Stats: 3,325,626 members, 8,422,916 topics. Date: Tuesday, 09 June 2026 at 03:59 AM

KunleA2's Posts

Nairaland ForumKunleA2's ProfileKunleA2's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 137 138 139 140 141 142 (of 142 pages)

BusinessRe: Bank Of America Sucks: by KunleA2(m): 8:25pm On Jul 01, 2009
use a credit union. was with BOFA and Wells fargo for 10 yrs each. They suck like a vaccum. These guys. Quit wasting your time with them.

Good luck
BusinessRe: Whats The Most Common Welding Machine In Nigeria? by KunleA2(m): 6:35pm On Jul 01, 2009
AutosRe: Auto Section News Updates by KunleA2(m): 5:44pm On Jul 01, 2009
You can always get new upholstry !!1
Business To BusinessRe: Ice Block Making Machine by KunleA2(m): 5:18pm On Jul 01, 2009
This is what i found from my research over a long period of time. There is this company called STAR MANUFACTURING (Its a U.S Company but dont know where they are based). They have a very portable ice machine (See pics below). Models B-440 and B-870. However, they dont market the machines themselves. They just sell through various Ice Equipment companies throughout the USA.

One of such company is U.S Ice in Miami, Florida. Like i said, They are not the original maker of the machine but was manufactured under their name.

The company's website is: http://www.usice.us/

Another company is Modern Ice. (Modernice.com). They sell the machine too. The smaller B-440 can produce Twenty one (21) - 6.3kg ice blocks every 12 hours while the larger B-870 machine can produce Forty One (41) - 6.3kg ice blocks every 12 hours.

From U.S Ice website, the small B-440 costs $7900 and the Big B-870 costs $8400. The other company dont have its prices posted. I am guessing they will be close to each other in prices too.

Enjoy

Business To BusinessRe: Ice Block Making Machine by KunleA2(m): 4:22pm On Jul 01, 2009
kokorunna:
Instead of buying a ice block machine, while don't you get some engineers in Nigeria to build you a cold room.

That way you make you profit much quickly. cheesy
A cold room is not the most efficient way to make ice. There are lots of wasted energy there. An ice machine will direct its energy in making the ice more efficently
BusinessRe: What Sells In Nigeria These Days? by KunleA2(m): 11:08pm On Jun 30, 2009
lekanjohn:
why ar u guys pretending ! we all know its human part that sells fast in Nigeria today. cry
I kinda wonder what happened to your brain. you created this username solely contribute jibbrish like this. This supposed to be an intelligent discussion forum. But you decided to act this way.
PropertiesRe: Has Anyone Heard Of Beko Blocks In Lagos by KunleA2(op): 11:02pm On Jun 30, 2009
ajileko:
very good and quality block. Very expensive too.
Price? Contact number? website? Thanks a lot
Business To BusinessRe: Ice Block Making Machine by KunleA2(m): 4:30pm On Jun 30, 2009
nuclearboy:
My brother, you need fear no bomb threats or implementation - Nuclear devices are utilized for large targets!

I have earlier said I stand to be corrected and every statement I made has been in good faith. Lets wait to hear from your friend. As to the list of names you mentioned who make machines, I've heard of some but my preserve is for serious ones. People who can defend thier machines. Dozens of builders also abound in Oke-Bola. How many of them use the machines they make and what practical experience do they then have? Reactions to power fluctuations? To Rain or scorching heat? nighttime or daytime runs? to low current and power surges?Can they compute thier power requirements? Understand the effect and difference when powered via a generator? Bah!, those are black-box solutions neither understood by builders or users.

Now on the use of compressors - I provide an informed option - All of us know that power was the watchword in the past whist today, its efficiency. Almost every compressor made today has aluminium winding for its motor whist in the past, motors were exclusively made of copper. Put both together in the same machine and the older copper compressor will outlast an aluminium make. That said, these things are the exclusive choice of the owner (whichever they choose) - I have said over and over that I provide a 6 month guarantee on my machines but that WILL NOT extend to an aluminium cast motor. Thats how sure I am and is the reason why your Radio-savvy manufacturers are going off the air now.

