Stats: 3,153,600 members, 7,820,147 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 10:28 AM

Focusmind's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Focusmind's Profile / Focusmind's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (of 112 pages)

NYSC / Re: A Quick Breakdown Of ₦33,000 NYSC Allowance By Williamssheks by Focusmind: 10:51am On Dec 12, 2023
Nigerian pastors don use tithing brainwashed Nigerians. We keep paying tithe, keeping to the religious rules, yet, iniquity and impunity rules supreme in our society. I am a highly dedicated and committed Christian o. Nevertheless, use my senses to worship and follow my Christian doctrines. I am a humanitarian to the core and so, I am not short of or found wanting in giving to the poor so that we don't enter into unnecessary arguments of not given.

Agriculture / Re: This Ginger Farm Will Produce Over A Million Naira Worth Of Ginger by Focusmind: 1:01pm On Dec 11, 2023
I like organic food die...locally grown from farm without any artificial fertiliser. Full fowl and human waste manure are always the best manure for vegetables and tuber crops.

Career / Re: NTA Broadcaster, Aisha Bello Is Dead by Focusmind: 10:48am On Dec 11, 2023
The people that made watching NTA interesting those days - Sat in the living room with my father and watched the likes of Kalu Otisi, Cyril Stober, Eugenia Abu, Tokunbo Ajayi, Mrs. Ibenemesia Opia and the State House Correspondent, Chris Ngwu, would make you to love broadcasting.

Travel / Re: Passengers Experience Chaos As Conveyor Belts At MMIA Breakdown by Focusmind: 6:25pm On Dec 10, 2023
Na una dey take risks for government facilities. It is my official policy not to use lift or conveyor or escalator or any mechanically operated assistance in any government building. Be it ministry, agency, parastatal or board. I jejelly use stair case, no matter the number of staircases, I climb them. In MMA, I quietly use the staircase. I don't use the escalator. I went to a government building along Awolowo Road Ikoyi to submit a document. I found out that the office was on the 11th floor. I looked at the number of people on the ground floor waiting to enter the lift. I just told myself that, hey, you could do it. Just climb. I entered the staircase and got to the 11th floor. Finished my mission and descended down again via the staircase. However, the effects on the heartbeat no be for here o. But it was a good exercise.
Food / Re: How Many Packs Of Noodles Do You Eat? by Focusmind: 12:10pm On Dec 10, 2023
Because of age and other considerations, I take one small one with one egg for breakfast or dinner. When extremely hungry and no food insight, I take two small ones and one egg. Nobody cooks indomie for me o. I cook it myself, with serious parboiling and taking off the initial water and then fry it small, with onions and oil from titus sardines. I will keep the sardines for my kids to use for bread or their own indomie.

Education / Re: Canada Raises Cost-Of-Living Requirement For International Students by Focusmind: 10:19am On Dec 08, 2023
The main worry is that cap on extension of PGWP. What happens after the Post Graduate Work Permit has expired and the international student has not been lucky with PR application. Na to return back to his or her country. There are piles and piles of PR application waiting to be attended to, and some international students, even with the Canadian work experience and Canadian education have not been able to make the cut for PR.

Foreign Affairs / Re: Hamas Women Fighters Vs Israeli Women Fighters (Pics) by Focusmind: 1:29pm On Dec 07, 2023
All na for cameras. You hardly see female soldiers on battle field front lines
Politics / Re: Hoodlums Attack Lagos Task Team At Tincan Port by Focusmind: 2:48pm On Dec 06, 2023
Lagos and Chaos. The potential of the state still remains under utilized - this is the economic power house of the country, yet the roads are nothing to write home about - This harmattan haze is creating lots of environmental pollutants - you cant even do normal workout again on the road as everywhere is polluted with dusts.

Politics / Re: COP28: Seyi Tinubu, Stewards, Chefs, Cooks Among Nigerian Delegation by Focusmind: 8:29am On Dec 06, 2023
Reason why it would be difficult to ask the citizens to make sacrifices for the country. When you see how your leaders are wasting the resources of this country, how do you expect one to show patriotism by paying taxes and other commitments to the State. The social bond and trust between the State and the citizens is broken. Most Nigerians gets upset when you tell them to stay in the country to rebuild it, instead of running to white man's country. How are they going to join hands to rebuild the country with the mentality of our leaders? Our problems seems too complex. Our leaders keep given us reasons to doubt the viability of Nigeria ever getting out of its problems. Personal interest will continue to dominate people's actions instead of national, Nigerians don't believe in their government to cater for their needs and that of their families.

