Stats: 3,194,957 members, 7,956,599 topics. Date: Monday, 23 September 2024 at 02:58 PM

Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) (29190 Views)

Flood Takes Over Major Parts In Ago Palace Way Okota / Lagos Officials Clear Blocked Drainage To Control Flooding In Lekki (pics) / Man Swims On Lekki Road As Flood Takes Over Lagos Island (Watch Video) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by victor54: 8:31am On Jul 03, 2015
glimpse33:
and we are self-acclaming ourselfs GiAnt OF AFRICA...
You can't find a disaster like this in Ghana!
Have u been to China?
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by ideologies(m): 8:32am On Jul 03, 2015
Ucheosefoh:
lol bad bell on a flooded street you must be a joker, go hold your former governor accountable for this modern day scam
where are you from??

When You see igbos living in uyo you will know the difference, they are healthy just by inhaling fresh air not the slums you live in
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by dgeepat(f): 8:32am On Jul 03, 2015
Wtf is dis
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by mmsen: 8:33am On Jul 03, 2015
glimpse33:
You can't find a disaster like this in Ghana!

You don't follow the news.

Just last month there was serious flooding in Accra which lead to multiple deaths.

Flooding happens everywhere - 6 weeks back I got a message from my friend in Oklahoma that he was stuck due to flooding.
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by PROPHETmichael: 8:33am On Jul 03, 2015
ideologies:

Leave the op to keep brainwashing gullible fools, that area does not even have any drain talkless of being connected to the drainage system.

Hopefully the new government will look into it because I heard state secretariat was flooded as well

I keep seeing pictures of IBB road/state secretariat complex area whereas, there was no underground pipe jacking system there. Let the op post a photo of Oron road, uruan street, nwaniba axis then we can decide if the underground pipe jacking system is a fail project or not.

Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by osamaBUSH(m): 8:33am On Jul 03, 2015
jck1976:

Shut up
Thank u ma broda! a no even know wetin to tuk 4 d guy mata angry
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by glimpse33(m): 8:34am On Jul 03, 2015
dgeepat:

Tђ3 oda one wey hapn Tђ3 oda tym Fø̲̣̣я̅ ghana, bros abi no b ghana b dat?

that was a natural disaster, this one is clearly bad governance
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Ucheosefoh(m): 8:34am On Jul 03, 2015
ideologies:
where are you from??
Anambra state
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by allanphash7(m): 8:35am On Jul 03, 2015
I hope the stadium wont collapse aswell o
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Nobody: 8:35am On Jul 03, 2015
This is child's play to Lagos own ooo
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Nicepoker(m): 8:36am On Jul 03, 2015
Op there is no underground drainage system in IBB way. get. Ur facts right before u post pls. Downpour of rain in extremely much.
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Maser: 8:36am On Jul 03, 2015
Problem is when people throw refuse into the drains as rain falls, No amount of drainage or technology can cope with such uncivilised habits because sooner or later the drains get blocked. Akpabio in such instance is not responsible for that, the people are. Not every problem in Nigeria is down to government officials. Truth be told, Ordinary citizens too have their own issues.
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by nerodenero: 8:37am On Jul 03, 2015
Mind you, you are not at liberty to spew trash anyhow besides, why justify a wrong with another? Should we even experience flood in any State if the government are up and doing and the masses avoid dumping refuse in gutters ?

Why compare Lagos with Calabar? You can only do this if the two states have the same things in common, then your comparison would be devoid of bias.
liberty300:
what's so funny? @least this place still looks cleaner than lagos after a flood
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Nicepoker(m): 8:38am On Jul 03, 2015
allanphash7:
I hope the stadium wont collapse aswell o
do u even know where the stadium is situated?
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by myproperty(m): 8:38am On Jul 03, 2015
oyindare:
do u know what a drainage system is?

You that know what a drainage system is would not make such an un imaginable comment. That is if you actually know what a drainage system is and if you know where the drainage system in question in Uyo covers
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by oloriooko(m): 8:39am On Jul 03, 2015
I belong to PMB
But this matter is not about the amount spent but the unruly and anti social behaviour of residents who dispose their trashes in the water way anytime it rains!
This is barbaric and punishable
We must change our ways and behave like humans with brains between the ears!
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by RuffRhyder(m): 8:39am On Jul 03, 2015
I also experience this during my NYSC days in Uyo, it could be frustrating sometimes because you will have to sometimes go through Israelite journey in other to avoid this temporary river. Akwa Ibom! Ayaya!
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Nobody: 8:39am On Jul 03, 2015
liberty300:
what's so funny? @least this place still looks cleaner than lagos after a flood

Exactly.

