Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 8:08pm On Jan 27, 2022 |
Oga mi sir, are these bamboos? They look slimmer than our everyday bamboo here. EgunMogaji2:
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 7:52pm On Jan 27, 2022 |
Bamboo will make a better choice. Cost of one bamboo in Lagos (Ajah) is an average of #600 per one with an average length of 6metres. michlins: well this is one storey building with penthouse. Total of about 38ft tall |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 7:48pm On Jan 27, 2022 |
If you're doing up to 5 or more stories project, bamboos become inapplicable. So, it can depend on the type of build. On a normal everyday one or two storeyed projects, bamboos will make a cost effective and efficient choice. michlins: personally I think buying bamboo is cheaper on the long run. He will still need it for painting after plastering. Hire now and then hire later for painting will overshoot the cost of the job. At the end, you will still have your bamboo to sell or use it domestically as energy source |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 7:37pm On Jan 27, 2022 |
Scaffolding is expensive. Either you're hiring steel scaffolding or buying bamboos; both are expensive depending on the area and height of your building. sonnie10: Why should I spend 500k on scaffolding alone? They said because its a mansion. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 12:03am On Jan 26, 2022 |
You can always buy your tiles either per square metres or per cartons. Buying in cartons is better if you're conversant with basic information. When you're buying in carton, make sure you get the measured quantity of the tiles you need from either your working architectural drawings or physical measurements on site. Once you get the quantity preferably in metric system (square metres), add some allowance for waste and breakages. The next important thing is to know the quantity of tiles in one carton of any type of tiles you're buying. Divide the quantity (in square metres) you get from your measurement by the quantity in one carton (in square metres) to give you the total number of cartons needed. DancingSkeleton: Good evening everyone. Please does anyone know of a tiles salesperson in Benin, who sells per carton not square meter? Those guys at Cooke road are something else |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 6:49pm On Jan 19, 2022 |
Please what do you mean at the bolded? I have never hidden my identity neither stayed away because of any intentional reasons best known to you. In fact, I've been engaged by people here this past week for my services. I have no business whatsoever with N3xt other than doing my job as engaged by the client to protect his interests. If you're N3xt advocate, good for you. sgtponzihater1: You and n3xt caused a lot of uproar here before you disappeared intentionally, only to resurface today "for no reason" . N3xt is likely to come back "for no reason" too after a more extended break than yours, as he is the main actor and boss in this movie.
My only concern is that Somehow gets some of his cash back. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 6:09pm On Jan 19, 2022 |
Greetings to the house.
Quite some time here. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 8:47am On Jan 02, 2022 |
Thank you sir for the platform and privilege given to me to showcase my skills. It meant a lot to me. Happy and blessed new year to you and your household sir. mufutau55: @QSFemi Thank you for the nice and prompt work. Happy New Year and Stay blessed.
Hajji M. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 6:19pm On Dec 28, 2021 |
Concluding part of the breakdown. QSFemi: Breakdown of items in the valuation.
Questions are welcomed.
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 6:11pm On Dec 28, 2021 |
Breakdown of items in the valuation.
Questions are welcomed.
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 12:51am On Dec 28, 2021 |
We're already in public, so transparency matters. n3xt: Interesting. I’m not mean though but I can share with whoever I like because you just uploaded some documents without regards for privacy and security.
Every little things matters a lot. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 12:19am On Dec 28, 2021*. Modified: 12:50am On Dec 28, 2021 |
Please find attached screenshots of the final valuation containing the details of the refund.
This is the main summary of the document.
I'll add the breakdown of the items in the valuation in a subsequent post.
I want to reattach the documents because I want to blur out the name for security and privacy reasons.
The total amount due for refund in this document is 2.45m.
Please find attached the valuation for your perusal.
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 12:03am On Dec 28, 2021 |
I want to attach the valuation to this thread detailing the amount due for refund. n3xt: While I await further cross-examination, let me begin to prepare my review of the numerous valuation reports sent to me. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 11:29pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
Please do not dilly-dally by beating around the bush. Lots of people are awake and reading this. You didn't answer the question, so I'll ask again; What does erection of carcass mean to you in your own words. Just paraphrase in one sentence. n3xt: You know we’ve walked this route over and over bro and that’s why we are where we are today because all I can see is deliberate attempt to paint black blue.
