Tosinet's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Tosinet's Profile › Tosinet's Posts
I wanted to post my view about the justice’s/court’s reaction to the contempt of the court by the DSS...the court should have taken a stronger stance in curbing such impunity but they were rather talking and explaining that the DSS can’t form a parallel court. The DG of DSS should have been held responsible and sanctioned... if he defended himself with evidence that he was directed by an higher authority then necessary actions can be taken. Now impunity is growing wings and if action is not taken we have have a full grown dragon. |
freeze001:I agree with you. This act is one of the symptoms of this system of govt we run, where there’s no accountability and the system is skewed to favour some class of people and any attempt to change the status quo will be met with hard and stiff resistance. Government should start at from the community level to the local government to state level to federal level... and not the other way round as we have today. We don’t even know ourselves in terms of identity talkless of knowing what someone is up to. If there’s a structure at community/local govt level, every citizen within such localities will know he/she is a stake holder that’ll contribute to the progress and safety of such area... what we have now is every man for himself. |
wink2015:Not just any young person but with proven track record of success/excellence and philanthropic heart that can be attested to. |
LastSurvivor11:It’s not entirely correct that knowing only their mother tongue will limit them internationally. There’s no developed country today that don’t use their native tongue as their official lingual franca... Russia, Japan, China, Italy, England, Germany, France etc. |
generationz:Where’s your location? It’ll make it easier to link you with a store/installer that’ll assist you. |
generationz:It depends on your location, many solar shops are opening up around now... you can also search on Jiji for closer stores or sellers around. |
generationz:It can be used but not advisable. It will require a longer period of daylight/sunlight to charge up ur battery and couple with the fact that you will be using d battery too while charging, you may not get a full charge on ur battery by evening. |
azikiweironsi:The first time I heard about somebody called Seyi Makinde was in 1999 era when Lam Adesina was Oyo State’s governor. I was in secondary school then and we just saw a building being constructed in our school then and that it was an old student of the school “seyi makinde” that was building a library/ICT for the school. He was so young then that we were wondering if he was the one they were talking about. The then governor came to commission the building. This was a part of the numerous philanthropical acts that endeared him to different level of people that cuts across the state. |
faithscharms:You will have to check the power specification listed on your cctv... in addition to the total wattage load you carry on your inverter to see if the inverter can carry your load. There are power specs on the back of your devices... For instance your tv may have like 50w, decoder 15w, small fan 50w etc. you have to check the watt of the devices you want to power, then add them together. If your total load is not more than 200w, it can still be powered by a 500w inverter and if it is more and up to 400w it’s better to use a 1kva inverter. Note: if you can afford it, it’s best to go for a pure sine wave inverter that can power medium to heavy appliances and equipments. The cheaper inverters which are modified sine wave inverters can only safely power DC devices that use adapter that converts AC current to DC currents like laptops, decoders, all rechargeable devices etc. and light energy equipments like led tv, bulbs etc. |
faithscharms:What info do you need? |
olaolu11:I use a battery charger for charging my battery and the cable I used for connection was recommended at a solar store. |
Deicide:Most solar panels have a warranty of not less than 20 years so if there cells are not physically damaged then you are good to go. Good batteries will last you a minimum of three years after which they have to be replaced. Ensure you use charge controllers to avoid over discharging your batteries. Inverters have to be used with a bit of calculations so as not to damage them. First you have to know the total wattage of the devices and appliances you want them to power, then you should note the inverter’s peak power to help you know if they can power your appliances with surge power. Appliances like fridge, freezer, air conditioner, water pump etc. will draw a lot of power when starting up before settling down to their specified watt usage. |
cute75:Please don’t misquote me...I never said the 7k inverter or modified sine wave inverter is good for all electronics or appliances. Modified sine wave inverters which are much more cheaper than pure sine wave inverters are perfectly safe for devices that uses “dc current” like laptop, decoders, rechargeable devices etc. It is also safe for led tvs as they have inbuilt diodes and capacitors that convert AC current to DC current. So if you are powering devices like led tv, decoder, game console, energy saving bulbs, rechargeable fan, laptop etc. Its perfectly safe to use modified sine wave inverters. Note I also said dc appliances like iron, blender, cooker, freezer, air conditioners, water pump etc. are now available in the market and it’s interesting to know that these devices are connected directly to the battery and not through an inverter. For those with available resources that want to power “AC appliances” they already own with an inverter, you have to use a type of inverter called pure sine wave inverter. They can safely power AC and DC appliances. There are inexhaustible information about renewable energy usage online and new infos come up everyday to change the way we view and use energy. |
micki1:
