Stats: 3,325,199 members, 8,420,776 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 11:09 AM

Redribs's Posts

Nairaland ForumRedribs's ProfileRedribs's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 (of 8 pages)

TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 10:56pm On Oct 27, 2014
castiello:
thanks so much bro am sorry for the use of capital letter was just carried away because i am very confused based on the time... and also i wanna ask if i do the online application how would i get my passport and other document to the embassy for processing? plsss explain am very grateful for you help if possible can i send you a mail for detail explanation
For processing, scanned copies of your passport pages that have visas and stamps, and your biodata page is enough. When your application is processed and a decision to approve is reached, CIC will contact you via your CIC account (which you must have created already) to submit your passport to the VAC for them to grant the visa on it. The link below is a thread where you will find steps on how to apply online

https://www.nairaland.com/1475467/travelling-canada-part-5/72
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 10:47pm On Oct 27, 2014
kennycooly:
Please I need the gurus to help check out my docs, I graduated in 2012 (Accounting and am going for a PGD in Bus Mgt) ,I concluded my Nysc (Teaching) in March 2014, and am working presently but am not stating it in my CV because I just started the work some months ago and I can't even collect a study leave letter at all, I only stated my last job which was a contract job from March till April 2014, but am intending on stating in my CV that I take home lessons from April till now so as not to look jobless,
Am about submitting my documents this week, these are the docs am intending on submitting:
1) Acceptance letter
2) Payment of part fees (3600dols) by my sponsor out of 14,400dols
3) Bsc Certificate
4) Transcipt
5) Waec
6) Nysc cert
7) Police report
cool 2 passport photo
9) Mum's birth Cert (Showing same surname with my Sponsor) I.e, my mum's younger bro
10) Mum's death cert
11) My birth cert
12) Sponsor (US citizen) Letter from His bank
13) Letter from Sponsor's Employee stating hz annual inccome is 300k dols
14) Notarized Letter of support from Sponsor
15) Sponsor's SOA for 6months with closing balance of 12000 dols
16) My Dad's land documents serving as home ties
17) Old family pics and pics of my Uncle with my parents together
18) Statement of purpose

NB: I did not include my SOA, My uncle is my only sponsor but I just thought of adding my dad's land docs and also a land docs with my name as the owner...I really don't know if I have a good home-ties. It's only the pictures of my family and land docs and also stating in my SOP that all my nuclear family are in Naija that I probably see as my home ties for now... And I don't knw if my sponsor's SOA is good enough beacuse it seems he does not wanna send me his other account where he has lots of money in
Please House am I good to go ?
What semester are you trying to register for in the school that offered you admission?
Anyway, if I were in your shoes, I'd still state that I am working... for one thing, it's the truth. Also, having a job will in no case discredit your application, if anything it's a plus, even if it's just for a few months. Also, the VO can understand that you don't qualify for a study leave but you may also explain in your letter of explanation that you are not eligible for one. Mind you, having a personal statement of account, in my opinion, could serve as a strong home tie. The funds in it will not matter much since you are not the sponsor.

Speaking about your sponsor. Hmmm! this is a bit tricky. I understand that getting another sponsor (that is a close relative and has a lot more funds to show in his SOA) is difficult. So, if I were you and I had no other choice, I'd go ahead and still use him (esp for the fact that his company has stated his income)...but I'll be extra-convincing; You can have him notarize a sponsorship letter and/or have him address a letter of consent to the Visa Officer stating that he "is willing/happy to sponsor you throughout the academic program". Yes, add the land docs you suggested and your dad's SOA if possible. (Remember to state in your form that your uncle will be sponsoring and not your father so that the VO is clear whose financial doc to primarily assess).

