Stats: 3,324,999 members, 8,419,867 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 05:04 AM

CreativeWeb's Posts

Nairaland ForumCreativeWeb's ProfileCreativeWeb's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 26 pages)

TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 7:42pm On Dec 11, 2022
nicestlady:
Please gurus in the house @chibertha @lagosismyhome help me answer this question.

ote author=nicestlady post=119077098]I tried to send you a dm but couldn't. Can you please accept my request?

In the meantime, I have an urgent question. My daughter just got accepted to some colleges in the US for undergrad. We're still waiting for some decisions that will come by March. Hopefully with funding. She's a minor and I would like to accompany her to the US.

Is it possible to apply for a B1 B2 visa for myself now and select an interview date then add my daughter to my date since we'll be attending the interview together. That way she can wait till she gets all her admission decisions and pick the best of the schools she gets to apply for F1 visa
I think it's better your daughter gets her F1 visa first, then you simply apply for B2 visa to accompany her.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 3:35pm On Nov 29, 2022
drjustice17:
First, apply for only you. F2 will make your visa highly impossible.
2). All Ph.D. are full funding. Which guarantee your f1 visa.
No, it doesn't work like that. F2 visa application cannot interfere with your F1 visa application. You can even be granted F1 visa and f2 denied. They are treated differently, not as one.

Also, it's better to apply together than to get F1 and travel and your spouse or family then going for their f2. Let all of you apply at once.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 11:40pm On Nov 28, 2022
pongwa:
contacting a supervisor is not the issue rather, it's whether one must secure one before admission is granted.
Some PhD programs demand that you first contact a supervisor.

If you check requirements for SoP, you will see where they asked if you have a faculty member you will like to work with.

Some schools will give you admission whether you are in touch with a supervisor or not.

Some will not give you admission because they will usually ask people in that department if they want you. This is where prior conversation becomes important.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 9:37pm On Nov 28, 2022
Capitalbase:
Hi everybody,
Please, for those who are currently applying for PhD, did you have to email one of the faculty members whose research interests aligned with yours to facilitate your admission process. I applied for 3 PhD positions since September and this were open positions for Fall intake. However, I just felt like doing a follow up with graduate departments and one of the response I received seemed to suggest they are "ONLY" accepting those candidates whose "would be" mentors has approved for their applications to move to the next stage.
If anybody can throw more light to this, it would be much appreciated.

Best Regards
Yes, you should first contact the supervisor you will like to work with.

PhD is not Masters. It's usually competitive and they are very selective. So, to increase your chances, you will go to the faculty page and choose the professor that their research interests align with yours and send them cold email. In your cold email, you will introduce yourself, talk about your GPA, your research interests, your proposed research topic, and your interest to be mentored and supervised by them.

***Please, contact one professor per department per school.

In your cold email, you can even request for a Zoom meeting at their earliest convenience. A professor that replies you and agrees for a Zoom meeting, is probably interested in working with you.

After meeting with them on Zoom meeting, send in your application. In your Statement of Purpose, state the fact that you will like to be mentored by that professor and that you have had a conversation with them via Zoom.

Also, admission decisions for Fall 2023 will be coming in by February and March. Admission portals for Fall usually opens around September or October. So, you will have to exercise patience to get a decision.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 9:28pm On Nov 28, 2022
IwinosaA:
Greeting Boss
What if I want my newly married wife to move with me together, with an F2 visa and she is not working in an organization, but she is a video editor that does freelance and blogging, how will she better package her response for a visa approval during interview.
I have been given admission, I have a scholarship to sponsor my Doctorate study by my organization.
you know how all of us want it - I want her to be with me all the while.
Pls I will appreciate the advise of all. Thank You.

how will she better package her response for a visa approval during interview.
She can apply for f2 with you. She can state that she doesn't work at the moment and will like to travel with you to keep you company and give you moral support.

You should have money that will cover your living expenses for at least one year.

