Stats: 3,150,517 members, 7,808,888 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 06:38 PM

Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? - Romance (8) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Romance / Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? (49421 Views)

Why Most Women Don't Date Broke Men / I Live In America-why Don't Men Approach Me? / Say No To Broke Men, Ladies Be Smart! (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by hokafor(m): 9:42pm On May 05, 2016
From ur write up u are not tha rich nither maybe comfortable. If u want to attract the big boys u will have to upgrade ur live styles u said u dont club,but rich dudes club . you drive a toyota matrix that is for the average u need a G Wagon try this simple steps and dangote will surely make u his 5th wife.
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by studM(m): 9:43pm On May 05, 2016
mizlolar:
Please i need ur help. Am having challenges in area of relationship. I have the problem of ending up with men who are nothing but gold diggers. They seem good from the start but before a few months, they will turn into pests.

I dont know what is responsible for this. I just need a man who ll love me on the basis of who i am not what i have. I am from a well to do family, I am the only daughter of my parents and my dad is late, I actually inherited quite a lot and initially it seemed like a blessing until I got older.

All the Guys i ve met so far re fake displaying fake love just to get hold of what is in my possession. I will give you a little insight so you can understand what I am going tru. Around 2013, my then fiance kidnapped himself and because i already knew he was too needy and then their was a lot of inconsistencies in the story so i ignored the kidnappers who were demanding for 700k ransom. The guys showed up 2 weeks later fuming without any injuries or even shedding any weight

sorry about what u seem 2 b going tru babe...some guys r jst plain silly nd shameless...can i know u...can we chat on whatsapp..if u care 2 know am doing ok myself..u can check my prfl if u want 2

He was ranting and saying all sorts like how wicked i was and how i abandoned him to die. I had to break it off immediately because he was beginning to sound like i was his mother and father joined together. The next relationship went quite the same way.

The guy sold my car and came up with stories of how he was robbed at onipanu by palm-grove. unfortunately for him, i had a tracker which had its own inbuilt battery, so when they disconnected the car battery thinking they have disabled the tracker, they gaffed. the car was subsequently tracked down to shagamu at a hotel managed by his cousin. these are just the few recent ones.

There are many more experiences that i wouldn’t bother you with but I am tired. the worst is that some will even want to move in with me because of the comfort of my place. Its really frustrating. My mum said i should stop driving but its nearly impossible for me to get around lagos without a car.

I simply stopped using the big cars and got a Toyota matrix and i even had to drive myself so it dosnt look like i am the one attracting the wrong men and scaring away the good ones yet i haven’t been lucky.

I am not looking for a millionaire, I just want a man with a little dignity and value not the ones who will start demanding for loans or come up with stories within months of how their visa was stuck or how their mother was diabetic and needed money for blood transfusion. I have heard a lot of such stories and i am tired.

I dont know if my mum is right that i am scaring away the right ones with my lifestyle. Honestly, i dont even live flamboyantly neither do I club. I am in my early 30’s and i really need to settle down.

Plz help me with ideas on how to stop attracting gold digging shameless men. As at now, 4 guys re on my neck including head of admin in my firm but they are all my subordinates and I don’t want a scandal. Thank u.

Please advice. I don't need abuse from you guys... Thanks
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by anyicash(m): 9:46pm On May 05, 2016
It's high time you became a single mother, look for an intelligent man, sleep with him, born one or two children, then raise and love your kids, you will forever be a happy woma. don't worry about a man to call your hubby..

Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by adaweezy(m): 9:53pm On May 05, 2016
DragonReborn:
You seem genuinely worried, so I'll play nice. Most 'successful' ladies confuse confidence/self-assurance with pride. You may be unconsciously exuding a pompous vibe that men find off putting. I once asked a lady why she didn't pick my calls and she said she wasn't in the mood to talk, I asked why she didn't just say so and she said she couldn't be bothered. I stopped calling and she called one day to demand what the problem was, as she hadn't done anything wrong. Watch how you carry yourself and the way you talk to people. Also assess the kind of guys you are attracted to. Most hard-working guys don't have time to do fancy haircuts, wear tight blazers with those funny looking pencil trousers and suede loafers you girls love so much. If you like those kind of boys, probability is he's either a yahoo boy, a YBNL wey no sabi sing or a student. If you want to meet responsible men, then go were responsible men are, its that simple.

Fallacious reasoning, when did looking good in fitted Clothing Become a crime?

Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by bunmiano: 9:59pm On May 05, 2016
mizlolar:
Please i need ur help. Am having challenges in area of relationship. I have the problem of ending up with men who are nothing but gold diggers. They seem good from the start but before a few months, they will turn into pests.

I dont know what is responsible for this. I just need a man who ll love me on the basis of who i am not what i have. I am from a well to do family, I am the only daughter of my parents and my dad is late, I actually inherited quite a lot and initially it seemed like a blessing until I got older.

All the Guys i ve met so far re fake displaying fake love just to get hold of what is in my possession. I will give you a little insight so you can understand what I am going tru. Around 2013, my then fiance kidnapped himself and because i already knew he was too needy and then their was a lot of inconsistencies in the story so i ignored the kidnappers who were demanding for 700k ransom. The guys showed up 2 weeks later fuming without any injuries or even shedding any weight

He was ranting and saying all sorts like how wicked i was and how i abandoned him to die. I had to break it off immediately because he was beginning to sound like i was his mother and father joined together. The next relationship went quite the same way.

The guy sold my car and came up with stories of how he was robbed at onipanu by palm-grove. unfortunately for him, i had a tracker which had its own inbuilt battery, so when they disconnected the car battery thinking they have disabled the tracker, they gaffed. the car was subsequently tracked down to shagamu at a hotel managed by his cousin. these are just the few recent ones.

There are many more experiences that i wouldn’t bother you with but I am tired. the worst is that some will even want to move in with me because of the comfort of my place. Its really frustrating. My mum said i should stop driving but its nearly impossible for me to get around lagos without a car.

I simply stopped using the big cars and got a Toyota matrix and i even had to drive myself so it dosnt look like i am the one attracting the wrong men and scaring away the good ones yet i haven’t been lucky.

I am not looking for a millionaire, I just want a man with a little dignity and value not the ones who will start demanding for loans or come up with stories within months of how their visa was stuck or how their mother was diabetic and needed money for blood transfusion. I have heard a lot of such stories and i am tired.

I dont know if my mum is right that i am scaring away the right ones with my lifestyle. Honestly, i dont even live flamboyantly neither do I club. I am in my early 30’s and i really need to settle down.

Plz help me with ideas on how to stop attracting gold digging shameless men. As at now, 4 guys re on my neck including head of admin in my firm but they are all my subordinates and I don’t want a scandal. Thank u.

Op please pm me
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by ideology(m): 10:02pm On May 05, 2016
Very funny, many didn't notice that op is a blogger trying to get popular, on one of her threads she claimed to be 25, on this one above 30.

Also worthy of note is her comments on job boards, implying that op is looking for job, yet he/she claims to be from a wealthy family.

Nigerians sha grin

Many have been decieved esp the gullible ones

Lol, trust nairaland guys, they will fill your inbox with applications to be your boo, lol
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by Nobody: 10:02pm On May 05, 2016
Tabh:
I can relate with this, I know that feeling. You could just be yourself and don't expect too high. There are still genuine men that would love you for you. Keep searching if you so much want marriage.

Don't tell me u believe ds cooked up story!
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by ideology(m): 10:04pm On May 05, 2016
SIRTee15:
Sorry o......
But how come?
U were 23 yrs this Feb and 2 months later early 30s.....
Are u a blogger.....
Abeg go find something better to do
smart guy, one glass of tequila on my tab
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by Nobody: 10:04pm On May 05, 2016
mizlolar:

I dont know if my mum is right that i am scaring away the right ones with my lifestyle. Honestly, i dont even live flamboyantly neither do I club. [s]I am in my early 30’s [/s]and i really need to settle down.

I'm In A Very Confused State Right Now. Matured Minds Should Pls Help by mizlolar(f): 1:51pm On Feb 04

mizlolar:
This is a long one so grab a comfy chair and some popcorn. Please stick with me though as i am feeling so lost right now and really need some solid advice and a large range of various perspectives.

[Please note that i'm at work right now so if i make a few errors then sorry lol.]

So let me start with a little about myself. Im 23. female. 5 ft 7. In fairly good shape(curvy). Easy on the eyes. I am in my very first long term relationship and we are about to celebrate our 1 year anniversary on Feb 6th. My boyfriend is 25. Male (obviously lol). Also easy on the eyes. Very innocent and a real gentleman. He's a real sweetheart! I've been looking forward to a day he'll take me to see his parents.