Travel / Re: UK Introduces Tougher Visa Rules by Focusmind: 6:59am On Dec 05, 2023
googlepikins:
watch how lazy brown envelop Nigerian medias will make it look like its only applied to Nigeria alone.

Mumu occupation

" UK tightens visa requirements on Nigerians and others "
- No more visa for dependents of Nigerians on skilled work visa

Thats how the Nigerian media will report it by tomorrow grin grin

Travel / Re: Diesel Tanker Catches Fire In Ojota (Photos) by Focusmind: 1:15pm On Dec 04, 2023
ELKHALIFAISIS:
My biggest fear coming back to Nigeria are because of things like this .. I will be singing song of praises on the day my vacation will finish and I will be in my way back to base

Make unah chop the country with all the bad luck there

Nawao! Na so you hate the country reach?? I feel your frustrations about the country but remember you still have your extended families and friends here.
Travel / Re: Japa: US Embassy Says Over 150,000 Nigerians Interviewed In 2023 by Focusmind: 9:39am On Dec 04, 2023
The number seems low compared to what i earlier thought - I was expecting to hear nothing less than 500k.

The high rate of visa refusal in the US embassy has made people to look elsewhere like UK and Canada.

Family / Re: Lebanese Kids Cry In Airport As Their Kenyan Nanny Leaves (Video) by Focusmind: 12:59pm On Dec 03, 2023
A vendor to one of my client, A Lebanese, had to relocate to UK with their Nigerian Nanny. It was during one of our business discussions that he asked me how to go about getting passport for his Nanny, that the family could not afford to leave her behind. The man said he came to Port Harcourt with his wife and within a space of 9 years, they now had 3 children. His Nanny was a nursing assistant at the hospital in PH where the wife put to bed for their first child. The kind of service and dedication the nanny showed was awesome and they asked her if she would want to stay with them to take care of the new born, which she agreed. Na so the girl stayed with them for 9 years and the family wanted to move to UK. Everything worked out and the nanny left with them.

Politics / Re: Governor Sanwo-Olu Attends Discusses Climate Change At COP28 In Dubai Pictures by Focusmind: 11:35am On Dec 03, 2023
Namaster:
What's he doing there?

Lagos is practically brimming with all kinds of environmental pollution. Lagos has no place in a discussion of climate change.

It's a lot like inviting a virgin to give a talk on sex positions to prostitutes.

I agree with you on this - Lagos environment, from the bad roads, to disgusting open gutters, to dust and pollutants coming from Danfo and trucks, Lagos is choking!! You cant even do open walk out in peace without inhaling dangerous fumes everywhere. People will dig out rubbish from the gutters and used it to fill potholes on the road, creating more dusty roads with nylon debris and dangerous pollutants flying around. Our politicians are nothing to write home about - they will go to Dubai and see how cities are, but will come back to give us craps, to the admiration of their ignorant supporters but much to the dismay of good citizens that knows what governance is all about and how environment and cities should be.
Agriculture / Re: I Killed The Big Rat (okete) Eating Our Cocoa pods by Focusmind: 6:55pm On Dec 01, 2023
You just killed husband and wife that are nursing babies. The babies will wait for the father to return, same way they waited for the mum to return so that they could suckle but no way

Culture / Re: What Language Is Spoken Often In Your Family? by Focusmind: 2:39pm On Dec 01, 2023
English!

But I am trying hard to make my kids understand the Igbo language. I just couldn't wrap my mind on how I missed that important part of their social and native language ability. Sadly, the private school system in Lagos is making it harder for pupils to understand and speak their mother tongue. I am always excited when I see "Gen Z" kids speak their native language with their parents. I just don't know the obsession of speaking English to our kids. My parents never spoke English to us while we were growing up but I can challenge any native speaker of the language in English language. Sad that I wasn't much around during my kids earlier years, I would have started speaking Igbo to them at that time.

