Stats: 3,194,418 members, 7,954,660 topics. Date: Saturday, 21 September 2024 at 05:28 AM

Redribs's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Redribs's Profile / Redribs's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (of 8 pages)

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 9 by redribs(m): 9:03pm On Jan 16, 2016
Naykay:
Please gurus in the house, does one have to apply with thesame SOA after denial or print a new one. Will appreciate ur contributions

Hello Naykay,

Whether a SOA has been used before or not, the statement closing date has to be not more than 30 days away from the date of application and must show financial reason that the funds flowing in and out of the account can cover the cost implication of your purpose of travel. I hope this answers your question

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 12:46am On Apr 15, 2015
Hey guys, how's it going? Anyone coming to Ottawa for the summer semester? There's a room available for rent ... Seriously interested people should reach me privately for further details. Thanks
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 3:36am On Apr 08, 2015
Ok, if you prefer to pay tuition before you apply for visa (I did that too but only because I was refused the first attempt for financial reasons), I suggest you wire the estimate of about 2 semester's worth into your student account with the school. This way, you are showing proof of financial competence for the first year (just my humble opinion). You can do this by first signing into your Uozone account and following the necessary link for int'l students under the "finance and jobs" tab. You will be instructed on how to generate some sort of tuition invoice containing bank details that are needed to do the wire transfer. You can either just take the printed invoice to your bank or you can wire it yourself if your online banking portal permits. If you can be patient enough, you will give about a week or a few days more for the transaction to be fully processed for it to reflect on your UOzone then you can print your financial statement pdf and include in your visa application. If you (and your dad) are as impatient as I was, I guess you can use the telex transfer copies issued by your bank after the funds transfer has been completed. In my opinion, I think you don't need to rush as FALL is still a couple of months away. But it's your choice tho.

Wishing you the very best.

CoCoLav:

Hey, thanks for your reply. My program duration is 4 sessions and its for 2 years. (Although it seems some people finish in 2-3 sessions) My masters is actually by research so I won't be taking many courses, don't know what tuition plan will apply to me and I would really hate to bother my supervisor seeing as he isn't the admission officer. I really need a reply from the school so I can pay up and start the visa process.
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 1:16pm On Apr 07, 2015
Hey, Cocolav! Kepner is right. You pay per semester. I agree that the tuition thing on the website could be rather confusing but that's because it's just an average estimate as they are able to change anytime and it varies for individual students. Check your program requirements to know how long your course will run for. Most masters programs require 30 credits to graduate in UOttawa and you can take up to 15 credits per semester. So it depends on how you wanna spread out your courses. You might also need to know that the minimum is 6 credits per semester (except in the summer). Courses in the summer are very few and tuition for this semester will be charged per registered course (other semesters you pay a fixed tuition for any number of courses you decide to take).

All the best.

CoCoLav:
Hello house,

Please for the Uottawa students in the house (PGD), how are fees paid? Is it per year or per session...like winter, fall and summer? The fees I'm seeing on the registrars website says $7014 and my program is for two years.

So am I gonna pay $7014 for 6 semesters (I guess its 3 semesters per year) which will be $7014 * 6 or I'm gonna pay $7014 per year which will be $7014*2

And also who knows if the VOs contact your employer to know if you have actually been given leave according to your letter and if they are willing to employ you when you return (I intend to use this as home tie but my boss is Margaret Thatcher so my colleagues wanna sign for me and considering my field, anyone can own a law firm anyway).

Thanks.

P.S I have mailed the school to ask for a written estimate of my tuition but no reply yet and my dad is getting impatient.

CC: Onyeoma3
Redribs
Kepner
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 3:31am On Mar 18, 2015
modskiller:
Long time bro, thought you were headed to Brandon?

