Stats: 3,153,039 members, 7,818,076 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 07:03 AM

Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? - Foreign Affairs (1862) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? (4438430 Views)

Iran Vs Israel: Who Has The Strongest Military ? / Evidence That Putin Is Strongest Man And Obama Is A Filthy Whimpering Dog / Which Country Has The Strongest Economy In Africa. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1859) (1860) (1861) (1862) (1863) (1864) (1865) ... (2991) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by AugustineAgain: 3:32pm On Mar 01, 2015
MikeCZAR:

Because we are not at war.

If SAAF had pilots to man all 26 plans simultaneously, it would be costly meaning pilots gets less flying hours.

Now you just proved what we said here many times, SANDF is cash broke grin grin

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MikeCZAR: 3:33pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

We have over 12 F-7 pilots, I posted photos of 7 of those pilots here many times repeatedly.
Show us F-7s in the air.

Besides you can't deploy them.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by AugustineAgain: 3:35pm On Mar 01, 2015
lezz:
nope, you envy Nigeria for showing the world what blacks can do in a black only country. Black power having the biggest economy on the continent, producing the 6th fastest growing economy in the world.

Conducting peace keeping operations in Africa and internationally.

Expanding entrepreneurs all over Africa.

Launching 3 satellites in orbit.

Having the 3rd largest movie industry worldwide.

Being Africa's music capital.

Having the biggest concentration of billionaires... etc

All just under 55 years.

In contrast everything in southafrica is credited to the 9% Anglo-dutch settlers.

You never contributed to a thing in your country.

That is why Africa can never get any respect globally even if southafrica goes to the moon and back unaided.

You owe the Anglo-dutch everything.

When Julius Malema was addressing his supporters at outside the university, he confessed that if they seized white land, the whites would mess up the economy.

That's where Nigeria comes in. Africa's true hope and leader.

Dis is di Koko !

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MikeCZAR: 3:37pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

That's what happens during peaceful times, squadrons aren't maintained to their full level wartime capabilities.

If South Africa was to deploy 5 Gripens and 7 Hawks no sub-saharan country can challenge that.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by AugustineAgain: 3:39pm On Mar 01, 2015
MikeCZAR:

[b]SAAF deployed air to ground missiles in combat [/b]before Nigerians even knew what air too ground missiles were.

CITATION needed !
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 3:40pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

Third time and final battle was a stalemate, Israel failed to defeat Egypt and the Israelis agreed to peaceful settlement, and NEVER attempted to threaten Egypt again, the Egyptians finally broke Israel's military track record of victory.

Saudi Arabia won't last 7 days if they fight Israel.

Egypt is the most powerful Arab and African nation today, and Nigeria is beign called upon by Egypt to help them fight ISIS in Libya, they know who is the second STRONGEST MILITARY IN AFRICA......Nigeria !

Egypt did not ask for help from you - post your citation again, let me educate you.

Yom Kippur? Stalemate? Israely faced a surprise attack from Egypt, Syria, Iraq, Jordan and Morrocco who were supported by North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Morocco, Kuwait and Cuba... 400 000 Isrealy's faced an army of 1 million... and defeated the million men in battle, killed over 18 000 of them, lost only 2000 men and ended up occupying a total of sixteen hundred square kilometers in Egypt and five hundred square kilometers in Syria where they were poised to strike into Cairo and Damascus - they guys who started off defending against a suprise attack ended up in the enemies country and ready to seize his capitals... you call this a draw? It is one of the greatest military victories in history

Nigeria cannot even defeat Boko Haram fighting conventionally - Cameroon and Chad have shown to be superior militarys. Its hilarious.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MikeCZAR: 3:41pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

CITATION needed !
SAAF deployed air to ground missiles in the 70s and early 80s before you even knew what they were.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 3:42pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

Nigeria is winning this war at last and Boko Haram is loosing....

Because Chad and Cameroon came to save you.

They take casualties because their men stand and fight, they have the moral and dicipline to attack when your men chose to flee.

How does it feel that foreign forces are liberating your territory?
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by AugustineAgain: 3:44pm On Mar 01, 2015
DieVluit:

You cannot offer them for sale.

You've had your money seized trying to desperately buy south african weapons.

Yours is to buy and consume. Not to make and sell.

We did NOT buy any South African weapons with that money, it was for vehicles that were not armed, South Africa did NOT eat our money, you promised to return it, but hunger will not allow you to lose the business, the vehicles are now being delivered....German engine SAMIL Trucks now in Nigerian army.

50 million Southies have no courage to touch Nigerian money, unlike the courageous Dangote R.aped South African economy and swallowed your ONE BILLION RAND and nothing your country could do aboot it, we own and colonize you tongue tongue

http://richnigerianpharmacists.com/south-african-tiger-brand-loses-82-billion-to-dangote-business-lessons/

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 3:49pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

South African air force lost the air battle in contested airspace, Cuban teenage pilots had TOTAL air superiority over SAAF.

