Stats: 3,330,557 members, 8,446,003 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 July 2026 at 10:06 PM

Successionist's Posts

Nairaland ForumSuccessionist's ProfileSuccessionist's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)

PoliticsBREAKING: Biafra Day Sit-at-home Now To Hold Monday, May 31 — IPOB by Successionist(op): 2:51pm On May 04, 2021
BREAKING: Biafra day sit-at-home now to hold Monday, May 31 — IPOB

By Steve Oko
The Indigenous Peoples of Biafra, IPOB, has shifted the sit-at-home protest earlier scheduled for Sunday, May 30 in commemoration of Biafra Day, to Monday, May 31.

The change according to a press statement by its Media and Publicity Secretary Emma Powerful was to avoid any conflict with Sunday worshippers.

According to the statement, while there will be a partial observation of the Biafra Day on Sunday, there will be a total lockdown on Monday throughout the entire Biafra land.

The release enjoined all residents to comply with the order and remain indoors from 6:00 am to 6:00 pm in honour of all those who have paid the supreme price in the course of the struggle for Biafra autonomy.

It read in full: “We, the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) ably led by our great and indomitable leader, Mazi Nnamdi Kanu, wish to announce that this year’s Biafra Remembrance Day sit-at-home will now hold on Monday, May 31, and not Sunday, May 30 as earlier directed. The modification is following genuine observations about our earlier directive as many of our people observe Sundays as a day of worship.

There will be the partial observation of the Biafra Day on May 30th. But there will be a total lockdown and sit-at-home on Monday 31st of May.

” We, therefore, expect Biafrans all over the world to stay indoors on May 31 for the respect and honour of our fallen heroes and heroines who paid the supreme price for us to live. It is our right to remember them for defending the genocidal attacks on our people between 1967 and 1970.

Consequently, all commercial activities must be shut down on 31st of May throughout the land of Biafra. There should be no vehicular movement on that day on Biafra roads.

“Transport companies must withdraw from the road on that day. National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW); National Associations of Road Transport Owners (NURTO); and others are expected to fully comply with this directive.

“In the same vein, artisans and traders must close shop on that day. Airports, Seaports, Banks and financial institutions should all shut down in honour of our fallen heroes and heroines.

Okada and Tricycles organizations are also advised to withdraw from roads on that day. There shall be no social gatherings or events including burials, weddings on that day from 6 am to 6 pm.

“Parents are advised not to send their children to school on that day as no one is expected to be seen outside. Full compliance is expected from all.

“Biafrans in Diaspora are to hold peaceful rallies in their countries of abode.”

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/05/breaking-biafra-day-sit-at-home-now-to-hold-monday-may-31-ipob/

PoliticsBiafra To Hoist Flag In Bakassi Peninsula, Battle Nigeria, Cameroon To Retake La by Successionist(op): 4:02pm On May 03, 2021
Biafra To Hoist Flag In Bakassi Peninsula, Battle Nigeria, Cameroon To Retake Land–Group
BNL said it does not recognise the ceding of Bakassi Peninsula to Cameroon by Nigerian Government, adding that this is why its operational headquarters is in the region.

Agroup, the Biafra Nations League, has said it is battle ready to face both Cameroonian and Nigerian forces should they be attacked in the cause of hoisting the Biafran flags in the Bakassi Peninsula.

BNL said it does not recognise the ceding of Bakassi Peninsula to Cameroon by Nigerian Government, adding that this is why its operational headquarters is in the region.

In a statement jointly signed by the Deputy National leader of BNL, Ebuta Akor Takon and Chief Head of Operations of BNL, Henry Edet, the group said its resolution in 2016, otherwise known as ‘Ekukunela Declarations’ made in the town of Ekukunela in Ikom, Cross River State, fails to recognise what it described as the Anglo-German Treaty which Cameroon relied upon at the International Court of Justice to claim the Peninsula.

The group said the treaty was made by colonial masters and not with the natives, adding that it has decided to “destabilise the peace in the Gulf of Guinea unless Biafra is allowed to separate from Nigeria and Cameroon.”

“Those clamouring for Igbo Presidency in the South-East as the reason behind the agitation for Biafra should desist from doing so.

“The interest of other Biafrans, especially the Bakassi people cannot be solved by an Igbo man becoming President.

“They should stop talking about Igbo Presidency, that’s not what we are fighting for. Biafra does not belong to the Igbo where they will tell us that they want to be President, it’s wrong.

“God has made it in a way that the Igbo will always be in the forefront of the struggle as the majority tribe, but it will be disappointing if they accept the Presidency.

“We are not just fighting for Igbo, but for all Biafrans including the Bakassi people under Cameroon bondage."

http://saharareporters.com/2021/05/03/biafra-hoist-flag-bakassi-peninsula-battle-nigeria-cameroon-retake-land%E2%80%93group

PoliticsMASSOB Declares May 30 As ‘biafra Day’ by Successionist(op): 7:40am On May 02, 2021
MASSOB declares May 30 as ‘Biafra Day’

By Anayo Okoli
The Movement for the Actualization of the Sovereign State of Biafra, MASSOB, has declared May 30th as Biafra Day. The group explained that it will not be celebrated but urged all markets, schools, banks and all other public offices in Biafra land to observe a sit at home exercise as a mark of respect for their fatherland.

This was contained in a statement by their National Director of Information, Samuel Edeson in which the body explained that it took the decision after its National meeting at MASSOB headquarters in Enugu during which  it insisted on commemorating Biafra Day on May 30th in respect of the ordinances of the late Warlord and leader of Biafra, Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu.

It further explained that Ojukwu declared the Republic of Biafra with the total consent and full support of the elders and the people of Biafra on May 30th, 1967 and that the group does not intend to observe the anniversary on any other date, except on May 30th which it described as sacrosanct in the history of Biafra.

The statement partly read: “The ordinances of our great leader, General Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu must be jealousy and eloquently adhered to; any attempt to change it by disgruntled persons will be strictly resisted”,  “This year’s anniversary will be celebrated by the people of Biafra not as a pro-Biafra group, but a mark of respect and honour to our father land, it is also a reminder to the visions and commandments of our great ancestors that we are not Nigerians but Biafrans.

They urged Biafrans to observe special prayers and supplication for all their fallen heroes and enjoined their people to prepare for what they described as a great anniversary and reminder of their struggle.

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/05/massob-declares-may-30-as-biafra-day/

PoliticsBishop Kukah: Those Calling For Secession May Be Right But Staying Together Chea by Successionist(op): 9:40pm On May 01, 2021
Bishop Kukah: Those Calling For Secession May Be Right But Staying Together Cheaper Than Breaking Away
The bishop said it is cheaper for Nigeria to remain as one country than break up into smaller units.

Speaking at 'The Platform' on Saturday, Kukah stated that those seeking to secede from Nigeria might be right regarding their concerns.

At the annual programme organised by Covenant Christian Centre, the cleric said the government must, through its body language, convince people that Nigeria's unity is worth it.

"It may be right for everybody to want to go. Yes, it may be right for people to want to feel so dissatisfied that they wish an end to what we have today. But the cost of staying together is far cheaper than the cost of everybody going his way.

"The most important thing here is that the government must give us a reason. The body language – we need to be inspired as a country to inspire ourselves that this country is worth the psychological, the spiritual and the cultural engagements," he said.

Kukah further said the government must develop a sense of empathy for the victims of the rising insecurity in Nigeria.

He condemned the incessant killings across the country, adding that it is unclear whether those in power understand the pain of many Nigerians.

He added, "The government must develop a sense of empathy. I have said this on several occasions; I do not mean anything negative, and everywhere you turn to, this is what Nigerians say.

"People are dying, and we do not get a sense that those who govern us understand and see our pain because we have not seen them at funerals nor on condolence visits.

