Stats: 3,194,513 members, 7,954,936 topics. Date: Saturday, 21 September 2024 at 12:54 PM

Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? - Celebrities (10) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Celebrities / Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? (48085 Views)

Olamide's Story For Thegods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? / Video Download: Olamide – Story For The Gods..full Video Here... / Could It Be That Olamide's Story For The Gods Video Was A Leak? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by mbulela: 11:43pm On Nov 28, 2014
agrovick:

and I repeat the song is not promoting rape
what is it promoting?
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by Kolynz(m): 11:46pm On Nov 28, 2014
@ op, it shows u no ja @ all. U don't understand yoruba and ur friend didn't try with d interpretation. Not that I'm saying all YES to olamide, but I think u didn't really grab d scope. Oya make I fill u in; 'story for the gods' simply means she was scoping him. She wanted it all d way, but she was pretending. Do u not know that when a woman says NO, in d real sense of it, she means YES. That's what happens when you're asking a lady out. She gives a NO to all d stuff u say and @ d end of d day, she gets to be ur chic. Op, u need some street sense to grab things in d street. Na lay man analysis u give. That no means say naija neva spoil sha o! Alll na still story for the gods[/quote]

He said he dont like it oh, he said its all about rape, he said he is a saint oh,,, ah STORY FOR THE GODS......
Kingin was just singing to make money, cos he sang it doesn't mean that he actually did all what he sang.. And thanks @elmagnifico411 for that explanation. D guy no ja @all..
Truly he said he took alcohol nd weed, but about glorifying rape as U all said is totally wrong ,,, d girl self na bad girl as she dey come she bring Nofi along... She tink say Kingin na ole for lovemaking.... But d boss show her nd nofi pepper
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by mbulela: 11:47pm On Nov 28, 2014
rman:
The writer of the article is dull. cheesy

In fact, the song is a funny way of analysing how girls give all kind of excuses of not wanting sex but turn out to be sex goddess immediately u get them into the act.

It is about the hypocritical nature of girls attitude towards sex and maybe the society at large.

In fact, STORY FOR THE GOD'S is addressing all those holier than thou on this very thread but Bleep pass dogs when doors are closed.

Kai, hypocrites everywhere.

Dude, No means No.
Whether she is pretending or not.
No real man mistakes or misinterprets that.

If she says she does not want it and you forcefully have it, it does not matter whether she somersaults while sucking your d.ick, the fact is that you have violated her. Neither does it matter whether you were high on monkey tail or not.

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by Nobody: 11:49pm On Nov 28, 2014
dammytosh: This great article would have been more meaningful if you condemn Boko Haram Killing innocent civilians.

What you wrote is pure lies and can not be translated to rape.

The OP is spot on. Anyone with a functional pair of ears and a knowledge of English / Yoruba knows exactly what that song was about.

If you don't agree, give your own explanation.

If we realised the impact of music and artists on society, we would think morr deeply before speaking.
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by mbulela: 11:58pm On Nov 28, 2014
voltron:

Go to Lagos Island you will be surprised how rape happens routinely and the raped just get up clean-up and go home like nothing happened.
Not just a sick society but a sick world. If Ched Evans can have supporters then you know the world is nearing extinction.
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by freecocoa(f): 11:59pm On Nov 28, 2014
breezy047:

Hypocritical nature of refusing with the mouth, but consenting with the body language.

No I dont want o. My mum doesnt like it. Oh stop, where is ur hand about to touch? no.. em..em... ouch..hmmm....wow...baby you are sweet.

Get it?

This is an absolute interpretation of the song.

I don't understand how someone can say she doesn't want $ex and you decide she does because you supposedly can tell from her body language, if she says she doesn't like it, why not just stop and then let her ask why you stopped or allow her touch you instead and that way you'll know she's really ready for it, I have never said I'm not interested when I am so I honestly see no sense in that theory of yours.
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by mbulela: 12:00am On Nov 29, 2014
BuddhaPalm:

While your earlier article: "Least We Immortalize Nuisance" was exceptional and on point; I cannot say the same for this extremely malicious one.

You are attempting to twist the lyrics here. Verbal persistence = rape abi?

She says "I am in trouble" => She's in trouble because she's late (for home, whatever, etc). Not Olamide.