This same reason was why you chose to value the small tiny security house at 43% of N1,400,000 in a bid to make money off me. When that didn’t work out, you came up with another submission that 126 pcs of 6inches blocks were used to raise the tiny security hiuse to roof level and I had to ask if you actually when to the site to do your job or do what you were told to do.
Well erection of carcass has different meaning to different people, only a specification document can spell out what it covers. So I can’t assume. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 11:15pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
So, what does "erection of carcass" of the Security House mean to you and what items of work does the signed contract covers? n3xt: Why didn’t you infer the security house will have a steel truss like the main building? I have a security house with a slab and a staircase in my personal build, the client could assume the security house would have a similar design. Without a specification document and a bill of estimates, you can’t assume what a contract covers and what it does not.
Since we have only one document (whether discounted or not) that we can infer what the contractor actually bid for, why aren’t we working with that document to avoid ambiguities? |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 11:03pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
I can make logical inference from established premise on the contract. 1) Established premise 1; you were already awarded the contract for the erection of carcass of the main building. The carcass contract included the foundation, envelopes (block work), structural members (staircase, columns, slab, beams and lintels) and roof. It was on this existing premise that a new contract was awarded to you to erect a carcass for the Security House. What other things would a carcass mean again apart from this established premise in an ongoing contract? n3xt: You’re not me though so don’t assume my position. I just provided you a written document that was presented to my client When he asked for estimate for the security house.
It can’t be anything different from what was written down. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 10:58pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
Sir, please read my earlier post where I said 3 contractors bade for the contract and the contract was awarded to him despite not submitting the lowest bid. I emphasized an important point that the contract was awarded to the lowest responsive bidder. For your information, other contractors quoted 3100 for the price of cement in February which was the market price then. The issue of quoting 200 for block was for him to have a competitive advantage over his competitors and not a concession as you call it. He decided to mould his block rather than buy blocks in the open market. In tendering, it's called pricing strategy, it's never a favour to the client. HossanaHeights: This could be one of the reason why n3xt refused to accept the valuation by QsFemi.
He had already made some concessions on the price of blocks and cement. (I can't also remember the price of cement and block being as low as N3000 and N200 respectively this year).
Hence, he wanted a more "practical" valuation that would reflect his initial concessions.
Nevertheless n3xt, these issues can be resolved offline. This combative approach with a client is uncalled for.
Especially for one, who gave you a great benefit of doubt in awarding the contract to you.
Tidy this completely with somehow before 2022 and let peace reign. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 10:51pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
The agreement you had with the client for the Security House was erection of the carcass. The contract is only completed when the items that constitute the carcass have been completed - foundation, block work and roof which was what was agreed on to be done at the agreed contract amount as evidenced in the attached contract document. n3xt: Smiles.
Kindly provide the evidence of the reviewed quote. How do you know the contract didn’t specify that the security house should have air condition and marble floor?
How do you checkmate the contractor if he chose to renege on agreement if there’s no bill of quantities?
No surprise there was a push to add 6 pillars in a 10sqm security house which I refused outrightly.
You don’t pay for 15 lengths of iron rod and be asking for 6 pillars, raft and concrete roof. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 10:37pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
Attached was the contract entered into and signed for the Security House and Fence with contract amount. Which one is more binding? 1) A signed contract with the contract amount or 2) A quotation that was reviewed and negotiated n3xt: Nicely crafted.
Well here’s my submission for the fence and the security house, if you have any other document showing where I agreed to cut down my costs, please kindly provide them.
I’m very sure you were not a part of this particular contract and you didn’t know what was bidded for and what wasn’t included.
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 10:30pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
Thank you Engr Gbenga. That is why we are having this open discussion for amicable resolution. micgray100: QS Femi.. I will advice the client to firstcollect the money N3xt claim he is owing the client for now to reduce the burden... More clarifications can be done later.. Many Construction management procedure have been flauted from the begining of the project ( Retention and bank bond). Even if the case get to police... amicable settlement will still be the recovery mode... My 2 cents... |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 10:27pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
Cc @Somehow n3xt: Nicely crafted.