Note that she can't work nor school while in the US with f2 visa. She can't even work or freelance online while in US with f2 visa.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 6:28pm On Nov 26, 2022
Idaytesj29:
Thanks for the explanation, it's helpful to a rookie like me. Like how much in USD will be okay for a 6months accommodation in Florida, Wisconsin, Milwaukee, and Chicago for a single student? Cos its like i will go alone.

If you have an idea, pls don't hesitate to share. This will help me make adequate financial preparations.

Thanks alot
Fully furnished one room apartment should be around $800-$1500 per month.

You may check on related Facebook groups or other online places to check for rents.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 10:33am On Nov 25, 2022
Idaytesj29:
Thank you for this response.

The one year expense is for my family right?
Also, the accommodation is to house my family, but if I am going alone for now, will I still need to get an accommodation before going for the visa interview?
Yes. It's for your family. You will need to demonstrate that you can take care of them outside your GTA or stipend. Maybe an investment (real estate, etc) that will be giving you money every month or every year without you working in the business or investment.

If you are going alone and you have GTA, then paying or having money for accommodation for 3 or 6 months is enough demonstration.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 8:12pm On Nov 24, 2022
Idaytesj29:
I applied for PhD in History at Florida International University FIU, University of Chicago, The University of Alabama, and University of Texas at Austin. I am considering applying to Marquette University too.

I have application fee waiver for a few of them.

And I am going all out.

My question is,

Is it best to apply for F1 alongside F2 for my dependants too? Wife and 3 children.

Secondly, how easy is F1 visa for PhD student who has GA TA or RA positions with Tuition Fee waivers?

All is for Fall 2023.

If it's a fully funded PhD, your chance of getting visa is very high.

Apply at once with your family. If your wife is working, then let her state that they will spend few months and return. If she's not working, then, let her explain that they will stay with you until you are done with your study.

Also, have money that will cover at least your one year expenses. If possible, pay for an accomodation before going for the interview.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 1:52pm On Nov 02, 2022
OkonkwoHenry:
Please assist with these answers, I need a more concrete answer to add up to what I know

Program : MBA data Analytics

VO :Do you have a study leave
ME : ?

VO :How do you know about these school
ME :?

VO :Why these course

VO :what will you be doing after your study

PLEASE ASSIST With Answer
No. You have to provide your own answers first, then we can help you improve on your answers. You know yourself and your situation better than anyone here.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 8:17am On Oct 14, 2022
Victory003:
Good day I have questions concerning the us visas
I've been denied once when I applied for student visa now I trying to apply for the B1/B2 visa
So can I continue my study in the us please what advice do you have for me
You can't study in US with B1/B2 visa.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 5:44pm On Oct 13, 2022
floxybba6:
Hi, I've written SOP and submitted. I'm talking about personal statement
This might help.

TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 7:31am On Oct 08, 2022
Gokoyer1401:
If F1 has full funded PhD offer and personal money to sponsor F2 applicants, is it possible for F2 applicants to get their own visa along with F1 in the first place? I read that it's harder to get F2 visiting visa later.
If it's PhD fully funded, and you have money to take care of their travel and expenses, they will get F2 visa.

If they don't want to travel with you immediately after getting their visa, no issues. They can come anytime they want.

Go with them at the same time for your interview.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 12:16pm On Oct 07, 2022
Pelaiye2703:
How does someone knows if they're banned from entering the USA?
1. It may be stated in the denial paper.

2. Constant denial of visa no matter how qualified you are to get it.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 10:30pm On Sep 15, 2022
BigMel:
Hello house, please how many weeks or months does it take to get I20. Because I’ve applied since a month and I’m yet there get it
Have you gotten admission? If you just applied, then you have to wait for decisions from the admission committee.

For instance, there are schools that have Fall 2023 admission deadline as December 2022. So, even if you apply in September or December, you will get decision around February or March.