The way I see it, you have nothing to lose but a few bucks (about 40k)... which is just a very small percentage of the funds you will spending on the whole Canada P... If you intend to enrol this winter semester, my broda, you have to hurry up o...
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 10:00pm On Oct 27, 2014
castiello:
NO BRO I ONLY HAVE THE DEED OF ASSIGNMENT GIVING TO ME BY THE LAWYER CAN YOU PLSS GIVE ME AN EXAMPLE OF DOCUMENT FOR STRONG TIE I HAVE A SON SHA OO BUT NOT MARRIED I HAVE HIS BIRTH CERT AND PICS OF ME AND HIS MOM DURING NAMING AND 1YR BIRTHDAY
You can include the deed of assignment and payment receipt if you dont have Cert of Occupancy. You can add your son's birth cert and the pics u took. Then you can try to do a detailed letter of explanation to make your application clear to the Visa; you can explain why this and that document was included even though it wasn't a required document. Every case is different so don't feel like you're going overboard by adding certain docs to your application. You need to hurry tho.. At this rate, you have a tight time frame to submit an online application... Paper route should not even be considered.

P.S: Try drop your CAPS when posting msgs here... you might think it'd get the prompt attention u need but really, most people find it rude and naturally skip it immediately... It's also against the posting rules (#11)
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 12:37am On Oct 27, 2014
diamondsare4eva:
Can I go ahead and do my medicals before I submit my online application or wait till they request that from me?
How much is the medicals please?
Holu26:
If your FAITH IN GOD is strong, then I recommend you do the medical before submitting.

That's exactly what I did and I know I am not going to be disappointed
Hmmm! I was actually seriously considering this o, but I was thinking there is a reference letter giving instructions ...

Anyways, I think medicals is about 28k
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 12:33am On Oct 27, 2014
bayocanny:
Welldone forumite have been a spectator on this thread for some yrs ago and this is first time to comment, I want to as a question oo
What are the other way of entering to canada except this study route cus all the money wey u guys they mention here my papa no get am
Is there any other way to enta canny except study?
I wan go hustle ni sha oo
Thanks in anticipation
Sure! There are other ways to enter Canada. But most naija hustlers in Canada (from what I know) came in through the "study" option. And most advanced countries , like Canada, wont grant you visa until you have demonstrated some high standard of financial stability (aka, u have to show money).

You can check out the Federal Skilled Worker program. I woulda suggested a visiting visa but from what you're saying, you don't plan to just go and come back after a few days, lol. I know Nigerians always have a way with these things but I doubt you will find such discussions on open threads like this.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 12:21am On Oct 27, 2014
Hello house,

I believe a number of people like me, that have always wondered what those Visa Officers actually scrutinise in study permit applications, will also find this interesting. Please follow link below (you have to be ready to do some reading by the way):

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/resources/tools/temp/students/evaluation.asp

All the best
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 11:50pm On Oct 26, 2014
kelvinbp:
I have a 2:1..was turned down by U of R twice..guess I madr d mistake of puttn all ma eggs in 1 basket..tho I did it on advice from a couz who is based round d sch
Getting admission in Universities abroad is not automatic for 2-1 candidates, especially if you are applying to a very competitive program. There are other factors to consider like time of application (there is usually a planned limit for intakes and admission officers consider applicants on a first-come first-serve basis), prerequisite courses (there are certain courses you need to have passed with a C atleast, in your undergrad), statement of purpose (a convincing one will earn you points that will make up for lost ones) and even good results from an english proficiency test even though it's not a general requirement (again, this can also earn you points when the competition is really stiff)... Work experience in a related field/industry can also come in handy for some programs but I think it's mostly considered for applicants with low grades.

And yes, don't even put more than one egg in a basket... the more baskets, the better your chances (basic rule of probability wink)

All the best
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 11:30pm On Oct 26, 2014
Holu26:
@MrArams, I salute ooooo

Plz why was my name highlighted?
When you read posts you were mentioned in, from your mentions, you will see your name highlighted in it... I'm guessing that's what happened
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 1:52pm On Oct 25, 2014
hello my people,

Does anyone know if it's ok to have someone (like family member) to submit the passport by proxy when it is requested (after Medicals has been passed)? Or it has to be the TRV applicant to do the submission by himself.

Thanks.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 12:01pm On Oct 25, 2014
Wake me up, when September ends...
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 10:12pm On Oct 24, 2014
amby7:
good afternoon redribs
good evening amby. What's good?
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 11:23am On Oct 24, 2014
Siga:
.... Guys, if you ask me a question and I do not reply... It doesn't mean I ignored u... Simply means few things... Either guys here already answered u... or I need to ask around for the best answers... or I didnt see it... most times its too much work to go through all these pages, so I just skip to the end undecided ... So,... no one is ignored ooo ... Its friday... Chemical night wink
Nice @chemical night. But easy with the mixtures o. wink.