Well here’s my submission for the fence and the security house, if you have any other document showing where I agreed to cut down my costs, please kindly provide them.
I’m very sure you were not a part of this particular contract and you didn’t know what was bidded for and what wasn’t included. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 10:19pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
Attached was the picture of the Security House taken on the 28th of September, 2021, the day I visited the site after your contract has been terminated. Did you by any chance complete the items of work you were contracted to do on it? Some of the items include; 1) Completion of Block work 2) Lintel (Concrete work, reinforcements and formwork) 3) Roofing woodwork and roofing covering (long span aluminium) As regards the bolded claim, no discount was given by you, rather you agreed to beat down your estimate to the contract amount for the Perimeter fence and Security House. n3xt: I’m not owing a dime on the security house. You were too much in a hurry to terminate an ongoing project that had all its materials already purchased on ground and ready to be installed.
I already gave 700k discount off the quote submitted for the fence and security house estimate. I won’t be able to do any more on that.
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 10:06pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
I do not want to divert attention from the ongoing conversation I'm having with him here. But a short response to your points are as follows; 1) A performance bond from a reputable bank was asked to be provided but he couldn't meet up. 2) The payment method of the project was quite unusual due to unexpected inflation in the price of materials while the project was ongoing. In order to cushion that effect, we've to pay on advance so that materials could be bought and stockpiled on site. There's no retention and LAD clause in the contract. ArchyDesmond: If i may ask, How was he able to owe the client a substantial amount of money at almost project completion.
I believe this might be due to a high percentage of Advance payment given to him.
In other to protect the client, You/The client could have asked for a bank bond to avoid issues like this. Also, A monthly valuation should have been issued and the advance payment amortized effectively within the stipulated contract period. What does your contract agreement says regarding Retention and LADs?
@ N3XT Your joke about enjoying semo before dignifying your client with a response and all those laughing emojis is highly insensitive and very unnecessary |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 10:01pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
Good. We're getting somewhere.
What about the Security House, did you owe any amount on it? If yes, how much?
[quote author=n3xt post=108865064]According to the contract, we have the sum of N1,097,675.00 to be refunded on the following works:
- 15 length of 8mm diameter bar in coping - tying wire - 45m flat sheet to be laid on the parapet wall - 200sqm 0.55mm gauge longspan aluminum - Roofing tarp and accessories - Replacement of polycarbonate covering which has been initially supplied to site but damaged on site. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 8:27pm On Dec 27, 2021 |
Sighs!!! Good evening all. To those readers/users of this thread that are asking for my position on the dispute going on between @Somehow and @N3xt on the Trillion park project owned by @Somehow, this was my position then and nothing much has changed since. As a professional, I do not subscribe to dilly-dallying schemes to divert attention from the crux of the matter. I am committed only to logical, objective and amicable resolution of the dispute irrespective of the unwholesome vituperations said against my person by the contractor. We're educated enough to know the route to take if all efforts towards amicable resolution of the dispute fail. In the meantime, I want to ask you one question openly here. Fact 1: You agreed that you're owing the client some refund from contracted items of work that were not done by you. Fact 2: You disputed the amount submitted in the valuation as the amount due for refund. These two facts bring us to an unavoidable question; in your own evaluation, education, competence and intelligence, how much are you owing the client? Tell the house and let's know your side of the coin once and for all. PS: I want to use this medium to advise you to desist from making unfounded defamatory statements about my art, person and reputation on this noble thread. I am educated enough to know the appropriate route to seek redress or damages if the need be. My first post on the issue. QSFemi: At this point, I've a duty to set some records straight and establish the facts of the Trillion Park Building project belonging to my client, known here as Somehow.
There's an undeniable fact that there's already an ongoing dispute between the project owner and the contractor who happens to be a known member of this noble thread - @N3xt.
