Stats: 3,155,984 members, 7,828,484 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 May 2024 at 10:23 AM

Somatohadidas's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Somatohadidas's Profile / Somatohadidas's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (of 8 pages)

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 12:08am On May 12
Keyin:
Please, who has an idea about this: Can someone who has a valid F1 Visa and Nigerian passport pass through Charles De Gaulle airport in Paris France without transit visa?

I don't think you will need a transit visa if you are not leaving the airport.

However, you can cross-check with the airline you want to use.
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 2:34pm On Mar 31
Rdfactor:

Nice profile. I’m surprised. This is the first time I’m seeing a Nigerian gotten a degree from Norway, even Germany. I stopped to even try at all after trying those years without getting a response from any supervisor ready to take me into his lab. I went to the US instead

Was your Msc in Germany and Norway funded or self sponsor?

Any tip to get the attention of those PIs in Norway and German schools ?

Several other people (Nigerians, of course) have degrees from those countries. I was there on a fully funded scholarship sponsored by the European Union.

In Germany, tuition is mostly free at public universities and institutes, but you need to pay what is called the semester fee (which is very cheap and vary across places) if you are a self-funded student. On the other hand, if you are a scholarship student (e.g DAAD, ERASMUS, and other government and departmental scholarships), you need not worry about any of those. Therefore, for masters, you typically apply directly to the program with/without scholarship—no need to contact a potential supervisor or PI. However, the PhD application is quite different as they are mostly advertised positions in most cases except places like EMBL, and Max Planck Institutes. In addition, most PhD adverts in Germany (Europe, by extension) require having a master's degree. You can check out advertised positions on the Xing website. Tips would include preparing a very strong application package (in all ramifications) and following instructions provided in the adverts.

NB: Having a scholarship in Germany gives you an upper hand over self-funded students when it comes to visa appointments and approvals. Self-funded students need to wait for at least a year before they can get an appointment at the German embassy. I'm not sure if that has changed. But as a scholar, you would easily get an appointment and have a smooth interview.

Norway recently implemented a policy that requires students outside the EEA to pay tuition fees. Very few funded masters, but all their PhD positions are funded and advertised on the schools´ websites, and you would typically be an employee of the school. You can also see adverts from several universities in Norway on the Jobbnorge website.

I hope this helps

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 12:27pm On Mar 31
Latona2:

Mr Kobiowu, I can actually confirm that you went to Germany and you’re currently in the USA at Virginia tech doing your PhD. Whether you had your F-1 interview in Germany is what I can’t say

Lol. Maybe I should help you with more info.

I am not sure you are even genuine. You were looking for admission at one time and had a valid US student visa at another. The next time you are looking for a Schengen visa. I think many of you folks should be more truthful. It wouldn't hurt.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 5:52pm On Mar 30
Lol. I will just ignore your rants. You don't need to answer if you don't know. It won't kill you.

Just a word of advice: you don't need to view every counterpoint to your claims as an "attack" on being "hired" to "attack" you.

For your other points, I will just laugh them up because I do not need to do that. You can help people without misleading them.

Peace.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 5:21pm On Mar 30
fearlessfang:
I had zero home ties, no job, no wife, no kid, straight out college. Went for my interview in Ankara and Nike slides. Interview was less than 2 mins. Not a single document asked either which is a norm.

I also reiterated the same some threads back. There is no need for all those that he mentioned. I had my interview at the US consulate in Frankfurt, Germany. Several friends have had theirs in Poland, France, Austria, the UK, and many other places without the need to "proof" all those. It is just disheartening the way people are being misinformed on this platform.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 12:55am On Mar 08
Somatohadidas:

After admission (and funding for those who need it), and you've decided where you want to go:

✅ Request for your i-20 from your school. Some give one or both of soft/hard copy, and you might pay shipping fee for hardcopy in some schools ($50 - $100). You'll usually supply details of passport page, ability to cover cost like funding letter or bank statement, etc. for this.

