Stats: 3,156,518 members, 7,830,535 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 02:37 AM

Immune1's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Immune1's Profile / Immune1's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (of 12 pages)

Car Talk / Getting The Best From Your Local Mechanic :) by Immune1(m): 1:07pm On Aug 15, 2012
Local low-skilled mechanics in Africa (like the ones in Nigeria popularly referred to as road-side mechanics) still remain the popular option even in spite of their glaring shortcomings in skill level, adaptation to new car trends and general sophistication. The driving force behind this high level patronage is their low service charges, which still stands out as being economically viable for a fair chunk of the motoring populace.
So knowing these flaws that at times hinder proper maintenance or repair of vehicles by these 'road side mechanics', how do you fully take advantage of their comparatively low service charges and still get the best from them? The basic secret here is sourcing for the right technician and discovering his/her optimum capabilities. It is only when you have done that, you can execute the suggested tips below:
Stay informed:
In the glove compartment of most Nigerian owned cars you will find their car manuals dumped there and surprisingly still looking very fresh and new. Even when it comes purchasing vehicles, they rely more on word of mouth, as opposed to factual technical findings and uniqueness of some brands . So what point am I driving at here? Make deliberate efforts to know your car; don’t wait for an unfortunate incident to teach you a lesson you easily would have read about.
Challenge them:
It’s near impossible to challenge them if you are not well informed about the affairs of your car; owing to the fact that mechanics generally don't like being labelled ignorant or incompetent by car users. By constructively challenging them, you will be doing a reasonable mechanic a favour. In the end they will thank you for this-not necessarily vocalizing the gratitude.
Reward accordingly:
Their reward shouldn’t just be in heaven for a car you are driving immediately on earth! The only way you truly can pay them what they rightly deserve, is by assessing them based on their skill level and how much of it was employed in the process of your car repair or maintenance. This is the surest way to justify every penny handed down without either party feeling cheated, since most of these mechanics don’t have a structured payment system.
source:http://www.autobaseafrica.com/getting-the-best-from-your-local-mechanic/
url]
Car Talk / Re: Tips For Driving Through Lagos Floods by Immune1(m): 7:46am On Jun 28, 2012
In addition, when you don't have an option but to wade through pools of water,know this:
1)Maintain a steady accelerator pedal thrust whilst driving through.Taking your foot off the pedal might allow water to get in through the exhaust pipes;you sure don't want that!
2)Ever heard of brake fade?Its happens a lot during these moments, especially when (in less technical terms) the rotor is fatigued. But I read a tip years back,haven't quite tried it personally:maintain your emergency/parking brake in the middle to keep the rotor busy.Hope this helps...happy driving!

Celebrities / Re: Muna Disrespects Mode9 At 'Nokia Don’t Break The Beat Competition' by Immune1(m): 8:35am On May 10, 2012
@basildon1,try use ur head,sabi as you dey talk.its just unfortunate I can't remember point blank d name of the track;but its on his boiz r nt smiling album.I don't blame Moddy cos from the little I can deduce she don dey f up tay tay and her cup juss full dat time.Mode9 went personal and it can't just be as a result of one careless remark,besides for her to have had half the guts to say wat she said,imagine crazier stuffs or maybe annoying expressions the judges must have had to bear with.
As for muna.....I admire her rap style,I even might juss be a fan but she messed up biggy on dis and its just hard to conceive knowing fully well she went through all the etiquette training before and after her reign as Mbgn........all these point to the fact that she just went way too personal with mode9.
Celebrities / Re: Muna Disrespects Mode9 At 'Nokia Don’t Break The Beat Competition' by Immune1(m): 7:33pm On May 09, 2012
I think I know where dis coming from;in one of terry d rapman's songs he dissed muna and suggested she sleeps around shamelessly.So maybe she is just using dis opportunity to lash out on one of em swat root boyz......u knw gals and beef nah;its even worse when a typical gal is immature like I think in her case.
