Stats: 3,152,669 members, 7,816,750 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 04:21 PM

Realshifu's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Realshifu's Profile / Realshifu's Posts

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Travel / Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by realshifu: 1:25pm On Sep 24, 2019
Approval.

Hello guys. I said I should find this thread to encourage anyone whose application might be taking a while (because some will be rapid, some will be normal, and some will take a while).

Our first application submitted October last year with an upfront medicals was refused in January. So we reapplied on March 1st, and since then it has been a long wait. Medical was passed July 15. Today PPR and BVL.

That was at least 30wks, so don't lose hope. But glory be to God, it ended in praise last last.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 5:21pm On Sep 28, 2018
4suko:

LMAO��
Maybe they started another background check for you. You should be gaining weight back now. It wasn't easy �

grin grin grin Highly unlikely. Once they have approved an application and requested for passport they have approved it. They won't return it and say oh, we are sorry for approving and requesting your passport, we have changed our mind, you can't study in Canada again for now. So what would be the point of a new background check that must have preceded the approval when neccessary? The legal blowback of such evident ineptitude will be massive, which makes it unlikely. We need to put into considerations also that Canadian government and her agencies are riddled with bottlenecks, slowness and inefficiencies. Someone shared a Quora post that explained it sometimes ago on this thread. My guess is that the 5wks wait for passport stamping and stuff is coz of the unusual route the passport took to get there in the first place. An inter-country passport sending, possibly first between two VFSs in different countries (Will be processed by both), then from VFS in the UK to the London Visa Office (will be proccessed there), possibly back to VFS in UK, then to VFS in Lagos. This may even explain why they charge passport transmission fee when you are sending a passport through a VFS you didn't apply from. initially.

I am probably wrong in the scenario I just described, but it's plausible. When you add these all up, it could explain that 5wks. Except in very rare situations, these folks are not known as the bastion of efficiency.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 5:08pm On Sep 28, 2018
SirVal94:
MY APPROVAL TIMELINE

Submitted online application (with upfront medical) - 15th June 2018
Biometrics Letter - came on 22nd June, but I gave my biometrics on 29th June 2018 at the Lagos office
Eligibility review - started on 12th August 2018 (when I noticed)
Passport request - 25th September. Submitted passport same day. No time...lool
DLI - McGill University (MSc Bioresource Engineering)

Documents Submitted (Proof of Finance)
All IMM forms
Research assistantship award letter from advisor
Letter of financial support from dad
Dad's letter of investment from bank
My statement of account (closing balance of 147k)
7 months pay slips (I am a Graduate Assistant in Nigerian university)

Client Additional Information
SOP (a little over one page)
Admission letter
Degree certificate (2-1)
Academic awards
Employment letter from my university
Letter of introduction (to the Canadian High Commission) from my university
CV
Birth certificate
I later sent my study leave approval (from my university) as a CSE

McGill was on my neck. Deferring was not an option, becos I had already deferred from Fall 2017 to Fall 2018, so I could not defer any longer. I was given an ultimate deadline of 25th september by McGill, luckily, passport request came on the deadline. I kept sending mails and webforms to Lagos, Accra, Nairobi, Abu Dhabi. I even sent to Canada and Sydney offices...lool. Abu Dhabi and Sydney offices replied, saying my application is not being processed at their office but in London. From that day, London office started feeling me...an average of three mails and webforms every day grin grin grin morning, afternoon and night. In fact, my approval came in when I typing yet another mail to the London office.

During the waiting period, prayer was very helpful. I prayed my rosary, yes I am Catholic, like I have never done before. I also visited the Blessed Sacrament. Canada pple sabi humble person eeh!!!

For TRV hopefuls, hang in there. God go do am very soon.

Welcome to McGill! Don't worry, we are waiting for you. Me in Downtown and your other guys at Mcdonald. See you soon.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 5:05pm On Sep 28, 2018
sanyalai:

Are you a Nigerian and what course did you apply to?

Sorry I am just seeing this. Did you just ask if I am a Nigerian? grin grin grin. Laugh will not kill me oo. I never thought a day like this will come.

