Stats: 3,152,432 members, 7,815,977 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 10:40 PM

The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" - Properties (85) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" (263922 Views)

The Making Of The Port Harcourt "Duplex + 4 Flats" / The Port Harcourt Luxury Flats / The Making Of "The Port Harcourt Castle" (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (82) (83) (84) (85) (86) (87) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by amanikondo: 5:09am On Jun 30, 2014
janykute:
Has anyone or group claimed responsibility for this hacking sef?
Boko haram lol.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by goodyearsam123(m): 5:42am On Jun 30, 2014
spyder880: I love building houses, and the attendant challenges that will inevitably come with it. I love making things happen, and working with skilled men to use materials in creating beautiful designs that will make a superb home. I have just been contracted by a Nairalander to build his house in Port Harcourt. The details are as follows;

Project: A 5 bedroom executive duplex
Client : A Nairalander
Duration: 60 days
Project cost: N8.8m (Foundation-roofing, materials and labour)
Contractor: Ckenneths Homes Nig.

This project will start this week as we arrange to travel down to the city and start work. This house comes with all the latest designs in modern building, granite, decent room arrangement with bigger bedrooms, internal plumbing and electricals, special parapet cornice, stone coated roofing tiles, everything.......
. CURRENT COST OF STONE COATED ROOFING TILES ...08120009791 or BB PIN 284DE1E1 ______ Gauge 0.45mm and 0.55 mm in various colors ...New Zealand....south Korea and Belgium. 0.45mm =N=2,000 per square meter 0.55mm =N=2,500 per square meter Ridge cap =N=1,000 Per meter Valley Gutter =N=1,000 Per meter B.B.C =N=1,000 Per meter fascia board =N=1,000 Per meter treated nails =N=1,000 per KG sealant =N=3,500 A Pack Installation within Lagos =N=200 Per meter and outside Lagos(OTHER STATES) =N=250 We have the following designed listed below: Classic, Bond, Shingle, Roman. Call now for more details. (high quality low price)

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by Empiree: 11:54pm On Jul 08, 2014
spyder880: We start to plaster this side by tomorrow.......

Not sure if i am missing something here?. Looking at the roof on p.64, is it completed?. Looks like when it rains, rain falls directly from the roof, isn't?
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by spyder880(m): 12:09am On Jul 09, 2014
Empiree:

Not sure if i am missing something here?. Looking at the roof on p.64, is it completed?. Looks like when it rains, rain falls directly from the roof, isn't?

Yes, rain is going to be falling directly from the roof as desired by my client.

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by mufutau55(m): 2:43am On Jul 09, 2014
spyder880:
Yes, rain is going to be falling directly from the roof as desired by my client.

Nothing wrong with this.. some people like the natural feeling of things.. raindrops.

Hajji M.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by spyder880(m): 5:49am On Jul 09, 2014
mufutau55:

Nothing wrong with this.. some people like the natural feeling of things.. raindrops.

Hajji M.

Exactly, he asked me "why are you trying to stop rain from doing its thing, what is the essence of channeling it somewhere when it can just fall down from the roof on its own?"
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by Empiree: 6:48am On Jul 09, 2014
I understand that actually. But with Stone Coated Step Tiles like this, is there other finishing style to avoid raindrops?. Dont get me wrong. It looks great
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by omobashua1: 3:48am On Jul 23, 2014
hi,pls how much is d amoula pvc per bundle and how many pieces are in the bundle ? thank u
mufutau55:

NO. It does not include woods for ceiling.. we did the wood for ceilings when we are actually doing the ceilings.
Ceiling wood costs = N51,400 and Carpenter Labor for the ceiling wood=N25,000 Total=N76,400
Look at the photos below, the white/cream woods you see going across four ways is one made for the ceiling.
Also, you can see the ceilings using PVC bought from Amoula Paragon in Alahusa area.
Hope this helps.. If you need more details, send it thru email, so we do not derail this thread here.

Hajji Mufutau

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by mufutau55(m): 4:07am On Jul 23, 2014
omobashua1: hi,pls how much is d amoula pvc per bundle and how many pieces are in the bundle ? thank u

Single W=10cm x L=6m = N750 each strip
Double W=20cm x L=6m = N1,500 each strip
There is 10 in a bundle multiply by the amount of each strip, plus 5% VAT.

