Ektbear's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Ektbear's Profile › Ektbear's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 (of 485 pages)
BH is irrelevant. They don't threaten Nigeria's oil production...who cares about them? Under no circumstances should GEJ negotiate any amnesty with them. They'll only use the money to buy more weapons anyway, so they are stronger for round #2... |
Beaf: I don't think cows can be reared in Oyo state all year round, its too damp.Yes, they can. What would dampness even have to do with it? All you need is sufficient amounts of cattle feed and you are good to go. Northern Oyo State is perfectly suitable for ranching. Plenty of land, no diseases/pests to bother the cattle.. |
Basically, if you know someone is at your house right now robbing you blind... would you go to confront this person without a weapon of some sort handy? What this Olusola fellow did was very stvpid. |
Beaf: I will keep repeating it that nomadic cattle rearing should be banned. It has become a guise for all sorts of crimes, from armed robberies to massacres to rap'e.Well this man actually hired the guy to watch his cattle. So it isn't nomadic cattle rearing.. |
With that said, this Deacon Pekun Olusola is a very big fool. |
Kindly explain why this question is silly. The guy was guilty of stealing his employer's property and then attacked the owner. He is likely to get only a slap on the risk from the police...a small fine of some sort or very short jail sentence. Otoh, if you snuff out his life, then that serves as a warning to others.. |
Why did they hand him over to the police? |
The ACN has been a tremendous disappointment for me. Looks like I'll have to lower my expectations dramatically of what will be done. Very disheartening. |
It depends on who is saying it, and how they say it. If it is my buddy/friend, no wahala. If it is my enemy, someone I don't like, then.. |
Who said I cannot call a white person baboon: https://wallpaper.imcphoto.net/animals/monkeys/black-and-white-monkey.jpg ![]() On a serious note though, I don't necessarily get offended by this stuff personally. I have long-azz monkey arms, so probably would be unfair of me to get pissed at anyone for pointing this out ![]() |
Maybe it would be better for him to sit idly in his palace twiddling his thumbs doing nothing useful? I dunno. |
I am more and more convinced that ndu_chucks and the rest of these northern elites aren't human beings. But instead demons that must be hunted mercilessly and killed. |
Uduaghan is not ugly, just an ordinary looking dude. Unless bald=ugly... |
He said the Ooni is greedy and hardly share things with others. He even told me that he wasn't making much from the loading and the Ooni already has a clearing agent to clear the vegetable oil for him. This dude even said that if it's possible for the Ooni to turn himself into a clearing agent, he would, so as to avoid paying anybody (agent) anything.Honestly, this makes the Ooni look like a G to me, lol. A cutthroat businessman who wants to run things as cheaply as possible. This sounds a lot better to me than a sloppy and wasteful businessman. A frugal man who is careful with his money is to be admired more than a careless one.. |
Finally, yeah...it is pretty implausible that anyone can dominate an entire market with a single frikkin container, lol. And if so, then what? If you can bring in your goods more cheaply than your competitors and thus are able to undercut them, that is fine. The consumer benefits from lower costs too, after all. |
I don't like the Ooni very much myself. But if your only grouse with him is that he is cutting out middle men...that is obviously stvpid. Any sensible businessman tries to eliminate middle men as much as possible. The less middle men are involved, the more your costs are reduced. He isn't obliged to provide a standard of living for them. Now, if your contention is that he is using state funds, please provide evidence of this. how much can a container of cooking oil be to import. Under $100k probably. Why can't that be his own money being used? As for the rest, him having a college-aged girlfriend, sure, that may be true. But to my knowledge is not a crime (though slightly gross). Now, if he is importing some sort of illegal good, then certainly he should be reported to the authorities. |
The interesting thing is that all the previous economic data I've seen suggests that Abia is the most economically important state in the SE zone, not Anambra. However, Abians for whatever reason are very quiet about their state and don't make much noise about it. From what I've seen here on this thread, I think Aba is very very underrated as a city. It would be interesting to see what would happen if you had a man of the caliber of Soludo running Abia. |
na wa for una there is google where almost any question you might have of this nature can be answered almost immediately, and instead you waste your time by not simply checking there first ![]() |
I don't think it matters. After all, you'll be dead...so what will you care? Whatever is cheapest and places the least burden on my family |
Proxytalk: naija don really beta for some peopleI wonder. If I had electricity like that available in Nigeria, I would go into manufacturing...make stuff for the Abuja market. |
Indeed. There are homeless people in the US. Some mentally ill, others who for whatever reason cannot hold a job, etc, etc. However, overall the levels of homelessness are probably quite a bit lower than other countries. Though Europe probably has the US beat in this regard, since I'm guessing that they have more social services.. |
Also, I'm not sure if it is fair to accuse him of bias. After all, he isn't from Anambra or Abia. So what reason would he have to favor one over the other? |
Also, the tax policy in this country needs to be revamped so that indeed northern states can raise more income. Give them the ability to have an income tax, collect their own VAT, etc... |
If I were a northerner, in order of priority: 1. Electricity 2. Rail 3. Better roads linking N/S. Currently takes ~10 hours to drive from Lagos to Abuja, this is pretty unacceptable given how small the physical distance is. 4. Industrial farming Well, and massive spending on education of course. Fix primary and secondary education. Truth be told, there is a lot of similarity between this list and what I want for myself.. |
From the aerial shot as well as the other pictures Abagworo posted, it seems that Aba is not as bad as they've made it out to be. Interesting. |
Ruby has some really great libraries for web development (and for programming in general), so I prefer it to some of the alternatives. Python is also good. PHP and Perl, I don't have a very high opinion of, but again you can find good frameworks to use. |
sad, especially the (lack of) response of the fire fighters |
noiice |
When in naija, I try to buy every day. I dunno, the physical papers have stories that the online versions don't carry. |
From backwards country to within 40 years kicking Russian azz. How I wish we had leaders such as this, men with foresight and vision in Yorubaland So much can be done, if only the right people were in place. The disintegration of Nigeria is the first step towards achieving our destiny. |
Johndoe100: When was Japan a primitive nation, that the west were not equally primitive?This summarizes most of the relevant facts: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meiji_Restoration There are a few books that touched on the subject that I remember reading in high school...can probably dig one of them up too. But that should be a good start. |
I find this stuff fascinating. |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 (of 485 pages)