It's when you are accepted that i20 would be issued.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 6:03pm On Sep 13, 2022
burgessdon:
Good evening.l have an urgent issue to resolve.my sister went to bank to pay for her visa fee today.i told her to purchase M-1 class( because her i20 is M-1)but she said the person that attended to her asked her to go for F-2 instead.pls,I just want to know whether we are on the right track....
How can you have M1 on your i20 and pay for F2 visa? Both are not the same.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 8:08pm On Sep 11, 2022
[quote author=Olunchukwu post=116571088][/quote]You can send your applications now to one or two schools.

However, if you have been given admission already, I think you should go ahead and interview for your visa.

I applied to four schools.

A professor in one of the schools strongly advised me to apply to at least three schools. She said it helps one to not miss admission that particular year.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 9:11pm On Sep 08, 2022
Mercyof:
Good day my peopoe, please I need assistance on who can help me reviewmy academic CV and SOP for application purpose.
DM me let me help you look at them.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 4:03pm On Sep 08, 2022
Gokoyer1401:
ok, noted. thanks. Make i dey pray for funding then.
Have you gotten admission?
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 10:45am On Sep 08, 2022
Gokoyer1401:
Thanks you for your contribution!
I am just surprised at the number of F2 refusals these days.
Btw, how much do you think can be sufficient as a SOA in case the primary applicant (F1) got a full funded position to support F2 applicants?
Most f2 refusals didn't apply together with F1, and they didn't have enough fund.

Pay for accomodation and have money to renew it for at least 1 year.

Have enough money to support the family for at least 6 months.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 9:14am On Sep 08, 2022
Gokoyer1401:
Is it possible to apply for F1 and F2 together suppose there is fund to take care of families during their stay?
And what is the maximum duration that accompany family members (wife and kids) can stay with a PHD student in USA?
Thanks in advance for your time.
Yes. It's always advisable to apply as a family at once for F1 and f2.

The f2 visa is valid as long as f1. This means if you are given 5 years F1 visa, the f2 automatically is 5 years too.
Technology MarketRe: Which Should I Go For Between These Two Laptops? by CreativeWeb(op): 8:23am On Aug 30, 2022
Dawn91:
They are both old but go for the Lenovo at least it has a more recent processor . Are they brand-new or used?
So, i7 is already old? Is it not following i9?

What's the latest generation in i7?
Technology MarketWhich Should I Go For Between These Two Laptops? by CreativeWeb(op): 8:17am On Aug 30, 2022
Hello gurus, please help me decide.

Lenovo Legion Y740
i7-9th
GTX 1660ti 6GB
16GB
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD

OR

Asus Rog Strix
i7-7th
GTX 1070 8GB
16GB
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD

Thank you.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 9:16am On Aug 04, 2022
Lasisieniola77:
Thank you for the response, i have searched through the schools and i have also sent emails to the admission coordinator and they replied that the special education course or early childhood courses i want to do is not available for international students. What do you think i should do. Please i really need help.
University of Nevada, Las Vegas has M.Ed in Early Childhood Education.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 3:56pm On Aug 03, 2022
Easydgre8:
Good day all.
My sch is at Shreveport Louisiana, my flight is from Lagos to New York, New York to Atlanta, Atlanta to Dallas. Dallas is the closest Airport to Shreveport.
My question is ; at the US airport would I be ask why coming down to New York first instead of straight trip to Louisiana? And also my date of arrival is 3 days before my school resumption date. Hope there's no issue whatsoever?
Anybody have ideas please share �
If there's a flight to Louisiana, then why fly to NYC first? They may want to know. So, you will simply explain your reasons.
TravelRe: Nwankwo Nicky Odira is a scammer( BRITISHNAIJA ) by CreativeWeb(m): 4:12pm On Aug 02, 2022
sobastical:
Nigerians will always be funny... didn't you read where he granted someone a video calls jut to prove he was the one in the picture?
Did you read the comment that led to this my comment?
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 12:34pm On Aug 02, 2022
ElizabethBukola:
Good morning, I want to apply for masters using my HND.. Is it possible and how will I go about it.
Always Google some of these things and ask the schools.

