Stats: 3,140,471 members, 7,770,157 topics. Date: Tuesday, 19 March 2024 at 06:10 AM

INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters (4960 Views)

Pastor Rejects GEJ Trekker In Kwali / PDP Candidate Ishaku, Winner Of Taraba Election - Saharareporters / How Obanikoro, Fayose, Uba & Momoh Rigged Ekiti Election- Saharareporters (2) (3) (4)

INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by Gbawe: 5:07pm On Nov 22, 2011
http://saharareporters.com/news-page/inec-rejects-jonathans-anointed-candidate-bayelsa-election

INEC Rejects Jonathan's Anointed Candidate For Bayelsa Election
Posted: November 22, 2011 - 11:17
Henry Seriake-Dickson at the flawed primary on Saturday
By SaharaReporters, New York

President Goodluck Jonathan's plan to force a governorship candidate on the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Bayelsa State is facing fresh hurdles as the Independent National Electoral Commission, Nigeria's electoral body, said it would reject the winner of the fraudulent primary if presented to it as a candidate of the party.

The PDP went ahead with a seriously flawed primary election despite a high court injunction stopping the exercise. INEC officials also boycotted the primary last Saturday in view of the court order stopping the primary.

Jonathan's anointed candidate, Henry Seriake-Dickson, was declared the winner in the flawed primary. Saharareporters had revealed that Mr. Dickson was programmed to win. Some contestants, who felt cheated, walked out in protest.

But speaking to Saharareporters this morning, a top INEC official said the primary was a nullity as far as his commission was concerned, and that Dickson will not be an acceptable candidate for the PDP.

'As you know, we (INEC) stayed away from the congress" the official said. "The law expects us to observe party primaries. But we had to stay away so as not to be part of an illegality.

"The court issued an injunction and it is only reasonable that the law is respected. We cannot accept the outcome of such a process. Except the court rules otherwise, we cannot accept the winner of that election as a candidate," the official said.

The official spoke shortly before INEC spokesperson, Kayode Idowu, confirmed to us that his commission stayed away from the congress in compliance with the court injunction.

"We got an injunction, and we had to respect it," he said.

Meanwhile, Saharareporters has received reports that the PDP has filed an appeal against the injunction obtained by Governor Timipre Sylva against the primary.

Ironically, the party had claimed that it did not know of any court injunction against the party congress prior to the primary.

Our sources said the appeal is a desperate ploy by the party to vacate the injunction and acquire legitimacy for the sham primary conducted in flagrant disobedience of a federal high court order.

An Appeal notice filed by the party legal adviser, Olusoka Oke, asked the court of appeal to vacate the injunction of the lower court and a motion urging the court of appeal for a motion for the stay of execution. The chairman of the PDP Usman barrage is represented by Tayo oyetibo, SAN while Mr. Dickson the candidate who emerged from the defective primaries has asked to join the suit through Joe-Kyari Gadzama, SAN.

At today's resumed  hearing before a Federal High Court judge, Justice Gabriel Kolawole, Gov. Timipre Sylva's represented by Prince Lateef Fagbemi, SAN and Femi Falana, disclosed to the court that the PDP had served processes of appeal to them. After reviewing the pleadings by lawyers in the case, the judge adjourned the case "sine die". In his ruling giving a leeway to the court of appeal, Justice Kolawole stated that the integrity  and the sanctity of the processes of court must be preserved.

President Jonathan has reportedly given instructions to his aides to influence the Court of Appeal judges to allow the case receive favorable treatment as he flies to France for a summit.

If the Court of Appeal rules in favor of the illegal primaries, INEC would have no choice but to recognize Mr. Dickson as the authentic candidate for the PDP.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by CyberG: 2:42am On Nov 23, 2011
Useless Jonathan now wants to start acting kingmaker after coming short to be the WEAKEST Nigerian president in history and future! The look on his face all the time shows he is a joke and even little ants will laugh their Bottom off! LOL! grin grin
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by Nobody: 2:46am On Nov 23, 2011
INEC. . . . if na OBJ, dem no get spine to reject.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by Rhino5dm: 3:02am On Nov 23, 2011
Jonadunce is in big wahala.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by EkoIle1: 3:10am On Nov 23, 2011

Ironically, the party had claimed that it did not know of any court injunction against the party congress prior to the primary.

Are these clowns for real? See your worthless leaders and their ogboju koro koro bold face lie.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by Rhino5dm: 5:43am On Nov 23, 2011
Jonadunce is in big wahala.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by Baawaa(m): 10:41am On Nov 23, 2011
This was exactly what happened in Ogun-State??PDP will loose in Bayelsa
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by BCuZiMBlaCk(m): 10:43am On Nov 23, 2011
Thats their business
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by maki(f): 10:56am On Nov 23, 2011
in rivers state 2007, how did rotimi ameachi win d pdp primaries? lipsrsealed ***just asking***
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by Okijajuju1(m): 10:58am On Nov 23, 2011
maki:

in rivers state 2007, how did rotimi ameachi win d pdp primaries? lipsrsealed ***just asking***

Meaning!? angry
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by maki(f): 11:33am On Nov 23, 2011
Okija_juju:

Meaning!? angry

cheesy u can frown for all i care, i said i was just asking, will u find me guilty for asking a question? grin guess u cant, wink tongue
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by rolchi(m): 12:08pm On Nov 23, 2011
^^^Ameachi's case was different. He won a valid primary and his name submitted to INEC within the stipulated time but was removed at a time when it is illegal for any political party to substitute its candidate except in the case of death.