As a Professional Quantity Surveyor, I owe a duty of care to my client, the project and the contractor and I've sworn an oath to discharge my quantity surveying duties to the best of my knowledge and competence without fear or favour. That has always been my mantra and I've lived up to this expectations as best as I could. This is evident considering the myriads of clients that have patronised my services here on this thread, many of whom, I did not even know in person. Most of the clients I have worked for here can attest to my competence, sincerity and most importantly integrity.
For the record, I recommended Next Home and Builders, the company name of N3xt for the award of the contract anonymously after I have reviewed three quotations at my disposal. I made the recommendation without knowing any of the contractors because it was the client that sourced for them. It was after the contract has been awarded to Messrs Next Home and Builders that I get to know the personality behind the name. That means that there wasn't any bias from my end towards the award. For the record again, the tender sum of the contractor that won the award was not the lowest among the three. For those following my professional writings here, I've emphasized times without number that projects are awarded to the least responsive bid. The project was awarded to the contractor at his own tender price.
The scope of work for the contract entails the construction of the carcass of the building including the roofing. The contract was meant to run for just two months commencing from March to April.
In September 24th, I recommended the termination of Next Homes and Builders contract after the project has been overrun by 5 months and there wasn't any real action being shown towards the completion of the contract by the said contractor. After the termination, the contractor was asked to prepare and submit a handover notes and present himself on site for assessment of work done and undone in order to have a financial reconciliation. The contractor failed not only in submitting a handover note but also in presenting himself on the 28th of September which was the date I eventually visited the site for the first time. It should be on record too that the contractor failed to even send a representative.
As it stands now, there's dispute on the contract as to how much is due for refund. I've presented my client's refund amount due to the contractor which has been contested on several occasions with some reviews even done to accommodate some of his logical submissions.
Professionally, in dispute resolution, the following four methods can be applied, viz.,
1). Mediation 2) Conciliation 3) Arbitration 4) Litigation
From all indications, the contractor wants the client to go to any length that he cares even to the point of litigation because there's no iota of commitment on his part towards resolving the issue.
I have advised prior to now that an independent registered Quantity Surveyor be engaged to establish the amount due for refund but no serious action has been taken to effect that.
@N3xt, I put it to you here that you do not want to go the way of Arbitration, which take a considerably lesser time, to adjudge the matter at hand. In your own interest, I will advise you here to seek alternative means of dispute resolution to have an amicable solution.
Cheers.
QsFemi. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 12:05pm On Dec 25, 2021 |
Merry Christmas to our teeming clients, colleagues, distant and digital acquaintances, well wishers, citizens of FRN home and abroad, and other group of people irrespective of gender orientation and identification, sexual orientation and identification and also religious beliefs.
It's my earnest hope that this season shall herald good tidings in our lives and loved ones.
Your dear Quantity Surveyor QSFemi |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 8:53am On Dec 13, 2021 |
This is technology at work here. EgunMogaji2: Oh nothing, just local man wishfully handling architectural grade lumber on this chilly night. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 10:39am On Dec 11, 2021 |
09012800750 Thanks sir. mufutau55: @QSFemi Whatsapp number, please.
Hajji M. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 9:59pm On Dec 10, 2021 |
Nice job, Engineer. Aforxzy: Our on going project. Almost completed. |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 1:07pm On Dec 04, 2021 |
Thank you for your question. "Least responsive bid" means the amount in the tender that can actually execute the project. A lot of contractors due to desperation for jobs and of lack of jobs would deliberately "lower" the actual cost of construction of a project in order to "lure" the client in. They believe that once the clients are committed financially that it would be difficult not to accede to their subsequent undue claims for more money which will definitely arise during the course of the project. folmus: For those of us learning, what does the bolded mean sir? |
Properties › Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 12:40pm On Dec 04, 2021*. Modified: 11:11am On Dec 27, 2021 |
I have said all I need to say here concerning the dispute arising from the Trillion park project involving the client @Somehow and the contractor @N3xt.
The only question I'll ask you @N3xt, irrespective of your vituperations towards my person, is how much are you due for refund, in your own competent valuation, on the project since you already accepted that you're owing some amount on the project?
