Stats: 3,155,996 members, 7,828,520 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 May 2024 at 10:56 AM

Kponkwem's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Kponkwem's Profile / Kponkwem's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 15 pages)

Politics / Re: Meaning Of Names Of 7 Igbo Governors, S/east, South by Kponkwem(m): 4:55pm On Sep 14, 2016
More governors fotos

Politics / Meaning Of Names Of 7 Igbo Governors, S/east, South by Kponkwem(m): 4:47pm On Sep 14, 2016
Unlike some ethnic groups in Nigeria, who have completely lost their identities, history and culture such that they bear English, Arabic, Latin surnames etc, Igbo names have both literal and contextual meanings. Thus, apart from the 3 million Igbos sold as slaves from the coasts of Bonny and Opobo to USA, Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba etc in the over two centuries of Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade, you can't be Igbo and not be Igbo. Meaning Igbo names are very resilient and sweet too.
Here are the meanings of the names of the seven Igbo states governors and their true meanings. Enjoy reading:

1. Abia: Okezie Victor Ikpeazu
Oke zie – ‘Oke’ means portion. So the name simply translates as sharer of good potion. And for a good measure, the Ukwa Ngwa people of Abia South have used the name as Okezuo- let the share go round- to push for the rotation of power.
Victor- It is an English word meaning winner of a battle, conqueror.
Ikpeazu- Ikpe Azu. Ikpe means to come, Azu literally means back or last but contextually means support or strength or backing ie Azu bu ike. ‘Ikpeazu’ is the name is given to a child who have come after others and who deserve great care and love. It means last born child or the modern 'Junior'.
2. Anambra: Willie Maduaburochukwu Obiano
Willie- It is an English name for William meaning a strong-willed warrior. His supporters have used it in the context of 'willing'- that is ready and happy to help. So 'Willie is Willing, Willie is Working' Ha ha!
Maduaburochukwu- Also, Madu abuchi, Madu abughi chukwu. It means man is not God. Of course man cannot be determine the will of God. It is a shout out from a child of destiny.

Obiano- Also Obi ano, Obi alor. My heart has calmed or my heart has returned. It is given to a child who arrived at a time of sorrow. So it means the child has come to comfort. Mmh.

3. Delta: Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa
Ifeanyi- Also Ife anyi Chukwu, Ihe anyi Chukwu. Nothing is impossible for God or nothing is greater than God. It is a name dedicated to a miraculous birth.
Arthur- It is a European name from the term Artorius meaning nobility, courageous, fame bearer.
Okowa- Also, Oko Owa. In Igbo phonology, two syllabic vowels standing together leads to swallowing (Olulo uda ime) so the two /a/ syllables that ought to stand together has undergone this process. Youth of Owa. Oko or Okoro means young man in Igbo, while Owa means a kingdom, a land in present Delta State. It could be that the governor’s forefathers made in pact in their community and are honoured or are personally proud of their community. Other Igbo names with this projection of their town include Nworlu (Child of Orlu Kingdom).

4. Ebonyi- Dave Nweze Umahi
Dave- It is short for David. It was the name of Biblical Jewish King.
Nweze- Also Nwa Eze, Check above for Igbo phonology. Son of a King. Child of King.
Umahi- Also Uma Ahi. (Umahi under Igbo phonology). Uma in Ohafia and other C/River Igbo terms means is heaven (Igwe). Ahi means ‘does not fail’ So Umaahi means ‘Heaven does not fail’. (I hope people from Ebonyi could throw more light on this.

5. Enugu- Ifeanyi Lawrence Ugwuanyi
Ifeanyi- See figure 3.
Lawrence- It is a Latin name: ‘Laurentius’, meaning a man from Laurentum.
Ugwuanyi- Also Ugwu anyi. Mountain can't overwhelm. Historically, many Nsukka, indeed Enugu (Enu ugwu) people have sense of geography recognise their location on almost 248 meters above sea level hence their romance with 'Ugwu'- Hill or Mountain and set out conquer their natural features.

6. Imo- Anayo Rochas Okorocha
Anayo- Also, Anayo Chukwu. Let us beg God. It echoes a daily reverence of God.
Rochas- It is derived from the name given to his conglomerate- Rochas Groups and Rochas Foundation. The name is popular among the less privileged beneficiaries of his scholarships across Nigeria.
Okorocha- Also, Oko Ocha. Fair complexioned young man or ‘Yellow!’. It is a name of style and pomp.
7. Rivers- Ezenwo Nyesom Wike
Ezenwo- Also, Eze nwe, eze nwe uba. A king has wealth. It is expected that a king possess wealth of barns, large household and farmlands.
Nyesom- Also, Onye so m. Who is with me? Well the easy answer is Chi so m. God is with me because of the Igbo cosmological belief in the personal chi, guardian angel of an individual.
Wike- Also, Nwa Ike, Nwike. Strong child or child of power. Several riverine Igbo communities may drop the N. Thus names like Wogu, Wafor, Woke but all are same meaning with Nwosu, Nwa for, and Nwoke. Well the name is easy to understand going by the governor who has demonstrated so much courage and strength of character.

Politics / Re: Samuel Onunaka Mbakwe:the Great Man From The East! by Kponkwem(m): 6:31pm On Aug 21, 2016
Dee Sam, My father told me and I saw with my eyes.
Besides this man and Michael Okpara what we have had in the old east are a bunch of criminals and vandals. The more reason Ndigbo desperately want Nigeria to be restructured or separated peacefully.
These men imbibed the pure democratic ethos of the pre-colonial Igbo where decision making was by consensus. No overlords, no mago mago.
The fraudulent Nigerian state recaptured Igboland and imposed their fraudulent, crooked, capitalism on the people. They changed derivative system to allocative system and divided Igboland into miniature territories and merged others with amorphous entities.
Dee Sam while you were away Igboland has been run like a gang fiefdom while the odiously plundering mafieso were deployed from within.
Okpara and Mbakwe acquired no private estates but delivered quality service. Today every Igbo governor in their stained knowledge of the Igbo concept of ‘ntozu’ loots and loots, build many mansions at home and diaspora which will not wipe out their oozing sepulchers.
Dee Sam, you sacrificed everything to rehabilitate your war-ravaged people to give them some form of dignity in the face of a hostile country.
Your footprints in industrialization, the first state owned university, the first African airport built by communal efforts, durable roads stand out for generations to see.
Nna anyi rahu peeeee!
Nwoke ukwu, Ogbuagu, Ekweume, Odi uko n’mba
O ga adi rig i mma ma n’onwu ma na ndu!
Chukwu gozie gi oo!

Politics / Re: FG Imports Russian War Helicopters, Uavs From Dubai by Kponkwem(m): 5:58pm On Aug 21, 2016
lafuria1:
Lol.. The government has nothing to lose, the pipelines have been blown up, oil have been spilled, time to use force since the avengers have clearly said they won't negotiate.
Leave Niger Delta Oil, restructure Nigeria
Politics / Re: Militants Kill Three Soldiers In Nembe Bayelsa, Steal Two Gunboats by Kponkwem(m): 3:07pm On Aug 08, 2016
Adminisher:
I know that town very well. Their destruction has come.
This is the most stupid thing ever.

What of the town in Niger? Unity is not by force of arms. The oil belongs to Niger Delta.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Crime / Re: SAD! Man Hangs Himself On A Palm Tree (photo) by Kponkwem(m): 2:25pm On Aug 02, 2016
This picture sef, doubting if he is dead. Why does he appear to be grabbing the trunk and and his feet hooked on another part?
Anyway R.I.P.
Politics / Anger Over Buhari's Northern Police Force (NPF) by Kponkwem(m): 6:32pm On Jul 13, 2016
I never believed it until it became subject of National discussion. See Guardian http://guardian.ng/news/fears-over-injustice-in-police-recruitment/
In the 10, 000 strong new police recruitment, Buhari intends to have 10 police officers from each of the local government areas in the country. The arrangement seems fair at a glance but on a closer look, you see the clear ethno-centric agenda of this bigoted ruler.
By relying on local government formula rather than equal numbers per state, areas that were created by past military administrations as basis for revenue sharing without any value addition, the North will have dominance in the total list to be employed.

For instance, Kano with 40 local governments will swallow the figures for two South East or South South states each. Meanwhile, Kano contributes no natural resource or distributable revenue to the Federation. The funds to be used to pay the officers will be generated from mineral resources of south east/south south, and the VAT and ports of the south west.

SE: Abia-17 LGAs, Anambra-21 LGAs. SS: Delta-25 LGAs, Bayelsa -8 LGAs.
Bayelsa, which suffers more environmental disposition with thousands of barrels of crude from its territory, has only eight local governments.

With the appointment of Malam Ibrahim Idris as Inspector General over and above Mrs Amajor Onu, the most senior DIG from Abia State, should anybody be in doubt as to the clear deadly agenda of this people?

The entire south is in for trouble. Why would people not be shot and buried in mass graves in these regions, why would their indigenes not get beheaded by religious zealots without official reaction? Why would communities and farmlands not be overrun with scores butchered in their homes?
All what southerners do is to theorise, sermonise, attack each other in the social media while the master strategies continue to take over th entire security structure, military, mineral and revenue yielding institutions of the country. The southerners are mostly dumb to strategic thinking.

When you challenge injustice, you could be called ethnic this or that, but that does not deduct from the hard facts.