Sylva has not won any Primary election and he did not get the party's nod. Apart from Ben Bruce Murray, others have not told us why they were disqualified by their party. Sylva should tell us so that the public can speak for him! wink wink
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by tnktosin(m): 12:09pm On Nov 23, 2011
These guys are a Joke.  Lets kick POLIO PdP out of Nigeria.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by stepo707: 12:17pm On Nov 23, 2011
But sun news and punch newspaper reports otherwise.which do we believe now?
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by ujchief(m): 12:39pm On Nov 23, 2011
Brb
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by DDN: 12:41pm On Nov 23, 2011
Useless Jonathan now wants to start acting kingmaker after coming short to be the WEAKEST Nigerian president in history and future! The look on his face all the time shows he is a joke and even little ants will laugh their Bottom off! LOL! Grin Grin

I hope you can make it to be a president one day so that Nigerians will see how you will perform.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by Funkymallam(m): 1:14pm On Nov 23, 2011
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by lanrefront1(m): 1:42pm On Nov 23, 2011
If Ben Bruce was not another bootlicker of Goverment in power, he would have been able to see beyond his nose, and would not have contested on the platform of PDP.

If he had contested on the platform of APGA, I believe he would win, even despite all PDP,s attemp to rig. You can see from the little campeign he did so far that has a goodwill similar to the one Okorocha has in Imo. People want a geniuie change and would have voted for him massisvely.
Maybe now all the pro-goverment tendencies on Silverbird morning shows will stop.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by gregg2: 1:46pm On Nov 23, 2011
stepo707:

But sun news and punch newspaper reports otherwise.which do we believe now?

Don't mind Gbawe and his multiple usernames aimed at ridiculing the President all the time. INEC announced yesterday that it is yet to take a stance on the outcome of Bayelsa PDP primaries.

Talk to Bayelsans (not state govt officials) if they want Sylva. See, 85% of Bayelsans, not just Jonathan don't want Sylva.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by Ojukwu24(m): 1:48pm On Nov 23, 2011
Must we link every thing that happens to GEJ? He was not there at the primaries and his absence has been linked to the court injunction. Most of you here can't even control themselves especially their tongue not to talk of leading a country of over 150 million. You call GEJ all sorts of names?
It is not that I support GEJ but honestly, the way some people talk here shows that they too can't rule this country.
DDN:

Useless Jonathan now wants to start acting kingmaker after coming short to be the WEAKEST Nigerian president in history and future! The look on his face all the time shows he is a joke and even little ants will laugh their Bottom off! LOL! Grin Grin

I hope you can make it to be a president one day so that Nigerians will see how you will perform.

Don't mind him.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by YOMIT(m): 1:52pm On Nov 23, 2011
I just dnt knw where and how Saharareporters derive their own news, IN as much as i would love it to be real, I watched in news yesterday as Inec said dey have no power to reject any candidate from any political party. Sahara Reporters na wa oo.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by jmaine: 1:53pm On Nov 23, 2011
As usual it is Sahara . . .Shameful Junky news portal . . . for junky seeking minds . . .
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by brainpulse: 3:57pm On Nov 23, 2011
this is one of the reason he sacked Waziri
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by seanet02: 4:48pm On Nov 23, 2011
jmaine:

As usual it is Sahara . . .Shameful Junky news portal . . . for junky seeking minds . . .
You hate the truth,
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by 9ijaprince(m): 5:31pm On Nov 23, 2011
lanre_front:

If Ben Bruce was not another bootlicker of Goverment in power, he would have been able to see beyond his nose, and would not have contested on the platform of PDP.

If he had contested on the platform of APGA, I believe he would win, even despite all PDP,s attemp to rig. You can see from the little campeign he did so far that has a goodwill similar to the one Okorocha has in Imo. People want a geniuie change and would have voted for him massisvely.
Maybe now all the pro-goverment tendencies on Silverbird morning shows will stop.

Most politicians in bayelsa believe that they can only win on pdp plattform.
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by jmaine: 6:56pm On Nov 23, 2011
seanet02:

You hate the truth,

Yes i hate twisted truths which amounts to lies and fictitious stories . . So continue feeding and constipating on the junky news the useless Sahara provides in abundance
Re: INEC Rejects GEJ's Candidate For Bayelsa Election - SaharaReporters by PointB: 11:05pm On Nov 23, 2011
It can only be from Sahara Misreporter, purveyor of fake news. grin grin grin grin

We have warned these clowns that rely solely on them to do so with a pinch of salt, but they wouldn't listen.

Shame!

Woman Strips Off And Pole Dances To Stop Police From Towing Her Car (photos) / How John Kerry, Netanyahu Got Jonathan To Vote Against Palestine-uk Guardian / Once A Soldier, Always A Soldier, See What Buhari Did At Army Guards Of Brigade

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37