[code][/code] Meklex:You can go for a DIY by acquiring the components yourself and get an installer to install for you. If your load is not more than; -Normal standing fan not industrial fan -Laptop -energy saving bulbs i.e white bulbs A 500w Solar inverter will carry the load but you can go for a 1000w Solar inverter incase u want to add led tv, decoder or other devices. 500w Solar inverter 6-7k 1000w inverter 12-15k Solar Charge Controller 30-50A- (3k-7k) You can get the two items cheaper on aliexpress website. Then you need solar panel for charging your battery unless you have another source to charge your battery. For 100ah battery you need 250-300w solar panel while you need 400-450w for 200ah battery. It will determine how fast your battery will charge. Also, having solar panel ensures you have power throughout the day while your battery will power your need in the night. Depending on your location, for instance if you’re close to alaba in Lagos, components are cheaper. 100ah battery Used- 20k+/- New- 35k+/- 200ah battery Used- 40k +/- New- 75k +/- 300w solar panel- 40k-70k 250w 35k-60k 200w 28k-50k 150w 20k-30k So components depend on your location and quantity you are buying. |
Meklex:It depends on your need in term of loads you want to carry, your budget etc. There are solar shops around that can help with your design and installation but if you want DIY, it involves a bit of tweaking and technical knowledge. Basic components for a solar setup are; -Inverter -Solar Panel -Solar Charge Controller -Battery It now depends on the scale of your setup to meet your consumption needs. |
micki1:I did a search on Jiji and connected with the seller. It was a used/refurbished battery and the battery health is at 100% capacity. |
A teacher beat a girl that all her skin were peeling like that cos of the beating while I was in secondary school...the girl was crying uncontrollably that some other teachers had to pet the girl but couldn’t caution the teacher. What we did not know is that she’s a sister to a reputable thug that finished from same school years back cos we students just saw some teachers hailing him “oosha baba!”. I will never forget the hot ifarun (back of head slap) he gave the teacher that his cap flew off, chai we’re not good students then cos we’re rolling on the ground laughing. They had to pull the guy off the teacher but not before delivering some life lessons to the teacher. Since that day I promised myself never to receive beating from teachers again, not dt I neva qualified for beating but I just use to find my way from such avenues. ![]() PS: the teacher did not beat another student till I left the school two years later. |
aolawale025:Not that they are more skilled but just that they received better training. All these skills should be handled by technical schools but most of them are comatose same as other educational facilities in Nigeria. The country’s educational system is warped right from primary to tertiary institutions. |
marcjoe:The normal iron we use can be used on a powerful inverter but the DC appliances can be powered with a battery i.e you connect to your battery directly.
I don’t even have up to your budget to invest on solar yet and I’m already using one as I just hate generators. My setup: 500w solar inverter-6000 (led tv 32”, laptop, havit speaker with whoofer, energy saving bulbs etc.) Battery charger- 6000 (10A battery charger) 100ah battery- 25000 (Uk used but battery health is still 100%) there’s more info on batteries if needed like lithium batteries which are lighter and stronger. Also 200ah battery for the type I bought is 45k. Cable for connection and other little connectors- 5000 Total- N47000 Based on loads I use at a time, it last a minimum of 5 hours, and if I’m on laptop only which is 85w, I’ve used it for more than 8hours and it did not run down. In my area we have at least 4hours light in a day and if the phcn supply is not faulty, my 100ah gets charged within same period. For me to have guaranteed light on my solar setup throughout the day, I need a 250-300w solar panel which is like 45-50k at Alaba market and 30A Charge Controller which is like 6-10k depending on source. Don’t mind me I’m a DIY kind of person and it fascinates to There are many DC appliances like (dc iron 6000, dc blender 13000, dc fan 10000, dc freezer, dc cooker, dc water pump, dc air conditioning etc) that you can buy now and it can be connected directly to your battery for usage. I’m available if you have questions. |
soberdrunk:Yes now... I just like to always look for alternative and out of box ways to get desired results. |
soberdrunk:Not necessarily. State transport companies and other private transportation companies can arrange in conjunction with financial institutions to use this type of vehicles for taxi operations, where drivers will be employed to drive within specified axis. These companies will have their own service centres and with their link with manufacturers, replacement parts and a form of swapping for latest brands after a number of years of usage can be in place. |
Heffe:It was the point we were before where local government had autonomy but for lack of transparency and corrupt practices, where money were just being shared at the local government or creation of some bogus project to embezzle money, hence the joining of their account to that of state government so the governor can be a regulator. What we now have is the governors using the money themselves at their own discretion for whatever purposes at the detriment of the LGA. |
Cherrybae:You have a good point. It’s a good start and a good move by the NFIU, but they should not stop there. The reason why local government funds are joined to the state account in the first instance is the lack of transparency and lot of corruption where money is shared rather than being used for development of local governments. This did not bring the intended solution as the governors now see themselves as lords over LGA funds to use at their discretion thereby replacing one corrupt practice with another. There must be a regulatory body that oversees and regulates LGA, it may be creating a board (elected/not elected) in each LGA that represents the people to ensure accountability and responsibility. |