At this point, I've a duty to set some records straight and establish the facts of the Trillion Park Building project belonging to my client, known here as Somehow.
There's an undeniable fact that there's already an ongoing dispute between the project owner and the contractor who happens to be a known member of this noble thread - @N3xt.
As a Professional Quantity Surveyor, I owe a duty of care to my client, the project and the contractor and I've sworn an oath to discharge my quantity surveying duties to the best of my knowledge and competence without fear or favour. That has always been my mantra and I've lived up to this expectations as best as I could. This is evident considering the myriads of clients that have patronised my services here on this thread, many of whom, I did not even know in person. Most of the clients I have worked for here can attest to my competence, sincerity and most importantly integrity.
For the record, I recommended Next Home and Builders, the company name of N3xt for the award of the contract anonymously after I have reviewed three quotations at my disposal. I made the recommendation without knowing any of the contractors because it was the client that sourced for them. It was after the contract has been awarded to Messrs Next Home and Builders that I get to know the personality behind the name. That means that there wasn't any bias from my end towards the award. For the record again, the tender sum of the contractor that won the award was not the lowest among the three. For those following my professional writings here, I've emphasized times without number that projects are awarded to the least responsive bid. The project was awarded to the contractor at his own tender price.
The scope of work for the contract entails the construction of the carcass of the building including the roofing. The contract was meant to run for just two months commencing from March to April.
In September 24th, I recommended the termination of Next Homes and Builders contract after the project has been overrun by 5 months and there wasn't any real action being shown towards the completion of the contract by the said contractor. After the termination, the contractor was asked to prepare and submit a handover notes and present himself on site for assessment of work done and undone in order to have a financial reconciliation. The contractor failed not only in submitting a handover note but also in presenting himself on the 28th of September which was the date I eventually visited the site for the first time. It should be on record too that the contractor failed to even send a representative.
As it stands now, there's dispute on the contract as to how much is due for refund. I've presented my client's refund amount due to the contractor which has been contested on several occasions with some reviews even done to accommodate some of his logical submissions.
Professionally, in dispute resolution, the following four methods can be applied, viz.,
1). Mediation 2) Conciliation 3) Arbitration 4) Litigation
From all indications, the contractor wants the client to go to any length that he cares even to the point of litigation because there's no iota of commitment on his part towards resolving the issue.
I have advised prior to now that an independent registered Quantity Surveyor be engaged to establish the amount due for refund but no serious action has been taken to effect that.
@N3xt, I put it to you here that you do not want to go the way of Arbitration, which take a considerably lesser time, to adjudge the matter at hand. In your own interest, I will advise you here to seek alternative means of dispute resolution to have an amicable solution.
Cheers.
QsFemi. |
Properties › Re: Services We Offer As Quantity Surveyors At CHOICE COST CONSULT by QSFemi(op): 7:37pm On Nov 30, 2021 |
Still waiting for our next clients... QSFemi: We're still waiting or our next clients.
Contact CHOICE COST CONSULT for for quantity surveying services, viz-a-viz
1) Bill of Quantities (Projected estimated cost of construction). 2) Materials and Labour Schedule (breakdown of cost of materials and labour respectively for your construction projects). 3) Valuation of ongoing construction works (know the cost of already existing or ongoing construction). 4) Bidding and Tendering for construction jobs (As a contractor bidding for jobs, you need competitive tender to win the job. Nobody can help you out except a quantity surveyor. 5) Pricing of blank/unpriced bill of quantities for tendering purposes. 6) Invitation, pre-qualification and selection of contractor based on suitable tendering procedure. Don't award your jobs to the least bidder bit the least responsive bidder. Be smart. Don't let contractors fool you. 7) Contract administration from inception to completion of your projects. (interpretation of conditions of contract is one of the duties of a smart quantity surveyor).
Preparation of both feasibility and viability studies (if you're engaging in a commercial construction works, know the payback period and rate of investment of your projects. Nobody does it better than a quantity surveyor. 9) Life cycle costing 10) Cost control 11) Cash flow forecasting Etc
Contact us today. Mobile no: 09012800750 |