Travel › Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Alexandre7: 11:05pm On Jul 07, 2020 |
neurosci: I went there now. Almost done with the application. It says only Atlanta is currently issuing I renewed my Naija passport in Atlanta. I paid $60 by money order for expedited processing and wasn’t able to pick it up the same day but picked it up the following day. I stayed at the Baymont Inn & Suites in Roswell Atlanta.
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 4:38am On Jul 06, 2020 |
YerYer: What are you guys buying today o? $BYFC $UNOEK Too much hype due to Blackout Tuesday. Expecting them to make an upward movement. |
Foreign Affairs › Re: American Politics Thread: Trump Is The 47th President! by Alexandre7: 9:39pm On Jul 04, 2020 |
Foreign Affairs › Re: American Politics Thread: Trump Is The 47th President! by Alexandre7: 8:49pm On Jul 04, 2020 |
Happy Independence day to my fellow Americans. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 4:13pm On Jun 26, 2020 |
All my portfolio is red today.
I won’t be looking at the market again today so I don’t do something stupid.
It’s one of those days you just sit & do nothing. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 3:59pm On Jun 26, 2020 |
seyisanya: I hope you're no longer holding any position in this killer stock! I dumped it at market open. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 12:14am On Jun 23, 2020 |
gamaliel9: This is what i started doing after making money for my broker when i bought and sold Chipotle. It has been working for me in Nigerian stocks...dividend investing..very sweet... Now in US stocks i have decided to have SIX stocks that pay quarterly dividend. I will be receiving dividend EVERY MONTH FROM TWO STOCKS[ these stocks pay quarterly not monthly] I decided to do only six stocks because i believe that CONCENTRATION breeds wealth, more so when money for investing is not much. However, i have keyed in to a few stocks for raising funds like FASTLY,etc. I beleive, not hoping, i believe it will work out. Dividend in Nigerian Stocks are usually yearly correct? |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 10:09pm On Jun 21, 2020 |
gamaliel9: Personal Experience: I started stock investing/trading in Nigerian stocks around December 2016 . I have made more money from dividends than from trading. My dividends from United Capital Plc alone have covered all my gains and losses put together...so i thinks that s works for me. Find your own ooo but sometimes i do follow follow to trade  Can you recommend some Nigerian Stocks that pay Good Dividends? |
Autos › Re: I Need A Very Clean Nigerian Used 2014(on Belt) Honda Accord by Alexandre7: 9:16pm On Jun 15, 2020 |
cmoney22222: Pic pls Hey, I sent you a DM. If you would be kind enough to respond. I’ll appreciate it. |
Travel › Re: Giving Birth In Brazil by Alexandre7: 10:47pm On Jun 13, 2020 |
TechSpot: Someone asked you on this thread if you didn't misrepresent in your visa application but you know how you ignore all his questions.
Did you say you will stay back and convert your study visa to a British passport?  You Pipu have started again. You’ll soon receive a Ban. |
Agriculture › Re: 30k Twice A Week From My Pepper Farm by Alexandre7: 1:41am On Jun 13, 2020 |
EMMAACHILE: You are doing a good job and a lot of research. If you break through, you will be rewarded greatly. Hey, I sent you a DM. If you would be kind enough to respond. I’ll appreciate it. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 3:08pm On Jun 05, 2020 |
YerYer: Adopt me sir Lol... Just my UAL call alone made $5000+ Airline stock are literally free money now. Check out Luckin Coffee {LK} This’s a high risk., high reward trade. Got in around 2.77, I’m almost up 100%+
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 5:38pm On Jun 04, 2020 |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 5:24pm On Jun 04, 2020 |
OakPearl: Congratulations bro. Keep flying as you are already on an altitude of 30,000 feet above sea level.  I now have 400 shares of AAL, 400 shares of DAL, 400 shares of LUV & 400 shares of UAL. I’ll keep on adding to my positions little by little. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 5:21pm On Jun 04, 2020 |
sonnie10: I don't know of anyone who doesn't own DAL. Eku green back follower Nairalanders!   I’m glad you didn’t sell your DAL shares last week when you wanted to. Like I said before as more states & counties begin to open expect these airline stocks to keep flying. I’ll keep on adding to my position little by little. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 5:18pm On Jun 04, 2020 |
 For those that missed the rally sorry o. Just be ready to join us incase they decide to come back down before zooming off again.
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 5:13pm On Jun 04, 2020 |
DreManuel: I’m doing +20% on DAL already even after buying more twice at a higher price.