Cheers to the weekend sir.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 1:56am On Oct 24, 2014
Nice @tianadiva. Congrats on the MediCall
I'm liking the progression so far... make e just dey go like this...

@MrArams how far? E dey do me like sey make dem just process my application join your batch, but enough people for here ready to lynch me if I try jump queue...all the best bro... I have a strong feeling you're next on the MediCall list.

To all my fellow trv hopefuls b4 and after me (on the list), let's keep the hope alive...and remain prayerful at all times. God is still in the business of answering prayers.

Cheers my people.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 4:29pm On Oct 22, 2014
newbie2014:
Rdribs, Its Imediately, Havent U done it ? Check your Cic Page
I have done it. Just doing some casual calculations on the average processing times jare
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 3:08pm On Oct 22, 2014
tianadiva:
5days i applied on the 5th bio on the 10th
Aii.... looks like the application process really doesn't start until biometrics are provided... it's cool tho, your medical invite should come in soon by God's grace.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 2:21pm On Oct 22, 2014
@tianadiva,

Hi, quick one pls. How many days after your online submission did you do your biometrics?
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 2:12am On Oct 22, 2014
kruxit:
Application details:
Applied (online)- Aug 13, Biometrics- Aug 14, Call for medicals- Oct 7, Medicals done (Asaju)- Oct 8, Passport request- Oct 16, Pp dropped- Oct 17, Pp collected with TRV-Oct 21.
Yabo ya tabata dan Allah uba na sama..(praises to God almighty)
Docs submitted:
ACCEPTANCE LETTER section contains d following- Letter of Admission wit fee schedule, NYSC Cert, BSc cert, BSc transcript, WAEC cert.
PROOF OF FINANCE- letter of support from sponsor (uncle), sworn affidavit of sponsorship,letter of introduction of sponsor from his place of work, his letter of appointment and id card, pay slip (6 months), SOA (6 months) with 9m balance.
Letter of introductn from my place of work, appointment letter,confirmation of appointment, study leave approval letter, id card, my
pay slips (4 months), my SOA- 150k, NPC birth cert, a picture showing his family and me, his passport and previous visas. His landed ppty.
IMM1294E, IMM5645E, Digital passport, International passport.
LETTER OF EXPLANATION : Sop,
Congrats. You really put in work to this... All the glory must be to God tho.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 2:00am On Oct 22, 2014
masterp204:
Hello House.

Got another refusal letter dis evening.

my first refusal (self sponsored) reasons:
1. Purpose of visit
2. your family ties in Canada and your country of residence

second application:
Reasons were as follows:

1. Travel History
2. Purpose of Visit
3. Length of proposed stay in canada
4. your current employment situation
5. your personal asset and financial status.

When i saw all these reasons i just smiled , i felt this letter wasn't for me . cos i spent time re-writing my SOP and even sent it to some peeps here to make corrections and fixed those loopholes that led to the first delay.
Anyway this were the documents i submitted.

- immigration forms
- academic transcript
- sponsors documents ( parents) payslip, id cards, employment letter
- co sponsors company registration docs ( uncle)
- SOA of sponsors and my personal SoA ( over 8 Million)
- B.sc result
- SOP
- Affidavit of sponsorship from parents
- letter of co sponsorship from uncle ( company letter headed )
- letter of support from parents
- my CV
- SSCE cert.
- previous travel to dubai, SA and UK
- my parents landed documents
- my landed document and registration certificate
- my previous work and business registration certificate/ tax receipts and certificates
- tuition deposit $CAD 7000

Going for a 2 years PGD course in Business Management - International Business @ Lambton College
This really shook me; I mean, your application seems very watertight. Sorry about it bro...

I wish I knew what to advise here... than to keep on keeping on... and remain steadfast in prayers...

I suggest you look through the application form you submitted for minor errors also.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 1:51am On Oct 22, 2014
amby7:
Good morning house.. pls redribs i noticed u have bin admitted to Uottawa for PG, I also applied to said school and have been waiting for a decision for 10 weeks now. I'd want to know how long it took u to recieve a decision from them..
Any1 else that has an input on dis pls comment..
thanks
hey amby.

