Kossyne's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Kossyne's Profile › Kossyne's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (of 21 pages)
whizqueen: Issokay. No material yet persay for strategic mgmt that have seen so far. But am using my tutorial note and one 'prepared' pack by the tutorial centre for that aspect of the course.I don't wanna be bothered about that Strategic mgt, I want to focus on the things I can do with the resources within my reach. If ICAN eventually releases their pack,then I might read it, if not, then that one na story for the gods. By former PSAF, I don't know if you mean the soft copy or the hard one, though as far as I am concerned both are still the current pack since we are yet to see the new one. I ve gone through the three and I ll say despite the inadequacies of R. A Adams, I wil choose it over the hard copy. The soft copy on the other hand covered certain areas like Government contract/Capital Investment appraisal using CBA and CEA, Uses of Annual budget, budget cycle,Loss of Public Sector fund, Role of Public Sector in the Economy etc not covered by R.A Adams. I printed the past questions on PSAF from May 2011 diet to May 2014 diet. Some of the question are contained in the syllabus but not covered by either of these books. Please stop counting it, make person no get cardiac arrest o. God dey sha! |
whizqueen: Are u serious abt this? No cash budget again in P.M? This people for tutorial just they waste pesin time ooh! ChaiIf you don't have a copy of the syllabus, I will advise you to get one. Don't let anybody deceive you. The part of Budgetary Control sys covered by the PM syllabus are the alternative approaches to Budgeting/Budgeting Techiques. They include Incremental budgeting,ZBB,Activity Based and Rolling Budgets.Activity Based is the only one that has calculations in it. |
whizqueen: Ok, thanks. Then wat will be the definition for discussive papers like MGE cos it seems we would be asked more of sceneriao questns in that course and we would be requires to assume the position of a Director of a quoted comany. BTW wat are u using to read Strategic Mgmt? That aspect of MGE seems Extremely boring to me mehn...Whizzy, I don't know what you mean by "definition" of MGE. Anyway, judging from the syllabus, MGE questions will be Scenario based to a large extent and as you know, there are many correct answers to those questions, answers will be based purely on judgement but that doesn't mean that there are no wrong answers. For the strategic management, to be honest with you, I am yet to see it anywhere, though I haven't bothered to look, still reading the ones in the BPP pack. I will be glad if you tell me the text you are using for it. Yes, the standards are just too much, but I believe that just reading the standards for reading sake is not enough. Constant practice is needed for retention. There are no big fish or small fish as far as this exam is concerned, just that some courses require more time than others. Proper allocation of time and resources is of utmost importance. I am using R.A Adams for PSAF. It roughly covers 50% of the syllabus. Still looking for a better material though. My biggest mistake is waiting for ICAN packs, I should have started reading earlier. |
Emeka71: and don't forget that there is no financial ratio without current ratio, quick-ratio and inventory ratio. also, don't you ever neglect cash budget (MA). Statament of cash flow (IFRS 7)Emeka, there's no cash budget in the new syllabus.Pls be guided. Ratios will always be the choice of candidates in exams and examiners know this so more marks will "likely" be alloted to comments on the ratios rather than the calculations. Numbers are meaningless if they can't be used for analysis. |
Givemejoy: I beg you guys please help with the materials....... Pleaaaaaaassssssssssseeeee.esrherfunmilayo.salami@gmail.comLol. Send me a mail @ kossynerule@yahoo.com. I ll send you the ones I have. |
whizqueen: Abi nw, its strategy one has to use in reading dis days as the time is short alrdy. I dunno if u can enlighten me more on wat dose sceneraio based questns would b like and d advise we would b required to offer. I tink ACCA test such questns toWell Scenario based questions requires one to apply the knowledge of two or more standards to provide solution to a problem. It tests the extent to which one can employ the requirements of relevent standards to solve Accounting problems.it may require you to perform little computations and entries before making your comments. You may or may not be told the applicable standard. Get the F7 revision kit for more info. |
whizqueen: Thats wat evryone is tinking of to, dat d number one questn wuld b group accts bt financial ratios also carry d same 30% in d syllabus so it shuld be one of the two. All dose standards applies mostly to published financial statements and that could take a whole lotta tym in exam condition. So av left d standards for now n focusing more on ratios, wich will help for both FR m PMThat's very thoughtful of you, just like the proverbial "killing two birds with a stone". Consolildation is always a big challenge for candidates and it appears more technical than the Acct Ratios which is more of cramming formulae and churning out calculatings, though the analysis part can be quite tricky but certainly not on par with the technicality of consolidation. For the standards, scenario questions(which doesn't involve Prep of Fin Statements) which involves two or more standards can be asked. Its all good sha. God strong pass them!! |