"We have not seen them, whether by telephone call or whatever. Empathy is not sympathy. Empathy is at the heart of who we are as human beings."

http://saharareporters.com/2021/05/01/bishop-kukah-those-calling-secession-may-be-right-staying-together-cheaper-breaking-away

PoliticsBreaking: Sunday Igboho Set For War As Nigerian Army Attacks His Residence With by Successionist(op): 8:58am On Apr 26, 2021
Breaking: Sunday Igboho Set For War As Nigerian Army Attacks His Residence With Heavy Gunshots (VIDEO)
1 hour ago

The residence of popular yoruba activist, Sunday Adeyemo also known as Sunday Igboho has been attacked by men of the Nigerian Army, this may be connected to his agitation for Oduduwa Republic ,Thecitypulsenews reports.

This was made known by Igboho’s spokesman, Olayomi Koiki who did a live video to make the announcement.

In the announcement , the brave activist through his media aide said no going back on Oduduwa republic that the Yoruba’s can’t be a slave in their own land.

As at the time of filing this report, the reason for the attack on Sunday Igboho’s house is yet unknown.

Watch video:

https://fb.watch/562_VuG5LI/

https://thecitypulsenews.com/oduduwa-republic-breaking-sunday-igboho-set-for-war-as/

PoliticsOduduwa Republic, Biafra Already Gone, Buhari Should Prepare To Kill Millions To by Successionist(op): 5:58pm On Apr 22, 2021
Oduduwa Republic, Biafra Already Gone, Buhari Should Prepare To Kill Millions To Stop Them—Cleric
The cleric also stated that the Oduduwa Republic would pave the way for Igbo people to realise their sovereign nation away from Nigeria

The Senior Pastor of Awaiting The Second Coming Of Christ Ministry, Adewale Giwa, on Thursday told President Muhammadu Buhari that he could not stop the marginalised ethnic nationalities in Nigeria from seeking self-determination.

The cleric also stated that the Oduduwa Republic would pave the way for Igbo people to realise their sovereign nation away from Nigeria.

In a statement made available to Daily Post, Giwa said that Oduduwa Republic and Biafra are beyond the president.

He said, “You can’t stop the freedom of Nigerians who have determined to go their separate ways. This project is beyond the president, army or police.

“Oduduwa Republic is here already and it will pave the way for Igbos who have been marginalised for years. Let me advise President Muhammadu Buhari not to waste his energy to stop people’s decisions.

“The presidency ought to have admitted failure instead of trying to justify the reason Nigerians should continue to stay together in poverty. What has President Buhari done since 2015 to date to keep the country together? Should we agree with the president by appointing his people in the key positions that have come out to be negative?

“Should Nigerians continue to fold their arms against injustice, oppression and bad governance? President Buhari should prepare to kill millions of Nigerians instead of trying to stop their freedom.

“Freedom is you asking nothing from anyone, depending on nothing from anyone and expecting nothing from anyone. Why should a state governor be waiting for the president before he performs his duties?

“Why should citizens beg governors to provide jobs for them before they do so? In a sane society, a government provides for its citizens. Why is it that they have failed to reason like human beings?

“I have worked under you for 20 years with no achievements. I woke up one day and said to myself it’s time to stand on my feet, but you said I shouldn’t go. Won’t I go by force?

“Everybody wants happiness, nobody wants pain. Why must you stand in my way? If you don’t want people to go, then, quickly address hunger, insecurity, unemployment, nepotism, selfishness and tribalism.

“You can’t keep Nigerians together without solving their challenges. You can’t force them to be together when your administration has woefully failed them in the last five years.

“Oduduwa Republic has gone beyond president Buhari’s imagination. It is a project of the people, by the people and for the people.”

http://saharareporters.com/2021/04/22/oduduwa-republic-biafra-already-gone-buhari-should-prepare-kill-millions-stop-them%E2%80%94cleric

PoliticsAsylum To IPOB Members: UK Disrespectful, Sabotaging Terrorism Fight — FG by Successionist(op): 4:26pm On Apr 20, 2021
Asylum to IPOB members: UK disrespectful, sabotaging terrorism fight — FG

The Federal Government says the reported decision of the United Kingdom to grant asylum to “persecuted” members of the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) is disrespectful of Nigeria as a nation.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, also said that the decision amounted to sabotaging the fight against terrorism and generally undermining Nigeria’s security.

Fielding questions from Newsmen on Tuesday in Abuja, Mohammed said the decision is unacceptable to Nigeria.

“Let me say straight away that this issue is within the purview of the Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs and I am sure he will handle it appropriately.

But as the spokesman for the Federal Government of Nigeria, I will say that if indeed the report that the UK will grant asylum to supposedly persecuted IPOB and MASSOB members is true, then something is wrong somewhere.

“Against the background of the fact that IPOB is not only proscribed but also designated as a terrorist organisation here in Nigeria, the UK’s decision is disrespectful of Nigeria as a nation.

“The decision amounts to sabotaging the fight against terrorism and generally undermining Nigeria’s security.

“It is not only unconscionable, but it is also inexplicable,’’ he said.

The minister said that there had recently been heightened attacks against security agencies in the South East Zone.

He said IPOB had been fingered as being behind the attacks in spite of its denials.

“For the UK to choose this time to give succour to IPOB beggars belief and calls to question the UK’s real intention.

“If we could go down the memory lane, what the UK has done is like Nigeria offering asylum to members of the IRA before the 1998 Good Friday Peace Agreement,’’ he said.

NAN reports that the UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) had released new guidelines to its decision-makers on how to consider and grant asylum applications by members of Biafran secessionist groups.

In the guidelines, asylum is to be granted to “persecuted” members IPOB, a group that Nigeria had designated as a terrorist organisation.

Also in the guidelines, asylum is to be granted to the Movement for the Actualisation of the Sovereign State of Biafra.

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/04/asylum-to-ipob-members-uk-disrespectful-sabotaging-terrorism-fight-fg/amp/

PoliticsDon't Misquote Me, My Position Now Is Self-determination For Yoruba People— Gani by Successionist(op): 1:11pm On Apr 20, 2021
Don't Misquote Me, My Position Now Is Self-Determination For Yoruba People— Gani Adams
Adams was speaking at a conference as seen in a video that has now gone viral on the internet.

he Aare Onakankafo of Yorubaland, Iba Gani Adams, has said he is in full support of self-determination and not restructuring as is being propagated in some quarters.

Adams was speaking at a conference as seen in a video that has now gone viral on the internet.

Gani Adams
According to him, a major step in moving the country forward could be on either self-determination or regionalism.

He referred to the Republican Constitution of 1963 which, he said, allows for federating units to develop at their own pace.

He said, “The constitution that presents Nigeria as a country in 1960 and the republic constitution that our forefathers wrote politically in 1963, this gives room for federating units to be uninterrupted, this gives room for regionalism, this gives room for every federating units to develop at their own pace. 

“We have six federating units that were agreed in the constitutional conference in 1995/96, Abacha government, the six zones can be changed to the region and each region can develop at their own pace. That's the minimum demand for determination. I don't want our people to misquote me that I'm coming back to restructuring, my own position now is self-determination.

“When you are fighting a war, maybe intellectual war or psychological or political war, you'll prepare for a negotiation. After everything, you will now come to the table and negotiate. I believe that will be the best of interest for the Yoruba people because this is about interest.

“Some people will talk about unity when you are talking about unity, you don't want me to talk about the influence on my own locality, you don't want me to talk about the influence on my local government, my community and my own region. Politics is purely a local interest and everything that happened is local, from the community to local government, state and federal government.

