Stats: 3,151,604 members, 7,812,980 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 01:10 AM

JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI (7292 Views)

Caption This Picture Of Boy In Bayelsa Creeks After Yesterday's Polls / Deltans Organize "Enough Is Enough" For Ibori / No Going Back On Bombing Of Niger Delta Creeks-nigerian Airforce (2) (3) (4)

Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by globalaid(m): 1:05pm On Apr 21, 2010
what sort of useless authority do we have, why declared the man wanted on the pages of newspaper without coordinating how to arrest him afterall he is being guarded by nigerian policemen, they should have done their home work well, map out his arrest before declaring him wanted, we always talk before reasoning.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by otokx(m): 1:10pm On Apr 21, 2010
This is all media speculation; the guy is in his house in Ogharra.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Beaf: 1:33pm On Apr 21, 2010
globalaid:

what sort of useless authority do we have, why declared the man wanted on the pages of newspaper without coordinating how to arrest him afterall he is being guarded by nigerian policemen, they should have done their home work well, map out his arrest before declaring him wanted, we always talk before reasoning.

That is why Onovo deserves the sack. Perhaps, a few EFCC folk should go too. Everything was done with the police's usual inept "roger" methods. That man is an enemy of the state, he had 29 mobile police guarding him; yet when he was declared wanted, there had to be a motorcade of some of the countries top (and most fat bellied) policemen. What about the 29 mopols?!! shocked Could they not have done the job? How could a mere gangster slip past the upper echelon of our police and make it into the creeks?
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by ojimboIV: 1:47pm On Apr 21, 2010
onovo should stop using state money to act action movie for us. grin grin grin
when he is ready to catch this ibori guy, he should place a N1m (only) bounty on ibori's head and see prompt results.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by violent(m): 2:02pm On Apr 21, 2010
ojimbo IV:

onovo should stop using state money to act action movie for us. grin grin grin
when he is ready to catch this ibori guy, he should place a N1m (only) bounty on ibori's head and see prompt results.

And why would i want to deliver Ibori for 1m naira when Ibori can offer me 20 million without batting an eye
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by ojimboIV: 2:14pm On Apr 21, 2010
violent:

And why would i want to deliver Ibori for 1m naira when Ibori can offer me 20 million without batting an eye

that is the point. the day ibori can no longer afford N20m, they know what to do - bountyhunting 101.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by violent(m): 2:16pm On Apr 21, 2010
ojimbo IV:

that is the point. the day ibori can no longer afford N20m, they know what to do - bountyhunting 101.

Well, unless his accounts are locked, he can afford 20 million naira every day if he wishes!
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by snowdrops(m): 2:24pm On Apr 21, 2010
Why does he even bother to hide from the authorities which we all know is utterly toothless.

How many detained ex-governors are still in prison?

Ibori should hand himself over, relax in an executive jail while the show trial goes on, before being let out with a N50 million fine.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by SapeleGuy: 2:53pm On Apr 21, 2010
Ibori dey house, no shaking.

Some people are just crying crucify him - even those from  places like Zamfara, Port Harcourt & Ekiti are joining in this chorus. Ask them to tell you the charges, they don't know.  All they know is that they don't like him.

Dislike can't be the basis for justice. We have a constitution, respect it.
Better still, tell us that the governors of your states during this period (cross river excepted) performed better than Ibori.

This new Ibori case is a smoke screen to divert attention from the Halliburton names, Nigerians must not be hoodwinked. By all means prosecute ALL Corrupt Officials, there can be no sacred cows or scape goats.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by SkyBlue1: 3:11pm On Apr 21, 2010
SapeleGuy:

Ibori dey house, no shaking.

Some people are just crying crucify him - even those from  places like Zamfara, Port Harcourt & Ekiti are joining in this chorus. Ask them to tell you the charges, they don't know.  All they know is that they don't like him.

Dislike can't be the basis for justice. We have a constitution, respect it.
Better still, tell us that the governors of your states during this period (cross river excepted) performed better than Ibori.

This new Ibori case is a smoke screen to divert attention from the Halliburton names, Nigerians must not be hoodwinked. By all means prosecute ALL Corrupt Officials, there can be no sacred cows or scape goats.

So who do we prosecute first in order to appease you? If you want to know what he has done why not go read the results of the investigations or the charges EFCC has filed against him instead of pretending they don't exist? Amusing. If EFCC can get Ibori prosecuted now then why not? What is even more pathetic is that you could not even allude to him possibly being innoccent as a justification for letting him go, you had to revert to "leave our son" mentality. How do you know Delta State indigenes are not happy with him being pursued? Or do you now speak for the whole of Delta State?
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by violent(m): 3:18pm On Apr 21, 2010
Sky Blue:

So who do we prosecute first in order to appease you? If you want to know what he has done why not go read the results of the investigations or the charges EFCC has filed against him instead of pretending they don't exist? Amusing. If EFCC can get Ibori prosecuted now then why not? What is even more pathetic is that you could not even allude to him possibly being innoccent as a justification for letting him go, you had to revert to "leave our son" mentality. How do you know Delta State indigenes are not happy with him being pursued? Or do you now speak for the whole of Delta State?