Rape endorsement is a weighty accusation, and has the potential to irreparably damage this young-man's reputation.

“he has broken my back, he has broken my arm”: Again, rough consensual sex isn't rape. He was rough, yes, and that should be none of your business.

This is slander.

Let us take your argument further.
What did she say or do that he alluded to as being Story for the gods?
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by strawberryinc(m): 12:02am On Nov 29, 2014
your write-up na still story for the gods
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by mbulela: 12:04am On Nov 29, 2014
StOla:

I don't need to relate the meaning of reluctance from the standpoint of rape. The rape only exist in this write up.

Rather, I would relate it to the reluctance of a wife or girlfriend in having sexual relations with the husband/boyfriend. After much cajoling, she succumbs to the mating tactics of the other gender (as it happens with all animals).
While on the duty, the erstwhile reluctant female NOW becomes to hot to handle.

Is this too hard to comprehend?

Was the girl in the song his wife or girlfriend?
Your analogy is faulty.
This was a one night stand after a night of booze and drugs. In that scenario how do you overcome reluctance with an almost total stranger?
Using her hotness in bed as a proof that she consented is like saying it is impossible for a rape victim to physically enjoy the sex. Or that if a rape victim achieves orgasm, she/her was not raped.
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by dammytosh: 12:05am On Nov 29, 2014
jesuslovesme123:

The OP is spot on. Anyone with a functional pair of ears and a knowledge of English / Yoruba knows exactly what that song was about.

If you don't agree, give your own explanation.

If we realised the impact of music and artists on society, we would think morr deeply before speaking.

You are getting the whole gist wrong. Nobody denies the impact of the music and artist in the society but we don't have to lie about the interpretation just to be able to have another acceptable article in the books.

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by freecocoa(f): 12:14am On Nov 29, 2014
elmagnifico411:
Do u not know that when a woman says NO, in d real sense of it, she means YES.
It should be against the law to make such bogus statements, like what is wrong with you people?
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by freecocoa(f): 12:20am On Nov 29, 2014
pseudonomer:
Promoting Lesbianism, Rape or anything u call it...we don't care... Story for the gods...

On a more serious note, I don't think he's promoting rape... At a point, when you have this sexual urge and your girlfriend says no, giving excuses like I'm tired or it's getting late... Buh you insist and later she accept... During intercourse, most wild girls usually say a lot funny words like... "Jesus" "U don kill me" "haaasshhh" "my back" which means she's enjoying the stuff. Now, will you consider that as a Rape?

You are too moral to have fun op... StreetUP
Yes it is r*pe, why can't you just let her be if she is tired? Does the fact that she said "No" stop her from being a human being? Must you have your way anytime you are hot?
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by EmmanuelCena(m): 12:21am On Nov 29, 2014
afreecocoa:
I didn't know the lyrics to that song until now, not really a fan of Nigerian music as most of them sing absolute rubbish but what I'm here to say is that, I am 98% sure Olamide meant every word in that song and he must have done such many times.

Now here's why I think so, many guys don't understand the word "no" and "stop", their excuse is that ladies mean "yes" when they say "no", believing that if they press further, the girl will give in and many girls have been r*ped this way, the girl struggles for a while and when he overpowers her and finally have his way, it becomes "she was just saying no so that he'll press harder" whereas what happened was r*pe and the girl won't say anything because she'll get all the blames.

I have been there but the ediot did not succeed, I was lucky enough to create a diversion and escaped, this is even someone I wasn't romantically involved with, someone I thought was a friend, seriously many girls have been r*ped this way and this pattern is even worse.

freecocoa... Well, you nd the OP could misunderstand the song for all of Africa, nah u know
u don by urself talk am say u no dey listen to our 9ja song say nah trash... So, all d p*ssy and nonsense Nicki and all dos oyinbo ppl say no dey encourage rape abi?