May God save us from the hands of the wicked!
Politics / Is Referendum Finally Coming For Biafra?this! EU To Meet Buhari Over N/delta by Kponkwem(m): 5:24pm On Jun 20, 2016
• We support Niger Delta Avengers – IPOB

The leadership of the European Union (EU) Delegation to Nigeria and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has concluded plans to meet with President Muhammadu Buhari over the rising wave of militancy in the Niger Delta and the agitations by the Independent People of Biafra (IPOB), it was gathered at the weekend.
The 28-member Union, with a population of over 500 million people, and a quarter of the global wealth, is one of the most powerful organisations in the world.
The AUTHORITY gath¬ered that, worried by the deteriorating security situation in the Niger Delta and the Southeast,
leaders of the European Union spent the past weeks meeting with opinion leaders from the zones to help their understanding of how best to handle the situation.
Sources close to the meetings told The AUTHORITY that the EU leaders hosted the opinion leaders from the zones to several meetings in Abuja. At one of the meetings, said the source, one speaker from the Niger Delta pointedly accused the EU of fanning the embers of the crises in the zones, and advised the Union to stop “playing the ostrich in Nigeria.”
An official of the Union who did not want to be mentioned told The AUTHORITY that it was wrong to accuse the EU, which he said between 2009 and 2013, granted over €700m aid to Nigeria, of bad faith.
“It is most unfortunate that an organisation which committed over €200m to youth development, including reintegrating ex-militants in the same Niger Delta, is accused of bad faith. The EU is committed to developing, not only Nigeria, but the whole of Africa.
“Between 2009 and 2013, EU aid to Nigeria most of it from the 10th European Development Fund totalled about €700m. Some €200m was allocated to the consolidation of peace and stability, tackling
poverty and creating job opportunities for young people (ex-militants) in the Niger Delta.
“The highpoints of the EU 2009-2013 Country Strategy are peace and security, governance and human rights, and trade and regional integration. The basis for political, trade and development cooperation relations between the EU and Nigeria is the 2000 Cotonou Agreement otherwise called the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement, which covers 79 developing countries in Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific.
“Aside from the fact that Nigeria is the most populous country in Africa, it is the biggest economy on the continent and a regional power. Besides, it is a very important trading partner with the EU. This is why we want to meet with Pres¬ident Buhari and share some of our thoughts on happenings in the Niger Delta and South East with him,” said the official.
Meanwhile, IPOB on Sunday drummed support for the militant group responsible for crippling Nigeria’s oil production, Niger Delta Avengers (NDA), as its “kith and kin.”
IPOB made its position known in a statement endorsed by its spokespersons Emma Mmezu and Dr. Chukwuemeka Iroanya.
“The Indigenous People of Biafra under the leadership of Mazi Nnamdi Kanu hereby state that we support our kith and kin, the Niger Delta
Avengers, who are fighting for the freedom of our people from the enslaving Nigerian Government.
“We want to place it on record that IPOB has no connection with some groups who are claiming on the pages of Nigerian newspapers that they do not support our fellow freedom fighters the NDA,” IPOB said in the statement.
IPOB said the Niger Delta Avengers were not fighting for resource control and a restoration of the amnesty programme, rather, the group was fighting for Biafra.
“The NDA have consistently stated that the release of IPOB leader Mazi Nnamdi Kanu is a precondition for any discussion with Nigeria,” it said.
“Unfortunately, the Nigerian government has swept this demand under the carpet while magnifying the notion of am¬nesty payments and resource control as reasons for the NDA’s actions.
“For the avoidance of doubt, the NDA is fighting for the freedom of the people of Biafra and not for amnesty payment or for resource control as some commentators would like to believe.”
According to IPOB, if the secession plan is successful, resources will be controlled by the owners of the land where those resources are located.

http://www.authorityngr.com/2016/06/EU-to-meet-Buhari-over-N-Delta-Biafra-agitations/

Politics / Imported Goods Distribution And Buhari’s Nepotism by Kponkwem(m): 10:03pm On Jan 17, 2016
President Muhammdau Buhari has again shown his bitter, grievously nepotic part once again. For ordering the distribution of imported goods mostly by southerners especially igbos, declared contraband to his northern people.
Contraband goods comprising cloths, foods and beverages are treated as illegal imports, which the importer is either fined, offered the option of first refusal to buy back at high tariffs by govt or outrightly destroyed.
Reports show that none of this was carried out in the case of the goods Buhari now wants to distribute to his people, who are victims of a home-grown insurgency. What about other victims of internal crisis around the country?
This case of robbing Peter to pay Paul has defined the relationship between the south and the north in this country. Over the years northerners serving in the customs have often confiscated choice goods and cars imported by southerners and auction them off to their acolytes at absolutely ridiculous prices. I have relations who are clearing agents in Lagos, and they can confirm that these cars and items are sold without the original owners having a say.
Already we are aware of the policy to restrict dollars from Igbo importers, impound their cargoes on arrival at the docks for being purchased with illegal forex, and squeeze them out of business. We are aware of the grand design to destroy shops operated in Igbo dominated areas of Lagos without adequate notice and force them out of their livelihoods. The governorsw who pursue these anti-Igbo policies are then invited for presidential handshakes and granded millions of dollars loans to fast-track their further havoc of development without human face.
The customs officers of northern extraction has never been happy with Obasanjo’s repostings and sustained by Jonathan. Now the parasites are back to the top spots doing what they know how to do best: stifle free enterprise with little and share the booty, the sweats of others who are the hewers of wood and fetchers of water.
With this latest development, it is clear that Buhari is out to destroy this country finally. Let him be warned that the Israelites once cried out and Pharoah perished. That same God is still doing wonders for His people.
It is time the country is restructured to encourage other eastern ports in PH and Calabar to function. It is time we discuss the future of this country of monkey they work baboon they chop. The oil money sharing that had sustained this fraud is almost extinguished. Not the Yoruba nor the Hausa will support that their resources will now be used for others. Enough is enough.
Buhari Ronu.

17 Likes

Politics / Re: Ikoli-Awolowo Relationship: Ijaw-Yoruba Political Relationship by Kponkwem(m): 12:33am On Dec 19, 2015
TonyeBarcanista:
Ruhbbish upon Rubbish!

What did we get from eastern region? Oh, we keep being reminded of our 'minority' status and pushed to the background despite having the 4th and 5th largest ethnic group in Nigeria (Ijaw and Ibibio). Our demand for COR region was rebuffed by the Igbo leadership despite having the blessings of the North and Awo. Our Midwest brothers on the other hand got a ministry to manage. What did we get? Nothing!

I know how bittered the eastern region leadership was when Gowon/Awo gave us Rivers state... And how happy we were.

Yes, we got the 13% Courtesy Abacha, we got the onshore-offshore dichotomy law amended, coutesy Obasanjo and Ghali Na'aba. We got NDDC, courtesy Obasanjo. We got ND Ministry(Yar'adua), Vice Presidency(Obj) and Presidency(Obj). Not forgeting additional three states courtesy Northern leaders. What is your problem?

The problem is that you are seriously disturbed, the reason I don't know but I don't care.

By the way, we(SS) have always had Good relationship with the yorubas and the north. It wasn't all that smooth but at the same time not hate filled. As for your Igbo agitation, I will advice that you define what you want. But note that you can't 'drag' us into a republic with you as we have our own agenda. Yes, we seek fiscal autonomy and build relationship with others.

As you can see from the responses of NDeltans so far, we speak in one voice on this issue.

BTW: You can as well call the entire IPOB crew...

Hei, look up here and see that nobody is dragging you into anything, but those who toed this path of 'we SS' from Boro to Wiwa, died disgracefully. We know you and your ilk have tried to re-write the history of Rivers State and PH. We know what is at stake and we will not allow our people, the Ikwerres, Etche, Obigbo, Ahoada, Orashi etc to be entraped in all these divisive concoctions. http://nigeriaworld.com/articles/2007/sep/041.html
ANNOUNCE THIS ARTICLE
TO YOUR FRIENDS
BEYOND THE CULTISTS, LIES THE STRUGGLE FOR PORT HARCOURT

ort-Harcourt, the erstwhile "Garden City" of Nigeria is a city of historical complexities. It blossomed into an industrial centre under the administration of the Governor of the defunct Eastern region, the Late Dr. Michael Iheonukara Okpara.

With the aim of creating a rival Lagos of Eastern Nigeria, Okpara, envisioned and transferred the then Shell-BP Head quarters from Owerri to Port-Harcourt, built the Presidential Hotel and the Trans-Amadi industrial layout among other high profile projects. Trans-Amadi, It will be recalled remains the biggest industrial layout East of the Niger..

While the City continued its positive progression in the 60s, the aborigines, Ikwerre, a subset of the Igbo, felt dominated and sidelined by the other Igbos. The Mayoral seat of Port-Harcourt was one of their major grievances, a position occupied then by an Oguta native, Mr. Nzimiro.

It happened that when the Igbo-led Biafran secession failed, the victorious Gen. Yakubu Gowon refused to allow them, the Ikwerres, to be a part of the new Rivers state. Led by Eze Frank Ekeh and Elechi Amadi, It took them to renounce their Igbo identity to be accepted in the new state. Hence, the Ikwerre clan of the old Owerri division, left the political camp of their kinsmen to sojourn with other groups in the newly created Rivers state.