No boss. Na Ottawa.
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 3:30am On Mar 18, 2015
Joe980:
Hey bro! Welcome back wink

Thanks bro.
I know sey u for don turn Don for that Ottawa by now. lol
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 7:37pm On Mar 15, 2015
Thanks a lot boss, really appreciate this.

soji0509:
Exactly : "Always remember, that every case is different (and treated specially) so don't use another person's experience to measure yours.."
We have seen some successful application as fast as around a week for online route a few weeks ago and we have also seen around 7 weeks.
It fluctuates depending on many variables.
A fast sample is : https://www.nairaland.com/2035081/travelling-canada-part-7/157
There was a much faster one
Welcome dear redribs. Wishing you the very best. Cheers

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 5:41pm On Mar 15, 2015
mosopefoluwa:
Hello Peoples,

I av just been given admission for MSc at a uni in Canada. I am married wit a 4-month old baby. With about N5M in my account. School fee for first year is $15,800(approximately N2.6M. My questions are
1. Can my husband and baby accompany me?
2. Will d said amount be enough to apply for r 3 of us? Or do we need to build our account before den?or is it more advisable we get a sponsor?
N.B. I av about N10M property inherited from my mum but still in her name and unfortunately no will but I am her only child.
Pls give advise on how I can proceed from here

1. I think you can apply as principal applicant with your family accompanying you. Just that there's more requirements for that and you have to fill out the eligibility questionnaire on the cic website to determine them.

2. 5M in your account is as liquid as 100M or 1M so it's not about if it will be enough, it's more about if it's genuinely available for you and your family while in Canada. Few ways they might check that is by asking questions like, What's your source of income? Does your financial statement prove that the 5M is an accumulated amount over a long time and how slowly does it deplete or add up (the cashflow)? How about your husband's financials (might score more points too)? If the 5M is really available as long - term savings (or a fixed deposit maturing soon), I think it should be sufficient for a small family. BUT, I dunno the cost of raising a new born baby (non-canadian) so you should find out from people with similar experiences as yours.

As for the property, I think it just depends on how you can convince the VO that the property is now yours (or is tentatively yours). A will woulda been perfect for the job, but it just might not be the only way; where there's a will (or not) there's a way #NoPunIntended
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 5:19pm On Mar 15, 2015
I hail o my people. Been too long. Plenty reasons for my absence but I won't bore anyone with the stories.

Here's wishing all TRV hopefuls the very best outcomes from their application. I believe that using this forum as a guideline while applying for a visa to Canada, tremendously increases your chances of getting it. Just thought to encourage everyone to keep sharing experiences and brainstorming ideas, it really helps.

Always remember, that every case is different (and treated specially) so don't use another person's experience to measure yours, instead you can pick out the details that apply to you and learn from it.

Meanwhile, please I would like to know how long it's been taking "visiting" visa processes these days (online and paper).

Thanks guys. All the best once again.
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 5:29pm On Jan 02, 2015
Happy New Year my people. All the best in all our endeavours this new year in Jesus name

Cheers to a prosperous 2015

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 6:34pm On Dec 26, 2014
lilspiceyy:

Congrats @redribs smiley. Make sure u carry enough aboniki. cheesy

Thanks dear. We'll be expecting you next year
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 11:27am On Dec 26, 2014
okchris:

Hi Bro. Happy Boxing Day. Before your application was closed and approved, did you notice any changes in your mycic account? I mean, ''Review of biometric information : Not needed at this time'' in your mycic account? I am asking because many people got that and before, it was saying ''We received Your Biometric''

Yes. Same thing with my account. It was a general system error I suppose
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 7:19am On Dec 26, 2014
Morning fam, how’s it going? Honestly, this season has been a lot more occupying than I imagined, but it’s no excuse for me to say I couldn’t squeeze out time to discuss my application. Here it goes:

I made my submission online and my application was opened on the 10th of October
I did my biometrics on the 20th of October
Waited patiently for an endless 7 weeks b4 I got invited for medicals by 9th of December.
I did my medicals on the 12th of October
Then I waited another anxious 11 days before my medicals status showed passed and my passport was requested. Both on the 23rd of December.

