LoveMachine's Posts
Nairaland Forum › LoveMachine's Profile › LoveMachine's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (of 70 pages)
UTURU — THE President-General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Chief John Nnia Nwodo, Saturday, presided over a meeting of prominent Igbo leaders in a bid to produce a 50- year development plan for Ndigbo. The Igbo leaders converged on the sleepy and serene Gregory University, Uturu, Abia State, which serves as the headquarters of the World Igbo Summit Group, WISG, under the auspices of the Igbo Leaders, Elders and Collectives. Among other issues, the meeting brainstormed on how to kick-start the implementation of the resolutions adopted during the last summit of the World Igbo, WISG, on the 50-year development plan. The resolutions addressed an all-encompassing development plan that would cover economic, political, cultural, educational as well as proper mentoring of the youths. Proper mentoring of the youths Among those present at the occasion were the former governor of Anambra State, Dr Chukwuemeka Ezeife, the Obi of Onitsha, Igwe Nnaemeka Achebe, Chief Ike Nwachukwu, Chief Achuzie, former Governor of the Central Bank, Prof. Chukwuma Soludo, Prof. Joe Irukwu, Prof. George Obiozor and Dr. Greg Ibe. Others included a former Minister of Health, Prof Onyebuchi Chukwu, the former Economic Adviser to President Olusegun Obasanjo, Dr Osita Ogbu, Mrs. Josephine Aneni, Prof Viola Onwuliri, Dr Ifedi Okwenna, Mrs. Chidinma Uwajumogu and Prof. Ihechukwu Madubuike as well as several traditional rulers and professionals in various walks of life among others. The Ndigbo Development Plan 2066 is aimed at comprehensively tackling the development of Igbo land and would entail persuading Igbo entrepreneurs and investors all over the country and in Diaspora to think-home by bringing part of their investments and wealth home to ensure a prosperous home land. It was a collective opinion of all the speakers that Ndigbo have had enough talks over the problems bedevilling the race even as it was now time for collective action. Addressing the meeting, the Obi of Onitsha, Igwe Achebe canvassed for strategic system that would propel the development of future leaders for Ndigbo to effectively execute the 50 year vision programme. President-General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Chief John Nnia Nwodo adressing the summit. “We should start implementation, not just talking; we need good leaders to carry on with the programme. Nnamdi Kanu has a vision and he has the courage to ask questions on why an Igbo person is institutionally disadvantaged in the country. Let us not be ashamed of it, we are all Biafrans in spirit. We have to create opportunity for our youths to rise,” Achebe said further suggesting that a committee be established to kick-start the 50 -year development agenda. Also speaking, Prof Soludo suggested the formation of Ohanaeze youth wings in all tertiary institutions in Igbo land saying it would help to inculcate the spirit of Ndigbo as well as help them key into the plan. Soludo said that the vision if well executed would not only ensure a prosperous homeland for the Igbo adding that “economic power is permanent while political power is ephemeral.” Gen Ike Nwachukwu retd; Obi of Onitsha, Igwe Alfred Achebe, Col. Joe Achuzia and Dr. Chukwuemeka Ezeife. Earlier, the President-General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Chief Nwodo, urged Ndigbo to be more diplomatic in pursuing their causes even as he warned against pushing Ndigbo to the wall. “I am here to encourage the people that have been doing this good work. There was a time Ohanaeze was lagging behind which led some patriotic Igbo to form some groups. At the last count, I have 48 groups. For me it is a good thing. We will encourage them to work with the Standing Committee of Ohanaeze so that their ideas would be harnessed for the good of Ndigbo. “Since I was elected, I have been going round and talking to our people on the need to be one and speak with one voice which would give us greater strength. We will also be tactful and diplomatic in pursuing our cause, we should not be violent. But Igbo should not be pushed to the wall. These were a people given 20 Pounds after the civil war. We went to Lagos empty handed but today we have factories there; Igbo investment in Lagos is huge; half of the buildings in Abuja are owned by Ndigbo, we want them to bring some of them home,” Nwodo said. Job-for-jobseekers He announced that he had reconciled the South East governors who had resumed their meetings as well as promised to make it regular. He also said he had visited Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State and would soon visit Governor Okowa of Delta State in an effort to bring together all Igbo in every state. “Ohanaeze of today is not Ohanaeze of the past. The Ohanaeze you have today is not Ohanaeze of job-for-job-seekers. The leaders now are tested people whom you should trust. Development of Igbo land is the job for everybody,” he added. Nwodo also condemned the militarization of Igbo land with the attendant mounting of road blocks and extortion of money from motorists, saying he had gone round and did not see such in any other part of the country. http://www.vanguardngr.com/2017/03/biafrans-spirit-need-50-year-devt-plan-igboland-obi-onitsha/ |
I came in ready to spit fire to rebut the title but op dropped some major ism. EZIOKWU! |
Is there more?
