of two and an Islamic scholar, was charged with belonging to an illegal organisation and facilitating the commission of terrorism act by aiding “his boys” in the plan to bomb the Police Headquarters, Sokoto State and other public buildings, an offence punishable under Section 15(2) of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) Act. In count two, he was charged with failure to inform security agencies, “within reasonable and practicable time,” of the plan to bomb Madalla Catholic Church, having had prior knowledge of the plan, an offence punishable under Section 7(1) of the Terrorism Prevention Act (TPA) 2011. About 44 worshippers died in the church when Boko Haram members rammed a car packed with explosives into the gates of the church on December 25, 2011. Justice Adeniyi, after reviewing parties’ arguments held that the prosecution was able to discharge the burden of prove beyond reasonable doubt under the law. The judge held that the prosecution provided sufficient evidence to prove the guilt of the accused person on both charges. Justice Adeniyi upheld the confessional statement Umar made to his interrogators where he admitted knowledge of the crimes. The judge held that the accused person’s confessional statement was supported by the statement of one of his boys, who was arrested before him, and the evidence by a security operative, who investigated the case. Justice Adeniyi held that although the accused person, in his testimony, attempted to deny his earlier confessional statement, the statement by one of his boys, which contained information that aided security agents to arrest Umar, showed that the statement was credible. He described Umar as a pathological liar, who had not been a witness of truth in the case. The judge noted that Umar, who claimed not to understand English Language, which prompted the court to procure an interpreter, admitted in the course of trial to have been trained as a laboratory technician and passed four papers in the School Certificate Examination at credit level, having written the examinations in English. Justice Adeniyi, who noted that Umar was arrested in the Borno State Governor’s lodge in Abuja, urged the police to fully investigate that aspect to the case to ascertain whether the Boko Haram sect, to which Umar belongs could be enjoying the support of some influential personalities. After a thorough analysis of the arguments by parties and evidence produce, the judge convicted Umar. Before sentencing him, the judge noted that Umar did not show remorse through out the trial. “The character of the accused person is that of a person, who seems not to have respect for the truth. He showed no remorse. He lied that he cannot speak English even when that is not true. “The accused is hereby sentenced to life imprisonment in relation to the first count. In respect of the second count, the accused person is sentenced to 10 years imprisonment. Both sentences are to run consecutively,” the judge held. http://sunnewsonline.com/new/cover/madalla-bombing-kabiru-sokoto-bags-life-imprisonment/ |
Four refineries, including Kaduna Refining & Petrochemical Company Limited (KRPC) and Warri Refining & Petrochemical Company Limited (WRPC), will soon be sold to the private sector following President Goodluck Jonathan’s approval. Other refineries, whose approval has been granted, are Port Harcourt Refining Company Limited (PHRC) I and Port Harcourt Refining Company Limited (PHRC) II. The president has also approved the constitution of a steering committee on the privatisation process that involves all relevant stakeholder ministries and agencies. The steering committee, which is chaired by the Minister of Petroleum Resources has ministers as members and others drawn from various sectors. The steering committee’s terms of reference will include, among others, the following: Advise the National Council on Privatisation (NCP) on the best way to privatise the refineries in a manner that would enhance the gains of the privatisation programme of the FGN; review the diagnostic reports and recommendations of the transaction advisors and make recommendations to the NCP; propose modalities and make recommendations to NCP on labour matters to ensure the successful privatisation of the refineries; generally oversee the process and make recommendations to NCP for the successful privatisation of the refineries; and carry out any other ancillary activities relevant to the attainment of the goals of the Federal Government in the reforms and privatisation of the nation’s refineries. http://sunnewsonline.com/new/national/fg-sell-kaduna-warri-refineries-others/ |
As part of desperate measures to placate federal lawmakers on its platform not to defect to the opposition All Progressives Congress, (APC) the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has assured its members in the House of Representatives of automatic tickets ahead of 2015 general elections. This was part of the deal sealed with lawmakers by the Bamanga Tukur-led national working committee on Thursday night at a meeting held at Transcorp Hilton, Abuja. The meeting, which was presided over by Tukur with Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal and some principal officers moderating, started at about 8 pm and was concluded at about 12 am yesterday. Thirty-seven federal lawmakers on PDP platform had on Wednesday dumped the party on the floor of the Green Chamber and joined the APC. Jolted by the decision, the party in anger had called on the leadership of the House to declare the seats of the defectors vacant. But Saturday Sun checks revealed that Tukur, who had earlier threatened to deal with the lawmakers fraternising with the APC, was taken aback by startling revelations presented to him at an earlier meeting he held with PDP governors at the Akwa-Ibom State governor’s lodge, Asokoro, Abuja that more of the lawmakers would soon take similar action in the next few weeks. In attendance at the meeting at Akwa-Ibom lodge were Bamanga Tukur, his deputy, Uche Secondus, national organising secretary of the party, Abubakar Mustapha, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim, some serving ministers and about 14 governors. Tukur and Hon. Aminu Tambuwal left the venue of the meeting with governors, at about 7.45 pm separately to join the lawmakers who were already waiting at Transcorp Hilton. A Saturday Sun source disclosed that the PDP national chairman appealed to the lawmakers not to dump the party and sought their cooperation in saving the party from an imminent doom with the gale of defection to the APC.” His appeal to their emotions fell on deaf ears, until the intervention of the chairman of PDP Governors’ Forum and Akwa-Ibom State Governor, Barrister Godswill Akpabio in company with four of his colleagues when the deal of automatic tickets was discussed.” Saturday Sun sighted the Akwa -Ibom governor, Godswill Akpabio about 40 minutes to the end of the meeting on Friday morning in company with Ibrahim Shema, Isa Yuguda, Seriake Dickson and Liyel Imoke, governors of Katsina, Bauchi, Bayelsa and Cross Rivers states, respectively. An elated Tukur told newsmen at the end of the meeting that the discussion was fruitful as he further claimed that peace has returned to the party.” I feel great because we spoke as one family; we resolved to work together as one family. The atmosphere of peace is already pervading our party. http://sunnewsonline.com/new/cover/defection-pdp-promises-lawmakers-automatic-tickets/ |
donwilly3: Dont blame dem blame poor home training.if u r a parent on nl please train ur child in a responsible way.and pray for dem so that dey do not change easily.some wud blame gej or apc or pdpin as much as good parental upbringing is admonished, they are adults and they know what's good and what's bad. The presence of conscience makes every man accountable to his/her actions. |
sammieguze: lives long after them.......it doesn't live after them, it lives with them. People that comes after him are innocent. Every man is judged according to his own deeds and not according to what his fore fathers did. |
He transfers aggression to you when his team loses: If your husband or bf is a Chelsea fan, don't dare go so close or provoke him when his team just lost a game. He can keee you!!
no de accept defeat o!