The lures of being allowed in one of the victorious states was irresistible. To the Ikwerre, It was the safest bet; a camouflage from their spited kinsmen in the East Central state. Though the Ijaw played an active role in the early part of the war before defecting to the federal side; a time the Biafran Air force was headed by one of their sons, in the person of Col. George Kurubo. But The fact that the Ikwerres had to plead to be a part of the new state, watered down their psychological ability to engage in an assertive political partnership with the new powerful Ijaw. Thus, the Ijaw, whom Yakubu Gowon handed the reins of power in Port-Harcourt in 1970, held the Ikwerre spell bound, and in the process, dictated the affairs of Port-Harcourt and the new state in general.

With ethnic renouncement firmly secured by Gen Gowon from the Ikwerres, the Houses belonging to other Igbo groups were summarily ceased. Labeled abandoned property. And that was it.

One Barrister Uche Okwukwu, an Ikwerre and Pan Igbo activist, restated that 97 percent of the ceased Igbo houses in Port-Harcourt were bequeathed to the Ijaws. An advantage that will naturally repudiate reconciliation, and which can only stir anxiety to the benefactors when the word reconciliation is mentioned.

The Ijaw having established their political presence in a city hitherto controlled by the Igbo, ruled and effected changes that were meant to whittle down the Igbo presence within and outside the city of port-Harcourt. It continued till 1996 when the political map of the state was redrawn with the creation of Bayelsa out of Rivers state, and with the Capital in the marshlands of Yenogoa.

Bayelsa state, with a population of 1.7 Million and a registered voters' population of 500,000 in the last elections, represents the largest segment of the Ijaw population in Nigeria. Like any other group, most Ijaw welcomed the creation of the state. But a minority of their leaders have yet to come to terms with the creation of Bayelsa state which has robbed the Ijaw the control of Port-Harcourt. A state creation that has reduced the Ijaw population in the new Rivers state, and which can at best give them the Deputy gubernatorial seat in the state.

So, beyond the present cult problem lies the unspoken struggle for Port-Harcourt between the conservative Ijaw elements and the upland people. The political control of the city, like in the past 40 years has once again changed. This time not in the favor of the Ijaw, but to the group referred to linguistically by the Rivers state government as Igbo-id. (Igbo speaking). Dr. Peter Odili emerged from this group, and who is now followed by Celestine Ngozichim Omehia.

It is believed that the hawks within the Ijaw, wants nothing but an Ijaw to emerge the Governor of Rivers state. This group, led by the indefatigable Chief Edwin Kiagbodo Clark from Delta state, has been calling endlessly for a complete state of emergency. By this, they aim to dethrone Celestine Omehia, have a military man takeover in the interim, and hopefully with the Ijaw hierarchy in the army, influence the return of an Ijaw in the Brick House Port-Harcourt as Governor.

But In response to Chief Edwin Clark's insistence on a state of emergency in Rivers State, Celestine Omehia bluntly reminded him that "Rivers state of today is only 20 percent reverine", referring to the Ijaw. Indirectly telling Clark that his intentions are mere pipe dreams. The implication of all these, is the gradual destruction of the post civil war grouping called "Rivers people", and the drawing of the attention of the wider Igbo in defense of the Igbo speaking group in Rivers state.

The Ikwerre seem to have realized that there fears of domination by fellow Igbos might have been baseless, as the post war creation of more states has not witnessed intra-ethnic interference in political or financial matters within Igbo states. Nigeria being an ethnic based society, the need to have an associate close home has become more pertinent than ever for the Ikwerre.

On his inception as Governor of Rivers State, one of Omehia's first visits out side Rivers state was to Owerri, Imo state, where he met with Chief Ikedi Ohakim. At the meeting the two leaders spoke extensively on the need to revive the historical links between the two peoples. An idea that may not have gone down well with some Ijaw hawks.

While the Ijaw may claim to have a stake in Port-Harcourt and Rivers state as a whole, the challenges of a multicultural entity, are that which which calls for an umbrella socio-cultural body for the upland people in Rivers state.

A body like that of ANIOMA , formed by the Igbos of Delta state, may help the Igbos of Rivers state rise to the occasion. The disharmony in Rivers state is real. Special interest groups are digging in for a long haul. Like the city of Warri, the problem in Port Harcourt seem to be just starting. Beyond the cultists, lies the struggle for the city.

Politics / Re: Ikoli-Awolowo Relationship: Ijaw-Yoruba Political Relationship by Kponkwem(m): 11:23pm On Dec 18, 2015
TonyeBarcanista:

I don't like responding to people like you. The question I keep asking is WHY ARE YOU PAINED? The Ijaws have always seek hand of fellowship with Yorubas over the years. It doesn't start with Barcanista and won't end with him.

The Yoruba/Fulani gave us Rivers state. A yorubaman supported our own tribesman in local election. A yorubaman supported our son to VP and Presidency of Nigeria. A Yorubaman gave us NDDC. Have you heard any Ijawman saying he hates Yorubas? We have Ijaws in Ondo state that are doing fine with their neighbours. Kingsley Kuku and Sowore(SR) are Ijaws from Ondon states. They are well... So it's not about barcanista...

That some of you choose to hate Awo does not mean that we do. And by the way, what is making you feel agitated by the thread? Check post history, I have no ish with the yorubas even at the heat of the backlash from my defection. Yes, we fight for politics but not for tribal interest. So what is actually your problem?

Quit being emotionally disturbed and grow up boss!

@Tonyebacanista, look at what a supposed informed person put up as proof of political correctness or acceptability of the North and West of ‘our SS’ as opposed to the SE’s perceived attitude. Somebody posted here: ‘I see no wisdom in the South South’ some months ago, and I now really see reason with him. And to think that some of these people, who are so ignorant, were sired by Igbo mothers but still appear unreasonable is very shocking.
A Hausa-Fulani created your division-infused state with 0% resource control- it took yeas of militancy and the various spat between old eastern leaders and northerners to raise it to 13%, see: http://www.vanguardngr.com/2012/02/how-ojukwu-fought-for-13-derivation-odili/. A Yorubaman gave you a tokenistic NDDC while continuing the oil and gas exploitation and flaring despoliating the environment and setting the stage for future earthquakes. See: http://www.cnbc.com/2015/04/27/scientists-certain-that-drilling-is-causing-earthquakes.html
I am disturbed, like Abagworo, that despite the friendship and love the core easterners show the SS, many of the actually less informed people keep posting trash to create unnecessary diversion from the main issues of development and prosperity. These same people saw nothing wrong with people who stoned their so-called only presidential son and ganged-up to rig him out of office. these same people support, maybe out of ignorance or cowardice, this current entrapment by merely mouthing their wish for liberation.
I think the Igbo struggle shall remain, to consistently educate and possibly prod the so-called south south to support a country of equity and justice or we go our separate ways. A country where the Igbo will find it easier to import his goods from PH or Calabar seaports with revenues accruing directly to the land owners than hundreds of kilometres from Lagos, a country where the airports in the SE/SS which have the highest passengers can travel outside directly, a country where power projects executed in Akwa Ibom, Afam, Omoku, Aba or Oji River ore huge coal deposits in Enugu serve the people directly as in South Africa and not to be frustrated, a where the industrial potentials of the SE will be unleashed for massive exports, country where the oil producing areas of Igboland and the so-called minority areas enjoy their resources.
All my South South people don’t allow these agents of divide and rule, who do not see beyond their noses to mislead you with all these divisive crap of ‘our own state’, ‘our SS’. We must restructure Nigeria for the good of SS/SE!
CC: Abagworo, Ugomba, Ikechu1278.

Politics / Re: South East Leaders & Stakeholders' Meeting: Live Update (pics) by Kponkwem(m): 4:18pm On Nov 22, 2015
coolitempa:

Anioma is not Biafra and can never be Biafra...... angry....Anioma is Benin.......and therefore edo........but there is a strong Ibo population.. angry

Afo to uke? I dighe Akwa Ibom...

Can you speak in Akwa Ibom, Ibibio or Efik? If you do I will know you are real. If not you are an imposter planting some old discarded seeds of discord. I don't care what your feelings for Igbo are but I am certain you are not real. You don't know your cultural history or identity and you are fake..

