Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 3:27am On Dec 27, 2017 |
goodemma20: very correct, I was reading thorough Nigeria's immigration requirements and I saw it there. I don't understand what you are saying. You read through Nigeria's Immigration requirements and you saw that you need yellow card to enter the US? You might need to read it again. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 11:19pm On Dec 26, 2017 |
k199192: jus a tip for all spring students. You will need a document called "yellow card" at the poe. You may be charged extra if you don't have it with you. You are not required to have yellow card if you are travelling to the US. Only some African countries require this, so don't waste your money except they changed the rule recently |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 7:49pm On Dec 23, 2017 |
teepee4Him: Seasons Greetings! Please, can anyone help with TOEFL materials? I am applying for a Doctoral program and the school insists I submit an English proficiency test - TOEFL, IELTS, PTE, CAE, CPE ....... (because I have not completed four consecutive semesters in the U.S). Likewise, which of the test would you likely recommend as I have about 28 days to prepare? I plan to write the exam immediately the new semester begins (before class work and other commitment sets in).
Advice, tips, and materials would be highly appreciated.
Thanks! I would recommend you write TOEFL, its easy just like Waec English. You can write with 2weeks preparation and get >95. All you need to really practice for is the speaking section. Just go to youtube and download notefull Toefl speaking videos to practice and understand the speaking questions pattern. Additionally, download ETS official toefl guide to familiarize yourself with the other sections. Thats all you need, no big deal about Toefl. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 2:42pm On Dec 20, 2017 |
Mstrsheikh: Hi Everyone I am an extremely silent follower, so I got my student visa approved yesterday. I have been following this blog sparingly and just read through different transcript briefly. I have learnt so many things whilst reading and even observed more things at the interview yesterday. Without exaggerating more than 15 student blue rejection papers I saw flying all over the place, that I was having a slight scare on my own interview BUT then again even as someone seeking interview and trying to be NEUTRAL as possible I was extremely, extremely and extremely disappointed at the lack of articulation, confidence, preparedness, lukewarm and how unintelligent SOME graduates from Nigeria are. I was embarrassed for many students in front of the VO. Every one was standing in close proximity with each other so you could hear what questions that were being asked and answers potential students were giving. Without being too negative some students actually tried but fell short of sweet lies and ideas when asked very tricky questions. A case study of the a guy, 4 persons ahead of me, you could see the VO which is a guy trying his best to help this guy with answers to his question about parallel data which he claims to do a project on at work, but the boy just dey fumble. quite sad.
Anyways I will give tips on people intending to refire as y'all call it here or for first timers'
AA - PRAYERFUL - Only God gives grace and speaks through you (this was my prayer at every point in time)
1. Ensure you are with all Documents (I-20 signed by you, Study leave signed and stamped by your company, sponsor statement, confirmation appointment, gtb receipt (I was almost exploited 3000 naira for this for just a page printout behind the embassy water side), admission letter, DS-160 confirmation page, SEVIS FEE, sponsor statement, proof of relevant work experience, proof of projects executed at your undergraduate or work done at your employment)
2. Look the part and Look clean! well starched shirt and trousers, with a fine fitted blazer (important), I wouldnt advise anyone to go with native. two guys in front of me were denied and they wore native... I could be wrong but then dressing is a strong determinant of first impressions), tie again might make you look too desperate (again my personal opinion, someone was given who wore a tie)
3. CONFIDENCE CONFIDENCE CONFIDENCE - if your visa is in 3days, 1 week whatever time you have before your interview, watch cnn, bbc aljazeera not NTA lol, hear how their reporters speak fluently with articulation, if possible record and repeat after them, trust me this speaks volume about your person. same way I would enjoy speaking my local dialet with a fellow state indigene, the consulate also will enjoy speaking English with someone that speaks well and communicate on the same level not forming fake accent but speak clearly loud with articulation and confidence. Have you heard HNN speak, Kemi Olunloyo, you would want to listen to her even if its mostly rubbish. Articulation of course only comes when you know what you wan to say.
4. KNOW YOUR STUFF : Read on what makes the school attractive and thats why you are applying (PLEASE DONT MENTION SCHOOL IS CHEAP!!), Read on list of professors that will be teaching you and the courses to be taught, Read on an executive summary of the course you intend to study. Read and if possible cram and prepare well. Read on everything you put when filling your DS-160 form.