IpobExposed:This is news to me. |
NCAN will never come to an agreement on who to send. |
This is wrong. This what happens when we adopt foreign cultures as our own. |
Just read this article and you will become informed. https://www.nairaland.com/3663093/read-1979-interview-dr-nnamdi |
Looks like suicide to me. |
Before the PIB is passed grant me an Oil Bloc. Malabu Oil will be a non-starter compared to us. ![]() |
IPOB Nairaland Chapter over to you! |
47 cars and yet he can only sit in one seat at a time. Such sort sightedness by these looters. One day when the tables will turn... |
My mother won't believe this when I send her the pics. Good job to the governor and I'm happy for my people in Abia. They need some good infrastructure. |
O DI EGWU! |
I wasn't ready! ![]() |
#385=$1? Not perfect but we are getting there. Things will surely improve with time. We just have to stay the course. We may not win them all but we can't keep losing. |
jnrbayano:From all indications you are correct but still he is ours. Maybe if we keep him close he'll remember who he is and act properly. Even if he keeps performing below expectations we have to respect the position even if we don't respect the man. Unfortunately, He has the mandate of an Igbo state until 2019. |
Nukualofa:That's cute. Once again no cogent response just memes and insults. This is my final response. Do better. |
Nukualofa:Nice try at an insult but it failed poorly. The last administration was an abysmal disaster. The looting was monumental. Reno is arguing semantics. Amaechi is not without sin but these PDP mouthpieces need to quiet down for at least a decade. They have lost the privilege of opposition politics until further notice. Maybe UPP or KOWA or someone else can step up but PDP is shamed beyond redemption. Peace. |
Who's he fooling with all that grammar? |
glight1: ![]() |
Chief Richard Perekeme Kpodoh, a kinsman of Goodluck Jonathan and former special adviser on security in Bayelsa state is asking the former president to explain how trillions of naira grew wings under his government. Kinsman seeks Jonathan's arrest over alleged corruption Chief Kpodoh wants Jonathan to explain how huge funds disappeared under his government. Various amounts as well as assets are being recovered from former top government officials of the government of former President Jonathan and Chief Kpodoh says he could not understand why this could happen under a leader. “As far as I am concerned, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has not started investigations and prosecutions. What they have done is a tip of the iceberg. “If they go deeper, Nigerians will weep and persons shouting foul will cover themselves with blankets. “The EFCC should arrest Jonathan. I don’t know why they are not doing that? Jonathan should explain to Nigerians how all these trillions disappeared under his watch as a president. “What was he presiding over? Nobody is above the law. We are practising democracy and it is the same democracy that the people abroad are practising. “You have heard past leaders of foreign countries who stood trials and were jailed for fraud. Nigeria cannot be exempted. Jonathan should be arrested and prosecuted,” he said in an interview with The Nation. Chief Kpodod believes Jonathan ruined Nigeria through poor leadership. “Jonathan killed this country. He failed to protect Nigerians. Where are we now? Imagine the suffering of the people today. “Everything you see happening about this economy was caused by Jonathan and his party. Nigerians should not be deceived. They should not be cajoled to blame the All Progressives Congress (APC) and President Muhammdu Buhari. “I am angry that Jonathan is talking of 2019. Does he think that Nigerians are stupid; that after creating these problems, he and his PDP kleptomaniacs will ride on the back of this same problem to return to power in 2019? “If I were Jonathan, I would have gone to a very quiet place to sit down and observe sober reflections of my administration. Coming to tell us about 2019 is like adding salt to our injury,” he added. https://www.naij.com/1090604-kinsman-seeks-jonathans-arrest-alleged-corruption.html https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2YmdlExz7Hw |
I'm patiently waiting for the results. Dis gon be gud! |
That's good to see. With no cracks nor leaks we can stand tall and united. Kwenu! |
ademoladeji:Because everyone else has 6. Why else? |
The wind is blowing and many foul yansh will be exposed. |
NCAN will love this. All zones are present. Federal character was respected in this criminal activity. |
I wanna know how Rochas and Obiano greeted one another. Also we need a 6th state. This is silly to be the only zone with 5. But all in all good development. |
SalamRushdie:That's terrible if true. But at least she's denying it and suing for defamation. http://saharareporters.com/2016/02/08/president-buharis-aide-files-n1billion-defamation-lawsuit-against-maryland-rogue-lawyer |
SalamRushdie:Biko expound. |
UPP just aligned with Biafra. I wanna see what they are cooking up for this election. |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (of 70 pages)