Culture / Igbo-efik/ibibio Cultural/linguistic Similarities (photo) by Kponkwem(m): 9:20am On Nov 06, 2015
Like what has been asserted severally that Igbo and Efik –Ibibio are historical cousins. Some accounts exist about the groups’ common practice of the Ekpe, Okonko cults and Nsibidi writing systems and several customary practices. They are also non-state, non-empire kingdom and communities, known to be generally democratic and republican in socio-political worldview.
While the Ibibio have an older established continuous occupation of their present location in eastern Nigeria, the Efik, who are believed to be offshoots of the Ibibio, can trace their origin from Ibom area of Arochukwu now Abia State. The progenitors moved to settle in Uruan now in Akwa Ibom, then crossed to Creek town. I will on another day, relate how the Efiks quickly grew more influential during the European trade from the 1500s than their Igbo and Ibibio cousins despite being the least in numbers and being late to emerge in the south east of Nigeria. However, the link is maintained till this day that you can't coronate the Obong of Calabar without kingmakers from Arochukwu and Uruan and other Northern Cross River members of the Efik-Eburutu.
For starters, this is not to suggest that there are no sources of conflicts among the Igbo and the Efik-Ibibio. For instance, the Igbo refer to the Efik-Ibibio as ‘Mmongo’ while they refer to the Igbo as ‘Uneghe’. None of these terms have been confirmed to have derogatory or endearing meaning. But generally the Igbo and Efik-Ibibio are fond of each other and share healthy competition in many areas of the life.
I think this clear geographical and historical relation is responsible for how the Akwa Ibomites always defend the Igbo interest doggedly in most issues in the past and in recent times. You recall how Philip Effiong stayed behind after Ojukwu’s departure to restore peace to a beleaguered Biafra. I saw the Ibibio responses during the reprisal riots in Aba on the Kaduna Sharia killings in the 2001 and how they replicated the riots almost immediately in Uyo. I saw their support for Jonathan up till today just like the Igbos and how Uyo joined in demonstrating for Nnamdi Kanu.
Today, many Efik-Ibibio now join or try to out-compete the Igbo in trade and commerce (especially spare parts, electronics, transport, estates, cloths) and other fields. There is a whole new paradigm by my Efik-Ibibio brothers, outside what the laidback Ijaw, Ikwerre etc haven’t learnt yet, that rather than demonise the Igboman and accusing him of blood money etc- in this modern era, it’s better to join him, learn from him and compete with him. Akwa Ibom is rich in oil but the people don’t rely on that especially now that the resource is waning internationally. It is the spirit driving Godswill Akpabio’s and Udom Emmanuel’s Akwa Ibom. In Udom’s voice ‘Akwa Abasi Ibom m’adakkada!’ the people now go to school, travel like Igbos and work very hard that you actually don’t see any difference with the Igbos.
A symbol of their commercial prowess is a wholly owned Efik-Ibibio settlement in Aba referred to as ‘Ama Mmongo.’ Though you have other non-indigenous settlements in Aba like ‘Ama Awusa’ and Opobo/Ijaw areas, but Ama-Mmong is da bomb-very lively and you have native Igbo speakers intermingle with the other groups. Thus like Port Harcourt, Aba is a very great centre of eastern unity and integration. I dare say that Aba industries thrive because of the patronage from these neighbouring states and there are now big time indigenous goods dealers in Ikot Ekpene, Uyo and Calabar, who learnt their trade from the Igbo towns of Aba, Onitsha and Nnewi. Akwa Iboms not only have the close proximity with Igbos-go to same market and farms, but are utilizing it.
In movies, many Ibibio film acts, sportsmen, musicians had their big breaks and made their way working among the Igbo in Lagos, Aba, Enugu or Asaba. Here in the North, from Kaduna to Kano, you see Ibibios where Igbos are many-who doesn’t want protection?
I have by these few words used generally among the Igbo (especially those from Aro, Ohafia, Abiriba etc.) and the Efik- Ibibio with same meaning, to show the centuries of mutual interaction among the groups. This will show how these three states, Abia/CRS and A/Ibom share so much in common, and are indeed cousins:

No Word Meaning Origin/ Usage location
1 Abasi/Obasi/Bassey God Igbo/ Efik-Ibibio
2 Nna Father or fondly name for young person “
3 Nne Mother or fondly name for young person “
4 Nene Grand-mother or fondly name for a young lady “
5 Nnanna Grand-father or fondly name for young person “
6 Mma Beauty/Good or fond name “
7 Ekpat Bag Aro, Ohafia, Abiriba/Efik-Ibibio
8 Akpan/Okpan First son Efik-Ibibio/Aro, Ohafia, Abiriba
9 San-sana Clean Efik-Ibibio/Aro, Ohafia, Abiriba
10 Ekpe Tiger cult Efik-Ibibio/Igbo
11 Ekpo Masquerade Igbo/Efik-Ibibio
12 Momoiko Water leave Efik-Ibibio/Aro, Ohafia, Abiriba
13 Ukpoghiri Key “
14 Utuen-Ikang Lantern “
15 Okpokoro Table “
16 Usan Plate “
17 Ikpang-nkwukwo Water yam porridge “
18 Akparawa Youth “
19 Nwoko Male Igbo/ Efik-Ibibio
20 Okorie Male of Orie market day “
21 Ndem Water spirit Efik-Ibibio/Aro, Ohafia, Abiriba
22. Inem Sweet thing “
23. Ete Father or fond name for older male Efik-Ibibio/Aro,Ohafia, Abiriba
These words are mutually intelligible to the areas I mentioned them with. Please if you are from the areas mentioned feel free to support or dispute any point I have raised above, or any term. If you have more additions, corrections or observations, please feel free to make them.
Ndito eka m mi, yak nyin ibono k’ima ye emem, ye mboho!
Let’s keep the love, peace and unity among us all my Igbo, Efik-Ibibio blood relations.

Pic: Igwa Mang in Abiriba

Politics / Re: . by Kponkwem(m): 9:42pm On Oct 24, 2015
atbu1983:

If you give Igbo man an inch, he will take 10 metres. Among all commentators on Nairaland, d igbos on nairaland are so pain by ur position on Biafra because they cant call you a yoruba man.

They expected every pro GEJ in south south to be pro Biafra. That is what the IPOB noise is base upon to deceive many south south people to follow them to Slaughter house. No deep thinking south south perso will agree to Biafra.

What they fail to understand is that i may be pro APC south south person today while you may be Pro PDP south south person today. We may not agree on political issues. But on the issues of our ethnic nationalities we dont give a damn about PDP or APC. That is where they got it wrong.

The BIafra Igbo want is d Biafra were they can completely remove south south people from history. In d Biafra they want, Igbo alone will be more than 60% of the population. With that they can have thier way. Impose igbo language on every school and claim is for national unity. In less than 50years we will all loose our identity.

Even as at today, they dont recognise or respect many ethnic group in south south. As far as they are concern Ikwerre, Opopo, ika etc are igbo. They dont care what these people think.

Mr Abu can you stop this your premeditated lies on this forum. Why do you choose to manufacture and bandy these non-existent lies to satisfy your selfish interest?
There is no record anywhere that ndigbo have ever attempted to impose themselves on any group. Even the Igbo closest cousins –the Ibibios have existed side-by-side with the Aros for centuries with shared linguistic and cultural traditions. Nobody has ever tried to impose whatever on anybody.
Consider the Fulanis, they arrived this country as recent as 1804 and with force and violence have expanded and claimed territories all over Nigeria. The Hausa language has been imposed by the sword on all the over 300 ethnic groups of Northern Nigeria, yet you see nothing wrong in that except the imposition that your warped mind tells you the Igbo will impose. Today despite everybody knowing that Fulanis are invaders in this country, they continue to rule and your ilk have voted them in from president to governor.
If you have stepped outside your enclave to Rivers State, you see that Igbo language is spoken not by imposition. Note that every Igbo community maintains its distinct dialect.
Your false innuendos can be easily dismissed by discerning minds from SE and SS.

Politics / Re: . by Kponkwem(m): 9:25pm On Oct 24, 2015
MayorofLagos:

Prior to the amalgamation of 1906, Iboland, geographically, did not include any part of any land whatsoever in the oil protecorates. There is a league of Nations or Kingdoms with whom Colonials went into contract of security, popularly termed "Treaty". Not a single Iboland or territory or domain or Kingdom (which was not even known in Iboland) signed a Treaty with Britain. Yoruba, Edo, Itsekiri, Ijaw, Efik....these were the Treaty Nations. There was no place known as Port Harcourt.or Rivers State back then. It was a Kingdom under a King and the throne and its dynasty as well the territorial domain were non-Ibo. So why is Ibo claiming any part of the Treaty Nation as its own and want Biafra to rule over it?

Go and read about the Aro-British war, and the origin of the Opobo kings of the 1800 before you tell me the Igbo had no contact with the British
Politics / Re: . by Kponkwem(m): 1:15am On Oct 24, 2015
xtrorse:

There's freedom of association. Igbos are not interested in non-Igbos or traitors.

You're ever free to seek your own survival and republic without dragging Igbos into your plight.

And for war, no one has monopoly of violence!
I don't understand your point. Who are the traitors? Your type are the reason why Igbos are misunderstood by others. And its hightime the issues of Biafra ceases to be used as we vs them affair. The primary owners of the proprietary right on Biafra are the riverine Bonny, Opobo, Okrika and all others and the hinterlanders cannot claim exclusivity or dominance.

Politics / Re: . by Kponkwem(m): 12:14am On Oct 24, 2015
laudate:

Dem don start! shocked Because the atrocities were committed against non-Igbo minorities by the Biafran soldiers, you are now referring to the writer's account as "unsubstantiated." God dey! cry

It is part of the typical tactics of your people, to discard any true-life accounts by non-Igbo minorities, and wallow in self-denial.

Sam Enadeghe Umweni wrote about his own personal experience, and the atrocities he witnessed inside the Biafran enclave in his book, '888 Days in Biafra,' published by iUniverse, Inc., in 2007. Yet, the proponents of propaganda are always in a hurry to dismiss his account.

It is not only among Rivers people, that there were complaints of atrocities. Other non-Igbo minorities recorded the same fate. Even General Godwin Alabi-Isama in his book titled the 'Tragedy of Victory', noted that when the federal forces landed in Uyo & Calabar, they discovered one thing: "...the atrocities committed by Biafran troops on the people of Uyo and Annang were legendary."