My application was closed on the 24th of December.

From open to close, my application process took well over 2 months.

I submitted the following:
Proof of means of financial Support
Sponsor’s letter of consent to sponsorship addressed to Visa Officer. This was printed on his company letterhead, signed, but not notarized. (Sponsor is my dad)
Sponsor’s CAC papers (the ones I could get and that were still valid)
Sponsor’s bank reference letter addressed to the Canadian Embassy, asserting his credibility
Sponsor’s business and personal SOAs showing 6 months history
Residential address land documents registered in sponsor’s name
UOttawa fee invoice and telex copies of payment made with respect to the invoice
(I used document separators. The VO probably appreciated that because the SOAs were 3 in number and all from the same bank; so demarcating the docs was good for clarity)

Letter of Explanation
Letter of explanation addressed to Visa Officer, explaining the important issues of my app in simple and concise words. A single page did it for me.
Police clearance certificate used in first application
Letter of employment, pay slips and salary account SOA showing 6-months history
NYSC cert, birth cert, professional certificates
(I forgot to include my resume/CV)

Letter of Acceptance
Admission offer letter
Offer acceptance
Email from UOttawa confirming enrolment into winter session
Alma-mater B.Sc certificate and SSCE certificates

Passport pages
Biodata page
Pages with visas and stamps

Happy boxing day guys.

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 10:04pm On Dec 24, 2014
Congrats Jaylinaa, I remember when u were having trouble compressing your files. Now I see why. Lol

Congrats Tsola. Who are d 2 friends u made here? wink pls tell me

Congrats Joe980. We should talk yh? Pm bro

Congrats to other TRV successful applicants (including me).

Merry christmas guys

(I'll do the needful listing soon)
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 12:35pm On Dec 23, 2014
holyjacket:

Yes o. i just saw mine. Please my passport will expire 2016 and my program is 4 yrs. hope it wont affect anytin?

Only thing it might affect is the length of the visa validity cos it can't extend more than the validity of the passport

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 11:57am On Dec 23, 2014
Passport has just been requested for submission. All others should check their emails and online portals for updates. Praise God

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 6:38pm On Dec 22, 2014
Amefrica:

SOP is way different from the questionnaire form. SOP is a detailed explanation, trying to convince the VO why they should approve your TRV..

Please, don't mix the importance up. smiley

Well, I'm not CIC so I won't expect anyone to take my word for it. Just enlightening peeps that's all. I'm sure some people can relate
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 6:22pm On Dec 22, 2014
blink6:

What day u dey plan go vfs?
Cos I wan join o! The matter don pass "please chill o".
lol. I dint see this on time, we for roll go the embassy together; I went there alone. Na for outside gate dem dey answer pesin for there, unless you have Canadian passport, then u can enter thru the gate. The security guard I talked with was like complaints are lodged only via email channel. It's ridiculous because these guys don't even reply emails... VFS on the other hand can't do anything - just like the panel physicians, they are mere contractors that help Canadian embassy collect data from visa applicants - that's why I didn't bother going there for information today. So in a nutshell, na to wait till whenever dem ready to answer us
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 12:03pm On Dec 22, 2014
blink6:

I pray they request for it today. So we can get it back on Wednesday... I am tired of Lagos already... make them no make me stay here for xmas o!.

Amen o. That will be great
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 12:01pm On Dec 22, 2014
Anugoson:
@ redribs...how u doing bro?...u just dey scarce these days...abi na the xmas preparations ni?

I had bestman duties to fulfil last week, na why... But I'm free now and I'm ready to go to Canadian embassy if necessary. Lol. These their portal irregularities dey affect travel plans badly
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 9:39am On Dec 22, 2014
blink6:
@redribs, how u dey?
Have you gotten your trv already or you waiting for pp submission request mail?