Kepner is a like mind; I was also going to suggest you email them... I cant remember exactly how long it took them to respond to my application. .. maybe 2 months...

Ultimately sha, just remain patient... but I think you should rule out the possibility of making this winter semester. Thankfully, UOttawa gives admission for more than one semester entry so I'm positive that your admission will cover Fall too...

Just a thought though, have you confirmed that they have received your transcript? Probably took some time (or is taking some time) to reach them.

What course did u apply for?
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 1:36am On Oct 22, 2014
jckeme:
Hmmn, a lot a upcoming TRV good news sha, oh well, lemme add mine cheesy

Jst got request for my passport! Once I submit, moving prayers to gear 5! FULL SPEED!! cheesy

A question for the house doh, I'm to start in January 2015, and my passport expires August 2016. I knw they won't issue beyond the validity of my passport (and it's not all too possible to renew passport that has that much validity), so just asking sha, they'll issue up to the expiry date "August 2016" only abi?

Since I'll be in ottawa, I guess I can easily renew le passport at the Naija embassy there. So house, what's your take on this?
my fellow Gee-gee aspirant. Congrats.

I suggest you wait till the TRV comes out, then you'll know what to do next.

However, I understand your anxiety and progressive measure so let me paint a likely scenario for you. Just like someone already suggested, your visa validity can exceed your passport validity. The problem with the Nigerian immigration system is that they don't exactly renew e-passports (to the best of my knowledge), rather they re-issue e-passports and this means ur new passport has a new passport number and that also means that you can't use d visa of the old passport on the new passport....

in summary, you need a valid trv only to enter canada and not to travel out of Canada... your special case might just mean you should be wise not to leave Canada after that passport with the trv expires. However, you should get a new passport from naija embassy just like you've suggested immediately that one expires. You will use it to apply for any other immigration status you desire after studies or for when you want to return to naija if that's what you want instead.

Hope this makes some sense.

cheers.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 7:56pm On Oct 20, 2014
georgey2k:
Please I need an answer to my question, someone in the house should please help out... Thanks
What I expect the VO will do if your visa is granted months b4 school resumption is to postdate the validity of your visa to a later date...

And in your application form you need to choose the date you intend to arrive Canada (or rather the date ur school is to resume)... this is the date the VO is likely going to work with when deciding ur visa issuance date.

just my opinion tho
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 7:44pm On Oct 20, 2014
lilspiceyy:
Hi redribs, though am currently working and I filled my form as a worker though I have documents to back it up bt I didn't upload it. It it really mandatory to submit those document? If it is then I guess it's too late to send it to them right?
Hey Spicey,

I personally have some documents I woulda loved to submit along with my app if I thought it wise on time... I think that after submitting, one can't really add docs again unless required cos I once heard about them asking a friend to make tuition payment within 30 days and submit a receipt. Asides rare scenarios like that, I doubt that it is possible (or permitted) to add docs after submission.

If the VO feels you can back up your claims about being a worker, he can ask you to submit proof. And it's situations like that that fervent prayers bring about. Just pray that if at all the absence of the docs is creating any doubts in the VO's decision, he will either overlook it or simply contact you and request for the docs...

hope you have a really good proof of means of financial support tho, cos that's about the most important condition. (ofcourse after an acceptance letter)

All the best dear
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 10:44am On Oct 20, 2014
jaylinaa:
Thank you so much.

Currently considering that route. This online scanning issue is wearing me out.

Thanks again.
hey, any luck with the further compression methods suggested? What semester are you aiming for? Don't let the online application challenges get to you if it's this Winter you want to meet... paper route is quite a scary risk for that right now...

all the best
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 10:30am On Oct 20, 2014
morfman:
Good day People, I need to know if you still need to submit a proof of employment if you are applying online and if you are also planning to resign before you leave for your masters.
The only document you may not add if you're applying online is the police clearance certificate. .. as for employment, if u stated in your application forms that you are currently employed, then you need to show proof. If you have stopped work already, pls show proof too.

Not everyone gets a study leave approved so you may not sweat yourself over that. Although, it can furthermore prove your ties with your home country.

Always try to put yourself in the shoes of a Visa Officer when assessing your docs to be submitted. For every information provided in the form (or the most of it), he appreciates a valid document to back it up.