Autos / Re: Fairly Used OBDII Diagnostic Scanner For 15k by Immune1(m): 1:04pm On Apr 03, 2012
No one really interested?

Autos / Re: Fairly Used OBDII Diagnostic Scanner For 15k by Immune1(m): 2:59pm On Apr 02, 2012
Serious buyers with interest can reach me on 07035010529,am in Ikeja,Lagos.
Autos / Fairly Used OBDII Diagnostic Scanner For 15k by Immune1(m): 2:56pm On Apr 02, 2012
A fairly used launch C reader V is up for quick grabs.It is very neat and its a cost effective solution for your basic scanning needs.I can personally attest to that; this device is even much more than an average DIY tool and has been quite helpful,but I have to upgrade.
Politics / Re: Akwa Ibom Bridge The Longest In Africa? by Immune1(m): 12:52pm On Mar 27, 2012
Its really funny how people turn very plain details into weapons of tribalism and unnecessary comparison.Whether or not it sounds good to your hearing,Akwa-ibom state is on the rise, its very funny some people served(nysc) there and ripped benefits of which I don't have time to discuss about, then come here and spit garbage.The state is blessed and they have a governor that is taking full advantage of what the state offers to better the state; I don't see how that should inspire any level of provocation.Go and read more details about the sea-port in view, the very functional airport(which is still improved upon) and how you don't put the cart before the horse when planning.Akwa-ibom is bound to witness a great population surge and you are here saying the good roads in place are leading to no where?Am not picking on anyone here,just using the available angles to make a clear cut points that Goodswill is working and am glad for the state.
Autos / The Nigerian Motoring Tradition by Immune1(m): 9:52am On Mar 24, 2012
THE NIGERIAN MOTORING TRADITION
Even with the soaring oil prices globally, the American motoring tradition still sticks around. Last year alone, and even according to February 2012 sales statistics, the highest selling vehicles in the US were Ford’s F-series trucks. Ford overtook Toyota in sales last year-due to the distortion in Toyota’s supply chain as a result of the Japanese disaster-so, if Americans weren’t who they were, ideally, things should reverse back to normal. In my humble opinion I think the Tsunami incident gave Americans an opportunity to re-access and firmly embrace what they really love, which is: roomy and large vehicles that can readily serve families. Many circumstances have prompted the need for radical changes in vehicle development and manufacture, but the fact still remains that car producers globally, play around regional or country based motoring traditions and expectations of the motoring populace that make up a target geographical location.
Europeans are recognized as largely conservative and relatively more economically minded in comparison with Americans. This attribute amongst others, are well reflected in the kinds of designs specified for Europeans. Like in Italy, because of their mostly narrow streets, they lay high preference on smaller cars which can get them around more easily and gain better access to tight parking spaces. This over the years has groomed the evident motoring trend in most Italian cities; the same goes for Germans who hold to high esteem their craving for close to perfect cars with unflinching dynamic stability and high performance. Typical Germans are less concerned about the initial cost of cars or whether it’s ‘green or black’ from an environmentalist perspective; they expect their cars to be durable and highly dependable. Also, the ‘German pride’ with regards to their perceived engineering prowess isn’t a factor to shove aside in accounting for what grooms their adopted motoring tradition.
In the midst of all these, what can we say about the Nigerian adopted motoring tradition? A tough question to answer partly because the Nigerian driving populace are not necessarily considered in most design decisions globally; the reason behind this has to be the fact that most cars on our roads were not purchased brand new and the level of patronage of brand new cars is low. Since we are not a high priority market in this light, we mostly don’t have much of a choice but to do away with several imports that come our way. No hard feelings here, as this is strictly business for the car manufacturers that produce cars to suit favourable markets.
Nevertheless, I can boldly say Nigerian motorist have certain traditions; we might still be in the grooming stages of creating a firm one, but there are clear pointers to what really drives a typical Nigerian motorist with regards to a perceived upheld tradition. I just documented a few in this article which I will be discussing further.