✅ Get the i-20. I'll suggest you request the e-copy even if the school wants to send hardcopy, so that you can use the details to book your visa interview while awaiting the hard copy. A4 printed of i-20 is acceptable at embassy. After i-20, the next 3 items can be in any order.

✅ Start filling your DS-160 form online at https://ceac.state.gov/genniv/ . You can use this video as a guide when filling it: https://www.facebook.com/287980197932222/videos/318718789713853

✅ Create a CGI profile at https://www.ustraveldocs.com/ng/ng-niv-appointmentschedule.asp and pay for your visa fee, costs #67,200 with GT Bank, and book your date at your desired location if an available one shows.

✅ Pay Sevis fee. You can create a coupon at fmjfee.com but someone in the US has to pay it for you. It costs $350, but there might be a $10 processing fee and people's dollar rates differ. So expect a wide range when converted. To be safe, the payment must be confirmed at least 72 hours prior to your interview.

✅ Prepare for your interview and ace it.✌�

✅ Book your flight, typical ranges can cost from 250k - 400k for cheapest ones depending on location, or go for the more expensive and comfortable ones.

Good luck.�

*Copied*.

Check here. Disregard the prices (exchange rates ish) here. It was written some years ago.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 3:20pm On Mar 03
dest4real:

I just have one more left. May I ask a question, so you give an honest opinion please?

This:

If they didn't find my application competitive, do you think they'll be willing to recode my application for spring semester? Is it a signal that a potential supervisor has spotted my application and he/she likes it?

It is hard to say yes or no to your question. One, it might be that there might be funding opportunities in the spring for some faculty, that was why they asked that your application be recoded for Spring '25.
Two, it is also dicey as there is no guarantee that these faculty expecting funding would get it by then.

If the program requires you to contact a potential supervisor before handing in your application, and you have done so, it would be easier for you to ask directly if there is solid assurance for Spring '25. If this is not the case with the program, it might be difficult to know that, except you ask the program coordinator.

Overall, it would be advantageous for you to have plans B, C and D, should this falls through. Gaining admissions for graduate studies has become very competitive, and the competitiveness increases every cycle. I wish you the very best in your search.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 5:18pm On Mar 02
dest4real:

That's okay. Does it mean my application has been reviewed already from the message they sent?

It seemed so from ´"no faculty available to take in more students".

I hope you have other applications you are yet to hear from for Fall 2024?
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 5:47am On Feb 15
tellbiodun:
Good evening house. Please who has done a PhD interview? I have listened to some videos and readsome tips online but I still need urgent help from a direct person from this side who has experienced it.

It seems the person that quoted you thought you were asking about visa interview. If you're asking about PhD interview done before being given an offer,you would need to answer this question before I could give you some tips:

Is the interview with (1) a specific faculty (2) group or (3) faculty but at separate times?

Your answers would give people indications on what you should be focusing on.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 11:34pm On Feb 03
Somatohadidas:

After admission (and funding for those who need it), and you've decided where you want to go:

✅ Request for your i-20 from your school. Some give one or both of soft/hard copy, and you might pay shipping fee for hardcopy in some schools ($50 - $100). You'll usually supply details of passport page, ability to cover cost like funding letter or bank statement, etc. for this.

✅ Get the i-20. I'll suggest you request the e-copy even if the school wants to send hardcopy, so that you can use the details to book your visa interview while awaiting the hard copy. A4 printed of i-20 is acceptable at embassy. After i-20, the next 3 items can be in any order.

✅ Start filling your DS-160 form online at https://ceac.state.gov/genniv/ . You can use this video as a guide when filling it: https://www.facebook.com/287980197932222/videos/318718789713853

✅ Create a CGI profile at https://www.ustraveldocs.com/ng/ng-niv-appointmentschedule.asp and pay for your visa fee, costs #67,200 with GT Bank, and book your date at your desired location if an available one shows.

✅ Pay Sevis fee. You can create a coupon at fmjfee.com but someone in the US has to pay it for you. It costs $350, but there might be a $10 processing fee and people's dollar rates differ. So expect a wide range when converted. To be safe, the payment must be confirmed at least 72 hours prior to your interview.