All the best.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 12:07pm On Oct 19, 2014
vicarsenal:
Pls do one need to activate Internet Banking for the GTB Card to work? I av used it on Google Play Store b4 and it worked does dat means am good to go? Thanks
It most likely will work if you have tested it b4 and it worked (on Google play store or other merchants that require mastercard). You don't need internet banking for it.

That aside, activating your internet banking is a good idea...
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 7:15am On Oct 19, 2014
siegfried99:
please can u or anyone who applied via online route explain to me how to go about it..

a step by step guide would be appreciated.
Hmmm... someone already uploaded a step-by-step procedure for online application. Unfortunately, I don't have the direct link to that particular page so you can either hope that someone else has it or you can just painstakingly take some time to go through past posts (about 30-60 pages back, can't say precisely)...

Another thing you can do is to just register on the CIC website with a GCKey and figure out the rest of the steps by yourself. It's pretty straightforward actually... basically, what follows after registering is for you to read and follow the instructions on your screen.

Meanwhile, you will be given 60 days to submit your application and counting starts from the day you register. Make sure you have all your documents ready or atleast almost ready, when you register for the GCkey.

Here's your link for the online application (make sure you check your eligibility first o).

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/my_application/apply_online.asp

All the best
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 11:31pm On Oct 18, 2014
fabiomatic:
please guys, can I upload photocopy of my uncle's business documents? for now we can't find the originals... he's gonna be my main sponsor tho. how are we gonna go bout it?
Sup? What's your other option?

I mean, it'd be a lot better if you could find the originals but if u can't he's your only option for a sponsor, then I suppose you should use what you have. Just try to make sure the scanning is as clear as possible.

All the best brov
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 11:24pm On Oct 18, 2014
siegfried99:
Can anyone In The house be kind enough to explain the procedure of applying for a TRV? I'm hearing paper and online route.. don't really understand.?

Pls urgent answers..
Hey,

A temporary resident visa (TRV) as the name implies is a visa that allows you to reside in Canada temporarily (for at least 6 months) for the purpose of study, work or maybe you are a spouse to a TRV owner... so it depends on what you intend to do there... you can apply by scanning and uploading the required docs on the Canada Immigration website (online) or you can take those required docs to the Visa Application Centre in Oregun to have them submit your (paper) application to the Canadian embassy. The choice is yours.

You can follow this link for the full gist

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/index.asp

Cheers
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 11:52am On Oct 18, 2014
House,

I'm just curious, is it possible to add (minor) docs to your application after you have submitted? I just got my school account statement (showing receipt of the fees I paid). I already attached, the invoice quote/payment instruction from the school and the telex copies of the payments made, to the application I submitted.

Plus, I forgot to include my pensions acct statement... They seem to be minor documents but if there was a way to attach them to my application, I won't mind.
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 11:45am On Oct 18, 2014
E ma ja o...
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 9:06pm On Oct 17, 2014
sidnigga:
Are u guys saying a rigger, petroleum engineer, merchant navy can't pass medicals.... Cos dey smoke heavily to avoid cold and other sea related diseases at d high sea
If you are a heavy drinker and/or smoker and you know you are going to do a piss test or drug test or whatever medical exam within 30 days, if you want to pass it, you will discipline yourself for a really good detox... a detox usually just requires a few days of abstinence with lots of water to drink.... only impromptu medical tests can be big problems for those people you talk of
TravelRe: Travelling To Canada Part 6 by redribs(m): 8:57pm On Oct 17, 2014
chops33:
Boss siga.. The problem is , she didn't do a direct transfer because the charge was enormous so a friend paid in the money down here for me and she would give the equivalent to him when u comes around..
still add her bank statement. .. and get a letter of sponsorship from her stating that she has already ordered the payment of your tuition, so I strongly suggest you pay your fees since you now have the funds with u, get a receipt from the school and attach it to your application... lastly, if u must add your personal statement (cos at this point, I'm thinking it's no longer necessary to) you can do some explaining in the LOE about how u received funds from her friend on her behalf... just be as plain as you can. The idea is just to show sensible proof for whatever docs you present

just my humble opinion tho

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 (of 8 pages)