I am a full-blooded Lagosian. I had never stepped out of Nigeria before too. Its an Msc(Thesis) in Dental Sciences. There is a Non-Thesis option for the program too. Are you applying to McGill?

But I am curious my brother, why would you think I may not be a Nigerian? sad sad
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 4:57am On Sep 20, 2018
jnyuwa02:
Please if you are a May/June/July/August applicant and even before those months, share your profile if you haven't so we can finalize timeline of CIC event. It is holding true so far that within 1-2 days is biometrics call, after 8-9 weeks, review of eligibility started, 10-12 weeks medical call, 12-14 weeks decisions are handed out. Granted there is a few outliers outside of these schedules. Please today is last day of sharing to enable others establish timeframe to their applications and we shall have @goingforward at the end of the day,
come and pray for all pending applications.

Applied online July 26th (MSc)
Biometrics call next day. Done on July 31st.
Medical call Aug 8. Done the next day.
Medical passed and Approval and Passport request Aug 16th.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 10:22pm On Sep 16, 2018
zeriod:
Hello House, I need help as to how to push in my Visa application. I just got admitted to study in Canada, I have since paid my 1st Semester school fees.

I already have the following:
Affidavit of Sponsor - My brother in law ( is this relationship strong enough?)
Letter of support by Sponsor
Statement of account of the company - seating balance of over N40 Million
CAC docs
Landed property document and gas station
My SOP
Presently my account does not warehouse my funds as I invested in Forex ( over N2million - should have this by next month)
I recently got married traditionally, court is next month

School is starting January 2019.

Your advice is welcomed.

I think I am a personal example for you, even though my case may have been an outlier.
When I applied for my Study Permit, my sponsor was my Fiancée's elder sister. We were not married in any form yet as at the day my application was submitted. She runs a small business with CAC documents. The company's account had like 3.5m and personal account was like 6m. I submitted both. Then I had like about 1.4m myself in ARM mutual fund savings. She transferred my first year tuition to me 1.2m I couldn't pay it yet coz McGill.

I was told that relationship was too tenuous, but it wasn't like I had much choice. I was there at the convocation party when my sponsor graduated from the University, I just got matriculated into the same University back then. That picture was the only evidence I had of our relationship, so I included it. That was it.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 1:03pm On Sep 14, 2018
ANaledi:

If true, it could affect/delay paper applications right?

No it won't. It practically has nothing to do with applications not made from within Canada. And that will include work permit application from. within Canada, Parents sponsorship applications from within Canada and so on.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 10:33am On Sep 11, 2018
Josh1996:
Good morning. Please is not having any travel history a challenge in getting study visa.. thanks

It poses no challenge whatsoever. Before now, I have never been out of Nigeria (As a matter of factly, never been on a plane too, GIGM has been my very good friend grin). And not just that, I was denied Visiting Visas twice to the US (Last year October), and once to the UK (Last March/April).

Once a VO deem you qualified for a Canadian study permit, you are qualified. Your travel hx becomes irrelevant.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 7:09pm On Sep 05, 2018
afroxyz:

McGill? Nice. I plan applying for my PhD soon. Any advice? Did you get a supervisor before applying? Also what did you score in your GRE?

Yes I got a Supervisor before applying, and barring a couple of programs, McGill do not require the GRE. So i didn't write it.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 6:53pm On Sep 05, 2018
Doyenrey:

Wow really nice!!

What school please?

McGill
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 5:54pm On Sep 05, 2018
So I landed in Montreal yesterday 4pm Montreal time. The only thing the border officer uttered was "Hey, welcome. can I see your passport". I passed it to him. He then entered it onto his system, stamp it, went behind his desk, printed out my Study Permit and passed it to me with my passport. Then he said "Welcome to Canada, that's it". I said "Thank you, have a lovely day". That was it.

No questions asked. No correspondence letter asked (If he had asked I didn't even have it printed out, it was on my phone since I got in transit. to Canada). Nothing about my school or where I am going to. nada.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 5:47pm On Sep 05, 2018
uyplus:
@frankrobbn, you are an amazing pal!

Approval alert!

Application date: 12th June
Medical mail: 2nd August
Date of medical: 6th August
Updated by CIC: 11th August
Approved: 3rd September
Route: Paper
Program: Masters of Public health
University: Western Ontario

Finally, I'm departing this shithole by 1:25pm tomorrow!