What more can i say?
Since you've already professed ur hate 4 9ja music, i dnt need to talk much

#puts story for gods on repeat

I SAY A BIG NO TO Rape

if u dnt understand Olamide's song, dem migrate to barigga ... Live there 4 6 months, den u will no longer castigate him

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by dredmatthew234(m): 12:25am On Nov 29, 2014
Nigerians don't listen to lyrics most tym..." I go calabar i see Godswill Akpabio ...is Godswill the governor of Calabar grin I rest my case

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by EmmanuelCena(m): 12:27am On Nov 29, 2014
freecocoa:
Yes it is r*pe, why can't you just let her be if she is tired? Does the fact that she said "No" stop her from being a human being? Must you have your way anytime you are hot?

well, freecocoa, maybe u haven't started having s_ex ...

By d time u start, provided u understand yoruba, my dear , u will always put story for the gods on repeat when you're in d act

so, leave king baddo alone and stop castiga ing him cos aint encouraging no r_ape. My nigga z only making a living while givin to d streets what they request

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by Nobody: 12:31am On Nov 29, 2014
seriously, i don't know if some people reason with their brain or their toe.
that song promotes fornication[hell yeah] but ra.pe? niggga please!!!!

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by mbulela: 12:31am On Nov 29, 2014
elmagnifico411:
\ Do u not know that when a woman says NO\

Irrespective of your gender, a sane person should never make this sort of comment.
No matter the context, you you make the reading public doubt your sanity when you make comments like this.

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by EmmanuelCena(m): 12:31am On Nov 29, 2014
dredmatthew234:
Nigerians don't listen to lyrics most tym..." I go calabar i see Godswill Akpabio ...is Godswill the governor of Calabar grin I rest my case

some ppl can fool diasef sha. U knw weda Akpabio go calabar 4 special assignment wey him come see am there?
Anyways, if u wan listen to lyrics and olamides lyrics are too fast for , listen to asa and brymo, they sing with slow tempos

nd dnt u derail d thread next time
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by freecocoa(f): 12:32am On Nov 29, 2014
EmmanuelCena:

well, freecocoa, maybe u haven't started having s_ex ...

By d time u start, provided u understand yoruba, my dear , u will always put story for the gods on repeat when you're in d act

so, leave king baddo alone and stop castiga ing him cos aint encouraging no r_ape. My nigga z only making a living while givin to d streets what they request
Stop quoting me if you don't have anything reasonable to say, who's talking about your Olamide? I'm talking how girls get r*ped everyday because guys believe her no is yes and you are here talking Olamide.
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by EmmanuelCena(m): 12:37am On Nov 29, 2014
Austeenx:
seriously, i don't know if some people reason with their brain or their toe.
that song promotes fornication[hell yeah] but ra.pe? niggga please!!!!

boss, abeg help me tell dem ooo

if u knw u dnt understand yoruba nd youre among those pointing accusin fingers, pls just disappear

nd if u understand yoruba nd ure complainin about d song, den .,u need to be whiped koboko
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by EmmanuelCena(m): 12:41am On Nov 29, 2014
freecocoa:
Stop quoting me if you don't have anything reasonable to say, who's talking about your Olamide? I'm talking how girls get r*ped everyday because guys believe her no is yes and you are here talking Olamide.

hmmmm
that's serious, but next time dont derail d thread... We were talking about STORY FOR D GODS here

so, next time, if u have something serious to say, create the topic

and if u knw u hv nothing reasonable to say about STORY FOR THE GODS, dnt quote me again

graçias
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by manjiggy(m): 12:53am On Nov 29, 2014
einsteino:

Que sera sera what will be will be.. Those kids will someday grow, he will still hear those songs and might even one day write and sing his own song that might be better off/worse.. so take a chill pill and stop worrying

Will you say the same thing about watching blue films?
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by BuddhaPalm(m): 12:54am On Nov 29, 2014
mbulela:

Let us take your argument further.
What did she say or do that he alluded to as being Story for the gods?

If you've ever had a girlfriend or a wife, you'll know that no doesn't always mean no.

She could say no this minute and doesn't want you to cüm the next.

Olamide got a no and not a NO.

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by charlesopp(m): 12:55am On Nov 29, 2014
omega2128:
nigerians are #1 when it comes to critizing good things.

One, story for the gods is a club song not song one plays in living room with children listening. If you go to night club and hear - damouche, saint janet do not complain, those songs are meant for that environment. Radio or tv stations will not air it because its NOT TO BE BROADCAST. NTBB. Its a song meant for a specific environment.

