Stats: 3,327,020 members, 8,429,066 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 11:37 AM

Hustla's Posts

Nairaland ForumHustla's ProfileHustla's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 (of 401 pages)

TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 2:15pm On Jun 22, 2022
Ameryx:
Hi all, I think I need a bit of encouragement. I moved to the UK on a student visa in December. Before relocating, I was doing quite well back home.
Mine worse pass this one cos I lived in Middlesbrough,got in Jan, didn't get a job till April when I left for London area

Imagine paying school fees and rent in naira, I no fit cry but I was prepared based on advice from this thread especially Oga Just wise warnings grin

.. And you see those care jobs, the depression no be here. Went to one on Monday and quit same day cos they told me it would be a support worker role and not all this wiping yansh

Best advice, look for the Mental Recovery Support roles in Leeds, Bradford area and tailor your Cv to them and apply.

They're support jobs that you look after individuals in supported living, mostly people with substance abuse or mental health issues. You don't do any form of personal care for them, it's just medication administration, key working and daily logs

Keywords on Indeed - Recovery support worker, supported living, assisted living, mental health support worker

They all ask the same questions at interviews (I have done at least 12 since I moved to London area and I have never been rejected, I'm not exaggerating).
Typically questions revolve around Safeguarding, mental health act, scenario questions about what you'll do in certain situations, what you'll do if you notice a service user is being abused etc (you can check glass door as some of them are there)

Check creativesupport, NHS, Cygnet, Mencap.. they're almost always hiring for support workers

Also, register on Indeed flex, attend the interviews and you'll get shifts off there.

If you need additional help you can send a PM smiley
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 10:08am On Jun 17, 2022
Who has o2 promo code or whatever its called?
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 10:08am On Jun 17, 2022
humbleprof19:
Do you want to be close to the city centre? Are you looking for a place for family?
Seacroft is nice, about 5-10minutes to the city centre
You can also check Dewsbury, rent is okay there
Thanks for your reply

Place needed is just a studio / 1 bdr

I will check out the places listed

Do you live in Leeds?

TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 7:15pm On Jun 16, 2022
Please who is in Leeds?
I need some help with renting there etc
I would like to know rent ranges and best places to rent

CrimeRe: My Story As A Cult Member........initiation Phase Included... by hustla(m): 8:41pm On Jun 15, 2022
CharleyGold:
i modified the posts i have a lot of expository to be done here on the bllack axxe Sadly there is no shortage of “super stars” that are NBM members.

One very obvious example is Davido Alias Lord Kwame Nkrumah, he paid sum huge amount to Osun zone currently mount guard for Lekki zone.

Others include:

Jn Daddy Showkey, Lord Muta Muta Baruka (Blended at 2013 national convention, held in Ogun state),
Jn Burna Boy, Lord Malcolm X (Blended at Ewekoko HT/ this should be at kiriji ht(unilag) tho i am having misconceptions but i am pretty sure tha this blending happened in lagos.),
Jn Yung6ix, Lord Kwame Nkrumah (former butcher, Kanta Ethiopia HT),
Jn Oritsefemi, Lord Emperor Haille Selassie (blended at 2015 national convention, held in Omoku, Rivers state)
Suprised Yung 6ix is high ranking. Always thought he was just a famzing guy

Saw him 2020 at Ajah. Looked quite small and frail and didn't look like someone who could do much but mehn..
CrimeRe: My Story As A Cult Member........initiation Phase Included... by hustla(m): 8:37pm On Jun 15, 2022
Neddstark:
This man, you still dey here? I greet you.
My chairman I dey o
CrimeRe: My Story As A Cult Member........initiation Phase Included... by hustla(m): 11:20am On Jun 15, 2022
CharleyGold:
Good morning friends, actually its been a while since I posted here, well I want to congratulate everyone of us that has taken advice from we that have an experience to share. As you know, there is an ongoing cult war presently in Aba btw ayyees and bagas.
That aside, I would be dropping some expository notes this morning.
As you know, if you've been following my story since 2020, I was (personally refrained) an Axe man. I left involvements around 2018. I blended in Abia state, this is just a reminder for those that are just viewing the thread, you can go through my posts(though I have edited some) where I spoke about my past involvements. Reach me out for advice, questions etc.
smiley

Was hoping you would continue your stories
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 11:04am On Jun 15, 2022
engrrichie92:
What are the fun places to visit in the UK?