Congratulations! However, there was no need for you to add the shithole addendum. congrats again.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 9:19am On Sep 04, 2018
Hello everyone. CIC just uploaded my correspondence letter righr now. I am currently on my lay over in Frankfurt. Will be catching a connection to Montreal.

I just took the risk and flew like that, my flight was non-refundable and rebooking woukd have cost me like 450$ that i dont have. And most importantly i must resume on Wednesday. So without my correspondence letter, I left Lagos láì that.

14 Likes

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 4:28pm On Sep 01, 2018
jnyuwa02:

I am making progress, thanks for checking. I hope to resume this fall God willing. 18 days CIC has to release my decision or I loose my full scholarship, having deffered from last fall and this is my last deferment. God will intervene.

It will happen. It has happened. You will fly to Saskatchewan this fall by God's grace. God has already intervened. The only reward for good is good. God bless you.

7 Likes 3 Shares

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 4:24pm On Sep 01, 2018
sisikemo:
I'm yet to get my correspondence letter as well. I received my passport from vsf on thursday. But i want to clarify something before going ahead to send a CSE. if someone else applied for me, can i send the CSE on my own or it's better the person that did the application sends it instead. Cause on the webform, after applicants info they also asked about the representative's info as well. Thanks.

This seems to be a generalized issue now. I had thought I was the odd one out, makes 3 of us now. If I may ask sisikemo, when are you supposed to resume?

As an applicant you are within your rights to send the CSE (There is an option to choose "Applicant" in the drop down) regardless of whether you had used a representative before, so far your UCI and Application number are correct. You can initiate a CSE yourself.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 10:23am On Sep 01, 2018
galala123:

Please how long did it take between submitting and collecting your passport?

My passport got to VFS Lagos on Monday 20th August. There was public holiday on 21st and 22nd. They sent it to the Visa Office on Thursday 23rd. They sent it back to the VFS Wednesday August 29th. VFS released it back to the courier same day. I picked it up yesterday.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 9:52am On Sep 01, 2018
Frankrobbn1:

Are you requesting for your correspondence letter too? Yes you're absolutely free to send them a CSE through the web form.

Yes, I am requesting for the correspondence letter. I have my passport back with the visa stamped on it. I'll go ahead and do Web Form CSE too right away. Thanks
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 9:49am On Sep 01, 2018
galala123:

I hope they work over the weekend. Seems Monday is Bank Holiday in Canada and UK.

Have I not read of someone who travelled without it and it was printed in Canada from the system at the Immigration counter? Can someone confirm if my recollection is in order or if it was in my dream? The information will help @realshifu .

Thanks.

Thank you for the response. I really hope your recollection is not in your dreams. I will fund such information very very useful. Truly, Monday is Labour day in Canada and US (First Monday in September), and I am afraid too they don't work on weekends.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 9:26am On Sep 01, 2018
Frankrobbn1:

Congratulations on your achievement! In regards to the correspondence letter, send a CSE to London and Lagos immigration office and it will be sent directly to your Mycic account within 24hours.

lagos.immigration@international.gc.ca

LDNIMMIGRATION@international.gc.ca

I sent an urgent request for it to the London email immediately I picked up my passport yesterday, I received an automated response, and nothing else yet. I sent the same urgent request to the Lagos email this morning too, no reply yet. Can I still go ahead and use the CSE web form or will this be an overkill?
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 9:23am On Sep 01, 2018
orobs93:
I collected my stamped passport on Thursday
my application took 1 months and 2 days excluding my passport transit ...online route am still waiting for my introduction letter though i have no idea how long it should take .

I just want to say I know how it feels for those waiting and those refused ...while we celebrate I wish you all quick and positive response when I went for medical I met a guy that was his fourth application before he was asked to do medical ...in Africa our only hope is prayers ,so hold firmly to it .

thanks for everything I learnt from here .

