Stats: 3,331,277 members, 8,449,537 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 July 2026 at 11:54 PM

Whyem15's Posts

Nairaland ForumWhyem15's ProfileWhyem15's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 (of 54 pages)

Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 9:35pm On Apr 06, 2021
Whyem15:
Moses Jitoboh isn't the next most senior officer( he joined the police force in 1994 while Usman Alkali Baba joined 1988). According to NPF website, he is only an acting DIG while Usman Alkali Baba is a full DIG. https://www.npf.gov.ng/info/contacts_mgt.php
Although one would have expected him to be chosen to be the next IGP solely because he is the only officer that can be considered for that post that still has more than 4 years of service(9 years). Majority of the rest will retire either in 2022 or 2023. Going by the new police act, he should be the next IGP and that is probably why Usman Alkali Baba is serving in an acting role( he was announced as acting IGP). The only advantage Moses has over the others is age and time left in service. Usman should retire 2023 and Moses will be the most senior NPF officer.

I would have been smarter for the administration to choose Joseph Egbunike for the acting position instead because he is the only one from the south east and that might delay things a bit though he too will be retiring next year.

Just confirmed that Joseph Egbunike was promoted from CP to DIG while Usman Alkali was promoted from AIG to DIG December last year. So Usman is actually his senior if that counts at all.
https://dailytrust.com/psc-dismisses-four-senior-police-officers
If we are to go by the provisions of the new police act and Moses Jitoboh is appointed as the IGP, What will happen after the four years tenure of IGP ends? He will still have 5 more years in service so will he be forced to retire or to step aside for his junotp become IGP while he is still in service?
The reasonable thing would have been to force him to retire but won't that cause another controversy? Will it be easy to do as there is currently no provision for such situations under the police act.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 9:11pm On Apr 06, 2021
ugo4u:
Yes
Moses Jitoboh isn't the next most senior officer( he joined the police force in 1994 while Usman Alkali Baba joined 1988). According to NPF website, he is only an acting DIG while Usman Alkali Baba is a full DIG. https://www.npf.gov.ng/info/contacts_mgt.php
Although one would have expected him to be chosen to be the next IGP solely because he is the only officer that can be considered for that post that still has more than 4 years of service(9 years). Majority of the rest will retire either in 2022 or 2023. Going by the new police act, he should be the next IGP and that is probably why Usman Alkali Baba is serving in an acting role( he was announced as acting IGP). The only advantage Moses has over the others is age and time left in service. Usman should retire 2023 and Moses will be the most senior NPF officer.

I would have been smarter for the administration to choose Joseph Egbunike for the acting position instead because he is the only one from the south east and that might delay things a bit though he too will be retiring next year.

Just confirmed that Joseph Egbunike was promoted from CP to DIG while Usman Alkali was promoted from AIG to DIG December last year. So Usman is actually his senior if that counts at all.
https://dailytrust.com/psc-dismisses-four-senior-police-officers
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 8:59pm On Apr 06, 2021
ugo4u:
Link not working. Can you copy and paste or provide another link?
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15:
ugo4u:
So how are you sure this particular appointment wasn't based on religion and ethnicity especially when the next most senior officer was from Bayelsa and we all saw how they played politics by illegally extending former IGP Adamu's tenure.
Everybody saw how they dribbled the then DSS director from Bayelsa till power fell on Osinbajo and he did the needful only for the man to be retired for a more "competent" Director from a section of the country.
We should keep on giving excuses for nepotistic posturing of the people at the helm of affairs till the nation tumble to the point of no return, then maybe we will all learn to balance power in a multi ethnic and multi religious society as ours.
Can you please help with more details for the boldened?

Are you talking about Moses Jitoboh?
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 7:16pm On Apr 06, 2021
Tochex101:
Nice one.... I believe our police force needs a strict "Hire" and "Fire" approach..... mediocrity should not be tolerated at all.....the position of our chief custodian of security should be taken very seriously..
The whole Civil and military service needs it. We have a lot of round pegs in square holes. We need a lot of reforms in every sector.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 6:46pm On Apr 06, 2021
DubaiLandLord:
Since the vegetable became the president, all his IGP have been from the North, and they are all muslims.