My brother, I agree there were atrocities by Biafran troops, but it has not been established on the scale the writer made it out. If substantiated as you have suggested, there are causes because of the communication gaps that existed then. Neither would I support the suggestion that the atrocities as the major factor that made Biafra to fall. Ojukwu throughout the war requested the British and UN to organise a referendum for all the minorities, the Nigerian government guided by Gowon, Awolowo and Enahoro would have non of that and Britain continued to equip the war for Nigeria. Why was Ojukwu so confident of a referendum for the so-called minorities?

You will agree with me that up till today, the Igbo believe that the Nigerian and minority question can only be resolved through true federalism. If Biafra, through referendum for the Igbos and her neighbours. Let it be known that Igbo are not interested in anybody's oil. SE have enough resources and can muster billions of dollars in local and diaspora funds to take off as a free nation. Let non-Igbos never bother about being coerced into Biafra. Biafra is by choice, if you wish. This should be the major condition for any UN action on this agitation.
Politics / Re: . by Kponkwem(m): 10:19pm On Oct 23, 2015
Trillyonaire:
As a Rivers man who saw the events of 1967-1970 and who was old enough to understand them, this protest in Port Harcourt is a slap on true Rivers indigenes. and the memory of ALL the Rivers men and women who were slaughtered in the pogroms and ethnic cleansing committed during the civil war by the Biafran Army.

Let us remind ourselves of the TRUE facts and REAL reasons behind the secession and subsequent civil war. Ojukwu and his cohorts decided to secede from Nigeria because Gowon broke up the regions and created Rivers State among the 12 states he created. Remember the Aburi accord? Article 4 of that accord had to do with the breaking up of the regions. On the 27th of May, 1967, Gowon broke up the Regions, from the then Eastern Region and carved out Rivers, South-Eastern and East-Central states. 3 days later on 30th May, 1967 Ojukwu seceded citing the Aburi accord. ON ABURI WE STAND!! The rallying war cry of the day. How anyone who calls himself/herself a Rivers indigene support tacitly or otherwise the so-called Biafra cause when Biafra seceeded just because Rivers State was created and the Rivers people for once had a right to self rule?

In the quest for a sovereign country did the Igbo majority seek, discuss with or solicit the support of the minorities in the Oil Rivers and South-East?? Where is Biafra? How do you seek for a country which was susequently named Biafra WITHOUT involving the indigenous people of Biafra? Isn't that supreme arrogance or maybe they were not included because they were meant to be wiped out later. Events proved the latter to be true.

Late Chief (Dr.) Nabo Graham-Douglas who was the Attorney General of the Eastern Region was sent on compulsory leave and exiled to his home town Abonnema with orders for him to be executed. Fortunately the plans leaked and he miraculously escaped. He didn't draw the Articles of secession and only heard about Biafra from the BBC journalists who came to interview him in Abonnema.
He was one of the lucky ones.

The ethnic cleansing began in earnest. Our intelligentsia; top civil servants, technocrats and other able bodied men and women were rounded up and summarily executed in Enugu, Owerri, Aba, Umuahia, Degema, Buguma, Bakana, to mention but a few towns/cities. In Port Harcourt, Rainbow town and Igritta, became killing fields. the bones of those victims still lie there
These atrocities were committed by the Biafran Army, against people who were supposed to be fighting the same cause with them.
In a bid to wipe out the minority tribes, our towns and villages were evacuated, our men put to slave labour and later on shot (reminiscent of Nazi Germany), our women taken as sex slaves, young boys shared the same fate as the men. Bakana, Bille, Abonnema were all forcefully evacuated.

Finally, when the Nigerian Army counter attacked and liberated Port Harcourt, the retreating Biafran Army, burnt Kingsway (now Supabod building), Nabo Graham-Douglas's law library (which was the best Law library in the whole of West Africa) and other land marks in the Garden city. Of what military significance were these acts??

I don't blame the misguided ill-informed people for trampling on the graves of those who were murdered by the Biafran Army, by protesting in Port Harcourt. I blame Gowon for forbidding accounts of the war being published after the war, but more importantly for not trying war criminals (like Col Ojeh of Degema) within the Biafran Army and holding them accountable for their inhuman and murderous actions during the war. 70 years after World War 2, we are still reminded on a daily basis the atrocities that the Nazi's committed. If Gowon had done what he was morally and duty bound to do, this matter of Biafra would have been put to rest once and for all.

By the way, in May 1968, my uncle (my mother's younger brother) was shot in his Warri street residence in Port Harcourt, his corpse butchered, his flesh sold as Biafra meat in Mile 1 market. That same day the Nigerian Army opened up and started shelling Port Harcourt, which was ultimately liberated

Are those protesting and the other supporters of "Biafra" aware of these facts??

The war has been over these past 45 years, we are forging on as a country, setting aside our ethnocentric issues. That Ex-Biafrans have been assimilated into all spheres of our society (as they should), without any punishment meted out to the war criminals among them, doesn't give anyone the right to re-write history or bring these painful memories back.
ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!

https://www.facebook.com/alaboabiye.akkioabbey/posts/10153267949980028

What you wrote on facebook is very much one-sided and is not only novel, but largely unsubstantiated. You failed to highlight the exigencies and confusions of the war situation which led to whatever you alleged the Biafran army did wrongly.

You believe Gowon would reveal the atrocities of the war when Nigeria, like its British creator, has been a rogue state involved in genocide, ethno-religious killings and human rights violations which it manifested in its monstrous forms in the war both in PH and Igbo heartlands.

I can assure you that for every Graham Douglas extrajudicially killed by the Biafram army, there are one thousand Graham Douglasses and Okafors also extrajudicially killed by the federal troops during the independence conflagration.

My landlord, an Ogoni man fought that war on the Biafran side,and the only thing he agrees happened in what you enumerated above was the evacuations- that he also attributed to a movement to safer hinterland areas because of the operation of federal troops from the coastline. Many people died on that long trek to the hinterlands, he said. How were the Biafran troops directly responsible for this?

Elechi Amadi and other Ikwerre/Rivers leaders were at the Oputa panel in 2005. When the Ohaneze confronted them with some of the atrocities of misguided riverine persons against their hinterland Igbo brothers during and after the war, they couldn't handle it and mere flared up. How did the federal troops access the coast routes to attack PH and Biafran hinterlands? Let all verifiable truths be brought to the open immediately so that we all could get the healing we deserve.

Now I leave you with this question to chew on you since you appear to hold the above strong opinion: Do you consider it truly a 'liberation' that the federal government carved out Rivers State as autonomous from the 'old Eastern Region' but refuse to allow them free control of their resources which was taken with the left hand through revenue consolidation in Abuja, local governments, 600 ambiguous agencies, and states creations?

15 Likes

Politics / Re: Urhobo Youths Protest Kachikwu’s Nomination As Minister by Kponkwem(m): 10:13am On Oct 16, 2015
I keep saying it the Hausa man and Yoruba recognise Igbo (Whether SE or Delta Igbo) very much in Nigeria despite all these attacks on the social media. That is why they will give them job opportunities before all these mushroom one local government ethnic groups parading about. Check companies owned by Hausas and Yorubas and do a census of the employees. You see that Igbos have far more opportunities in these places more than all these ethnic champions claiming 'we are south south' put together. Go to the banks, media, manufacturing, agro-allied industries, real estate from Lagos to Kano, Abuja to Enugu, Kaduna to PH etc. Secifically, companies like Globacom, Dangote, Zenon Oil and other companies not owned by Igbos and see the number of Igbos there compared with all ethnicities in SS put together. Apart from the intellectual aptitutude of the Igbo, these employers recognise the work ethos Igbo bring to the organisation or administration. So evem a Buhari cannot neglect Igbo whether he voted him or not. In fact an Igbo will be abusing him and still be asking him for his due.

The other political power blocs use the so called South South to put the Igbo in check only for political purposes. That is why you see SS tribes and their posture is always 'We will not allow Igbo to have this or that', 'We will not allow them own house in Ph or Uyo,' 'We will not vote for Igbo presidency', 'We will not allow Igbo nominee as minister this or that' All hot air to amuse the Hausa and Yoruba and tickle the Igbo themselves. At the end of it all, these tribes are nowhere in the equation.

Politics / Re: Reuben Abati: Who Would Ever Think Edwin Clark Would Publicly Disown Jonathan by Kponkwem(m): 9:48am On Oct 16, 2015
xremmy:
I have tried delaying the writing of this piece in the honest expectation that someone probably misquoted Chief E.K. Clark, when he reportedly publicly disowned former President Goodluck Jonathan. I had hoped that our dear father, E.K. Clark, would issue a counter statement and say the usual things politicians say: “they quoted me out of context!” “Jonathan is my son”.

That has not happened; rather, some other Ijaw voices, including one Joseph Evah, have come to the defence of the old man, to join hands in rubbishing a man they once defended to the hilt and used as a bargaining chip for the Ijaw interest in the larger Nigerian geo-politics.

If President Jonathan had returned to power on May 29, 2015, these same persons would have remained in the corridors of power, displaying all forms of ethnic triumphalism. It is the reason in case they do not realize it, why the existent power blocs that consider themselves most fit to rule, continue to believe that those whose ancestors never ran empires can never be trusted with power, hence they can only be admitted as other people’s agents or as merchants of their own interests which may even be defined for them as is deemed convenient. Mercantilism may bring profit, but in power politics, it destroys integrity and compromises otherwise sacred values.