Two- this song contains words like 'I want to marry thee', 'I want to be regularity'- is writer trying to say olamide will get married to woman to rape her regularly?

Three- writer ignorantly and cunningly intertwene sina in yoruba with zina in islam. Sex outside marriage is fornication, which means sina in yoruba. Olamide is not mincing words but calls sex outside marriage- fornication (means sina in yoruba)

Fourth, I know that Mr Faruq is not in his youth age otherwise he would have know that sex among youths of today is a battle not lovemaking. Faruq did his best and followed norms in his time but in this generation, new norms and best is to take- dongoyaro, monkeytail, alomo, osomo, because lovemaking is a battle and one needs to arm himself.

Mr Faruq should stop listening to youth song especially club songs. Religion and elderly songs are still in market, he needs to get

some for his personally enjoy. Old men should stop eavedropping on youth's club songs.
Story for the gods is battlesong, if you hear story for the gods in my mouth, know that I'm preparing for battle.

Lol..guy am ff u
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by mbulela: 1:05am On Nov 29, 2014
BuddhaPalm:

If you've ever had a girlfriend or a wife, you'll know that no doesn't always mean no.

See one of my earlier posts.

The girl in the song was neither a wife nor a girlfriend (we can discuss this angle later).
It was a one night stand, after a night of booze and drugs.
Go figure!
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by manjiggy(m): 1:06am On Nov 29, 2014
BuddhaPalm:

What should a lady say if she means 'NO'?

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by BuddhaPalm(m): 1:14am On Nov 29, 2014
mbulela:

The girl in the song was neither a wife nor a girlfriend (we can discuss this angle later).
Go figure!

Female behaviour is very consistent. Nun, prostitute, mother.

Doesn't matter.
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by EmmanuelCena(m): 1:20am On Nov 29, 2014
Buddha palma

pls, help me tell dem oooo
how wil u say u wanna rape someone u intend to marry

all yee criticizers, go and listen to d WHOLE SOng

and who's d fellow say SHINA (Yoruba street slang for se.x, for.nication) and ZINA(an islamic term)?

Dat person must be high on maltonic

god bless olamide baddo
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by BuddhaPalm(m): 1:20am On Nov 29, 2014
manjiggy:

What should a lady say if she means 'NO'?

NO.

Her vocal tonality and noncompliance are the true indicators.

No physical force should ever be applied.

Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by EmmanuelCena(m): 1:23am On Nov 29, 2014
mbulela:

Go figure!

oga park well jor

so cos dey met in a club means she aint wife material

See, ur talk no just follow
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by Charles4075(m): 2:07am On Nov 29, 2014
Yes, music this days is all about the beat and no one cares about the lyric. But op, your own case is hatred for olamide.. Why didn't you and your so called criticisers on NL condemned
1- Timaya- Shake you bum
Let's not talk about the foreign ones like
Birthday Sex
2chains- Ass that make you dance
Ludacris- How low can you go
Snoop dogg ft K.C- Relax
Lil Wayne- I'm me, Dark Shades
Kanye West- I'm God part 2
Nicki Minaj- Anaconda butt, Freaks, Pound the alarm
Future- Bitches love me
Wizkhalifa- Smoke weed

There are so many I can't list them. Listen to them and you'll find out olamide is even learning if what you're saying it's true.. Advice your so called brothers and sisters saying t*rash here that the music is this, that hypocrites begets all of them. Judging others because they sin differently from you. When you watch porn on fones, surfs the net for porn films and pics, wear provocative mini skirts and tight skirts and leggings and come here preaching like a saint. Fornicating and saying you must test the goods before you buy it.. Back-biters, Stealing, Murderers, Let he who has not sinned, cast the first stone and condemn me.. And may evil begets any one who claim to be a saint quote me and condemn me when he/she is evil itself.. All ye Hypocrites..
Re: Olamide's Story For The Gods: A Nigerian Song Recommending Rape? by aspirebig: 2:09am On Nov 29, 2014
To me,bad song is a bad song,no matter the beats.

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (Reply)

Regina Daniels Rocks Afro Hairstyle And Nose Ring (Photos) / Chizoba Nwokoye's PA, Success Bright, Emptied Her Account / Linda Ikeji Strikes A Pose With Her Range Rover Sport (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 70