You will need the bundle because it's wider, they both have the same length of 6meters.
If you want their website, send me an email and you can see more info on their site.

Hajji Mufutau

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by Empiree: 5:08am On Jul 23, 2014
Hajji Mufutau, are you talking about the ceiling on page 79?. I dont know the of size of the ceiling but if one is to do POP for the same ceiling size, how much average cost would be?
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by omobashua1: 6:02am On Jul 23, 2014
Thanks very much bro,i really do appreciate it.Pls can u send me a private email or # to buzz u at ? i don't know how d private msg out here works.

Regards
mufutau55:

Single W=10cm x L=6m = N750 each strip
Double W=20cm x L=6m = N1,500 each strip
There is 10 in a bundle multiply by the amount of each strip, plus 5% VAT.

You will need the bundle because it's wider, they both have the same length of 6meters.
If you want their website, send me an email and you can see more info on their site.

Hajji Mufutau

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by mufutau55(m): 3:28pm On Jul 23, 2014
omobashua1: Thanks very much bro,i really do appreciate it.Pls can u send me a private email or # to buzz u at ? i don't know how d private msg out here works. Regards

Email from Nairaland here has been sent to you with full details you will need...

Hajji Mufutau
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by mufutau55(m): 3:30pm On Jul 23, 2014
Empiree: Hajji Mufutau, are you talking about the ceiling on page 79?. I dont know the of size of the ceiling but if one is to do POP for the same ceiling size, how much average cost would be?

Yes, we are talking about PVC ceiling. Sorry I do not know a thing about POP pricings. I am sure all the Ogas will help here.

Hajji Mufutau

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by Chekitaut: 5:57am On Sep 13, 2014
GRANITE: Our service now in the East

Granite Price: N2900/ton
Transportation: Call
Qty: 30tons

Cross-River to PORT HARCOURT, OBRIKOM, YENEGOA, AHODA, OWERRI, OBAGI, MBIAMA, UYO, IKO ABASI, EKET, IKOT-EPENE, ABA, UMAHIA, ITU, CALABAR, ORON

Call:08055545355, 08077615531
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by met2(m): 1:41pm On Sep 22, 2014
@ oga spyder, i am an ardent follower. Please can u help with the estimate cost for the windows of this building. Your reply is highly appreciated.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by spyder880(m): 2:49pm On Sep 22, 2014
met2: @ oga spyder, i am an ardent follower. Please can u help with the estimate cost for the windows of this building. Your reply is highly appreciated.

Around N1.5m
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by met2(m): 4:22pm On Sep 22, 2014
@ spyder, thank u very much. I appreciate ur reply. More grace

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by sako28: 5:05pm On Sep 24, 2014
chinosxl:

Yea man, you designed my plan for the PH 5 bedroom duplex. The project on this thread is not mine though. I hope for Spyder to take on mine NEXT. State Govt Plan approval is being processed. Will keep you updated.

Sir, please how much was ur state give plan approval. I plan to start building a duplex in agip side of PHC. ur response will b appreciated.

Thank you.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by Empiree: 10:42pm On Nov 16, 2014
@ spyder880, me and my friend, who also into construction business were looking at this thread last night. Very interesting. Cant take my eyes off this thread. However, he raised some important questions.

He was scared seeing "concrete parapet". He alleged that the load might be too much. I did say concern about this grew in the media may be the reason "Aluminum parapet" was invented. How is it with "Aluminum parapet", any info on it?

Also he frowns at tank stand being too high up. I actually didnt notice that before. It looks scary considering heavy load of GP tanks on it. It appears 3 tanks fit in it. Then, he raised question that if for instance, tank on the left or right is empty and the other 2 tanks are fully loaded, pressure will mount on one side which may be catastrophic and loss. Did you envision this?

On "concrete parapet", he thinks that with time, rain will turn the concrete 'green' and has to be constantly maintained. Do you agree with this?. Overall, he loves the building.

I did show him another thread with parapet which he seems to be okay with. He alleged that roof should be elevated away from parapet to avoid water damage..
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by afoxy17: 11:25am On Dec 21, 2014
spyder880:
gradually coming out

Oga syder, let me take back a little, going through this thread noticed u didn't tell us the type of wood used for the roofing,the amount (current price of same in Ph,and where to get them) Also what's the name of the anti termite chemical used on the wood. Thanx. Compliments of d season.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by spyder880(m): 3:04pm On Dec 21, 2014
afoxy17:

Oga syder, let me take back a little, going through this thread noticed u didn't tell us the type of wood used for the roofing,the amount (current price of same in Ph,and where to get them) Also what's the name of the anti termite chemical used on the wood. Thanx. Compliments of d season.