President Jonathan being publicly condemned by his own Ijaw brothers, particularly those who were once staunch supporters of his government further serves the purpose of exposing the limits of the politics of proximity. Politics in Africa is driven by this particular factor; it is at the root of all the other evils: prebendalism, clientelism and what Matthew Kukah has famously described as the “myownisation of power”.

It is both positive and negative, but obviously, more of the latter than the former. It is considered positive only when it is beneficial to all parties concerned, and when the template changes, the ground also shifts. As in that song, the solid rock of proximity is soon replaced by shifting sands. Old worship becomes new opportunism. And the observant public is left confounded.

Chief E.K. Clark?

Who would ever think, Chief E.K. Clark would publicly disown President Jonathan? He says Jonathan was a weak President. At what point did he come to that realization? Yet, throughout the five years (not six, please) of the Jonathan Presidency, he spoke loudly against anyone who opposed the President. He was so combative he was once quoted as suggesting that Nigeria could have problems if Jonathan was not allowed to return to office.

Today, he is the one helping President Jonathan’s successor to quench the fires. He always openly said President Jonathan is “his son”. Today, he is not just turning against his own son, he is telling the world his son as President lacked the political will to fight corruption.

He has also accused his son of being too much of a gentleman. Really? Gentlemanliness would be considered honourable in refined circles. Is Pa E.K. Clark recommending something else in order to prove that he is no longer a politician but a statesman as he says?

As someone who was a member of the Jonathan administration, and who interacted often with the old man, I can only say that I am shocked. This is the equivalent of the old man deleting President Jonathan’s phone number and ensuring that calls from his phone no longer ring at the Jonathan end. During the Jonathan years, Chief E. K. Clark was arguably the most vocal Ijaw leader defending the government. He called the President “my son”, and both father and son remained in constant touch.

There is something about having the President’s ears in a Presidential system, elevated to the level of a fetish in the clientilist Nigerian political system. Persons in the corridors of power who have the President’s ear- be they cook, valet, in-laws, wife, cousin, former school mates, priests, or whatever, enjoy special privileges.

They have access to the President and they can whisper into his ears. That’s all they have as power: the power to whisper and run a whispering campaign that can translate into opportunities or losses for those outside that informal power loop around every Presidency, that tends to be really influential.

Every President must beware of those persons who come around calling them “Daddy”, “Uncle”, na my brother dey there”, “my son”, “our in-law”: emotional blackmailers relying on old connections. They are courted, patronized and given more attention and honour than they deserve by those looking for access to the President or government.

Even when the power and authority of the whispering exploiters of the politics of proximity is contrived, they go out of their way to exaggerate it. They acquire so much from being seen to be in a position to make things happen.

Chief E. K. Clark had the President’s ears. He had unfettered access to his son. He was invited to most state events. And he looked out for the man he called “my son”, in whom he was well pleased. Chief Clark’s energy level in the service of the Jonathan administration was impressive.

Fearless and outspoken, he deployed his enormous talents in the service of the Jonathan government. If a press statement was tame, he drew attention to it and urged a more robust defence of “your boss”. If any invective from the APC was overlooked, he urged prompt rebuttal. If the party was tardy in defending “his son”, he weighed in.

If anyone had accused the President of lacking “the political will to fight corruption” at that time, he, E.K. Clark, would have called a press conference to draw attention to the Jonathan administration’s institutional reforms and preventive measures, his commitment to electoral integrity to check political corruption, and the hundreds of convictions secured by both the ICPC and EFCC under his son’s watch. So prominent and influential was he, that ministers, political jobbers etc etc trooped to his house to pay homage.

In due course, those who opposed President Jonathan did not spare Chief E. K. Clark either. He was accused of making inflammatory and unstatesman-like statements. An old war-horse, nobody could intimidate him.

He was not President Olusegun Obasanjo’s fan in particular. He believed Obasanjo wanted to sabotage his son, and he wanted Obasanjo put in his place. Beneath all of that, was an unmistaken rivalry between the two old men, seeking to control the levers of Nigerian politics.

Every President probably needs a strong, passionate ally like Chief E. K. Clark. But what happened? What went wrong? Don’t get me wrong. I am not necessarily saying that the Ijaw leader should have remained loyal to and defend Goodluck Jonathan because they are both Ijaws; patriotism definitely could be stronger than ethnic affinities, nonetheless that E. K. Clark tale about leaving politics and becoming a statesman is nothing but sheer crap.

If Jonathan had returned to office, he would still be a card-carrying member of the PDP and the “father of the President” and we would still have been hearing that famous phrase, “my son”. Chief E. K. Clark, five months after, has practically told the world that President Buhari is better than “his own son.”

It is the worst form of humiliation that President Jonathan has received since he left office. It is also the finest compliment that President Buhari has received since he assumed office.

The timing is also auspicious: just when the public is beginning to worry about the direction of the Buhari government, E. K. Clark shows up to lend a hand of support and endorsement. Only one phrase was missing in his statement, and it should have been added: “my son, Buhari.” It probably won’t be too long before we hear the old man saying “I am a statesman, Buhari is my son.”

I can imagine President Obasanjo grinning with delight. If he really wants to be kind, he could invite E.K. Clark to his home in Ota or Abeokuta to come and do the needful by publicly tearing his PDP membership card and join him in that exclusive club of Nigerian statesmen! The only problem with that club these days is that you can become a member by just saying so or by retiring from partisan politics. We are more or less being told that there are no statesmen in any of the political parties.

It is not funny. Julius Ceasar asked Brutus in one of the famous lines in written literature: “Et tu Brutus?” President Jonathan should ask Chief E. K. Clark: “Et tu Papa?” To which the father will probably tell the son: “Ces’t la vie, mon cher garcon.” And really, that is life. In the face of other considerations, loyalties vanish; synergies collapse. The wisdom of the tribe is overturned; the politics of proximity dissolves; loyalties remain in a perpetual process of construction. Thus, individual interests and transactions drive the political game in Nigeria, with time and context as key determinants.

These are teachable moments for President Jonathan. Power attracts men and women like bees to nectar, the state of powerlessness ends as a journey to the island of loneliness. However, the greatest defender of our work in office is not our ethnic “fathers and “brothers” but rather our legacy.

The real loss is that President Jonathan’s heroism, his messianic sacrifice in the face of defeat, is being swept under the carpet and his own brothers who used to say that the Ijaws are driven by a principle of “one for all and all for another”, have become agent-architects of his pain. The Ijaw platform having seemingly been de-centered, Chief E.K. Clark and others are seeking assimilation in the new power structure. It is a telling reconstruction of the politics of proximity and mimicry.

Chief E.K. Clark once defended the rights of ethnic minorities to aspire to the highest offices in the land, his latest declaration about his son reaffirms the existing stereotype at the heart of Nigeria’s hegemonic politics.

The same hegemons and their agents whom Clark used to fight furiously will no doubt find him eminently quotable now that he has proclaimed that it is wrong to be a “gentleman”, and that his son lacks “the political will to fight corruption”.

There is more to this than we may ever know. Chief Clark can insist from now till 2019 that he has spoken as a statesman and as a matter of principle. His re-alignment is curious nonetheless.

Source: http://ynaija.com/reuben-abati-who-would-ever-think-edwin-clark-would-publicly-disown-jonathan/

Up you Abati! God bless you. I can’t wait to see your memoire on the betrayal of the Jonathan presidency. I have always viewed old man Clark with restrained suspicion, as an agent provocateur and one who resides with ethnic activists with mercantilist and selfish predilections. This was the same man who fought Peter Odili’s presidency to a standstill simply because he is Igbo.
I have often wondered the problem with some ethnic groups in Nigeria who are outside the power loop and their chameleonic attitude coated with the ‘national patriotism’ mantra simply to pander to the power hegemonists. All I see are thoughtless irrelevancies, lack of principles and betrayal. Tufiakwa!

Politics / Re: On South South And Biafra...a Rivers-man View by Kponkwem(m): 12:19am On Oct 16, 2015
atlwireles:

Give up this stupidd lying stories, you people tell on this forum.

My brother which of them is lie? Everything I said there about Rivers development bby Okpara is true and verifiable. If you want documents I can send them to you. I know you need the knowledge
Politics / Re: On South South And Biafra...a Rivers-man View by Kponkwem(m): 12:10am On Oct 16, 2015
@HopeAtHand You also claimed some Ikwerre resent the Igbo because they were not treated as brothers in the old eastern region? Come off it. This is the greatest lie from the pit of hell! I had been confronted with this particular claim by a PA to a judge- who is Ikwerre. Well we became friends after I overheard him speak Igbo or something that sounded like Igbo. But one day, he stood he stood up to it that why do I refer to him as brother (Nwanne) when as it were i am not from Rivers. I then said 'which part of Rivers?' 'Isiokpo in Ikwerre'. 'What but we are still brothers', I replied him and he took me through this boring, unsubstantiated tale of 'igbo discriminated against our people that you have to get your land papers in PH from Enugu bla bla bla'.