Well said!
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by SapeleGuy: 4:58pm On Apr 21, 2010
Sky Blue:

I no be juju, so no need for appeasement. Neither is it time for sentiment, so don't make this tribal.

Simple question, there were 36 Governors and 1 President in that regime, how come he is the only governor facing prosecution now,  Remember Ribadu said only 2 or so Governors were clean - what happened to the other cases ?

Corruption is an institution in Nigeria, it is an activity that unites north, east, south and west.

Where do we start?

Halliburton presents us all with the opportunity to fight corruption as a nation and in accordance with the law. I repeat there must be no sacred cows or scape goats.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by chidichris(m): 5:00pm On Apr 21, 2010
nigerians and madness. today, orji uzor kalu and everybody say woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, kill him , kill him, tomorrow atiku , kill him kill him, next day, ibori, kill him kill him but how many of these guys have been killed?
the wife of jonathan goodluck is facing trail and why not kill the first lady first? atiku was convicted by ribadu and obasanjo but is he not walking tall in our streets today? IBB - $12billion and he will soon be president. ribadu - kick and run, obasanjo - gang leader, tony annenih - N300 billion ibadan-benin expressway now npa chairman, who among these guys is innocent?
ibori left office may 2007 and this 2010, 3 yrs on, why now? it is just that the elections are arround the corner so all opositions must face efcc or keep their mouth shut.
in the real sense of it, the so-called criminals are the mouth piece of the masses.
look at all those who said no to third term, they are facing one charge or the other but those who said yes are ministers and ambassadores.
nairalanders, pls stop decieving urselves.
ibori must learn to fight this fight as his last fight and use whatsoever is available to him who knows, we can be liberated through the condemed criminal.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Beaf: 5:07pm On Apr 21, 2010
chidichris:

nigerians and madness. today, orji uzor kalu and everybody say woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, kill him , kill him, tomorrow atiku , kill him kill him, next day, ibori, kill him kill him but how many of these guys have been killed?
the wife of jonathan goodluck is facing trail and why not kill the first lady first? atiku was convicted by ribadu and obasanjo but is he not walking tall in our streets today? IBB  - $12billion and he will soon be president. ribadu - kick and run, obasanjo - gang leader, tony annenih - N300 billion ibadan-benin expressway now npa chairman, who among these guys is innocent?
ibori left office may 2007 and this 2010, 3 yrs on, why now? it is just that the elections are arround the corner so all opositions must face efcc or keep their mouth shut.
in the real sense of it, the so-called criminals are the mouth piece of the masses.
look at all those who said no to third term, they are facing one charge or the other but those who said yes are ministers and ambassadores.
nairalanders, pls stop decieving urselves.
ibori must learn to fight this fight as his last fight and use whatsoever is available to him who knows, we can be [b]liberated [/b]through the condemed criminal.

My friend, go and rest!
Do you know that Ibori's bodyguards went on rampage yesterday, holding up and robbing innocent people on Warri-Sapele Road? They even attacked a bullion van.

A man gathers a private force of 1000+ men, they even have the temerity to attack the police, army and navy! And you are questioning why he is wanted?
Shame! You even want to be "liberated" by the demon, Ibori? shocked

Damn!
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by SkyBlue1: 5:19pm On Apr 21, 2010
SapeleGuy:

I no be juju, so no need for appeasement. Neither is it time for sentiment, so don't make this tribal.

Simple question, there were 36 Governors and 1 President in that regime, how come he is the only governor facing prosecution now,  Remember Ribadu said only 2 or so Governors were clean - what happened to the other cases ?

Corruption is an institution in Nigeria, it is an activity that unites north, east, south and west.

Where do we start?

Halliburton presents us all with the opportunity to fight corruption as a nation and in accordance with the law. I repeat there must be no sacred cows or scape goats.

Apologies but if anyone is making this issue "tribal" I would say its you (feel free to disagree). You are the one who brought in "tell us that the governors of your states during this period (cross river excepted) performed better than Ibori". What on earth has that got to do with anything? Has he got questions to answer or not? He is not the only corrupt person, so he should be left to go free? What kind of ridiculous arguement is that? Is that a joke? So please I repeat Mr Sapele, who do we go after first to appease you and what is the criteria for such? What makes you think EFCC does not have any evidence to nail Ibori? Have you read the charges yourself? So what are you talking about?
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by ono(m): 5:29pm On Apr 21, 2010
Watching and waiting - until he's been caught. All these ones na just tori.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Nobody: 5:33pm On Apr 21, 2010
If Ibori pledges his loyalty to Jonathan he will no longer be corrupt and Government wont chase him anymore.

