Stats: 3,325,600 members, 8,422,764 topics. Date: Monday, 08 June 2026 at 06:54 PM

Utaroz's Posts

Nairaland ForumUtaroz's ProfileUtaroz's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 (of 6 pages)

BusinessRe: Paid Employment Or Running Self Business by Utaroz(m): 6:56pm On Oct 19, 2009
Self employment.
Car TalkRe: Five Weeks I Have Order My Car From Coutonu by Utaroz(m): 10:57pm On Oct 18, 2009
tenhap:
I had a similar experience in 2003. I paid in full for a car in April and it was to be delivered to me one week after. Things never quite worked out that way as the same kind of stories came up. After waiting for two months, i decided to take a trip to lagos to bring back the car myself (being that at this time, my car was said to have come in from cotonou and was in Lagos.) When i got to Lagos, the dealer (an old time friend of mine) went under and would not take my calls. Through the help of another friend, the car was traced to Owode where is was still parked with some parts taken off. Well, i had to return to the east and wait some more and after two weeks or so, the car was eventually delivered to me but not without the dealer cooking up some extra expenses amounting to well over 50k. I got my car and resolved to pay my friend (the dealer) in his own coin - "i go pay today, i go pay tomorrow". I eventually gave him 10k and that was it, i refused to pay a dime more!! I suppose your car's been bought, but perhaps the guy used part of the money to satisfy another customer. If my experience is anything to go by, you will eventually get the car but may have to pay 'a little extra'. Some of these dealers are not just trustworthy!!!
Most likely scenario.
Car TalkRe: Five Weeks I Have Order My Car From Coutonu by Utaroz(m): 10:53pm On Oct 18, 2009
ayodeji1:
i dont really think its wise to involve the soldiers.cos that is like taking the laws into your hands.u should be very careful with whatever step u are going to take cos somethings u do might change the whole story to boomerang on u.in my own opinion,if u are to even involve the soldiers,u have to inform the police first.and i still think its very necessary for u to go to wherever he claims your car is and see if its true,cos i doubt if hes telling the truth about this.
And what will he tell the cops? That he got gypped by a guy who was supposed to smuggle a car for him illegaly into the country? And that the model of the car has been proscribed by law in Nigeria? Well, sounds like double wahala to me! grin
RomanceRe: Who Is A Nice Guy---pls Define by Utaroz(m): 10:42pm On Oct 18, 2009
A dude who readily gives everything (to babes) but asks for nothing in return, much as he might wish for something! wink cheesy grin
PoliticsRe: Fg Declares Mend Enemy Of State by Utaroz(m): 10:17pm On Oct 18, 2009
The way FG is going with the unorganized rehabilitation of thr "repentant" militants may just swell the ranks of MEND. Enemy of state tag is not new to the militants.
FamilyRe: Is It Normal?: Wanting Out Of The Relationship by Utaroz(m): 12:28am On Oct 18, 2009
Princek12:
Poster:
You are suffering from "not being appreciative of having it good and not counting God's blessings for giving you someone that wants to marry you." Maybe when you leave him and date a string of losers who only want to chop you without commitment, and you are growing old and lonely and can't find a comparable man to your current man who wants to wife you, and another woman has taken over your current man and bore his kids, then you will be appreciative if you ever find another good man again. And YOU MAY NEVER find another one as good as him.
Ouch!! undecided
Car TalkRe: Five Weeks I Have Order My Car From Coutonu by Utaroz(m): 7:36pm On Oct 17, 2009
BTRKINGS:
SO SORRY ABOUT YOUR PLIGHT
I THINK IT IS OBVIOUS THAT U'VE FALLEN INTO THE WRONG HAND, LET ME START BY BRINGING TO THE FORE SOME BASIC INFORMATIONS THAT ARE VERY TRUE ABOUT CAR IMPORTATION FROM COTONU. GOING BY THE INFORMATION U POSTED, U ACTUALLY BOUGHT A 1994 CAR MADE WHICH IS NOT DUTIFULL AND BY IMPLICATION IT CAN NEVER BE LEGALLY CLEARD, MEANING THAT IT WILL COME INTO NIGERIA THRU D BUSH WHILE CUSTOMS ARE GIVEN THEIR SETTLEMENT.
ANOTHER THING I WOULD LIKE TO EDUCATE U ABOUT IS DAT NO M,MATTER HOW SLUGISH your AGENT IN COTONU MAY BE D MOVEMENT OF CARS FRM COTONU TO EITHER SEME OR IDIROKO BORDER WILL NOT TAKE LONGER THAN 3 WORKING DAYS PROVIDED ALL FINANCIAL CONDITIONS HAVE BN MET.

