Stats: 3,153,396 members, 7,819,411 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 03:53 PM

Verycheese's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Verycheese's Profile / Verycheese's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (of 8 pages)

Travel / My Nigerian Passport Renewla Experience In London by verycheese: 3:48pm On Mar 23, 2023
I recently applied for renewal of my Nigerian passports at the Nigeria High Commission in London.

Below is my experience for anyone planning same:

*PART ONE*

1. I first followed an online link to submit my application for passport renewal at: https://portal.immigration.gov.ng/pages/passportpaymentguidelines.
2. I got an appointment date which was approximately 1 month from the date of my online application. Appointment time 9am. (Others shared experiences that it's really first come first serve rather than appointment times).

3. I left Scotland a day before my appointment, found a cheap flight for that day (£36). I put up at a friend's place.

4. I arrived the High Commission 8am on the day of my appointment, there was a long queue already.

5. I didn't get a C4 Special Delivery envelope and Postage order payable to the Nig High Commission. These are requirements but I didn't have them, walked a distance to find a post office but they didn't open until 9am, so waited.

6. When I returned at 9:10, the queue was moving and requirements including postage odder were checked and you were given a number and let in. If requirements were incomplete, they didn't let the affected persons in. But you can pay for the postage order with them as well, slightly higher price than if you buy from the post office.

7. Thankfully, the queue had not moved past my spot. I got number 138. A long queue that reached around the corner of the next street but moving.

8. Once jn, there were instructions on what to do and on which of your copies to write your details.

9. The documents were confirmed at the counter and you were sent upstairs from there to wait for capturing. It was paced quite well. No undue delays.

10. Upstairs, filled another simple form: Poster Service Disclaimer. From here they called people by their names rather than numbers in batches of 12 and these people moved to get captured in another room. This stage was paced ok with approximately 25minutes between each set of 12 persons . This was the longest waiting phase.

11. The capturing itself was quite fast-paced. And took roughly 5 to get minutes done.

12. I stepped out of the building at 12 noon sharp. That's roughly 3 hours from when they started to attend to the queue.

Romance / Re: Why Are Women In A Rush To Get Married? by verycheese: 10:27pm On Nov 21, 2021
Yiu are not okay. So she should not marry? If they don't marry now, you will still be the one to mock them. It is good for women to want marriage and although she made a hard decision, it is best for her. Now you stop being entitled. You are not ready, she is ready. 4yrs relationship like couple without marriage and you think God is pleased with two of you? Her decision is best. Now you park well.

12 Likes 2 Shares

Family / Re: Marriage And Its Challenges; My wife is pushing me to the extremes by verycheese: 8:02pm On May 20, 2020
ademidedavid:

It was just a slap at her back.....just to caution her because I am not the talking type

JuSt a slap at her back, I hope if she gives you Just a slap at the back of your flat head to caution you against Just slapping her, you won't run here with mucus in your nose crying that they beat you?? Answer me ó.

They are correcting you, instead to shut up and accept correction you are making excuses 'Im not the talking type yẹn yen' so not bn talking type = to slapping people?

But you have never slapped people in your office because you are not talking type? Adeke

Family / Re: Marriage And Its Challenges; My wife is pushing me to the extremes by verycheese: 7:54pm On May 20, 2020
The most urgent question for you to ask is 'how can I show regret for my lack of restraint and laying my hands on another adult who is married to me?', after you have gotten help for that one you will then ask about how to change mentality.

You mentioned laying your hands on your wife in passing and excusing your behaviour as ordinarily you are not like that. How many ppl that have provoked 6ou outside your home have you beaten? You have problem.

So you don't know that marriage is dynamic and issues will come up, it's your wife today, tomorrow it will be you who has deviated from some standards, in fact you have deviated by beating her. If she had beaten you back forr deviating from a Godly man to the one that beats his wife, would you have understood? Answer me or you pass who dem go beat? Unto say you carry XY chromosome. And it's a big fat lie that your dad has never beaten your mum, you just chose to blot it out of your memory. Fix your priorities dear

ademidedavid:
It's no longer a story that pastors divorce their partners, imams divorce their partners, highly educated people do same and even the so called marriage counsellors are not left out in the order of the day and it has always been a thing of worry for me with the thought that they never loved each other before marriage but getting married has changed my thinking and has made me realised that marriage only takes the grace of God to work out.

I have been married for 3 years with 1 beautiful daughter with a loving wife (maybe before and some years into the marriage). I have always believed that I cannever raise my hand on my woman since my father never did such but I find it hard to believe I did the unimaginable today although It wasn't intentional.

