Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 10:53pm On Jun 17, 2023 |
Khanben: When people where talking 40+ games it surprised me a bit, yes he broke rules but this is the USA, owning a gun is not a crime. This is the country where politicians use guns in election campaign adverts. Its part of the contract. All the talking heads and pro athletes know this. Even the amateur athletes have rules, things that are legal, but you cannot participate in. And its for good reason - how would the headline NBA superstar murdered father of four in clold blood play out? The press would be all over the court proceedings, corporate sales of tickets would tank and NBA would absorb a billion dollar loss easily. So its not out of the ordinary to have conduct codes on things that others can do freely. |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 4:28pm On Jun 16, 2023 |
Ja is getting only 25 games suspension. So by December guy man will be back in the league. I hope the behavioral requirements are stricter this time. I think many folks will be dissappointed as they were expecting like a 40+ game suspension at least. But Im ok with it, even though I think its a little light. Lets hope the young man grows up quick and gets back to good things. even though I know his family is partly the reason he is in this situation, and those guys will likely not change https://www.nba.com/news/ja-morant-suspended-25-games |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 3:05am On Jun 15, 2023 |
A40: Saw an interesting take by Richard Jefferson on NBA today. Basically said this Jokic run is a combination of
KD scoring Magic passing Tim Duncan rebounding Steph shooting Giannis defense
And he brought out numbers and a solid argument to back it up. As we know the NBA is a copy cat league so it will be interesting to see if the league goes back to the traditional big man route. They will ultimately fail cos it takes a 1 of 1 like Jokic to pull that off
Just like teams have failed trying to spam 3pters like Steph. Denver showed that you can shoot horribly and still win,
We will see if teams will be able to come up with an antidote for Jokic, another underrated aspect of his game is his defense. Even till now people still bring up Embiid being better on defense I don't know maybe cos Embiid is black people just assume he's better but he was holding guys to 39% shooting as the closest defender Jefferson's take on this is nonsense. What he does is have a complete set of skills. I know media always needs something to make noise about, but if Joker is as good as they are saying, what happened last 4, 5 years? Could it be the fact that Nuggets revamped the roster and Jamaal Murray is finally healthy have to do with anything? Anyhow what do I know, its summer, media must come up with nice soundbites Has Steph's shooting? What are folks smoking! And no, he does not have Magics passing. Youtube dey nah, ahn ahn |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 4:13pm On Jun 14, 2023 |
Khanben: We only talked about Tatum and there was clear improvement in his game. Jaylen on the other hand I did not see any, that is why I asked incase someone noticed what I did not What part of Tatum's game has improved. For real, I'm curious. From last season to this one o |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 5:45pm On Jun 13, 2023 |
donlittle25: Honestly forgot about melo. This buttress someone point on this thread about European being loyal to their teams than Americans.
Melo left denver and went to the knicks? wetin you wan do there? Fashion? Anyways, we don see am now. Among that class, he is the only one without a ring. His wife Lala was from new york, and I think she was a model at the time, so it sorta made sense. Even she admitted everything started falling apart after that trade, the spotlight was too bright. Plus imho, its a very bad idea to move back into your wife's family's sphere of influence. Women will say there is nothing wrong with it, but I have never seen it work out well for the marriage. Cut dem strings and keep em cut. |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 5:38pm On Jun 13, 2023 |
Roland17: From what we have seen Butler has a unique personality and thrives ONLY in certain situations that is catered towards that personality. He has the tendency to be disruptive in the locker room in certain situations
Chicago Bulls He wasn't regarded as a good locker room guy in Chicago, he had issues with Rose and Noah which ultimately led to him being traded to the Sixers. He tried to usurp the leadership of Rose and Noah causing disruption and a divided locker room. Infact, he asked that players not interact around certain members of the coaching staff/ leadership.
Sixers The same issue plagued him in Philly. He couldn't get along with other players except Embiid and had several disrespectful arguments with coach Bret Brown. Remember the 'Tobias over me" comment? while legitimate, buttresses the point about him being disruptive in the locker room. wow. I missed all that. I wonder if he is the one udonis kept referring too frustrating his voice in the lockeroom |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 4:27pm On Jun 13, 2023 |
A40: I guess you can call it that. Jimmy as far as I'm concerned has maxed out his talents. 2 NBA Finals and a Game 7 conference Final as the best player on his teams.
30th picks are simply not supposed to go that far.