One Nigeria indeed grin
IGPs from 1999-2010
Musiliu Smith (1999 - 2002)
Mustafa Adebayo Balogun (2002 - 2005)
Sunday Ehindero (2005 - 2007)
Mike Mbama Okiro (2007 - 2009)
Ogbonna Okechukwu Onovo

All southerners yet no meaningful progress in the police force.

Of the 21 IGPs this country has ever had, 11 were from the north(including the new one) and 10 from the south yet the police force has never made any meaningful progress.

Of the 10 southerners, 9 are Christians, I do not know how many of the northerners are Christians or Muslims.

You want the government to keep sharing appointments based on religion and ethnicity yet you expect meaningful results. One day we will all understand.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 5:22pm On Apr 06, 2021
ugo4u:
IGP Adamu was on official assignment in Imo and another IGP was appointed to replace him. grin when I say the NPF is a huge joke una think say person get personal beef with Police.
The gov't is not ready to tackle insecurity in Nigeria, when they're they will implement far reaching reforms to address the rot in that Institution, in the meantime we should continue using the NPF as a tool for job creation.
Rex Tillerson was on official assignment when he was sacked and replaced. We know the NPF is useless but there is nothing wrong with the replacement.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 9:05pm On Apr 05, 2021
Roan77:
These guys have ran to Niger, Chad, and Cameron, that's why they are carrying out attacks, or maybe they are on defensive formation now.
Or maybe they are restocking on weapons and supplies.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 7:26pm On Apr 05, 2021
So ISWAP's "great attack" will most likely happen during Ramadan or just days to it. The group has been silent for almost half a month now. I only hope the military has not been idle so far.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 3:20pm On Apr 05, 2021
tutudesz:
Edo and Delta state crime level is very high thanks to the prison break during ENDSARS.
Please let him answer, he might know some things we don't.
I honestly feel FG doesn't have to use force in all this, things will just escalate. Order all policemen to barracks that they will be able to defend. The military should also be ordered to stay in their barracks. Within a month, we will get results.
As for Nnamdi Kanu, I'm glad he is in UK where he won't be able to escape when the law eventually demands his detention. If he were to be in Nigeria, several judges will be willing to set him free for a price, several will be willing to break him out of prison, and several will be willing to help him escape judgment.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 3:04pm On Apr 05, 2021
Valkrie:
If they give the sf bloody nose what would Nigeria resort to bringing forward again? Nigeria no dey learn at all...well most of the people wey go join army nah those wey dey carry last for class and that reflect the way they think and plan operations...
I have a question for you.
The prisoners that were released overnight, how do you think they are going to make a living to sustain themselves? Especially the ones that were imprisoned for very horrible crimes?
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 9:26am On Apr 05, 2021
DubaiLandLord:
As for me, I will blame the government and our security agencies.
I understand you have issues with the military, no one is debating whether the military can handle IPOB or not with you(maybe JOSCOFELIX). My concern is the effect the crisis will have on the people irrespective of how long the conflict last or who wins.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 9:09am On Apr 05, 2021
Stephandesward:
I know a one star general, that supported bh back them he is even a strong Christian and not of northern extraction, but you have to understand the philosophy of the general public then.....everyone wanted someone or an ideology that could comfront a system they thought wasn't working ( federal government).
The social issues, that are turning to this physically violent issues, can only be solved if the government starts solving the social issues, and that would entail the people in power, jailing people with power and money, and taking that money to improve social issues and change lots of policies ( that seems to be more of master slave relationships)
I agree with you and also believe that we the people are part of the problems and are responsible for the most important part of the solution. We will be deceiving ourselves if we keep on believing that political office holders will make any meaningful changes. Even if we are fortunate to have an office holder that is responsible and ready to change things, it is only a matter of time before his tenure expires and we have another person that will reverse or abandon the little things the former might have changed.
We can only have reasonable changes when our institutions are strong and filled with people ready to do the right. Institutions that will remain resolute even in the face of corrupt and evil politicians. These institutions are filled with our people but we are convenient with blaming politicians when most of us aren't good people (speaking for myself and other dishonest people alone).