Your point here will hold if the vehicle has been bought and cleard at Cotonou! The poster was not very explicit on the transaction. Seems the dude just paid money into the dealer's account, who he did not know but was referred by his sister. in which case, your 3 day deadline hardly count!
RomanceRe: What Is Ur Idea Of A Romantic Getaway? by Utaroz(m): 6:58pm On Oct 17, 2009
The creeks in Niger Delta grin grin cheesy grin grin
FamilyRe: Wombs For Rent In Nigeria - Is This Greed Or Madness? by Utaroz(m): 5:59pm On Oct 17, 2009
-sigh-

Signs of the end Times.
PoliticsRe: Alert From The Nigerian Police Force by Utaroz(m): 5:46pm On Oct 17, 2009
So, if the cops have this much intelligence information on these areas, whats with the "Stay Away" alert? Why not fish out the ritualists and make the places mentioned safe?
Car TalkRe: Five Weeks I Have Order My Car From Coutonu by Utaroz(m): 5:26pm On Oct 17, 2009
Im sure he must have told you the car was at Owode or somewhere like that grin These are some of the tricks of these smugglers when they are busy trading with your money, while you keep sweating out the suspense. I bet you, you wont get your money readily if you request for it. They usually wait until some other sucker give them money to buy a vehicle for them and they'd use it to give you some part payment or they might sell off your car with profit and pay you off.

This is the disadvantage of trying to save money by smuggling cars through the border. If your post came earlier, I'd have advised you to stay clear of these smugglers and buy your car at extra cost in naija. You cant call the cops on him since you are involved in illegality and they know this.

As it is, the best thing to do is to make out time and go trace the vehicle. I'm willing to bet it will still be at the stand where you bought it at Cotonou. I believe it'll do your blood pressure a lot of good if you sight the car at least. If you are patient enough, you will get it. All the story you are hearing is delay tactics. He has traded with the part of money you advanced him.
PoliticsRe: Anambra Needs Ngige Back! by Utaroz(m): 6:14pm On Oct 16, 2009
Nicklee:
Nigerians will never cease to amaze me - a man constructs some roads, that is it and he is t he best man for the office of the Governor!!!!. Thank God I don't even live in Nigeria anymore, this sort of senseless argument would have made me sick by now.

I am not from Anambra, so I have no stakes there - but to tell me that a man, who stooped so low just to get access to power, is being celebrated this way for whatever 'roads' he constructed is appalling. We are always so quick to forget that development is a wholistic exercise. You don't do one at the detriment of others - that shows no blueprint at all.
Well Nicklee, we are reasoning under the Nigeria context. The opinions shared here is not a reflection on the ignorance of posters on developmental standards. In a society bereft of basic amenities and infrastructure, a significant effort in any strata of development is celebrated. smiley
Such is the situation the nation finds itself. We have a wholistic 7-point agenda at the national level at the moment, but I'm sure Nigerians would celebrate at least, the implementation of regular power supply! This is not an analysis of an ideal situation, but the emergence of any agent of greater good.
HealthRe: We Perform Surgeries With Torch Lights - Doctors by Utaroz(m): 6:03pm On Oct 16, 2009
toideve:
exaggeration undecided
Yeah, how I wish it were. Sadly enough, the situation is worse than what is stated. Healthcare issues in naija have reached emergency proportions. The doctors are not the issue and it's pointless blaming them as some of us are doing. The government policy on health care is yawning for attention.
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Wins Un Security Council Seat by Utaroz(m): 5:52pm On Oct 16, 2009
This is as good opportunity for the nation as the leaders chose to exploit it.
PoliticsRe: Senate Approves Dantosho As Chief Judge Of Federal High Court by Utaroz(m): 5:46pm On Oct 16, 2009
Hurray to the Chief Judge Whatshisname! May he administer justice fairly and without bias.
PoliticsRe: Anambra Needs Ngige Back! by Utaroz(m): 5:23pm On Oct 16, 2009
I recall Ngige fought a monolithic battle against some principalities in his time. If my facts are right  - he was the governor that was taken to a shrine to swear oaths of allegiance, was slapped around for alleged insubordination by his god father, was kidnapped while serving as a sitting governor etc. I recall he had the will power to not only fight back, but to actually overcome the overwhelming might of the PDP biggies and went ahead to give a good account of himself in Anambra, especially in the area of road construction.