You wanna boast about a jet fighters air war in which SAAF lost to inexperienced teenagers from Cuba who were seeing war for the first time?

Not even a single citation.

What a waste of time.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by AugustineAgain: 3:49pm On Mar 01, 2015
DieVluit:

So, you confirm that BH captured nigerian towns.

Nope, I never said Nigerian army recaptures, I said we capture, meaning Boko Haram was there contesting the towns.

Capture is NOT = Re-capture.....the towns were infiltrated by Bokos, we captured them and asserted 100% undiluted un-shared control.

SANDF can not do that in Bangui or in Kruger park where you share South African territory with ordinary Rhino poachers grin grin

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 3:49pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

We have over 12 F-7 pilots, I posted photos of 7 of those pilots here many times repeatedly.

Show us 12 F-7s in the sky
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 3:50pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

NAF does not do Hollywood air show with unqualified pilots like you do in SAAF.

We have surplus F-7 jet pilots

Who says they are F-7 pilots? you?

Also, that is only 7.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 3:51pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

Nope, SANDF just spends money wisely.

This way, when we do go to war, we wont be like Nigeria and be forced to panic buy whatever cr@p is left over from the cold war
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 3:54pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

We did NOT buy any South African weapons with that money, it was for vehicles that were not armed, South Africa did NOT eat our money, you promised to return it, but hunger will not allow you to lose the business, the vehicles are now being delivered....German engine SAMIL Trucks now in Nigerian army.

50 million Southies have no courage to touch Nigerian money, unlike the courageous Dangote R.aped South African economy and swallowed your ONE BILLION RAND and nothing your country could do aboot it, we own and colonize you tongue tongue

http://richnigerianpharmacists.com/south-african-tiger-brand-loses-82-billion-to-dangote-business-lessons/

This guy keeps posting that citation.

I dont think he realizes that the link tells us all that dangote's business is failing

What a clutz

Also, FYI, SAMIL is a South African truck - it stands for South African Military, and they went out of production in 1998. So either you bought 19 year old second hand trucks, or you have no idea what you are talking about.

Your incompetence is too much to handle.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by AugustineAgain: 3:55pm On Mar 01, 2015
Patchesagain:

Egypt did not ask for help from you - post your citation again, let me educate you.

Yom Kippur? Stalemate? Israely faced a surprise attack from Egypt, Syria, Iraq, Jordan and Morrocco who were supported by North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Morocco, Kuwait and Cuba... 400 000 Isrealy's faced an army of 1 million... and defeated the million men in battle, killed over 18 000 of them, lost only 2000 men and ended up occupying a total of sixteen hundred square kilometers in Egypt and five hundred square kilometers in Syria where they were poised to strike into Cairo and Damascus - they guys who started off defending against a suprise attack ended up in the enemies country and ready to seize his capitals... you call this a draw? It is one of the greatest military victories in history

Nigeria cannot even defeat Boko Haram fighting conventionally - Cameroon and Chad have shown to be superior militarys. Its hilarious.

CITATIONS needed for the above privately fabricated stories
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by DieVluit: 3:55pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

Military vehicles? For use by your army?

What difference does it make? And no, you wanted buy weapons, as confirmed by your very own officials.

Your money is gone already. JZ of Nkandla is counting it in his fire pool as we speak.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 3:55pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

Nope, I never said Nigerian army recaptures, I said we capture, meaning Boko Haram was there contesting the towns.

Capture is NOT = Re-capture.....the towns were infiltrated by Bokos, we captured them and asserted 100% undiluted un-shared control.

SANDF can not do that in Bangui or in Kruger park where you share South African territory with ordinary Rhino poachers grin grin

You cannot capture what you have not lost.

The fact that the town had a boko haram signpost says it all.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 3:56pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

CITATIONS needed for the above privately fabricated stories

Google it - its all common knowledge.

I cant believe you dont know this stuff. Shows what an absolute ingrate you really are.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by DieVluit: 4:12pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

You cannot capture something that had not escaped your grasp in the first place. So be very ashamed. That picture of your soldiers posing with shekau's flag is a picture of shame. Celebrating mediocrity.

We know you post about environmental issues in a military thread when you can't handle the pain.
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by AugustineAgain: 4:27pm On Mar 01, 2015
DieVluit:

Military vehicles? For use by your army?

What difference does it make? And no, you wanted buy weapons, as confirmed by your very own officials.

Your money is gone already. JZ of Nkandla is counting it in his fire pool as we speak.

How much weapons can $15 million buy? It wont buy a Rooivalk.

Deliveries have shown only ambulances and SAMIL trucks all NOT armed.