5. SPONSOR : Have a cogent reason why your sponsor is sponsoring you. If not your parents. then anybody else should have a valued reason for sponsoring you not because for example, he saw value in me, my mother helped her when she was small. Reasons like I was amongst the best staff in the office so selected for sponsirship( with a company letter to back it up), my uncle in oil and gas, real estate, shipping, export sponsors each member of the family every two years for a masters abroad and its my turn as part of his personal contribution to the family ( you are showing continuity). Things like that. not based on emotions.
6. SENSIBLE EXPLANATION ON WHAT YOU ARE GOING TO DO WHEN YOU ARE BACK : THIS was the deal breaker for so many VOs, I observed lack of depth in student explanation, even me i know sey this bros and sister dey lie. One thing we should note, VOs are trained like every three months on tricks, new development and new tactics student use to get visa so they even know better than us. THEY ARE NOT FOOOOOLS!!!!. possible answers to this questions below:
i - if you are working, get a study leave by hook or by crook, lobby with your HR, AnsWER- The opportunity of returning to workin my current place is open for me, the VO will ask your proof, bring out your study leave letter, their wings will be clipped.
I also intend to float my own Bleep business in this sector because there is a huge gap and opportunities in Nigeria in this sector and it will thrive seriously ( You are now providing insights to the VO as opposed to answering his / her questions). THIS IS WHAT THEY WANT!. Psychology is key!!.
ii. Establish ties to Nigeria, I and my siblings are managing the family business xxxx (you can get a CAC document of your own business or friend and tell them). you are an integral member of management and you cant afford to stay too long away.
7. NEVER MENTION YOU HAVE ANY RELATIVE ABROAD YOU ARE GONNA STAY WITH WHILST SCHOOLING. YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN! 8. ALL SCHOOLS GAVE YOU ADMISSION even if you just have admission for one 9. know your GRE scores and ILETS result by heart, and print it out 10. BE POLITE AND SMILE
11. THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT - If you are working, give in FINE DETAILS your job description when asked, that the VO will nod their head and ask you to stop. They know 90% of students will not return but even if you dont return.....DO YOU HAVE A SKILL TO MAKE YOU USEFUL TO THEIR ECONOMY THAN BEING A NUISANCE AND GETTING INVOLVED IN CRIME TO SURVIVE? IF YOU ARE SELLING BITCOIN SEF, say it in a way that your job description sounds like that of central bank governor!!! - (This is what helped me )
if you dont have work experience this might be very tough for you but not solely a determinant of your approval.
I WILL remember other things to write in dUE TIME, for now got preparations to handle. HOPE THIS HELPS
DISCLAIMER: This are from my personal thoughts and observation, I do not expect everyone to accept it, read it and take whatever points you seem useful and leave out the ones you deem as rubbish. In as much as your made sense, I disagree with number 8, that is tantamount to telling people to lie or misrepresent. I dont believe any VO will reject someone Visa because he/she got admit from one school. Many people got admit from one school and they were granted visa. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 2:37pm On Dec 20, 2017 |
@oluwadamilare26
We have said it times without number here that creating a whatapp group is at the detriment of this great forum. Many people that have passed through this forum didnt use a whatapp group. Anyways what is all these 'wanna' and 'gonna' etc we Nigerians have started using? For your info its used by the uneducated and ghetto people in the US. Its not classy. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 8:51pm On Dec 18, 2017 |
damiebukie: Hi guys,
Please help I need some list of US Universities that do not require GRE for admission for Masters in chemistry. Why are you running away from GRE? why do you want to suffer yourself? Why limit yourself to few schools? On the long run, its not really worth it |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 8:50pm On Dec 18, 2017 |
kekenation: Fellas, please I need schools that do accept unofficial transcript for admission decision in USA? They are many, you will have to do this research yourself however here are a few.. Virginia Tech, Ohio Sate University, Oklahoma State University, Michigan Tech, Northwestern University, University of Maryland College park etc |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 5:38am On Dec 17, 2017 |
ekiee: Thank you so much sire, I have a co signer with good credit for student loan though, but what are my chances for been granted loan? The banks issuing this loans for my school are citizen and discovery bank? Has anyone here used international student loan? What's your experience? Thanks fam If your cosigner has a good credit then check Sallie mae, they approve loans for international students. They pay the loan directly to your school accounts. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 11:01pm On Dec 15, 2017 |