Education / Re: Aggrieved Customer Calls Out Polaris Bank Over UK School Tuition Refund Impasse by Focusmind: 4:38am On Nov 30, 2023
Nigerians and their victims mentality. So, she expected Roehampton university to pay the refund into any account provided to them even though the account was NOT the account from which they earlier received the inflow? For them to even finally agreed to pay the refund into a newly opened domiciliary account showed their consideration for her plight. Ordinarily, they were not supposed to pay the refund into any account that was not the originating account in the first instance. These institutions abroad have regards and respect for fine prints. They don't act the way we act here without control and due diligence. They have taken their time to go through her refund request and noticed lots of inconsistencies and abnormalities.

Polaris bank was also right in returning the fund. The reason for the inflow into the new dom account may have been narrated as "refund ". However, polaris bank did not see any outflow from the new dom account to warrant receipt of any "refund" inflow into it. This is purely how banks and financial systems works in many occasions. Refund has to go into the originating account that paid out the money, initially. We should not allow sentiments to mask our ignorance on certain issues. She is lucky that she was dealing with a UK institution. An American institution will not even entertain correspondences with her if she fails to provide the original account that paid out the school fees, coupled with the fact that the request is coming from a Nigerian subject, who are viewed from a fraudulent perspective, usually.

Family / Re: I Love Her But At Almost 40 Years Old, I Cannot Ignore Her Fertility Issues. by Focusmind: 4:27pm On Nov 28, 2023
Don't be bamboozled into anything. If your mind is doubtful about her fertility, considering also the issue your senior brother is passing through, you have the right to abort mission. Your interest is more on having your own kids, which is in order. If that's your priority, don't compromise on it and don't entertain any doubt about the fertility of your would be partner. It would be so discomforting for two brothers to be on the " yet to give birth " list after wedding.

Celebrities / Re: Israel DMW Shakes Hands To Greet Davido As He Lands In Lagos by Focusmind: 3:31pm On Nov 28, 2023
See how the Oyibo pilot mellow down for boys grin - Oyibo sha! - once they see person wey get money, their brain dey reset. No be only black man like money, wealth and influence.
Events / Re: Heavy Rain Destroys Beautiful Wedding Decoration Setup Disrupting Event (video) by Focusmind: 6:21pm On Nov 27, 2023
The gods are not to blame undecided

Health / Re: Kwara To Tackle Open Defecation With ₦‎200 Million by Focusmind: 6:30am On Nov 27, 2023
Indiscipline is a cultural thing in Nigeria. Even if you build expensive water closet system, with Twyford flushing in every street, some people will still abandon it and choose "open air defecation " , instead. The social cost, occassioned by absence of human capital development is enormous. Nigeria is a typical example.

Crime / Re: Rev. Fr. Nwaigwe Stephen Impregnates Teenager In Anambra by Focusmind: 5:28pm On Nov 26, 2023
Some priests are just an embarrassment to the body of Christ, the Church. Thank God, his own priestly congregation of "Heart of Love" had earlier expelled him. So, technically, he is no more a priest, even though he has not been derobed. In Catholic Church, once you have been anointed a priest, you are a priest for life. You may be excommunicated or stopped from offering mass and other religious activities. You may even be sent to prison. But your priestly ordination still subsist and remains with you till death.
Politics / Re: Tinubu, Ganduje Plotted To Hand Rivers APC To Wike, Embarrass Amaechi – Eze by Focusmind: 10:46am On Nov 26, 2023
Wike is taking over APC structures in Rivers state. He is already in control of both PDP and Labour Party. Infact, he is the sole financier and sponsor of Labour Party. Many LP executives got mouth watering gifts and millions from Wike when he was the governor.
Properties / Re: See This Fine Mansion Lagos Is Demolishing With "2 Days" Notice by Focusmind: 5:32pm On Nov 25, 2023
All these Alaba and ojo markets importers can spend. I always pity them as they hardly do due diligence on issues. They control so much money and likes to live close to their business, which is in order. Even if you give me free plot within those Abule odo, ojo, trade fair, satellite, akowonjo, and other areas extending down to seme border, I no go take. Those areas are totally disorganised and polluted. I pity the home owners......from being a landlord to a tenant. The stress, heartache and the blood pressure induced by this kind of action by LASG is unmatched.

Properties / Re: A Beautiful House Built With Mud (Photos) by Focusmind: 8:34pm On Nov 24, 2023
christejames:
Let's go back to our ancient architecture or modernize it like this... ☺

I don't even know what our architectural students are being taught in our universities 😏, nothing exceptional in their designs, always that 'square design' with 'send down the rain rooftop' that is prominent at almost every estate in the country undecided grin

You guys can do better, be more creative abeg, architecture is more of an art, and arts are unique representation of life, so guard it!