Been here one month and is been kinda boring

Maybe because my wife is not here yet sha
Google maps will show you good places to visit
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 9:50pm On Jun 14, 2022
santos247:
Baba, anything for the boys?
BY the way, How do I physical cash to my revolut account?
Revolut doesnt accept direct cash lodgment. What other options can I use? I have some cash but want to do online transactions as I live far from city centre.
Thanks.
Think I saw one Indian guy who came to do this at the post office in Jan (I asked)
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 10:51am On Jun 13, 2022
babey543:
Why are you scared? Even people with no computer science background have smashed and destroyed cybersecurity.

Go to Udemy and Coursera to have a broad knowledge of the course and understand it first if you are scared.

You can also do data science or data analytics so you can choose what you are most competent. Do your findings yourself and have the knowledge.

No one can decide for you.
Imposter syndrome maybe

Affects even seasoned professionals

TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 10:51am On Jun 13, 2022
IamMobisola:
Hello.
I studied Computer Science for my Bsc in 2019 and I have interest in going for Msc Cybersecurity, I do not have any work experience or skills on Cybersecurity but I have been reading up on Cybersecurity.
From your course of study in your Msc, do you think I can still apply for the course or do I need to have skills on Cybersecurity?
Absolutely

If someone who's from a mass Comm background can do it, you can do it 2000%

You no get problem Comrade, ride on

TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 10:50am On Jun 13, 2022
DaCrypto:
Thanks for this great feedback.

Please can we talk directly? Let me email you or WhatsApp..

Thanks once again
Yes boss

You can send a pm
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 7:23am On Jun 13, 2022
DaCrypto:
Hello Everyone,

I studied Mechanical Engineering in my first degree...graduated with 2.1 in 2009. I have also done my master degree still in Mechanical Engineering.

However, after my undergraduate program, I got a job as a cybersecurity officer in a Bank and I have been in the banking industry ever since. I have done some information security certifications like Sec+, CEH, CISM.

My problem is that I am confused on what part to follow;

1. Should I start from Master Mechanical Engineering

2. Should I go straight for PhD

3. Or should I continue with Cybersecurity?

I got some information that it would be difficult to get VISA if I go for Cybersecurity because it's different from my first degree..."Lack of career progression".

Please I need guidance from experienced members
Depends on what you like

Since you have experience, u won't have visa issues if you apply to study Cybersecurity

I studied mass Comm and I'm studying MSc Cybersecurity. They'll need work references though

That Mechanical engineering... Hmm.
My guy studied mechatronics and had to delve into IT / devops cos he wasn't getting call backs

Like someone said, you can also apply directly to jobs that provide sponsorship so you won't have to go the student route

Check avanade and Amazon
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m):
Lexusgs430:
You start from scratch..........

Your Nigerian experience, is not a positive, but a negative......

1 - Obtain a provisional licence
2 - Get a driving instructor
3 - Start revising for your driving theory test
4 - Book your theory driving test (expires in 2 years, if you don't pass your practical driving test)
5 - When you understand the rudimentals of proper driving, awareness, perception etc etc
6 - Book your Driving practical test
7 - Ensure you avoid points within 2 years, or your licence would get revoked

NB : Remember, your vehicle horn is not a musical instrument.......... grin

Not in any particular order, but a guide ........ cool
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 7:48am On Jun 08, 2022
Emurate1:
Who is going to University of Sunderland. MSc Cyber Security for September 2022?
Abeg una wey dey go Leeds or Sunderland, I need help oo

TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 7:47am On Jun 08, 2022
bikerchiek3:
Please where and who did you show craze for make I try my luck and when you say they debited you was the money still in your book balance debit or compete debit
Completely debited now

Received a notification yesterday night with some gibberish info that looks like telex

Been at it since like feb/march so i was crazy frustrated

Did craze for my account officers and formulated emails of gtb top officials i got from linkedin and i cc'd CBN

TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 6:51am On Jun 01, 2022
semmyk:
Just to emphasise the excellent response from TheGuyFromHR
ILR: skilled worker (Tier 2) --> 5 yrs
ILR: student (Tier 4)/PSW --> 10 yrs
ILR: global talent (researcher/digital technology) --> 3yrs or 5yrs

To the babe, since she's already doing IT Audit with NHS, she stands a good chance of getting a sponsorship from an employer or even NHS.
If she's undergrad, better to finish first.
If she's postgrad, finish the course work at least and attempt (credible) publication.
While at it, let her consider ISACA's CISA certification to supplement her UK work experience.
With a postgrad, CISA and 3yrs UK work experience in IT audit (especially if she got involved in innovative areas beyond the normal ITGC), she might stand a chance of Global Talent (digital technology) route [emerging leader / ‘exceptional promise’]
Thanks. She has the CISA cert also

For the global talent, I think a body has to certify her or something
Requirements were a bit lengthy last time I checked

I'll try to tell her all you wrote, hopefully she sees reason
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 6:16am On Jun 01, 2022
Lexusgs430:
I used to be up to date, with immigration rules...... But my small brain is getting to capacity............ cheesy
Nah, it's just filled with money matters

TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 6:16am On Jun 01, 2022
TheGuyFromHR:
1. No to the first half of the question, and yes to the second half. She's on a student visa, so she is not being sponsored.

Sponsorship is a specific process whereby the employer tells the Home Office you are working for them and you are given a COS number (same concept as a CAS number for students) to apply for a Skilled Worker (former Tier 2) visa. If you get a skilled worker visa, you have to spend 5 years on that visa (you can change employers) to qualify for ILR.

2. If you are on a student visa, all time spent legally in the UK counts towards the 10 year ILR route, including student visas and the post-study visa.
Thanks!
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 10:51pm On May 31, 2022
giselle237:
After 20 years such a person who had no visa, can apply to start a ten year route to settlement, applying 4 x 2.5 year visas. 20 + 10= 30 yrs to ILR. He/she will need evidence from every year of his residence in the UK.

This is insane
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 10:51pm On May 31, 2022
Lexusgs430:
I honestly don't understand this new immigration schemes........
grin cheesy
TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 10:36pm On May 31, 2022
Lexusgs430:
NHS trusts have bank staffs, how do you apply for staff bank roles, if not via the hospital........ grin
Lexus, I have a Q
Would have asked the person directly but I left the city already

The babe works in IT Audit with NHS and she's on a student visa (20 hrs)

Does it qualify as sponsorship and towards ILR?
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 6:39pm On May 31, 2022
Itzqueency:
I printed my form A took it to zenith bank today only for my friend who works there to tell me to check another bank that the ones they have presently is much. Please which other bank can I use? Can I cancel and start again? He said if I can wait for more than 6weeks then no wahala.
Wrong person to ask tbh

I don tire
PhonesRe: Elon Musk’s STARLINK Approved By Nigeria by hustla(m): 11:13am On May 28, 2022
CoconutMilk:
Splitting go make sense die
An entire compound fit contribute run am or one wing

E go too make sense

TravelRe: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 7:54pm On May 27, 2022
Viruses:
Why is gym membership kind of expensive. The average I'm seeing is about £40 monthly. I was looking for something in the range of £15-20/month.
School discount gave me £40 for 5 months or so grin
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 1:25pm On May 26, 2022
HamdanTY:
An account officer being on leave shouldn't stall your transaction, I'm sure they know what's at stake.
Visit the branch and speak to the BSM or RM.
I pray it gets resolved soon.
I'm not in Naija

I have sent them a love letter today

TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 8:38pm On May 25, 2022
HamdanTY:
A whole 2 months. I hope you've sourced for another means because one can't wait forever.
Problem is they have even put my stuff in book balance so it seems its being worked on

Another 2 weeks has passed and my useless account officer has gone on leave

I will give them till Monday before i start craze with them again
TravelRe: Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 by hustla(m): 5:33am On May 25, 2022
HamdanTY:
Hi, dis you use Access bank for your tuition payment?
My application with them has been at the disbursement reviewer stage since 9th May.
Didn't

My gtbank application is now 2 months

We are still fighting for them to credit me after moving my money to book balance

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 (of 401 pages)