✅ Book your flight, typical ranges can cost from 250k - 400k for cheapest ones depending on location, or go for the more expensive and comfortable ones.

Good luck.�

*Copied*.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 2:32pm On Jan 10
welf99:
It has nothing to do with your case. Your DS-160 profile needs to establish your ties in Abu Dhabi, how established are you in that country?
You are not married, you dont have any assets in Abu Dhabi, you dont have long term residence, you dont have a job guarantee that warrant your return to country of residence. Basically all roads back to Abu Dhabi is blocked. Your only ties in Abu Dhabi is employment, this is not enough. What is your travel history like? how many countries have you travelled to since you arrived Abu Dhabi? ...whatever you input on your DS-160 has established if your visa will be approved or not before the interview....

I would say that this is a bit misguiding. You don’t have to establish all what you have listed before you could be given a visa. Not having ties in UAE is not the main cause (of the OP's denial) as you've posited.

I've seen people literally at various places in Europe, even without a job (without any of those ties you mentioned), getting the F1 visa to study in the US. In fact, I'm speaking from experience.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 4:36pm On Jan 08
Somatohadidas:

Good luck.�

*Copied*.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 12:41am On Jan 08
lasisig5:
Hi everyone, regarding the GRE exam, is there any specific one to be taken, all I can see in the website is *General Test for admission to thousands of graduate, business and law school programs worldwide* I’m not sure if this is right one..

You're taking general. Not by subject.
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 11:21pm On Jan 07
Somatohadidas:

This assertion is wrong. I have seen folks with Master´s and Bachelor's Degrees from Nigeria getting into Biological Sciences and Biomedical PhD programs in the US.

I agree that the competition for places in these programs is becoming very fierce year after year. However, saying that folks "should leave the programs for Americans" is not right—it might even sound demoralising to some people.

Subsequently, I´d like to reiterate that having a first-class is not enough for this. It is important to have rudimentary (even intermediate) knowledge of the current software and tools used in the field. Particularly, for folks looking at the aforementioned programs, it is essential to have a working knowledge of R, Python, Basic Linux and related programs. Furthermore, basic knowledge of bioinformatics and wet lab experience (through internships). Trying your hands (analysis) on various biological data (related to your research area) in various public repositories to test your knowledge would be very beneficial too. It could even help you buttress your points about your passion and zeal for the field in your letter of motivation, statement of purpose or personal statement.

Also, improving knowledge by enrolling in several Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) and attending related (in-person/virtual) conferences and workshops (there are many available now—thanks to COVID-19). Having membership in National and International Professional Associations in your field should also be considered.

The bitter truth is those you are competing with from the global north have robust opportunities to gain many experiences (wet and dry lab/conferences/posters presentations) before they finish their undergraduate studies. Therefore, you cannot come and tell them (the admission committee) to pick you ahead of them by having a first-class. So, it is not really about luck; check the profiles of those that got into these programs from Nigeria—you will understand what I am trying to say.

I hope this helps someone.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 5:37pm On Jan 07
irepodun:
Good day everyone. I’m a pharmacy graduate planning to do my Masters in the US, UK, or Canada. I’m planning to apply for full international scholarship this year to further my study. I’m hoping my first-class degree will land me a scholarship or some sort of free tuitions and other benefits.

Presently, I have gotten my transcript and certificates (university, secondary school). I also have my international passport though I will need to renew it as I just noticed it will expire this month.

My area of interest for the Masters program can be summarized as “Drug discovery for diseases caused by pathogenic organisms.”

Right now, I’m very confused about the whole process. Parts of my confusions are as follow:

- Which schools do you think I should focus on applying to base on my area of research interest? I have been checking different schools online. This website (https://www.findamasters.com/masters-degrees/?Keywords=drug+discovery) provided some list but most of the schools are in the UK. I would prefer US because I saw that there are more pharmaceutical industries in the US that are into drug discovery.

- What are the preparations I need to make? Someone told me I need to write GRE/TOEFL, Statement of Purpose, etc.