We have been very happy together. Weve had our ups and downs but nothing too serious has really threatened our relationship,until now (atleast from my perspective).... Before we get into the heat of the discussion,just know that i was a very confident and secure individual. I trusted my boyfriend whole heartedly and i felt as though nothing could ever threaten “us”. That facade has broken and has left me weak and somewhat feeble. A shadow of my former self-assured character.

So on the Monday night just past (it is currently Thursday afternoon) my boyfriend,his best friend his workmate and his workmates girlfriend and I decide to drink and go night clubbing/dancing. We pre-drink and then head to the clubs. We drink and dance and at one point (1am?) the other couple fight and go home. So now its just my boyfriend,his best friend and myself. This is where it got weird...
We're on the dance floor when my boyfriend he's got something to tell me. He says “my ex-gf is coming to meet up and hang out with us soon,just thought you should know,you're alright with it ok?”. Bleep no i wasnt alright with it,like wtf man. I told him that,and he said it would be fine. So i was like whatever,maybe this is normal? (keeping in mind that this is my first long term bf).

Anyway so we move clubs and she shows up [about 23/5.9ft/skinny and way beautiful more than me. around 60kg]and talks to my bf and his mate and ignores me for a solid 10 seconds until i introduce myself. I squeeze harder than normal when shaking her hand,and look her square in the eyes. she squeezes a little hard but i overpower her. She also averts her gaze (i won that battle! Haha). I give them a chance to catch up by going to pee for a few minutes. When i come back inside we chat awkwardly. This lasts for 30 seconds and she goes silent so i just start dancing to the music to get over the awkward silence that follows. she then walks off somewhere. At this point my bf tells me that hes going to dance. So i follow him out and it turns out she was going to dance with him... What. The. Bleep. At this point she sees me,and tells the guys she leaving. Good riddence...

So the night carries on as normal,only i keep questioning in my head on wtf just happened. This is when i think i started to become paranoid and obssessive. These qualities slowly manifested from that point on that night,to what it is now. Anyway,back to the story.
As the night continued,i notice my bf acting a little strange. Every time i went to hold his hand,he'd hold it weakly and then shake my hand off. I kept testing and he'd keep doing it. I then noticed he'd start to avoid my kisses to the point where id go for a kiss,and he'd fully turn away so id get his cheek. he even pushed me off him once. Finally,hed been avoiding any and all eye contact for the rest of the night. Thats when i knew something was up.

When we got home and settled into bed,i told about how i was feeling. he got angry and said “whats wrong with that” and “you met your ex boyfriend the other day!” (this was at a gathering of my friend group of where he just happened to be,because we're from the same friend group). We had a big fight and he made me feel like i was in the wrong. He said i needed to just let it go because they were just friends. I sit there dumb founded feeling like i was an absolute fool for bringing it up. He then goes to sleep.
At this point i start freaking out as,while we were fighting, he told me her ex gf was from secondary school and that their break up was “mutual”. They were together for close to 4 years and i feel like they were high school sweathearts. I also suspect she lost her virginity to him.

Anyway, i was lying there next to my drunk sleeping boyfriend when i decided to read his texts. Turns out they had been texting on and off since August 2015 (she initiated first contact). They had also been meeting up whenever his ex gf was in town. (my bf ex-gf lives in a different city). The worst part was that They actually went and got a “drink” (at a bar) every time. A couple of times they even meet up at a club. This happened all without my knowing and i honestly cant believe that ive just found out this weekend. Reading those texts felt like someone was trying to yank my heart out of my chest. The realisation that your bf has been doing this is one of the most painful things ive ever been through. Id rather break my arms.

Now what gets me most about these texts is that he didnt even make a mention of me at all. One night that they were texting,was a night we were at a family event. The ex gf asked my bf what he was doing. Instead of saying “im at my gfs family event”,he just said “im drinking at a friends place”. Noticing that he was texting his ex-gf without mentioning me was absolutely gut wrenching.
I asked him yesterday if he had seen him any other times other than last monday. And i said “you would tell me if you have right babe?”. He denied any other times he met him. I knew he was lying so i just said “i trust that you would tell me babe” and left it at that. I asked him about it again today and he just got angry and said “are we going to fight about this again”. Again i left it alone but tonight im gathering the courage to finally bring it up and tell him about reading his texts and that i know he's been lying to me.

Is this a good idea? What can i do? Should i just leave it alone? Does he have feelings for his ex gf? Is he cheating on me?
Please please please help me out here. I dont know what to do and the paranoia and obssession is starting to take over my life. My heart is just telling me to move past it and keep loving him(LOve his so much). But my head is telling me to back off and get out know before that heart gets ripped out and torn to shreds.
I really appreciate any help or advice here and i really appreciate you sticking with me until now. Im so lost and in a heap of pain at the moment....

