Stats: 3,153,208 members, 7,818,705 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 10:19 PM

UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? - Travel (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? (26387 Views)

Poll: UK or US?

United Kingdom: 29% (45 votes)
United States: 70% (109 votes)
This poll has ended

US Family Preference Visa Waiters Lounge / Are Medical Doctors Given Any Preference, As Regards UK Tourist Visa's? / Canada or Uk which one is your preference (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by desiree(f): 9:45pm On May 26, 2006
grin grin grin grin grin

sorry i had to look, I was just wondering wtf was Old glory talking about. Nice deviation. grin grin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by baby4u2(f): 9:46pm On May 26, 2006
lets just accept the fact hotstepper baby. the fact that u dont accept it doesn't mean ur correct. america and UK can be compared to nigeria with alot of similarities but greater differences. and america is not like nigeria (i still prefer my mother land, and i'll take any chance i get to go home and chill) that one na true irrespective of ur views.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by avocat(m): 9:59pm On May 26, 2006
i live in the uk and i can tell you this for free, nigerian community are more dispersed in america. in the uk they are more concentrated. Nigerian in the Uk brag about themselves. in the US they are so dispersed and disunited that they need nigerian descendant party to bring them together. Can someone explain what nigerian descendant party is all about in the US?

i prefer the UK tea and biscuit to the US coke and hamburger. the pace of live is slower in the UK than in the US. but i have to add that if you have never lived in either country you may not know the difference.

just to correct an error made by someone earlier, the British medical system is such that if you urgently need to see a specialist, you can travel to Germany and see the doctor or specialist and you send the bill to the UK Health system. You cannot do that in the US.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by yemstar(f): 10:19pm On May 26, 2006
@ baby4u2
i can't believe u r on nl shocked u better guess who this is too or else. I am still mad at u for not calling and you don't have an excuse angry angry
so how was ur semester, did you do well, hope so. What r u summer plans?

As for this whole arguement going on, i don't know what to say, you will end up wherever you are destined to be and its up to you to make the best of it. I had the choice once and i picked the US not because i think its better i just had never been and wanted to see what the fuss was all about. They are both great places and offer a lot of opportunities but they also have their own setbacks.
If Nigeria was up to par i would choose NIGERIA grin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by LoverBwoy(m): 10:23pm On May 26, 2006
i thought this thread was  meant to be light hearted,,, some people will say we are fightin over some peoples country abeg take it easy o

Everybody likes where they are  grin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by mide2(f): 10:29pm On May 26, 2006
I've never been to the USA but i certainly don't like to live in the UK for long, i'm here for just a while, and i think i've had enuff.
Someone said about transport system in Uk, its basically whack ! Germany's transport system is da bomb.
And too much tax and NI deductions. NHS in dept and waiting list reaching to the 10th heavens.
Racism is another story entirely. Things are too expensive, fuel, house, clothes e.t.c  Tiny houses with dull depressing colours, weather as unstable as the people in it. And i just hate their diplomatic -hypocritic way of life. Fake sad smiles and honey, love, sweethrt, flower, darling rubbish greetings. They cringe at the slightest change in wotever they are used to (Robots). I can go on and on till christmas,
I just don't adore the place, but i have to make do with it atleast for now.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by LoverBwoy(m): 10:32pm On May 26, 2006
NHS in debt and waiting list reaching to the 10th heavens

how does that affect u directly

same with the monarch - they dont have any effect on people like me directly grin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by LoverBwoy(m): 10:33pm On May 26, 2006
mide2:

I've never been to the USA but i certainly don't like to live in the UK for long, i'm here for just a while, and i think i've had enough.
Someone said about transport system in Uk, its basically whack ! Germany's transport system is da bomb.
And too much tax and NI deductions. NHS in debt and waiting list reaching to the 10th heavens.
Racism is another story entirely. Things are too expensive, fuel, house, clothes e.t.c Tiny houses with dull depressing colours, weather as unstable as the people in it. And i just hate their diplomatic -hypocritic way of life. Fake sad smiles and honey, love, sweethrt, flower, darling rubbish greetings. They cringe at the slightest change in wotever they are used to (Robots). I can go on and on till christmas,
I just don't adore the place, but i have to make do with it atleast for now.