americaninja1: House please I need urgent help.. I knew nothing about this emergency booking, until now.. somebody told me he is going to do it for me.. He didn't make mention of any fees and he never hinted me dat I will be paying a dime.. but just yesterday morning, he called me dat he was able to get a closer date.. Plus he is telling me to pay 200k, just for d emergency booking, cos I did all d booking myself only dat I could not find a date within my school resumption time.. And now he is threatening me dat he will cancel d appointment if I don't pay up Ignorance isn't an excuse. That is the price you might have to pay for not booking the emergency date yourself. First, your story is confusing. If you did everything yourself, how did he get your cgi password to book emergency date for you? If you have access to your cgi password, check if he has actually booked the date and if he has, change your password. He didn't pay a dime to book the date for you so the 200k is like, he is about to rip you off for not researching yourself. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 5:09pm On Dec 13, 2017 |
Olamsanj: Good day house! This question is for a friend who was denied an F1 visa thrice last year when he wanted to go for his Masters. Now his brother in the US which is a green card holder is filing an H1b visa for him which would be done with the processing in few weeks time. Please what are his chances of getting an H1b visa approved or there’s no problem? H1B? How? His brother cant file H1b visa for him, only a company in the US can. This 'friend' must realy mean alot to you |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 8:26am On Dec 13, 2017 |
2theoptimist: Ladies and gentlemen, Good morning. Please i need a good advice. What if my school has resumed before my next interview at the embassy, What do I do? and If they have resumed, how do I convince the VO that I will cope or meet up. Thanks. There is no way you can convince any VO except there is a miracle somewhere. Best to defer and dont waste money on scheduling interview |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 7:06pm On Dec 12, 2017 |
biikeys: I wouldn't be surprised if the VO checked went to the university website him/herself and some something contradicting your claim about the school's GRE requirement. ofcourse he did |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 7:05pm On Dec 12, 2017 |
dayoseun70: Was delayed at the Lagos embassy this morning. And here goes my transcript: Me:Good morning VO: Good morning how are you doing today Me: Fine and you VO: pass me your passport and I20 VO: why are you going to the US Me: to obtain a masters degree in environmental studies at point park university (Vo cuts in) VO: Tell me about this program Me: environmental studies encompasses not just scientific approach of solving environmental challenges but includes environmental law, environmental communication and most importantly Government policies and environment which is are the major problems that face the Nigeria environment as at now. The ...(VO cuts in) VO: how many school did you apply to Me:2 point park university and Marshall university Vo: why point park over marshall Me: the program at point park is career oriented which offers opportunity to obtain beyond class experience due to its contribution towards fighting environmental challenge in Pittsburgh, working tirelessly with Allegheny firm to restore and conserve the green land scape which welcomes lots of tourist, also the lectures at point park have both teaching and professional experience and through mentorship would pass this first hand experience to me (Vo cuts in again) VO: what did you do during your Nysc Me: worked at the product development department developing green techniques in production aimed at reducing the effect of the industrial process on the environment and... (VP again) Vo:are you married? Me:no Vo:any children Me:no Vo: GRE? Me: wasn't required by the university for my study choice Started typing like forever Vo: who is your sponsor Me: my dad V(: what does he do Me: told him VO started typing for Africa........ Then Ask again did you say point park aren't asking for GRE Me:was not required for my study program and because I had a GPA above 3.0 This time puts his hand in his mouth and started thinking staring at his system Vo: what did you say you did after NYSC Me: was explaining ,in between he asked for salary and I told him I was volunteering. Then he tells me to continue. Before I could finish the next statement all I heard was I'm sorry this paper explains why I couldn't grant your visa, you're free to reapply. Reaches for the blue paper and gave it to me.