Since Timipre Sylva pledged loyalty anybody heard of his investigation?

This is not fight against corruption, we will soon find out what this is all about.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by chidichris(m): 5:48pm On Apr 21, 2010
My friend, go and rest!
Do you know that Ibori's bodyguards went on rampage yesterday, holding up and robbing innocent people on Warri-Sapele Road? They even attacked a bullion van.

A man gathers a private force of 1000+ men, they even have the temerity to attack the police, army and navy! And you are questioning why he is wanted?
Shame! You even want to be "liberated" by the demon, Ibori? Shocked

Damn!

@beaf,
pls read the text below.

If Ibori pledges his loyalty to Jonathan he will no longer be corrupt and Government wont chase him anymore.

Since Timipre Sylva pledged loyalty anybody heard of his investigation?

This is not fight against corruption, we will soon find out what this is all about.
@krendo,
thanks for providing this massage.

@beaf,
is ibori wanted for armed robbery.
is the act of having security a crime in nigeria?
do u know the name, chris uba? do u know what he did with his security men in anambra when he ousted a seating gov(chris ngige)?
go back to school as u are still too young to mingle here.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Nobody: 5:53pm On Apr 21, 2010
I am really tired of all this flexing of muscle
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Beaf: 5:57pm On Apr 21, 2010
chidichris:

@beaf,
is ibori wanted for armed robbery.
is the act of having security a crime in nigeria?
do u know the name, chris uba? do u know what he did with his security men in anambra when he ousted a seating gov(chris ngige)?
go back to school as[b] u are still too young to mingle here[/b].

Maybe, you are so old, you clawed your way out of the grave to type the above? grin

Please show me what law allows a man to have the 1000+ armed men that you naively call "security".
Chris Uba is not Ibori and Obj's regime is not Jonathans, your logic is bent on itself.
Lastly, Ibori and his cohorts acted in ways to make Nigeria unstable, endangering 160 million, just to protect his illicit wealth. He is an enemy of the state and is now rightly wanted dead or alive for those crimes.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Orikinla(m): 6:12pm On Apr 21, 2010
Is James Ibori the only corrupt politician in Nigeria?

The EFCC should also go after all the criminals indicted in the Halliburton bribery scandal.

You can't be looking for scapegoats while former President Olusegun Obasanjo and his former Vice President Atiku and the other million dollar bribe takers are still dining and wining in their mansions and VIP clubs in LAGOS AND Abuja.
NOBODY SHOULD BE ABOVE THE LAW OR THE LAW IS BULLSHIT.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by SapeleGuy: 7:35pm On Apr 21, 2010
Sky Blue:

Apologies but if anyone is making this issue "tribal" I would say its you (feel free to disagree). You are the one who brought in "tell us that the governors of your states during this period (cross river excepted) performed better than Ibori".  What on earth has that got to do with anything? Has he got questions to answer or not? He is not the only corrupt person, so he should be left to go free? What kind of ridiculous arguement is that? Is that a joke? So please I repeat Mr Sapele, who do we go after first to appease you and what is the criteria for such? What makes you think EFCC does not have any evidence to nail Ibori? Have you read the charges yourself? So what are you talking about?

No need for apologies, we are being tough on the issue - nothing personal.

Where do we start? Halliburton or Failed Power projects, put it this way, corruption didn't start in 1999, justice delayed shouldn't mean justice denied. TRY ALL CORRUPT PUBLIC OFFICE HOLDERS.

As for innocence, that is for the courts to decide. We must promote the concept of innocent until proven guilty.

There is too much politics in this matter, EFCC should compile its case properly before going to court. If you read the certified true copy of the judgement from December 2009, even blue sky thinkers will be embarrased by the incompetence of EFCC.

http://174.143.70.126/reports/exclusive/4613-text-of-justice-marcel-awokulehins-5-million-dollar-qkangaroo-rulingq-that-discharged-ibori-of-170-count-charges-of-corruption-stealing-and-abuse-of-office.html
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by SkyBlue1: 7:58pm On Apr 21, 2010
SapeleGuy:

No need for apologies, we are being tough on the issue - nothing personal.

Where do we start? Halliburton or Failed Power projects, put it this way, corruption didn't start in 1999, justice delayed shouldn't mean justice denied. TRY ALL CORRUPT PUBLIC OFFICE HOLDERS.

As for innocence, that is for the courts to decide. We must promote the concept of innocent until proven guilty.