RUMOURS THAT STICK
It’s all about the gist that surrounds a particular car, we Nigerians know how best to keep our ears to the ground. Funny enough, we trust so much of our regular road side mechanics’ beliefs-the same ones we go behind their backs and water down-and even base purchasing decisions on such. Because of how quickly rumours and assertions spread, most Nigerians would rather stick to cars with track records they have tested personally or witnessed being proven.
This stands out to be the reason why certain quality brands are not given a real chance because, some of these rumours even deter people from purchasing brand new cars. Until enough people are willing to take the risk on a newly introduced brand, most Nigerians don’t get to trust such cars. This weird Nigerian motoring tradition also has gone a long way in instituting a queer value system and reverse pricing model where trusted cars are priced relatively higher year in year out, even as the models age further with 6-figure odometer readings. One annoying example is the 1999 Toyota Corolla pinned at a price close to what will get a brand new Hyundai Getz or Kia Picanto for years in a stretch now.
INITIAL COST
The ‘low price strategy’ is the surest way to get people to take certain risks and even purchase an unpopular brand. As for why most Nigerians will spend so much to purchase a tokunbo (used) car, it’s simply because of their affordability and the fact that these cars are clearly cheaper versions of the largely accepted brands.
Be it a craving for bigmanism or a genuine need to get around with what you have, most Nigerians lay a terribly high preference on the cost of cars, a very little number care about empirical data about specific cars, even within the range of a popular brand.
With that been said, the search is still on for the true Nigerian motoring tradition which overtime, will groom the kinds of imports we get or the type of cars produced on the Nigerian soil for Nigerians.

http://ogadriver./2012/01/29/hello-world/
Foreign Affairs / Re: Russian Scientists Aim At Making Human Beings Live Forever In The Next 10 Years by Immune1(m): 4:49pm On Mar 02, 2012
There Is something here we all are missing out:the dude is a'media entrepreneur'.This might just be some media strategy to build unnecessary hype.Don't know the details of the project and honestly, am totally uninterested
Education / Re: Privatize Public Schools And Distribute Their Shares To The Masses by Immune1(m): 11:56pm On Jan 12, 2012
The issue of attempting to attain certain standards at cheap rates don't mate.High level investments yields quality,hence the issue of affordability has to take a back seat in a standard case.On this note there are 2things to work on,one of which is our value system-education wise-and structures government try to put in place to ensure poor people can access funding; a cue can be taken from developed nations.As for the value system,we Nigerians have to sort that out ourselves-not without government help though-because one can pay so much for what is not valued.
Education / Re: Privatize Public Schools And Distribute Their Shares To The Masses by Immune1(m): 11:25pm On Jan 12, 2012
Privatising government schools,especially tertiary instituitions won't solve anything!What should be given ears to is the actual incentive to learn. Why should an engineering student subject himself to any level actual training to be a good engineer?And what really is in place to keep such aspiring engineer motivated?This throws a lot of challenge back to the society.Private schools are quite expensive but trust me,are not any better than most government schools because both remain in the same society!So my simple argument here is government should give real incentive to entreprenuers and also lay down infrastructure to promote industrialization,the rest would kick in.
Autos / Re: Compression Tester Needed by Immune1(m): 2:14pm On Dec 14, 2010
It hasn't been quite easy,the price range you stated is the exact range am working with and am still searching here locally.If you know someone here i can get across to,that would be great,thanks by the way.
Autos / Re: Compression Tester Needed by Immune1(m): 11:51am On Dec 14, 2010
Still waiting,please kindly drop your contact for immediate transaction.
Autos / Compression Tester Needed by Immune1(m): 9:39am On Dec 14, 2010
I simply need a compression tester for a moderately sized engine with plug diameter of about 10mm.I reside in lagos and would apprieciate direct transaction,thank you.
Autos / Re: Pls Help! My Hyundai Accent Emits Smoke by Immune1(m): 1:48pm On Sep 23, 2010
i feel the problem is associated with improper fuel delivery.so my guess is your vehicle has alraedy limped in(check engine light illuminated), what you are probably dealing with is a malfunctioning MAP sensor which can cause the ECU to calculate the fuel needed for the engine wrongly.If the engine runs normally when during this smoking,i'll strongly suggest you check this or better still subject your car to electronic diagnosis to be sure.