I usually buy hardwood from around Eliozu timber market if am building in Eneka area. I am not very conversant with current prices of wood, materials are on the rise since last two weeks.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by spyder880(m): 5:39am On Dec 25, 2014
Hello friends, 
It is my pleasure to find time to communicate with you all, and to review our activities in the last 12 months. We have been interacting here all year long in peace and harmony, and that's why I feel its good to provide you all with a round up of all our various projects and ventures which we worked on in the outgoing year, 2014. 

It was a very eventful year, and incidentally my first full year working as a building contractor. We crafted houses and structures in various parts of the country. On my part will say it was very fulfilling, because for the first time I felt I am doing what I am well suited for, building houses. I also hope you enjoyed the journey and details as we moved from state to state, site to site, task to task.

We built houses in 3 states of the federation in 2014, we built 6 houses in Enugu state, 3 houses in Rivers State and 1 house in Imo State. Altogether, we built a total of 10 houses in 2014, all the houses, with the exception of two houses in Enugu state are all online here and owned by members of this Nairaland. The remaining 2 houses belongs to private individuals in Enugu who saw what I was doing on the ground and contacted me to build their houses. All the houses are in their finish stages, expect for the luxury flats we are working to get to the roof in Port Harcourt. 

My passion has always been to build houses, and I enjoy what I do. But of course life will never move on a straight and level plane. We experienced a fair share of challenges as we worked in some of the projects in 2014. Some of the problems were as a result of natural occurrences, some from bad workmanship, by some of our workers while the rest was as a result of weak supervision on the part of men I placed in positions of authority in the periods I might be out of the site. 

There were a few desperate situations, some small errors and some not too small work failures. In all, we reacted in good time to either arrest the situation or totally reverse the errors. It is our belief that we came out stronger from every challenge, and we learnt a lesson or two in the process. We also took steps to forestall a future occurrence. I have had to tinker with my team many times, dropping workers whom I found out were not entirely honest, or just refused to learn. I have also added to my team, more men I think they understand my needs, and share my values and aspirations. The improvements to our work are obvious, I have also taken steps to reduce the number of projects I accept in any time, I will like to complete some projects before starting another one. 

I can also recall some wonderful results, some high quality jobs which we all agreed came out top class. There are some houses which I can smile about whenever I am passing the area, buildings which I can point at with pride and satisfaction. For those projects, I also learnt a lot from them, and will put the lessons to use in the coming year.

2014 also marked a change in my approach to the housing sector, I added another branch to my housing business, estate management. I initiated a move to develop 100 plots of land in a remote community in Enugu East LGA. The properties are on sale to interested members of the public, I am acquiring the lands with my registered company name, Tigerkenn Homes Nig LTD. We have sold over 20 plots of land and are still collecting deposits from interested investors, in and out of nairaland. 

We have offers for home building next year, we are finalising some deals on the projects we are going to start by next year 2015. We have a new duplex project planned for Port Harcourt, a super renovation work planned in Anambra , our new estate works in Enugu will also take off in the first quarter of 2015. We are already poised to give the estate a good lift, with a view to developing the place so the area can appreciate. It will be a very busy year, but we are up to the task as usual. We want to deliver more quality and less quantity. 

I am using this opportunity to thank you all, especially my clients, for your steadfastness, your trust and belief in us. I have never met many of you in person, only phone calls and emails, and yet we relate like brothers and sisters. Please forgive us if there are things we did not do very well in 2014, we are only human, and we will continue to improve in all respects. We promise you lower costs and higher quality projects. We appreciate you, may GOD himself bless you all.

For all my workers, you are the best, we may fight and quarrel, for all the misunderstanding and all the harsh words, for the shouting matches and corrective actions, please forgive and forget, its not a personal thing, we must do these to improve our work so we can impress our clients. 

For all our suppliers, we thank you for your timely and not too timely deliveries, but please serve us better next year and don't connive with cement sellers to rip us off.

For all my friends and readers, na una be the real Oga, the people I am really serving. I promise more action next year, lets do it again in 2015!