Here's what I go from Google.

List Of Universities That accept HND For Direct Masters in United States

1. University of Houston, Clear Lake.
2. Central Michigan University.
3. University of Hawaii, Manoa.
4. Jacksonville State University.
5. Southern Illinois University.
6. University of Detroit, Mercy.
7. Western Oregon University.
8. California State University, Sacramento.
9. California State University, Fresno.
10. California State University, Pomoma.
11. University of California, Merced.
12. Clark University.
13. Western Kentucky University.
14. Louisiana Tech University.
15. University of Northern Colorado.
16. Valley University.
17. University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.
18. Illinois State University.
19. University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire.
20. Arkansas State University.
21. Southern A&M University.
22. Eastern Illinois University.
23. Indiana State University.
24. Georgia College and State University.
25. Youngstown State University.
26. Montana State University
27. Marshall University
28. Humboldt State University.
29. Wichita State University.
30. University of South Carolina.
31. University of North Carolina, Charlotte.
32. University of Minnesota, Duluth.
33. Western Illinois University.
34. University of Central Missouri.
35. University of Missouri, St Louis.
36. Georgia State University.
37. University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth.
38. Auburn University of Montgomery.
39. University of South Dakota.
40. East Tennessee State University.
41. North Dakota State University.
42. University of Vermont.
43. Cleveland State University.
44. Western Washington University.
45. University of Central Florida.
46. Bowling Green State University.
47. Old Dominion University.
48. University of Houston, Clear Lake.
49. Central Michigan University.
50. University of Hawaii, Manoa.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 12:15pm On Aug 02, 2022
Golded123:
I planned on getting a letter from my current work place assuring the VO of their awareness and support after my program. But after not done any of this before . Please I really need any lead as well as suggestions ������
VOs usually will not look at any letter. You have to talk to them and convince them.
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 10:52am On Aug 02, 2022
Golded123:
Please someone should help me review this. I will be having my appointment in Lagos on 19 of the month. Actually I have been to abuja embassy in may this year and I was denied due to no close ties and the VO believes I have to reason to return to home country after my program ( was given a blue letter)but was to to reapply . Please any suggestions and advice would really be appreciated.

VO: WHY ARE YOU HEADING TO THE USA?

ANSWER: I’m going to Texas Tech University for my masters’ programme in interdisciplinary studies; I will major in biological and physical sciences.

VO: TELL ME ABOUT YOUR SCHOOL

ANSWER: Texas Tech University was founded in 1923 and located in a very beautiful county called Lubbock, it been classified by the Carnegie foundation as a tier-1 research institution in the us and it’s highly respected for it advanced educational system.

VO:. WHICH ORDER SCHOOL DID YOU APPLIED TO?

ANSWER: Michigan Tech University and Arkansas state university

VO: HOW MANY ADMITS?

ANSWER: 2 , Texas tech university and Arkansas state university

VO: WHY DID YOU CHOOSE TTU?

ANSWER: I carried out extensive research using US news and several graduate research sites and Texas Tech University was one of the schools that highly interests me. The school offered me a scholarship of $8528 and also has the exact curriculum that matches my profile.

VO: WHY BIOLOGICAL AND PHYSICAL SCIENCES

ANSWER: I picked up an interest in biological and physical sciences as my masters degree due to its flexibility . And also it will equip me with a wide professional knowledge in medical technology, the ecosystem and environmental sciences at large

VO: WHATS YOUR RESEARCH TOPIC?

Answer: Importance of climate change legislation and its impact on food security and sustainability in Nigeria.

VO: WHAT YOUR STUDY PLAN?

ANSWER: Going to ttu to pursue a degree in biological and physical sciences is a 30 credit hour course, 6 credit hour research, 240 credit hour of internship and 15 hours of interdisciplinary electives and it’s duration is 24 month

VO: TELL ME WHAT COURSE YOU WILL BE TAKING?