“I believe it is highly imperative to move this country forward. If you want to move this country forward, it should be on two sides, either self-determination or regionalism and the for regionalism in the constitution, the powers are now concentrated in the confederacy. Assuming we allowed confederacy in our constitution, our brothers in the North will not do what they have done to us in the course of almost 60 years.

“We know how the Yoruba nation started, when Obafemi Awolowo left government, took over self-government in 1959, we know what we achieved within the period of five years of self-government and we know what happened to us in Yorubaland between 1960 and 1966 before the military came and concrete our federalism on January 15, 1970, by Aguiyi Ironsi and since then, the centre could not hold. 

“So far, we have been living together in mutual suspicion. Like what Prof Banji Akintoye said, we are a country, not a nation because when you are living on the basis of mutual suspicion, you're not a nation.”

http://saharareporters.com/2021/04/20/dont-misquote-me-my-position-now-self-determination-yoruba-people%E2%80%94-gani-adams

PoliticsYou’re Enemies Of Your People If You Participate In 2023 Elections—secession Agi by Successionist(op): 8:47pm On Apr 18, 2021
You’re Enemies Of Your People If You Participate In 2023 Elections—Secession Agitators Tell Southern, Middle Belt Politicians
The political class from the regions should not coerce the masses into voting under the current 1999 constitution of Nigeria.

The Nigerian Indigenous Nationalities Alliance for Self-Determination (NINAS) has called on Nigerian politicians in the South and Middle Belt of the country not to participate in the 2023 general elections.

NINAS stated that any attempt by political leaders from the regions to participate in the forthcoming elections would be tantamount to working as the enemies of their indigenous peoples oppressed by the present government.

The group revealed this during the World Press Conference on Saturday, tagged: ‘Constitutional force majeure – activating people’s power’.

While delivering the speech, Otunba Sade Odukoya of the Ilana Omo Oodua, said the political class from the regions should not coerce the masses into voting under the current 1999 constitution of Nigeria.

She faulted the political leaders for their failure to honour the request of the NINAS for consultations with the people having given them 30 days.

“As Nigeria continues to wobble in the throes of what seems its sure demise as one political union, we welcome you warmly to this very important milestone carefully programmed advancement of the objectives of the December 16, 2021, Constitutional Force Majeure Proclamation of a sovereignty dispute arising from grave constitutional grievances of the constituent components of Nigeria that must now be addressed by the operators of the Nigerian state,” she started.

Odukoya stated further that Nigerian politicians in the two regions failed in actively considering the proposals submitted by the group, “despite frenzied attempts by agents of the Federal Government of Nigeria to rush to the National Assembly for amendments to the fraudulent 1999 constitution on provisions touching directly upon many of the grave constitutional grievances raised in the union dispute proclamation of December 16, 2020.

“It is in this regard that NINAS is now informing the political merchants of the South and Middle-Belt across all the political parties in Nigeria, that any decision by them or their political parties to go to another round of national elections in 2023 will be interpreted as a clear-minded choice to help the enemy preserve 1999 constitution and this will mean sabotaging the self-redemption initiative of their own people and the alliance.

“NINAS strongly advises the political parties and political merchants in the alliance territories not to put themselves on a head-collision with the peoples of the territories in their quest for self-preservation via Self-Determination."

http://saharareporters.com/2021/04/18/you%E2%80%99re-enemies-your-people-if-you-participate-2023-elections%E2%80%94secession-agitators-tell

PoliticsYoruba Groups Clash Over Creation Of Oduduwa Republic by Successionist(op): 2:37pm On Apr 18, 2021
Two Yoruba groups on Saturday clashed over the demand for the creation of Oduduwa Republic from the present Nigerian state.

While some leaders under the banner of the Ilana Omoodua Youth Initiatives, led by a Yoruba leader, Professor Banji Akintoye, insisted on having Oduduwa Republic for the Yoruba nation, another group under the auspice of Yoruba Welfare Group (YWG), disagreed with the position.

The secretary of the Ilana Omooduwa Youth Initiatives, Dr. Akin Adejumo, who represented Professor Banji Akintoye at a Yoruba mega rally held at Mapo, Ibadan, the Oyo State capital, yesterday, insisted that the breakup of Nigeria was imminent.

Adejumo said the nation was not working and there was a need for Nigerians to go back to the drawing board and make a profitable decision for their people.

But the National President of Yoruba Welfare group (YWG), Comrade Abdulhakeem Adegoke Alawuje, on Saturday insisted that those clamouring for Oodua Republic cannot decide for the Yoruba people.

Speaking with Daily Post in Lagos, the group blasted the secession advocates, accusing them of attempting to destroy the peace, love and harmony of Yoruba land.

Alawuje warned them to desist from such advocacy, saying, “We are issuing a last warning to those behind the political agitation to stop all this rubbish in our land. Yoruba land cannot be a testing ground for any form of criminal act.

“YWG is calling all traditional rulers in Yoruba land to call these people to order, because it will not favour all of us to start mobilising against ourselves in the same region.”

http://saharareporters.com/2021/04/18/yoruba-groups-clash-over-creation-oduduwa-republic

PoliticsYoruba Leaders Storm Ibadan, Demand Oduduwa Republic [PHOTOS] by Successionist(op): 3:43pm On Apr 17, 2021
Yoruba leaders storm Ibadan, demand Oduduwa Republic [PHOTOS]

Thousands of youths, women and leaders of Yoruba race are currently occupying some streets in Ibadan in demand for Oduduwa Republic.

DAILY POST correspondent, who ismonitoring the procession, reports that the protesters are currently at the front of Mapo Hall in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital.

The protesters are led by a Yoruba group, “Ilana Omo Oodua”, clamoring for self determination.

The group is led by Professor Banji Akintoye, a former Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The protest, which was supposed to start around 9.am on Saturday, could not start until 11.am due to heavy security presence at the entrance and around Mapo Hall.

The protesters having sensed heavy security presence later mobilized to the front of Mapo to begin the protest.

Some of those who spoke, noted that Yoruba nation had suffered enough in Nigeria.

One of the leaders of the group, Bashorun Kunle Adesokan maintained that it was time for Yoruba race to have their own country.

He said, “Youuba have suffered enough. We are not in support of the 2023 elections.

“We are telling all politicians not to contest. They should not contest to waste their money.”

Publicity Secretary of the group, Mr. Maxwell Adeleye who spoke with DAILY POST confirmed that the security agencies did not allow the protest to hold at Mapo Hall as earlier scheduled.

He said, “Dear Colleagues, the Police in Mapo, Ibadan said they are at the venue to prevent hoodlums from hijacking the rally for Yoruba Self-Determination, and not stopping it from holding.”

https://dailypost.ng/2021/04/17/breaking-yoruba-leaders-storm-ibadan-demand-oduduwa-republic-photos/

PoliticsOduduwa: Will There Be Civil Sharia As Yoruba Muslims Have Been Demand, MURIC by Successionist(op): 11:09am On Apr 16, 2021
Oduduwa Republic: Will There Be Civil Sharia As Yoruba Muslims Have Been Demanding? —MURIC Asks Agitators
In a statement by the director of the group, Ishaq Akintola, MURIC asked if the agitators have any provision for civil sharia which “Yoruba Muslims have been demanding for ages.”

Muslim Rights Concern (MURIC) has asked those agitating for the Oduduwa Republic to state what they have in stock for Muslim children and women in the South-West and what their plan is for hijab.
In a statement by the director of the group, Ishaq Akintola, MURIC asked if the agitators have any provision for civil sharia which “Yoruba Muslims have been demanding for ages.”
The Islamic group said it was drawing the attention of the agitators of the Oduduwa Republic to the plight of Muslims in Yorubaland.

It stated that leaders of the groups agitating for breakaway must admit that there is a strain in Christian/Muslim relationship in the South-West and must proffer solutions to address it.