There is a possibility that my phone might not be connecting in the next few days till the end of this year. I llan to travel to my village in Nomeh Unateze in Nkanu East LGA in Enugu state with my family for this Christmas festivities, my village usually has very poor MTN network coverage. We are supposed to travel later this morning and I might be in the village till the new year, with one or two visits to some sites in between.

This is an opportunity to spend some time with my wife and children, visit the farm, go fishing in the village stream, prepare village foods and attend village meetings. 

In case anyone wants to contact me, please send me a text message on my normal line 08033350750 or send a mail to ckenneths@yahoo.co.uk, I will be checking from time to time.

Merry Christmas to you all, we thank you all. 

PERFECTION IS OUR GOAL, EXCELLENCE WILL BE TOLERATED.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by TopeFl(m): 5:08am On Feb 13, 2015
You have indeed done a great job. I was at work and was thinking of all that I have learnt through you on nairaland. It even surprised me more to see the note you wrote above. May all your endeavours be blessed and fruitful. I hope you enjoyed your vacation to your village with wife and children. God shall continue to guide us all.

N.B I was curious as to what the Portharcourt mansion finally looks like, any pictures for us?

Thanks.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by spyder880(m): 5:51am On Feb 13, 2015
TopeFl:
You have indeed done a great job. I was at work and was thinking of all that I have learnt through you on nairaland. It even surprised me more to see the note you wrote above. May all your endeavours be blessed and fruitful. I hope you enjoyed your vacation to your village with wife and children. God shall continue to guide us all.

N.B I was curious as to what the Portharcourt mansion finally looks like, any pictures for us?

Thanks.

Still looks superb, only that its now an inhabited compound so not good to be sharing the pictures any longer. Thanks.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by esoorita: 12:20am On Feb 16, 2015
spyder880:

Still looks superb, only that its now an inhabited compound so not good to be sharing the pictures any longer. Thanks.

Well done Spyder, more grease to your elbow. Like I always reiterate, you are first among equals. I have just completed my house at Mayfair Gardens in Lekki axis Lagos and I must acknowledge the fact that you have greatly inspired me through your building activities on Nairaland to accomplish my mission in achieving the objective of completing the house in time and on budget. I hope to open a thread to showcase the process of building the house with the cost implications on Nairaland very soon. I cannot thank you enough for your inspiration and the way you encourage a potential house owner with your techniques of reasonable budget for labour and materials. I'd like to speak to you on the phone very soon if you can give me your phone number. I'm based in the U.K. Once again, thanks a million and God bless you and your business.

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by spyder880(m): 12:26am On Feb 16, 2015
esoorita:

Well done Spyder, more grease to your elbow. Like I always reiterate, you are first among equals. I have just completed my house at Mayfair Gardens in Lekki axis Lagos and I must acknowledge the fact that you have greatly inspired me through your building activities on Nairaland to accomplish my mission in achieving the objective of completing the house in time and on budget. I hope to open a thread to showcase the process of building the house with the cost implications on Nairaland very soon. I cannot thank you enough for your inspiration and the way you encourage a potential house owner with your techniques of reasonable budget for labour and materials. I'd like to speak to you on the phone very soon if you can give me your phone number. I'm based in the U.K. Once again, thanks a million and God bless you and your business.

I always feel happy when I hear good news like this, thank you for making me happy. So glad I was of help towards the completion of your house and looking forward to seeing the pictures. Thank you.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by Empiree: 9:29pm On Apr 06, 2015
I love this house here man. I am telling you. Can't take my eyes off it.
Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by spyder880(m): 9:50pm On Apr 06, 2015
Empiree:
I love this house here man. I am telling you. Can't take my eyes off it.

Its a lovely design, the owner told me he spent over 6 months sitting down to work out all the details, I think the end result is worth every effort put into the planning.

Re: The Making Of The "Port Harcourt Mansion" by Nobody: 6:28pm On May 04, 2015
spyder880:
Boys cutting grass, clearing the site while I buy wood and other materials from a market at Rumuokoro.
Sir,pls how much do it cost you to clear a typical site?

(1) (2) (3) ... (82) (83) (84) (85) (86) (87) (Reply)

The Real Cost Of Building A 6 Bedroom Duplex (reloaded) / Buy Original Stamped Concrete Materials. / Fences And Gates In Pictures And Prices

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 69