It was due to annoyance after she asked me to stop sitting at home and go work for more money like other men even though I am a federal worker with above 100k monthly income and still do personal work as a civil engineer apart from the federal job despite the lockdown.....

It really got me aggravated because I have been the one fending for the family and the kid for the past 3 years and never asked for a kobo from her.....

Although I have noticed the urge for very flamboyant life style in her lately and has even asked me to get more money at any means, that money is everything in this life even though I have tried telling her its a gradual process, she still doesn't listen and even asked me to raise money for her to travel out of Nigeria.

I have never thought of raising my hands on any woman let alone my wife.....

Please how do I change her sudden mentality towards this sudden extravagant life style because I pray it doesn't lead to something else since I can't do illegal things to acquire the type of wealth she dreams of?

Romance / Re: My Wife Is Too Stiff, Gives Me Timetable For Sex by verycheese: 11:35pm On May 18, 2020
delkuf:
Thank bro. this is what I am thinking of doing
Use your own hand to destroy your marriage, you hear?? Do t go and find transport fare for all the places you want to go, be looking for boy scout gang on NL.

Somebody is expecting her first child, the father of the child is tryi g to syphon all her money, if she follow your mouth for this transport fare begging everytime, how will she take care of her baby when it arrives?

Your wife is not leaving you bn pregnant despite you are not providing but you want to show her shege for not yielding to your entitlement mentality. You are not a serious human being.

To ba wun e, ko fi owo ara e se ara e. Orí ẹ a pe

Romance / Re: My Wife Is Too Stiff, Gives Me Timetable For Sex by verycheese: 11:28pm On May 18, 2020
Sannu oga! Sweet story, so you are all good and she's the only one with issues? Have you considered that her pregnancy may be causing her aversion to sex, ever heard of pregnancy hormones?? You better step up and be serious with your roles as a provider and partner, respect is earned.

You will have enough sex with your wife, you Ll be amazed... Find work first before your baby comes, stop bn so negative and look inwards, how can you be a better husband and man??

delkuf:
This is not the issue of Manning up, you don't know what I am experiencing. she gives me time table for sex. is not like I am demanding. the last time I slept with is over three weeks ago. I have talked with her. Her younger sister have talked with her, she is to adamant.

Romance / Re: My Wife Is Too Stiff, Gives Me Timetable For Sex by verycheese: 11:23pm On May 18, 2020
Simple as ABC. Grow up OP. Asking your pregnant wife for money every now and then as if you are her son. And instead of you to think, you want to blackmail her into sponsoring you and like a sulky child, you want out of your marriage cos your wife isn't giving you money. Go and find work, ole

Ningen:
Her attitude is because you're obviously broke.

Go out and hustle.
Stop asking your pregnant wife for money.

Be her provider and she'll become FLEXIBLE.

Romance / Re: My Wife Is Too Stiff, Gives Me Timetable For Sex by verycheese: 11:20pm On May 18, 2020
Why so wise sir? Your mother succeeded on you. Good advice.

thorpido:
You dated her enough to know her response to matters or were you two just fvckin?
Na now you wan bend person wey stiff?

You're thinking of quitting the marriage without working at it so your child will suffer?You've got to man up.
People may hardly change when they are grown.You need to talk to your wife from time to time and make her see reasons to compromise sometimes.
The best way to encourage someone to give is by showing examples of giving too.Make sure you do this to your wife often - time,attention,help with house chores and money.

Islam for Muslims / Re: Slaughtering Animal Upon Constructing A New House by verycheese: 5:31pm On Feb 21, 2020
Sirseedorf:
Salam Aleekhum and happy jumah to you all.

please I've got a question I want to ask.

As a Muslim if one just rented an apartment or a room, what should s/he do ( fortification) before moving in to the housing.

thanks .

Reciting or playing suratul Baqarah in it and as many times as possible as the surat drives away jinns
Family / Re: I Just Ended My Marriage! Single Mum I Married Still Contacts Her Ex Regularly by verycheese: 1:44pm On Jan 11, 2020
streetsoldier1:

It's a wrong reasoning to conclude on what you know nothing about. I did no one favour and never acted like god. Can't you just keep shut if you have nothing to say

You are so rude and that's a fact. The exact crime of this single mother, we do not know, just an umbrella excuse, contacting her ex, how? Sleeping with him, talking about their child or what??
Mind you, you still have some growing up to do, advising everyone to not marry a single mother, imagine?
So cis you had a bad experience now, all single mothers are bad? Where lies the wisdom? If one man has drowned, the rest of mankind should never swim again??