He has demonstrated a capacity to govern well under pressure and believe me, you need that kind of skill to govern a state like Anambra.
However, it is apparent he did not make money in his previous reign. I reckon he just might try to help himself this time around  wink On the other hand, I have a lot of respect and confidence in Soludo's capacity to implement strategies to spike that state out of it's infrastructural coma. My only unease is the platform on which he is poised to contest the post. With the avid followership of the Anenih's and other PDP principalities, one cannot but fear the inclusion of monkey paws inside the soup pot! cheesy

If only the people of Anambra are given the opportunity to chose for themselves in a free and fair election! sad
PoliticsRe: MEND Say No More Ceasefire: by Utaroz(m): 4:27pm On Oct 16, 2009
emisun:
it is only a fool that would think the niger delta problem can be solved through dialogue.as we can recall through the bible[i],the authorities in heaven responded to the devil through violence by throwing him down.they didn't negotiate with him.[/i]people pls get this into your heads,u don't negotiate with evil.u only fight it.THE FG IS EVIL AND NEED TO BE FOUGHT WITH VIOLENCE!!!.I PRAY GOD STRENGTHENS MEND.ALUTA CONTINUES!!.
Should highlighted be assumed to be an advise to the authorities in Nigeria? huh
FashionRe: How Cute Does Low Cut Look On A Lady by Utaroz(m): 4:20pm On Oct 16, 2009
It takes some confidence for ladies to go on low cutz. It could be stunning if one has the right skull shape, but I daresay it is not recommended for everyone. cheesy cheesy grin cheesy

wink
PoliticsRe: MEND Say No More Ceasefire: by Utaroz(m): 4:05pm On Oct 16, 2009
I'm sure MEND will remain the voice of the ND struggle for a long time. However, if they start bombing and blowing things up at this critical period, they may risk losing some good will; even in their home base.

Might be wiser to wait and see the action of this administration towards addressing the genuine grievances of the region. Except of course, if they represent the interest of those who reap from the sharpnels of chaos.
PoliticsRe: Bankole To Niger Delta: Your Leaders Failed You by Utaroz(m): 3:45pm On Oct 16, 2009
The post appeared meaningful for an interesting discourse but there are lots of sentiments at play here!  undecided

Obviously there are lots of pent up grievances and most national issues are viewed from ethnic prisms. Hardly a symptom of recovery for a nation desperate for a life-line!

Which Way Nigeria?
NYSCRe: Family Of Slain Corps Member Rejects N2m by Utaroz(m): 3:41pm On Oct 15, 2009
What a sad and painful story!  cry May her soul rest in peace.
NYSCRe: Family Of Slain Corps Member Rejects N2m by Utaroz(m): 3:40pm On Oct 15, 2009
cry cry cry
HealthRe: We Perform Surgeries With Torch Lights - Doctors by Utaroz(m): 1:49pm On Oct 15, 2009
Nezan:
^ Dont mind them, they will never ask for light to be provided, when next you hear they are on strike, it will be to demand for higher pay only . . what a selfish bunch.
Easy with the barbs brother. Doctors are not well paid in Nigeria. Except ofcourse, if you are a consultant.
TravelRe: Why Do People Back Home Think Money Grows On Trees Abroad? by Utaroz(m): 1:38pm On Oct 15, 2009
Marymos:
This subject is very interesting.So money dont grow on trees abroad?Is not true[i].May be some of u abroad complaining have not been to the forest where such trees can be found.[/i]Just come and see how some of this our brothers abroad spend when they come to Nigeria for holiday.You will be tempted to sale all you have to travel abroad.So things are tough there too.Nawa oh.
U tell 'em bro! grin grin grin