didnt u know the way to the american embassy? grin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by IAH(f): 10:35pm On May 26, 2006
None of the above. I prefer Nigeria. cool
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by mide2(f): 10:36pm On May 26, 2006
lol, maybe u can tell me how to get to the american embassy.
And NHS being in dept affects me cuz i need a job in there and its pretty hard now cuz they're laying off people from the system rather than taking in, they've bitten more than they can chew.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by LoverBwoy(m): 10:36pm On May 26, 2006
IAH:

Same here  grin

esp if i was the son of the president or one of those Senators  grin grin grin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by mide2(f): 10:37pm On May 26, 2006
abi o, same here o
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by LoverBwoy(m): 10:40pm On May 26, 2006
mide2 , aww sorry abou that God will bless you u plenty of jobs no worries, grinmy friend just got a job with one in london- admin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by mide2(f): 10:50pm On May 26, 2006
thnx @loverbwoy i know God has His perfect plan scheduled for me. He tots r higher than mine and His ways greater. He says He'll make a way whr thr is none, rivers in the desert will i see. He brought me here, though i don't like it at present but i'm sure i'll know why He's brought me here soon.

Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by WesleyanA(f): 11:09pm On May 26, 2006
IAH:

me too

I Am High!! Lol. cheesy
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by baby4u2(f): 11:14pm On May 26, 2006
@yemstar, is this my yemi in connecticut. my darling no vex, i'll call u soon. luv u. and yes still prefer U.S. and like mide2 said u dont want to stay in the u.k. for long.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by LoverBwoy(m): 11:19pm On May 26, 2006
wink
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by OldGlory1(m): 11:23pm On May 26, 2006
Baby4u2

For real, are they real? I am sure you are proud to own them. They really fit you.

Topic

Mide is the only truthful one here. The UK actually and truly sucks. The people really are stiff. My God! all these Haters. Mide the US embassy is in downtown London near Hyde Park. Go and apply for a visa and come over please. But can anyone tell me why there are so many Arabs in that Country? Even Hungry Sudanese are trying to Bomb the Tube, and at the same time apply for welfare. I would take a Latino over an Arab anyday. Spanish work hard, Arabs destroy Hardwork.

Avocat
I can see a doctor in SA or Brazil and bill my Insurance company. Please do not say stuff you are not sure of.

My2cents
Please help me carry the torch. You are more eloquent than i am.

@Lowerbwoy
Now you are really sounding Ignorant.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by WesleyanA(f): 11:27pm On May 26, 2006
I assume he was joking. do you not see the smiley?
wink

Spanish work hard, Arabs destroy Hardwork.

Old Glory! oh really?  grin
and are you suffering from Arabophobia? I can see the symptoms all over your posts.
Good thing America has a "wonderful healthcare system" better than the british?  tongue Lol.

and you call someone else's post "ignorant."
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by LoverBwoy(m): 11:28pm On May 26, 2006
i'll delete my posts

sorry if anyone took offence cool
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by WesleyanA(f): 11:29pm On May 26, 2006
i didn't see anything wrong in your post. undecided
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by LoverBwoy(m): 11:31pm On May 26, 2006
someone did and some people might later on

so it's better this way  grin

now let me see your 32  grin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by WesleyanA(f): 11:32pm On May 26, 2006
[size=50pt]32[/size]

sorry, i didn't get what you meant.Lol  lipsrsealed cheesy
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by LoverBwoy(m): 11:34pm On May 26, 2006
i meant ur teeth grin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by WesleyanA(f): 11:35pm On May 26, 2006
oooooh! ic

grin grin. even though I'm four short of thirty-two. Lol.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by baby4u2(f): 11:50pm On May 26, 2006
Old Glory:

Baby4u2

For real, are they real? I am sure you are proud to own them. They really fit you.

Topic

old Glory back to the topic. u.k. or u.s
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by Mariory(m): 2:13am On May 27, 2006
@Oldglory
You keep talking about Arabs bombing the tube. Who was it that bombed the World Trade centres and killed over 2 thousand people? Were they fairies?