I wished I could like this comment more than once. Our architects needs to be more creative. One doesn't need to spend fortune in building a house in Nigeria. There are better ways we could use mud and that type of blocks commonly found in the North to build an artistic house. Here, our architects are interested in designing "send down the rain" houses with two useless pillars in front of the house.

Fashion / Re: Lady Wears Skipmy Dress To An Event (Photos, Video) by Focusmind: 9:12pm On Nov 23, 2023
If na wedding, then the groom must have been her client for her to have the guts to wear that and got access to the venue. She must be connected to any of the celebrants.
Politics / Re: Diaspora Nigerians Acquire Offloaded Assets Of Migrating Youths by Focusmind: 3:19pm On Nov 22, 2023
Those selling their properties to japa should not be crucified - it may turn out to be a worthy investment, after all.

Someone sold their father's four flats of two bedroom each in Gbagada, Lagos, to help offset his masters school fees in UK in 2010.

He is now on his second home in UK. Completed his M.Sc. at Cranefield University and was awarded fully funded PH.D program in the same school, while the wife completed a nursing program.

From his perspective, selling his late father's property in Nigeria to embark on UK sojourn in 2010 was worth it as he is far better off now than he was in 2009 in Nigeria with his family.

So, free people to do whatever they want with their properties as long as the proceeds are used for future investment, which could be in human investment (school) or otherwise. Some people will be here saying that any one that sells his property to japa is a fool. It is not so o!

Foreign Affairs / Re: Five Countries That Have Referred Israel To ICC Over Gaza by Focusmind: 8:15pm On Nov 21, 2023
This SA guy mean am o for Nigerians grin. See how he is dishing it one by one, back to back. That open gutter insult he threw enter me no be lie. But why should our streets and neighbourhoods be filled with stinking open gutters? Defending Nigeria is never an easy job for anybody. Our politicians could make one to regret being born in this country.
Travel / Re: Abia Residents Celebrate Water Fountain (Video) by Focusmind: 11:23am On Nov 21, 2023
grin grin grin grin grin my belle o

Nigerian news and sensationalism!!! They always likes to use this phrase, "wide jubilation erupted" to describe something in a state or about a politician's action. Sometimes, i wonder who are those people jubilating or dancing around town in jubilation. I hope Otti will not finally turn into the biggest "Scam" in Nigerian politics. The way to manager Nigerians is, just put "film" for them to watch, then move on with your " inefficiency or looting" while they salivate on the film you have put for them. By the time the film finishes, you are done with your own act. You can rewind the film or put another movie for them.

Politics / Re: GRV Accuses Governor Sanwo Olu Of Using State Funds To Pay For Legal Fees by Focusmind: 11:08am On Nov 21, 2023
GRV would have done the same if he was the Governor - all Governors in Nigeria uses State's fund to pay for legal services and other personal expenditures.

Where do you think the Kano Governor will get the minimum fee of N1bn to pay Wole Olanipekun as his lawyer? All of them are same - both elected and intended to be elected politicians
Politics / Re: Governor Sanwo-Olu Approved ₦3.75 Billion For Perfumes, Rechargeable Fans by Focusmind: 8:40pm On Nov 20, 2023
Ok o - make una continue to the fight for these politicians - my own is how to get a slice of these humungous contracts - Trust me, i will deliver on the terms of the contract. undecided
Career / Re: 550 OpenAI Employees Ask Board To Quit Or They'll Resign. by Focusmind: 6:03pm On Nov 20, 2023
Obierika:

If the Board stands its ground the employees will eventually buckle, all these ones na just gragra grin

All the members of the Board are already financially made but all the 550 employees some of whom already have heavy loans and credit card debts cannot afford to loose their jobs at the same time, forget they bullsh1t story there is no way Microsoft will readily employ the whole 550 of them!

You are thinking.....veiled empty threat. You can't threaten the Board of Directors like that when you are not even the regulator. Some people are not moved by threats. Rather, they are made stronger from threats. The 550 staff cannot resign enmass. If they see through this their threats, they will be replaced immediately......there are hundreds of AI scientists in India, US and around the globe waiting to fill in the space.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (of 112 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65