There’s no need for production of higher denomination notes at this age and level of technology. It promotes corruption tendencies and crimes like embezzlement, bribery, robbery, kidnapping, terrorism, rituals, fraud etc. Nigeria needs to cancel the production of high denomination notes like 200,500,1000 making N100 our highest denomination. All cash transactions that is more than N5000 should be done electronically thus no need for higher notes. Small businesses like chemist, business centres, vegetable/ fruit sellers etc. already use POS for transactions. This should be encouraged and incentivized by paying lower VAT than paper cash transactions. A lot of crimes involving cash can be drastically reduced and business transactions can be more secured as electronic transactions can be easily tracked and monitored. Those that have “saved” cash in stores and hidden houses should be given a period of time like 12-24 months to get there money into their digital accounts that may be linked to their ID Card. |
We should not be against creation of state police just because some governors can abuse such avenue rather we should look at ways to ensure sanity in their operations. Look at the courts of justice for instance, there are courts at local government level, state government level and federal government level but the level of abuse is very minute because there are check and balances by regulatory boards controlling them. Police should also exist at all levels of government with allocated jurisdictions and hierarchy. They should have professional registration body that certify individuals at different level to qualify to be a police officer where the individuals will be held accountable for misconducts. The professional body also regulates their establishment and operations. Different minimum standards should be met before the establishment of new police stations in terms of infrastructure, facilities and equipments, (unlike what we have in the medical line with death traps called hospitals existing everywhere- no oxygen, no ambulance, unmotivated/unprofessional man power etc.) Look at higher institutions, if anyone private, state, or federal government wants to establish a school, different approvals, resource verification, accreditations has to take place by their regulatory bodies just to minimize abuse and unprofessional behaviors. In establishing state police, it requires a lot of work, consultations, case studies to come up with framework and modus operandi it will take. Clear line of jurisdictions and hierarchy should exist to reduce and curb infraction among security bodies. Every last person in an area or community should be known and accounted for. This can only be possible with existence of state, local government and community policing structures for intelligence gathering, emergency response and law enforcement to reduce crimes. |
Ekiti,Ondo,Osun,Oyo....have a lot to network on too to be in the economic mainstream. Transportation (Interstate Rail,good highways,fully functional airport, etc.), Agriculture (targeted plantations and livestocks..., processing and production, quality control, machinery with service centers, research institutes for best outputs) Industrialization-(production and processing of our produces with the states as primary consumers; delving into production of clean energy...solar panels,wind turbines, batteries, etc.; Recycling plants to manage and turn waste to useful and beneficial products) -Waste Management ( Innovations in waste management- collection, sorting, recycling etc.) -Water ways (Application of knowledge of topography to properly channel drainages to main outlets...) -Investment ( focus more on making infrastructures “public owned” not few politicians owned. There are millions on citizens willing to own a share and contribute there own quota to living a fulfilling life) -Security ( I’m of the argument that toll gates should return to our roads to improve security, reduce substandard roads as road owners/investors will want to protect and reduce maintenance costs. Policing can be inclusive where there will be elected boards to regulate and ensure top delivery) The above submission is applicable to all zones in Nigeria. |
In my secondary school days we have expert beaters; (Alfa- further maths teacher, fagbenro-physics, Alhaji adeleke, computer- understands where to beat for maximum pain, chemistry teacher- deeper life guy)... I don’t want to mention school name but those that attended dt school will surely know these guys although the teachers will be much older now or they’ve retired.... My own experience is to take the japaa route even if it’s to jump out of window and not enter class again throughout the week- (we have school two for touts and urchins...most of those thugs then are responsible now as I still see a few of them) On rare occasions though, there is no escape for stubborn child as raids may be conducted once in a while by a task force of those teachers, prefects and sometimes police... I have a lot of escapades we in my set still laugh about now... |
I think toll gates should be reintroduced to our roads and this time it should meet international standards with security units of (police, custom, immigration, nscdc,military etc.) to ease security and road maintenance. Cars- N100/toll Buses,vans, pickup-hilux...etc.- N200/toll Casters, lorries, coastals, etc- N500/toll Luxurious buses, trailers, tankers, containers etc- N1000/toll -Vehicle impound park for defaulters with hefty fines... -Car thieves/ kidnappers/ Armed robbers... easily tracked ... - Smugglers/ overloads/ can be curbed and reduced...
5 banks fleeced N15.7b in Q1 2019 |
With even a 1kv Solar Setup, you can enjoy 24/7 electricity. Cost of setup should be between 230k-320k depending on ur location and tech knowledge. 1kva pure sine wave inverter - 600w solar panel- Solar Charge Controller- 200ah deep cycle battery- Installation cost/ DIY For low key setup to carry load of (LED tv, decoder, fan, light bulbs- energy saving, etc) from 2hrs upwards depending on your load... 500w solar inverter- (5k-6k) 300w solar panel- (not compulsory if u have source to charge your battery daily like PHCN,generator source etc. requires battery charger) Solar Charge Controller- (Not applicable if you are not using solar panel yet) 100ah deep cycle battery- (25k-60k depends on location and type) Battery Charger- 5k-8k |