He said, “We draw the attention of the ideologues of Oduduwa Republic to the plight of Muslims in Yorubaland. Leaders of the groups agitating for Yoruba breakaway must admit that there is a strain in Christian/Muslim relationship in the South-West and proffer solutions instead of blackmailing and accusing it of fomenting trouble in the region. It is the height of hypocrisy and it will not help the cause of the Yoruba nation.

“We, therefore, ask the Yoruba agitators, what do you have in stock for Muslim children and women? What is your plan for hijab? Is it as dictated by CAN (Christian Association of Nigeria)? Is there any provision for civil shariah which Yoruba Muslims have been demanding for ages? The response of the agitators to these questions will go a long way in determining their readiness to tolerate Muslims or the plot to continue oppressing us.”

http://saharareporters.com/2021/04/16/oduduwa-republic-will-there-be-civil-sharia-yoruba-muslims-have-been-demanding-%E2%80%94muric

PoliticsHundreds Of Yoruba Women From Diaspora At Ooni Of Ife Palace Over Yoruba Nation by Successionist(op): 5:45pm On Apr 15, 2021
Hundreds Of Yoruba Women From The Diaspora Storm Ooni Of Ife's Palace, Insist On Yoruba Nation

Women from Uruguay, Argentina, Mexico, United Kingdom, Papua Guinea, Venezuela, Spain, France, and other countries on Wednesday visited the Ooni of Ile-Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, in his palace to canvass for the creation of Yoruba Nation.

Clad in traditional rural attire including body wrappers and beads, the women, under the aegis of Obinrin Oodua Agbaye, stormed the palace of the Ooni of Ife on Sunday.

Led by their worldwide Leader, Yeye Simisade Kuku-Onayemi and their Secretary-General, Owowunmi Babalola-Okocha, the women said the gods in Yorubaland had mandated them to commence spiritual measures that would lead to the prompt actualisation of Yoruba Nation without bloodshed, hence, their visit to their fatherland.

Omowumi, a resident of the United States, who was flanked by other Yoruba women from 37 countries, said the gods mandated them to conduct some spiritual measures in the palaces of Ooni of Ife, Alaafin of Oyo, Osemawe of Ondo, Ewi of Ado-Ekiti, Obaro of Kabba, Ayangburen of Ikorodu, Oloffa of Offa and Awujale of Ijebuland.

The women added that the outcome of the spiritual measures, which they said could not be discussed in public, shall unravel many things that would help achieve peaceful and prompt actualisation of the Yoruba Nation.

“All of us that you are seeing here today are top-notch professionals. We have medical doctors, lawyers, chartered accountants, engineers, development experts, journalists, academic dons, top bankers and entrepreneurs among us. The majority of us are working at blue-ship public and private organisations,” Kuku-Onayemi was quoted by the group, Yoruba Nation, on its Twitter page to have said.

She stated that the women are contented with what they have but are not happy with the situation of things in their country hence they are coming out to salvage their land traditionally.

Corroborating her leader, Babalola- Okocha was quoted this: “Upon consultations, we were mandated by the gods to visit the palaces of Ooni of Ife, Alaafin of Oyo, Osemawe of Ondo, Ewi of Ado-Ekiti, Ayangburen of Ikorodu, Oloffa of Offa, Obaro of Kabba and Awujale of Ijebu Land to carry our some spiritual measures that we cannot mention details in public hence our visit to the Oduduwa Source."

“When we are done with our consultations and prayers, the people of Yoruba Nation shall be surprised at the rate by which the Yoruba Nation shall come into reality without any bloodshed. It shall be amazing and the world shall be shocked,” Omowumi was said to have added.

In his remark, Yoruba Leader and Alana of Ilana Omo Oodua, Professor Banji Akintoye, who led the women to Ooni’s palace, reportedly described the action of the women as a powerful declaration signifying the departure of Yorubaland from Nigeria.

The 86-year-old member of the Second Republic Senate reportedly said, “Our women who gave birth to us have spoken. They have declared and Heaven has heard. What they have started is a powerful declaration showing the departure of the Yoruba Nation from Nigeria.

“It will be amazing and shocking by the time the declaration is made. Yoruba Nation shall be birthed and with the support of our women, our freedom day is nearer."

The Ooni, in his response to the development, reportedly highlighted the importance of women in the push for freedom, stating that the new twist to the agitation for self-determination is that women are now involved.

According to Yoruba Nation, Ooni said, “Whatever you are doing that women are not involved in cannot materialise. We are going nowhere if our women are not carried along and get involved. If you are married, and your wife is not happy with you, it is not going to work well with you unless the woman is not fighting you with sincerity.

“Women are not timid, they are warriors. From the Holy Bible, we read how Deborah fought for her people and conquered. Moremi fought and delivered the people of Ancient Ife from the Igbomekun who were our deadly adversaries. Therefore, women are key to our struggle for self-determination and we must carry them along, going forward.

“We will support our women and we are happy they are taking up the battle and picking up the gauntlets. Again, I want to say very expressly that If we fail to have the support of our women folks, we are going nowhere. Therefore, I welcome you to the source and I wish you well in your visit to other palaces in the Yoruba Nation."
http://saharareporters.com/2021/04/15/hundreds-yoruba-women-diaspora-storm-ooni-ifes-palace-insist-yoruba-nation

PoliticsYoruba Nation: Our Struggle Can’t Materialise Without Women’s Support – Ooni Ogu by Successionist(op): 10:53am On Apr 15, 2021
Yoruba Nation: Our struggle can’t materialise without women’s support – Ooni Ogunwusi

It is either self-determination or nothing – Obinrin Oodua Agbaye
By Dapo Akinrefon
THE Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, Wednesday, highlighted the importance of women in Yoruba’s strive for freedom, stating that the new twist to the agitation for self-determination is that women are now involved.

He spoke when some women from the diaspora, under the agies of Obinrin Oodua Agbaye, recently visited his palace in Ile-Ife, Osun State

The Ooni said: “Whatever you are doing that women are not involved cannot materialise. We are going nowhere if our women are not carried along and get involved. If you are married, and your wife is not happy with you, it is not going to work well with you unless the woman is not fighting you with sincerity.

Women are not timid, they are warriors. From the Holy bible, we read how Deborah fought for her people and conquered. Moremi fought and delivered the people of Ancient Ife from the Igbomekun who were our deadly adversaries. Therefore, women are key to our struggle for self-determination and we must carry them along, going forward.

“We will support our women and we are happy they are taking up the battle and picking up the guanlets. Again, I want to say very expressly that If we fail to have the support of our women folks, we are going nowhere. Therefore, I welcome you to the source and I wish you well in your visit to other palaces in Yoruba Nation.”

It is either self-determination or nothing – Obinrin Oodua Agbaye
Led by their leader and Secretary-General, Princess Simisade Kuku-Onayemi and Dr Owowunmi Babalola-Okocha respectively, the women said the gods in Yoruba land have mandated them to commence spiritual measures that will lead to the prompt actualisation of Yoruba Nation without bloodshed, hence, their visit to their fatherland.

Omowumi noted that said the gods mandated them to conduct some spiritual measures in the palaces of Ooni of Ife, Alaafin of Oyo, Osemawe of Ondo, Ewi of Ado-Ekiti, Obaro of Kabba, Ayangburen of Ikorodu, Oloffa of Offa and Awujale of Ijebu Land respectively.

Kuku-Onayemi said: “All of us that you are seeing here today are top-notch Professionals. We have Medical Doctors, Lawyers, Chartered Accountants, Engineers, Development Experts, Journalists, Academic Dons, top Bankers and Enterpreneurs among us. Majority of us are working at blue-ship public and private organizations.”