ANSWER: 1) levelling advanced ecology
2) Environmental sustainability
3) Natural resources bio politics
4) Ecology for renewable natural resources etc

VO: WHAT WILL THIS DEGREE DO FOR YOU?

ANSWER: Upon completion of my masters’ degree, the combination of knowledge in both biological and physical sciences will equip me with knowledge needed for my career growth, and It will help me in taking up a management role in my current place of work headquarters in Lagos.

VO:WHY WERE YOU OFFER SCHOLARSHIP?

ANSWER: because of my undergraduate result and work experience.

VO: WHERE WILL YOU BE STAYING

ANSWER. I will be staying on campus. Actually, I’ve spoken to the international student coordinator (Kathryn Hill) and she made it known to me that there will be provision for pickup and accommodation will be given to students after the orientation.

VO: WHEN DID YOU FINISH HIGH SCHOOL?

ANSWER: 2013/2014

VO: WHEN DID YOU FINISH FIRST DEGREE?

ANSWER: I finished OCT, 2018.

VO:WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN DOING SINCE THEN

ANSWER: After I finished my national service in 2019, I was employ at NATIONWIDE GLOBAL VENTURES LIMITED as ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER TILL date.

VO: WHAT DO YOU DO AT WORK?

ANSWER: I ensure proper documentation of data for projecting sustainable food production and I write to report all environmental metrics making sure my organization is in compliance with all environmental regulation and standards related to pollution and waste management.

VO: WHO IS SPONSORING YOU?

ANSWER: MY MOTHER

VO: WHAT DOES SHE DO?

ANSWER: SHE IS A SUCCESSFUL BUSINESSWOMAN AND THE OWNER OF FOLUKS INVESTMENT LTD , SHE IS A MAJOR DISTRIBUTOR OF BUA CEMENT, DEVOL KINGS OIL AND MAMA GOLD FLOUR ACROSS SOUTHWEST NIGERIA AND ALSO SHE IS INCHARGE OF All REAL ESTATE AND INVESTMENT LEFT BEHIND BY MY LATE FATHER.

VO: HOW MANY SIBLINGS DO YOU HAVE

ANSWER: 1
What have changed since you were denied in May?

Did this transcript address the VO's concern of lack of home ties?
TravelRe: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 by CreativeWeb(m): 10:11am On Aug 02, 2022
kponkedenge:
Quick question for those doing Masters in the US:

For those that don't have sponsors.... How do you raise funds over there to pay your fees?

Does all F1 visas carry a work permit? If yes, is the pay enough to cover your tuition and other expenses?

Kindly reply.
1. Your F1 visa allows you to work for 20 hours per week especially on campus.

2. The money you get from working those 20 hours per week cannot sustain your (feeding, accomodations, tuition, etc).

3. This is why VOs want to know you really have the fund to sponsor your education.

4. Your best bet is to get fully funded program with monthly stipend.

5. If your 20 hours per week work pays $10-$20 per hour, it means you will be making $200-$400 per week or $800-$1600 per month. Your rent comes to $600-$1000 per month. How would you pay your school fees?

6. You can only work "as long as you like" during summer break.
TravelRe: Nwankwo Nicky Odira is a scammer( BRITISHNAIJA ) by CreativeWeb(m): 2:55pm On Aug 01, 2022
iykofias:
oh okay, so there’s a possibility that may not be his picture, phew why am I even bothered
Yes. Might no be his picture.
TravelRe: Nwankwo Nicky Odira is a scammer( BRITISHNAIJA ) by CreativeWeb(m): 2:51pm On Aug 01, 2022
iykofias:
did you at anytime engage him on video call, cos scammers won’t easily send you their pictures
No videos call. He sent me his picture as part of the last minute measure to convince me to send him the money. But I ignored. It was already obvious to me he was a scammer. So, I stopped chatting with him.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 26 pages)