- How does the scholarship works? Must I gain admission before scholarship or apply to scholarship before school? Is there any other way to get tuition-free admission as well as other benefits such as accommodation, stipends, health insurance, etc.?

If there is a specific nairaland thread that can help, I will appreciate if you can link me to it.
Thanks.

I can also add you to a first-class only scholarship group if you´d like. send me a pm in case you are interested.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 5:29pm On Jan 07
irepodun:
Good day everyone. I’m a pharmacy graduate planning to do my Masters in the US, UK, or Canada. I’m planning to apply for full international scholarship this year to further my study. I’m hoping my first-class degree will land me a scholarship or some sort of free tuitions and other benefits.

Presently, I have gotten my transcript and certificates (university, secondary school). I also have my international passport though I will need to renew it as I just noticed it will expire this month.

My area of interest for the Masters program can be summarized as “Drug discovery for diseases caused by pathogenic organisms.”

Right now, I’m very confused about the whole process. Parts of my confusions are as follow:

- Which schools do you think I should focus on applying to base on my area of research interest? I have been checking different schools online. This website (https://www.findamasters.com/masters-degrees/?Keywords=drug+discovery) provided some list but most of the schools are in the UK. I would prefer US because I saw that there are more pharmaceutical industries in the US that are into drug discovery.

- What are the preparations I need to make? Someone told me I need to write GRE/TOEFL, Statement of Purpose, etc.

- How does the scholarship works? Must I gain admission before scholarship or apply to scholarship before school? Is there any other way to get tuition-free admission as well as other benefits such as accommodation, stipends, health insurance, etc.?

If there is a specific nairaland thread that can help, I will appreciate if you can link me to it.
Thanks.

Please, read this carefully.

To apply to graduate schools in the US, you need to decide on the course you want to study. To save you some stress start from this website http://graddecision.org/ to know the application process, So step
1) Decide on the course you want to study
2) Search for schools using a)www.msinus.com (open this website with a laptop, you should see a list of school and ranking for some of the most common courses, you can start from there b)www.gradschools.com c)www.google.com(you can just type 'msc in bla bla in the us in google' d) www.usnews.com e) www.4icu.org .
3) check up the website of the schools you find, to see the requirements. You want to check the grad school website and the department website. Note that there are department specific requirements which may differ from grad school requirements. Most schools will require GRE and some will require both GRE and TOEFL .
4) Register for standardize exam and take it. You can register for GRE as soon as you are ready and prepared to take the exam. It is done online at www.ets.org. You can also get all the information you need about the exam on the website. There are GRE materials on online or under ‘files’ on this group. As for the Tuition, if you have good results (GRE, GPA, Toefl), SOP and LOR (letter of recommendation); US schools do offer assistanship to graduate students. This can either be Research Assistant, Teaching Assistant or Administrative Assistant. Depending on the school, if you get an assistantship, your Tuition will be waived and you will also be paid a monthly stipend that can take care of your living expenses. One advice, once you shortlist schools, send emails to the graduate coordinator of the schools and ask specific questions relating to that course and funding opportunities, be very explicit.

Lastly, there are basically 2 admission session in the US, Spring (Jan) and Fall (August). Schools admit more students in Fall, so Its advisable you plan towards Fall 202*. If you plan to resume in fall 202*, make sure you submit all your application documents before ending of Dec 202*. You can still shoot for spring admission but you stand a better chance if you apply for fall.

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask.

*copied*

5 Likes 4 Shares

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 2:25am On Jan 07
lasisig5:
Hello everyone! I completed my MSC in the UK and am now planning to pursue a Ph.D. I'm curious whether having my MSC from the UK exempts me from taking the GRE for securing full funding for my Ph.D.
Thanks..

It varies from program to program and field, too. The best thing to do is to go to the schools or programs you've penned down for applications and check their individual requirements. You can also get the info from the program coordinator if it's not clearly specified on their website(s).