Corroborating her leader, Babalola-Okocha said: “Upon consultations, we were mandated by gods to visit the palaces of Ooni of Ife, Alaafin of Oyo, Osemawe of Ondo, Ewi of Ado-Ekiti, Ayangburen of Ikorodu, Oloffa of Offa, Obaro of Kabba and Awujale of Ijebu Land to carry out some spiritual measures that we cannot mention details in public hence our visit to the Oduduwa Source.

When we are done with our consultations and prayers, the people of Yoruba Nation shall be surprised at the rate by which the Yoruba Nation shall come into reality without any bloodshed. It shall be amazing and the world shall be shocked.”

In his remarks, leader of Alana of Ilana Omo Oodua, Emeritus Professor Banji Akintoye, who led the women to Ooni’s palace, described the action of the women as a powerful declaration showing the departure of Yoruba land from Nigeria.

He said: “Our women who gave birth to us have spoken. They have declared and the heaven has heard. What they have started is a powerful declaration showing the departure of Yoruba Nation from Nigeria.”

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/04/yoruba-nation-our-struggle-cant-materialise-without-womens-support-ooni-ogunwusi/

PoliticsIkpeazu: Some Of Ipob’s Grievances Are Valid — They Should Be Addressed Squarely by Successionist(op): 7:29am On Apr 14, 2021
Ikpeazu: Some of IPOB’s grievances are valid — they should be addressed squarely

Okezie Ikpeazu, governor of Abia state, says some of the grievances of the proscribed Indigenous People Of Biafra (IPOB) are valid.

IPOB, a secessionist group, has been linked with attacks on security agencies and facilities in the south-east, the most recent being the attack on Owerri Custodial Centre and police command.

Speaking on Arise TV on Tuesday, Ikpeazu said some of the “issues raised” by IPOB should be addressed.

He said it is only when those concerns are acknowledged that elected officials will be granted solid ground to preach the gospel of Nigeria’s unity.

The governor expressed his opposition to the strategy IPOB uses in pushing for its demands. He urged the group to table its grievances in a civil manner.

He said: “I have taken my time to listen to some of these issues raised by IPOB: issues about injustice, issues of marginalisation, issues of trust deficits within the polity called Nigeria as it concerns people from south-eastern Nigeria. And I think some of those are valid issues and they should be addressed and spoken to; they should be addressed squarely. So that everybody and those of us that are in government today can have a foothold within the south-east region to continue to promote the unity of Nigeria.

“I do not subscribe to the strategy of IPOB in pursuing their goals. And the reason is because I’m yet to see the end of the tunnel from where I’m standing and I do not like to take a plunge in the dark. We must engage and discuss the issue which is bothering them and everybody and we can’t continue to pretend as if these issues are not valid.

“Equal rights and justice is an indelible right of all citizens and if through impunity and carelessness we allow a group of people to begin to feel like they’re not rightly represented within the polity, it creates a lacuna where people are no longer confident in the government to protect them and take care of their interest within the polity. There’s bound to be agitation one way or another. Some of these reactions may extrapolate to levels that may undermine national convention and unity.”

The increasing insecurity in the region spurred south-east governors to establish Ebube Agu, a joint security outfit that was announced on April 11.

https://www.thecable.ng/ikpeazu-some-of-ipobs-grievances-are-valid-they-should-be-addressed-squarely

PoliticsOPC Blasts Ex-Army Chief, Dambazau, Says He Suffers From Acute Dementia by Successionist(op): 7:28pm On Apr 10, 2021
says, ex-minister suffering from acute dementia
By Dapo Akinrefon
The O’odua Peoples Congress, OPC, yesterday, lampooned former the Chief of Army Staff, Lt. Gen. Abdurahman Dambazau (retd) for comparing the OPC as the dreaded Boko Haram, saying the former Army chief was suffering from acute dementia and gradually losing touch with the realities of the moment.

OPC in a statement on Saturday by its Publicity Secretary, Mr Yinka Oguntimehin, while reacting to the statement credited to the former Interior Minister that the OPC was the same as the dreaded Boko Haram, such statements were capable of heating up the polity and disrupting national peace.

Oguntimehin also described Dambazau as a northern irredentist and extremist popularly noted for his unguarded statements and utterances.

The statement reads: “From his statement, it is obvious that the ex-COAS is suffering from acute dementia and he is gradually losing touch with the realities of this time.

Dambazau’s statement that OPC and IPOB are very much the same as the dreaded Boko Haram was made in bad faith and such statements have raised some fundamental questions about his intentions, interests and morality as a former COAS and minister of Interior that have allegedly been supporting the bandits by offering both financial and technical support to the group.

“Such high profile ex-military officer cannot be trusted in the fight against insurgency because he had on several occasion pleaded on their behalf.

So for such a person to have said that OPC is the same as Boko Haram is not only derogatory, but it is most unfortunate, to say the least.

“Boko Haram is adjudged globally as the third most dreaded terrorist groups in the world. And up till today, it remains as such with various cases of killings across the North.

For instance, presently, Boko Haram and bandits have taken over four states in the North and Danbazau had never condemned their atrocities, he didn’t raise a finger.

“It is no doubt that he is one of their sponsors. That is why he had, rather than offering a lasting solution to the insurgency in the north and across the country, remained an ardent promoter of bandits and other terrorist groups in Nigeria.

“So, from his statement, it shows that the ex-minister is not in his right frame of mind, because when bandits killed a foremost Oba in Ondo, he didn’t talk. When other respected leaders from the north held a meeting on the critical security.

the situation in the country, he didn’t attend.”

The OPC spokesman stated further that the group has since its existence in 1994 remains one of the most dependable organizations that have been defending the interest of the people of the southwest.

He said: “OPC has never been involved in any act of insurgency, including kidnapping or killings. Our group has been at the vanguard of supporting the police and providing information that can help the police in ensuring effective security at the grassroots.
For instance, during the END SARS protests, OPC came to the rescue in the southwest and we protected the police stations and the police formations against unscrupulous rioters that had hijacked the peaceful protests.

“Recently, the OPC under our amiable leader, the Aare Onakakanfo of Yorubaland, Iba Gani Adams, apprehended the notorious Kidnap kingpin, Abdullah Iskilu Wakili that had been terrorising the people of Ibarapa and its environs, and we handed him over to the police.

So for somebody of Dambazau’s status to say such a group is like the Boko Haram, truly shows his mindset and level of thinking. Such a person has truly lost touch with the realities of the present time because today, the OPC has been reorganised, repackaged, and re-orientated in such a way that it has become a thorn in the flesh of bandits, kidnappers and terrorists. And today, the fear of the OPC has truly become the beginning of wisdom for people like Danbazau and his allies.”
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/04/opc-blasts-ex-army-chief-dambazau/

PoliticsGunmen Attack Traditional Ruler In Ekiti by Successionist(op): 4:16pm On Apr 10, 2021
Oba Adetutu Ajayi, the traditional ruler of Ewu Ekiti in Ilejemeje Local Government Area of Ekiti State, has been shot by hoodlums.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the traditional ruler was shot on Friday night on his way to a neighbouring community, Ayetoro Ekiti in Ido/Osi Local Government Area of the state.

Ajayi who however escaped with serious injuries on his legs, arms and stomach, is currently receiving treatment in an undisclosed tertiary medical facility.

The Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO) in the state, ASP Sunday Abutu, confirmed the incident.

Abutu said that the command was worried that such attack could be launched in spite of unrelenting joint security patrol and raiding of black spots to dislodge criminals.

He however said the police command in the state was committed to ridding the state of criminal elements and assured the residents that the perpetrators would be brought to book.

The PPRO said that the command would continue to work with sister security outfits to ensure that criminality was wiped out of Ekiti.

Meanwhile, the Ekiti State Council of Obas has called on security agencies to apprehend the hoodlums and bring them to book.