Honestly though, the issue of coping with financial demands is not exclusive to guys abroad. I daresay it is less on them because some may not like to pay for international call rate to press home their demand. Home based guys get sponged on regular basis and they dont even need to call you. They could just drift into your house unannounced and even if you dont have anything to give, you have to at least pay for the Trans! cheesy It could be irritating, I agree but hey! Times are hard on some of our brothers and sisters. The jobs are not even there, so its not like everyone who ask is lazy. Dont give if you cant afford to, but dont be judgemental on those who beg. It is a blessing to be begged and not a beggar.
HealthRe: We Perform Surgeries With Torch Lights - Doctors by Utaroz(m): 12:58pm On Oct 15, 2009
Nigerian Doctors are miracle workers. They operate under war-zone working conditions.
Why do you think your rulers seek medical attention abroad?

You are shocked that they use torch light for surgery?

Sometimes the scalpels are sharpened by scraping it against a stone and surgical gloves are washed, dried and re-used!
No be joke'o! grin grin grin
PoliticsRe: The New Multi-national Identity Card.to Be Or Not To Be? by Utaroz(m): 9:28pm On Oct 14, 2009
Its anoda 2011 calculation to win elections,have u guys forgotten the stories behind the last one that was neva conclusive.Obasanjo and his cohort used it to win the 2003 elections.Afolabi was made to pay for it wen the fraud was discovered,and the census monies was for 2007 elections.Anytime an election year is coming watch out for a white elephant project

Heh heh heh heh! grin
BusinessRe: N516bn Fresh Scams Uncovered In Three Banks by Utaroz(m): 5:33pm On Oct 14, 2009
Dereformer:
Nigerians, this has become too unbearable, time to act is now. Nobody should put his money in any of these commercial banks. The first person to see any of these culprits on the street should stone him/her to death. The much needed reform/revolution has finally started. I hereby declare Ibru, Akingbola, etc enemies of the state.
So, we should dig a hole in the back garden and bury our savings eh? Transfer from one termite to another! wink

Gaskiya grin
PoliticsRe: Nigeria Completes Milestone In Space by Utaroz(m): 4:19pm On Oct 14, 2009
Well, i believe they'll be smart enough to locate the control station in another country. If not NEPA go show them the definition of Power Holding grin grin grin
TV/MoviesRe: Chimamanda's Book Picked For A Hollywood Movie by Utaroz(m): 4:12pm On Oct 14, 2009
Great news! Kudos to 'Amanda. Naija's still got talent!
PoliticsRe: Yar'adua Repudiates NIA Memo On El Rufai And Ribadu, Fires Dg Imohe ! by Utaroz(m): 3:45pm On Oct 14, 2009
Poor Mr. Emmanuel Enarune Imohe! cry

wink
BusinessRe: N516bn Fresh Scams Uncovered In Three Banks by Utaroz(m): 3:27pm On Oct 14, 2009
Vavavoom:
Hmm! The puzzle is now falling in place, largest shareholding in Aero Contractors by the Ibrus. Did they say jets? Could it have anything to do with ACN trying to sell 500,000 seats at reduced rates? Smells like recoup in my ears.
You may just be right there! There are also some funny conditions to those fares which make it so rigid. Check in closes 44 minutes to take off (local flights). Rebooking attracts a surchage of N13k on a N15k fare route (subject to seat availability)! You are also supposed to pay No Show fee (minimum of N3k)! The e-tickets are also[b] non transferable and non refundable[/b], except when the flight is cancelled by the carrier. The rules apply to passengers who try to enjoy the reduced rates only. Cash paying passengers are usually given preference at the expense of on-line booking once it is one hour to flight time. This usually ensures the possibility of selling one seat twice & maximizing returns.

It's a mop up exercise! grin

1 2 3 4 5 6 (of 6 pages)