Again people, the problem here is Naijaism. Most people will choose looks, name-dropping and finery over build quality and practicality. I have multiple clients running solely on generators so the "3 hour supply in 48 hours" means nothing to me except extra profit (when there's no light, you sell higher). My machines are not "12 hour" on paper machines. Which reminds me - let me bore all with a story of a trick

You go into a place and ask about machines. You're handed a color brochure from which you read a particular model that fits your budget freezes 200 blocks (sizehuhhuh?) in 16 hours and carries 2 condensing units. Rarely do you get a techie who will intelligently answer your queries and when you do, he's brusque, hurried and starts dropping names of "big" people who bought. You succumb to pressure and buy but it doesn't perform in 16 hours. On inspection, you are told your power quality (or AMPERAGE as they like to call it) cannot power it so the compressors keep dropping and restarting and thus it hadnt worked 16 hours straight. Whats the way forward? You need to change the compressor to a smaller one. Ok! But theres a catch - the lower rated compressor doesn't have the power of the old one and so your machine now freezes in 30 hours! Why didnt they just put the small (NEPA capable) one in the 1st place since we know NEPA can't handle the big ones ALWAYS. I have met dozens of people who have had this experience who are amazed when they see me use ordinary 2HP compressors rather the 2.5 and even 3HP mainly used around. Scam! Many retired people are suffering cos of such practices. And we say Naija get as e be.

So you see my brother, nuclearboy won't unleash mayhem. Your typing is doing the work for him already
these posts dont show up until you get to reply mode huh
PropertiesHas Anyone Heard Of Beko Blocks In Lagos by KunleA2(op): 12:56pm On Jun 30, 2009
Someone told me of a company called [b]BEko Blocks [/b]in Lagos. Does anyone have info on them? Websites? Phone number? How's the quality of blocks?

AutosRe: Ingersoll Rand Air Portable Compressor 185 by KunleA2(m): 11:16am On Jun 30, 2009
pics?
Business To BusinessRe: Ice Block Making Machine by KunleA2(m): 8:46am On Jun 30, 2009
nuclearboy:
The following should clarify my point to you:

NOTE: Heat/Cooling computations follow the british standard of Fahrenheit rather than the USA Celsius so all figures are first converted to the British. i.e BTU (British Thermal Unit), Lbs (pounds rather than liters) etc.

NOW:

Your machine sees the water you put in it and anything else inside the tank as a “HEAT LOAD”. Let us assume you put 120 litres of water, which is at 72 Fahrenheit in it. This calculation will help you understand the process. Please note that some figures are not realistic but are approximations to make the calculations easier and that some “heat load” components are not treated here.
120 litres = 120 * 2.2 = 264 lbs (pounds) of water
1 British thermal Unit (BTU) is the quantity of heat required to reduce the temperature of 1 pound of water by 1 Fahrenheit; therefore to reduce 120 litres (264 pounds) from 72 Fahrenheit to 32Fahrenheit (= 0 Celsius or FREEZING POINT), you will need
264 * 40 = 10560 BTU
At this point, your water is ready to start changing to ice. 144 BTU is required to change 1 pound of water at 0 F to ICE at 0 F. NOTE that the temperature is not changing, just the state
264 * 144 = 38016 BTU
Now you have ice and want it brick hard, say –10Fahrenheit, which requires another 1 BTU per pound per Fahrenheit drop
264 * 10 = 2640 BTU
Your total heat load therefore, is

10560 + 38016 + 1584 = 51216 BTU

LETS Assume you now put 140 litres starting at 40Fahrenheit, you’d have
140 litres =140*2.2= 308 lbs
308 * 8 = 2464 BTU
308*144 = 44352 BTU
308* 10 = 3080 BTU
Total = 2464 + 44352 + 3080 = 49896 BTU.