By the time I took him through the developmental strides of the then Eastern Nigerian-led government of Dr Michael Okpara in Rivers State- the garden City masterplan, the Trans-Amadi Industrial layout,the Presidential Hotel, the oil palm plantations, the standard hospitals etc etc, he was apologetic and has maintained a forlorn, ignorant and remorseful posture ever since anytime we meet. It is noteworthy that Okpara achieved these in all parts of the east-now nine states despite having any substantial revenue like the West (Cocoa) and North (groundnut). Such that when oil was discovered and first exported from PH, Tafawa Balewa wrote congratulating Okpara for his now having 'oil revenue' to facilitate free education in the region like the other regions were enjoying.

If you read your ENDB document by Okpara, you will hate all those subsequent divisive govners in the 70s, mainly from Ijaw speaking areas, who took the reigns of power and instituionalised abandoned property policies and tried to pander to the federal government to the detriment of the brotherly and progressive easterners then...

Politics / Re: On South South And Biafra...a Rivers-man View by Kponkwem(m): 11:35pm On Oct 15, 2015
HopeAtHand:

Igbos are the cause of the problems they have..There are many Yorubas in my neighbourhood, they hardly ever constitute a nuisance..they just carry themselves about in a very simple and cultured manner.

The Igbo man is willing to show himself capable of confrontation with anyone, and when one gets aggressive towards them they complain.

Igbos should watch themselves..they are almost completely disliked by other Nigerians and their insistence that Ikwerre is Igbo would take things to a new dimension soon.

How many in number are Asa and Ndoki to own all that land..rivers are basically the boundaries between people..If Oyigbo people feel neglected, they should channel their grievances through appropriate channels and not to embrace Biafra with open arms soiling other Riverians in the process...Rivers state has no business with Biafra and Asa/Ndoki should get ready to swim across Imo river to join their kith and kin if they're fed up being a part of Ruvers state.

The SE Igbo, I emphasise it, the SE Igbo have no problem whatsoever in the SS. Like I said before in a post-oil SS and Nigeria, would you still maintain this ‘I hate Igbo’ bragadaccio? We know Igbos have faced attacks from the Hausa-Fulani North but it is mainly because of an ideological clash of Judeo-Christian traditions of free enterprise and republicanism as against violent, feudal Islamic Arabism. This perceived clash affects Igbo more because of their numbers in those parts and not for any other reason. The Hausa and Yoruba people recognize and respect the Igbo very well more than these smaller minority tribes, including yours if you are one of them, and that is why people like us have been working in good positions in Hausa-owned companies for many years.
To your second point that Yorubas do not constitute nuisance in Rivers State, pray why would they when they are strangers from afar? But same can’t be said of the Igbo who are either indigene of the state or from a neighbouring community. Answer this question, have you ever heard an Awori (indigenous Lagosian) asking other Yoruba from Ondo or Ekiti not to be free and expressive in Lagos? How much more all Igbo indigenous or SE in PH?
I still insist that we are all brothers, the lines dividing us in Rivers are two thin, forget the past hurts...

Politics / Re: Threat To Secede By The South West Will Not Be Taken Lightly, NESF Warns by Kponkwem(m): 11:19pm On Oct 15, 2015
Mmhh The masters have spoken.... But for how long do we need threats to hold the country's unity together. i thought it should be by the will of the citizens determined through free, democratic process...

Politics / Re: On South South And Biafra...a Rivers-man View by Kponkwem(m): 10:51pm On Oct 15, 2015
HopeAtHand:

Someone like me becomes Gov. of Rivers, hmmmm Igbos will be on long thing..

That Oyigbo land belongs to Eleme and Ikwerre..Asa and Ndoki of less than 10 proper villages cannot own all that land in that local govt.

Igbos elements from all nooks and crannies of SEast have decided to turn Oyigbo into a sort of haven where Biafran fundamentalism is nurtured..

I suggest your people tread carefully...HISTORY ALWAYS REPEATS ITSELF...currently, most houses owned by Igbos have not been issued CofO ( and will not be issued)..it is a deliberate attempt, becos we envisage a second running from PH soon..

From the way you sound, I can deduce that you lack deep insight and understanding. I know you must be of any of the Igbo speaking areas of Rivers State and understand the meaning of 'agbata obi mmadu bu nwanne ya'. With the hate you always vomit here how are you living up to good neighbourliness? Have the Igbo offended you apart from the lies sold by our adversaries who continue to exploit the old Eastern region. If you are capable of deep thinking you will realise that at the end of all these 'I hate Igbo' bragadaccio you exhibit here- the end which will come in a post-oil Nigerian economy, our generations will have their neighbours to keep relating with. Will you have the Hausa-Fulani man to stand with or the Yorubaman? Remember, I am talking about the post-oil SS and Nigeria when the price crashes, which is very soon with Iran pumping millions of barels forcing the price to $5- remember Nuclear deal with America?
The Hausa man is already planning ahead of post oil eventuality. They are now trying to further consolidate revenues, single accounts and other sources from the ports and revenues. The SE and SS must work together for this reality. Think, my brother and stop hate.
Politics / Re: On South South And Biafra...a Rivers-man View by Kponkwem(m): 10:47pm On Oct 15, 2015
HopeAtHand:

Someone like me becomes Gov. of Rivers, hmmmm Igbos will be on long thing..

That Oyigbo land belongs to Eleme and Ikwerre..Asa and Ndoki of less than 10 proper villages cannot own all that land in that local govt.

Igbos elements from all nooks and crannies of SEast have decided to turn Oyigbo into a sort of haven where Biafran fundamentalism is nurtured..

I suggest your people tread carefully...HISTORY ALWAYS REPEATS ITSELF...currently, most houses owned by Igbos have not been issued CofO ( and will not be issued)..it is a deliberate attempt, becos we envisage a second running from PH soon..

From the way you sound, I can deduce that you lack deep insight and understanding. I know you must be of any of the Igbo speaking areas of Rivers State and understand the meaning of 'agbata obi mmadu bu nwanne ya'. With what you always vomit here how are you living up to good neighbourliness? Have the Igbo offended you apart from the lies sold by our adversaries who continue to exploit the old Eastern region. If you are capable of deep thinking you will realise that at the end of all these 'I hate Igbo' bragadaccioyou exhibit which will come in a post-oil Nigerian economy, our generations will have their neighbours to keep relating with. Will you have the Hausa-Fulani man to stand with or the Yorubaman? Remember, it is post-oil SS and Nigeria when the price crashes, which is very soon with Iran pumping millions of barels forcing the price to $5- remember Nuclear deal with America?
The Hausa man is already planning ahead of post oil eventuality. They are now trying to further consolidate revenues, single accounts and other sources from the ports and revenues. The SE and SS must work together for this reality. Think, my brother and stop hate.

Politics / Re: Akure Youths Flogged Eze-ndigbo Out Of Deji Of Akure, Oba Aladetoyinbo Palace by Kponkwem(m): 8:22am On Oct 15, 2015
I think the way the Yorubas are going is not good for national unity and integration. Threatening other tribes in your midst is not a virtue in Igboland, rather is an offence against the land (Alu), it is an act of cowardice. Yesterday it was the Fulani they want out of the same Ondo fo kidnapping Olu Falae and now the hardworking Igbo, which I think is a worst case because the Igbo are a southern group and are not as distinguishable as the Fulani.

Yoruba should come out, as the Igbo have done, to plainly declare that they are tired of one Nigeria and want to secede. Anything short of this or any pretences or backyard attacks will be resisted even in their own land. A word is enough for the wise!

Politics / Re: Julius Agwu Booed Out Of Stage At Ibadan Glo Lafftafest by Kponkwem(m): 5:09pm On Oct 12, 2015
FKO81:

I hope you know Ijebus, awori egba people are not yoruba
kikesblog:
I felt embarrassed today for Julius Agwu the ace comedian that was just getting over the brain surgery,it happened today when glo the foremost Africa telecom company brought down their lafftafest train to ibadan and Julius Agwu was featured to perform. He got on the stage and was well applauded but after few minutes Ibadan people got bored of his unfunny jokes and they started sing in Yoruba language "Ese o Ese o awa ma lo" Julius thought it was a joke initially and continue his joke but later Ibadan people change their language to English saying Go, Go Go........Well thanks to Seyi law who quickly showed up on the stage and Julius left...........

I will share more of today event soon......People trumped out in thousands and many were injured......Photos soon

For those arguing that Julius Agwu is not Igbo, all you have to do is to watch the movie' Rattlesnake'. It is an Igbo movie shot in 1991 and it was Agwu's stepping stone.Check Agwu's impeccable Igbo and there is no record he grew up outside PH. Every Ikwerre and all Rivers Igbo understands the central Igbo without difficulty.
www.laidenews.com
Politics / Re: Security Watch! Orji Uzo-kalu, An “illiterate” – Tinubu by Kponkwem(m): 4:59pm On Oct 12, 2015
salterswan:
National leader of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Ahmed Bola Tinubu has taken a weighty swipe at the former Governor of Abia State Orji Kalu for authorizing a report alleging that the Presidency has launched a security surveillance ring around him (Tinubu) over an alleged plot against President Muhammadu Buhari.

Tinubu who stated this in a statement through the Chairman, Board of Editors, Nation Newspaper Sam Omatseye on Monday titled “ Kalu For FIFA President” said Kalu had to be an illiterate for allowing such publication to emanate from his newspaper stable.