I really need this to hit the front page cos I registered on this site because of this issue so I can seek advice

Fellow NLanders. Please compare and contrast both post from OP before drawing conclusions. Her age increases at a rate I am unable to understand. From 23 in February 2016 to early 30's in May 2016.
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by sweetilicious(f): 10:05pm On May 05, 2016
NikitaNike:
Meet my handsome boy. He doesn't need money just ribbena and u 2 will be lovers 4ever
That's children for you. Cute boy
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by 18wheeler: 10:06pm On May 05, 2016
Let me borrow someone's words here, and I quote "Na as goat stand for market na im dem dey price am". so stand well sister.

Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by olac21(m): 10:06pm On May 05, 2016
foreveryours:
How are u longest time. How's school
Fine bro,school's fine!how your side sir?
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by ideology(m): 10:06pm On May 05, 2016
Eaa247:

Don't tell me u believe ds cooked up story!
just read through and see the number of people that believed op, hahaha, i will call seun, lalasticlala, mydn44, who brought this poo to front page should take it down, it is a fake story
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by onlyson16(m): 10:06pm On May 05, 2016
YoUr problem have only one solUtion leave it or take it
dat is
date a very poor boy
he will valUe U
nd remember dat God bless U 4 a pUrpose
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by Nobody: 10:09pm On May 05, 2016
adaweezy:
Fallacious reasoning, when did looking good in fitted Clothing Become a crime?
Sorry for denigrating your hip dressing. I meant corporate dressing usually includes a suit and tie and oxfords or brogues. Its usually very conservative (and often drab) compared to your fitted clothes. There's absolutely nothing wrong with flaunting your swag
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by ideology(m): 10:10pm On May 05, 2016
BlessedFellow01:

I'm In A Very Confused State Right Now. Matured Minds Should Pls Help by mizlolar(f): 1:51pm On Feb 04

Fellow NLanders. Please compare and contrast both post from OP before drawing conclusions. Her age increases at a rate I am unable to understand. From 23 in February 2016 to early 30's in May 2016.
i didn't even need to read the entire gist, just the first few lines raised enough suspicion.

I ran to her profile, just the topics of her previous threads are enough to prove it is fake account, fake dp, fake personality.

No wealthy man calls another broke, only the broke ones, looking for security
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by ideology(m): 10:14pm On May 05, 2016
egike:
better still contact me ,am available .
you scared if you will attract the right guy for marriage or relationship cos of your wealth. same way me here is scared to get a good girl to marry cos i don't wanna regret any action i will take for a life time.let's talk more send me a mail elechijosh@gmail.com.
serious no play
and this one posted his email for a scammer, abi na her money you want to collect your share grin

Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by lovegeneration(m): 10:25pm On May 05, 2016
Madam there is somiting u re missing. Firstly seek the face of God dn His plan for u, read the. Book of john 15 v7 that says if u abide in me nd my word abide in u what so ever u ask. Shal be. Answeret to Which means u can not be out side God nd enjoy His grace nd all u. Need is grace of God. God bless u ma
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by zheroes(m): 10:32pm On May 05, 2016
Stelvin101:
If only broke men approach you for marriage then get rich, marry a broke man and make him rich. Period! I don't want to hear one more complain from you, not when you are not Dangote's daughter or that of Mike Adenuga. Next plz
ur on point but you got a little bit too personal.

Sister, I feel ur pain. I ve been in your shoes. Sometimes certain things can't be explained as its beyond human power.

I don't know what your taste of a guy is but I guess you need to tone down a bit. If ur looking for a very handsome guy, you just need to bring your taste down a little bit.its shameful most men lack dignity these days as long as money is involved. You have to learn to love what you hate, that's the only way you may have peace of mind. Am speaking from experience.

I love very pretty ladies, I pay their house
rents but they end up sleeping with other guys in there, its the irony of life.

Please don't get too desperate, you will make a life time error, prayerfully seek the face of God, he will lead you, it may not be your desired choice but it will be for your good.