You put in more water but it froze faster and put less stress on your condensing units. The change in water quantity actually happens much more frequently than you might expect. I have 4 employees who load my own machines and I have learnt that there is one particualr guy who has the propensity to make what I expect to be 3.5 liter packs 4.1 liters on average. Do the math. Also, ambient temps vary from morning.to afternoon to evening. You may use a load starting from 80 F in early afternoon and another starting from 64 in the late evening. Again, do the math. Finally, the issue of the ambient itself as it impacts on your production:- Refrigeration is the process of transferring heat FROM A COLD PLACE TO A HOT PLACE. The interior of your tank is at say, -10 Celsius yet you are removing heat from it and sending to the outside which is at 41 Celsius. Do not be fooled - the hotter it is outside, the more difficult NATURE ITSELF makes your process. For this reason, any chap worth his salt will tell you to choose your location wisely. As I said in an earlier post, your car A/C will cool faster in evening rain than a hot afternoon. As long as your process is not fully automated, the human/environmental factors will impact from run to run. Same with power as the condensing units draw more power when youre just starting compared to say, 3 hours into your run when your water is well on its way to freezing. Don't let theoretists confuse you!

I would hope you're Nigerian. Why would you want to think we cannot go as far as "oyibo" man? We actually do though somewhat limited by availability of some components which would add value. I build my machines myself, have 4 of mine (oldest about 4 years old, newest 1 and few months) and have built in the range of a hundred fifty for clients. I sell ice EVERYDAY. I also am quite well educated (maybe better than most of your foreign technicians as the average techie ANYWHERE rarely has a B.S). And whist my machines may not be as good looking as something built by million Dollar machines in Germany or the US, they perform thier functions cheaply, reliable and to a standard that pleases my clients.

Posting here is fine by me. Allows me answers questions once rather than cut and paste via email over and over.
Well said. Why dont you post pics of what youu have manufactured with probably a little bit of explanation of the products. You dont know who might be reading.

How big is the ice block. How many did you say again every 8 or 12 hours?

What is the price of a block now in ibadan?

AutosRe: I Need A Toyota Corolla Or Camry by KunleA2(m): 11:05pm On Jun 29, 2009
Woodpecker:
Please I need a toyota corolla or camry, '94 till date model. Very clean, A/C, Auto Transmission.
Budget- max N400,000 N450,000
Please send details/pix to teninchlonger@yahoo.com
With that kind of budget, be ready for a Naija used. Even then you will be EXTRA lucky to get a clean one.

Good luck.
AutosRe: What't The Distinction Between XLE And LE? by KunleA2(m): 11:01pm On Jun 29, 2009
sultaan:
V6 and 4 cylinder engine
Sultaan! You are beginning to scare me nah! I suggest that you stick with your American Fords, Chryslers and Jeeps. When Imports' questions arises, dont even put mouth.

Whatever happened to the old Sultaan who's very smart and knowledgeable?  huh  We want him back!!!!!

mufasa:
How about SLE? To me they really look nice/
I think that only applies to Solaras.

demostical:
What is the distinction between XLE and LE?
Xle (Xtra Luxury Editions) has more creature comforts than the LE (Luxury Edition). Same as back in the days they have Deluxe and Super Deluxe  grin
Business To BusinessRe: Ice Block Making Machine by KunleA2(m): 4:24pm On Jun 29, 2009
nuclearboy:
builders of these machines (like other items) have relatives, friends etc. These would wish you patronise their uncles/sponsors etc. Like you, I contacted the poster who wants you to contact him first. I asked for his manufacturers number/address. His response (via email AGAIN) was that he'd get back to me in a couple of days: Standard issue response when you're trying to impress without having the capability to do so. I asked because I think I know practically every true builder in Ibadan and their capability and am not aware of anyone boasting his specs and price.

58, state hospital road, off ring road, Ibadan (08033272767/07055530420 email:kubae@yahoo.com). Visit at your convenience. Not only will you see machines being built but also ice being frozen/sold. And Ice machine prices are not hard-coded. They vary according to market forces but you're looking at about 300K (installation included)
nuclearboy:
Here's why we say Naijas are cunning and dishonest.