I dey o. Me sef dey wait to submit passport like you, I've been following ur status here. Hopefully, they will respond b4 the holidays
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 9:10am On Dec 22, 2014
When I was applying through paper route back in March, there was this form/questionnaire I submitted with my file at vfs; the study permit questionnaire. It's not a checklist, it is more like a short Q&A interview with the same objective as what you would call an SOP. It's concise and easy to fill. You can download the form from the CIC website, fill, scan it and attach it to your LOE section if you are applying online. This in my opinion can save you the headache of drafting a convincing SOP if you insist on using one. Personally, I didn't use an SOP for my second application, and that's because I didn't feel I needed one, however, I wrote an actual "letter of explanation" addressed to the VO, explaining issues that were peculiar to my application; highlighting reasons why I submitted this and that...what I did to clear the reasons for refusal in the first app, and to index the documents I had in the LOE section.

As important as an SOP may seem, I feel it's more of a last minute deadlock tool for making decisions... Like if after assessing your app, you have a 50-50 chance of getting the visa, the VO might just refer to the SOP to look for a final conviction and this could go either ways depending on how he understands it. In a nutshell, SOP is not a requirement, so the length of the essay might not necessarily increase chances. Keeping it concise enough might just encourage the VO to go through it and find something useful.

But hey... I'm only suggesting, I am not absolutely certain about the usefulness of SOP. All na speculation.

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 7:31am On Dec 22, 2014
Derin86 if you haven't received any of my emails by now, I suggest you check ur spam box...
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 9:26pm On Dec 19, 2014
Anugoson:
@ redribs...bro any news yet?

no news bro.... but no news means good news... let's keep the hope alive... thanks for checking tho... I'm just tryna be more like an observer during this suspense period.

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 8:22pm On Dec 16, 2014
We sabi panic for this thread sha... wink
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 6:39pm On Dec 16, 2014
Anugoson:
Yeah bro..i did it that day,u disappeared like a speed of light smiley ya my medical review has been updated to "passed"...hope u r good?

yeah I'm good sir. Thanks... sure ure good too
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 6:25pm On Dec 15, 2014
Sup Anugoson? Did you still do your medicals there that day? I didn't see you after some time. If you did, has your profile been updated to "passed"?
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 9:50am On Dec 15, 2014
Joe980... tnuola... (and other hopefuls) wish u guys your medical calls this week.

Have a great week fam.

Cheers

Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 9:39am On Dec 15, 2014
@standupguy As long as it's not more than 30days old when you're submitting the app, they have no reason to be that investigative. But like I always suggest, these guys probably have a way of verifying the account status during the processing period. So even if the bank stamp is the same day as the closing balance date, I don't think it's just that closing balance that will be used to evaluate the account. So whether you decide to wait it out or not, just ensure the account is well-funded throughout the processing period.
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 10:20am On Dec 13, 2014
mrnilobrawn:
Hello house,
I hope we at the bottom list will still meet up for january?
I cant sleep well this dayz o

Pele. This symptom is not uncommon. Just hang tight. When did u do your biometrics? And what is your deadline date for registration/resumption? Respond to cic notifications (medicals and pp request) very quickly and you should be on check with the schedule. All the best bro
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 9:41am On Dec 13, 2014
Ebola:

I used UWindsor but when I applied for my CAQ, the Quebec govt automatically forwarded a copy of the acceptance to the Accra office. I also updated my DLI on my profile to Concordia. So right now, am not sure which school was considered by the VO.

congrats 'Bola. I think you have to call or email CIC to know which of the schools your visa was approved for so that you can make a proper decision on ur travel itinerary. I doubt u can be issued a study permit to more than one school at a time. Not very sure tho
Travel / Re: Travelling To Canada Part 7 by redribs(m): 12:52am On Dec 10, 2014
MrArams:

So do Consultant and Childrens practice at Ikoyi

Arams baba... My NL school father. I'm sure you have heard my medical news so I won't loud it much. Thanks for this info. I am pro- cashless transacting.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (of 8 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 69