For Candidates sitting for the November diet of ICAN exams: Something to think about. You have 2 months to cover the entire syllabus, so that's barely enough time. Even if you attend tutorials,(you have roughly 16 days since most tuition houses hold lectures only on weekends) you can't cover the syllabus. Again its impossible to read 24 hours in a day( you are not a machine.) But you can efficiently utilize the little time left if you apply these tips: #1. Have a reading plan. A reading plan is the framework of your timetable. Allocate more time to papers that you find more difficult, know when(time) you read and understand more. For some its the day time, while for others it's during the night or early hours of the morning. But at this stage, its advisable to utilize every time @ your disposal. #2. Set "achievable" goals. The syllabus is very big, so looking @ it in its entirety can make one develop high blood pressure. So the best approach is to break it into smaller components and attack each component one @ a time. Determine what you will cover in a period, a day and a week. At the end of the week, check whether you achieved this target. Remember setting unrealistic goals might leave you frustrated at the end of the day. #3. DO NOT READ ANYTHING THAT IS NOT IN THE SYLLABUS: I was chatting with a friend of mine last week who will be sitting this coming diet, and she told me that she's reading the material she ordered from Lagos cover to cover( without the syllabus). Guess what the material is? The old ICAN Fin Reporting and Ethics pack and I bet she's not the only one. I have been to a tutorial centre where Accounting concepts and conventions were taught under Fin. Reporting. The truth is that you have limited time with a lot to cover, don't waste it on things that you won't be tested on. #4. Your tuition centre does 10% of the job, while the rem 90 will be done by YOU!!!. If you are not ready to read, no amount of tutorial will save you! #5. Stop cramming the IASs and IPSASs ( For FR and PSAF candidates). Its a waste of time. The most important thing about them is their application. #6. Limit your social activities just for these two months. Christmas is around the corner anyway, so why the rush? Its worth the wait if you ask me. I will add more as I remember. Any other person can also add. |
whizqueen: how far have you gone in financial reporting? Av covered only group account, the adjusments are just so many that one has to be very careful. Just trying to start accounting standards. Exam is fast approachin two mnths to go ooooo... ChaiWell there's no need to panic. Just have a reading plan and stick to it. Set achievable targets you wish to achieve each day. Discipline and consistency is the key. Well I haven't covered much yet. I am through with the statement of cashflow, preparation of Statement of P/L and OCI , SOCIE, and SOFP. I have also covered the Consolidated Statement of Fin position. The syllabus requires us to be able to prepare the Cons. Fin. Stat of a parent, subsidiary and associate. So the Cons SOFP and SPL and OCI are requisite knowledge. For the IASs, I ve covered at least 7 of them and plan to get back to them once I am thru with Grp Accts. The most important thing abt them is application so I learn them by solving questions requiring their application. I have a strong feeling that the compulsory question in Fin.Rep will come from grp accts. Just a hunch though. |
Kossyne: Are you a graduate/undergraduate?I apologise for the delay. I will try to be as brief and concise as possible. The ACA certification program is designed in a way that people from diverse disciplines with different certificates(O'level inclusive) can do it. Your qualification determines the stage where you begin your journey. There are three stages in the new ICAN syllabus- Knowledge level(5 papers), Application/Skills level(6 papers) and Professional level(5 papers). Based on your qualification, you will be only granted exemption in Quantitative techniques in Business(A1) in the Knowledge level. Then you will write every other paper in each stage. You must pass every paper in each stage inorder to progress to the subsequent stage. For more info you can visit icanig.org to download the new syllabus. You can also add me on bbm-26211650 or email me:kossynerule@yahoo.com. |
holyfather: please if someone that has no previous accounting related certificate(s) or experience is interested in ICAN, what're the steps involved?Are you a graduate/undergraduate? What course did you study/currently studying? We need more details about "your qualification" before we can advise you on what to do? |