Anyways o rude and contrary to the saintly image of yourself that you have painted here, I know damn well you as well as the woman fell short in your maturity and look at childish you trying to emphasise her single mum status to score points. I pity the next gal that enter your trap. Mtw

Politics / Re: DSS Begged Sowore To Accept 'Death Warrant' Deal - Falana by verycheese: 8:55pm On Dec 09, 2019
Officialgarri:

Death warrant he meant doesn't mean death literally .

He's only speaking figuratively.

Thanks for explaining ó. I have tried to understand it all day. English is not beans my brother, thank you.
Crime / Re: Ghanaian Man Beats His Wife Into Coma For Having Sex With Another Man (Photo) by verycheese: 7:08pm On Dec 07, 2019
Kendumazy:
It takes an extra ordinary patience for one to catch his wife live having sex with another man and not react. Wish her speedy recovery though.

8GB atm card flash drive for #1000 only. Nice gift for your clients this season. Check my signature below to contact me.

I thought only women are jealous and act crazy when they see their man with another woman. So it takes grace too for the man? We learn daily

Travel / Re: Lakowe Lakes - A Beautiful Paradise In Lagos by verycheese: 11:28am On Dec 02, 2019
How much is the entrance fee?

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by verycheese: 6:48pm On Oct 25, 2019
elohim24:
@verycheese, please how much did you pay for verification in ABU?
18k5
Sports / Re: Mohammed bin Salman Is Man Utd Potential Buyer by verycheese: 7:04pm On Oct 22, 2019
Is he married? It's not all about money. Time waits for no one
Education / Re: UNILAG, Why Is There A Long Delay In Getting Our Academic Transcript? by verycheese: 6:39pm On Oct 22, 2019
The problem is everywhere. I paid fees to have my transcript sent from ABU. I was kidding, it never arrived the institution! That was over a year ago.

But I want to focus on solution now, I applied a second time and because I could not physically be present in zaria, I asked a good friend who lives there to help me follow up, I begged him very much to endure the poor services and just collect it after they have addressed it to the foreign body. Note that I had paid for courier as part of the charges and they were supposed to send it but I know that if I am serious with my life, I can't trust the uni to send it, a lot could go wrong. In fact they said they would wait for it to pile up and can take them a month or more before eventually sending it, still, it would be asking too much for me to expect that it would even get to the destination.

The guy collected it, put it in another envelope and addressed it to me via ni post in Lagos. I then sent it through courier. It had arrived the destination in 2 days.

Next was verification. The body sent a mail to ABU asking them to confirm that the transcripts originated from the school but they did nothing. I kept waiting. I kept mailing the body and they kept saying Abu had not verified. Mind you, all ABU needs to do is send just an email!

Anyways, I contacted this good friend of mine again and he found out the office where the mail was to be sent from, turns out I have to pay. So we quickly paid and they sent the email. But the body never got it.

So, I sent my good friend who was leaving his job to help me do all that and I was getting embarrassed. He would go again and he had some luck talking with them, they would actually click the send button in his presence but still those ones didn't receive anything.

I begged him to help me go again and complain, he did and then they allegedly resent the email and copied me. But I didn't receive the email and at that time I was convinced that they had never done the right thing, cos if I can't get it, it means the one they've been sending to the body so never got there. Emails are so seamless so you can imagine the annoyance that they can't get that right.

Well, I waited for 2 weeks and mustered the courage to beg this friend of mine to go there again, then he did and he managed to convince them to resend and copy me, so they did again and for the first time, I received the email. The following day, the foreign body mailed me that they had gotten it and have proceeded with treating my documents. This was at the end of 3 months begging to just have an email sent!

Why did I take time to write all these? I was very frustrated during the period. And I'm writing to encourage others with similar experiences. I have also taken time to do this to let you know that you shouldn't fold your hands and assume that your requests will be processed, there are no systems in place to ensure that. So you must push, push and push. As you may have inferred from my case, pushing brought the results. If I had allowed them defeat me with their bad behavior and unprofessionalism, a major dream of mine would have died. So push.

27 Likes 4 Shares

Celebrities / Re: Cynthia Obi-Uchendu: Mercy is a Deserving Winner, I loved her from Day 1 by verycheese: 5:29pm On Oct 07, 2019
UnknownJr:
Don't b shocked if your husband takes her to the oza room..