My Spirit (SAVE) is up +60% and I think the market isn’t too overcrowded yet. I’m already up over 50% on UAL
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 8:54pm On May 27, 2020 |
sonnie10: What if it dips tomorrow? I’ll keep buying the dips. I’m a longer term trader. I’m holding till next year. Expect these Airline stocks to skyrocket once this COVID-19 goes away & the Economy returns to normalcy. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 8:45pm On May 27, 2020 |
sonnie10: If you aren’t trading, you don’t have that $2500 yet This’s how my TDAmeritrade Trading Account looks like:
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 8:41pm On May 27, 2020 |
sonnie10: If you aren’t trading, you don’t have that $2500 yet What? I don’t understand. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 8:07pm On May 27, 2020 |
YerYer: Wow the stock is up almost 10% today. The airlines are rallying hard off their lows. I don't think we are completely out of the woods even as more cities reopen. Things can turn south fast, so if you are a short term investor, please have a close stop limit price to take you out. If you are long term, you can add to the dips. Bought about $10,000 worth of shares combined of Delta Airlines, Southwest Airlines, United Airlines & American Airlines. I’m already up almost $2,500.00. I’m planning to hold till next year. I still believe that once the lockdown is eased, the Airlines shares will fly. Get in if you can now. |
Properties › Re: Reality Building Of A 4 Bedroom Bungalow by Alexandre7: 2:06am On May 27, 2020 |
spyder880: This is so old 
I think we spent about N2.5m to build the whole house then. How much would a similar house cost today in Aba? I already have a Land. Do you accept projects in Aba? |
Travel › Re: Moving Back To Nigeria After The Lockdown by Alexandre7: 4:40am On May 23, 2020 |
amaniro: OP if you want to move in. I recommend one mad ass estate for you in Abuja. Abuja is the best place to live in Nigeria. Which Estate? |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 8:40pm On May 21, 2020 |
YerYer: Lol I know they are expensive. But truth be told, these are the same companies that will fare better in the near future. If an investor has $10,000 to invest, does it matter if he spends it all on Amazon (AMZN), Tesla (TSLA), Google (GOOGL), Netflix (NFLX) or Apple (AAPL) or is it better if he spends it all on 100 companies whose stock prices are below $100? I don't know if this makes sense, all I'm trying to say is you shouldn't base your investments solely on stock price. I can understand if you don't have much capital right now to buy any of these stocks, but I think I having some kind of exposure to them is essential. I believe you can buy fractional shares from the Robinhood app.
LUV is a great stock by the way Let me sign up with Robinhood. Thanks for the reply. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 8:27pm On May 21, 2020 |
YerYer: Wow, I've been in and out of different names but I will list the stocks I held the longest Tech: Amazon (AMZN), Facebook (FB), Google (GOOGL), Apple (AAPL), Nvidia (NVDA), Microsoft (MSFT), Netflix (NFLX), Adobe (ADBE) Healthcare: United health (UNH), Abbott (ABT), CVS Retail: Home Depot (HD), Costco (COST) Financials: PayPal (PYPL), Square (SQ), Citi (C), Visa (V) Utility: American Electric Power (AEP) Auto: Tesla (TSLA) Entertainment: Disney (DIS) Airline: Southwest Airlines (LUV)
Most of these companies will profit a long term investor. Check them out and please do your own research. Some of the stocks like Amazon (AMZN), Facebook (FB), Google (GOOGL), Apple (AAPL) and Tesla (TSLA) are very expensive so I can't afford them. i.e. TDAmeritrade doesn't allow Fractional Stock Trade so to buy a share of Amazon (AMZN) I would need $2,459.41 Meanwhile I bought 100 shares of Southwest Airlines (LUV) for $2,700 yesterday. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 8:14pm On May 21, 2020 |
YerYer: Wow, I've been in and out of different names but I will list the stocks I held the longest Tech: Amazon (AMZN), Facebook (FB), Google (GOOGL), Apple (AAPL), Nvidia (NVDA), Microsoft (MSFT), Netflix (NFLX), Adobe (ADBE) Healthcare: United health (UNH), Abbott (ABT), CVS Retail: Home Depot (HD), Costco (COST) Financials: PayPal (PYPL), Square (SQ), Citi (C), Visa (V) Utility: American Electric Power (AEP) Auto: Tesla (TSLA) Entertainment: Disney (DIS) Airline: Southwest Airlines (LUV)
Most of these companies will profit a long term investor. Check them out and please do your own research. Okay, thank you. I have also been reading up extensively on options and I want to diversify into options. I see you're very experienced in options. I was going through your posts on options and noticed sometimes you initiate a bullish spread. i.e. For the Cisco Trade you initiated both a call & put simultaneously. Does a bullish spread require you to initiate a call & put simultaneously?
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 2:31pm On May 21, 2020 |
OakPearl: Talking about airlines, there is a Brazilian airline that holds plenty of promise in capital appreciation: AZUL. It closed at $7 yesterday. I already bought shares in DAL, LUV, UAL, and AAL. I have also been reading up extensively on options and I want to diversify into options. I see you're very experienced in options. I was going through your posts on options and noticed sometimes you initiate a bullish spread. i.e. For the Cisco Trade you initiated both a call & put simultaneously. Does a bullish spread require you to initiate a call & put simultaneously?