This thread was supposed to be an expression of opinion but, you can't seem to get it in your head that people can prefer the UK to the US. Not everyone wants to live in gangs in the projects. And before you blow noise again, yes I've been to the US. It's not bad, but it ain't better than the UK. Plain and simple.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by leilata(f): 2:19am On May 27, 2006
Very simply put the UK is the real thing and the US is a by product!!!  afterall the US was under the Queen a long time ago tongue. No but seriously. i just laugh when i read the arguments about why the US is better and the UK not!!! first with education. the US education system is great but so is the uk's. Harvard the oldest institutions in the States was founded by someone who went to Cambridge. why do you think various US president's came to the UK to refine and polish their knowledge?
Ok health care the US is notoriously known for its poor healthcare. i mean come on its ranks 37th way behind the UK.
US: sense of fashion is almost as appalling as general knowledge and culture.
Another argument that just cracked me up: people from uk go to the us to buy products there (electronics did i read!!!) those products are not even made in the US!!! No but seriously both coutries are good in different ways. But i don't think i would want to live in the US good for holidaying and buying clothes etc but you can't beat the quality of Europe.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by desiree(f): 2:21am On May 27, 2006
Those Asians (not all Arabs) that you referred to were motivated by their extremist religious views and not by their nationalities. These people although British nationals are more devoted to their religion than anything else, some of them were not even born in the UK can you imagine a US born and breed John Allen Muhammad the sniper than turned against his own people just in the name of religion (such cowardice displayed by an American citizen). The Oklahoma bomber was American too, wasn’t he

Somebody said the US has more top-notch universities than the UK and mentioned the Ivy League and State Universities, but you can’t still compare the quality to the UK universities (top 10 or not). How many people got into those universities in the States solely on academic merit How many people graduated exclusively on the amount of work/credit they earned in the classroom In the UK there is no such gimmick as Soccer scholarship, Sport Scholarships and the entire shenanigans, any dumb ass bloke can get a scholarship and get into any university for balancing a book on his head and fake his way through the final year without learning jacksh*t (that explains the calibre of OLODO you have for a president).  The UK breeds highly competent graduates (even people that graduated from universities other than Oxford or Cambridge) that know their stuff.
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by desiree(f): 2:31am On May 27, 2006
@leilatta

Well said, I know many American millionaires that would give their left eye to send theirs kids to schools in the UK, the London School of Economics boasts of over 65% of Americans applying every year, Former US President Clinton is a patriot of this institution and his daughter was meant to go there after her Oxford experience.

It is only in the US that I heard of girls stripping to pay their way through School….hmmmm such high quality strippers you have there grin grin
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by Hotstepper(f): 4:11am On May 27, 2006
@desiree, datz why i told da person that was talking about Havard etc to stop decieving herself cuz i don't wanna start dere, stay tunned cry
Re: UK Or US: Your Preference And Why? by my2cents(m): 5:27am On May 27, 2006
Old Glory, I no too sabi about eloquent o! i just shoot crap based on experience grin

Sorry guys, but the powers that be said we could leave work early today as per say monday na public holiday.

To the one who asked if we don't pay taxes in the US. Of course we do. My point being that it isn't as high as the UK. I mean, how much do you pay for a gallon of fuel in the UK? Our fuel tax on average in the US is about 40 cents. It is at least 50% of the price in the UK

Iyke-D. You asked some pertinent questions. Allow me to retort cool

Sure, we pay sales, ad valorem, etc taxes. So do those in the UK, though under different names.

You must be living in Westchester NY or maybe somewhere that isn't actually the US cos the last time I checked, speaking for the state of georgia, if you don't have insurance (trust me, I have taken enough pple to the hospital without), you will be treated. I don't doubt that certain hospitals may not treat you, but again speaking for the state of georgia, they do. Of course your hospital bill would be another story. I even know of a hospital, again based on me going there, in Tennessee that treats without insurance too.

As for me being a republican. Even if I were, whatz the problem? We need pple on both sides of the isle. I am actually a self-confessed conservative democrat. In other words, I believe in maximum individual freedoms, limited government, but with a human touch. The only thing b say I read a lot, and not books about how stella got her groove back, but books on politics and economics. I also have subscribed to "The Economist", a magazine originating in the UK, but with economics stories from around the world. Most of my stats are from that magazine. They are very very neutral. In general, I like to read stuff from both sides and make the decisions for myself.

Truth be told, if I had a choice, I would rather be in Nigeria, as based on my experiences, given a large stash of money, it is better than the US and the UK combined (even nollywood actress Caroline Ekanem said as much about why she is in Nigeria and not the UK in a recent interview), but the post is about the US and the UK.

GDP in the US for last quarter I believe was about 3 or so %. The whole of Europe combined was a meager 1% on average. Something to chew on until I hear from you all again smiley

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply)

The Hypocrisy Of Anti Japa People On Nairaland. / New Terminal of the Port Harcourt International Airport due for commission Thurs / FG Introduces Temporary Passports For Nigerians Abroad

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 53