Sha don't come and b shouting u hate her.

So, according to you, men are dogs or why will u just jump to ebuka sleeping with mercy just like that? Make it make sense please

TV/Movies / Re: Reasons Mercy Won BBNaija 2019 - TheNewsGuru by verycheese: 10:24pm On Oct 06, 2019
Sex appeal was a major reason

Celebrities / Re: Toyin Abraham And Kolawole Adeyemi Dedicate Their Baby In Church (Photos) by verycheese: 5:33pm On Oct 06, 2019
NwaAmaikpe:

She looked happier with Seun Egbegbe.

Mad man, you're back!
Celebrities / Re: Segun Ogungbe And His 2 Wives, Atinuke & Omowunmi Ajiboye 'Awoko Aliyah' by verycheese: 12:31pm On Sep 23, 2019
Olalan:
Don't be deceived behind those smiles are bickering, envy and jealousy.........no woman likes to share her husband

Even more correctly, ano man can bare to share his wife.
Celebrities / Re: DJ Muse Brutalized By Police For Not Having Hangout App On His Phone (Photos) by verycheese: 5:21pm On Aug 26, 2019
Indeed, there was a country!l. Laughable stuff, mteww!

Family / Re: Man Celebrates His Elder Sister Who Stopped School So He Can Finish His by verycheese: 7:31pm On Jun 23, 2019
Fuckthamods:
How did she get the money she used in funding him? That big boobs tho, are u pondering what i am pondering? grin
Chai nl, if she no sponsor Na war, now she don sponsor, another thing

Crime / Re: My Husband, Saheed Hussain Stabbed Himself - Hanan BUK Law Student by verycheese: 12:15am On Jun 23, 2019
Wallade:
Honestly, I don't believe her story.

You won't cos your patriarchy needs the news to shave reported her death with photo evidence of her corpse before you can endure a small stab to the nose on your fellow abusive man.

Crime / Re: My Husband, Saheed Hussain Stabbed Himself - Hanan BUK Law Student by verycheese: 12:12am On Jun 23, 2019
Idiot fellow. You want to be beating people but you don't want them to stab you.. How Na? Wawa kawai!

Celebrities / Re: Tonto Dikeh Reacts As Ty’nell Cherry-Lindsey Is Killed By Husband by verycheese: 2:50pm On Jun 13, 2019
LearnITsmash:
This news will be an avenue for bad ladies who lack manners and good lifestyle, to also come out and be advising women, instead of these bad ladies to advise them to work on their lifestyle before marriage, no man wakes up one day to beat his wife to death, find out what the lifestyle of the woman was like before hanging the man undecided

Apoda
Celebrities / Re: Bisola Aiyeola Celebrates Her Daughter, Leyla 10th Birthday (photos) by verycheese: 4:35pm On Jun 12, 2019
Too many toxic ppl on nl

Politics / Re: Ben Kalu Reacts To Exclusion Of South East From 9th NASS Leadership by verycheese: 4:28pm On Jun 12, 2019
smiley
Family / Re: My Husband Is Cheating On Me With Our Neighbor! Hurting Real Bad by verycheese: 5:18am On Jun 05, 2019
kennygee:
Dear woman, I can imagine the emotional and psychological pain you're going thru, however, making a decision right now might not be wise cause it will be an emotional one.

Just keep praying for him and ask God for strength to overcome. It is only when there's a crack in the wall that a lizard can enter.

Start working out the little way you can, start dressing really nice, so nice you'll get compliments outside. It will improve your self esteem, wear make up, smell nice. It might not stop him from cheating but it will build up your self esteem and confidence so much that you'll see you're not the problem.

You'll be in a better place to decide if you want to stay with him or leave.

All the best.

I hope you have a job or a business sha?

Cause the best security a woman can have is her own money.

Foolish talk
Celebrities / Re: Baba Suwe Arrives Nigeria from U.S. Medical Trip by verycheese: 9:53pm On May 29, 2019
He has God to thank for his life, just as the rest of us. Oluwaseun, Alhamdulillah.

Celebrities / Re: Cee-c Releases Sexy New Photos by verycheese: 7:40pm On May 24, 2019
Redpanter:
See leg embarassed

Scary I must confess.
Crime / Re: 18 Farmers Killed By Armed Bandits In Katsina Buried Amidst Tears(photos) by verycheese: 9:35pm On May 23, 2019
And you people say you have a president?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (of 8 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 82