The Sun Newspaper had reported on Saturday, October 10 that Tinubu was under watch over an alleged plot against Buhari for purportedly ignoring his nominees for ministerial positions.

According to SUN, a close associate of Tinubu, who pleaded for anonymity, stated that indeed the APC leader was badly hurt by the rejection of his ministerial nominees by Buhari.

Tinubu alleged he would, however, not have a hand in pulling down “a house he almost single-handedly built with his efforts and resourc­es.”

Rather than pick the choice of Tinubu in the S/West, Buhari selected former Governors Babatunde Fashola (Lagos) and Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), both estranged political godsons of Tinubu.

In swift response, Omatseye’s attack went; “I have always tried to restrain from writing on Orji Kalu, a former Abia State governor. But who can ignore his laughable new ambition.

“He wants to be FIFA boss. I laugh even as I pen these words. What struck me first was a conversation he had with editors when somebody asked him about his educational qualifications.
“We are talking about forwarding Abia to all forwardness, he said with a flourish, ‘and you are talking about certificate (sic).’ Is this the sort of literacy you want for Nigeria? Nada. In local parlance, we should say he has committed foul, or ‘fa-fa-fa foul!!”

“Not long ago, he embarked on a nationwide trip from state to state, visiting governors. It was more of ego trip. He was jobless and bored, although boorish.

“He was, however, not boring because of his disastrous elocution and capacity to amuse after he had left the scene of his performance.

“Never mind that he writes a column. I would want him to write that column in public, so we can know if he is capable of the literacy he poses.

“Only a Kalu could have encouraged a headline last Saturday saying that Asiwaju Tinubu was under surveillance for a plot against Buhari. Publishers like him make editors look unprofessional.

“The story did not pass Journalism 101 test. If there was surveillance, what was the nature? The man was not even around? Two, if there was a plot, what was the nature of the plot, to overthrow him as President – which is treason; or to unseat him in APC?

“When a man does not know the difference between verb and noun, how can he become a good boss of world football? How can he distinguish score as verb and as noun?

“No one will vote him boss of Southeast soccer. It is enough that Ochendo has made him a mouse in Abia State, so he dreams to be an elephant of world football. What megalomania!” See more: http://www.post-nigeria.com/security-watch-orji-uzo-kalu-an-illiterate-tinubu/

Those two are one of a kind: illiteracy all around them. Tinubu and Kalu are both illiterates but very ambitious fellows. Up till today we are yet to see the real secondary school Tinubu attended. Even his Accountancy degree has been denied by the University of Chicago.
As for Kalu, he is yet to explain how a university programme (Political Science) he abandoned at Unimaid in third year could be completed after 15 years in the Abia state university. He said he transferred transcripts, is that for a post-graduate course and that too after a whole 15 years when curruculum have already changed?
Politics / Re: Eye Witness Of What Happened In Camp Between Oliseh And Enyeama by Kponkwem(m): 12:01am On Oct 10, 2015
This Oliseh of a coach started badly and have messed up a very brotherly team that were crowned African champions just two years ago. First he began with the unnecessary slip of denying his true racial identity even when it was not the issue in his TeD talk, he talked awe into the NFF and got the undeserved alias of 'African Mourinho', he later ignored the more established players to assemble a team of rookies, whom he froze off with excessive training in Abuja insisting that he prefers midfield control-they arrived Tanzania and were completely outplayed and controlled by that team instead. Now he has chosen the wrong time to embarrass our well respected number one choice keeper by not only stripping him of his band, but embarrassing him before his teammates. Nigeria went ahead to lose that match 0-2 against Congo DC. The Camerounian Lions and Egypt are waiting to devour the team before Oliseh will eventually get the boot for his ignominy.

Oliseh did not end well with the Super Eagles as a player, could it be he is on a vengeance mission? Disgracing Enyeama will not take anything from him as one of Nigeria's greatest legends and we must set up a good send-forth for him. Oliseh ronu...

Politics / Yoruba Have Made More Sacrifices For Nigeria's Survival by Kponkwem(m): 9:26am On Oct 09, 2015
On Thursday, Yoruba leaders warned they would have no option but to secede from the Nigerian union if the Fulani invaders continue to threaten their farmlands and livelihoods. This threat is worrisome considering that the Yoruba ethnic nationality, though have had occasions where it considered secession from Nigeria such as during the first republic independence vote and during the MKO Abiola election annulment, it has not as much as carried out the threat.
The Igbo, another large ethnic group in the south, in 1967 asserted their right to self-determination and right to exist as a distinct race and nation, by proclaiming the Republic of Biafra. The Eastern political leaders such as Emeka Ojukwu, Michael Okpara, SG Akpan, Philip Effiong, Mokwugo Okoye etc were hopeful that other ethnicities in the region such as Efik-Ibibio, Ijaw, Ogoni, Ogoja, Ugep etc will accept in a UN monitored plebiscite to be part of the new nation because of the similarities in culture, history and political orientation of these groups- they are all republican, democratic-decision making, clan-living or acephalous societies. This was not to be as the General Gowon-led Nigerian government would have none of it. And with collaboration of ‘economic interest’-protecting Britain, Egypt, Russia, and other Arabic states rained bullets, blockaded and strafed Biafra during a three year civil war to force the Biafrans back to the country.
The major deciders of that war were the Yoruba officers. Had Yoruba decided to work for their own independent or at least remained neutral, Biafra would have emerged as one of the strongest global nations today. Yoruba sons such as Victor Banjo- who at Ore sabotaged the Biafran Lagos incursion to free the South West from northern officers, Adekunle-who adopted strategies of war criminal and ordered killing of civilians, Alani Akinrinade-who discovered some routes from the ocean through Onne and to the Igbo heartland, Olusegun Obasanjo –who received the instrument of Biafran surrender etc.
The Yoruba have always wanted the preservation of Nigeria while some idealist segments advocate a regional-system for the country. During the 2015 general election, it took the Yoruba political segment aligned with the Hausa-Fulani political group for power to be wrestled from the Igbo-backed Goodluck Jonathan regime. In that battle, the Yoruba reached into their deep control of the media, international propaganda connections, deep intellectual prowess and cultural or religious (Islamic) similarities with the Hausa- Fulani to change the government.
Now let me give you some sacrifices by the Yoruba:
i) Some Yorubas such as Col Fajuiyi, Prof Soyinka etc stood and suffered for the Igbo before and during the Nigerian civil war
ii) The Yoruba, who are as progressive as the Igbo, have always supported Igbo agitation for political restructuring of Nigeria to give room for true federalism. This has caused them as much suspicion from the Hausa Fulani as they have for the Igbo (see Confab deliberations).
iii) The Yoruba like the Igbo are spread out around the country- though they don’t invest as much
iv) They have allowed their sons and daughters to intermarry with others
v) The Yoruba have lent their sea ports for Nigeria thereby making them the second cash cow for the country’s economic support after oil (My Igbo brothers will argue that the activities done in these ports are 80 percent driven by businessmen from the East)
vi) Yoruba territories bear more of the brunt for heavy duty, trucks and economic activities especially for goods going east and north (My Igbo brothers I know you will argue that Onitsha Upper Iweka, Enugu 9th Mile etc bear same brunt)
vii) Yoruba’s Lagos contribute more VAT than other states of Nigeria
viii) The Yoruba are providing spiritual reformation for Nigeria as most of the ten most influential Christian leaders are Yoruba. (Adeboye, Oyedepo, Kumuyi etc {My Igbo brothers will argue that because majority of the Igbos in four of the seven states- Anambra, Enugu, Imo, and Delta are Catholics and Anglicans supervised from Rome and the Vatican only Muoka, Okonkwo and few others are major Pentecostal leaders})
ix) The Yoruba have provided the intellectual backbone for Nigeria
x) Obasanjo rigged out Awolowo a fellow Yoruba for Hausa Fulani's Shehu Shagari to become President in 1979
I believe Yoruba secession will serve the objectives of the East which have always believed that Nigeria is a fraud of the British against black Africa where a coerced people will forever be dependent, never realize their destiny and remain in perpetual fear of and actual ethno-religious annihilation.
With all these, I guess Yoruba secession warning would make more impact and threaten Nigeria the more because the feudalist Hausa-Fulani would have no southern ally to whip others in line. This will bring the Nigerian federation crumbling down. This we do not want to see.
Politics / Re: The Niger Delta Thanks Pmb For Choosing Ameachi by Kponkwem(m): 7:49am On Oct 07, 2015
sandraokosun:
The entire NIGER DELTA wishes to thank pmb for believing in our industrious son of the soil, an enigma and lion of ubima, the jewel of the south south. Ameachi remains our only hope of political relevance under the new despensation and scheme of things. We thank pmb for been a man of his word and honouring the NIGER DELTA. Ameachi as we believe will STAND UP and bring character, personality to our minority region. Once again thank u all.
NIGER DELTA OYE

Fools everywhere. Someone is here celebrating the appointment of another who does not share any interest with her. You both don't share any cultural or linguistic link. As an Igbo I share closer tie with an Amaechi, an Odili, an Okowa, a Dokubo and a Wali. This makes me amused a lot. Igboids rule in both SE and SS.

Your type are the reason why some so-called minorities are merrying over a fake freedom while their oil wells are still confiscated and dispensed by external invaders. Smh.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 15 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 256