If only we can be calling for the sacking of heads of agencies, ministries and departments the same way we do for service chiefs.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 8:44am On Apr 05, 2021
DubaiLandLord:
They said Dasuki stole money, yet for more than 5 years dey can't prosecute him.
Dasuki's case is still in court, we all know how the judiciary is. Same with Evan's(the kidnapper) case. When the administration started going after corrupt judges, we were all screaming "dictatorship". Do not turn this into a political issue.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 8:39am On Apr 05, 2021
DubaiLandLord:
I once talked about how loyal people are to kanu. In one town in Abia state, I saw papas wey go carry their pikins inside room, they make dem listen to Radio Biafra.

A lot of people are ready to die for the Biafran cause. The best is to negotiate.
Millions listened to and cheered shekau in 2010/2011. "intellectuals" believed and supported his efforts. Some of the people even saw his efforts as their own jihad against southerners when he was still bombing churches. Today who are the biggest victims?

Most of those who are cheering him today and listening to radio Biafra might have a rethink by the time they are forced to live on aids from Humanitarian organizations but it will be too late by then.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 7:56am On Apr 05, 2021
cutievik:
Imo state police command attacked and burned, Nigeria Prison correction facility bursted into Prisoners freed in Imo state. .The Nigerian Police force is a joke...

Army Barracks might be next.... This is a phycological booster to every ESN unit out there, "If Imo could do it, then we can".....May God help us.
The entire South East region is just slightly larger than half of Borno state, it will take two sides less than 3 months to turn the whole region into wastelands. Turning millions of people into IDPs with several thousands dead. Normal economic activities will stop and the ordinary people will only be concerned with how to survive and what to eat.
Death and destruction isn't what any reasonable person should hope for. The southeast elders should call their youths to order before it is too late and it is about to be too late.
By now, merchants of war would have been contacting some of the militants, offering them resources and hopes that they can win, they are only after their own profits and will move on to the next conflict as soon as this is over with.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 1:28pm On Apr 04, 2021
Hearing reports of the 12 Tucanos being delivered this year. 6 in 2-3 months time(actual phrase is "middle of 2021") while the rest will be delivered before end of the year.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 8:21pm On Apr 02, 2021
The NAF is in need of more ISR platforms, the crash of the beechcraft and the ongoing maintenance of the ATR-42s has created a capacity gap that needs to be filled urgently. UK is decommissioning some of their platforms, NAF should look into getting some for the mean time.

I also pray NAF will make good use of the APKWS coming with the Tucanos to take out the mobility of the terrorists.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 7:31pm On Apr 02, 2021
The bastards just got lucky. With the air traffic in the northeast theater in the last 2 days, they would have attempted to shoot another one down if they were sure of the capability. It might be MANPAD, it might be AA guns either way, it shouldn't be much of a threat for NAF. They need only enforce high altitude flying as from now on.
Also, aircrafts should be sent on missions with countermeasures. MANPADs are no threat to the MI-35s.

And also, this is what you get when you want to do everything cheaply, most of the times they use cannons, rockets and dumb bombs to attack BH/ISWAP's high value targets and gun trucks with average results when missiles would do the work far more effectively and with minimal risks
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 6:55pm On Apr 01, 2021
Locals didn't see the jet going down or what? By now there should have been hints as to where the crash occurred.
Foreign AffairsRe: African Militaries/ Security Services Strictly Photos Only And Videos Thread by Whyem15: 9:21am On Apr 01, 2021
kabe1:
French shipbuilder Ocea has loaded the final two C-Falcon vessels for the Nigerian Navy on a transport ship in Saint-Nazaire from where they will head to Lagos, Nigeria.