I am in exact same boat as you. I picked up my stamped passport in Lagos yesterday too. However, no correspondence letter yet. And my flight was for tomorrow. Now I have no idea what to do.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 4:07pm On Aug 28, 2018
davido101:
Please what is the maximum age for studying in Canada as a Masters Student. An agent processing my brother's study visa said he is not eligible because he will be 29 by September

This is not true. Please disregard the agent's assertion.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 3:57pm On Aug 28, 2018
sillysassysally:
Awesome!
Please, I am applying for a certain program in Mcgill and a part of the application asked me; "Are you eligible to claim Quebec residency?" I just want to be sure the right answer I should select is "No" given that i am not a PR in Canada.

The answer is a NO. You are not eligible to claim Quebec Residency.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 4:34pm On Aug 27, 2018
Ysakaws:

Please how did you do the differential fee waiver?

I didn't apply for it, as there is no separate application to that effect. It's by departmental nomination. Each departments have their own criteria for nomination which I am not privy to. All I know was I received an email stating I have been nominated for it, then later I received confirmation email saying the GPS has approved it. I hope my answer is helpful.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 6:09am On Aug 19, 2018
Jephehe:
Please when was your medical exam carried out in Primes? My relative visited last week Monday but CIC suspended their medical exam temporarily.

Wow! I did it August 9th, that was 2 Thursdays ago. Although I heard them talking about systems upgrade, but I assumed that was just for the next weekend, which was why I never bothered them about my results until the following week Wednesday.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 10:08pm On Aug 18, 2018
henricson:
Please if anyone wouldn't mind answering... For those who did an online application, may I know what file, documents like degrees, nysc, resume, employment letter, sop, sponsorship letter, pension statements etc can be uploaded on? Can it be on client information file?

Second question, what document can I upload to show evidence of work requirements in study? Can I upload the email I was sent regarding co-op work permit?

Lastly, is it necessary to upload application for a temporary resident visa made outside Canada imm5257 when an application for study permit made outside of Canada imm1294 has been done?

For the first question, my own arrangement was a bit haphazard. I included my degree, NYSC documents, and transcripts with my offer letter and uploaded it to Letter of Acceptance section. My SOP, and Resume was included with my family documents and father's property document and uploaded unto client information file. Sponsorship letter, sponsor's account statements, and my own ARM account statement (which could be your own pension statement), email confirmation of differential tuition waiver and other financial stuff was uploaded to the financial documents section. This was what I did.

Second question: I have no idea. Ask the gurus in the house.

Last question: Yes, both are required. Infact if I remember correctly, it's stated on the application that the TRV application outside Canada form is required.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 7:06pm On Aug 18, 2018
Uzee24:

Goodevening Chief,
Congrats on ur TRV success. I understand you had ur medicals done at Prime Medicals in PH. Please I would like to know how much it cost and if you had to book an appointment. Thanks.

Good evening Sir. I didn't book. I called them the day I received my medical request, and the lady said I can come the next day. I paid 33500 naira. You can call them on this number 08090840688.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 5:10pm On Aug 18, 2018
Ogedadiva:
In retrospection, when I was checking my application online after I linked it, i noticed that I filled 3rd of September in a space for graduation date on my own. This is holistically because I didn't see any graduation date in my admission letter, only resumption date was written which is 4th September,and I was thinking that I need to fill that space, so since I am going for a year's program, I calculated it to 3rd of September.
please house,can this be referred to as mispresentation too?
BTW, I stumbled on this forum after I submitted my application.

No Ma/Sir. This does not qualify as misrepresentation. It's a reasonable estimation and calculation for a year. My admission offer didn't carry an end date too only start date, but since it's 2years, I entered 31st August 2020. It's an estimation it's not set in stone.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 1:32pm On Aug 18, 2018
henricson:
Since we're all talking about this ban thing, would anyone be kind enough to give me a personal contact so I can be put through?

Please allow me to give you the best advice anyone here can give you. Please read this thread from the very beginning as much as you can. This is part 14. If you can, please read part 13 join. Spend data, give yourself a couple of hours and go through the thread. At the end you will be equipped with at least 80% of what you need to know and do to be successful in your application. You will be able to avoid the urge of misrepresentation and even avoid the honest mistakes of doing so.

You will find this very helpful. I did the same. If there is anything else that is still confusing, you can come back and ask the gurus in the house.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 9:25pm On Aug 16, 2018
samuel466:

Congratulations! I’m heading to McGill too. Please how did you get the tuition fee waiver to pay at the Quebec rate?