Really I was frustrated though after the interview. I was blank till I got home. I agreed with Twoods on a particular post about the top schools, but still this School has a very good opportunity within and I had scholarship from them too. But please @Twoods @lagosismyhome and every other person who would constructively criticize me I need your help . I might have said something wrong during my interview please be a light to this path. Thanks would appreciate your help Seems you answer the questions right even though there is no right or wrong answer. The VO probably made his/her decision based on your choice or school and not writing GRE. For him to ask again about GRE, it means he was probably checking online. This is the problem with applying to schools with soft admission requirements. The best you can do is apply again. Its not the end of the world. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 5:16pm On Dec 12, 2017 |
sirhamilton: Maybe I'm not as intelligent as I think or you didn't have your undergrad in a Nigerian State or federal Uni Lol I actually had it in Nigeria. I am just saying nothing is laudable about 2:1. Its the bare minimum. I actually graduated with one too before you overthink it |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 5:15pm On Dec 12, 2017 |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 4:12pm On Dec 12, 2017 |
LagosismyHome: Ehnnn 2.1 is not .... then what about 3rd class.  lol No words to describe that |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 3:37pm On Dec 12, 2017 |
sirhamilton: Getting a 2.1 in a public school is a laudable feat as well No its not |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 6:43pm On Dec 11, 2017 |
EZEIGBO1OFIMO: I am highly suspicious of some first class from some state and private unis in Nigeria, the overall student environment breeds the one eyed man , king of the blind situation . Well maybe private schools but I will never question a first class from a public school, because I know how hard it is to make a first class , at least I know of my Alma mata, OAU. Its a matter of life and death. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 6:39pm On Dec 11, 2017 |
noblemann1: Please tell me the required score for Gre and how to go about preparing for the exams. Also school that I can go for, Thanks However, you might find some of the info below helpful, its not every time you will be this lucky. With proper planning now, Fall 2019 shouldn't pass you by. First, you need to decide on the course you want to study, To save you some stress start from this website http://graddecision.org/ to know the application process, So step 1) Decide on the course you want to study 2) Search for schools using a)www.msinus.com (open this website with a laptop, you should see a list of school and ranking for some of the most common courses, you can start from there b)www.gradschools.com c)www.google.com (you can just type 'msc in bla bla in the us in google' d) www.usnews.com e) www.4icu.org . 3) check up the website of the schools you find, to see the requirements. most schools will require GRE and some will require both gre and toefl . 4) Register for standardize exam and take it. You can register for gre as soon as you are ready and prepared to take the exam. Its done online at www.ets.org. You can also get all the information you need about the exam on the website. You will get adequate materials to prepare for the exam in this dropbox I created https://www.dropbox.com/sh/t9ot6d07hp1lkm7/AADL_dTihjEvNBRCBsmAcoXja?dl=0
TOEFL is an English test required by some US universities. though, some schools waive due to the fact that Nigeria is an Anglophone country. For toefl, all you need are the speaking noteful videos in the link below, the ets toefl guide is enough to ace the exam for other sections. Just download the toefl ETS Guide from there website and the simulation test. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/45tvc3ifi8wh8sh/AACXR5j6l3nsWK8vZx5P28TVa?dl=0
As for the Tuition, if you have good results (GRE, GPA, Toefl), SOP and LOR; US schools do offer assistanship to graduate students. This can either be Research Assistant, Teaching Assistant or Administrative Assistant. Depending on the school, if you get an assistantship, your Tuition will be waived and you will also be paid a monthly stipend that can take care of your living expenses. One advice, once you shortlist schools, send emails to the grad cord of the schools and ask specific questions relating to that course and funding opportunities, be very explicit.
Lastly, there are basically 2 admission session in the US, Spring (Jan) and Fall (August). Schools admit more students in Fall, so Its advisable you plan towards Fall 2018. If you plan to resume in fall 2018, make sure you submit all your application documents before ending of Dec 2017. If you don't give it a trial, you will never know.My philosophy in life is to always do my part, with that I don't get to regret later. Above all, if you believe in God,pray to him..if not, good for you.