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 4:03am On Sep 14, 2023
@Mich45, that's one thing I like about the US and some places/programs in Europe. You have the opportunity of switching. It is also one of the perks of the field of Genetics. Criss-crossing is not a problem.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 3:55am On Sep 14, 2023
Mich45:

Hello sir/ma, please what are the chances of someone with a B.Agric in Animal Breeding and Genetics getting a scholarship in fields, such as, Genomic Data Science, Bioinformatics, Biotechnology, etc.?

PS: Is it also possible to make a switch from Animal Genetics to Hunan Genetics? As that's exactly what I'm trying to do

The chances are as compared to other applicants if you have all the required documents, skills, and experience. Once you fulfill the requirements, you have no problems.

Yes, that's very possible. I have seen people do that several times. Let me give you an example. During my masters in Europe, I saw people with Animal science backgrounds going into Animal Breeding and Genetics for Master’s, then, Plant Genetics for PhD and now a head of the Human Genetics Department at a well established hospital. Another is ABG->Animal Reproduction -> Human Reproduction (BSc->MSc->PhD). Animal sciences-> ABG-> Genetics and Bioinformatics

In fact, I have more and more closer examples.

Therefore, don't limit yourself. Go ahead and give it your best shot.

I wish you the best.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 7:59pm On Aug 21, 2023
BigIyanga:

Keep sending more emails. Na copy, paste, and send . Your phone or computer no dey charge per email. One good response go pay for all your efforts and rejections Good luck

I wouldn't advise them to do that (copy, paste, send). This is one of the reasons why many people do not get response(s) from potential supervisor. You have to be very specific and tailor your email based on their specific research interests and their current project(s) and recent publication(s).

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 10:00pm On May 02, 2023
Sisib15:
Thank you! There is no direct flight to my school

Most people don't have direct flight to their school.

That is not a problem.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 1:59am On May 02, 2023
Sisib15:
Can POE be done any where

Certainly. Your initial airport of arrival upon reaching the United States will serve as your point of entry.

This depends on your final destination and flight itinerary.

Education / Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Somatohadidas(m): 7:52pm On Apr 19, 2023
believeMEyou:
you're talking as if Na every student wey dey the school get money or dey drive car. In the average Nigerian University, if there are 1000 students, the one's wey get car no reach 50.. That is the problem with that your solution.....This policy stems from pure jealousy and nothing else because I don't see any benefit what so ever of such satanic policy.. The average Nigerian elderly are always pained to see young people who are more successful than them

Since the case study here is LAUTECH, I think we should restrict our discussions to the school.

Now, to the reason why you said the policy won't work, if very few students (which is still debatable without substantial evidence from the school)are having cars and have their designated parks, don't you think the problem is automatically solved?

That would make it easy to sanction any erring students and bring sanity into the system.

Note: most of where this policy is in effect, in fact, have many students without cars as you've posited.
Education / Re: LAUTECH Bans Students From Driving Cars On Campus (pics) by Somatohadidas(m): 4:50pm On Apr 19, 2023
PotatoSalad:
A lot of Nigerians in offices no be problem solvers sha.
Bringing cars to school isn't problem. Monetize it. Create car parks and slap heavy fees to it.
Any student caught defaulting by parking in any other part of the campus other than the designated parks will be heavily fined.

I was looking out for this solution.

Monetize parking. Lecturers and students should pay monthly (yearly) dues for parking. Create separate parking lots for students and faculty and enforce towing with heavy fines for anyone defaulting the set rules.

This should fix the problem once and for all.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 10:59am On Mar 25, 2023
emmybobo1:
March 21st 2023
Visa type: F1
COA: $41000
Funding: $43000
Program: PHD engineering
Application status: Approved.
Embassy: Lagos

VO: hand me your passport and I20
ME: I handed her those, and greeted as well. She didn’t respond anyways.

VO: how old are you and when did you graduate?

ME: I told her

VO: why do you want to go graduate school now after years of graduating from school.

ME: I explained by telling her about my teaching experiences and connecting them to my ambition of taking up full time academic position in university.

VO: how did you get this funding?