That's great. I pray you get it, so we can link up soon. For the DFW, I was informed that each department nominates their best incoming students based on the applicants pool academic credentials to the Graduate school committee. So there is no separate application for it.

It's mostly offered to incoming PhD students, but in exceptional cases also to Masters according to McGill's website. I didn't know I was infact nominated until I received the email.

https://www.mcgill.ca/gps/funding/international/dfw

Updated:

@samuelson, I just went to read you previous posts now and I realized you have infact been given your study permit, sorry for the mix up. Let's link up..... When are you leaving for Montreal?

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 4:52pm On Aug 16, 2018
goingforward:

Wow, Congratulations! very speedy.
Father, you did it for this person. Please do my own. i connect with faith to this testimony. It will end in praise in Jesus name. Amen.

Amen. I pray God's unmerited favor and grace for every applicant waiting for good news on their applications.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 4:06pm On Aug 16, 2018
Famzyactivity:

Congratulations!!! Paper or online route?

Online.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by realshifu: 3:58pm On Aug 16, 2018
Approval Alert! Long Post Alert Too.

I applied on July 26th online. I received a medical request August 8th, I did it the next day in PH. My medicals was updated as pass earlier today around 11am, and about 30mins ago, the approval and Passport request landed.

Msc, McGill University
Documents submitted.
My Sponsor is my Fiancée's Sister. I submitted her personal and business' statements of account (She is a small business owner), with a combined balance of about 13 million naira after she has transferred my estimated tuition fee for 1 year to me (1.2m).
Sponsorship and affidavit of sponsorship letter.
CAC documents of her business
My Fiancée's and my Sponsor’s birth certificates and my Sponsor’s International passport data page (single travel history to dubai).
Sponsor’s family picture of about 8years ago showing me at her convocation ceremony from the University (My Fiancée is in the picture too).
My engagement dinner picture with my Fiancee.

SOP(2 pages)
Resume (It shows my two research publications in international peer-reviewed journals and my current project)
Statement of my long-standing Mutual funds investment account with ARM (1.4m current balance).
TOEFL Result (I wrote it last year for another purpose, McGill didn't require it from me, but I sha submitted it anyway in the rush)
Offer letter from McGill.
CAQ approval letter from Quebec.
Email approval of my Differential Fee Waiver Award from McGill (This DFW allows me to pay tuition and other fees at Quebec rate which is about 1.2m (4120 CAD) instead of International rate which is 19820 CAD).
My NYSC call-up letter, and PPA posting letter (I am currently a youth corper).
My MDCN Annual Practicing License.
My birth certificate, University degree and Transcript.
Parents' and my 4 siblings' birth certificates.
My retired father's landed property and valuation (I didn't do deed of transfer). Valued at 8m.
My father's RSA statement as at when he retired years ago. Balance was 4m.

I was denied Visa twice in the space of a month last year to go and present one of my research work in New York. Also, I was denied a UK visa this last May to attend the Commonwealth Youth Forum as one of the youth delegates representing Nigeria at the last concluded CHOGM in London. I had another paper to present early last month in London too, however, I couldn't even dare apply for a visa again, so I begged one of my co-authors to make the presentation. He already had a UK visa. I have never travelled out of this country before as an adult so my passport is Virgin.

I didn't pay for Tuition, McGill generally doesn't allow you pay tuition until you have both your CAQ and your Study Permit.

I thank God for His mercies, as I didn't know I will be applying for the study permit until days before that July 26th. But God practically fast-tracked my approval. Thanks to @jnyuwa02 and @frankrobben for their immense contributions to this group. I arranged my documents in a hurry based on their back and forth on this thread from day 1.

If their is anything to learn from this my divine grace, is that no two applications are the same. And to always say the truth too. I explained all my visa denials and I filled in the TB part of the application that I recently managed a patient that was diagnosed of Tuberculosis under my care and I was in close contact with him as his Doctor for weeks. I didn't know how such information could have affected my application, but I couldn't bring myself to lying about such exposure while I was filling the form.

Last last, I Thank God!

24 Likes 2 Shares

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 86