Nigerian military disclosed the list of South African deal to you? When? Even the T-72 tank deals are not disclosed officially, we discovered by photos only, and photos now show SAMIL trucks.....South Africa does not have the kind of weapons we want, Mi-35 Hinds, T-72 tanks, BTR-4 IFV.....you don't have what we need critically, ambulance and trucks is all you have to sell at cheap give away prices, that's why we bought them.

$15 million is chicken money, we are paying Russia $1 Billion for real weapons. Mumu grin
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Nobody: 4:37pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

NAF does not do Hollywood air show with unqualified pilots like you do in SAAF.

We have surplus F-7 jet pilots
I posted photos of more than 11 SAAF Gripen pilots, aswell as 9 SAAF Gripens in formation, now show as a Pic of more than 3 NAF f-7s in the air!
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by MikeCZAR: 4:53pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

Nigerian military disclosed the list of South African deal to you? When? Even the T-72 tank deals are not disclosed officially, we discovered by photos only, and photos now show SAMIL trucks.....South Africa does not have the kind of weapons we want, Mi-35 Hinds, T-72 tanks, BTR-4 IFV.....you don't have what we need critically, ambulance and trucks is all you have to sell at cheap give away prices, that's why we bought them.

$15 million is chicken money, we are paying Russia $1 Billion for real weapons. Mumu grin
Show us these deliveries from SA. grin grin grin

Second T-72s
Rusty "third hand" BTR-4E, without support variants. If you faced a SA mechanised battle group with command vehicles(Tactical command posts) for manoeuvre unit commanders you'd be crashed in less than an hour.

Rubb..ish MI-35 helicopters! SAAF has a huge appetite for them cool cool cool cool
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by DieVluit: 4:58pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

Before we go too far, how does your post address the main point, which is that no one wants your weapons. And that you wanted South African weapons. And that you had your money seized while trying to get them?

Whenever you are ready.

And if the 15m had not been seized how much would've been spent?
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Nobody: 5:07pm On Mar 01, 2015
Alpha xh-1

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by lezz(m): 5:48pm On Mar 01, 2015
DieVluit:

In other words, you have no citations and are just spewing racist rubbish that you can't even support.

Why? Because you have failed in the primary argument that the Nigerian military is pathetic.
hymn, die-vluit is spoiling for a fight. Whooping your Zulu azz no longer tickles my fancy.

In a less powerful country the book haram menace would have been another civil war.

Nigeria contained Ebola
We are containing book haram .

That's why Egypt is calling for a military cola with Nigeria.

Citation-destitute is what I term you. Now shoo!!

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 5:49pm On Mar 01, 2015
AugustineAgain:

You cannot afford what we sell.

All you can afford from us is 17 year old second hand trucks

TDLR; we sell T-72's and Hinds (pic related)

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by lezz(m): 5:55pm On Mar 01, 2015
Patchesagain:

This is all completely wrong

1. Literacy rate in South Africa is 92%
your first attempt at defense is a tactless, bogus claim.

You would even deny your name just to get even with Nigeria.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by Patchesagain: 6:00pm On Mar 01, 2015
lezz:
your first attempt at defense is a tactless, bogus claim.

You would even deny your name just to get even with Nigeria.

Maybe if you did some research before you opened your mouth you wouldent humiliate yourself
South African literacy rate is over 93%
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/fields/2103.html
Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by DieVluit: 6:21pm On Mar 01, 2015
lezz:
hymn, die-vluit is spoiling for a fight. Whooping your Zulu azz no longer tickles my fancy.

In a less powerful country the book haram menace would have been another civil war.

Nigeria contained Ebola
We are containing book haram .

That's why Egypt is calling for a military cola with Nigeria.

Citation-destitute is what I term you. Now shoo!!

A classic rant without a single piece of support for any of the statements.

Those given the light of day have embarrassingly been proven wrong.

Again, how do any of the statements address the issue of Nigeria's military being pathetic.

And again, citations required for statements made.

Again, where the military argument fails, racism creeps up.

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by lezz(m): 6:50pm On Mar 01, 2015
Patchesagain:

Maybe if you did some research before you opened your mouth you wouldent humiliate yourself
South African literacy rate is over 93%
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/fields/2103.html
what's your secret?
What's your secret for being so devoid of pride,shame and diginy?

Common sense says a country where over 80% of its population only came into contact with civilization and decency in 1994 will still be won't to savagery and barbarism.

Patchesagain, tells me Zulu and Xhosa boys and girls have 93% literacy level. You must have escaped from the queue at the synagogue.

Tell me, how is the educational integration going ? You gave a link but I want you to read on this excerpt :
SA’s shocking literacy stats

October 22 2013 at 07:52am
By Leanne Jansen Comment on this story

AP
File photo: Experts have blamed poor litercay levels on pupils being taught to parrot rather than read independently.
Durban - The literacy level of South African Grade 5 pupils is a “national catastrophe”.