ME: I came across a work by professor… which I found interesting me and sent her an email. She subsequently scheduled a zoom session with me. I was asked to apply after the interview, and I applied by submitting the required items.

VO: how did you come across her work? Did search about it or through other means. And I asked yes I searched for it.

VO: what question were you asked in the interview.

ME: she asked me questions concerning my research interests.

VO: what is your research interest.

ME: I told her.

VO: can you tell me about the project you’ll be working on with your PI

ME: I explained as much as I can, but I should have done better.

VO: nodded and did a long typing ( very fast).

VO: are you married ?

ME: no but in the process of completing the marriage rites of my fiancée

VO: where does she live? I answered PHC CITY

VO: nodded and asked “ hope you’ll complete it before you travel” and I answered yes.

VO: handed me the white paper and asked I should pick up my visa up in the next 6 business days.

ME: bows out and praised my God.

PS: I felt really bad that when I was unable to schedule interview I came here to seek solution but to nobody answered to my many questions. But the people here were quick to attack me when I made a post of how to retrieve my passport (visa) from Dhl .

Congrats, I wish you the best in the next phase.

In addition, you at least, got an answer as to the dhl ish.

I think we also need to be patient with one another.

Congrats once again.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 10:29pm On Mar 23, 2023
emmybobo1:

Are you sure bro. At your command, I’ll try it. What will I present to them

Very very sure.

Go with means of identification. National ID or related means of identification you have.

Same thing happened to someone close to me this month.
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 7:26pm On Mar 23, 2023
emmybobo1:
I don’t understand this issue. I completed my interview on Tuesday and was successful. Today I received a message to pick up my passport at dhl. But while trying to schedule appointment with dhl the system says that my passport number doesn’t match their records, that I should make sure my DOB is correct. But everything is correct

Go to the designated DHL office (one on your appointment letter) to pick up your passport with visa.

The online appointment thingy is a formality.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 11:50pm On Jan 29, 2023
brighttech95:

Which school be this??

Cornell, faculty of English.
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 3:35pm On Jan 28, 2023
Somatohadidas:

This assertion is wrong. I have seen folks with Master´s and Bachelor's Degrees from Nigeria getting into Biological Sciences and Biomedical PhD programs in the US.

I agree that the competition for places in these programs is becoming very fierce year after year. However, saying that folks "should leave the programs for Americans" is not right—it might even sound demoralising to some people.

Subsequently, I´d like to reiterate that having a first-class is not enough for this. It is important to have rudimentary (even intermediate) knowledge of the current software and tools used in the field. Particularly, for folks looking at the aforementioned programs, it is essential to have a working knowledge of R, Python, Basic Linux and related programs. Furthermore, basic knowledge of bioinformatics and wet lab experience (through internships). Trying your hands (analysis) on various biological data (related to your research area) in various public repositories to test your knowledge would be very beneficial too. It could even help you buttress your points about your passion and zeal for the field in your letter of motivation, statement of purpose or personal statement.

Also, improving knowledge by enrolling in several Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) and attending related (in-person/virtual) conferences and workshops (there are many available now—thanks to COVID-19). Having membership in National and International Professional Associations in your field should also be considered.

The bitter truth is those you are competing with from the global north have robust opportunities to gain many experiences (wet and dry lab/conferences/posters presentations) before they finish their undergraduate studies. Therefore, you cannot come and tell them (the admission committee) to pick you ahead of them by having a first-class. So, it is not really about luck; check the profiles of those that got into these programs from Nigeria—you will understand what I am trying to say.

I hope this helps someone.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 8:21pm On Jan 16, 2023
Tallvictor23:

Of course you can request for an emergency but it won’t be approved . The consular who will approve/reject must see the sevis fee receipt with other documents. If the sevis fee receipt is missing, the consular will deny the request. Now this is for emergency appointment.

Great. That was an oversight from my side.

SEVIS Fee+Other important documents. Thanks for pointing that out.
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by Somatohadidas(m): 8:18pm On Jan 16, 2023
That must be a joke from the person, then.

There is NO way you can book an appointment without a VALID visa fee.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (of 8 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 87