Further to my earlier post, I took the liberty of AGAIN going thru posts by people advertising machines. Strange how many become experts on what they do not know and remain absolutely ignorant. A 15KV as at today would cost about 170K rather than the 280 I see quoted. That is assuming you're not planning to purchase a German/UK/US built gen which would cost over a mill.

Also, no true manufacturer will give you a benchmark figure for freezing time -- Machines freeze faster in cold weather (rains, night etc) than in hot dry weather. Siting your machine inside a shaded airy place would also speed up your process. Its comparable to your car A/C which cools faster in the rain than February heat on 3rd Mainland bridge. 10 hours etc is a farce. The same 10 hour process can come to 8 hours or extend to 18 hours if you site inside a container in the sun.

But if you disagree, please present your case without the ambiguities and procrastination and let us learn
I'm really impressed on how you present your case. You are definately knowledgeable on your stuff. However, manufacturers can give you a freezing time. They usually conduct the test at a particular water temperature. Most manuf. will give you precisely how long it will take to freeze an amt of ice (lets say 2ton or 5ton) which is not that hard to do. Just calculate the amt of water, take the temp, and the freezing capacity of the machine will determine when it will reach freezing point. Nigerian manufacturer may not go that far.

Leaving that aside, are you into ice block business in ibadan? Who makes the best machine? How good is the quality? Are these clean machines? I wouldn't mind to call or email you in private if you don't mind to ask few questions but however, i love to post everything online here so that everyone else can learn from it. That's the purpose of a forum.

Others questions i will like to ask are:

Is there anyone in ibadan selling cube ice (in bags) rather than the solid block ones?
What are the prices of generators now (used tokunbo ones. UK/US/German)

Others info you like to throw in will be appreciated.
Business To BusinessRe: Ice Block Making Machine by KunleA2(m): 12:15am On Jun 29, 2009
fuke:
I know a guy in Ibadan who has a factory making these machines. He read refrigeration in England and holds a doctorte. His machines are solid and may even be better than imported ones. I know because i bought one from him. Beautiful and solid machine. Now ,getting the machine is one thing, running the business is a different kettle of fish altogether. Do not mind people who say you make N10000 a day, ask them with how much? anyway if you want the machine from the Ibadan manufacturer , (by the way you will install with under N500,000,) contact me at jidolconsul005@yahoo.com
This happens to be one of my gripe here. I am assuming that the manufacturer has a factory and address. Why don't you just provide that? Rather than ppl contacting you first? If you have gone this far in giving up the info why not go all the way? It doesn't a lot of sense to me.
Just my thought.
AutosRe: Jenju® Presents The 1st 2010 Toyota Camry XLE 3.5L V6 (On Location in Lagos) by KunleA2(m): 3:58pm On Jun 28, 2009
How do you spell STUNNING? My English is not not good but this car is it! Toyota just upped the game on this one here. The LED lights are out of this world. Guess Honda has a lot of work to do.

Nice one Baba J. When i grow up, i wanna be like you.

Keep it up.
AutosRe: Toyota Camry 2000/2001 by KunleA2(m): 1:39pm On Jun 28, 2009
lummy4dee:
@kunle-A, hi Mr kunle you can't be too sure anyway, but just to let you know this was one of the last thin lighted camry that was made and the model month and date was Feb. 2001. We will endeaveour to put more pics for you to be certify, but the car might have gone. thanks for oyur responce to this add
I sure hope u know what you are talking about. 2001 was the last year for this body style. How could this "thin light" be made then? That means that all production parameters have to be changed to accommodate this one huh

Take a picture of the VIN number on the body of the car (where driver's door jams with the body) then may be i owe you an apology.
Car TalkRe: Do People Buy Diesel Engine Cars In Nigeria? by KunleA2(m): 8:28am On Jun 28, 2009
Unfortunately NO!. Diesel passanger cars are not too common in Naija. However, they are ABUNDANT in Ghana. Almost 50% of Ghanaian vehicles are diesel.