The Chairman of the council, Oba Adebanji Alabi while reacting to the incident expressed concern over the increase in banditry and other criminal activities in the country.

He called on government and security agencies to increase their level of surveillance on the state with a view to reducing crimes.

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/04/gunmen-attack-traditional-ruler-in-ekiti/

PoliticsTension In Benue Community As 10 Missing Soldiers Are Found Dead No Fewer Than 1 by Successionist(op): 10:22am On Apr 09, 2021
Tension In Benue Community As 10 Missing Soldiers Are Found Dead

No fewer than 10 troops of Nigerian Army and one military police officer have been found dead in Konshisha Local Government Area of Benue State.

The development generated tension in the community as the army authorities deployed troops to fish out the perpetrators of the dastardly act.

In a statement made available to journalists, Nigerian Army spokesman, Brig.-Gen. Mohammed Yerima, confirmed the killings of the troops by yet-to-be-identified individuals.

Yerima explained that the bodies of slain troops were immediately evacuated, adding that efforts are ongoing to track down those who perpetrated the crime in order to bring them to justice.

He said, ”Nigerian Army troops operating in Benue State came under attack while on routine operational task.

”The troops comprising one officer and ten soldiers were initially declared missing which prompted the deployment of a joint search and rescue team comprising NA troops and personnel of Operation Whirl Stroke.

”The search and rescue team unfortunately found all the missing troops dead in Konshisha LGA of Benue State.

”While the bodies of the slain troops were evacuated immediately, efforts are ongoing to track down the perpetrators of this heinous crime with a view to bringing them to Justice.”

The Nigerian Army, however, appealed to the public to volunteer useful information that will lead to the arrest of the perpetrators of the dastardly act.

Yerima maintained that Army remains determined to ensure that the unprovoked attack does not disrupt the general peace being enjoyed by the local inhabitants.

According to him, the COAS has directed commanders on the ground to ensure sustained efforts in order to fish out and deal decisively with these bad elements who are threatening the peace in the area.

Daily Trust reports that Benue, which has been a hotbed of clashes, has been enjoying relative peace in recent times.

https://dailytrust.com/tension-in-benue-community-as-10-missing-soldiers-are-found-dead

PoliticsNBA Probes CCT Chairman, Umar Over Alleged Unprofessional Conduct by Successionist(op): 9:14pm On Apr 01, 2021
NBA probes CCT Chairman, Umar over alleged unprofessional conduct

By Ikechukwu Nnochiri, ABUJA
The Nigerian Bar Association, NBA, on Thursday, said it would through its relevant Committee, investigate the Chairman of the Code of Conduct Tribunal, CCT, Mr Danladi Umar, over an allegation that he engaged in a conduct that is unbecoming of a member of the legal profession.

The legal body, via a statement that was signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Dr. Rapulu Nduka, said its attention was drawn to a video making the rounds, where the CCT Chairman was seen, together with his security detail, assaulting a citizen at Banex Plaza, in Wuse Abuja.

It said: “We understand that this citizen turned out to be a 22-year-old employee of Jul Reliable Guards Services Limited, posted as a security guard to the Plaza and who is now reportedly hospitalised.

“The NBA has also read the statement credited to the Head, Press and Public Relations of the CCT in response to the actions of Mr Umar.

The NBA frowns at any display of naked power by a public officer especially one who, by virtue of his high office, is expected to exhibit a high standard of conduct.

“The situation is all the more critical when it involves the head of an agency of government set up to ensure compliance, by public officers, with the code of conduct.

Further, as a member of the legal profession, Danladi Yakubu Umar Esq. is expected, by the extant rules that regulate the conduct of legal practitioners in Nigeria, to maintain a high standard of professional conduct, and not to engage in any conduct which is unbecoming of a member of the legal profession.

“Prima facie evidence available at the moment raise questions regarding whether such standards have been met.

“In view of the foregoing, the NBA shall through its relevant Committee, investigate the circumstances leading to the altercation, and depending on its findings, will ensure that appropriate action is taken to address this occurrence”, the statement added.

It will be recalled that the CCT boss was recently caught on camera beating a security man at a popular plaza in Abuja.

Meanwhile, in an attempt to exculpate himself from blame, Umar, in an error-ridden statement that was signed by a spokesman of the tribunal, Ibraheem Al-Hassan, claimed that he was attacked at the plaza by persons he described as “Biafran boys”.
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/04/nba-probes-cct-chairman-umar-over-alleged-unprofessional-conduct/

PoliticsRe: Why I Don’t Heavily Criticise Boko Haram – Nnamdi Kanu by Successionist(op): 1:28pm On Apr 01, 2021
trutharena:
ESN too are currently doing the same.

Low budget Boko Haram.
How are you sure , do you have concrete evidence huh not those stage arrested ESN members by the police.
I'm ain't IBO, but support any thing that will put an end to this contraps , but not through violence, except for self defense...
PoliticsRe: Why I Don’t Heavily Criticise Boko Haram – Nnamdi Kanu by Successionist(op): 1:05pm On Apr 01, 2021
I don't subcribe to that , Boko Haram start the killing, they start killing security operative. Don't bring Ipob to that level..
PoliticsWhy I Don’t Heavily Criticise Boko Haram – Nnamdi Kanu by Successionist(op): 1:03pm On Apr 01, 2021
Why I Don’t Heavily Criticise Boko Haram – Nnamdi Kanu

Kanu said the Nigerian government had a way of turning peaceful organisations into violent groups, making reference to IPOB, which he described as a toothless bulldog.

The leader of the Indigenous Peoples of Biafra, Nnamdi Kanu says he weighs his word against the deadly Boko Haram terrorists.

Kanu said the reason was hinged on the fact that Boko Haram began as a peaceful movement in Nigeria until the army and police were deployed incessantly to kill them in their numbers.

Nnamdi Kanu
The IPOB boss said this during his live broadcast monitored by SaharaReporters on Tuesday.

Kanu said the Nigerian government had a way of turning peaceful organisations into violent groups, making reference to IPOB, which he described as a toothless bulldog.

“Boko Haram was a peaceful movement until Nigeria Police started killing them. That’s why I’m measured in my criticism of Boko Haram. They were peaceful. It was Nigeria Police and Army that kept killing them to the point when they now turned violent,” Kanu lamented.

He, however, warned that IPOB was daring in its adventure.

“We are going to stand up for our rights to be free. We are not subjects of the Fulani caliphate. Many people can subscribe to that, but not this IPOB that I lead. Not now, not tomorrow, not ever.

“You know they call us toothless bulldogs, that they are online, they can’t do anything. And I agree with you. If these toothless bulldogs can be doing this when they have no teeth, imagine when they grow teeth, what will happen?” he asked.

Kanu also bemoaned the actions of some political leaders in the South-East and South-South regions dissociating themselves from the agitation of the sovereignty of Biafra. He said with or without them, the dream of actualising Biafra would be realised.

http://saharareporters.com/2021/04/01/why-i-don%E2%80%99t-heavily-criticise-boko-haram-%E2%80%93-nnamdi-kanu

PoliticsSheikh Gumi: Fulani Bandits Give Ansaru Terrorists 10 Days To Vacate The Bush by Successionist(op): 11:14pm On Mar 31, 2021
Kaduna State-based Islamic scholar, Sheikh Abubakar Gumi, has said that Fulani bandits are at war with Ansaru terrorist groups who infiltrated the northern part of the country.
According to him, the vision of the bandits living in the bush is different from the ideology of terrorist groups who infiltrated the country, maintaining that a Fulani man is not fanatical, but more concerned about survival.
He said the bandits had given the Ansaru terrorists 10 days to vacate their territory.

In a chat with The Guardian yesterday, the cleric called on government to quickly intervene, noting that their visits to the forests were yielding positive results.