The boat can carry 4 crew members and 16 soldiers.
What's the status of the shaldags?
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 9:20am On Apr 01, 2021
Meanwhile, Russia is moving massive quantity of equipment to the border with Ukraine, the timing corresponds to annual military exercise but what is concerning is the quantity of equipment being moved.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15:
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 8:22am On Apr 01, 2021
Xbee007:
Tweet not available. Where did it happen?
The location given by NAF is northern Nigeria.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 8:21am On Apr 01, 2021
Toju200:
Nigerian air force Alpha jet has gone missing after loosing radar contact.
Search and Rescue ongoing..
https://twitter.com/Abbakar1030/status/1377502202026156032?s=20
Incident happened yesterday evening
I pray the NAF finds the strength to continue providing air support for the offensive operations.
I pray it doesn't turn out like 2018 offensive.
And more importantly, I pray the pilots are found.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 6:28pm On Mar 31, 2021
Heard series of arrest were made recently in relations to funding terrorism and banditry. The presidency has promised to publish the names of the sponsors but knowing that this claim has been made several times in the past, I'm not too optimistic, all that I ask for is true justice.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 4:49pm On Mar 30, 2021
Nigeria needs high-tech military and communications satellites urgently.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 4:15pm On Mar 30, 2021
What if the "imminent great attack" ISWAP is planning isn't targeted at any of the garrisoned towns.... I mean, why go through all that effort only to capture a town you won't be able to keep?

What if the plan is to cut off and surround troops on the offensive to stall the offensive operation. Just like they did to Gen. Adeniyi led offensive in 2019.

Whichever one it is, this is a great opportunity for the military to reduce significantly ISWAP's strength. Imagine killing and maiming a third of the attackers and destroying/capturing all the guntrucks that will be used in the attack.
I pray this ends well for Nigeria. Better than I ever hoped.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 8:30pm On Mar 29, 2021
grin grin grin.... You people ehn..... You won't kill someone.
Anyways, the second week of little/no attack from ISWAP is going... Could it be they have reverted to proper defense? Or they've reverted to the normal strategy of retreating in the face of military onslaught only to regroup after the military has gone? Or are they planning something massive?
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 7:29pm On Mar 28, 2021
Regarding the issue of attacks on power lines, a simple solution is to establish a deterent. Next time they blow up a power line, the military should attack them where it will hurt them the most(maybe some of their top camps : with or without humamshields) no matter the cost and consequences. Let them know that there is a certain line they should be wary of crossing unless they are ready to pay the price in full. Same goes for bandits kidnapping school kids. Next time it is done, whichever bandit group the crime is traced to, the forest surrounding their camps should be burned alongside everyone and everything inside. If we don't get extreme when they do the unthinkable, only logistical constraints will be stopping them from improving and increasing attacks. There is need to establish fear to prevent them from doing certain things and then gradually increase the events when this "no holds barred" policy will be used(for example they should know there will be a great price to pay when they attack supercamps, then later on extend it to when they ambush troops).

There are some countries where it is considered a suicide to kill or even attack a law enforcement officer. The colleagues will get you at all cost and finish you in a far more brutal way than you can ever imagine. They will make sure you don't see the inside of a court room .
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 8:08am On Mar 26, 2021
The company Leonardo has confirmed that Nigeria hasn't signed any deal with them but looking with interest to the M-346. Nigeria just went window shopping grin but at least they understand there is need to replace the Alpha jets and F7-NIs. A deal might be signed soon but not necessarily with Leonardo and the quantity might be frustrating.
Foreign AffairsRe: Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military . by Whyem15: 4:14pm On Mar 24, 2021
Today is Wednesday, the last large scale attack from ISWAP was Thursday/Friday..... A bit strange.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 (of 54 pages)