There is too much politics in this matter, EFCC should compile its case properly before going to court. If you read the certified true copy of the judgement from December 2009, you will be embarrased by the incompetence of EFCC.

http://174.143.70.126/reports/exclusive/4613-text-of-justice-marcel-awokulehins-5-million-dollar-qkangaroo-rulingq-that-discharged-ibori-of-170-count-charges-of-corruption-stealing-and-abuse-of-office.html

I am still looking hard for something in your post which actually serves as reasonable justification for letting Ibori off the hook. No offence, but you seem to be saying a lot without really saying anything with regards to the issue at hand. Spell it out clearly, why should Ibori be let of the hook?
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Ibime(m): 8:03pm On Apr 21, 2010
Whilst we all hate selective justice, it doesnt stop us from celebrating when one criminal is caught.

Yes, justice is selective in Nigeria (depending on who is in power), but in the meantime lets celebrate the downfall of Ibori. If it was IBB, OBJ, Odili, Danjuma or any of the Haliburton guys, we would still celebrate equally.

Some are saying we should afford Ibori the justice that attains in a true democracy, however a crook like Ibori who murdered democracy during the Yar'Adua saga cannot expect to reap the benefits of same democracy.

And BTW, those of us calling for jungle justice for Ibori only do so because we know that the Nigerian judicial system will not deliver an appropriate conviction. We shouldnt even bother trying Ibori for fraud. . . some EFCC officials have been gunned down whilst investigating his case. . . that is what we should try him for.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by SapeleGuy: 8:15pm On Apr 21, 2010
Sky Blue:

I am still looking hard for something in your post which actually serves as reasonable justification for letting Ibori off the hook. No offence, but you seem to be saying a lot without really saying anything with regards to the issue at hand. Spell it out clearly, why should Ibori be let of the hook?

Look again but this time with some objectivity. So far you have missed my point entirely, the fight against corruption is a window dressing, just look at the convictions to date.

By all means keep trying Ibori, at no point in my posts have I stated that he should be given the Ribadu treatment (All charges dropped - A let off).

My point is that EFCC has the capacity to pursue more governors and presidents as fervently as they are pursuing Ibori. There should be equity and equality in the work of EFCC. Simple
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by SapeleGuy: 8:28pm On Apr 21, 2010
Ibime - I don't buy all this cabal theory.

1 minute it is Turai, the next minute it is the "North", in the next breath it is Ibori. Soon it will be Odili or Tinubu.

Let us stop 'catching witches' and face the problem head on.

The simple truth is that our legislators and the FEC had a major attack of cowardice - a collective and recurring failure of leadership.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Sunofgod(m): 8:30pm On Apr 21, 2010
It only equally minded criminals that would sympathise with Ibori.

If he is so innocent let him go to the nearest police station with his lawyer and defend the allegations made against him.

He has cases outside Nigeria he must also answer in judiciary systems that wont allow him of the hook.

His days as a free man are numbered - Unless he can adopt his lifestyle to living among militants in the swamps of the Niger Delta.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Beaf: 8:52pm On Apr 21, 2010
Sun of god:

It only equally minded criminals that would sympathise with Ibori.

If he is so innocent let him go to the nearest police station with his lawyer and defend the allegations made against him.

He has cases outside Nigeria he must also answer in judiciary systems that wont allow him of the hook.

His days as a free man are numbered - Unless he can adopt his lifestyle to living among militants in the swamps of the Niger Delta.

You definitely don't know them creeks! He can find his way to Benin Republic via creeks alone!
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Sunofgod(m): 9:09pm On Apr 21, 2010
Ibori must think he is 'Rambo'.

If those militants have any sense they should distance themselves from Ibori.

He will end up tarnishing their reputation.

Let them not get involved in his predicament and face their own political problems.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by Beaf: 9:33pm On Apr 21, 2010
Sun of god:

Ibori must think he is 'Rambo'.

If those militants have any sense they should distance themselves from Ibori.

He will end up tarnishing their reputation.

Let them not get involved in his predicament and face their own political problems.

Those aren't militants. Militants fight for a cause.
They are thugs, hoodlums and armed robbers; they were armed by Ibori for the purpose they are playing. The govt should treat them like the scum they are and mow them down along with Ibori if need be.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by duabba: 10:12pm On Apr 21, 2010
It was the 'mericans that came up with the refrain ", innocent until proven guilty". In my opinion I think we should go the Russian way ", guilty until proven innocent", with respect to corruption issues. Then it will be easier to gather them all and do a collective ass-whooping.
Re: JTF, police storm Delta creeks - DOOM FOR IBORI by violent(m): 10:34pm On Apr 21, 2010
duabba:

It was the 'mericans that came up with the refrain ", innocent until proven guilty". In my opinion I think we should go the Russian way ", guilty until proven innocent", with respect to corruption issues. Then it will be easier to gather them all and do a collective backside-whooping.

I love your lines!

Bomb Found At Seme Border / Someone Just Discovered This And It's True (pics) / Tinubu Calls Igbo People "Awon Okoro" In Soon To Be Released Tapes

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 78