The question really now for the Heat is can Jimmy coexist with another superstar. I know the new CBA will make it nigh impossible to create a Superteam but I don't think it will be fair if we never get to find out if Jimmy is just the plucky underdog or is he a guy capable of winning it all with another superstar or All NBA level player Wasnt he initially a Chicago Bull, back in the day with D Rose? I think he has the personality type that will play hard wether he is #1 or #2 . He might request a trade, but he gon max out on the court in the meantime |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 4:00pm On Jun 13, 2023 |
A40: Definitely a flaw on his game. The Nuggets did not bite on those fakes all series which meant Jimmy had to work for every bucket. Not sure he crossed 30 in any game and it was a huge reason why I missed this game, but I think that is Butler's feature, not a flaw. Its why he will always be an all star. But he will never be a super star imo. The fuundamentals that he knows, he owns them and maxes them out. But you know what you gon get every night |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 3:59pm On Jun 13, 2023 |
Khanben: Tatum and Brown have a lot of growing to do, Brown needs either develop a tighter handle or if he cannot learn how to score with less dribbles. As for Tatum this is the 2nd year in a row the team has struggled in zone coverage, if non of the big men can do the inside work, he has no choice but to learn how to post up, he needs to take one for the team. Watching that Heat vs Celtics series I truly believe if you switch Luka and Tatum the Celtics will win in 5, because you are not deploying that zone with such success against Luka
PS: can you see anywhere Jalen improved from last finals appearance to this season, I cannot see any? He had the same handling issues in the conference and nba finals last year When I mentioned this 2 or 3 weeks back, you were arguing with me tho. These cats have regressed this season big time. Tatum plays like he did year 3, year 4. Jaylen is essentially a streaky jumpshooter. Udoka really brought out the diamond in those two |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 3:54pm On Jun 13, 2023 |
donlittle25: Birdman when will your team will s championship? 
Old glory no matter again o Im enjoying denvers ring at the moment. couldnt happen to a better city, easily the best quality of life in yankee, and the best cultured people. I found it hard to support them when I lived there though. AI was on the team, and every weekend e go enter club scoop up all the chicks. I was glad to see the brother leave town  Speaking of which, Melo gon feel low today, all that pride and noise, no ring. If he had been a little humble and worked things out with the front office, I think he would have retired a nugget |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 6:34pm On Jun 12, 2023 |
Nigeriagood: And Michael Malone has said in his latest press conference that jokic is pulling out of the playoffs while Jamal Murray will pull out too to assist him with household chores ah, the nigerian god. master of failed prophecies  |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 5:54pm On Jun 12, 2023 |
Jabari thunder fire you there  . Come home to where? We must not waste this cap space on nonsense |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 5:52pm On Jun 12, 2023 |
Roland17: The Sixers have hired Nurse, coach Bud is the only one left. Well then, lets see whats motzarella can do  Apparently you guys enjoyed this heartburn of a season so much you want to do it again. Like free amusement park ride  |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 10:54pm On Jun 11, 2023 |
donlittle25: Why them go pay untested coach a lot of money? Nurse, Vogel and Monty W were available. As of now, I think only Nurse is left. any of those is more than worth it. Explain to me how Mazulla is better than even Coach Bud. |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 10:34pm On Jun 11, 2023 |
Roland17: When 3 coaching assistants jump ship at the first chance to join the previous coach and the Celtics are aggressive in hiring experienced assistant coaches like Sam Cassell, Charles Lee, that should tell you all you need to know about my wailing! I dont understand the stance behind Mazulla. There are much better coaches out there and it is obvious he cant bring out the best in this team. Is it contractual? Must be a lot of money to risk experimenting another season with |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 8:23pm On Jun 10, 2023 |
Roland17: It was never going to work. Too many egotistic personalities who barely had minutes together on the floor. To be fair, Durant was willing to do what it takes. I am besides myself the Houston would consider taking Harden back. Madness! |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 8:18pm On Jun 10, 2023 |
donlittle25: Sweeter than a bubble championship bros why are you still angry. Is it our fault they brought Kyrie to tank you guys? Take out this anger on Emefiele, I mean Cuban |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 4:24am On Jun 09, 2023 |
donlittle25: Zion Williamson ladies and gentlemen Meh, soounds like someone didnt get the payday they wanted from Zion |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 7:51pm On Jun 08, 2023 |
A40: Hmm he will not be able to live with himself in the future if he loses this opportunity.