If you have any question, drop it here and you should get more than one good answer. For every Engineering graduate school prospect coming here to ask for school suggestions, who does not have access to US news ranking, this spreadsheet might save you some stress. It has all the 2017 ranking of Engineering schools. It wont take you more than a week to start sending emails, perusing each school website to see which one of them you have chances of getting into and which one meets your goals and aspirations. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwKmQy59LeEpUW5tbEZhRHJmR1U/view?usp=sharing
And I cant reply every pms again please, the busy season is here , below you will find a good SOP you can use as guide and ebook https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwKmQy59LeEpZ2Y3bnk2Vlh4ekM0dy13VERhWDNpY2FGLVRV/view?usp=sharing https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwKmQy59LeEpQ0VGeFVSd0l1eUJyMUJvQ0V3cW1oeDhmZ3J3/view?usp=sharing |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 by femi312: 6:25pm On Dec 11, 2017 |
noblemann1: Please tell me the required score for Gre and how to go about preparing for the exams. Also school that I can go for, Thanks LMAO...you are not ready. I am sorry, and you had a first class? Please be proactive. A good way to start is to read the last thread at least to get the info you need or google. Asking that question shows you are lazy and unserious |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 7:05am On Dec 10, 2017 |
TWoods: Diplomatic (adjective) - having or showing an ability to deal with people in a sensitive and effective way. "that was a very diplomatic way of putting it" synonyms: tactful, sensitive, subtle, delicate, polite, discreet, thoughtful, careful, judicious, nonconfrontational, prudent, politic, clever, skillful
Which of the synonyms above is remotely close to what you are suggesting - i.e. fraud? Tomorrow you'll be blaming your leaders for the swamp that Nigeria has become... you are part of the problem.  |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 8:07pm On Dec 09, 2017 |
denbaba: OK thanks. what should be the minimum amount of cash in my sponsor's account when I'm going for a program of 6000$ tuition fee? Sigh..Anyways he/she must have alittle higher than what is stated as your total expenses (Tuition and living expenses) on your i20 for one year. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 7:49pm On Dec 09, 2017 |
denbaba: I appreciate everyone on this thread. pls a quick question. MUST the sponsor have the same surname with a student applying for F-1 visa? No but be ready to defend why he/she will be sponsoring you |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 9:55pm On Dec 08, 2017 |
aithusa: Thanks but pls does it mean I will be paying another 64k for d emergency appointment? I dont think so |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 9:55pm On Dec 08, 2017 |
TWoods: “Proper planning” is apparently a phrase many here have never heard before. I’m amused at the number of people panicking over interview dates and how close it is to their resumption date. Obviously these folks have been under a rock since October. its quite sad |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 8:31pm On Dec 08, 2017 |
Enyz: Please house i have a concern, my program start date according to the i20 sent is 10th of January 2018 but i was only able to book my interview for 12th of january at the embassy, i hope this doesnt affect the approval of my Visa. I am not a VO but this will definitely affect it under STP if you ask me. Getting a letter from your school might help you out. Even if you get the visa without a letter, it will take a miracle to pass POE without a letter from your school.Thats why it always good to do proper planning |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 4:33pm On Dec 08, 2017 |
aithusa: Hello nairalanders, pls i need your help. I was sent back today at the embassy. It all happened that I book my appointment more than a month ago and I just recently completed the ds 160 form but the barcode on the appointment and ds160 are not the same. So I sent a mail to support-nigeria@ustraveldocs.com for it to be corrected which was done yesterday but when I got there today, I was sent back that I will have to wait till 72 hours to book another appointment but my fear now is my school is resuming early January and I don't know how I'll get a date in december without paying another 64k How on earth can you book appointment without completing the most important part of your application? Sigh..This is not a case of your village people, its your own handiwork. Anyways, you might have to wait till after 72hours like they said and try to request for emergency Appointment if you cant find any earlier date. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 5:37pm On Dec 07, 2017 |
Daodudavid: Bros femo, pardon my ignorance, but sometimes you consider yourself not always right and perfect, I made a statement you contradicted it, not knowing my source was actually true, next time ask question sir lol No I didnt, I asked questions but you were being defensive. The onus falls on you to explain when I was curious. |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 4:59pm On Dec 07, 2017 |
Itorobaby: hello pls i need schools to apply for MBA, that the tuition fee is not more than 20,000 dollars for two years. THANKS $20k for two years? That will be a miracle. ''Although the cost of an MBA degree can vary, the average tuition for a two-year MBA program exceeds $60,000. If you attend one of the top business schools in the U.S., you can expect to pay as much as $100,000 or more in tuition and fees'' That is a quote from google since you are lazy to do the research. And if you decide to attend a one building school for MBA, be ready for the hustle/depression that comes with getting jobs after graduation. A simple google search brought this link, I didn't spend up to 5mins and I have not lost my head nor one of my arm,try to fish before begging for fish. http://www.happyschools.com/cheapest-public-universities-mba/ |
Travel › Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 by femi312: 4:26pm On Dec 07, 2017 |
Daodudavid: You can keep wondering all you like dude, I know my way and I don't have any explanation to make to you dude, get the point and inspire for greatness, end of discussion #free# Lmao.. you must think you are talking to your younger brother..lol |