Travel › Re: Pictures From Owerri Bicycle Street Ride (photo) by Alexandre7: 3:00am On May 20, 2020 |
Maadoo: welcome to owerri Oga what’s the cost of some these houses in Owerri? |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 11:29pm On May 18, 2020 |
DreManuel: I'm a rookie myself but I bought 20 shares of Delta today. Given your investment horizon, I think they are good picks.
However, I think the portfolio is not diversified enough given that risks are correlated because they are in the same industry. Nevertheless, some of those stocks are undervalued because the EPS multiples are relatively low compared with the market, so I think you may have gotten them at a bargain. So, If I want to invest further, I would look at another industry especially those blue-chip companies with undervalued stocks.
I gambled on ACB on Friday and cashed out this morning with a yield of ~40%. Tbh that stock is way overpriced, but I'm looking for similar opportunities to trade within a day and take away my "loot" but I'm learning to be patient because I lost money on SRNE, but I'm glad I cut my losses before it became really bad.
I'm using robinhood and might switch to more sophisticated brokers as I gain experience but I encourage you to learn how to use a limit order, stop-loss order, market order, etc. Also, watch out for frequent trading so as not to be categorized as a Pattern Day Trader. I almost made a mistake there.
Again, I'm still a rookie, I'm only using my knowledge of finance plus a limited knowledge of the market, so take my submission with a grain of salt. Do you have a mechanism of picking your stocks for short term plays? I'm planning on making some short term plays with penny stocks but want to do my due diligence first. I'm mostly buying on market order, but with time I'll become used to limit order, stop-loss order. Taking it gradually one at a time so as not to confuse myself. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 11:24pm On May 18, 2020 |
YerYer: Welcome on board!! You've taken a bold step towarads a path I strongly believe will lead to financial independence if done right. I remember coming across a similar tread like this on nairaland some years ago and that's was how I started investing in the stock market. I like TD Ameritrade, it is a broker for serious investors.
I like all four airline stocks and I still believe buying them at these levels is literally free money. As the economy opens up, people will travel once more. And like you said, we still need the airlines, will the govt just let them all go bankrupt? I don't think so. Unlike the cruise lines, the airlines are essential and yes the government will step in to save them (maybe not all) just like they did with the big banks in 2008.
You plan to hold these stocks for over 6 months, so I think even with uncertainty and volatility in the travel sector, you will still come out ahead as long term investor.
I will urge you to get a general understading of graphs so as to identify potential resistance and floor levels, it may help you trim or add to your position along the way.
Marriott and other leisure and entertainment stocks have been beaten to a pulp. The risk reward at these levels are enticing especially for a long term investor. But like Dremanuel said, try not to put all your eggs in one basket. Diversify your portfolio so it can withstand shocks in the market. Being fully invested in the travel and leisure space only can be risky, so if you have capital to buy more stocks, look into the health, consumer discretionary, financials and tech sectors.
Do you mind listing some of the health, consumer discretionary, financials and tech sectors you're invested in. I'm planning on diversifying my portolio as well. |
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 6:11pm On May 18, 2020 |
OakPearl: YerYer has done justice to your query sir. I finally opened a trade with TD Ameritrade today after reading all the pages. You guys are an inspiration. I've a couple questions: I haven't traded stocks before so I invested $2000 Then I bought 25 shares of American Airlines, 25 shares of United Airlines, 25 shares of Delta Airlines & 25 shares of Southwest Airlines. Do you think these are good stock? I'm planning to hold long term till at least December. If travel resumes then the stocks will fly. What about Bankruptcy? Can all four airlines go bankrupt as the same time? I feel like all four airlines are too big to fail and the government will bail them out before the go bankrupt What do you think about hotel stocks like Marriot? I'm also planning on investing in that sector long term but just wanted a different opinion.
Investment › Re: Us Stocks Pick Alert by Alexandre7: 6:10pm On May 18, 2020 |
YerYer: These are companies scheduled to report earnings this week. Investors in these companies want to know how the company did in the last quarter (Jan-March). Companies report revenue, expense, profit, balance sheet and give guidance for the next quarter. Some traders pay close attention to the earnings calendar so they can trade certain stocks while predicting which way the stock price will move right before or after earnings. This is a very dangerous trading system unless you are a very experienced investor with a high risk tolerance. I attached a copy of the earnings calendar for this week, I'm a visual person. I finally opened a trade with TD Ameritrade today after reading all the pages. You guys are an inspiration. I've a couple questions: I haven't traded stocks before so I invested $2000 Then I bought 25 shares of American Airlines, 25 shares of United Airlines, 25 shares of Delta Airlines & 25 shares of Southwest Airlines. Do you think these are good stock? I'm planning to hold long term till at least December. If travel resumes then the stocks will fly. What about Bankruptcy? Can all four airlines go bankrupt as the same time? I feel like all four airlines are too big to fail and the government will bail them out before the go bankrupt What do you think about hotel stocks like Marriot? I'm also planning on investing in that sector long term but just wanted a different opinion. |