Gumi said following his godly counsel, the bandits resisted attempts by the Ansaru terrorists to indoctrinate them.

He asserted that the bandits were doing what the military ought to be doing to the terrorists: fighting and killing them.

When asked how bandits could be differentiated from foreign invaders, the cleric said: “There is infiltration by Islamic terrorist groups. Yes, they have infiltrated the Fulani, but the Fulani have a vision. Theirs is to fight existential war. For example, they can’t go to market or travel to Zuru because they would be lynched; so the best thing is to get weapons to fight.

“They will say the military too is killing their children and women; so they accept the Fulani from outside to assist them. But as they are coming in, some of the elements of Islamic terrorists join them.”

Narrating how the bandits resist the terrorists’ antics, Gumi said: “When we went to Niger State, we spoke with one of the gang leaders to join in the peace process. He was even the one who negotiated the release of the Kagara boys and others.

“After we came out, he talked to the contact, telling them that they were approached by the Ansaru groups who told them not to trust me and my entourage; that we are democratic scholars and shouldn’t be welcomed. This is why I’m urging government to intervene fast. No time to waste.”

According to the cleric, the bandits’ leader replied the Ansarus that his entourage was versed knowledgeable and vast about Islam, better than the Ansarus, adding that they would continue the mediation with us.

He added: “The Ansarus later ambushed the man’s uncle and killed him. So, the bandits’ leader has given the Ansaru terrorists 10 days to vacate the bush.”

The cleric, however, disclosed that some individuals were cashing in on the security challenges in the country, where the defence budget is unaccounted.

“Whoever is in the chain of when money is made available for defence, whoever benefits, wouldn’t want the problems to stop, because defence budget is unaccounted for. I found that the resistance is from where money is made available.”
https://m.guardian.ng/news/nigeria/national/fulani-bandits-give-ansaru-terrorists-ultimatum-gumi-claims/

PoliticsLai Mohammed: Brands Running Adverts On CNN, Others To Pay ₦100,000 Fine by Successionist(op): 11:45pm On Mar 29, 2021
Brands running adverts on CNN, others to pay N100,000 fine -FG

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, says Nigerian brands like Guinness which run adverts during foreign matches must compulsorily advertise during Nigerian Premier Football League games.

The minister further stated that brands that create their adverts abroad but broadcast them on CNN and other international stations broadcasting in Nigeria will pay a fine of N100,000 each time such adverts are run.

Mohammed said this was one of the rules included in the Broadcasting Code which has been rejected by many in the industry.

The minister said on NTA’s ‘Good Morning Nigeria’ programme on Monday that this was the only way to help the local league thrive.

He said, “Let’s assume you have brought in La Liga, and during the matches, Guinness is advertised, we will compel you, we will compel Guinness to also advertise when we are playing a local league. That is the only way we can grow this industry but as can be expected, we have had very few supporters.”

He said in the event that the brand wants to run the advert on a local station like NTA, the brand would pay a N100,000 fine each time it is broadcast.

Mohammed added that adverts promoting Nigerian brands must be directed and authored by Nigerians inside the country.

The minister said  “If you do an advert in South Africa, you put it on CNN and we look at that advert and we see that the advert was not made in Nigeria but actually made in South Africa, or you see that five times a day, it is on CNN, you pay half a million to us. The half a million will go to the Content Development Fund.”
He further stated that the NBC had been asked to implement a regulation mandating exclusive licensees and broadcasters to share exclusive rights with other broadcasters.

Mohammed said this policy would ensure that Multichoice would no longer have the monopoly of broadcasting the English Premier League.

The minister added, “What is common today is to see products made in Nigeria but the advert for those products are actually probably done in South Africa or in the US. So, we amended the code to say that if a product you want to advertise in Nigeria territory is made in Nigeria, grown in Nigeria or processed in Nigeria, then you must make sure that the advert is also produced in Nigeria.

“Gulder is made, processed in Nigeria. If you go to South Africa to produce an advert which you are going to air to Nigerians because Nigerians consume Gulder, what we have amended the code to say is that for every time that advert is aired in Nigeria either on radio or television, you pay a fine of N100,000. We are not stopping you from making your production in America or South Africa but if you are going to advertise in Nigerian territory, you will pay a fine of N100,000.

In other words, if Gulder makes an advert in South Africa and it is shown on NTA, if it shows it 10 times a day, it will pay N100,000 fine 10 times.”

Mohammed stated that if any Nigerian company invests in a foreign league, the firm must invest at least 30 per cent of that money in Nigerian football.

“We went further to say that if a company should invest $1m in bringing EPL to Nigeria, that company must also be ready to spend 30 per cent of that $1m in producing a local content along the same line.

“In other words, if Maltina or Guinness decides to bring in EPL, which is English football, we have no problem with that. But they must also invest in covering our local league to the tune of 30 per cent of what he has paid,” the minister said.

Mohammed argued that until the anti-competitive and monopolistic tendencies are expunged from the broadcast sector, Nigeria would not be able to grow local content.

“The NBC has issued about 30 pay-TV licences but only one is managing to survive. Why? Because of these anti-competitive and manipulative tendencies of these foreign companies,” he said
https://punchng.com/brands-running-adverts-on-cnn-others-to-pay-n100000-fine-fg/

PoliticsEXCLUSIVE: How Bandits Who Met With Sheikh Gumi Killed Soldier, 30 Vigilantes In by Successionist(op): 11:03am On Mar 26, 2021
EXCLUSIVE: How Bandits Who Met With Sheikh Gumi Killed Soldier, 30 Vigilantes In Niger State

A military source told SaharaReporters that the attack was carried out by the Dogo Gide-led banditry group operating in Dutsen Magaji forest near Koton Kobo community.

Gunmen suspected to be bandits have attacked a military post in Koton Kobo, Mariga Local Government Area of Niger state, killing one soldier.

SaharaReporters gathered that the gunmen also killed over 30 operatives of a local security outfit in the community.

The vigilantes were said to be returning from a search operation when they were ambushed by the bandits.

A military source told SaharaReporters that the attack was carried out by the Dogo Gide-led banditry group operating in Dutsen Magaji forest near Koton Kobo community.

Recall that Islamic cleric, Sheikh Ahmad Gumi, Secretary to the Niger State Government, Alhaji Ahmed Matane and security operatives had in February met with Gide and his gang members few days after 42 persons, including students and staff members of Government Science College in Kagara were abducted.

“Contrary to media report, Gumi did not go to any forest between Tegina in Rafi LGA and Birnin Gwari in Kaduna State in February. He met with bandits operating in Dutsen Magaji forest near Koton Kobo community in Mariga LGA and their leader is Dogo Gide, a former deputy to notorious armed bandit in Zamfara state‎, Buhari Tsoho aka Buharin Daji. From Dutsen Magaji to Tegina is over 200km.

“Gide is so powerful in that area that he collects monthly taxes from farmers and herdsmen. The recent attack was also carried out by him. After killing them (vigilantes), he refused to grant access to pick their bodies until soldiers stormed the forest on Thursday to collect the bodies. About 25 bodies have been recovered so far,” a military source told SaharaReporters.

The source added that the gunmen also attacked a military post in the community, killing a soldier. 

Vigilante groups have been formed across Niger to combat insecurity in the state.

On February 17, twenty-seven students, three staff members and 12 members of their families were abducted when gunmen stormed Government Science Secondary School in Kagara.

While one of the students, Benjamin Doma, who tried to escape was gunned down, a member of staff luckily broke loose from captivity.

The armed men were said to have invaded the school around 3 am.

The attackers were reportedly dressed in military uniforms in what looked like a premeditated attack.

The incident happened barely three days after 21 passengers heading to Minna, capital of Niger state, were abducted in broad daylight by gunmen.

