Ikechuqu's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Ikechuqu's Profile › Ikechuqu's Posts
ARRIVAL UPDATE!!!! LONG POST MBOK!! ![]() I booked my flight with KLM for 31st of December cos I wan breathe New Air into the New Year. ![]() So on said day, I got to the airport at about 4:30pm and checkin started an hour later. Docs: LOA, LOE, School Fees Receipt, SOA from my sponsor, Negative COVID-19 test Result, LOI. Got to the counter and the airline staff asked for my COVID test result, LOA and LOE. Presented and then was cleared to checkin my luggage cos I’d already checked-in online the night before. I was given two copies of a COVID form to fill out. I went through Nigerian immigration smoothly, got to boarding area and dropped one of the forms before boarding the flight at about 10:30pm. The flight from Lagos to Amsterdam was 6hrs long, when it was midnight for the new year, the cabin crew popped bottles of Champagne to celebrate with everyone on the flight. ![]() Arrived Amsterdam at about 5am on New Year’s Day, went through flights connections to find my boarding gate for the flight to Montreal. My connecting flight was by 3:20pm so I just chilled around the airport for about 9hrs, the Schipol Airport is fantastic .Had to take a temperature reading and fill out another COVID declaration form at Gate E1 before being directed to Gate 18 for the flight to Montreal. They checked for LOA, LOE, LOI at boarding area, checked my passport and then I boarded the flight. The flight from Amsterdam to Montreal was about 7hrs long, we touched down in Montreal at 5pm EST, just before landing the flight crew passed out forms for those who haven’t downloaded the ArriveCAN app. Two border control officers were at the aircraft door to check our passports and ask a few questions about your purpose to Canada. I went through customs to declare food items and currency, the customs guy simply asked what food items I had brought with me into Canada which I listed, he asked to see my ArriveCAN app receipt, then he gave me two leaflets containing information about the quarantine requirements and penalties, directed me to immigration. There’s two immigration offices at the airport, I went to Immigration 2, the officer checked my passport and requested for my LOI, gave me a number and then I sat to wait. Few minutes later, she called out and asked to go to the Immigration 1 as my study permit was ready but my work permit wasn’t ready yet. Got to immigration 1 office, also received a number and waited to be attended to, got to my turn, and I explained to the officer I’d being to the other immigration office and but was directed over to them. She requested for my LOA and LOI, asked what course I was studying and if the course has a CO-OP that requires the work permit, I answered yes. I sat back down and waited while she did her checks, 5 mins later I had study permit and Co-op work permit stamped and Welcome to Canada. ![]() Quickly ran to get my bags as my name was being called on PA for my next trip down to Ottawa Train Station with the AirFrance Bus. 2hrs trip from Montreal to Ottawa. Got to Ottawa, an official from school was already waiting to take me to my hotel where I’m currently quarantined. I’m in day three of quarantine, checking in daily on the ArriveCAN App and also taking calls from Govt Health officials and school officials to make sure I’m obeying the quarantine rules and not displaying any symptoms. Ultimately, I thank God for the whole journey cos it was totally hassle free for me. Good luck to everyone whose still expecting a positive outcome for their Study permit application. Your success story is sure to come! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! ITS ALL PRAISES FROM HERE!!! |
mcobex:Thank you |
Pls for those that have traveled to CAN, what number did you use for the ArriveCAN App? Is one able to get a mobile number at the Canadian Airport? Pls urgent response needed, my trip is this week. |
evergold:Thanks. |
evergold:Please was the value quoted in CAD or US dollars? |
Pls ooo... how do you guys pay for Airbnb? Is the value quoted in US or CAD dollars? I’m trying find a cheaper option than the $950 my school is asking to pay for 14days quarantine. |
Update!! Finally got my LOI today. After three weeks of mailing almost all the Canadian Embassies I could find on google and raising webforms, I decided to visit the Canadian High Commission in Lagos today with my stamped passport in hand. I was asked to write my details down as the staff available was not seeing anyone today and told that it would be attended to. Before I even left the Island, donotreply mail dropped. ![]() So no more mail refreshing or login to application portal again!!! Wishing everyone still on the journey a successful outcome to your application. its all Praises from here!! |
rebecausoro:Congratulations on the smooth journey to Maple Land. Thanks for detailed update |
Good evening ooo, pls I’ve got my stamped passport but still haven’t received my LOI for over 3weeks now and I intend to travel in a few weeks. All web form raised and emails sent to no avail. Is it possible to go to the Embassy on VI with my stamped passport to try get someone to attend to my case? |
Hi, please those that have gotten LOI, can you help me with IMM number of the LOI document. |
badmanjo:Thanks! DLI is Algonquin College |
FINALLY!! I received my Stamped Passport from VFS this morning! ![]() Next up is getting IRCC to update my profile as I'm yet to get Counterfoil or LOI till now. Anyone have any advise on what to do? I've sent multiple webforms and emails to Lagos, Abuja, Nairobi, Beijing but nothing yet. TIMELINE: First Time Applicant Applied: 21 September 2020 Biometric Collection Letter: 22 September Medical Request: 23 September Biometric done: 30 September Medical Passed: 28 October BVL: 02 November PPR: 03 November Passport Sent to VFS Lagos: 6th November............ then came VFS Lagos Wahala for One Month and The Eagle Landed Today! So nah IRCC update remain now! ITS ALL PRAISES FROM HERE! |
Lekiboboe:Thanks Chief |
How can one do an upfront medical in Abuja? My niece has applied for a study permit in early November but no medical request yet, so I've advised her dad to try and do the upfront medical now. |
evergold:Sent three mails already. Still no reply. |
Someone help a brother out on what to do. Still no Counterfoil or LOI after VFS notified me of passport collection. I’ve raised webforms but no response. I’ve gone ahead to pay for the courier service as I called multiple times to confirm and VFS keeps saying passport is ready for collection. What to do now? |
VFS is saying passport is ready for collection but still no Counterfoil, Change in status or LOI as is the norm before one gets the collection message from VFS. Are these pple playing games with me? I’m gonna sue them if it turns out they’ve not sent my passport to CVO and they’re just giving rubbish updates cos tomorrow makes 30days since I got my PPR which is the time frame given in the PPR letter. |
Dampops:Been doing that for the last couple of days but no changes still. |
Dee4Doyinsola:Pls did your background check and eligibility review change prior to receiving your Counterfoil and LOI? |
Kimkalash:The depression is serious. VFS is saying my passport is ready for collection, no updates on my IRCC for counterfoil or LOI. So I just confuse as I dey so |
Eilenora:Congratulations!! |
NairaLuck:If you manage to get them to pick up... press 1, listen to the grammar till it’s done. Press 2 and then press 2 again, that should connect you to an agent. |
Chikaima18:I’ve sent mail to Abuja IRCC but no response though. Wait continues. |
I’m confused right now.... I’ve tracked my passport on the VFS site and it says they’ve received my passport back from IRCC. I just called VFS to confirm and the lady said the passport is with them that I’ll get a payment mail by today or tomorrow but here’s the thing I DON’T HAVE COUNTERFOIL, LOI OR CHANGE IN STATUS ON MY IRCC PORTAL! Could something be wrong? |
Kimkalash:CONGRATULATIONS!! |
We’ll wake up tomorrow to good news IJN |
Eilenora:I just got this same email from IRCC.... It’s well with us for this matter ![]() |
Kimkalash:Me no go even mind if them just flash the “approved” once ![]() |
Ayobami2001:Did you get counterfoil or status change |
Ayobami2001:I’m just tired of all the back and forth with these guys. |