I wish you the best.
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by rebranded(m): 10:32pm On May 05, 2016
Stop flaunting your wealth to the guys
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by Heavance(m): 10:35pm On May 05, 2016
Just reach out to God, if you are the humble type, just place your heart to God, let him do the planning for you, but you may not like who he picks for you at first until you see clearly.
Secondly, don't allow any of the guys know your place if its very comfortable, just take your time to know them well, claim you live with your aunt or a friends family

Don't talk about your expensive whatever while discussing, just be modest.
You really need God, as we guys could be so irresponsible o.
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by IBBG(m): 10:43pm On May 05, 2016
DragonReborn:
You seem genuinely worried, so I'll play nice. Most 'successful' ladies confuse confidence/self-assurance with pride. You may be unconsciously exuding a pompous vibe that men find off putting. I once asked a lady why she didn't pick my calls and she said she wasn't in the mood to talk, I asked why she didn't just say so and she said she couldn't be bothered. I stopped calling and she called one day to demand what the problem was, as she hadn't done anything wrong. Watch how you carry yourself and the way you talk to people. Also assess the kind of guys you are attracted to. Most hard-working guys don't have time to do fancy haircuts, wear tight blazers with those funny looking pencil trousers and suede loafers you girls love so much. If you like those kind of boys, probability is he's either a yahoo boy, a YBNL wey no sabi sing or a student. If you want to meet responsible men, then go were responsible men are, its that simple.
God bless u sir for this comment

Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by Nobody: 10:49pm On May 05, 2016
Your major problem is mindset. Your thought, your belief and what you have heard made you believe that everymen around is gluton, gold digger and they want your money. So, what you think about them shows in the way you handle the relationships. The relationships were undefinable, un-nursable, unexplainable, they lack vision no destination and unnurturable because of your mind set. Not only that, you were not able to submit your mind therefore, the guys have to play smart since they are not sure of what relationships they were into. Well, i will advise you to remain single because that is the only way you can live well. No matter how good is a guy, you will not be able to accomodate him because is a broke guy and your mindset has programmed you to believe that broke guys are glutons. Are you looking for a rich guy like yourself? that also comes with his bunch of probems. You cant get it better somewhere else. Remain married with you inheritance.
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by Nobody: 10:49pm On May 05, 2016
You need a cut-off mark. I usually ask ladies indirectly what they do for a living and if it is not a "proper" job or business (with an office or shop), I know there would be no relationship so I just try to push for sex and move on.

Indirectly find out what your toasters do for a living and if it is not a "stable income" job or business - cut him off!

mizlolar:

Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by Skyfornia(m): 10:54pm On May 05, 2016
Madam relax...adopt the right pace and don't be in a hurry. One of the best way or place to attract a good man is in the church. Your pastor can help you out and recommend any of the good brothers for you.
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by Nobody: 10:57pm On May 05, 2016
mizlolar:

Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by djoke1: 10:58pm On May 05, 2016
mizlolar:

All the Guys i ve met so far re fake displaying fake love just to get hold of what is in my possession. I will give you a little insight so you can understand what I am going tru. Around 2013, my then fiance kidnapped himself and because i already knew he was too needy and then their was a lot of...
HEY GIRL YOU NEED JESUS. your sicknesses are pride and insincerity. QUOTE ME IF YOU WANT CHANGE IN YOUR LIFE. I DO NOT NEED YOUR money.
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by bstringz(m): 11:04pm On May 05, 2016
Aunty why are u lying?i checked some of your post and you were applying for a job they sent to you via sms..Now your now a wealthy Woman who Is approached by broke guys?What do u attend to acheive by this.Attention?okay,now you have it...Clap for yourself...Oponu!
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by Gmekx(m): 11:14pm On May 05, 2016
mizlolar:

I'll be back to comment
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by deavicky(m): 11:17pm On May 05, 2016
If you are the one I see on ur dp, leave lagos to p
PH and will marry straight and also give love you never imagined I sware to that.
Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by skolfizz: 11:19pm On May 05, 2016
mizlolar:

This is my number 08064960150 call me, Aminu yusuf is my name, from Borno state.

Re: Why Do Only Broke Men Approach Me For Marriage? by mikolo80: 11:27pm On May 05, 2016
hibiscus76:
It's because like charges repel while unlike charges attract..stick to one broke man and help his life to help yours
chop knuckle. I envy your husband. but guy wen organise kidnap or de carry diabetic mama story no be am.

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (Reply)

Asian Bride In Traditional Edo Attire As She Weds Nigerian Man (Photos) / One Day Women In Hijab Will Be More Attractive Than Those Bitches In Bikini-lady / Evangelist And Medical Doctor Get Married After 10 Years Of Dating

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 114