Literature / Re: Isbn Price by Immune1(m): 9:05am On Jun 26, 2010
If i may ask,how long would this take to process knowing fully well the way things are done here in Nigeria.Your info has been quite helpful.
Autos / Free Advert On Auto-iq Kit by Immune1(m): 11:20am On Aug 31, 2009
This invitation is free for all car service providers and independent(special) car assesories/OEM spare parts dealers.To get on the book,all you have to do is state clearly your address, necessary contact and brief description of your business ONLY for those in lagos.Verification would follow.This service is under the platform of Ignition concepts Nigeria,publisher of AUTO-IQ kit.
Autos / Re: How To Make Over N50,000 Monthly With The New Magnetic Fuel Saver by Immune1(m): 7:30am On Aug 28, 2009
I think the product is probably a magnetic fuel filter that in the fuel tank or along the fuel lines.It attracts litle metal debris that might clog flow lines,am not too sure of it side effect because its not widely used.
Autos / Re: Nigeria's No.1 Auto-guide by Immune1(m): 7:19am On Aug 28, 2009
Advert slots are open to DIAGNOSTIC CENTRES,SPECIAL GARAGES,GENERAL CAR PRODUCTS,CAR ASSESORIES,BRAND SPECIALISTS,CAR ENTERTAINMENT,UPHOLSTERY,SECURITY/ANTI-THEFT,NAVIGATION,OEM SPARE PART SALES etc.With rates starting from #3000 for 5cm*4.5cm on coloured glossy paper.Target printing date is 8th sept. '09,slot are limited so hurry.
Autos / Re: Does Anyone Know Fluid Or Device To Economise Fuel Comsumption In A Car? by Immune1(m): 4:40pm On Aug 27, 2009
Fuel can be economized/conserved by conciously undertaking certain driving techniques and basically loving your car enough to carry out all routine maintenances and checks as promptly as possible periodically.Like passing exams,there's no quick way but to read.Auto-IQ KIT answers such questions and several others that have been challenges to Nigerian car users,for more info. https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-315572.0.html
Autos / Re: Nigeria's No.1 Auto-guide by Immune1(m): 4:10pm On Aug 27, 2009
The first ever in Nigeria,promising to be the best ever with an assured content quality that's unbeatable![color=#006600][/color]
Autos / Re: Latest Car Bluetooth Hands Free Kit by Immune1(m): 3:59pm On Aug 27, 2009
Ever considered getting this info across to Nigerian car users for as low as #3,000? https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-315572.0.html
Autos / Re: Introducing Wireless Hands Free Transfer To Car Radio by Immune1(m): 3:49pm On Aug 27, 2009
Ever considered getting this info across to Nigerian car users for as low as #3,000? https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-315572.0.html
Autos / Re: Don't Dump That Keyless Remote! by Immune1(m): 3:43pm On Aug 27, 2009
Autos / Re: It Is Not Another Tracking Device But One With A Difference by Immune1(m): 3:25pm On Aug 27, 2009
Autos / Re: Vehicle Tracking by Immune1(m): 3:22pm On Aug 27, 2009
Autos / Re: Turn your Car Rearview Mirror Into A Communication Center with our Handsfree Car Bluetooth Kit +MP3 by Immune1(m): 3:14pm On Aug 27, 2009
Autos / Re: Installation Of Dvd / Audio / Customized Audio System @ Cheap Rates! by Immune1(m): 3:09pm On Aug 27, 2009
Ever considered getting this info across to Nigerian car users for as low as #3,000? https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-315572.0.html.
Autos / Re: How To Make Over N50,000 Monthly With The New Magnetic Fuel Saver by Immune1(m): 3:02pm On Aug 27, 2009
Autos / Re: Car Vacuum Cleaner by Immune1(m): 2:55pm On Aug 27, 2009

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (of 12 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46