What he needs though is a lengthy suspension. It's like someone on drugs, if they don't hit rock bottom they will keep relapsing till they hurt themselves Agreed. Gon be an old man, telling tales of what could have been. But if the league cracks down too hard, I think think he hits rock bottom in the wrong way. As in ending up dead, or becoming a felon. |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 4:23pm On Jun 08, 2023 |
A40: One of him or his camp is saying the gun was a toy The guy doesnt know it, but his psyche is looking for a way to get him out of the league, back into normal life |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 4:21pm On Jun 08, 2023 |
Roland17: Hard Take:
The Miami Heat as presently constructed with Butler and Bam as their best players will not get over the hump and win a championship because neither player can average 30-35 points in a 7 game series. Neither Bam or Butler commands a double team. They have a good and defensive minded coach that allows all-star caliber players to maximize their chances. And that is what Heat basketball wants - good system players that can knock down shots and play D. Had the Heat started the playoffs in the west, I dont think they even get past the playins Heat like system players who hustle hard, but you will always need superstar talent above a disciplined roster. A la Wade/Shaq, Lebron/Wade |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 2:24pm On Jun 08, 2023 |
A40: Lol this Ja Morant nigga just doesn't get it does he?
If I'm Silver I'd add 5 games to his 50 game minimum suspension just for insulting my intelligence with that lie
The NBA will be making a grievous mistake and enabling bad behavior if they don't give him a lengthy suspension wetin he do again |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 2:24pm On Jun 08, 2023 |
larride: Coach Malone actually needs to work on the way his team just lose intensity when they have a huge lead in the 4th quarter They get bored. That team really doesnt have a bench. The bench itself is a good NBA team. And if they keep everybody, they will be in the finals next year. As it is, two of their forwards are not even playing at their full potential yet. They drop 25 10 some days, then stink it up other days. |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 2:08pm On Jun 01, 2023 |
steady986: Can't make this shiit up Oga rest na, even Lebron is resting. When is fiba sef...wait we didnt qualify? Ahhhh |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 2:05pm On Jun 01, 2023 |
Not sure how to read this separation between shannon sharpe and FS1. Was it initiated by Sharpe or Skip just decided to move on? |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 2:04pm On Jun 01, 2023 |
A40: Omolomo went to secure the bag. The best job. No pressure. Big money. Limited expectations and hopefully coachable players I like it. Well deserved too. Stay away from supposed superstars |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 3:55pm On May 30, 2023 |
etidy: Facts, big facts. I think this is ultimately on the coach, it's your responsibility to draw up plays for your team and ensure your team sticks to it.
When you see your star player struggling, spamming threes and can't draw up a simple play to give him an easy point or preach patience and ball movement, then it means you are either a clueless coach or the players don't respect your voice. They just need a better coach. Note the two other contenders that did badly in the playoffs have changed coaches - Bucks and 76ers. And the main reason the Heat have gotten this far is coaching. The East is opened to whomever has the most disciplined crew next year. |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 3:49pm On May 30, 2023 |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 3:47am On May 30, 2023 |
A40: Jaylen Brown embodies the problem with this era. This joker been 7/40 from 3 and kept spamming 3s today. Now finished with 1/9
I'm probably letting him go try his luck someplace else Udoka matured them, kept them professional and in check. They completely regressed under Mazulla. Tatum looks like Tatum from 2 years back. Streaky shooter, little court vision |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 3:41am On May 30, 2023 |
steady986: The Heat lead by 21 with only 4 FT attempts. Is this telling us you can win a basketball game despite shooting significantly fewer FTs? nah, its exposing the celtics fraud. 2 minutes left now they trying to play D. smh |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 3:39am On May 30, 2023 |
donlittle25 my man, steady986 my oga, is there any breakfast left from this moring, we need to feed Roland17 tonite. Baba dey hungry, say e no fit wait till tomorrow  |
Sports › Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 3:31am On May 30, 2023 |
I watched Boston laughing and yakking it up after game 6. I knew they were going to lay this egg.
Truth is, no NBA player has ever been good enough to stylishly play through a playoff series. Not MJ, not Kobe, not Lebron, not Curry. No one. But I get this feel from Tatum and crew, that they expect their 3s to just fall and the other team should just fold to their greatness. And when the rim gets tight, I see great reluctance from Tatum and Jaylen to put their head down and play ugly. Its like they want style points for playing. |