The mechanics in naija seems to be "afraid" of diesel cars. They dont know how to work on them undecided
AutosRe: Toyota Camry 2000/2001 by KunleA2(m): 7:07am On Jun 28, 2009
Thats not a 2001 though undecided
BusinessRe: What Sells In Nigeria These Days? by KunleA2(m): 5:31am On Jun 28, 2009
Ciaman:
What sells most in Nigeria is your unique idea. But if you want to make good money erase not selling on credit. People will buy better if you sell on credit and other way round if you sell on cash.
Good point. But whats the sense in selling a lot when you stand the chance of not collecting your $$$. Lets face it, ppl like to owe money. Plp are very comfy with debt in naija. Especially if the believe that u are rich. undecided
AutosRe: 270k Nissan Sunny (2 Doors): Typical 'hustle Car'. by KunleA2(m): 8:46pm On Jun 27, 2009
talk is cheap. put pics!
BusinessRe: What Sells In Nigeria These Days? by KunleA2(m): 6:25pm On Jun 27, 2009
Its amazing how many stupid responses that's on this thread. The poster lives in the US. Looking to travel home with probably something handy to sell. People start giving stupid answers huh

Only a handful of responses made sense here. wink
AutosRe: Clear Your Seized Car And Laptops From Custom Or Wharf Today! by KunleA2(m): 6:54am On Jun 27, 2009
How much to ship car from USA to nigeria? and clear?

I have a 2005 Camry XLE

PropertiesRe: Warehouse/factory For Sale by KunleA2(m): 1:41am On Jun 27, 2009
Ayo, :
Come for physical inspection.
At this day in age, not everyone have the time or opportunity to "come for physical inspection". That is good and dandy in 1979 but its 2009. If you are asking for N30m, cant you spend the time/money to post pics?

How do i know its even worth my time to leave my house? undecided

Good luck. Good sales.
AutosRe: Auto Section News Updates by KunleA2(m): 12:30am On Jun 27, 2009
Busy_body:
Kunle ke shocked shocked shocked So dude is yoruba, jeebus, used to think he was an okoro feeling funky with his okrika goggles and the way his waist-high trousers always sits nearly on top of his man-boobs/moobs like those bush Ghana pipu cool
smallmoney:
shocked all this for only promise72. . . .ladies take it easy grin grin grin wait were did Ajimajasan come from huh
Hate has a very unique smell. How would things have changed if these !#$%&@ know that i am a Yoruba? Was that a contributing factor initially? Hmmmm food for thought. Kinda saying something about them.
PropertiesRe: Warehouse/factory For Sale by KunleA2(m): 8:02pm On Jun 26, 2009
pictures?
AutosRe: Machinery For Sale by KunleA2(m): 7:54pm On Jun 26, 2009
abdulkadir:
hi
do u do rigs as in borehole drilling rigs
What type are you looking for?
AutosRe: price reduced 2006 Eod Low Mileage ... N2.25m sold sold sold by KunleA2(m): 7:53pm On Jun 26, 2009
RICHIE BOI:
wrong! the white tail light on top the red brake lights is the european version, while the all red brake lights is american version like this one being sold 07' and it goes for 2.7m to 3.0m. i stand to be corrected wink
Do u have a pics. The guy sort of confuse me too cos i think this is how the tail light looks like. I am not sure what u guys are talking about.
AutosRe: Caterpillar 14e by KunleA2(m): 1:53am On Jun 26, 2009
@ Poster,

Check very well. This look muck like a 12 series grader. Unless there's a picture of the "14" showing anywhere.

Good luck. Good sales
AutosRe: Clean 2003 Acura Vigor For Sale - 530,000 by KunleA2(m): 10:52pm On Jun 25, 2009
samboribo:
@Kunle
he did tell me it's nigerian used, not toks! i guess the plates are out for privacy or something.
That changes everything then. However, if you will be buying, on these models (especially 2003) Watch out for transmission issues. SOME can be problematic.

Good luck. Enjoy the car.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 137 138 139 140 141 142 (of 142 pages)