The consequence of pupils being taught to “parrot” rather than read independently was that, after five years of school, 13 percent of Grade 5s (11-year-olds) were illiterate and most were able to score no more than four out of 20 on a comprehension exercise, new data from the national education evaluation and development unit, has revealed.

Speaking in Durban on Monday, Nick Taylor, the head of the unit which reports directly to Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga, said that, from the classroom research conducted in urban and rural areas, it had become “quite clear that most of our teachers can’t teach reading”.

This was despite several years and billions of rand worth of teacher training later.

Earlier this year, Taylor’s unit released the first national evaluation of how pupils in grades 1, 2 and 3 (the foundation phase) in urban schools were taught, marking a shift off the emphasis on Grade 12.

The upshot of the report was that pupils were not taught to solve numeracy problems or read independently because most teachers did not know how to teach these skills.

This year the unit has extended its work to later grades, focusing on reading in rural schools. Its final report will be handed to Motshekga early next year.

“As far as I’m concerned this is a national catastrophe,” Taylor told a meeting of the National Professional Teachers’ Organisation of South Africa (Naptosa), at which he was the guest speaker, and which was attended by principals, school governing body members and politicians.

Taylor said it was “deeply disturbing” that in the classrooms visited by the unit this year, just 5 percent of Grade 5 pupils could read at the required rate of 80 to 90 words a minute.

In the urban Grade 2 classrooms the unit studied last year, it found that while the average eight-year-old was meant to be reading 58 words a minute by the end of the second term, and 71 words a minute by the end of the fourth term, this was not the case.

Instead, when the reading fluency of the top three pupils in each class was observed, researchers found that most were reading between 20 and 29 words a minute.

Teachers could no longer afford to shut their heads of departments (HODs) out of their classrooms, because if the situation was to be remedied, reading had to be declared a “national priority” and professional development needed to take place at school.

Taylor said that teachers were putting far too little emphasis on the ultimate goal, which was independent reading – children were simply “singing in unison”.

Despite teachers’ poor subject knowledge, the large majority of them were considered qualified.

In 1990, 53 percent of teachers held a teaching qualification. By last year, that figure stood at 96 percent. But there was a gap between qualifications and competence.

“While it was true that resourcing, policy and school leadership are all very important, once children are in classrooms, learning depends heavily on the teacher.”

Taylor said that the growth in the number of teachers who held teaching qualifications had been fuelled by the Advanced Certificate in Education courses, which were offered part-time by universities. But the courses had failed to address poor subject knowledge.

Turning to his recommendations, Taylor said that teachers’ unions would be key to turning the situation around.

They needed to help dispel the belief that for teachers to be monitored by their school management team was “about judging”.

The notion that school managers should not visit classrooms was both “rife” and “disastrous”.

“When teachers go into their classrooms, they close the door and that is their kingdom.”

Taylor said that as far as teacher training was concerned, afternoon workshops were “a waste of time”, and that district-based subject advisers were overwhelmed, being responsible for up to 300 schools.

“I want to promote the idea of in-school professional development. The HOD is the person on site who knows her teachers, who can help her teachers on a daily basis,” Taylor said.

Basil Manuel, the president of Naptosa, told the meeting it was “unacceptable” that HODs were not visiting classrooms and not evaluating teachers for fear of upsetting certain teachers.

It was the core responsibility of an HOD to manage the curriculum and monitor its delivery, Manuel said.

The Mercury

Related Stories

Language important to pupils: Motshekga
Education is improving: Surty
Western Cape kids say ‘school is useless’
‘Extra teachers won’t reduce class sizes’
A private education can be low cost
SA pupils sit for ANA tests
Matric pass rate under review
Passing ‘not about numbers’

Comment Guidelines

Please read our comment guidelines.
Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.
Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines

Re: Who Has The Strongest Military In Africa? by lezz(m): 6:56pm On Mar 01, 2015
DieVluit:

A classic rant without a single piece of support for any of the statements.

Those given the light of day have embarrassingly been proven wrong.

Again, how do any of the statements address the issue of Nigeria's military being pathetic.

And again, citations required for statements made.

Again, where the military argument fails, racism creeps up.
I can smell your desperation and anxiety across this platform.

This sewer rat is hurting so bad. die-vluit is losing it. Your opinion doesn't count. You come at me with so much haste and fury. I won't want to slay you in this state.

I shall humble you when you are sober and at your best.

For now, fade away, scum.

(1) (2) (3) ... (1859) (1860) (1861) (1862) (1863) (1864) (1865) ... (2991) (Reply)

African Militaries/ Security Services Strictly Photos Only And Videos Thread / Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie)

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 76