100 times cleaner.
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Nicepoker(m): 8:39am On Jul 03, 2015
Ucheosefoh:
Uyo people have been scammed
really. Come to uyo and u will hate anambra.
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Nobody: 8:41am On Jul 03, 2015
Should people fight over everything?

Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Nobody: 8:41am On Jul 03, 2015
glimpse33:
You can't find a thing like this in Ghana!

Modified* The flooding that occurred in Ghana then was a natural disaster!
This one one in uyo is as a result of Bad Governance!

You are a gimp,natural disaster kor,bad drainage ni.look i lost a friend on that ghana disaster..better use your head
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by anonimi: 8:41am On Jul 03, 2015
This is very sad. When shall we harp on MAINTENANCE by relevant government agencies
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by anonimi: 8:45am On Jul 03, 2015
dabriggs:

What meteorological data was used to design the drainage channel? Were return periods of unusual storm events taken into consideration?

Are we sure the project you call multi billion dollars drains this area as well? And how are we sure the drains are not blocked as they usually are in most Nigerian cities. There is a link between poor sanitation, waste management and flooding, especially in urban areas.

That a drainage system was designed in a city does not mean it automatically drains the whole city. Drainage networks are properly planned, designed and constructed based on watershed characteristics. Besides urban development generally comes with flooding due to increase in impervious surfaces, discharge from roof tops etc.

It might not be as simple as it looks.

Thanks for bringing the statistics/data angle up.
That is something we have generally relegated to the background in the last decades as we glorify physical development and excess money to our politicians over HUMAN CAPITAL and knowledge base development.
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by flames007(m): 8:46am On Jul 03, 2015
scribble:
Not cool

The poster below me is trying to be the next Introvert

Had to stop her in her tracks....

chai.dis INTROVERT sef has become a phenomenon
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by oyindare(m): 8:47am On Jul 03, 2015
myproperty:

You that know what a drainage system is would not make such an un imaginable comment. That is if you actually know what a drainage system is and if you know where the drainage system in question in Uyo covers
bros just answer the question now undecided
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by anonimi: 8:47am On Jul 03, 2015
Maser:
Problem is when people throw refuse into the drains as rain falls, No amount of drainage or technology can cope with such uncivilised habits because sooner or later the drains get blocked. Akpabio in such instance is not responsible for that, the people are. Not every problem in Nigeria is down to government officials. Truth be told, Ordinary citizens too have their own issues.

Civilisation comes by education of ALL citizens done by government...............so draw your conclusion accordingly.
Thanks.
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by ideologies(m): 8:47am On Jul 03, 2015
Nicepoker:
igbos living in uyo are healthier, happier, most of them are building houses and buying properties.

Ask them y, they will tell you their governors are not performing, they are breathing in good air, clean environment, friendly people and their businesses are booming
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by maimalari: 8:49am On Jul 03, 2015
PROPHETmichael:

I keep seeing pictures of IBB road/state secretariat complex area whereas, there was no underground pipe jacking system there. Let the op post a photo of Oron road, uruan street, nwaniba axis then we can decide if the underground pipe jacking system is a fail project or not.

Oron road is equally a no go area for students and teachers due to flood.

http://www.punchng.com/metro-plus/schools-suspend-classes-as-flood-ravages-uyo/
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Ucheosefoh(m): 8:52am On Jul 03, 2015
Nicepoker:
I am comfortable in my state because we are rich in human capital lots of business going on here, despite the low allocation we get annually our governor is not owning salaries like your governor and he even increase it to 15 percent. Education we top, healthcare we are among the top, good inter community roads are all good, business we are among the top so what else will I leave the state for, when the standards of living is high. Bro enjoy your state I am comfortable here just don't forget to hold your former governor accountable for this scam. I wish you guys all the best.
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by Hassan080196(m): 8:55am On Jul 03, 2015
Despite all the money spent on the project!!!
Re: Flood Takes Over Major Roads In Uyo Despite Multimillion Dollar Drainage (pics) by maimalari: 8:55am On Jul 03, 2015
ocelot2006:
@ OP, bros STOP lieing!! Major roads flooded!! Haba! I equally live in Uyo oh. Apart from that IBB road by the State Secretariat (totally poor drainage), where other major roads like Abak road, Four lanes, 2 Lanes, Aka road, Ofon road, Nwaniba road, and Atiku Abubakar road flooded? Even the flood at Brooke street that would've washed a care into the ravine below no longer exist.

So please stop the lies!

Atiku abubakar way is equally ravaged by flood.
http://lindaikeji..com/2015/07/wow-check-out-road-in-akwa-ibom-state.html?m=1

this is Atiku abubakar way after rainfall

For Peace To Reign In NASS, Tambuwal Should Resign - SAN / Glory Okolie Sues IGP Baba, Others; Demands Unconditional Release, ₦100bn / 25 APC Presidential Aspirants (Full List)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34