The students were released after spending 10 days in captivity.

http://saharareporters.com/2021/03/26/exclusive-how-bandits-who-met-sheikh-gumi-killed-soldier-30-vigilantes-niger-state

PoliticsSecession Threat: Lagos Tasks Religious Leaders On Peaceful-coexistence, Moral V by Successionist(op): 8:46pm On Mar 23, 2021
Secession Threat: Lagos tasks religious leaders on peaceful-coexistence, moral value

Emulate Jakande’s virtues- Tambuwal urges Nigerians
By Olasunkanmi Akoni
Amid insecurity challenge and the threat of secession in Nigeria, Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu has urged religious leaders to support the government in propagating peace and moral living among citizens in the quest to build a better and thriving society.

Sanwo-Olu, gave the charge on Tuesday, at the 40 days final burial ceremony of late Alhaji Lateef Kayode Jakande First Civilian Governor of Lagos State, held at the Police College Pavilion, Ikeja.

The governor, represented by his deputy, Obafemi Hamzat, stated that “religion is the strongest pillar in Nigeria, people respect their religious leaders and they listen to them. So please don’t leave the preaching of moral values to the government alone.”

Accordingly, the governor urged the religious leaders to preach peace and help integrate the nation saying “Nigeria must not disintegrate, men of honour must strive to hold the country together.”

Similarly, the Governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal appealed to the Lagos State Government to complete the blue rail in order to ease transportation for the masses, saying “it is a testament to the late Alhaji Lateef Jakande’s memory.”

He further charged the religious leaders to help the citizen action in accordance with the norm of the society and shun all anti-social vices, saying “Who are you to the people? What do we say on Fridays and Sundays?”

He urged the clergymen to propagate the gospel of better use of Lagos roads by urging motorist to avoid driving against the traffic.

Tambuwal stated that the late Jakande had a huge impact on Lagos and the Nation, having served the state with so much “compassion and humility”.

He advised all to learn from the late Governor in terms of vision and commitment to building a viable state than signposts.

Earlier in his sermon, the Missioner, Ansar-Ur-Deen, Sheikh Abd-Rahman Ahmed urged leaders to be objective and to shun corruption as it only deprives the nation development of growth.

He further tasked the government to be more resilient and more pragmatic in its approach to governance.

He reminded them that everyone will one day die and “we all should be prepared for that great day.”

The Chairman, Christian Association of Nigeria, CAN, Lagos State, Right Reverend Samuel Adegbite described Baba Jakande as a pillar, a trait blazer, a developer and an encourager.

He stated that the late Governor ruled for only four years and three months but he turned Lagos State around with his contemporaries doing the same in the Southwest.

Adegbite also urged everyone to do their best and ensure that the nation remains united saying “what are we leaving behind for the future generations, everyone must rise, listen to the clarion’s call and Nigeria must not disintegrate.”

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/03/secession-threat-lagos-tasks-religious-leaders-on-peaceful-coexistence-moral-value/

PoliticsOrtom Cries To Buhari: 'Miyetti Allah Planning To Eliminate Me’ by Successionist(op): 6:15pm On Mar 23, 2021
'Miyetti Allah planning to eliminate me’ – Gov Ortom cries to Buhari

Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State has accused the Miyetti Allah Cattle Breeders Association of Nigeria, MACBAN, of planning to eliminate him.

Ortom said the leadership of MACBAN targeted him and were planning to eliminate him.

He spoke after he met with President Muhammadu Buhari at the State House, on Tuesday.

Governor Ortom disclosed that his lawyers would petition MACBAN’s leadership.

“My lawyer is going to make a petition against the leadership of MACBAN because they came out to target me and behind the scene, they are planning to eliminate me in my own land.

“If I can’t go to the farm as governor with entire security around me then who else can go to the farm? You can imagine the pains that we have here in Benue State,” Ortom stated.

Gunmen suspected to be herdsmen had last Saturday attacked Governor Ortom at Tyo Mu along Makurdi/Gboko road.

The governor, who was attacked while on his farm, however, escaped following intervention by his security operatives.
https://dailypost.ng/2021/03/23/miyetti-allah-planning-to-eliminate-me-gov-ortom-cries-to-buhari/

PoliticsOrtom Reacts To Attack On Him By Suspected Herdsmen In Benue by Successionist(op): 4:17pm On Mar 20, 2021
Ortom reacts to attack on him by suspected herdsmen in BenuePublished on March 20, 2021By Ochogwu Sunday

Benue State Governor, Samuel Ortom has confirmed the attack on him by suspected militia herdsmen in his farm at Tyo-mu, along Makurdi – Gboko road earlier on Saturday.

Ortom while briefing journalists at the Benue Peoples House after the incident said he was inspecting his farm when the militia herders, who were dressed in black ambushed him and his security men and opened fire.

He said it took the swift response of his security aides to repel the attack, while he ran a long distance to escape unhurt.

The Governor lamented that the attack came a few days after the leadership of Miyetti Allah Kautal Hore held a meeting in Yola and singled him out as a thorn in their flesh that must be eliminated.

Ortom claimed to have received intelligence to that effect.

He said his life is in the hands of God and no Fulani militia has the power to take it without God’s permission, noting that as many times as they try, they would continue to fail.

The Governor insisted that the ranching law of the state will not be repealed for any reason, stressing that no intimidation could force his administration to reverse the decision of Benue people against open grazing.

He said he would send a petition to the President and security chiefs against Miyetti Allah Kautal Hore, saying that allowing the leadership of the group to walk freely with security personnel attached to them was not in the best interest of the country.

https://dailypost.ng/2021/03/20/ortom-reacts-to-attack-on-him-by-suspected-herdsmen-in-benue/

PoliticsAlake Of Egbaland Tackles Igboho, Others, Warns Against Calls For Nigeria's Brea by Successionist(op): 3:28pm On Mar 20, 2021
The Alake Of Egbaland Tackles Igboho, Others, Warns Against Calls For Nigeria's Breakup

The monarch warned that those beating the drum of war in Nigeria are calling for chaos in the country and in Africa at large.

The Alake of Egbaland, Oba Adedotun Gbadebo, has appealed to those calling for Nigeria's secession to shelve the idea.

The monarch warned that those beating the drum of war in Nigeria are calling for chaos in the country and in Africa at large.

Oba Gbadebo spoke when he played host to the National President of the National Road Transport Employers Association of Nigeria, Musa Maitakobi, the Chairman of RTEAN in Ogun State, Titilayo Akibu, and other members of the association in his palace in Ake, Abeokuta.

The visit was part of activities marking the first anniversary of Akibu as the state chairman of RTEAN in Ogun state.

Alake's statement was against the declaration of Yoruba nation and South-West secession from Nigeria by a Yoruba activist, Sunday Adeyemo, popularly called Sunday Igboho.

The monarch said Nigeria could not afford to go through another civil war, stressing that no country in the world will be willing to have over 250 million Nigerians as refugees.

The monarch said Nigerians, irrespective of their tribe, political or religious afflictions, must work together for the country's greater good.

Alake said if Nigeria fails as a country, the entire black race has failed, insisting that Nigeria is better as one united nation than breaking up.

He said in a report by Punch, "Nigerians, wherever we go in Nigeria, we must see ourselves as nationals of the same country, people of the same blood.

"We must work together to make Nigeria great because we must not fail, Nigeria must not fail, if Nigeria fails, the black race has failed and may it never happened.

"Where will over 250 million people go to? If they enter the next country, we will eat all their foods within two days; there will be no food for anybody in that place again. That is why we must remain where we are and make Nigeria work and work well."

http://saharareporters.com/2021/03/20/alake-egbaland-tackles-igboho-others-warns-against-calls-nigerias-breakup

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)