Stats: 3,152,723 members, 7,816,977 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 09:54 PM

Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect (15362 Views)

El-rufai's Eating Of Sugarcane In Public Justified By World Leaders (photos) / Aregbesola Prohibits Chieftaincy Titles For Osun Officials / Ok Mod, The War Is On! Ekumeku Nairaland In Effect! Gbosa! (2) (3) (4)

Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by jobsat34(m): 11:02am On Aug 19, 2014
Thank God the Smoking ban is on Cigarette and not Weeds..

In Nicolas Cage voice: Halleluja Halleluja, Halleluja Halleluja, Halleeelujahhhhhhhhhhhh
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by experimentist: 11:18am On Aug 19, 2014
Fashola well so? angry

I've been smoking weed since 283245D7, I can't change for bullshitts!
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by hudsonstheory: 11:28am On Aug 19, 2014
Get A's in all your Subjects without stress.

Pass your exams without difficulty

We at CITY EXAM did it last year for the W.A.E.C, N.E.C.O, J.A.M.B, G.C.E Candidates, We also did it this year, and we are ready to do it again

Dont Repeat this same exam next year, Say bye bye to 0'level Result

Pass your exam once and for all, with A's and minimum of Credit guaranteed

Visit WWW.CITYEXAM.ML to get the Full Details

Dont Be Left Out.
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by MrRhymes101(m): 11:36am On Aug 19, 2014
condralbede: U sure say, u no dey join them sometimesgrin
lol don't like smoke in any form at allll even kitchen. If na beer e 4 affect me grin[
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by akoaki(m): 12:14pm On Aug 19, 2014
Considering the known dangers in smoking, this is a most welcome development. I wish other states could enact similar laws.

Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by meforyou1(m): 12:31pm On Aug 19, 2014
the law is against smoking in public places, not smoking in public

Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by Jammy2012(m): 12:40pm On Aug 19, 2014
Nah city run version 4 be that o... weed boys no go wear big trousers again. nah rolled trousers sure pass grin
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by akoaki(m): 12:42pm On Aug 19, 2014
Smoking makes its victims more prone to infections.

Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by davidif: 1:02pm On Aug 19, 2014
yehmi01:
The Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola (SAN) back in February 2014, signed into law a private bill, which outlawed smoking in public places in the state.

The Lagos State Environmental Protection Agency (LASEPA) have now made it clear that with effect from Sunday,17 August, 2014, it will be a punishable offence to be cought smoking in a public place.

”The penalties for first offenders include N10, 000 fine and one to three months imprisonment. Repeat offenders may be fined up to N50, 000 or get up to six months imprisonment.

Smokers, who smoke in the presence of a minor or anyone below the age of 18 years risks a fine of N15,000 or six months imprisonment.

According to the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice Ade Ipaye said: “The Lagos State Government, in assenting to the bills, take cognisance of the dangers posed by public smoking to members of the public who are not smokers”.

“The law prohibits smoking in all of those areas that have been designated as non-smoking areas, including museums, public toilets, libraries, nurseries, day care centres and any facility used for the care of infants.

“Public telephone kiosks, public transportation vehicles, private vehicles where there are more than one person, school buses, restaurants and cinemas, theatres, amusement parks or any other place used by members of the public, conference centres and exhibition halls. Factories and other premises in which more than one person works and areas used as places of work, including the secretariat, are all defined in the law as public places”.

Source:
http://www.360nobs.com/2014/08/lagos-prohibits-smoking-in-public-law-now-in-effect/

Chai!!! Na wa for this man. He copies almost everything from the Western world without filtering anything yet Nigerians call him progressive.
Some while back, I heard that he created a law to ban teachers from flogging kids in school and I was really surprised. He doesn't seem to encourage rigorous debate and feedback from the people he governs, he just passes any law he feels like without really trying to gauge it's impact on its citizenry (at least that's my perception).
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by Nobody: 1:24pm On Aug 19, 2014
Dis dia wash laws I stil saw some agbero's kushing up yestrdae wif thick smoke n no one came 2 arrest dem.
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by redsun(m): 2:01pm On Aug 19, 2014
It is about no smoking in confined public places like clubs,restaurants,hospital,schools,government parastatals,malls,etc,except on designated areas. Passive smoking causes cancer too for non smokers when they hang around smoke filled environment always. It is not fair on them,especially children.
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by Brainardc(m): 2:34pm On Aug 19, 2014
Abiding by the rules'll be the problem ooo
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by DaimlerBen(m): 3:28pm On Aug 19, 2014
Save the uninitiated.

Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by 19naia(m): 3:30pm On Aug 19, 2014
PurestBoy:

Stop lying, you were never a smoker,

As old age and grey hairs find my head every sunrise, I wish i never was a smoker... I am on your side wishing i never was a smoker... So many better ways to use life's time to be thrilled and enjoy... cheers grin
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by LyfeJennings(m): 4:20pm On Aug 19, 2014
Omo, e go hard to make am work o cos mehnnnn
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by condralbede(m): 6:34pm On Aug 19, 2014
MrRhymes101: lol don't like smoke in any form at allll even kitchen. If na beer e 4 affect me grin[
Confirm Broo...we dey d same nkoloor
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by Nobody: 7:01pm On Aug 19, 2014
thunder74:
...and spare DJs that play Kolo mental and Dorobushy abi? which is better?

Same should apply if such DJs are constituting nuisance by putting out speakers.

Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by Oringo1: 9:30pm On Aug 19, 2014
grin grin Na new money spinning machine for police be this grin
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by Nobody: 10:02pm On Aug 19, 2014
Heard Fash & Tinubu smoke indian hemp beisdes the other hardcore narcotics they're involved in?
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by Nobody: 10:45pm On Aug 19, 2014
macsika: He will soon create another agency in charge of carrying this out maybe their name will be SMOSMA.

By the way, I'm just sayin...
and ankara will be their uniform.

Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by Gwizatasie: 5:51pm On Aug 20, 2014
[quote author=blakky97]
ERROR 404: NOT FUNNY AT THE MOMENT, PLEASE TRY AGAIN LATER./quote]oya para è
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by saintbajar(m): 10:13pm On Aug 20, 2014
9ja will never get sense. So what about foreigner?.

Shame.
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by Gwizatasie: 12:56am On Oct 10, 2014
blakky97:

ERROR 404: NOT FUNNY AT THE MOMENT, PLEASE TRY AGAIN LATER.
Para e(kill your self)
Re: Lagos Prohibits Smoking In Public – Law Now In Effect by tck2000(m): 10:47am On Jun 07, 2019
what do they gain from smoking at all?

Nigeria Can’t Survive Without North – Arewa Forum / Governor Obaseki To Shaibu: ‘Emilokan’ Won’t Work In 2024 Edo Election / Kabir Akingbolu: Lawyer Sues Buhari Over Failure To Tackle Fuel Shortage