Pls let's make this thread more interactive. We can share other useful things other than materials like exam tips, study tips, questions you find difficult on any paper. I know everybody is busy trying to cover the syllabus. That's understandable. But sparing an hour of your reading time to teach or probably learn something from your colleagues goes a long way. "Two heads are better than one" they say. Let's help ourselves. |
Sexipea: Ama studying Sociology"Ama" ? Seriously?. Is this how you plan to get your doctorate @ 26?...na only you waka come. |
ephreall: Does this made Nigeria a better country for women? Judging from the list...Compared to these listed countries, YES!!! |
Eyop: @ that first pic,wat are those men doing to the girlIts called genital mutilation. |
estwhile: Just sent you a mail. Pls reply as soon as you can. Thanks.......a lot.I have replied your mail. |
For candidates sitting the Case Study paper. You can log on to icaew.com for materials on case study. Also candidates writing others levels of ICAN exam can access learning materials and exam resources on that site. ICAEW means the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales. ICAN restructured their syllabus in line with ICAEW, so if you can get their exam resources and learning materials (soft/hard copy), it will be very useful. Please those residing in Lagos where there are good tuition houses should make further enquiries and share the outcome of your enquiries with the house. Thanks. |
France's Prime Minister Manuel Valls presented the resignation of his government to the president on Monday, Francois Hollande's office said in a statement.http://m.independent.ie/world-news/europe/french-prime-minister-presents-government-resignation-30534112.html |
Sierra Leone, battling a deadly outbreak of Ebola, passed a law on Friday that will see anyone harbouring a victim of the disease facing a two-year jail term. |
whizqueen: [b][/b]Pls, which of the tuition houses did you get thes materials from? Can I get the in the market? There are no good tuition houses here in Owerri. I am interested in "teach yourself IFRS" and "Mgt,Gov and ethics". Thanks. |
Oye123: Hse what are ur comments on d relevance/usefulness of ""Advanced financial reporting and ethic manual by kalu udo(2014)"" for financial reporting at application level.Please send the seminar materials/outcome of the seminar on the new ICAN syllabus to kossynerule@yahoo.com. Thanks. |
Do you have a softcopy of the BPP version? If you do, would you be kind enough to send it to my mail. Kossynerule@yahoo.com |
hayoakins: I used ACCA BBP P1. It is called Risk, Governance and EthicsI have a soft copy of it by Emile Woolf but it covers only a fraction of the syllabus. Do you know of any other materials that I can use. |
hayoakins: Bro,Please which text/material do I read for management,governance and ethics? |
whizqueen: Evry1 shuld specify the material dey are requesting for. All other emails am getting here the people in question didnt state the name of the pack dey are asking for.Please send me the outcome of the seminar on the new syllabus and the remaining ACCA pack.You sent only P1(Management, Governance and Ethics). My email is Kossynerule@yahoo.com |
naijaguy77: "Origin" of a word and "Meaning" of a word are two different things, and you are mixing them up here.I beg to differ. The term "okada" has been in use before inception of Okada airline. I "suppose" the term was coined from the name of a popular town in Edo state-"Okada. |
So "boku" is french and "sabi" is English....#smh |
nyt3237: Nice thrend op. very educational"Thread" not "thrend" |
Firstly, let me correct an impression. The real value of a currency does not lie in the quantity or denomination but in its purchasing power. If #1 can buy a shirt and $3 can buy the same shirt, then #1=$3 (ceteris paribus). Now, the idea of making our currency strong or @ par with the dollar is a good idea, but as every other thing is done in this country, we are going about it the wrong way. The first step is knowing how and why our currency got to its current pitiable state. The two major reasons are unfavourable balance of payment and government debt. Currency devaluation cannot be discussed in isolation without its sister "inflation". Solving one entails solving the other. Stabilizing or salvaging the current state of the naira will not be achieved by using the naira as a uniform currency. #1. The first step to achieving sustained stability of the currency can be achieved by encouraging exports and reducing over reliance on imported goods ( this will go a long way in reducing the BOP deficit) ,#2. reducing the amount of naira in circulation. #3. Reducing Capital flight. #4. Restruction our economy to be production oriented. Finally, I doubt if this proposal will see the light of the day cause some top politicians who stashed millions of dollars away in foreign account will be on the losing side. |
smurfy: @Yemisi63, Why mention a respectable church like Deeper Life in your satirical write-up? And why did you lie about being born again when it's obvious you aren't?Guy take a chill pill, the lady just narrated her unpleasant ordeal in the hands of a very funny employer. The least you could do is to empathize with her!...haba!!!... |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (of 21 pages)